DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
The limitation, “structural adhesive”, it should be noted any adhesive that bonds imparts a structure.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 5 objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 4 and 5 depend from canceled claim 3, for the purpose of examination claims 4 and 5 will depend from claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US2014/0212722A1) in view of Sekino et al. (EP2696389A1, a machine translation), and in further view of Lee et al. (US2007/0238018A1), henceforth known as Lee018.
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a power battery pack [Abstract], comprising: a tray (Lower case (220) [0062]) and an upper cover (Upper case (210) [0062]), wherein the tray comprises a rectangular side frame and a bottom plate (See annotated figure 2 below), and the upper cover and the bottom plate are respectively connected to upper and lower ends of the side frame to define and enclose a battery accommodating cavity [0062]; and a plurality of cells (battery cells 10 [0062]), wherein the plurality of cells are mounted in the battery accommodating cavity (See figure 2),
Lee is silent on one surface of each of the cells is bonded to the upper cover by a structural adhesive, and opposite surface of each of the cells is bonded to the bottom plate by a thermally conductive structural adhesive.
In the same field of endeavor Sekino discloses a battery pack, secondary battery apparatus [Abstract], and further teaches the upper end portion of each of the battery cells…fixed to the upper case 18 with the adhesive agent 100 [0020] and the lower end portion of each of the battery cells…fixed to the lower case 16 with adhesive agent 100. [0019] and the adhesive agent is used at the portions of the battery cell except deformable portions thereof to thereby increase the strength of the assembled battery [0045] Sekino further teaches the adhesive agents which are curable using organic polymer having hydrolyzable silicon-containing group (hydrolyzable silyl group, as a representative example)) [0025], would meet the limitation, where silicone based adhesives are disclosed in paragraph [0037] of the published disclosure as thermally conductive insulating adhesives.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modified Lee with the adhesive of Sekino to strengthen the assembled battery.
And wherein a top of the battery accommodating cavity is defined by the upper cover (210), a bottom of the battery accommodating cavity is defined by the bottom plate (bottom plate of 220), and four lateral sides of the battery accommodating cavity are defined by an inner surface of the side frame (as shown in annotated fig. 2).
(Lee, figure 2)
Lee discloses wherein each of the plurality of cells is a rectangular battery of a cuboid structure with six surfaces and has a length, a thickness, and a height, and the plurality of cells are arranged along a thickness direction of the cells. FIG. 5 is a perspective view of a cell unit [0066] and as shown in figure 5 the cell unit is a cuboid structure.
(Lee, figure 5)
First and second surfaces of the six surfaces extend along the height and the length of each cell and have a first surface area, third and fourth surfaces of the six surfaces extend along the length and the thickness of each cell and have a second surface area, and fifth and sixth surfaces of the six surfaces extend along the height and the thickness and have a third surface area, the first surface area being larger than the second surface area and the second surface area being larger than the third surface area. See figure 5 of Lee above).
Lee does not explicitly disclose the side frame fully covers each of the first surface of a first endmost one of the plurality of cells and the second surface of a second endmost one of the plurality of cells. In the same field of endeavor Lee018 discloses a battery cell module [Abstract] and teaches the side frame (cell covers (110) [0005]) fully covers each of the first surface of a first endmost one of the plurality of cells (fig. 1) and the second surface of a second endmost one of the plurality of cells (guide channels 122 into which the cell covers 110 are inserted to be installed [0005] and as shown in fig. 1 channels (122) are located on the opposite side of element (110) or second side providing a second surface of a second endmost one of the plurality of cells. Lee018 further teaches the cell covers (110) are inserted to protect the battery cells (112) from external shock and vibration.
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Lee with the cell covers as taught by Lee018 to prevent external shock and vibration.
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Lee discloses wherein two adjacent cells are arranged in the battery accommodating cavity with surfaces of the two adjacent cells having the first surface area facing each other. As shown in figure 2 above a stack of batteries having two adjacent first surface areas facing each other.
