DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the prior art does not teach bias power. Demmin teaches on p 9-10 a bias voltage (which is related to power and can be calculated by the formula v=p/a). However, Demmin teaches modifying a bias voltage in this section, and generally the bias, to affect the results obtained. This section of Demmin: “As is well known, there are many operating conditions of a plasma etching process that can have an effect on the results obtained. These conditions include, for example, the type of plasma etching (for example, reactive ion etching, plasma etching, and high-density etching), etching composition flow rate, wafer temperature, pressure, power, time, and bias. The interrelationship of these parameters is a function of the hardware configuration and the material being etched. One skilled in the art of plasma etching and cleaning can vary these parameters accordingly to etch a desired material satisfactorily.” Demmin marks bias power/voltage in this section as result effective variables, dependent upon desired results and reaction conditions.
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955). Further, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding regarding result effective variables as well (MPEP 2144.05)
The applicant further argues that bias power is critical and not a result effective variable as it results in a differing selection ratio. However, in Example 15 of the instant specification, Table 2 shows several differences in selection ratio between different powers, revealing a trend and making the change in ratio not unexpected. Thus, there are no unexpected results required to overcome a routine experimentation rejection. Further, it is noted that the unexpected result cited is not commensurate in scope with the claims, which is also required to overcome a result effective variable rejection. Etching time is not claimed, for example, as it is also used in the data given in Table 2. Further, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985.
Therefore, for at least these reasons, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demmin et al. (WO 1999/034428 A1)
As to claim 1, Demmin teaches etching a SiN film on a substrate by converting an etching gas containing iodine heptafluoride into plasma (pg 3). Both silicon nitride and silicon oxide films are etched on p3. Demmin is not explicit regarding the etch rates of the SiN vs SiO films. However, Demmin teaches modifying the experimental conditions to tailor the etch rates of particular films in Examples 1-8 and Table 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify these rates by routine experimentation to obtain the desired results. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955). Further, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding regarding result effective variables as well (MPEP 2144.05)
Carrier/inert gas is added on Demmin p 8. Demmin additionally teaches iodidine heptafluoride as its etching compound in the abstract. Demmin further identifies that its etching compound may be no less than 5% of volume of the mixture on p 6 lines 24-29, meaning that Demmin teaches a concentration of 5% or more and thus includes the claimed range.
As to bias power, Demmin teaches on p 9-10 a bias voltage. However, Demmin teaches modifying a bias voltage in this section, and generally the bias, to affect the results obtained. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955). Further, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding regarding result effective variables as well (MPEP 2144.05)
As to claims 6 the pressure is taught on p 9.
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomura et al. (US 2019/0074190 A1) in view of Demmin et al.
As to claim 1, Tomura teaches etching a SiN film on a substrate by converting an etching gas containing iodine heptafluoride into plasma (para 0016-0019) in an amount of 2.5% or more, including the claimed range. Both silicon nitride and silicon oxide films are etched in paras 0016-0019 and 0027. Tomura does not teach the relative selectivities of the etching rates and the bias power. Demmin teaches these features or renders them obvious as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Tomura to include the features of Demmin as Demmin teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such. Inert gas is added to the fluorine gas in Tomura para 0060.
As to bias power, Demmin teaches on p 9-10 a bias voltage. However, Demmin teaches modifying a bias voltage in this section, and generally the bias, to affect the results obtained. Further, Tomura teaches applying bias power in paras 0034 and 0043-0044 to attract the substrate to the holder and to draw the etching ions into the substrate or workpiece. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955). Further, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding regarding result effective variables as well (MPEP 2144.05)
As to claim 6, the pressure range is taught in Tomura para 0068.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718