Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the remarks filed on 10/29/25. Claims 1, 7, 14, 15, 22, 32 and 33 have been canceled and claims 2 – 6, 8 – 13, 16 – 21, 23 – 31 and 34 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1, filed 10/29/25, with respect to the rejections of claims 2, 16, 17 and 34 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Moulsley (US 2014/0204800 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 6, 8 – 13, 16 – 21, 23 – 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiba et al. (WO 2018/175547 A1) in view of Moulsley (US 2014/0204800 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Aiba teaches a method performed by a wireless device (Fig. 2: UE) for prioritized scheduling request transmission, the method comprising: transmitting, to a base station (Fig. 2: eNB), a scheduling request for data generated on a particular logical channel on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource in accordance with an associated scheduling request configuration (paragraph 27: The UE includes receiving circuitry configured to receive, from a base station apparatus, a radio resource control (RRC) message(s) that includes one or more scheduling request (SR) configurations. Each SR configuration is associated with one or more PUCCH resources. The SR configuration is corresponding to any one or more of the following: one or more logical channels (LCH), one or more logical channel groups (LCG), one or more priority. Also described in paragraph 130); wherein a scheduling request priority of the scheduling request is indicated by one or more physical layer properties of the PUCCH resource, in accordance with a mapping between the one or more physical layer properties of the PUCCH and the scheduling request priority (paragraph 67: Since it may be assumed that a mapping of LCH to LCG to numerology/TTI duration will make it possible to infer which numerology/TTI duration to use given the LCG indicated in the BSR, no additional information is needed in the BSR. [0068] SR enhancements give fast reporting without grant allocation at Layer 2. Also described in paragraphs 27-28, 130-131, 135).
Aiba does not explicitly disclose wherein the mapping is based on one or more configurable thresholds for one or more properties of the particular logical channel.
However, Moulsley teaches wherein the mapping is based on one or more configurable thresholds for one or more properties of the particular logical channel (paragraph 112: each transmission possibility indicates the LCG with the highest priority which has an amount data available for transmission exceeding a threshold. The threshold for each LCG may be different and may be configured by higher layer signaling or fixed by the specification. If we suppose that the threshold is one, this would result in using the transmission possibility to indicate LCG "C", as this is the highest-priority LCG with more than one unit of data available).
In view of this, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aiba’s method by incorporating the teachings of Moulsley, for the purpose of adapting to varying network conditions.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 6, 8 - 10, 11, 18 – 21, 23 – 25 and 28 – 31, Aiba teaches the limitations in (paragraphs 27-28, 130-131, 135).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Aiba teaches the limitations in (paragraphs 27).
Regarding claims 12 and 26, Aiba teaches the limitations in (paragraphs 129 - 130).
Regarding claims 13 and 27, Aiba teaches the limitations in (paragraphs 27).
Regarding claim 16, Aiba teaches the same limitations described above in the rejection of claim 2. Aiba further teaches the wireless device (Fig. 15: UE 1502) comprising: one or more transmitters (1558); and processing circuitry (1524) associated with the one or more transmitters.
Regarding claim 17, Aiba teaches the same limitations described above in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 34, Aiba teaches the same limitations described above in the rejection of claim 2. Aiba further teaches the base station (Fig. 14: gNB1460) comprising: processing circuitry (1403).
Conclusion
/RHONDA L MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462