DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action on the merits in response to the amendment filed on 12/01/2025.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9-11 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/01/2025 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-11 been fully considered but are not persuasive. The rejection (and corresponding is maintained.
The rejection of pending claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-11 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, is maintained in view of MPEP 2106.04(d). Applicant argument of the claims provide a technical improvement are not persuasive because the claims do not recite any improvements to the functionality of the electronic transaction device. Instead, the claims are directed to providing instructions and assistance to a user during a payment process, including voice announcements, requesting user actions, and guidance with data entries, which falls under the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity. Such claim limitations fall under the abstract idea category of fundamental economic practices as this claim is assisting a user in completing a financial transaction. The claims merely implement the abstract idea using a generic computing device without reciting a technical solution. The additional elements amounts to no more than mere instructions for providing instructions and assistance to a user during a payment process on a generic computer. Therefore, the mere implementation of the steps above does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See remarks on page 7-10.
The applicant states that Wolter fails to disclose: a voice announcement triggered by detection of the overlay; a voice announcement of any of the claimed data options (e.g., amount, payment option, etc.); or a language to be determined and taken into account. Matson does not overcome the deficiencies of Wolter. Matson proposes to provide "the simultaneous and synchronized presentation of visual and audio instructions or media on the ATM" (para [0013], [0018], [0019], [0022], claim 1), for the purpose of duplicating the display. Matson fails to disclose an assistance triggered by detection of placement an accessory onto an electronic transaction device. To the contrary, the audio emission is either "continuously operating by default, i.e., always operating", or "begun when a user inserts their ATM card", or at best selected by the user "the ATM may prompt the user, both visually and audibly, to select activation of the ATM voice guidance system 100", see para [0020]. Block does not overcome the deficiencies of Wolter and Matson. Block discloses a display panel that can be flexed to limit the displayed information to only the field of view of a current ATM user. Block is not concerned with the visually impaired user. Block fails to disclose any assistance mode, let alone an assistance mode that is triggered by detection of an accessory on a touch screen of an electronic transaction device. Furthermore, Block merely mentions that the ATM can output generic audio messages "please insert/remove your card". Additionally, while Block mentions language, it is merely in connection with a location of the machine. Gray does not overcome the deficiencies of Wolter, Matson and Block. Gray does not address issues relating to the use of electronic transaction devices by the visually impaired. Gray does not disclose the claimed assistance mode, let alone one triggered by detection of an accessory on a touch screen of the electronic transaction device.
The examiner states that Wolter describes “activating an assisted mode allowing the visually impaired user to be guided during the use of said electronic transaction device, said activation being triggered by the detection of the placement of the accessory onto the touch screen.” It is interpreted as “the screen behind the overlay is resized to fit the keypad. In some embodiments, the overlay locating elements are configured to have the device and underlying soft buttons automatically displayed when the overlay is detected on the external surface of the display, and to likewise have the device and underlying soft buttons no longer displayed once it is detected that the overlay is no longer on the external surface of the display. The overlay locating elements can be used to simply indicate to the computing device that the overlay is present, so as to switch into a second mode where the tactile feedback buttons are provided on the overlay and input is provided as though input to soft buttons via the tactile feedback buttons” in the cited prior art. The switching between first and second mode that is triggered by the detection of the accessory, such as the overlay, and the detection results in the user having a modified interaction during the transaction in the cited prior art. The assisted mode is interpreted as assisting and guiding the user once the accessory is detected on the device, the cited prior art is switching to a second mode, or an assisted mode, to assist and guide the user once the accessory is detected on the device as well. Matson describes “emitting an audio message comprising audio emission of at least one of: a voice announcement of an amount of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device.” It is interpreted as “the processor or controller automatically retrieves and plays specific “.wav” audio files associated with displayed instructions or scripts and not in response to a specific user request and FIG. 1 is a flow chart showing the steps of implementing an automated teller machine (ATM) voice guidance system 100. The ATM voice guidance system 100 provides a convenient and easy means for the visually and/or hearing impaired to interactively use and operate an ATM by providing the simultaneous and synchronized presentation of visual and audio instructions or media on the ATM. The visual and audio instructions are preferably presented by an ATM display 40 and a speaker or audio port 35 (see FIG. 2), and the keypad 25 provides a means for the ATM user to interact with the ATM 5 and to respond to queries presented by the ATM 5 via the display screen 40 and the speaker or audio port 35. For example, the keypad 25 enables a user to enter the user's personal identification number (PIN) when requested by the ATM” in the cited prior art. There is a voice guidance system during the transaction as well as providing audio instructions for impaired users, the audio is selected and corresponds to instructions that are displayed, and the user can enter their pin to then select transaction types, such as, withdrawals and balances in the cited prior art. Block describes “a voice announcement of an amount of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement stating a payment option; a voice announcement requiring insertion or placement of a payment card into or on said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement requiring entry of a confidential code; a voice announcement relating to validation or rejection of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement and/or a tone relating to a data entry error; a voice announcement and/or a tone relating to a data entry correction; a voice announcement requesting withdrawal of said payment card.” It interpreted as “displayed instructions on how to insert a card may be correspondingly combined (via a computer) with an ATM output device that can provide audio instructions. An audio instruction may state “please insert your card as shown.” The audio and visual information can be presented in sync. Thus, an ATM can provide a combination of display/voice instructions. It should also be understood that other displayed images and audio messages can