DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 12-13, 15-17, and 24-37 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-11, 14, and 18-23 are cancelled.
Claims 12-13, 15, 17, 24, 26-28, 30-32, and 34-37 are amended.
Claims 12-13, 15-17, and 24-37 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13, 16, 25, 27, 29, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Censi et al. (US Publication 2019/0079527 A1) in view of Matus et al. (US Publication 2019/0005812 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Censi teaches a method of determining a personalised route using machine learning to approximate missing user-input data from known data, the method comprising: defining a cost parameter comprising a function of feature values (Censi: Para. 185; a cost function may be a numerical score characterizing the degree of deviation of a motion action from a strategic guideline or from all the strategic guidelines of a priority group), wherein the cost parameter comprises aggregated user-input feature values, received from a plurality of different users, indicating subjective data personal to each of the plurality of different users (Censi: Para. 124, 128, 203; interface may allow a user to generate strategic guidelines; strategic factors (e.g., distances, speeds, accelerations, decelerations, orientations, times, temperatures, seasons, chemical concentrations, zones, heights, and weights, to name a few) associated with the conditions and proper actions; feedback from human users of the autonomous system; passengers and the public may provide feedback about comfort and predictability), and wherein the cost parameter is associated with a cost value comprising an evaluation of the cost parameter over a particular link (Censi: Para. 185; a cost function may be a numerical score characterizing the degree of deviation of a motion action from a strategic guideline); accessing a first database to obtain known data for a first subset of links and known data for a second subset of links, wherein the first subset of links and the second subset of links are non-overlapping (Censi: Para. 9, 113; geographic information system databases; maps describing properties; determining values of factors, identifying missing factors using a linking process); ……… , and wherein the at least one user-input feature value comprising the indication of pollution is unknown for the second subset of the links (Censi: Para. 9; identifying missing factors); calculating one or more cost values for the first subset of links (Censi: Para. 184; cost evaluation to compute a cost of a trajectory); using machine learning to identify a relationship in the first subset between the user-input feature value corresponding to the user-input feature value comprising the indication of ………. which is unknown in the second subset of links and the known data for the first subset of links (Censi: Para. 9, 47; identifying one or more factors associated with a logical expression, determining values of factors, identifying missing factors); using the estimated user-input feature values and the known data for the second subset of links to calculate one or more cost values for the second subset of links (Censi: Para. 9, 47; values of the one or more factors may be determined by a machine learning algorithm; one or more missing factors may be identified by a linking process); and determining, based on the cost values for the second subset of links, a personalised route by selecting, from a plurality of evaluated routes (Censi: Para. 145; quantitatively evaluate candidate trajectories that it has under consideration and then select an optimal trajectory) between a start point and an end point on a map (Censi: Para. 181; navigate from a start position and a goal position) defined by a plurality of links for representing roads and a plurality of nodes for representing junctions between roads, a route having the lowest cost parameter between the start point and the end point, wherein the plurality of links meet at respective nodes and comprise a plurality of features having associated feature values (Censi: Para. 196-197; components of strategic guidelines (e.g., conditions) guiding the decision of the trajectories and motion actions of the autonomous system; cost evaluation of a trajectory may be performed on parts of the trajectory).
Censi doesn’t explicitly teach accessing a user-input feature value database to obtain aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links, wherein at least one user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input values for the first subset of links comprising the indication of pollution, and wherein the at least one user-input feature value comprising the indication of pollution ……. pollution.
However Matus, in the same field of endeavor, teaches accessing a user-input feature value database to obtain aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links, wherein at least one user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input values for the first subset of links comprising the indication of pollution, and wherein the at least one user-input feature value comprising the indication of pollution (Matus: Para. 32, 42, 46; roadway database; collecting environmental data; air quality e.g., pollution levels; cross-user features (e.g., features combining PVA data derived from a plurality of user devices associated with a single vehicle or with a plurality of vehicles)) ……. pollution (Matus: Para. 32; air quality e.g., pollution levels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modify the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of non-generic sensor data and supplemental data improves the correlation between data and traffic-related characteristics leading to an increased understanding of variables affecting user behavior while driving (Matus: Para. 17).
