DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinlage et al. (USPGPub 2015/0271980) in view of Bruce (USPGPub 2011/0147018).
Regarding claim 1: Steinlage discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade (as seen in figures 1-17) comprising:
a disc (as seen in figure 2, at 139) having a central opening (as seen in figure 2, at 147) adapted to be attached to an implement for rotation about an axis of rotation (as seen in figures 1 and 2); and,
the disc having an outer periphery.
Further, Steinlage discloses having a plurality of notches in the disc from a location substantially at the outer periphery to the central opening (as seen in figure 2) but fails to show those notches being step plane. However, Bruce teaches that it is well known in the tillage blade art to provide a disc having a plurality of steps or “planes” (as seen in figure 3, at 10t, 21, 20t and 23). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provides the device of Steinlage with the teachings of Bruce since it would be a simple matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable results of a tillage disc better equipped to manage cut soil and hold a better cutting edge for a longer period of time.
Regarding claim 2: Steinlage as modified by Bruce discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade of claim 1. Further, Steinlage discloses wherein the notches are of uniform depth (as seen in figure 2).
Regarding claim 3: Steinlage as modified by Bruce discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade of claim 1. Further, Steinlage discloses wherein the disc is convex on one side and concave on the other (as seen in figure 4, at 138 and 139).
Regarding claim 5: Steinlage as modified by Bruce discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade of claim 1. Further, Steinlage discloses wherein a hub is attached to the disc around the central opening (as seen in figure 17, at 147).
Regarding claim 6: Steinlage as modified by Bruce discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade of claim 1. Further, Steinlage discloses wherein substantially aligned holes are disposed through the blade and through the hub and threaded fasteners extend through the aligned holes for holding the hub fixed to the blade (as seen in annotated figure 10 below).
Regarding claim 8: Steinlage discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade (as seen in figures 1-17) apparatus comprising:
a disc (as seen in figure 2, at 139) having a central opening (as seen in figure 2, at 147) adapted to be attached to an implement for rotation about an axis of rotation;
the disc having an outer periphery; and,
a hub being attached to the disc around the central opening (as seen in annotated figure 10 above). Further, Steinlage discloses a plurality of notches in the disc from a location substantially at the outer periphery to the central opening (as seen in figure 2) but fails to show those notches being step plane. However, Bruce teaches that it is well known in the tillage blade art to provide a disc having a plurality of steps or “planes” (as seen in figure 3, at 10t, 21, 20t and 23). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provides the device of Steinlage with the teachings of Bruce since it would be a simple matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable results of a tillage disc better equipped to manage cut soil and hold a better cutting edge for a longer period of time.
Regarding claim 9: Steinlage as modified by Bruce discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade of claim 8. Further, Steinlage discloses wherein substantially aligned holes are disposed through the blade and through the hub and threaded fasteners extend through the aligned holes for holding the hub fixed to the blade (as seen in annotated figure 10 above).
Regarding claim 10: Steinlage as modified by Bruce discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade of claim 8. Further, Steinlage discloses the apparatus further comprising at least two discs (as seen in figure 4, at 138 and 139).
Regarding claim 12: Steinlage as modified by Bruce discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade of claim 8. Further, Steinlage discloses wherein the notches are of uniform depth (as seen in figure 2).
Regarding claim 13: Steinlage as modified by Bruce discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade of claim 8. Further, Steinlage discloses wherein the disc is convex on one side and concave on the other (as seen in figure 4, at 138 and 139).
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemm et al. (USP 2,749,694) in view of Bruce (USPGPub 2011/0147018).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 15: Klemm discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade apparatus (as seen in figures 1-7) comprising:
at least two discs (as seen in figure 1, at 18, 19, 20), each having a central opening (as seen in figure 1, at 22) adapted to be attached to an implement for rotation about a substantially horizontal axis of rotation (as seen in figure 3, define thru 22);
each disc having an outer periphery; and
a plurality of notches (as seen in figures 1-5) in each disc from a location substantially at the outer periphery to the central opening.
Further, Klemm discloses wherein a spacer spool (as seen in figure 5, at 21) is disposed on a shaft (as seen in figure 3, connected via nut at 22; also, column 2, lines 55-60) between the at least two discs, the spacer spool extending radially outwardly from the center opening but fails to show those notches being step plane. However, Bruce teaches that it is well known in the tillage blade art to provide a disc having a plurality of steps or “planes” (as seen in figure 3, at 10t, 21, 20t and 23). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provides the device of Steinlage with the teachings of Bruce since it would be a simple matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable results of a tillage disc better equipped to manage cut soil and hold a better cutting edge for a longer period of time.
.
Regarding claim 16: Klemm as modified by Bruce discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade of claim 15. Further, Klemm discloses wherein the notches are of uniform depth (as best seen in figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 17: Klemm as modified by Bruce discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade of claim 15. Further, Klemm discloses wherein the disc is convex on one side and concave on the other (as best seen in figure 5).
Regarding claim 19: Klemm as modified by Bruce discloses a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade of claim 15. Further, Klemm discloses wherein a hub is attached to the disc around the central opening (as seen in figure 2, at 24).
Claims 4, 14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemm et al. (USP 2,749,694) in view of Bruce (USPGPub 2011/0147018) as applied to claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 15 above, and further in view of Stark (USPGPub 2012/0103642).
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 18: Klemm as modified by Bruce discloses the claimed device substantially as discussed above but fails to show the disc being substantially flat. However, Stark teaches that it is well known to employ a disc (as seen in figure 2, at 8) being substantially flat (as best seen in figures 3 and 4; also, page 3, paragraph [0028]) in concert with a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Klemm as modified by Bruce with the teachings of Stark since it would be a matter of a simple substitution of one known element, a concaved disc, for another, a planar/flat disc, to obtain the predictable results of less soil/ground disturbance while operating, absent any showing to the contrary.
Regarding claim 20: Klemm as modified by Bruce discloses the claimed device substantially as discussed above but fails to show the hub/fasteners as claimed by the applicant. However, Stark teaches that it is well known to employ such a hub and aligned holes with fasteners (as seen in figure 4, at 23 and 45) in concert with a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Klemm as modified by Bruce with the teachings of Stark since it would be a matter of a simple substitution of one known element, a single mount hub, for another, a hub assembly having a plurality of fasteners to obtain the predictable results of a more positively connected disc assembly.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,944,025. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and the issued patent lend themselves to a ground engaging agricultural tillage blade comprising a disc with step plane notches.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ROBERT E PEZZUTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3671