be presented. For example, an ATM may inform a customer to “please remove your card” via both audio communication and electronic ink display communication, The ATM can have a default help assistant, A user-preferred assistant may be encoded on the user's ATM card. After the user has been authorized to operate the ATM, which may have included the user providing a proper PIN, then the ATM can switch to using the assistant read from the card, and Following successful insertion of the customer's card, the ATM reads the inserted card and instructs the keypad label 866 to display “Please insert your PIN”... The display (or displays) shown on the keypad label 866 can also have one or more arrows pointing to the keypad. The customer can use the keypad 868 to input their PIN in obtaining approval to use the ATM for the cash withdrawal transaction…The keypad label 866 can next display “Press the number corresponding to your selection.” Alternatively another label, such as the auxiliary label 882 positioned above the keypad 868, can be used for presenting the display. A listing of options can then be presented on the display label 866 (or 882). Depending on the length of the list, the options may all be shown simultaneously on the display, or the display may function to scroll the list. The list can contain transactions normally associated with an ATM. For example, the list may include “1. Check Balance,” “2. Cash Withdrawal”, and “3. Make Deposit”…Next, the label 866 (or 882) can output a request to “Please enter amount in dollars.”.. The ATM can then dispense the requested cash at the dispense/deposit opening 880 for removal by the customer. The label 878 adjacent the dispense/deposit opening 880 can instruct the customer to “Please take your cash”. The ATM can also cause a receipt to be presented at the receipt outlet slot 876”. Claim limitation states including “at least one of” the following transaction prompts and the cited prior art is stating card insertion and removals with the audio and visual instructions, payment options, such as check balances, withdrawals, deposits, and users are using pins or codes for transactions verifications, transactions confirmations and completing transactions.” See remarks on page 10-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria – Step 1:
Claims 1-2, 4, and 9-10 are directed to a method (process) and claims 5-7, and 11 are directed to a device. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria – Step 2A – Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, the claim limitations are to be analyzed to determine whether, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they “recite” a judicial exception or in other words whether a judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claims. MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1). An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groups: a) certain methods of organizing human activity, b) mental processes, and/or c) mathematical concepts. MPEP 2106.04(a).
Representative independents claims 1 and 5 include limitations that recite at least one abstract idea.
Claim 1 and 5 are directed to the abstract idea of “detecting placement of an accessory onto a touch screen of said electronic transaction device, the accessory assisting a visually impaired user to enter data on the touch screen; activating an assisted mode allowing the visually impaired user to be guided during the use of said electronic transaction device, said activation being triggered by the detection of the placement of the accessory onto the touch screen; providing at least one assistance to the visually impaired user in using said electronic transaction device, said providing at least one assistance comprising. During the payment procedure and depending on progress of the payment procedure, emitting by the electronic transaction device an audio message to be heard by the visually impaired user, said emitting an audio message comprising audio emission of at least one of: a voice announcement of an amount of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement stating a payment option; a voice announcement requiring insertion or placement of a payment card into or on said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement requiring entry of a confidential code; a voice announcement relating to validation or rejection of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement and/or a tone relating to a data entry error; a voice announcement and/or a tone relating to a data entry correction; a voice announcement requesting withdrawal of said payment card, wherein the providing at least one assistance comprises determining a language of issue of a payment card inserted into or placed on said electronic transaction device and/or determining at least one available language of said electronic transaction device, and said emitting the audio message takes account of at least one of said determined language.” Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this claim is providing instructions and assistance to a user during a payment process, and hence falls under organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Dependent Claims:
Claim 2 recites: wherein the providing at least one assistance comprises modifying the display of said touch screen, which comprises displaying, on at least part of said touch screen of said electronic transaction device, of at least one of: a standardized virtual keyboard; an element of particular shape and color relating to a navigation key selected on said data entry assistance accessory; an element of particular shape and color relating to a validation, correction or cancellation key selected on said data entry assistance accessory; an element of particular shape and color relating to an acceptance or rejection of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 4 recites: which further comprises detecting removal of said data entry assistance accessory and deactivating said assisted mode for the use of the electronic transaction device, triggered by the detection of the removal; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 6 recites: wherein the processor is configured to detect the placement and/or removal of said data entry assistance accessory and to trigger activating and deactivating the assisted mode for the use of said electronic transaction device; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 7 recites: wherein the electronic device comprises at least one of a speaker and a jack, and wherein the processor is configured to emit through at least one of the speaker or the jack at least one audio message relating to a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or to a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device and/or relating to an action by a user on said data entry assistance accessory, when said assisted mode is activated; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claims 9 recites: wherein the providing at least one assistance in using said electronic transaction device further comprises modifying a display of said touch screen; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 10 recites: further comprising repeating emitting the audio message if no action is taken by the visually impaired user so that the visually impaired user is kept aware of the progress of the payment procedure; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Claim 11 recites: wherein the processor is configured to repeat emitting the audio message if no action is taken by the visually impaired user so that the visually impaired user is kept aware of the progress of the payment procedure; further describes the abstract idea of organizing human activity (i.e., as fundamental economic practices).