Regarding claim 13, Censi teaches a method of determining a personalised route using machine learning to approximate missing user-input data from known data, the method comprising: defining a cost parameter comprising a function of feature values (Censi: Para. 185; a cost function may be a numerical score characterizing the degree of deviation of a motion action from a strategic guideline or from all the strategic guidelines of a priority group), wherein the cost parameter comprises aggregated user-input feature values, received from a plurality of different users, indicating subjective data personal to each of the plurality of different users (Censi: Para. 124, 128, 203; interface may allow a user to generate strategic guidelines; strategic factors (e.g., distances, speeds, accelerations, decelerations, orientations, times, temperatures, seasons, chemical concentrations, zones, heights, and weights, to name a few) associated with the conditions and proper actions; feedback from human users of the autonomous system; passengers and the public may provide feedback about comfort and predictability), and wherein the cost parameter is associated with a cost value comprising an evaluation of the cost parameter over a particular link (Censi: Para. 185; a cost function may be a numerical score characterizing the degree of deviation of a motion action from a strategic guideline); accessing a first database to obtain known data for a first subset of links and known data for a second subset of links, wherein the first subset of links and the second subset of links are non-overlapping (Censi: Para. 9, 113; geographic information system databases; maps describing properties; determining values of factors, identifying missing factors using a linking process) ………. is unknown for the second subset of links (Censi: Para. 9; identifying missing factors); calculating one or more cost values for the first subset of links (Censi: Para. 184; cost evaluation to compute a cost of a trajectory), using machine learning to identify a relationship in the first subset between the feature value corresponding to the at least one user-input feature value which is unknown in the second subset of links and the known data for the first subset of links (Censi: Para. 9, 47; identifying one or more factors associated with a logical expression, determining values of factors, identifying missing factors); applying the identified relationship in the second subset of links to obtain estimated user-input feature values for the second subset of links using the known data for the second subset of links (Censi: Para. 9, 47; identifying missing factors using a linking process); using the estimated user-input feature values and the known data for the second subset of links to calculate one or more cost values for the second subset of links (Censi: Para. 9, 47; values of the one or more factors may be determined by a machine learning algorithm; one or more missing factors may be identified by a linking process); and determining, based on the cost values for the second subset of links, a personalised route by selecting, from a plurality of evaluated routes (Censi: Para. 145; quantitatively evaluate candidate trajectories that it has under consideration and then select an optimal trajectory) between a start point and an end point on a map (Censi: Para. 181; navigate from a start position and a goal position) defined by a plurality of links for representing roads and a plurality of nodes representing junctions between roads, a route having the lowest cost parameter between the starting point and the end point, wherein the plurality of links meet at respective nodes and comprise a plurality of features having associated feature values (Censi: Para. 196-197; components of strategic guidelines (e.g., conditions) guiding the decision of the trajectories and motion actions of the autonomous system; cost evaluation of a trajectory may be performed on parts of the trajectory).
Censi doesn’t explicitly teach accessing a user-input feature value database to obtain aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links, wherein at least one user-input feature value.
However Matus, in the same field of endeavor, teaches accessing a user-input feature value database to obtain aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links, wherein at least one user-input feature value (Matus: Para. 32, 42, 46; roadway database; collecting environmental data; air quality e.g., pollution levels; cross-user features (e.g., features combining PVA data derived from a plurality of user devices associated with a single vehicle or with a plurality of vehicles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modify the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of non-generic sensor data and supplemental data improves the correlation between data and traffic-related characteristics leading to an increased understanding of variables affecting user behavior while driving (Matus: Para. 17).
Regarding claim 16, Censi doesn’t explicitly teach wherein at least a portion of the known data for the second subset of links comprises publicly accessible data.
However Matus, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least a portion of the known data for the second subset of links comprises publicly accessible data (Matus: Para. 32; weather forecast describing thunderstorms proximal the driver's location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of non-generic sensor data and supplemental data improves the correlation between data and traffic-related characteristics leading to an increased understanding of variables affecting user behavior while driving (Matus: Para. 17).
Regarding claim 25, Censi doesn’t explicitly teach wherein at least a portion of the known data for the second subset of links comprises publicly accessible data.
However Matus, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least a portion of the known data for the second subset of links comprises publicly accessible data (Matus: Para. 32; weather forecast describing thunderstorms proximal the driver's location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of non-generic sensor data and supplemental data improves the correlation between data and traffic-related characteristics leading to an increased understanding of variables affecting user behavior while driving (Matus: Para. 17).
