DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 6, 10, 21-28 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claim
Claims 1-2, 6, 10, 21-28 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 21-28 have been newly added.
Claims 1-2, 6, 10, and 21-28 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 10, and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (EP3115783A1) (IDS filed on 03/09/2022).
Regarding claim 1, Gouda teaches a linked body for fluorescent labeling agents (See
figure 1, the bonding group is component B and the probe is component 5. [0006] “The present
invention was made with a focus on this problem, and objects of the present invention are: to
provide a phosphor-integrated nanoparticle labeling agent which is capable of yielding a
sufficient signal intensity even when the final concentration of its phosphor-integrated
nanoparticle is low (e.g., 0.02 nM)”, [0052] “The phosphor-integrated nanoparticle 5 is a particle
in which phosphors are integrated. By using such a phosphor-integrated nanoparticle, the
amount of fluorescence emitted per molecule, that is, the brightness of a bright spot labeling a
prescribed biomolecule can be improved as compared to a single phosphor molecule.”)
comprising a probe molecule to a bonding group directly bonding to the probe molecule ([0046] “The phosphor-integrated nanoparticle 5 and the second binding group substance B may be bound by a direct bond or, as shown in Fig. 1, an indirect bond via other molecule.”, [0047] “Examples of a mode of directly binding the second binding group substance B to the phosphor-integrated nanoparticle 5 include, but not particularly limited to, covalent bonding, ionic bonding, hydrogen bonding, coordinate bonding, physical adsorption and chemical adsorption, which can be performed by a known method. From the standpoint of the binding stability, a bond with high bonding strength, such as a covalent bond, is preferred.”),
the probe molecule is configured to specifically bonded to the target substance by an antigen-antibody reaction, directly or indirectly via only one aptamer or one antibody (see figure 1, [0012], [0013], and [0019] teaching that the probe molecule (labeled 3) is configured to specifically bonded to the target substance (labeled 2) by an antigen-antibody (3: probe antigen or antibody, 2: antigen or antibody), directly or indirectly via only one antibody), and
wherein a labeling ratio of the bonding group to the probe molecule is ≥3:1 (fig. 1 shows 4 bonding groups).
Regarding claim 2, Gouda teaches the linked body for fluorescent labeling agents
according to claim 1, wherein the labeling ratio of the bonding group to the probe molecule is
≤20:1 (fig. 1 component B is the bonding group, where there are 4 bonding groups. Component
5 of figure 1 is the probe).
Regarding claim 6, Gouda teaches the linked body for fluorescent labeling agents
according to claim 1, wherein the bonding group is at least one selected from the group
consisting of biotin, avidin, streptavidin, neutravidin, a hapten, and an anti-hapten antibody (fig.
2, [0034] “Referring to the specific example of a PEG linker shown in Fig. 2 (A), biotin is bound
to one end of the PEG linker (the right end of the molecule shown in Fig. 2(A)) and a maleimide
group is bound to the other end of the PEG linker (the left end of the molecule shown in Fig. 2
(A)). When the probe biological substance 3 such as an antibody is allowed to react with and
bound to the maleimide group at the end of this PEG linker, the length of the first hydrophilic
polymer-derived spacer (length of the spacer 1) is, as shown in Fig. 2(B), the length of the part
from the nitrogen atom of an amide bond and the oxygen atom of the next amide bond, which
corresponds to the part indicated by the bidirectional arrow.”).
Regarding claim 10, Gouda teaches the linked body for fluorescent labeling agents
according to claim 2, wherein the bonding group is at least one selected from the group
consisting of biotin, avidin, streptavidin, neutravidin, a hapten, and an anti-hapten antibody (fig.
2, [0034] “Referring to the specific example of a PEG linker shown in Fig. 2 (A), biotin is bound
to one end of the PEG linker (the right end of the molecule shown in Fig. 2(A)) and a maleimide
group is bound to the other end of the PEG linker (the left end of the molecule shown in Fig. 2
(A)). When the probe biological substance 3 such as an antibody is allowed to react with and
bound to the maleimide group at the end of this PEG linker, the length of the first hydrophilic
polymer-derived spacer (length of the spacer 1) is, as shown in Fig. 2(B), the length of the part
from the nitrogen atom of an amide bond and the oxygen atom of the next amide bond, which
corresponds to the part indicated by the bidirectional arrow.”).
Regarding claim 21, Gouda teaches a linked body for fluorescent labeling agents comprising a probe molecule and a bonding group directly bonding to the probe molecule (see [0006], see [0046], see [0052]), wherein the probe molecule consists of one selected from a group consisting of a nucleic acid aptamer, a peptide aptamer and an antibody (see [0019]), and a labeling ratio of the bonding group to the probe molecule is > 3:1 (fig. 1 shows 4 bonding groups).
Regarding claim 23, Gouda teaches wherein the bonding group is at least one selected from the group consisting of biotin, avidin, streptavidin, neutravidin, a hapten, and an anti-hapten antibody (see [0041], see [0042]).
Regarding claims 22, 24, 26, and 28, Gouda teaches the linked body for fluorescent labeling agents according to claim 1, wherein the labeling ratio of the bonding group to the probe molecule is ≤20:1 (fig. 1 component B is the bonding group, where there are 4 bonding groups. Component 5 of figure 1 is the probe).
Regarding claim 25, Gouda teaches a linked body for fluorescent labeling agents for labeling a target substance, comprising a probe molecule and a bonding group directly bonding to the probe molecule (see [0046], see [0047]), wherein the probe molecule consists of one selected from a group consisting of a nucleic acid aptamer, a peptide aptamer and an antibody, which is configured to be specifically bonded to the target substance by an antigen-antibody reaction, directly or indirectly via only one aptamer or one antibody, and a labeling ratio of the bonding group to the probe molecule is > 3:1 (see figure 1, [0012], [0013], and [0019] teaching that the probe molecule (labeled 3) is configured to specifically bonded to the target substance (labeled 2) by an antigen-antibody (3: probe antigen or antibody, 2: antigen or antibody), directly or indirectly via only one antibody).
Regarding claim 27, Gouda teaches wherein the bonding group is at least one selected from the group consisting of biotin, avidin, streptavidin, neutravidin, a hapten, and an anti-hapten antibody (see [0041], see [0042]).
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed on 11/07/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
On p. 6 applicant argues that Gouda fails to disclose the probe molecule being configured to specifically bond to the target substance by an antigen-antibody reaction, directly or indirectly via only one aptamer or one antibody. However, Gouda teaches antigen-antibody reactions (see [0079] – [0080]). Gouda teaches that the antigen-antibody reaction between the biomolecule (2) and the probe (3) is unlikely to be adversely affected (see [0097]), thus teaching that Gouda binds the probe and the target substance by an antigen-antibody reaction. Further, Gouda teaches that the probe is an antibody (see [0011], [0019], [0033]).
On pp. 7-8 applicant argues that the probe of Gouda does not consist of one selected from the group consisting of a nucleic acid aptamer, a peptide aptamer, and an antibody, but rather Gouda discloses that the phosphor-integrated nanoparticle (5) is a particle in which phosphors are integrated. However, Gouda’s integrated phosphor nanoparticle marking agent consists of a probe (an antigen or antibody ([0019]), a target biomolecule ([0013]), and a phosphor-integrated nanoparticle (5) (see [0012]). Thus, Gouda does teach the probe being an antibody (see [0019]).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MCKENZIE A DUNN/Examiner, Art Unit 1678
/Ann Montgomery/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678