DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Hesse does not recognize the elastically deformable and plastically deformable ranges as result effective variables. The claim language includes “wherein the surface is coated in such a way that, in the forming tool during the forming process, the coating is elastically deformable…” (emphasis added). As this claim currently reads, the elastically deformable and plastically deformable ranges are a result of a coating process that is not claimed. As such, as Hesse et al. desires low defect coatings, it would be obvious to apply the correct material/coating technique that achieves this result by routine experimentation absent clarification on the coating technique with the claimed elasticity in order to achieve this result in para 0065-0067, 0095-0099, 0134-0137. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955). The motivation to provide elasticity and plasticity is given in Hesse desiring low defect coatings.
More importantly, the instant specification provides that the coating is zinc applied by either galvanized methods or electrolytic methods (instant paragraphs 0020-0022, 0031). As claimed, these are conceivably the method the applicant intends as “coated such a way” and the elastic and plastic deformation loads naturally flow from this claimed method as claimed, though the specification is not very clear on what exactly in these coating methods causes the claimed deformation. Hesse coats its sheet with galvanization and zinc in para 0022. Therefore, as the claim language includes that the coating process produces the deformability and Hesse teaches the same coating process, it is obvious that Hesse will have the same deformability that results from the coating process. It is noted although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). If the applicant wishes to have a more specific coating method that produces the claimed result, it must be amended into the claim.
As to the amendments, the depth/volume of the depressions are shown in the Figures of Hesse, particularly Figure 8b and discussed in para 0102 and Claim 1. The depth/volume and angle/shape is modified to hold lubricant in para 0102 and thus is result effective. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955). However, it is noted by the examiner, that the shape limitations in claim 4 in combination with one or more of the angle, depth/volume limitations would no longer make the shape nor the depth/volume/angle obvious as the shape would be claimed to perform a function over an obvious design choice.
Therefore, for at least these reasons, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 8-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a general coating process that produces an elastically and plastically deformable coating, does not reasonably provide enablement for the actual process that produces the coating with the claimed deformable properties. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
In order to determine compliance with the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a), the Federal Circuit developed a framework of factors in In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988), referred to as the Wands factors to assess whether any necessary experimentation required by the specification is "reasonable" or is "undue."(MPEP 2164.01) The Wands factors as applied to this application are as follows:
(A) The breadth of the claims: Broad, in that the coatings are deposited in ‘such a way’ as to create the desired properties, this way is not defined.
(B) The nature of the invention: One of ordinary skill in the art would need types of deposition methods, along with pressures, temperatures, other reaction conditions to replicate a coating process to achieve the desired properties.
(C) The state of the prior art: The desired properties would be achieved with particular reaction conditions and coating methods.
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill: One of ordinary skill in the art could not replicate this invention without appropriate reaction conditions and coating methods.
(E) The level of predictability in the art: One of ordinary skill in the art could not replicate this invention without appropriate reaction conditions and coating methods.
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor: There are no particular reaction conditions in the specification that would directly produce or are claimed to produce the claimed elasticity and plasticity.
(G) The existence of working examples: There are no working examples.
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure: Undue experimentation would be required as there are no appropriate reaction conditions and coating methods disclosed that would achieve the particular result.
Claims 1, 4, 8-12 and 14-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim language in claim 1 includes “wherein the surface is coated in such a way that, in the forming tool during the forming process, the coating is elastically deformable…” (emphasis added). As this claim currently reads, the elastically deformable and plastically deformable ranges are a result of a coating process that is not claimed, making the claim language indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8-10 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesse et al. (US 2011/0165430 A1)
As to claim 1, Hesse et al. teaches a method for producing a sheet metal product from a sheet metal preliminary product (abstract), wherein at least one surface of the sheet metal preliminary product is coated with a coating (para 0022), wherein the sheet metal preliminary product is rolled, wherein depressions are rolled into the surface during the rolling operation (para 0024-0025), wherein after the coating and rolling operations lubricant is introduced into the depressions (para 0033), wherein after the introduction of lubricant the sheet metal preliminary product is mechanically formed by a forming tool (flattened or smoothed in para 0046-0047). Hesse further teaches that in the even of high loads, lubricating materials are released by deformation of the depressants in paras 0033, 0046, 0090, 0099-0102. The depressions are rolled to at least 30% in para 0010-0011 and 0067.
It is noted that the particular coating method is not disclosed, but only the result. As such, as Hesse et al. desires low defect coatings, it would be obvious to apply the correct material by routine experimentation absent clarification on the coating technique with the claimed elasticity in order to achieve this result in para 0065-0067, 0095-0099, 0134-0137. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
Alternately, the instant specification provides that the coating is zinc applied by either galvanized methods or electrolytic methods (instant paragraphs 0020-0022, 0031). As claimed, these are conceivably the method the applicant intends as “coated such a way” and the elastic and plastic deformation loads naturally flow from this claimed method as claimed. Hesse coats its sheet with galvanization and zinc in para 0022. Therefore, as the claim language includes that the coating process produces the deformability and Hesse teaches the same coating process, it is obvious that Hesse will have the same deformability that results from the coating processes at least as broadly claimed.
The shape of the depressions are shown in Figure 8a, for example. The depressions are considered ‘closed’ as lubricant rests within the depressions in para 0090, 0099-0102. As for the shapes in claim 4, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to include the claimed shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change of shape is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2nd 669, 149 USPQ 1966.
The depth/volume of the depressions are shown in the Figures, particularly Figure 8b and discussed in para 0102. The depth/volume and angle/shape is modified to hold lubricant in para 0102 and thus is result effective. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 4, the shape of the depressions are shown in Figure 8a, for example. The depressions are considered ‘closed’ as lubricant rests within the depressions in para 0090, 0099-0102. As for the shapes in claim 4, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to include the claimed shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change of shape is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2nd 669, 149 USPQ 1966.
As to claims 8-9, 14-20, the depth/volume of the depressions are shown in the Figures, particularly Figure 8b and discussed in para 0102. The depth/volume and angle/shape is modified to hold lubricant in para 0102 and thus is result effective. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 10, a zinc coating is used in para 0022.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesse et al. (US 2011/0165430 A1) in view of Buresch et al. (US 2012/0301740 A1)
As to claims 11-12, Hesse et al. teaches the limitations of the claims as discussed above, but does not include hot-dip galvanizing coating or electrolytic coating. Buresch et al. teaches a similar process (abstract) where the metal is coated with zinc (para 0018) before or after a rolling operation by hot-dip galvanizing coating or electrolytic coating (para 0019). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Hesse et al. to include hot-dip galvanizing coating or electrolytic coating as taught by Buresch et al. as Buresch et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718