Regarding claim 27, Censi teaches a method of determining a route using machine learning to approximate missing user-input data from known data, the method comprising: defining a cost parameter comprising a function of feature values (Censi: Para. 185; a cost function may be a numerical score characterizing the degree of deviation of a motion action from a strategic guideline or from all the strategic guidelines of a priority group), wherein the cost parameter comprises aggregated user-input feature values, received from a plurality of different users, indicating feedback data provided by each of the plurality of different users (Censi: Para. 124, 128, 203; interface may allow a user to generate strategic guidelines; strategic factors (e.g., distances, speeds, accelerations, decelerations, orientations, times, temperatures, seasons, chemical concentrations, zones, heights, and weights, to name a few) associated with the conditions and proper actions; feedback from human users of the autonomous system; passengers and the public may provide feedback about comfort and predictability), and wherein the cost parameter is associated with a cost value comprising an evaluation of the cost parameter over a particular link (Censi: Para. 185; a cost function may be a numerical score characterizing the degree of deviation of a motion action from a strategic guideline); accessing a first database to obtain known data for a first subset of links and known data for a second subset of links, wherein the first subset of links and the second subset of links are non-overlapping (Censi: Para. 9, 113; geographic information system databases; maps describing properties; determining values of factors, identifying missing factors using a linking process); ……….. , and wherein the at least one user-input feature value comprising the indication of ………. is unknown for the second subset of links (Censi: Para. 9; identifying missing factors); calculating one or more cost values for the first subset of links (Censi: Para. 184; cost evaluation to compute a cost of a trajectory); using machine learning to identify a relationship in the first subset between the user-input feature value corresponding to the user-input feature value comprising an indication of pollutions which is unknown in the second subsets of links and the known data for the first subset of links (Censi: Para. 9, 47; identifying one or more factors associated with a logical expression, determining values of factors, identifying missing factors); applying the identified relationship in the second subset of links to obtain estimated user-input feature values for the second subset of links using the known data for the second subset of links (Censi: Para. 9, 47; identifying missing factors using a linking process); using the estimated user-input feature values and the known data for the second subset of links to calculate one or more cost values for the second subset of links (Censi: Para. 9, 47; values of the one or more factors may be determined by a machine learning algorithm; one or more missing factors may be identified by a linking process); and determining, based on the cost values for the second subset of links, a route by selecting, from a plurality of evaluated routes (Censi: Para. 145; quantitatively evaluate candidate trajectories that it has under consideration and then select an optimal trajectory) between a start point and an end point on a map (Censi: Para. 181; navigate from a start position and a goal position) defined by a plurality of links for representing roads and a plurality of nodes for representing junctions between roads, a route having the lowest cost parameter between the start point and the end point, wherein the plurality of links meet at respective nodes and comprise a plurality of features having associated feature values (Censi: Para. 196-197; components of strategic guidelines (e.g., conditions) guiding the decision of the trajectories and motion actions of the autonomous system; cost evaluation of a trajectory may be performed on parts of the trajectory).
Censi doesn’t explicitly teach accessing a user-input feature value database to obtain aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links, wherein at least one user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises an indication of pollution …….. pollution.
However Matus, in the same field of endeavor, teaches accessing a user-input feature value database to obtain aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links, wherein at least one user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises an indication of pollution (Matus: Para. 32, 42, 46; roadway database; collecting environmental data; air quality e.g., pollution levels; cross-user features (e.g., features combining PVA data derived from a plurality of user devices associated with a single vehicle or with a plurality of vehicles) …….. pollution (Matus: Para. 32; air quality e.g., pollution levels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of non-generic sensor data and supplemental data improves the correlation between data and traffic-related characteristics leading to an increased understanding of variables affecting user behavior while driving (Matus: Para. 17).
Regarding claim 29, Censi doesn’t explicitly teach wherein at least a portion of the known data for the second subset of links comprises publicly accessible data.
However Matus, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least a portion of the known data for the second subset of links comprises publicly accessible data (Matus: Para. 32; weather forecast describing thunderstorms proximal the driver's location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of non-generic sensor data and supplemental data improves the correlation between data and traffic-related characteristics leading to an increased understanding of variables affecting user behavior while driving (Matus: Para. 17).
Regarding claim 33, Censi doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the pollution corresponds to air quality.
However Matus, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the pollution corresponds to air quality (Matus: Para. 32; environmental data; air quality (e.g., pollution levels, etc.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of non-generic sensor data and supplemental data improves the correlation between data and traffic-related characteristics leading to an increased understanding of variables affecting user behavior while driving (Matus: Para. 17).