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, modified Lee discloses the third surface of each cell is bonded to the upper cover by the structural adhesive (the upper end portion of each of the battery cells…fixed to the upper case 18 with the adhesive agent 100 [Sekino, 0020]); and the fourth surface of each cell is bonded to the bottom plate (the lower end portion of each of the battery cells…fixed to the lower case 16 with adhesive agent 100. [Sekino, 0019]) by the thermally conductive structural adhesive. Sekino further teaches the adhesive agents which are curable using organic polymer having hydrolyzable silicon-containing group (hydrolyzable silyl group, as a representative example)) [0025], would meet the limitation, where silicone based adhesives are disclosed in paragraph [0037] of the published disclosure as thermally conductive insulating adhesives.
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Lee discloses the upper cover and the bottom plate are made of a metal. [0037]
As to claim 15, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, modified Lee discloses wherein a top surface having the second surface area of each cell and the upper cover are bonded by the structural adhesive (the upper end portion of each of the battery cells…fixed to the upper case 18 with the adhesive agent 100 [Sekino, 0020]); and bottom surface having the second surface area of each cell and the bottom plate are bonded adhesive (the lower end portion of each of the battery cells…fixed to the lower case 16 with adhesive agent 100. [Sekino, 0019]) by the thermally conductive structural adhesive. Sekino further teaches the adhesive agents which are curable using organic polymer having hydrolyzable silicon-containing group (hydrolyzable silyl group, as a representative example)) [0025], would meet the limitation, where silicone based adhesives are disclosed in paragraph [0037] of the published disclosure as thermally conductive insulating adhesives.
As to claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated, modified Lee discloses the upper cover and the bottom plate are made of a metal. [0037]
Claim(s) 7-10, 12-14 and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US2014/0212722A1) in view of Sekino et al. (EP2696389A1, a machine translation), as applied to claims 1-6, 15 and 16 above, in view of Lee et al. (US2007/0238018A1), henceforth known as Lee018 and further in view of Spielvogel et al. (US2021/0138886A1, with foreign priority date of May 5, 2017).
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Lee discloses it is possible to provide a battery module [0001] but does not explicitly teach, “a bottom protection plate, connected to the lower end of the side frame, and spaced apart from the bottom plate along a vertical direction; and a heat exchange plate, sandwiched between the bottom protection plate and the bottom plate.”
In the same field of endeavor Spielvogel discloses, The invention is directed to a support structure for an energy storage device, in particular for a battery pack of a vehicle [Abstract], as taught in the published [Abstract] of the present discloser, and further teaches, “a bottom protection plate (The support structure 1 comprises a base panel 100, [0077]), connected to the lower end of the side frame (The support structure further 1 comprises a first main beam 400a that is mechanically interconnected with and extending along a first edge area 101 of the base panel 100, [0077], and as shown in figures 1 and 2 connected on a lower end of a side frame), and spaced apart from the bottom plate along a vertical direction (Thermal transfer member 200 comprising a plate-like contacting unit 210 that has a contact face 215 configured to be brought into contact with a battery pack (not shown), [0083], where contact face 215 in direct contact with the battery pack provides a bottom plate and as shown in figure 11 is apart from the bottom protection plate 100.) ;
and a heat exchange plate (Thermal transfer member 200 according to the present disclosure. This routing module 230 of this variation comprises a first and a second routing member 235, 236 that again are arranged at the first, respectively second connection face 216, 217 of a contacting unit 210. Said routing members 235, 236 comprise multiple routing cavities 237 that are interconnected with a multiplicity of channel ports 212, respectively internal channels 211, [0085], where the internal channels (211) act as the heat exchange plate), sandwiched between the bottom protection plate and the bottom plate. See figure 11.
A particularly lightweight support structure may be obtained if the base panel comprises a sandwich-type panel comprising a panel core and a first cover sheet and a second cover sheet arranged on two opposite sides of the panel core. Thus, the mechanical resistance of the support structure against impacts from below can be significantly increased. In a variation of the invention, the thermal transfer member may be at least part of the first cover sheet. [0017]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify the bottom plate Lee with the base panel of Spielvogel to decrease weight of the battery pack and corresponding vehicle.