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria – Step 2A – Prong Two:
Claims 1 and 5 recites to an electronic transaction device as an additional element to the judicial exception in the preamble. Viewed individually and in combination, this additional element to the identified judicial exception of Step 2A.1, amounts to no more than mere instructions for providing instructions and assistance to a user during a payment process on a generic computer. Therefore, at Step 2A.2, these additional elements do not act in combination to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements of claims 1 and 5 considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element of a generic computer does no more than “[s]imply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry.” See MPEP 2106.05 (citing to Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 225 (2014)).
Therefore claims 1 and 5 is found ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 2B:
Viewed as a whole, instructions/method claims recite the concept of “organizing human activity” (i.e., as fundamental economic practices) in providing instructions and assistance to a user during a payment process are performed by a generic computer. The method claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Instead, the claims at issue amount to nothing significantly more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using some unspecified, generic computer. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208. Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The use of a computer server is to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolter et al. (US 9965116 B1), in view of Matson et al. (US 20070215686 A), in view of Block et al. (US 20060016884 A), and further in view of Gray et al. (US 20200293165 A1).
8. Regarding claims 1 and 5, Wolter discloses a method for assisting with use of an electronic transaction device, said method being performed by people having a visual impairment (An electronic transaction device comprising: a touch screen; and a processor configured to: (Column 5/ line 31)), (Abstract Section, a system for facilitating engagement with a touch screen by a visually impaired person comprises an overlay. The overlay includes a bottom surface having a capacitive component and an overlay locating element. The overlay locating element is configured to interface with a touch screen underlying the overlay to provide a position of the overlay relative to the touch screen. A top surface of the overlay includes a tactile button that is located opposite of the capacitive component. The tactile button and the capacitive component are above the region of a displayed soft button. Engagement of the tactile button by the visually impaired person results in the capacitive component interacting with the touch screen in the region of the displayed soft button to provide a capacitive input detectable by the touch screen.)
said method being performed by the electronic transaction device during a payment procedure and comprising: detecting placement of an accessory onto a touch screen of said electronic transaction device, the accessory assisting a visually impaired user to enter data on a touch screen, (Column 2/line 29, An overlay for a computing device can be used to assist a visually impaired, or otherwise impaired, individual in using the device. By providing an overlay, tactile or other feedback can be provided to the user to improve the ease of use. As such, the overlay buttons provided on the overlay are able to provide feedback to the user, where the overlay buttons represent soft buttons displayed on the touch screen device, in a region underneath the overlay buttons. By providing overlay buttons, a user is able to receive some sort of feedback from the computing device, confirming selection of a soft button. Further, a user is able to discern the buttons from each other through the tactile feedback provided by the overlay. The improved functionality assists all users of the computing device, and not only those having visual impartments, by providing an overlay button where an otherwise soft button would exist. The overlay is also useful for non-visually impaired persons with limited or limited visual access to a pin pad, such as when a shroud covers some of the pin pad for security purposes.)
activating an assisted mode allowing the visually impaired user to be guided during the use of said electronic transaction device, said activation being triggered by the detection of the placement of the accessory onto the touch screen, (Column 10/line 67, This allows the keypad overlay 820 to be a one-size-fits-all solution for all touchscreen or flat-screen displays, which can be an adhesive plastic film that is reconfigurable depending upon the orientation of the overlay relative to the underlying device. In some embodiments, the screen behind the overlay is resized to fit the keypad. In some embodiments, the overlay locating elements are configured to have the device and underlying soft buttons automatically displayed when the overlay is detected on the external surface of the display, and to likewise have the device and underlying soft buttons no longer displayed once it is detected that the overlay is no longer on the external surface of the display. The overlay locating elements can be used to simply indicate to the computing device that the overlay is present, so as to switch into a second mode where the tactile feedback buttons are provided on the overlay and input is provided as though input to soft buttons via the tactile feedback buttons. When the overlay locating elements are gone, an indication can be generated to switch the computing device back into a first mode where the inputs are received directly at soft buttons the touch-screen display.). Examiner interprets the term assisted mode is analogous for the term second mode in the cited prior art. Under broad reasonable interpretation, “activating an assisted mode allowing the visually impaired user to be guided during the use of said electronic transaction device, said activation being triggered by the detection of the placement of the accessory onto the touch screen” is interpreted as “the screen behind the overlay is resized to fit the keypad. In some embodiments, the overlay locating elements are configured to have the device and underlying soft buttons automatically displayed when the overlay is detected on the external surface of the display, and to likewise have the device and underlying soft buttons no longer displayed once it is detected that the overlay is no longer on the external surface of the display. The overlay locating elements can be used to simply indicate to the computing device that the overlay is present, so as to switch into a second mode where the tactile feedback buttons are provided on the overlay and input is provided as though input to soft buttons via the tactile feedback buttons” in the cited prior art. The switching between first and second mode that is triggered by the detection of the accessory, such as the overlay, and the detection results in the user having a modified interaction during the transaction in the cited prior art. The assisted mode is interpreted as assisting and guiding the user once the accessory is detected on the device, the cited prior art is switching to a second mode, or an assisted mode, to assist and guide the user once the accessory is detected on the device as well.
