DETAILED ACTION
Claims 12-17 and 19-26 are pending. Claim 12 has been amended, claims 1-11 and 27 were previously canceled, and claims 18 and 28 are newly canceled.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 recites “cross liner” in line 3 but should instead recite --cross linker--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites “according to claim 18, wherein the (D) crosslinker comprises one or more of the (D1) cross linker and the (D2) cross linker; the mass ratio of the (D) cross linker to the mass of the (A) alkali soluble resin is 1-20 mass %.”. However, claim 18 has been canceled and claim 12 does not recite a cross linker (D1) so it is unclear if claim 19 should be: 1) canceled, 2) amended to depend from claim 12 and only recite the concentration, or 3) amended to depend from claim 12 and additionally comprise crosslinker (D1) represented by formula (D1) and the concentration. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting claim 19 as option 3) additionally comprising (D1) crosslinker represented by formula (D1) and the mass ratio is for the combination of (D1) and (D2) crosslinkers. The Examiner also requests consistency throughout the claims regarding the term cross linker or crosslinker.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 17 recites “according to claim 12, further comprising (D) cross linker, wherein (D) cross linker comprises at least one element selected from the group consisting of aryl compound…and each compound are unsubstituted or substituted by at least one group selected from a hydroxyl group, a methylol group, an alkoxymethyl group, and an acryloxymethyl group”. However, claim 12 recites “(D2) cross linker” and “(D2) cross linker is represented by formula (D2)” which is a specific example of an aryl compound having a hydroxyl group and an methylol group. Thus, claim 17 fails to include all the limitations of claim 12 as well as further limit the subject matter. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-17 and 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirakawa et al. (U.S. 2003/0124456).
Shirakawa et al. teaches a negative resist composition comprising: (A) a compound which generates an acid upon irradiation with actinic rays or radiations, (B) an alkali-soluble polymer, and (C) a crosslinking agent which generates crosslinking with the polymer (B) by the action of an acid, wherein the crosslinking agent (C) contains at least two kinds of compounds having a different skeleton from each other, which are selected from phenol derivatives having two or more hydroxymethyl groups and/or alkoxymethyl groups on a benzene ring thereof, in which one kind of the crosslinking agent contains one or two benzene rings in the molecule thereof, and another kind of the crosslinking agent contains from 3 to 5 benzene rings in the molecule thereof [0011-0014] wherein the polymer (B) is a polymer containing a recurring (repeating) unit represented by the following formula (b) [0016] and specific examples include the following formulas (1) and (28):
[0049] and in the case of a resin comprising two components, x and y range from 10 to 95 and from 5 to 90, respectively, and preferably from 40 to 90 and from 60 to 10, respectively [0050] wherein formula (27) is equivalent to (A) alkali soluble resin comprising (A1) resin represented by formula (A1) of instant claim 12 when R11 is hydrogen, R12 is hydrogen, m11 is 0, n11 is 1, R14 is hydrogen, R15 is hydrogen, and m12 is 0 wherein [pA1/(pA1+qA1+rA1)] is 40-90%, [qA1/(pA1+qA1+rA1)] is 10-60%, and [rA1/(pA1+qA1+rA1) is 0%; and formula (1) is equivalent to an alkali-soluble resin (A2) of instant claim 12 when R21 is hydrogen, R22 is hydrogen, m21 is 0, and n21 is 1 wherein [pA2/(pA2+rA2)] is 100% and [rA2/(pA2+rA2)] is 0%. Shirakawa et al. also teaches a molecular weight of the resin (B) having the recurring structure unit represented by the formula (b) is preferably in the range of from 1,000 to 200,000, and more preferably from 3,000 to 50,000 in terms of weight average molecular weight [0051] which overlap the instantly claimed ranges (claims 12 and 20-22). in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Shirakawa et al. further teaches that these resins may be used singly or in admixture [0054]. Further, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from there having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 1072. Shirakawa et al. also teaches the invention will be described below in more detail with reference to the Examples, but it should not be construed that the content of the invention is limited thereto [0170] and an object of the invention is to solve the problems in performance in micro-fabrication of semiconductor elements using actinic rays or radiations, especially KrF excimer laser, electron beams or X-rays and to provide a negative chemically amplified resist that can be satisfied simultaneously with the characteristics of sensitivity, resolution, pattern shape and line edge roughness in using KrF excimer laser, electron beams or X-rays [0008].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific teachings of Shirakawa et al. to include two resins such as (1) and (28) and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention along with optimizing the molecular weight of said resins in order to achieve optimum sensitivity, resolution, pattern shape, and line edge roughness.