(Spielvogel, figures 1 and 2)
(Spielvogel, figure 11)
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, modified Lee discloses a surface of the heat exchange plate (Internal channels 211 of routing module 230 of Spielvogel [0083]) and an outer surface of the bottom plate (Contact face 215 of contacting unit 210, of Spielvogel [0083]) are bonded (The contacting unit and the routing module are separately made and then mechanically interconnected with each other such as by soldering, welding, use of an adhesive agent or other type of connection, [Spielvogel, 0046]) by a thermally conductive structural adhesive. Sekino teaches the adhesive agents which are curable using organic polymer having hydrolyzable silicon-containing group (hydrolyzable silyl group, as a representative example)) [0025], would meet the limitation, where silicone based adhesives are disclosed in paragraph [0037] of the published disclosure as thermally conductive insulating adhesives.
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, modified Lee discloses the heat exchange plate (Internal channels 211 of routing module 230, [Spielvogel, 0085]) has a heat exchange cavity configured to circulate a heat exchange medium. (Routing module 230 comprises a first and a second routing member 235, 236 comprise multiple routing cavities 237 that are interconnected with a multiplicity of channel ports 212, respectively internal channels 211, in such a way that coolant (not shown) provided to the router inlet port 231 flows through the connecting unit 210 at a relatively high speed to the router outlet port 232, [Spielvogel, 0085]).
A particularly lightweight support structure may be obtained if the base panel comprises a sandwich-type panel comprising a panel core and a first cover sheet and a second cover sheet arranged on two opposite sides of the panel core. Thus, the mechanical resistance of the support structure against impacts from below can be significantly increased. In a variation of the invention, the thermal transfer member may be at least part of the first cover sheet. [0017]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify the bottom plate Lee with the base panel of Spielvogel to decrease weight of the battery pack and corresponding vehicle.
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, modified Lee discloses the heat exchange plate has an energy-absorbing structure. (Internal channels 211 of routing module 230, [Spielvogel, 0085] where the energy-absorbing structure is formed by the internal channels 21, the same as disclosed in paragraph [0049] of the published discloser.
A particularly lightweight support structure may be obtained if the base panel comprises a sandwich-type panel comprising a panel core and a first cover sheet and a second cover sheet arranged on two opposite sides of the panel core. Thus, the mechanical resistance of the support structure against impacts from below can be significantly increased. In a variation of the invention, the thermal transfer member may be at least part of the first cover sheet. [0017]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify the bottom plate Lee with the base panel of Spielvogel to decrease weight of the battery pack and corresponding vehicle.
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Lee does not explicitly teach “the bottom protection plate comprises a mainboard body and a buffer layer, and the buffer layer is disposed on a side of the mainboard body close to the heat exchange plate.”
Spielvogel discloses the bottom protection plate (Base panel (100)) comprises a mainboard body (First cover sheet 131 [0081]) and a buffer layer (Intermediate layer 300… an elastic material that accommodates different coefficients of thermal expansion [0081], where elastic buffer layer would meet the limitation as applied by the instant disclosure paragraph [0052], “the buffer layer is configured to absorb external impact, and includes a structure such as a rubber layer.”)
“the buffer layer is disposed on a side of the mainboard body close to the heat exchange plate.” (First surface 110 of the base panel 100 and the thermal transfer member 200, an intermediate layer 300 is arranged [0081], as shown in figure 10.)
A particularly lightweight support structure may be obtained if the base panel comprises a sandwich-type panel comprising a panel core and a first cover sheet and a second cover sheet arranged on two opposite sides of the panel core. Thus, the mechanical resistance of the support structure against impacts from below can be significantly increased. In a variation of the invention, the thermal transfer member may be at least part of the first cover sheet. [0017]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify the bottom plate Lee with the base panel of Spielvogel to decrease weight of the battery pack and corresponding vehicle.
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Lee is silent on a vehicle, comprising the power battery pack according to claim1.
Spielvogel discloses The invention is directed to a support structure for an energy storage device, in particular for a battery pack of a vehicle [Abstract].
A particularly lightweight support structure may be obtained if the base panel comprises a sandwich-type panel comprising a panel core and a first cover sheet and a second cover sheet arranged on two opposite sides of the panel core. Thus, the mechanical resistance of the support structure against impacts from below can be significantly increased. In a variation of the invention, the thermal transfer member may be at least part of the first cover sheet. [0017]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify the bottom plate Lee with the base panel of Spielvogel to decrease weight of the battery pack and corresponding vehicle.