Wolter as modified does not explicitly disclose providing at least one assistance to the visually impaired use in using said electronic transaction device, said providing at least one assistance comprising, during a payment procedure and depending on progress of the payment procedure, emitting by the electronic transaction device an audio message to be heard by the visually impaired user, said emitting an audio message comprising audio emission of at least one of: a voice announcement of an amount of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device.
However, Matson teaches providing at least one assistance to the visually impaired use in using said electronic transaction device, said providing at least one assistance comprising, during a payment procedure and depending on progress of the payment procedure, emitting by the electronic transaction device an audio message to be heard by the visually impaired user, said emitting an audio message comprising audio emission of at least one of: a voice announcement of an amount of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device, (Para. 0018, The voice guidance application enables the ATM's processor or controller to access and retrieve selected and specific stored “.wav” audio files and coordinate their playback. The ATM voice guidance system 100 does not permit a user to specifically select any stored “.wav” audio files for playback. Instead, the processor or controller automatically retrieves and plays specific “.wav” audio files associated with displayed instructions or scripts and not in response to a specific user request. During use of the ATM, the retrieved “.wav” audio files are automatically and simultaneously played back in such a manner that they are synchronized with visual or text instructions being displayed on the ATM terminal display screen 40.; and Para. 0027-0028, The keypad 25 provides a means for the ATM user to interact with the ATM 5 and to respond to queries presented by the ATM 5 via the display screen 40 and the speaker or audio port 35. For example, the keypad 25 enables a user to enter the user's personal identification number (PIN) when requested by the ATM 5. The PIN can be encrypted to maintain the information secure and confidential. Further, via the keypad 25, a user can enter other data such as the type of transaction being requested, e.g., a cash withdrawal or a balance inquiry, and the amount of the transaction. The speaker or audio port 35 is adapted to provide the ATM user with audio output instructions or scripts that correspond to the instructions and scripts being displayed on the ATM display screen 40. In one example, the audible ATM operating instructions are generated simultaneously and in synchronization with instructions and information displayed on the ATM display screen 40. The speaker or audio port 35 can also provide auditory feedback, such as a generated “beep signal”, that is outputted to indicate to the ATM user that a key on the keypad 25 has been pressed and recognized; and Para. 0013, FIG. 1 is a flow chart showing the steps of implementing an automated teller machine (ATM) voice guidance system 100. The ATM voice guidance system 100 provides a convenient and easy means for the visually and/or hearing impaired to interactively use and operate an ATM by providing the simultaneous and synchronized presentation of visual and audio instructions or media on the ATM. The visual and audio instructions are preferably presented by an ATM display 40 and a speaker or audio port 35 (see FIG. 2). The ATM voice guidance system 100 enables financial services organization to provide ATM machines that can conform, where required, to governing or government regulations, such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, which requires that ATMs be independently usable by the visually and/or hearing impaired.) Under broad reasonable interpretation, “emitting an audio message comprising audio emission of at least one of: a voice announcement of an amount of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device” is interpreted as “the processor or controller automatically retrieves and plays specific “.wav” audio files associated with displayed instructions or scripts and not in response to a specific user request and FIG. 1 is a flow chart showing the steps of implementing an automated teller machine (ATM) voice guidance system 100. The ATM voice guidance system 100 provides a convenient and easy means for the visually and/or hearing impaired to interactively use and operate an ATM by providing the simultaneous and synchronized presentation of visual and audio instructions or media on the ATM. The visual and audio instructions are preferably presented by an ATM display 40 and a speaker or audio port 35 (see FIG. 2), and the keypad 25 provides a means for the ATM user to interact with the ATM 5 and to respond to queries presented by the ATM 5 via the display screen 40 and the speaker or audio port 35. For example, the keypad 25 enables a user to enter the user's personal identification number (PIN) when requested by the ATM” in the cited prior art. There is a voice guidance system during the transaction as well as providing audio instructions for impaired users, the audio is selected and corresponds to instructions that are displayed, and the user can enter their pin to then select transaction types, such as, withdrawals and balances in the cited prior art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Matson to the known invention of Wolter as modified would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such assisted electronic transaction device features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include providing at least one assistance to the visually impaired use in using said electronic transaction device, said providing at least one assistance comprising, during a payment procedure and depending on progress of the payment procedure, emitting by the electronic transaction device an audio message to be heard by the visually impaired user, said emitting an audio message comprising audio emission of at least one of: a voice announcement of an amount of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the assisted mode offers audio and/or visual assistance that allows user guidance throughout the use of the electronic transaction device, thus improving the overall useability of the invention.
Wolter as modified does not explicitly disclose said emitting an audio message comprising audio emission of at least one of: a voice announcement of an amount of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement stating a payment option; a voice announcement requiring insertion or placement of a payment card into or on said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement requiring entry of a confidential code; a voice announcement relating to validation or rejection of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement and/or a tone relating to a data entry error; a voice announcement and/or a tone relating to a data entry correction; a voice announcement requesting withdrawal of said payment card.