Shirakawa et al. teaches a specific example of the compound which generates an acid upon irradiation (A) includes the following formula (PAG4-5):
[page 16] which is equivalent to photo acid generator (B1) onium salt of instant claim 12 represented by Formula (B1), where Bm+ cation is represented by formula (B1)-C1 when m=1, m31-m33 are 0, and Bm- anion is represented by formula (B1)-A1 when m41=1 and R41 is C1 alkyl substituted by halogen.
Shirakawa et al. teaches a specific example of the crosslinking agent (C) includes the following formula (MM-14):
[0189] which is equivalent to (D2) cross linker represented by formula (D2) of instant claim 12 when lD2 is 2, mD2 is 1, and nD2 is 1 where R65 is -C(CH3)2-CH2-(CH3)3. Shirakawa et al. also teaches Other Crosslinking Agents that can be Used in Combination: In addition to the above-described phenol derivatives, the following compounds (i) and (ii) can be used as the crosslinking agent. (i) Compounds having an N-hydroxymethyl group, an N-alkoxymethyl group, or an N-acyloxymethyl group; (ii) Epoxy compounds. These crosslinking agents will be hereunder described in detail. (i) As the compound having an N-hydroxymethyl group, an N-alkoxymethyl group, or an N-acyloxymethyl group are enumerated the monomers, oligomer-melamine-formaldehyde condensates, and urea-formaldehyde condensates as disclosed in EP-A-0133216 and West German Patents 3,634,671 and 3,711,264; and the benzoguanamine-formaldehyde condensates such as alkoxy-substituted compounds, as disclosed in EP-A-0212482. Further, preferred examples include melamine-formaldehyde derivatives having at least two free N-hydroxymethyl groups, N-alkoxymethyl groups, or N-acyloxymethyl groups, with N-alkoxymethyl derivatives being particularly preferred [0125-0131] (claim 17). Further, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from there having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 1072.
Although Shirakawa et al. does not teach a specific example comprising the above defined components, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine such components through routine experimentation in the art with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to claims 13 and 14, Shirakawa et al. teaches the composition of the invention is dissolved in a solvent for dissolving the respect components and then applied on a support. Preferred examples of the solvent that is used include ethylene dichloride, cyclohexanone, cyclopentanone, 2-heptanone, .gamma.-butyrolactone, methyl ethyl ketone, ethylene glycol monomethyl ether, ethylene glycol monoethyl ether, 2-methoxyethyl acetate, ethylene glycol monoethyl ether acetate, propylene glycol monomethyl ether, propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate, toluene, ethyl acetate, methyl lactate, ethyl lactate, methyl methoxypropionate, ethyl ethoxypropionate, methylpyruvate, ethyl pyruvate, propyl pyruvate, N,N-dimethylformamide, dimethyl sulfoxide, N-methylpyrrolidone, and tetrahydrofuran. These solvents may be used singly or in admixture of two or more thereof [0150].
With regard to claims 15, 16, and 19, Shirakawa et al. teaches a content of the component (A) that is used in the invention is suitably from 0.1 to 30% by weight, preferably from 0.5 to 20% by weight, and more preferably from 1 to 15% by weight with respect to the solids content of the whole negative resist composition. When the content of the component (A) is less than 0.1% by weight, the sensitivity becomes low, whereas when it exceeds 30% by weight, the stability with laps of time is likely deteriorated, or the film forming properties are likely deteriorated, and hence, such is not preferable [0097], and an addition amount of the crosslinking agent (C) is from 3 to 70% by weight, and preferably from 5 to 50% by weight with respect to the total solids content of the composition. When the addition amount of the crosslinking agent is less than 3% by weight, the rate of residual film is lowered. On the other hand, when it exceeds 70% by weight, the resolving power is lowered, and such is not so desirable from the standpoint of stability during the storage of the resist liquid [0135]. Shirakawa et al. also teaches in examples, the components were dissolved in 8.5g of propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate [0191] in which the resin is added in an amount of 0.8 g, the acid generator is added in an amount of 0.05 g, the crosslinking agents are added in a combined amount of 0.20 to 0.25 g, the basic compound is added in an amount of 0.002 g, and the surfactant is added in an amount of 0.001 g [0206] which corresponds to a mass ratio of the (A) alkali soluble resin to the total mass to be about 8 mass %, the mass ratio of the (C) solvent to the total mass to be about 89 mass %, and the mass ratio of the crosslinking agents to the mass of the resin to be about 25 to 31 mass %.