Regarding claim 34, Censi doesn’t explicitly teach wherein at least one user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises an indication of pollution.
However Matus, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises an indication of pollution (Matus: Para. 32; environmental data; air quality (e.g., pollution levels, etc.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of non-generic sensor data and supplemental data improves the correlation between data and traffic-related characteristics leading to an increased understanding of variables affecting user behavior while driving (Matus: Para. 17).
Claims 15 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Censi et al. (US Publication 2019/0079527 A1) in view of Matus et al. (US Publication 2019/0005812 A1) and in further view of Cerecke et al. (US Publication 2015/0285651 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Censi and Matus don’t explicitly teach wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises user feedback.
However Cerecke, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises user feedback (Cerecke: Para. 159; the weights can be adjusted or at least based in part, on user input; user interface can receive user input (e.g., textual input selections from a drop-down menu, checked boxes, etc.) that can provide operator override of the routing selection methods; a user can provide input that causes the routing module to adjust the weights of the factors such that a route is selected that minimizes or reduces estimated transit time (e.g., the time cost component)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) and the input of user feedback (Cerecke: Para. 159) with a reasonable expectation of success because user input to change the weight on the user’s preferred features will personalize the suggested path (Cerecke: Para. 10, 159).
Regarding claim 24, Censi and Matus don’t explicitly teach wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises user feedback.
However Cerecke, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises user feedback (Cerecke: Para. 135, 159; the weights can be adjusted or at least based in part, on user input; user interface can receive user input (e.g., textual input selections from a drop-down menu, checked boxes, etc.) that can provide operator override of the routing selection methods; a user can provide input that causes the routing module to adjust the weights of the factors such that a route is selected that minimizes or reduces estimated transit time (e.g., the time cost component)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) and the input of user feedback (Cerecke: Para. 159) with a reasonable expectation of success because user input to change the weight on the user’s preferred features will personalize the suggested path (Cerecke: Para. 10, 159).
Claims 17, 26, 28, 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Censi et al. (US Publication 2019/0079527 A1) in view of Matus et al. (US Publication 2019/0005812 A1) and in further view of Park et al. (Foreign Reference KR20100064248A).
Regarding claim 17, Censi and Matus don’t explicitly teach wherein the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprise one or more recordings of noise captured via one or more user devices.
However Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprise one or more recordings of noise captured via one or more user devices (Park: Pg. 2 Lines 43-45, Pg. 6 Lines 11-16; microphone; recording mode; store the road state; traffic noise information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) and the route optimization using the stored noise and smoke location information (Park: Pg. 6 Lines 11-16) with a reasonable expectation of success because the route search section information includes options of soot avoidance and noise areas as taught by Park (Park: Pg. 7 Line 58 - Pg. 8 Line 2).
Regarding claim 26, Censi and Matus don’t explicitly teach wherein the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprise one or more recordings of noise captured via one or more user devices.
However Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprise one or more recordings of noise captured via one or more user devices (Park: Pg. 2 Lines 43-45, Pg. 6 Lines 11-16; microphone; recording mode; store the road state; traffic noise information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) and the route optimization using the stored noise and smoke location information (Park: Pg. 6 Lines 11-16) with a reasonable expectation of success because the route search section information includes options of soot avoidance and noise areas as taught by Park (Park: Pg. 7 Line 58 - Pg. 8 Line 2).
Regarding claim 28, Censi and Matus don’t explicitly teach wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises noise level.
However Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises noise level (Park: Pg. 2 Lines 43-45, Pg. 6 Lines 11-16; microphone; recording mode; store the road state; traffic noise information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) and the route optimization using the stored noise and smoke location information (Park: Pg. 6 Lines 11-16) with a reasonable expectation of success because the route search section information includes options of soot avoidance and noise areas as taught by Park (Park: Pg. 7 Line 58 - Pg. 8 Line 2).
Regarding claim 30, Censi and Matus don’t explicitly teach wherein the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprise one or more recordings of noise captured via one or more user devices.
However Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprise one or more recordings of noise captured via one or more user devices (Park: Pg. 2 Lines 43-45, Pg. 6 Lines 11-16; microphone; recording mode; store the road state; traffic noise information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) and the route optimization using the stored noise and smoke location information (Park: Pg. 6 Lines 11-16) with a reasonable expectation of success because the route search section information includes options of soot avoidance and noise areas as taught by Park (Park: Pg. 7 Line 58 - Pg. 8 Line 2).