However, Block teaches said emitting an audio message comprising audio emission of at least one of: a voice announcement of an amount of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement stating a payment option; a voice announcement requiring insertion or placement of a payment card into or on said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement requiring entry of a confidential code; a voice announcement relating to validation or rejection of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement and/or a tone relating to a data entry error; a voice announcement and/or a tone relating to a data entry correction; a voice announcement requesting withdrawal of said payment card,(Para. 0324-0325, Although only a few card positions have been shown, it should be understood that numerous card positions may be displayed, especially if video-like quality is to be presented. Furthermore, displayed instructions on how to insert a card may be correspondingly combined (via a computer) with an ATM output device that can provide audio instructions. An audio instruction may state “please insert your card as shown.” The audio and visual information can be presented in sync. Thus, an ATM can provide a combination of display/voice instructions. It should also be understood that other displayed images and audio messages can be presented. For example, an ATM may inform a customer to “please remove your card” via both audio communication and electronic ink display communication. Para. 0326, In some arrangements the same familiar electronic help assistant can commonly appear in each of the differently located electronic ink displays on an ATM customer interface. This enables a customer to look for the same assistant for help in carry out a transaction. The ATM can have a default help assistant. In alternative arrangements the ATM may randomly choose an assistant for the transaction. A user-preferred assistant may be encoded on the user's ATM card. After the user has been authorized to operate the ATM, which may have included the user providing a proper PIN, then the ATM can switch to using the assistant read from the card.; and Para. 0327-0031, FIG. 119 shows an ATM 858 having a user interface 860. The interface 860 includes plural electronic ink labels. Labels are situated close to appropriate interface openings in order to identify to the ATM user the function of the ATM module associated with the respective opening. FIG. 119 shows a card insertion/removal label 862 located next to a card input slot 864... As shown, the label 878 displays an electronic ink image 888 of currency notes. The electronic image 888 represents the area on the ATM where currency notes are dispensed…Following successful insertion of the customer's card, the ATM reads the inserted card and instructs the keypad label 866 to display “Please insert your PIN”... The display (or displays) shown on the keypad label 866 can also have one or more arrows pointing to the keypad. The customer can use the keypad 868 to input their PIN in obtaining approval to use the ATM for the cash withdrawal transaction…The keypad label 866 can next display “Press the number corresponding to your selection.” Alternatively another label, such as the auxiliary label 882 positioned above the keypad 868, can be used for presenting the display. A listing of options can then be presented on the display label 866 (or 882). Depending on the length of the list, the options may all be shown simultaneously on the display, or the display may function to scroll the list. The list can contain transactions normally associated with an ATM. For example, the list may include “1. Check Balance,” “2. Cash Withdrawal”, and “3. Make Deposit”. In carrying out our cash withdrawal transaction the customer would press the keypad key corresponding to the number “2”. Next, the label 866 (or 882) can output a request to “Please enter amount in dollars.” In carrying out our cash withdrawal transaction the customer can use the keypad 868 to enter “60”. Next, the label 866 (or 882) can output the message “$60 entered, if correct press 1, else press 3.” In carrying out our cash withdrawal transaction the customer can use the keypad 868 to enter “1”. The ATM can then dispense the requested cash at the dispense/deposit opening 880 for removal by the customer. The label 878 adjacent the dispense/deposit opening 880 can instruct the customer to “Please take your cash”. The ATM can also cause a receipt to be presented at the receipt outlet slot 876. The corresponding receipt label 874 can instruct the customer to “Please take receipt”.)
Under broad reasonable interpretation, “a voice announcement of an amount of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement stating a payment option; a voice announcement requiring insertion or placement of a payment card into or on said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement requiring entry of a confidential code; a voice announcement relating to validation or rejection of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement and/or a tone relating to a data entry error; a voice announcement and/or a tone relating to a data entry correction; a voice announcement requesting withdrawal of said payment card” is interpreted as “displayed instructions on how to insert a card may be correspondingly combined (via a computer) with an ATM output device that can provide audio instructions. An audio instruction may state “please insert your card as shown.” The audio and visual information can be presented in sync. Thus, an ATM can provide a combination of display/voice instructions. It should also be understood that other displayed images and audio messages can be presented. For example, an ATM may inform a customer to “please remove your card” via both audio communication and electronic ink display communication, The ATM can have a default help assistant, A user-preferred assistant may be encoded on the user's ATM card. After the user has been authorized to operate the ATM, which may have included the user providing a proper PIN, then the ATM can switch to using the assistant read from the card, and Following successful insertion of the customer's card, the ATM reads the inserted card and instructs the keypad label 866 to display “Please insert your PIN”... The display (or displays) shown on the keypad label 866 can also have one or more arrows pointing to the keypad. The customer can use the keypad 868 to input their PIN in obtaining approval to use the ATM for the cash withdrawal transaction…The keypad label 866 can next display “Press the number corresponding to your selection.” Alternatively another label, such as the auxiliary label 882 positioned above the keypad 868, can be used for presenting the display. A listing of options can then be presented on the display label 866 (or 882). Depending on the length of the list, the options may all be shown simultaneously on the display, or the display may function to scroll the list. The list can contain transactions normally associated with an ATM. For example, the list may include “1. Check Balance,” “2. Cash Withdrawal”, and “3. Make Deposit”…Next, the label 866 (or 882) can output a request to “Please enter amount in dollars.”.. The ATM can then dispense the requested cash at the dispense/deposit opening 880 for removal by the customer. The label 878 adjacent the dispense/deposit opening 880 can instruct the customer to “Please take your cash”. The ATM can also cause a receipt to be presented at the receipt outlet slot 876”. Claim limitation states including “at least one of” the following transaction prompts and the cited prior art is stating card insertion and removals with the audio and visual instructions, payment options, such as check balances, withdrawals, deposits, and users are using pins or codes for transactions verifications, transactions confirmations and completing transactions.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Block to the known invention of Wolter as modified would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such assisted electronic transaction device features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include to said emitting an audio message comprising audio emission of at least one of: a voice announcement of an amount of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement stating a payment option; a voice announcement requiring insertion or placement of a payment card into or on said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement requiring entry of a confidential code; a voice announcement relating to validation or rejection of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device; a voice announcement and/or a tone relating to a data entry error; a voice announcement and/or a tone relating to a data entry correction; a voice announcement requesting withdrawal of said payment card results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that there are proper audio and/or visual assistance that allows user guidance throughout the use of the electronic transaction device, thus improving the overall useability of the invention.
