DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2020/038760 06/19/2020
PCT/US2020/038760 has PRO 62/864,413 06/20/2019
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species venetoclax in the reply filed on December 17, 2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 6-17, 20-25, 27, and 29-33 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-17, 20-25, 27, and 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiNardo (Lancet Oncol., vol. 19(2), pp. 216-228, January 2018, cited on IDS) in view of Cogle (The Oncologist 2015;20:1404-1412, cited on IDS) and Etter (US 8846628B2, 2014, cited on IDS).
It is noted that 5-azacytidine is also known as azacytidine or azacitidine.
DiNardo teaches a method of treating AML comprising oral administration of venetoclax and subcutaneous or intravenous azacytidine 75 mg/m2 (days 1-7 of each 28-day cycle). Venetoclax synergizes with azacytidine. See Introduction. The dose of venetoclax was 400 mg, 800 mg, or 1200 mg. The regiment was well-tolerated and 60% of patients achieved remission. See abstract. Oral administration of venetoclax began on day 2 of cycle 1, which meets the limitation of claims 22-25, 27, and 29-30 when azacytidine is administered for one day, then venetoclax is administered for one day, then optionally repeating. Page 3, right column, first full paragraph.
DiNardo does not teach oral administration of azacytidine and does not teach treatment of MDS.
Cogle teaches that azacytidine can be administered orally for treating of MDS or AML. See abstract. Dosing of azacytidine was 120-600 mg/day for 7 days or 200 mg for 14 days. Page 1407, Figure 2. Multiple cycles were carried out. Page 1406, last two paragraphs. Oral administration of azacytidine avoids injection-site reactions and may enhance patient convenience. Page 1406, end of first column. Oral administration also allows for alternative doses and extended dosing schedules, which may decrease toxicity and increase efficacy. Page 1406, top of right column. The MTD of oral azacytidine was 480 mg on days 1-7 of a 28-day cycle, but lower doses allowed for extended low-dose administration over periods of 14 or 21 days. See Conclusion. 7-day oral azacytidine dosing was clinically active. Page 1407, end of left column. Azacitidine for injection is approved for high-risk MDS according to IPSS (page 1405, left column).
Etter teaches a non-enteric coated tablet containing 5-azacytidine (claim 1). The amount of 5-azacytidine is 120 to 480 mg (claim 23). The composition is used for treating myelodysplastic syndrome or acute myelogenous leukemia (claim 28). The composition can be used along with an additional therapeutic agent (column7, lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to treat AML or MDS using a combination of venetoclax and oral azacytidine because oral administration of azacytidine avoids injection site reactions and is convenient. Both AML and MDS are treated using azacytidine and azacytidine synergizes with venetoclax, so the skilled artisan would have employed the combination. The skilled artisan either would have substituted the iv azacytidine in DiNardo’s method with oral azacytidine for convenience, or would have added venetoclax to Cogle’s or Etter’s methods to achieve a synergistic treatment. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because oral azacytidine is effective as taught by Cogle and Etter. It would have been obvious to treat a high-risk MDS patient because azacytidine is approved for high-risk patients and Cogle teaches that relatively high amounts (480 mg) of oral azacytidine can be tolerated.
The limitations of claim 20 are inherent properties of the combination of azacytidine and venetoclax. Limitations (f)-(n) are inherent properties of administration of azacytidine.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that there is no motivation to use oral AZA in combination with venetoclax. This argument is not persuasive because AZA in combination with venetoclax is used in the prior art, and the prior art also teaches that oral administration of AZA has a number of advantages. The skilled artisan would have employed oral AZA in order to achieve the advantages of oral AZA taught in the prior art, or would have added venetoclax to Cogle’s method to achieve the advantage of a synergistic treatment. MPEP 2144.04 states that the expectation of some advantage is the strongest rational for combining prior art references.
Applicant argues that Cogle mainly describes monotherapy with oral AZA and does not teach the use of venetoclax. This argument is not persuasive because the rejection is not based on Cogle alone. DiNardo teaches that venetoclax synergizes with azacytidine, so the skilled artisan would have used both to achieve a synergistic effect. Etter also teaches that oral AZA can be used with other agents for treating AML or MDS.
Applicant argues that it would not have been routine to reformulate injectable AZA for oral administration, and that oral and non-oral administration are different. These arguments are not persuasive because Cogle and Etter teach how to formulate AZA for oral administration, so the skilled artisan would have known how to formulate AZA for oral administration. The rejection is not based on DiNardo alone.
Applicant argues that that oral administration is not interchangeable with injectable administration. This argument is not persuasive because the art of record teaches injectable AZA or oral AZA for treating the same diseases (AML or MDS).
Applicant argues that it was the inventors who appreciated the advantages of orally administered AZA in combination with venetoclax, which include better patient experience and reduced risk of hospital infections. This argument is not persuasive because Cogle also mentions advantages of oral administration.
Applicant argues that developing an oral formulation of an injectable drug is not routine or simple, and gives the example of GLP-1 drugs which are not available in oral form. This argument is not persuasive and GLP-1 drugs are not comparable to AZA because AZA has been available in oral form for more than a decade (taught by Etter and Cogle).
Applicant’s arguments regarding Garcia-Manero have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. Etter explicitly teaches non-enteric coated AZA tablets for treating AML or MDS.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-17, 20-25, 27, and 29-33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-40 of copending Application No. 17/620,545 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims treating AML using azacytidine and another agent (claim 1), wherein the additional agent is venetoclax (claim 15), and wherein the azacytidine is administered orally in the form of a non-enteric coated tablet (claim 9). The agents can be administered concomitantly or sequentially (claim 3), and can be in one dosage form or separate (claim 4). Azacytidine can be administered at a dose of about 200 mg (claim 8) for 14 days in a 28-day cycle (claim 10). Azacytidine can be administered orally daily for 1, 2, 3, etc. days followed by an optional treatment holiday of 14 days (claims 11-12).
The reference claims also require administration of an LSD-1 inhibitor, which is not required by the current claims. The current claims do not exclude administration of the LSD-1 inhibitor. The reference claims anticipate the current claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAYLA D BERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693