DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 18-22 are pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Claims 18 and 22 are currently amended.
Status of Previous Claim Rejections Under 35 USC § 112
The previous rejection of claim 22 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0196795 (A1) to Waeckerle et al. (“Waeckerle”) in view of US 2016/0055952 (A1) to Watanabe et al. (“Watanabe”) and US 2020/0194169 (A1) (also WO 2019/054777 (A1) to Jang) (“Jang ‘169”), and further in view of US 2014/0362505 (A1) to Jang et al. (“Jang ‘505”).
US 2020/0194169 (A1) is a pre-grant publication of U.S. appl. ser. no. 16/643,023, which is a 371 national stage application of PCT/KR2018/010770, published by WIPO as WO 2019/054777 (A1). The pre-grant publication will serve as an equivalent of and the translation for the WIPO publication.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Waeckerle teaches a method of producing a strip of nanocrystalline material obtained from a ribbon (method for producing a nanocrystalline alloy ribbon). Abstract; para. [0011]. The method includes the following steps:
(a) providing an amorphous alloy ribbon that is later recrystallized into nanocrystals (preparing an amorphous alloy ribbon capable of nanocrystallization) (abstract; para. [0012], [0051], [0070], [0073], [0085]);
(b) subjecting the ribbon to crystallization annealing to produce nanocrystals (performing a thermal treatment for nanocrystallization of the amorphous alloy ribbon) (para. [0012], [0051], [0071]-[0074], [0085]); and
(c) placing the ribbon under tension during annealing and producing nanocrystals in the alloy (tension exerted on the amorphous alloy ribbon to obtain a nanocrystalline alloy ribbon) (abstract; para. [0012], [0075], [0085], [0086]).
Waeckerle does not teach a step of causing the nanocrystalline ribbon to be held on an adhesive layer therebetween and a step forming a crack on the nanocrystalline alloy ribbon by applying an external force directly to the ribbon, where the crack in each of the crack-formed ribbons is formed at a different position as viewed in the stacking direction, and stacking a plurality of three or more sheets comprising the alloy ribbons.
Watanabe is directed to a magnetic sheet used for an electronic device in which an electronic compass is disposed, such mobile phones, for example. Para. [0001]. The sheet is made of a thin sheet-shaped magnetic body (10) (corresponds to alloy ribbon) held on a resin film with an adhesive layer (15) (corresponds to adhesive layer) sandwiched between the magnetic body and the resin film/substrate (20) (corresponds to release film/resin film). Para. [0016], [0037]; FIGS. 1(a), 1(b), and 5(b).
The substrate (20) is made of a resin film made from polyimides (such as polyether imide and polyamide imide), polyamides, and polyesters (such as polyethylene terephthalate), with polyamides and polyimides being preferred from the viewpoint of heat resistance and dielectric loss. Para. [0039]. The thickness of the substrate (20) is 10-100 µm. Para. [0039].
The magnetic body is subject to a crack treatment by applying an external force while the magnetic body is held on the substrate (causing the ribbon to be held on a release film with adhesive therebetween). Para. [0047], [0073], [0074]. The external force may be applied from the side of the thin-shaped magnetic body (forming the crack in the ribbon includes applying an external force directly to the ribbon, thereby producing a crack-formed ribbon having a release film). Para. [0075]; FIGS. 6(a)-(c). The crack treatment divides the magnetic body into a plurality of finite or infinite pieces and is performed to rectify the embrittlement cause by heat treatment of the magnetic body. Para. [0047].
Jang ‘169 is directed to magnetic shielding sheets and a wireless power transfer module including the magnetic shielding sheets. Para. [0002]. The magnetic sheet may be a nano-crystalline alloy thin ribbon sheet. Para. [0013], [0046]. The magnetic sheet may be a multiple layer sheet in which a plurality of ribbon sheets is stacked as multiple layers through an adhesive layer 121b (plurality of the sheet members is three or more or five or more). Para. [0013], [0031], [0035]; FIG. 3. A cover member (122, 222) functions as a protective film (corresponds to second resin film) and is positioned under and on top of the stacked ribbons with adhesive in between (stacking the plurality of sheet members on a second resin film with adhesive layers in between). Para. [0055]; FIGS.1-3.
In a multilayer sheet, each ribbon sheet 121a may be flake-treated and formed to be divided into a plurality of fine pieces (forming a crack in the nanocrystalline alloy ribbon). Para. [0047]. Each of the fine pieces may be randomly formed to have an irregular shape (obtaining a nanocrystalline ribbon in which each crack is formed at different positions as viewed in the stacking direction). Para. [0047]; FIGS. 1 and 2. By forming these fine pieces, the sheet itself may have excellent flexibility. Para. [0038], [0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added a crack-forming or flake-treating step, as taught by Watanabe and Jang ‘169, to the method of Waeckerle because the cracks would not only reduce the brittleness induced by Waeckerle’s heat treatment step but also impart greater flexibility to the ribbon when it is used in various products (e.g., sensors, probes with or without shielding, energy storate, etc.) (Waeckerle at para. [0164]-[0174]). Watanabe teaches that stacking thin sheet-shaped magnetic bodies to increase the thickness of the body makes it difficult to deform the body (abstract; para. [0001], [0046]). Therefore, it would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have stacked multiple layers of the magnetic ribbon of Waeckerle in the manner disclosed by Watanabe and Jang ‘169 because the increased thickness would fortify and strengthen the integrity of the structure when used as a core or other electronic component.