Wolter as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the providing at least one assistance comprises determining a language of issue of a payment card inserted into or placed on said electronic transaction device and/or determining at least one available language of said electronic transaction device, and said emitting the audio message takes account of at least one of said determined language.
However, Gray teaches wherein the providing at least one assistance comprises determining a language of issue of a payment card inserted into or placed on said electronic transaction device and/or determining at least one available language of said electronic transaction device, and said emitting the audio message takes account of at least one of said determined language, (Para. 0017, With reference to FIG. 1, a transaction device 10, such as an automated teller machine (ATM), or point of sale (POS) device, is configured for reading information from a payment card 12, such as a credit card, debit card, ATM card, or stored value card, and conducting a financial transaction with a user, such as a payment for goods and/or services, a cash withdrawal, a transfer of funds between user accounts, or the like. The transaction device 10 communicates with the user in a natural language, such as English, French or the like via a user interface device 14. Communication may include visual information (e.g., text, symbols) displayed on a screen 16, aural (spoken) expressions output by a speaker 18, combinations thereof, or the like. The user may interact with the device using a keypad 20, soft buttons 22, touchscreen 16, microphone 24, combination thereof, or the like.; and Para. 0019] The transaction device 10 may be configured to communicate with users of the device in a first or default mode, using a default language, which may be based on the location of the device, selected by the vendor, or the like. For example, an ATM or POS device located in England may be configured (e.g., with a stored default language template 40) to communicate with a user in English. The transaction device 10 may alternatively or additionally be configured to communicate with users of the device in a second mode, using a user-selected language, which may be deduced from the language preference(s) 36, stored on the payment card 12, or otherwise. For example, an ATM or POS device in England may be configured (e.g., with one or more stored templates 42) to communicate with a user in the user's preferred language, such as French or Spanish. Once the user's preferred language has been identified, all future communications with the user, including a printed receipt 44, may employ the user's preferred language.; amd Para. 0031] The portions 82, 84 of the GUI 78, and also the portions of the receipt 44, in the different languages may be formatted differently, such that the text and layout may not be a simple translation but configured based on local customs in the countries associated with the languages. For example, the prices shown in the French filled template 84 include tax, while those on the English portion 82 have the tax shown separately. Templates for a localized format and content can be retrieved from the server 42 for use in the presentation of the information to the customer. The control unit 34 may also or alternatively produce voice information for the customer, based on the language.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Wolter as modified to the known invention of Gray would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such assisted electronic transaction device features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to wherein the providing at least one assistance comprises determining a language of issue of a payment card inserted into or placed on said electronic transaction device and/or determining at least one available language of said electronic transaction device, and said emitting the audio message takes account of at least one of said determined language results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the user can choose what language they would like audio and/or visual assistance that allows guidance throughout the use of the electronic transaction device, thus improving the overall useability of the invention.
9. Regarding claim 2, Wolter discloses wherein the providing at least one assistance comprises modifying the display of said touch screen, which comprises displaying, on at least part of said touch screen of said electronic transaction device, of at least one of:
a standardized virtual keyboard, (Column 1/line 64, FIG. 7 illustrates an example top view of a computing device including a touchscreen display having a tactile overlay superimposed on a first portion of the touch-screen display. FIG. 8 illustrates an example top view of a computing device including a touch screen display with a tactile overlay superimposed in a crooked orientation relative to a second portion of the touch-screen display.)
an element of particular shape and color relating to a validation, correction or cancellation key selected on said data entry assistance accessory, (Column 13/line 44, In some embodiments, the overlay buttons can be color-coded for certain keys or buttons that are used in a frequent manner. Thus, the frequently used keys are readily accessible with a quick glance. A special overlay button 1160 can be provided in the shape of a start, to indicate a significantly important button or other feature of the computing device. The placement, size, and shape of the overlay buttons are highly variable depending upon the display capabilities of the underlying computing device, the particular application being executed by the computing device, etc. It is also noted that the overlay buttons can be color-coded such that different buttons relate to different functions or different items. In this manner, a user can more readily locate particular buttons based upon their color scheme).
an element of particular shape and color relating to an acceptance or rejection of a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device (Column 13/line 44, In some embodiments, the overlay buttons can be color-coded for certain keys or buttons that are used in a frequent manner. Thus, the frequently used keys are readily accessible with a quick glance. A special overlay button 1160 can be provided in the shape of a start, to indicate a significantly important button or other feature of the computing device. The placement, size, and shape of the overlay buttons are highly variable depending upon the display capabilities of the underlying computing device, the particular application being executed by the computing device, etc. It is also noted that the overlay buttons can be color-coded such that different buttons relate to different functions or different items. In this manner, a user can more readily locate particular buttons based upon their color scheme.)