Regarding claim 31, Censi and Matus don’t explicitly teach wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprise noise level.
However Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprise noise level (Park: Pg. 2 Lines 43-45, Pg. 6 Lines 11-16; microphone; recording mode; store the road state; traffic noise information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) and the route optimization using the stored noise and smoke location information (Park: Pg. 6 Lines 11-16) with a reasonable expectation of success because the route search section information includes options of soot avoidance and noise areas as taught by Park (Park: Pg. 7 Line 58 - Pg. 8 Line 2).
Regarding claim 32, Censi and Matus don’t explicitly teach wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises noise level.
However Park, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises noise level (Park: Pg. 2 Lines 43-45, Pg. 6 Lines 11-16; microphone; recording mode; store the road state; traffic noise information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) and the route optimization using the stored noise and smoke location information (Park: Pg. 6 Lines 11-16) with a reasonable expectation of success because the route search section information includes options of soot avoidance and noise areas as taught by Park (Park: Pg. 7 Line 58 - Pg. 8 Line 2).
Claims 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Censi et al. (US Publication 2019/0079527 A1) in view of Matus et al. (US Publication 2019/0005812 A1) and in further view of Nascimento et al. (US Publication 2018/0122237 A1).
Regarding claim 35, Censi and Matus don’t explicitly teach wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises a measurement of aesthetics.
However Nascimento, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises a measurement of aesthetics.
Nascimento teaches globally optimizing vehicle actions. The examples include route or vehicle actions that would reduce the congestion, less traveling distance, less time spent in traffic jams, less fuel consumption, and pollution emission. The system gives a scenario where a first vehicle is on the open road, and a second vehicle is in congested bumper-bumper traffic (Nascimento: Para. 158, 169). A vehicle route optimized to travel on an open road or with less time in traffic jams with pollution emission would be a highly aesthetic vehicle route choice. The prior art does contain factors that optimized would create a more aesthetic vehicle route choice.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) and the route optimization using pollution emission taught in Nascimento (Nascimento: Para. 158) with a reasonable expectation of success because globally optimizing the route drive by the vehicle based on the level of reduced congestion, less traveling distance, less time spent traffic jams, less fuel consumption or pollution emission as taught by Nascimento (Nascimento: Para. 158).
Regarding claim 36, Censi and Matus don’t explicitly teach wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises a measurement of aesthetics.
However Nascimento, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises a measurement of aesthetics.
Nascimento teaches globally optimizing vehicle actions. The examples include route or vehicle actions that would reduce the congestion, less traveling distance, less time spent in traffic jams, less fuel consumption, and pollution emission. The system gives a scenario where a first vehicle is on the open road, and a second vehicle is in congested bumper-bumper traffic (Nascimento: Para. 158, 169). A vehicle route optimized to travel on an open road or with less time in traffic jams with pollution emission would be a highly aesthetic vehicle route choice. The prior art does contain factors that optimized would create a more aesthetic vehicle route choice.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) and the route optimization using pollution emission taught in Nascimento (Nascimento: Para. 158) with a reasonable expectation of success because globally optimizing the route drive by the vehicle based on the level of reduced congestion, less traveling distance, less time spent traffic jams, less fuel consumption or pollution emission as taught by Nascimento (Nascimento: Para. 158).
Regarding claim 37, Censi and Matus don’t explicitly teach wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises a measurement of aesthetics.
However Nascimento, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one second user-input feature value of the aggregated user-input feature values for the first subset of links comprises a measurement of aesthetics.
Nascimento teaches globally optimizing vehicle actions. The examples include route or vehicle actions that would reduce the congestion, less traveling distance, less time spent in traffic jams, less fuel consumption, and pollution emission. The system gives a scenario where a first vehicle is on the open road, and a second vehicle is in congested bumper-bumper traffic (Nascimento: Para. 158, 169). A vehicle route optimized to travel on an open road or with less time in traffic jams with pollution emission would be a highly aesthetic vehicle route choice. The prior art does contain factors that optimized would create a more aesthetic vehicle route choice.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have modified the trajectory cost function (Censi: Para. 185) with the information on pollution (Matus: Para. 32) and the route optimization using pollution emission taught in Nascimento (Nascimento: Para. 158) with a reasonable expectation of success because globally optimizing the route drive by the vehicle based on the level of reduced congestion, less traveling distance, less time spent traffic jams, less fuel consumption or pollution emission as taught by Nascimento (Nascimento: Para. 158).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 25 September 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 12-13, 15-17, and 24-37 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s attorney argues that the claim 12’s “defining a cost parameter comprising a function of feature values, wherein the cost parameter comprises aggregated user-input feature values, received from a plurality of different users, indicating subjective data personal to each of the plurality of different users, and wherein the cost parameter is associated with a cost value comprising an evaluation of the cost parameter over a particular link” is not taught by the prior arts.