As to claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated, Lee is silent on the power battery pack is mounted on a chassis of the vehicle.
Spielvogel discloses a support structure for an energy storage device, in particular for a battery pack of a vehicle according to the present disclosure typically comprises at least one base panel [0012] …the base panel may comprise one or multiple fastening points integrally made with the base panel in order to mechanically interconnect the support structure with the chassis/frame of a vehicle. [0014].
A particularly lightweight support structure may be obtained if the base panel comprises a sandwich-type panel comprising a panel core and a first cover sheet and a second cover sheet arranged on two opposite sides of the panel core. Thus, the mechanical resistance of the support structure against impacts from below can be significantly increased. In a variation of the invention, the thermal transfer member may be at least part of the first cover sheet. [0017]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify the bottom plate Lee with the base panel of Spielvogel to decrease weight of the battery pack and corresponding vehicle.
As to claim 17, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated, Lee discloses it is possible to provide a battery module [0001] but does not explicitly teach, “a bottom protection plate, connected to the lower end of the side frame, and spaced apart from the bottom plate along a vertical direction; and a heat exchange plate, sandwiched between the bottom protection plate and the bottom plate.”
In the same field of endeavor Spielvogel discloses, The invention is directed to a support structure for an energy storage device, in particular for a battery pack of a vehicle [Abstract], as taught in the published [Abstract] of the present discloser, and further teaches, “a bottom protection plate (The support structure 1 comprises a base panel 100, [0077]), connected to the lower end of the side frame (The support structure further 1 comprises a first main beam 400a that is mechanically interconnected with and extending along a first edge area 101 of the base panel 100, [0077], and as shown in figures 1 and 2 connected on a lower end of a side frame), and spaced apart from the bottom plate along a vertical direction (Thermal transfer member 200 comprising a plate-like contacting unit 210 that has a contact face 215 configured to be brought into contact with a battery pack (not shown), [0083], where contact face 215 in direct contact with the battery pack provides a bottom plate and as shown in figure 11 is apart from the bottom protection plate 100.) ;
and a heat exchange plate (Thermal transfer member 200 according to the present disclosure. This routing module 230 of this variation comprises a first and a second routing member 235, 236 that again are arranged at the first, respectively second connection face 216, 217 of a contacting unit 210. Said routing members 235, 236 comprise multiple routing cavities 237 that are interconnected with a multiplicity of channel ports 212, respectively internal channels 211, [0085], where the internal channels (211) act as the heat exchange plate), sandwiched between the bottom protection plate and the bottom plate. See figure 11.
A particularly lightweight support structure may be obtained if the base panel comprises a sandwich-type panel comprising a panel core and a first cover sheet and a second cover sheet arranged on two opposite sides of the panel core. Thus, the mechanical resistance of the support structure against impacts from below can be significantly increased. In a variation of the invention, the thermal transfer member may be at least part of the first cover sheet. [0017]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify the bottom plate Lee with the base panel of Spielvogel to decrease weight of the battery pack and corresponding vehicle.
(Spielvogel, figures 1 and 2)
(Spielvogel, figure 11)
As to claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, modified Lee discloses a surface of the heat exchange plate (Internal channels 211 of routing module 230 of Spielvogel [0083]) and an outer surface of the bottom plate (Contact face 215 of contacting unit 210, of Spielvogel [0083]) are bonded (The contacting unit and the routing module are separately made and then mechanically interconnected with each other such as by soldering, welding, use of an adhesive agent or other type of connection, [Spielvogel, 0046]) by a thermally conductive structural adhesive. Sekino teaches the adhesive agents which are curable using organic polymer having hydrolyzable silicon-containing group (hydrolyzable silyl group, as a representative example)) [0025], would meet the limitation, where silicone based adhesives are disclosed in paragraph [0037] of the published disclosure as thermally conductive insulating adhesives.