10. Regarding claim 4, Wolter discloses which further comprises detecting removal of said data entry assistance accessory and deactivating said assisted mode for the use of the electronic transaction device, triggered by the detection of the removal, (Column 12/line 22, The custom sizing of the overlay allows for users to purchase a sheet of overlay, and tear off or otherwise remove the portion needed for the particular screen. In some embodiments, the tactile overlay can be pre-optimized for different types of business. For example, by analyzing items in a sales catalog, sales data and transaction data, the specific type and size of overlay that is needed can be determined. An application-based tool can be provided, for example online as a separate web-based application, or as an application integrated into the application running on the device that is used to build, or otherwise generate, customized overlays. Thus, the merchants can configure the screen as described and the overlay can be recommended by the overlay builder tool, to thereby optimize line time for the particular merchant. By analyzing transaction time data, such as how long it takes to key in an order or complete an order), it is possible to improve line time and overall efficiency by customizing the overlay to improve transaction time and line time.). Examiner interprets the term deactivating is analogous for the term terminates in the cited prior art.
11. Regarding claim 6, Wolter discloses wherein the processor is configured to detect the placement and/or removal of said data entry assistance accessory and to activating and /deactivating the assisted mode for the use of said electronic transaction device, (Column 11/line 22, FIG. 9 illustrates an example flow chart of a procedure for detecting the position of the overlay and displaying user interface soft buttons according to position of tactile feedback buttons. At 910, the procedure starts. At 912, it is determined if an overlay is detected. If there is no overlay detected, the system continues to search for an overlay being superimposed on the display of the computing device. At 912, if an overlay is detected, it is possible for the display to change modes, such that high contrast soft buttons are displayed. In some embodiments, when the overlay is applied to the display of the computing device, it can generate a blinking from a light to accommodate people with different visual impairments, and placement of the overlay can also provide an auditory or vibratory feedback for the user).
12. Regarding claim 7, Wolter discloses wherein the electronic device comprises at least one of a speaker and a jack, and wherein the processor is configured to emit through at least one of the speaker or the jack and/or relating to an action by a user on said data entry assistance accessory(Column 4/line 3, The merchant device 116 is communicatively coupled to a payment object reader 120, either by direct connection, for example through an audio jack of the mobile phone connected to an audio plug of the payment object reader, or through wireless connection, such as WiFi, BlueTooth, BLE (Bluetooth low energy), NFC, or other appropriate short-range communication. The payment object reader can read data from a magnetic stripe card or an EMV chip-type card and communicate the data to the mobile phone. The payment object reader can also read data from an NFC device and communicate the data to the merchant device 116; and Column 11/line 28, At 912, if an overlay is detected, it is possible for the display to change modes, such that high contrast soft buttons are displayed. In some embodiments, when the overlay is applied to the display of the computing device, it can generate a blinking from a light to accommodate people with different visual impairments, and placement of the overlay can also provide an auditory or vibratory feedback for the user. At 912, an overlay can be detected and at 914, the position can be determined in any one of the ways shown and described herein).
Wolter as modified does not explicitly disclose at least one audio message relating to a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or to a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device.
However, Gray teaches at least one audio message relating to a transaction implemented by said electronic transaction device or to a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device, (Para. 0324-0325, Furthermore, displayed instructions on how to insert a card may be correspondingly combined (via a computer) with an ATM output device that can provide audio instructions. An audio instruction may state “please insert your card as shown.” The audio and visual information can be presented in sync. Thus, an ATM can provide a combination of display/voice instructions. It should also be understood that other displayed images and audio messages can be presented. For example, an ATM may inform a customer to “please remove your card” via both audio communication and electronic ink display communication.; and Para. 0327-0031, The keypad label 866 can next display “Press the number corresponding to your selection.”... The list can contain transactions normally associated with an ATM. For example, the list may include “1. Check Balance,” “2. Cash Withdrawal”, and “3. Make Deposit”. In carrying out our cash withdrawal transaction the customer would press the keypad key corresponding to the number “2”. Next, the label 866 (or 882) can output a request to “Please enter amount in dollars.” In carrying out our cash withdrawal transaction the customer can use the keypad 868 to enter “60”. Next, the label 866 (or 882) can output the message “$60 entered, if correct press 1, else press 3.” In carrying out our cash withdrawal transaction the customer can use the keypad 868 to enter “1”. The ATM can then dispense the requested cash at the dispense/deposit opening 880 for removal by the customer. The label 878 adjacent the dispense/deposit opening 880 can instruct the customer to “Please take your cash”. The ATM can also cause a receipt to be presented at the receipt outlet slot 876. The corresponding receipt label 874 can instruct the customer to “Please take receipt”.)).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Wolter to the known invention of Block as modified would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such assisted electronic transaction device features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the invention to provide at least one audio message relating to a transaction or to a withdrawal of money implemented by said electronic transaction device results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that the assisted mode offers audio and/or visual assistance that allows user guidance throughout the use of the electronic transaction device, thus improving the overall useability of the invention.
