DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39-41 and 45-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H06104054 B2.
The instant claims are directed to a sake replica. It is noted that replica means an exact copy or model of something. Hence, the limitation of “sake replica” is interpreted as a product suitable to be consumed as sake and being an exact copy of sake, i.e. sake.
Claims 39, 40 and 45 have been amended to include the limitation of “wherein the sake replica is not a traditionally produced sake”. This limitation is directed to the process for the production of sake beverage. The instant claims are directed to the product (composition). In regard to the process limitations recited in the product claims 39, 40 and 45, it is noted that:
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Further in regard to claims 39, 40 and 45, it is noted that:
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433.
JP H06104054 B2 discloses “soft-type sake with improved bitterness, astringency, and sourness, and a method for producing the same and a method for improving the same” (TECHNICAL FIELD).
In regard to the presence or absence of various VOCs, which is interpreted as Volatile Organic Compounds), JP H06104054 B2 discloses:
The present inventors have conducted extensive studies to solve the above-mentioned problems, and as a result, by performing an electrodialysis treatment of sake with a cation exchange membrane and an anion exchange membrane, it has been known that bitterness, astringency, and miscellaneous taste are improved. The inventors of the present invention have completed the invention, knowing that a soft type of sake different from the existing sake is produced. That is, the present invention, compared to the original sake composition, sake degree, alcohol (%), extract content, isomaltose, glucose, galactose, glycerin, n-propyl alcohol, isobutyl alcohol, isoamyl alcohol, isoamyl acetate, caproic acid. The composition content of ethyl does not substantially change, succinic acid, lactic acid, malic acid, Na+ ion, K+.
It is a novel soft type sake which is characterized by having a reduced composition content of ions, tryptophan, arginine, lysine, putrescine and cadaverine. Further, the present invention is a method for producing soft type sake or a method for modifying sake, characterized by subjecting sake to electrodialysis treatment having a cation exchange membrane and an anion exchange membrane. The novel soft type sake of the present invention is a specific composition component described above, which is reduced as compared with the original sake composition, whereby bitterness and astringency while having the original taste of sake. A novel and unprecedented new sake with improved taste and miscellaneous taste was obtained. For example, the sake degree, alcohol (%), extract content, isomaltose, glucose compared to the original sake composition. , Galactose, glycerin, n-propyl alcohol, isobutyl alcohol, isoamyl alcohol, isoamyl acetate, ethyl caprate composition content does not substantially change, succinic acid and lactic acid are reduced by 20-60%, malic acid is 25- 80% reduction, Na .sup.+Ions reduced by 40-85%, K .sup.+ ions reduced by 50-95%, Tryptophan reduced by 30-80%, Arginine by 10-40%, Lysine is reduced by 5 to 30%, and putrescine and cadaverine are reduced by 80 to 90% ([Means for Solving the Problems] section).
In regard to the presence and absence of various compounds in claims 39-42 and 45-46, it is noted that although the reference does not specifically disclose every possible quantification or characteristic of its product, these characteristics would have been expected to be as claimed absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. The reference discloses the same product as instantly (both broadly and more specifically) claimed, and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the presence and absence of various compounds in claims 39-42 and 45-46 among many other characteristics of the product obtained by referenced method, would have been an inherent result of the process disclosed therein. The Patent Office does not possess the facilities to make and test the referenced method and product obtain by such method, and as reasonable reading of the teachings of the reference has been applied to establish the case of obviousness, the burden thus shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument regarding the limitation of “wherein the sake replica is not a traditionally produced sake” added to claims 39, 40 and 45, it is noted that this limitation is directed to the process for the production of sake beverage. The instant claims are directed to the product (composition). In regard to the process limitations recited in the product claims 39, 40 and 45, it is noted that:
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Further in regard to claims 39, 40 and 45, it is noted that:
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433.
In response to applicant's argument regarding the presence and absence of various compounds in claims 39-42 and 45-46, it is noted that although the reference does not specifically disclose every possible quantification or characteristic of its product, these characteristics would have been expected to be as claimed absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. The reference discloses the same product as instantly (both broadly and more specifically) claimed, and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the presence and absence of various compounds in claims 39-42 and 45-46 among many other characteristics of the product obtained by referenced method, would have been an inherent result of the process disclosed therein. The Patent Office does not possess the facilities to make and test the referenced method and product obtain by such method, and as reasonable reading of the teachings of the reference has been applied to establish the case of obviousness, the burden thus shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise.
