DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communications dated 06/26/2024.
Claims 1-18 are pending in this application.
Acknowledges
2. Receipt is acknowledged of the following items from the Applicant.
Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 06/08/2023. The references cited on the PTOL 1449 form have been considered.
Applicant is requested to cite any relevant prior art if being aware on form PTO-1449 in accordance with the guidelines set for in M.P.E.P. 609.
Foreign Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
4. The specification has been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of possible minor errors. However, the applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-6, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0158113)
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a light-emitting substrate, comprising:
a substrate 100 (see fig. 4);
a pixel definition layer 119a and/or 119b disposed on the substrate 100 and comprising a plurality of first openings (in which OLED1 – OLED3 are located) and a plurality of first dams 119a/119b, wherein sidewalls of the plurality of first dams enclose for forming the plurality of first openings;
a plurality of light-emitting elements OLED1 – OLED3 located in the first openings and disposed on the substrate 100; and
a light transmitting layer 400/410/420, wherein at least a portion of the light transmitting layer fills the plurality of first openings and covers the plurality of light-emitting elements OLED1 – OLED3;
wherein a refractive index of the light transmitting layer 400/410/420 is greater than a refractive index of the plurality of first dams 119a/119b (see paras. 0112, 0125; see also para. 0038 of the pending application).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the light-emitting substrate according to claim 1, wherein the light- emitting substrate further comprises:
a barrier layer BM & 210 located on a side of the light transmitting layer 420 away from the substrate, wherein the barrier layer BM & 210 comprises a plurality of second openings (in which color conversion layers QD1, QD2, TW are located) and a plurality of second dams 210, sidewalls of the plurality of second dams enclose for forming the plurality of second openings, the second openings are disposed in a one-to-one correspondence with the first openings, and the second dams 210 are disposed in a one-to- one correspondence with the first dams 119a/119b. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the light-emitting substrate according to claim 2, wherein an interval between ends of two adjacent first dams 119a/119b close to the second dams 210 is less than or equal to an interval between ends of two adjacent second dams 210 close to the first dams. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the light-emitting substrate according to claim 2, wherein a pattern corresponding to a longitudinal section of each of the first dams 119a/119b is an isosceles trapezoid, the isosceles trapezoid comprises a first top edge, a first bottom edge, and two first waist edges, both of the first waist edges are connected between the first top edge and the first bottom edge and located on opposite sides of the first top edge, and a length of the first top edge is less than a length of the first bottom edge;
a pattern of a longitudinal section corresponding to each of the second dams 210 is an inverted isosceles trapezoid comprising a second top edge, a second bottom edge, and two second waist edges, wherein both of the second waist edges are connected between the second top edge and the second bottom edge and located on opposite sides of the second top edge, and a length of the second top edge is greater than a length of the second bottom edge; and
wherein an included angle between the second top edge and each of the second waist edges is greater than or equal to an included angle between the first bottom edge and each of the first waist edges. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the light-emitting substrate according to claim 4, wherein the included angle between the second top edge and each of the second waist edges is greater than or equal to 30 degrees and less than or equal to 60 degrees. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the light-emitting substrate according to claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting elements OLED1-OLED3 emits a first color light (see paras. 0163-0170), the light-emitting substrate further comprises:
a color conversion layer comprising first color conversion units QD1 and second color conversion units CD2 (para. 0128); and
transparent filling units TW (para. 0128);
wherein one of the first color conversion units QD1, one of the second color conversion units QD2, and one of the transparent filling units TW are respectively filled in three adjacent second openings, the first color conversion units QD1 convert the first color light into a second color light (Red light, col. 0157-0159), the second color conversion units convert the first color light into a third color light (Green light), the first color light passes through the transparent filling units (para. 0145), and colors of the first color light, the second color light, and the third color light are different from each other. See paras. 0144-0148, 0157-0159.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a display device, wherein the display device comprises a light-emitting substrate (shown in fig. 4), and the light-emitting substrate comprises:
a substrate 100 (see fig. 4);
a pixel definition layer 119a and/or 119b disposed on the substrate 100 and comprising a plurality of first openings (in which OLED1 – OLED3 are located) and a plurality of first dams 119a/119b, wherein sidewalls of the plurality of first dams enclose for forming the plurality of first openings;
a plurality of light-emitting elements OLED1 – OLED3 located in the first openings and disposed on the substrate 100; and
a light transmitting layer 400/410/420, wherein at least a portion of the light transmitting layer fills the plurality of first openings and covers the plurality of light-emitting elements OLED1 – OLED3;
wherein a refractive index of the light transmitting layer 400/410/420 is greater than a refractive index of the plurality of first dams 119a/119b (see paras. 0112, 0125; see also para. 0038 of the pending application).
Regarding claims 11-15, Kim discloses the display device comprising all claimed limitations. See the rejections of claims 2-6, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
8. Claims 7-9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0158113) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0193968).
Regarding claims 7, Kim discloses the light-emitting substrate according to claim 1, comprising all claimed limitations, as discussed above, except for wherein the light-emitting substrate further comprises:
a plurality of convex lenses disposed on a side of the light transmitting layer away from the substrate and corresponding to the plurality of light-emitting elements.
Lee discloses a display device comprising a light emitting element (comprising emitting layer EML, fig. 5) formed on a substrate SUB1 (fig. 3), a light transmitting layer PTL and/or ADL, a color conversion layer CF, a convex lens disposed on a side of the light transmitting layer away from the substrate and corresponding to the light-emitting element. See also paras. 0009-0015, 0105-0110.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kim to further comprise a convex lens corresponding to a light-emitting element, as that taught by Lee, in order to enhance light extraction efficiency. See para. 0107 of Lee.
Regarding claim 8, Kim/Lee discloses the light-emitting substrate according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements OLED1-OLED3 comprise light-emitting elements respectively emitting at least two different colors of light, and the light-emitting elements emitting two different colors of light are respectively located in two adjacent first openings. See fig. 4, and paras. 0027, 0057, 0090, 0157-0159 of Kim.
Regarding claim 9, Kim/Lee discloses the light-emitting substrate according to claim 7, wherein the light- emitting substrate further comprises:
a protective layer SW2 disposed between the plurality of convex lenses LEN and located on the pixel definition layer. See fig. 5 of Lee.
Regarding claims 16-18, Kim/Lee discloses the display device comprising all claimed limitations. See the rejections of claims 7-9, respectively.
Conclusion
9. A shortened statutory period for response to this action is set to expire 3 (three) months and 0 (zero) day from the day of this letter. Failure to respond within the period for response will cause the application to become abandoned (see M.P.E.P 710.02(b)).
A shortened time for reply may be extended up to the maximum six-month period (35 U.S.C. 133). An extension of time fee is normally required to be paid if the reply period is extended. The amount of the fee is dependent upon the length of the extension. Extensions of time are generally not available after an application has been allowed.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571)272-1633.
/DAO H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818
July 7, 2026