13. Regarding claim 9, Wolter discloses wherein the providing at least one assistance in using said electronic transaction device further comprises modifying a display of said touch screen, (Column 9/line 29, Reference is now made to FIGS. 6A-6E showing example embodiments of an overlay button. FIG. 6A shows a side view of an overlay 600 having plurality of buttons 610, 612, 614, 616 and a topmost coating 618. The overlay buttons 610, 612, 614, 616 can comprise cut-out openings, similar to those shown in FIG. 5, or can be a button with an outer coating to protect an inner cavity of the buttons 610, 612, 614 and 616. FIG. 6B shows an example soft button cavity 620 having a top surface coating 625. The soft button cavity 620 can be filled with air or liquid that is capable of detecting a change in the amount of pressure within the cavity 620. The cavity 620 can be filled with a conductive material such that contact with the top surface 625 causes the material inside the cavity 620 to detect a contact, and to register selection of the soft button to provide appropriate feedback as a selection of the underlying soft button. The top surface 625 of the button can be curved as a contact lens such that it pops up to the position shown in FIG. 6B, and upon contact, pops down into the position shown in FIG. 6C. FIG. 6C shows the example soft button opening 620 and top surface 425 with the button shown in a depressed position. The top surface 625 can be a capacitive plastic in some embodiments that detects touch. A bottom surface 630 of the cavity 620 can include a capacitive component to provide feedback to a touch screen. Contact with the button causes the capacitive input to be sent to an underlying capacitive component and, thus, to the touch screen. In some embodiments, bottom surface 630 can be removed such that top surface 625 directly contacts the touch screen when the button is depressed. FIG. 6D is an example embodiment of an overlay button for an overlay, with the overlay button implementing a standard push-button switch to provide feedback. The cavity 640 includes a first lead 641 and an opposing lead 642 which are not in contact with each other when the push-button is in its resting position. When a user depresses on the outermost surface 645 of the button, the push-button switch 655 is pushed downward so as to contact the leads 641, 642, as shown in FIG. 6E. Once the push-button switch 655 contacts the leads 641, 642, the proper feedback is provided to the display as an input at the soft button underlying the overlay button surface 645.) Examiner interprets the term modifying is analogous for the term “once the push-button switch contacts the leads the proper feedback is provided to the display as an input at the soft button underlying the overlay button surface” in the cited prior art.
14. Regarding claims 10 and 11, Wolter as modified does not explicitly disclose further comprising repeating emitting the audio message if no action is taken by the visually impaired user so that the visually impaired user is kept aware of the progress of the payment procedure.
However, Block teaches further comprising repeating emitting the audio message if no action is taken by the visually impaired user so that the visually impaired user is kept aware of the progress of the payment procedure, (Para. 0321, FIG. 116 shows the proper orientation of the imaged card 846 for insertion into the ATM. FIG. 117 shows another electronic image of the same card 846. The electronically imaged card 846 is shown further moved in the insertion direction (relative to the position of FIG. 116). FIG. 118 shows the same card 846 positioned even further in the insertion direction (relative to the position of FIG. 117)… The sequence of FIGS. 116-118 can be quickly presented, followed by a timed pause, and then the display sequence of FIGS. 116-118 repeated again. The display sequence and timing process can be repeated until a user card is properly inserted. The pause can be used as a bearing point to provide a customer time to understand the order of the card insertion presentation… An audio instruction may state “please insert your card as shown.” The audio and visual information can be presented in sync. Thus, an ATM can provide a combination of display/voice instructions. It should also be understood that other displayed images and audio messages can be presented. For example, an ATM may inform a customer to “please remove your card” via both audio communication and electronic ink display communication.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Block to the known invention of Wolter as modified would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved invention. It would have been recognized that the application of the technique would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such assisted electronic transaction device features into a similar invention. Further, it would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art that modifying the method to include further comprising repeating emitting the audio message if no action is taken by the visually impaired user so that the visually impaired user is kept aware of the progress of the payment procedure results in an improved invention because applying said technique ensures that users do not miss any instructions during the payment process, thus improving the overall useability of the invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Method for assisting in the checking of transaction records, transaction device, server, mobile terminal, and corresponding computer programs (US 20100185535 A1) teaches a method and apparatus are provided for assisting in checking accuracy of bank transaction records edited in a bank statement and performed by at least one transaction device. The method includes, for at least one of the transactions: emission, by the transaction device, of at least one first signal including a message relating to the transaction; receipt, by at least one mobile terminal, of the at least one first signal; transmission, by the mobile terminal, of a second signal including at least the message, to at least one banking organization; association, by a server of the banking organization in charge of the transaction, of the message with at least one datum relating to the transaction, and marking of the transaction as a pre-checked transaction.
In addition to the foregoing, other aspects are described in the claims, drawings, and text. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Davida L. King whose telephone number is (571) 272-4724. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm.
/D.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3699
/NEHA PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3699