Applicants have not provided any evidence that the claimed composition is different from the sake as disclosed by JP H06104054 B2. Applicants have not provided any evidence of unexpected properties in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims.
Applicants’ attention is further directed to the following passages in the MPEP:
Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (differences in sedative and anticholinergic effects between prior art and claimed antidepressants were not unexpected). In In re Waymouth, 499 F.2d 1273, 1276, 182 USPQ 290, 293 (CCPA 1974), the court held that unexpected results for a claimed range as compared with the range disclosed in the prior art had been shown by a demonstration of "a marked improvement, over the results achieved under other ratios, as to be classified as a difference in kind, rather than one of degree." Compare In re Wagner, 371 F.2d 877, 884, 152 USPQ 552, 560 (CCPA 1967) (differences in properties cannot be disregarded on the ground they are differences in degree rather than in kind); Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) ("we generally consider a discussion of results in terms of ‘differences in degree’ as compared to ‘differences in kind’ . . . to have very little meaning in a relevant legal sense").
The evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (Mere conclusions in appellants’ brief that the claimed polymer had an unexpectedly increased impact strength "are not entitled to the weight of conclusions accompanying the evidence, either in the specification or in a declaration."); Ex parte C, 27 USPQ2d 1492 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (Applicant alleged unexpected results with regard to the claimed soybean plant, however there was no basis for judging the practical significance of data with regard to maturity date, flowering date, flower color, or height of the plant.). See also In re Nolan, 553 F.2d 1261, 1267, 193 USPQ 641, 645 (CCPA 1977) and In re Eli Lilly, 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990) as discussed in MPEP § 716.02(c).
Evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP § 716.02(d) - § 716.02(e). See In re Blondel, 499 F.2d 1311, 1317, 182 USPQ 294, 298 (CCPA 1974) and In re Fouche, 439 F.2d 1237, 1241-42, 169 USPQ 429, 433 (CCPA 1971) for examples of cases where indirect comparative testing was found sufficient to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.
Evidence of unexpected results must be weighed against evidence supporting prima facie obviousness in making a final determination of the obviousness of the claimed invention. In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978).
Where the unexpected properties of a claimed invention are not shown to have a significance equal to or greater than the expected properties, the evidence of unexpected properties may not be sufficient to rebut the evidence of obviousness. In re Nolan, 553 F.2d 1261, 1267, 193 USPQ 641, 645 (CCPA 1977).
Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980).
An affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175, 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979). "A comparison of the claimed invention with the disclosure of each cited reference to determine the number of claim limitations in common with each reference, bearing in mind the relative importance of particular limitations, will usually yield the closest single prior art reference." In re Merchant, 575 F.2d 865, 868, 197 USPQ 785, 787 (CCPA 1978) (emphasis in original). Where the comparison is not identical with the reference disclosure, deviations therefrom should be explained, In re Finley, 174 F.2d 130, 81 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1949), and if not explained should be noted and evaluated, and if significant, explanation should be required. In re Armstrong, 280 F.2d 132, 126 USPQ 281 (CCPA 1960) (deviations from example were inconsequential).
The totality of the record must be considered when determining whether a claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Therefore, evidence and arguments directed to advantages not disclosed in the specification cannot be disregarded. In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 298-99, 36 USPQ2d 1089, 1094-95 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (Although the purported advantage of placement of a selective catalytic reduction catalyst in the bag retainer of an apparatus for controlling emissions was not disclosed in the specification, evidence and arguments rebutting the conclusion that such placement was a matter of "design choice" should have been considered as part of the totality of the record. "We have found no cases supporting the position that a patent applicant’s evidence or arguments traversing a § 103 rejection must be contained within the specification. There is no logical support for such a proposition as well, given that obviousness is determined by the totality of the record including, in some instances most significantly, the evidence and arguments proffered during the give-and-take of ex parte patent prosecution." 66 F.3d at 299, 36 USPQ2d at 1095.). See also In re Zenitz, 333 F.2d 924, 928, 142 USPQ 158, 161 (CCPA 1964) (evidence that claimed compound minimized side effects of hypotensive activity must be considered because this undisclosed property would inherently flow from disclosed use as tranquilizer); Ex parte Sasajima, 212 USPQ 103, 104 - 05 (Bd. App. 1981) (evidence relating to initially undisclosed relative toxicity of claimed pharmaceutical compound must be considered).
Conclusion
/VERA STULII/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791