In response to the argument above, Censi teaches a cost function route planning with guidelines of a priority group (Censi: Para. 185). It is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that determining a vehicle route based on cost function allows for various cost parameters to be considered or encouraged, such as user preference, speed, fuel efficiency, traffic, and points of interest along the way. The cost function is attached to a set of strategic guidelines organized in the form of one or more databases. This includes strategic factors such as distances, speed, accelerations, decelerations, orientations, times, temperatures, seasons, chemical concentration, zones heights, and weights (Censi: Para. 128). Censi teaches feedback from human users for the autonomous system. This can be done by passenger and public feedback for comfort and predictability (Censi: Para. 124). Censi teaches a user interface that allows the user to generate strategic guidelines in order to personalize the route cost calculates a numerical score for a route option based on strategic guidelines and the user preferences (Censi: Para. 185, 203). Censi does teach cost function analysis for vehicle route options that includes multiple parameters, integration feedback of aggregated users with a user personalization.
The applicant next argues that claim 12 and 13’s “determining, based on the cost values for the second subset of links, a personalized route by selecting, from a plurality of evaluated routes between a start point and an end point on a map defined by a plurality of links for representing roads and a plurality of nodes for representing junctions between roads” is not taught by the prior arts.
In response to the argument above, Censi teaches creating a trajectory from a start position to a goal position for autonomous navigation (Censi: Para. 181). Censi teaches a start to goal trajectory as a series of parts. The cost evaluation of a trajectory is optimized for the whole, but also with deviations for the parts. Censi teaches recording the strategic guidelines or components such as a combination of conditions, proper driving actions, strategic factors, and deviation metrics for guiding the decision of autonomous trajectory (Censi: Para. 196-197). Censi teaches strategic guidelines and motion planner that can quantitatively evaluate candidate trajectories to select an optimal trajectory from the candidates (Censi: Para. 145). It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a start to finish vehicle route can be described as a series of roads and junctions. The parts of a trajectory is a general way to describe the various junction and road choices for a generic vehicle trajectory. The cost function for various vehicle route options is also well known in the art. Selecting a personalized route option based on the various possibilities is taught by Censi’s strategic guidelines and user inputted preferences (Censi: Para. 145, 185, 203).
The applicant next argues that there is no motivation to combine Censi along with Matus and Cerecke to achieve the claimed invention.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, Censi teaches a vehicle route determination based on a personalized cost function evaluation (145, 185, 203). Matus teaches a vehicle route determination based on collected environmental data for its cost function analysis, such as taking into account a predicted thunderstorm and driver’s location to chose a route that would be less affected by the weather (Matus: Para. 32, 42, 46). Cerecke teaches a vehicle management system for a fleet of vehicles with weighted parameters such as stop characteristics, vehicle characteristics, driver characteristics, road parameters, speed limits, time of day, and other real time criteria (Cerecke: Para. 128, 158-159).
Both Censi and Matus are directed towards developing an optimal vehicle route based on various parameters. Cerecke takes into account most of those same vehicle parameters and a few additional others. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use any to all of the vehicle parameters taught by Censi, Matus and Cerecke when calculating vehicle trajectory options and evaluating the cost analysis among the options to select an optimal trajectory.
The applicant next argues that claims 13 and 27 have been similarly amended and are allowable for similar reasons.
In response to the argument above, the arguments for claim 12 have been addressed above. The responses would similarly apply to claims 13 and 27.
The applicant next argues that claims 15-17, 24-26, and 28-37 depend on claims 12, 13, and 27 and are allowable at least based on their dependency.
In response to the argument above, claims 12, 13, and 27 are rejected. Therefore claims 15-17, 24-26, and 28-37 are rejected at least based on their dependencies.
The applicant’s arguments have failed to point out the distinguishing characteristics of the amended claim language over the prior art. For the above reasons, Censi’s route cost functions with Matus’s air quality consideration reads on the applicant’s a method a determining a route. The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663