As to claim 19, the rejection of claim 18 is incorporated, modified Lee wherein the heat exchange plate (Internal channels 211 of routing module 230, [Spielvogel, 0085]) has a heat exchange cavity configured to circulate a heat exchange medium. (Routing module 230 comprises a first and a second routing member 235, 236 comprise multiple routing cavities 237 that are interconnected with a multiplicity of channel ports 212, respectively internal channels 211, in such a way that coolant (not shown) provided to the router inlet port 231 flows through the connecting unit 210 at a relatively high speed to the router outlet port 232, [Spielvogel, 0085]).
A particularly lightweight support structure may be obtained if the base panel comprises a sandwich-type panel comprising a panel core and a first cover sheet and a second cover sheet arranged on two opposite sides of the panel core. Thus, the mechanical resistance of the support structure against impacts from below can be significantly increased. In a variation of the invention, the thermal transfer member may be at least part of the first cover sheet. [0017]
As to claim 20, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated, modified Lee discloses the heat exchange plate is provided with an energy-absorbing structure. (Internal channels 211 of routing module 230, [Spielvogel, 0085] where the energy-absorbing structure is formed by the internal channels 21, the same as disclosed in paragraph [0049] of the published discloser.
A particularly lightweight support structure may be obtained if the base panel comprises a sandwich-type panel comprising a panel core and a first cover sheet and a second cover sheet arranged on two opposite sides of the panel core. Thus, the mechanical resistance of the support structure against impacts from below can be significantly increased. In a variation of the invention, the thermal transfer member may be at least part of the first cover sheet. [0017]
As to claim 21, Lee discloses a power battery pack [Abstract], comprising: a tray (Lower case (220) [0062]) and an upper cover (Upper case (210) [0062]), wherein the tray comprises a rectangular side frame and a bottom plate (See annotated figure 2 below), and the upper cover and the bottom plate are respectively connected to upper and lower ends of the side frame to define and enclose a battery accommodating cavity [0062]; and a plurality of cells (battery cells 10 [0062]), wherein the plurality of cells are mounted in the battery accommodating cavity (See figure 2),
Lee is silent on one surface of each of the cells is bonded to the upper cover by a structural adhesive, and opposite surface of each of the cells is bonded to the bottom plate by a thermally conductive structural adhesive.
In the same field of endeavor Sekino discloses a battery pack, secondary battery apparatus [Abstract], and further teaches the upper end portion of each of the battery cells…fixed to the upper case 18 with the adhesive agent 100 [0020] and the lower end portion of each of the battery cells…fixed to the lower case 16 with adhesive agent 100. [0019] and the adhesive agent is used at the portions of the battery cell except deformable portions thereof to thereby increase the strength of the assembled battery [0045] Sekino further teaches the adhesive agents which are curable using organic polymer having hydrolyzable silicon-containing group (hydrolyzable silyl group, as a representative example)) [0025], would meet the limitation, where silicone based adhesives are disclosed in paragraph [0037] of the published disclosure as thermally conductive insulating adhesives.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modified Lee with the adhesive of Sekino to strengthen the assembled battery.
And wherein a top of the battery accommodating cavity is defined by the upper cover (210), a bottom of the battery accommodating cavity is defined by the bottom plate (bottom plate of 220), and four lateral sides of the battery accommodating cavity are defined by an inner surface of the side frame (as shown in annotated fig. 2).
(Lee, figure 2)
Lee discloses wherein each of the plurality of cells is a rectangular battery of a cuboid structure with six surfaces and has a length, a thickness, and a height, and the plurality of cells are arranged along a thickness direction of the cells. FIG. 5 is a perspective view of a cell unit [0066] and as shown in figure 5 the cell unit is a cuboid structure.
(Lee, figure 5)
First and second surfaces of the six surfaces extend along the height and the length of each cell and have a first surface area, third and fourth surfaces of the six surfaces extend along the length and the thickness of each cell and have a second surface area, and fifth and sixth surfaces of the six surfaces extend along the height and the thickness and have a third surface area, the first surface area being larger than the second surface area and the second surface area being larger than the third surface area. See figure 5 of Lee above).
Lee does not explicitly teach, “a bottom protection plate, connected to the lower end of the side frame, and spaced apart from the bottom plate along a vertical direction; and a heat exchange plate, sandwiched between the bottom protection plate and the bottom plate.”