With regard to claim 23, Shirakawa et al. teaches if desired, the negative resist composition of the invention can further contain, for example, a nitrogen-containing basic compound, a dye, a solvent, a surfactant, a plasticizer, a photo-decomposable basic compound, and a photo-base generator [0137].
With regard to claims 24 and 25, Shirakawa et al. teaches in the production of large-scale integrated circuit devices, the pattern formation steps on the resist film comprises applying the negative resist composition according to the invention on a substrate (such as silicon/silicon dioxide coatings, glass substrates, and metal substrates) and undergoing irradiation using a KrF excimer laser, electron beam or X-ray image-drawing unit, followed by-heating, development, rinsing and drying. Thus, a good resist pattern can be formed. As the light source of exposure are preferably enumerated units using lights having a wavelength of from 150 to 250 nm (such as KrF excimer laser (248 nm), ArF excimer laser (193 nm), and F2 excimer laser (157 nm), electron beams, and X-rays., and particularly KrF excimer laser) [0166-0167].
Claims 19 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirakawa et al. (U.S. 2003/0124456) as applied to claims 12 and 24 above, and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. 2011/0274853).
With regard to claim 19, Shirakawa et al. teaches Other Crosslinking Agents that can be Used in Combination: In addition to the above-described phenol derivatives, the following compounds (i) and (ii) can be used as the crosslinking agent. (i) Compounds having an N-hydroxymethyl group, an N-alkoxymethyl group, or an N-acyloxymethyl group; (ii) Epoxy compounds. These crosslinking agents will be hereunder described in detail. (i) As the compound having an N-hydroxymethyl group, an N-alkoxymethyl group, or an N-acyloxymethyl group are enumerated the monomers, oligomer-melamine-formaldehyde condensates, and urea-formaldehyde condensates as disclosed in EP-A-0133216 and West German Patents 3,634,671 and 3,711,264; and the benzoguanamine-formaldehyde condensates such as alkoxy-substituted compounds, as disclosed in EP-A-0212482. Further, preferred examples include melamine-formaldehyde derivatives having at least two free N-hydroxymethyl groups, N-alkoxymethyl groups, or N-acyloxymethyl groups, with N-alkoxymethyl derivatives being particularly preferred [0125-0131].
Shirakawa et al. does not explicitly teach a (D1) crosslinker represented by formula (D1).
However, Park et al. teaches a negative photoresist composition which may comprise a cross-linking agent having an alkoxy structure [0028] specifically, a compound represented by the following formula 5 [0029]:
[0029] which is equivalent to (D1) crosslinker of instant claim 19 represented by formula (D1) when R63 and R64 are -NR61R62 where R61 and R62 are C2alkoxyalkyl. Park et al. also teaches the use of the cross-linking agent enables formation of an appropriate cross-linked structure between the binder resin and the cross-linking agent in exposed portions and, after development, makes the photoresist composition of the exposed portions left to form an appropriate photoresist pattern [0030]. Further, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 1072.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific teachings of Shirakawa et al. to include an additional crosslinkers such as that taught by Park et al. in the claimed mass ratio and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention in order further improve crosslinking of the resin.
With regard to claim 26, Shirakawa et al. teaches a negative resist composition which is used in the production steps of lithographic printing plates and semiconductors such as IC, in the production of circuit boards of liquid crystals, thermal heads, etc., and in other fabrication steps [0001].
Shirakawa et al. does not teach a method of manufacturing a metal film pattern.
However, Park et al. teaches a negative photoresist composition and patterning method for device [abstract], specifically, a photoresist composition used in the lift-off process to effectively pattern different thin films, such as electrode (metal film), in the fabrication process for a variety of devices, such as LCDs or LEDs [0049] as seen in the following FIG. 1:
(claim 26). It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Park et al. teaches it is well known in the art that negative resist compositions can be used to make devices having a metal film pattern.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shirakawa et al. to include additional manufacturing steps such as those taught by Park et al. through routine experimentation in order to obtain additional devices well known in the art and arrive at the instant claims.
Response to Arguments
Due to the amendment filed May 20, 2026 of instant claim 12, the 103 rejection over Takahashi, and further in view of Park have been withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with regard to these rejections have been considered but are moot due to the amendment of instant claim 12. However, Park is still being used as prior art because it continues to teach additional processing steps known in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Anna Malloy/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735