Waeckerle, Watanabe, and Jang ‘169 do not teach stacking the plurality of sheets comprising the ribbon, adhesive, and release film by peeling off a release film from the adhesive layer.
Jang ‘505 is directed to a magnetic field shield sheet for a digitizer, with applications to a tablet personal computer and smart phone. Para. [0006], [0031], [0102]. Sheets are stacked in an overlapping or abutting manner accommodates the wide widths needed for portable terminal devices. Para. [0103]; FIGS. 3A and 3B. It also maximizes the magnetic permeability for a magnetic field shielding function. Para. [0219].
Jang ‘505 creates a stacked structure by providing at least two nanocrystalline ribbon sheets (23, 24) and (21, 22), each containing double-sided tape (3a, 3b). Para. [0104]-[0107]; FIGS. 3A and 3B. Release films on both sides of the double-sided tape (3a or 3b) are peeled off and removed (peeling the release film from the adhesive layer). Para. [0108]. The ribbon sheets (21-24) are then stacked. Para. [0108]; FIG. 3B.
To stack sheets, release films (4, 4b) are peeled off and removed, thereby exposing the double-sided tape (3, 3a), which is used to connect the nanocrystalline ribbon sheets (22) and (24). Para. [0104]-[0108]; FIGS. 3A and 3B. The release film (4, 4b) is important because it serves the function of protecting the adhesive layer prior to the adhesive layer being deployed to attach the sheets. Para. [0107], [0108]. The release film (4) further functions as protection of the double-sided tape (3) prior to attachment of the magnetic field shield sheet (10) on a rear surface of a digitizer panel (54). Para. [0175]; FIGS. 16 and 17.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added a removable release film to the nanocrystalline ribbon sheets of Waeckerle in view of Watanabe and Jang ‘169 because a removable release film would cover, shield, and protect the adhesive (e.g., from contaminants or outside artifacts) prior to and up to the moment of being needed to join two or more sheets together.
Waeckerle teaches that the process produces relative permeabilities (µr) of between 50 and 5000 (para. [0086], [0121], [0127]), but does not teach the claimed range at 128 kHz. However, Waeckerle teaches that it is possible to choose permeability by varying the tension applied. Para. [0073], [0086], [0103]. Low permeabilities for cores are desirable. Para. [0002]. Higher permeabilities in nanocrystalline strips tend to be more brittle. Para. [0007]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select a lower permeability and be capable of doing so by changing the degree of tension applied during annealing.
In addition, it is well established that when a material is produced by a process that is identical or substantially identical to that of the claims and/or possesses a structure or composition that is identical or substantially identical to that of the claims, any claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Such a finding establishes a prima facie case of anticipation or obviousness. See MPEP § 2112.01. In the present instance, Waeckerle’s heat treatment match that of the present invention and is applied to an alloy composition also matching that of the present invention (see claims 21 and 22 below). Therefore, any claimed resulting properties would have been expected to be present in the prior art.
Regarding claim 20, Waeckerle teaches producing the amorphous ribbon by chilled-roll casting (amorphous alloy ribbon produced by roll cooling). Para. [0070]. The ribbon is provided in the form of a coil (2) (para. [0033]; FIG. 2), which suggests a long ribbon. The ribbon proceeds through the annealing furnace under tension in a substantially longitudinal axial direction of the ribbon (ribbon proceeds in a longitudinal direction while applying tension to the amorphous alloy). Para. [0012], [0075]. The annealing takes place as the ribbon moves through the length of tunnel furnace (3) (continuously performing thermal treatment). FIG. 2.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Waeckerle teaches the following alloy composition in atomic percentages (para. [0012], [0048]-[0050]):
Here, Mʹ is at least one of the elements V, Cr, Al and Zn, and Mʹʹ is at least one of the elements C, Ge, P, Ga, Sb, In and Be. The sum of (y+z) the Si (subscript ‘y’) and B (subscript ‘z’) ranges from 15 to 24.9 (para. [0012], [0048]-[0050]), which overlaps the claimed range.
The overlap between the ranges taught in the prior art and recited in the claims creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select from among the prior art ranges because there is utility over an entire range disclosed in the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the present invention is distinct from Jang ‘505 in that the present invention applies an external force to each of the plurality of nanocrystalline ribbons to form cracks and then subsequently stacks the plurality of ribbons, whereas Jang ‘505 forms cracks after stacking the ribbons.
In response, when FIG. 6 refers to performing flake treatment on a “laminate ribbon sheet” (S14), this means that the flake treatment (crack-forming process) is performed on the nanocrystalline ribbon sheets. Para. [0125]. The term “laminate ribbon sheet” (also called a “laminate sheet”) does not refer to a stacking of multiple layers of sheets. Instead, the term refers to laminate in the sense that the ribbon is accompanied by protective film and double-sided tape (e.g., para. [0045], [0127]). This is consistent with claims, where formation of cracks in the nanocrystalline ribbon occurs after the ribbon is held on a release film with adhesive in between.
Even if Jang ‘505 taught performing flake treatment after stacking multiple layers of sheets, Watanabe shows conducting a crack treatment by applying an external force to a magnetic sheet (1) or the magnetic body (10) (FIG. 6(a)-6(c); para. [0047], [0075]). This is also taught by Jang ‘169, where each ribbon sheet 121a may be flake-treated and formed to be divided into a plurality of fine pieces (para. [0047]). Thus, the application of external force to each magnetic ribbon is known in the art.
Conclusion
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
January 12, 2026