DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-29 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-29 are examined herein.
Priority
The instant application claims benefit of foreign priority to PCTCN2019090258, filed on 06 June 2019, and the benefit of priority to PCT/ep2020/065424, filed on 04 June 2020. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged. As such, the effective filing date of the claims is 06 June 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted by applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 4 recite the compound of formula (I) as having the structure pictured below. The subsequent preparation steps contain an extra CH2 group between R3 and the hydantoin (circled in pictures below). It is unclear whether Formula (I) is missing the CH2 group, or Formulas (III), (V), (VI), (VIII), (IX), and (X) contain an extra CH2 group, or there is an unrecited elimination step. The dependent claims 2, 3, and 5-29 do not resolve the issue and are therefore subject to the rejection as well. To overcome the rejection Applicant is advised to amend Formula (I) to include the CH2 group or amend Formulas (III), (V), (VI), (VIII), (IX), and (X) to eliminate the extra CH2 group. For examination purposes, the claims have been interpreted based on Formula (I), i.e. Formulas (III), (V), (VI), (VIII), (IX), and (X) are interpreted without the extra CH2 group between the hydantoin and R3 substituent.
Claims 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 4 recite the “process comprising ‘one or more’ of the following steps.” The phrase “one or more” renders the claims indefinite as the bounds of the claims are unclear. Any synthetic scheme that shares one process step with the instant invention could be considered infringing, even if the yielded products are different. The dependent claims 2, 3, and 5-29 do not resolve the issue and are therefore subject to the rejection as well. To overcome the rejection Applicant is advised to amend the claim language in a manner that clearly expresses all the steps are required in the process. For examining purposes, and as seen in the rejections below, the claim language has been interpreted to mean that only one step of the process is necessary to be considered an overlap in invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al (WO2015132276A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Guo discloses synthetic steps for compounds of the instant Formula (I). Example 19 (page 83) discloses the reaction of V
→
Q corresponding with the instant steps e), f), and g) in the formation of the instant formula X. Scheme 2 (page 63) discloses the reactions B1
→
C
→
1 (pictured below) which corresponds to the instant steps k) and l).
Regarding claim 2 and 5, Guo discloses the position corresponding to the instant R1 is chlorofluorophenyl, the position corresponding to the instant R2 is methyl, and the position corresponding to the instant R3 is dimethylethyl as seen in preferred embodiment 42 (pictured below).
Regarding claim 3, Guo discloses preferred embodiment 42 which corresponds to the instant compound of claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, Guo discloses compound Q (corresponding to the instant formula X) as a salt (page82).
Regarding claim 27, Guo discloses the reaction to yield compound Q is performed in THF (page 84, line 16).
Claim(s) 1-6, 12-16, and 25-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (WO2017140750A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Chen discloses synthetic steps for compounds of the instant Formula (I). Scheme 1 (page 6) shows reaction steps for VII
→
VIII
→
IX
→
X, corresponding to the instant steps d), e), f), and g). Scheme 2 (page 7) shows reaction steps for XVII
→
XVIII
→
I, corresponding to the instant steps l) and m).
Regarding claim 2 and 5, Chen discloses R1 is phenyl optionally substituted with 1-3 halogen or C1-6- -alkyl substituents, R2 is C1-6- -alkyl, and R3 is CxH2x where x is 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7.
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses example 10 (page 30) and example 13 (page 35), pictured below, respectively.
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses compound X as a hydrochloride salt (page 27).
Regarding claims 12, 13, 25 and 26, Chen discloses the formation of a compound of formula VIII was performed in the presence of a Lewis acid and a reducing agent, wherein the Lewis acid is BF3 · Et2O, and the reducing agent is borane (page 25, line 6).
Regarding claims 14 and 27, Chen discloses the formation of a compound of formula IX was performed in the presence of methanol mixed with water (page 26, line 6).
Regarding claims 15, 16, 28 and 29, Chen discloses the formation of a compound of formula X in the presence of HCl in a solvent, where the solvent is MIBK (page 27, line 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (cited above)
The teachings of Guo are disclosed above and incorporated by reference herein.
Regarding claim 3, Guo teaches the second recited compound as example 42, but does not teach the first recited compound (pictured below).
Guo does teach preferred embodiment 44 (pictured below). The difference between the first recited compound of claim 3 and Guo’s example 44 is the instant compound is an ethyl ester, example 44 is a methyl ester. Example 44 is a species of Guo’s formula (ID) (below) where R4 is a C1-6 alkyl.
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify example 44 to the first recited instant compound of claim 3 as the genus presented by Guo encompasses both the methyl and ethyl ester.
Conclusion
Claims 1-29 are rejected.
/J.K.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1600