In the same field of endeavor Spielvogel discloses, The invention is directed to a support structure for an energy storage device, in particular for a battery pack of a vehicle [Abstract], as taught in the published [Abstract] of the present discloser, and further teaches, “a bottom protection plate (The support structure 1 comprises a base panel 100, [0077]), connected to the lower end of the side frame (The support structure further 1 comprises a first main beam 400a that is mechanically interconnected with and extending along a first edge area 101 of the base panel 100, [0077], and as shown in figures 1 and 2 connected on a lower end of a side frame), and spaced apart from the bottom plate along a vertical direction (Thermal transfer member 200 comprising a plate-like contacting unit 210 that has a contact face 215 configured to be brought into contact with a battery pack (not shown), [0083], where contact face 215 in direct contact with the battery pack provides a bottom plate and as shown in figure 11 is apart from the bottom protection plate 100.) ;
and a heat exchange plate (Thermal transfer member 200 according to the present disclosure. This routing module 230 of this variation comprises a first and a second routing member 235, 236 that again are arranged at the first, respectively second connection face 216, 217 of a contacting unit 210. Said routing members 235, 236 comprise multiple routing cavities 237 that are interconnected with a multiplicity of channel ports 212, respectively internal channels 211, [0085], where the internal channels (211) act as the heat exchange plate), sandwiched between the bottom protection plate and the bottom plate. See figure 11.
A particularly lightweight support structure may be obtained if the base panel comprises a sandwich-type panel comprising a panel core and a first cover sheet and a second cover sheet arranged on two opposite sides of the panel core. Thus, the mechanical resistance of the support structure against impacts from below can be significantly increased. In a variation of the invention, the thermal transfer member may be at least part of the first cover sheet. [0017] Extending into the isolation cavity disposed in the side frame ([0077] figs. 1-4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify the bottom plate Lee with the base panel of Spielvogel to decrease weight of the battery pack and corresponding vehicle.
(Spielvogel, figures 1 and 2)
(Spielvogel, figure 11)
As to claim 22, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated, modified Lee discloses a surface of the heat exchange plate (Internal channels 211 of routing module 230 of Spielvogel [0083]) and an outer surface of the bottom plate (Contact face 215 of contacting unit 210, of Spielvogel [0083]) are bonded (The contacting unit and the routing module are separately made and then mechanically interconnected with each other such as by soldering, welding, use of an adhesive agent or other type of connection, [Spielvogel, 0046]) by a thermally conductive structural adhesive. Sekino teaches the adhesive agents which are curable using organic polymer having hydrolyzable silicon-containing group (hydrolyzable silyl group, as a representative example)) [0025], would meet the limitation, where silicone based adhesives are disclosed in paragraph [0037] of the published disclosure as thermally conductive insulating adhesives.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US2014/0212722A1) in view of Sekino et al. (EP2696389A1, a machine translation), as applied to claims 1-6, 15 and 16 above, in view of Lee et al. (US2007/0238018A1), henceforth known as Lee018, in view of Spielvogel et al. (US2021/0138886A1, with foreign priority date of May 5, 2017), and further in view of Zeng et al. (CN202205826U).
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, modified Lee discloses the bottom protection plate comprises a mainboard body (base plate (100) of Spielvogel) but is silent on a “heat preservation layer, and the heat preservation layer is disposed on a side of the mainboard body close to the heat exchange plate.”
In the same field of endeavor Zeng discloses a battery pack [Abstract] and further teaches, the power supply system further comprises a heat insulating cotton 6, 6 installed in the bottom cooling plate 22… can play the role of heat insulation and shock. [0035].
It would be obvious to apply the cotton of Zeng below the cooling member of Spielvogel thermal transfer member (200) to reduce shock thereby improving safety.
The placement of cotton below the thermal transfer member (200) would provide cotton next to base plate (100) of Spielvogel or mainboard body of the bottom protection plate.
Which would meet the limitation where the instant discloser paragraph [Zeng, 0051], heat preservation layer may be a structure such as heat preservation cotton.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The 35 U.S.C. 132(a) rejection is withdrawn in view of amendments to the specification dated 02/24/2026.
The 35 U.S.C. §112(a) rejection is withdrawn in view of amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Raiser et al. (US2018/0062226A1) Battery in housing tray.
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728