DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 5 November 2025 of Applicants’ amendments in which claims 1 and 11 are amended.
Response to Arguments
With the exception of the argument discussed below, Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants argue in the last paragraph of page 6 and pages 8 and 9 and with respect to claim 1 that Tang does not teach the newly-recited subject matter whereby “ends of the first backplane main body section, the second backplane main body section, the first structural reinforcement layer section, and the second structural reinforcement layer section extending toward the bending area are flush with each other.” Amended claim 1 is rejected over the combined teachings of Tang and Kwon. Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. MPEP §2143.01. As this principle applies to the present circumstance, Tang teaches in Fig. 2 that ends of the first backplane main body section (21) and the second backplane main body section (22) extending toward the bending area (PB) are flush with each other. Kwon teaches in Figs. 4 and 5 and paragraph [0061] that ends of a first structural reinforcement layer section (left-side 140 in Fig. 4) and a second structural reinforcement layer section (right-side 140 in Fig. 4) extending toward a bending area (BA) are flush with each other {Fig. 5}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang’s display panel based on the teachings of Kwon – such that Tang’s structural reinforcement layer (e.g., 32) is divided into a first structural reinforcement layer section and a second structural reinforcement layer section and ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section and the second structural reinforcement layer section extending toward the bending area are flush with each other – for protecting and supporting the substrate. Kwon ¶0061. A consequence of this modification is that the ends of Tang’s first backplane main body section and second backplane main body section extending toward Tang’s bending area are flush with the ends of Kwon’s first structural reinforcement layer section and second structural reinforcement layer section extending toward Tang’s bending area because: (1) Tang teaches in Figs. 1 and 2 the ends of the first backplane main body section and second backplane main body section are flush with the perimeter of the bending area and (2) Kwon teaches in Fig. 4 the ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section and second structural reinforcement layer section are flush with the perimeter of the bending area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 10, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (CN113140158A) (English translation enclosed) in view of Kwon et al. (US20200119305A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches in Figs. 1 and 2 a display panel, comprising: an active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) for displaying images, a functional area (BB/{leftmost half of BB}) located in the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}), a bonding area (NB) located on a side of the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}), and a bending area (PB) located between the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) and the bonding area (NB) {¶0034, 0041}, wherein the display panel further comprises:
a display substrate (10) {¶0034}; and
a backplane (21, 22, 32) attached to a back of the display substrate (10), comprising a backplane main body (21, 22) and a structural reinforcement layer (32) provided on a surface of the backplane main body (21, 22) {¶0039, 0043};
wherein an orthographic projection of the backplane main body (21, 22) on the display substrate (10) covers the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) and the functional area (BB/{leftmost half of BB}), and an orthographic projection of the structural reinforcement layer (32) on the display substrate (10) at least covers the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) and the functional area (BB/{leftmost half of BB}), the backplane main body (21, 22) has a same thickness in the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) and the functional area (BB/{leftmost half of BB}), the structural reinforcement layer (32) has a same thickness in the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) and the functional area (BB/{leftmost half of BB}) {¶0049, an end of the second sub-functional layer 32 close to the bending area PB is flush with the first partial back plate 21; Figs. 1, 2},
the display substrate (10) and the backplane (21, 22, 32) in the bonding area (NB) are bendable to the back of the display substrate (10) and the backplane (21, 22, 32) in the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) through the bending area (PB) {Figs. 1, 2; ¶0037, 0039; portions of substrate (10) and backplane (21, 22, 32) disposed in bonding area (NB) are bendable to the back of the portions of the substrate (10) and backplane (21, 22, 32) disposed in the active area – similar to Applicants’ disclosure of such}, and
at a position corresponding to the bending area (PB), the backplane main body (21, 22) is divided into a first backplane main body section (21) and a second backplane main body section (22) {¶0037},
so that the first backplane main body section (21) and the second backplane main body section (22) are formed of a same material {¶0038}, wherein
the first backplane main body section (21) corresponds to (e.g., in the bent configuration, overlap/{are in harmony or conformity with}) the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) and the functional area (BB/{leftmost half of BB}), and
the second backplane main body section (22) corresponds to (e.g., in the bent configuration, overlap/{are in harmony or conformity with}) the bonding area (NB), and
ends of the first backplane main body section (21) and the second backplane main body section (22) extending toward the bending area (PB) are flush with each other {Fig. 2}.
Tang does not teach:
the structural reinforcement layer is divided into a first structural reinforcement layer section and a second structural reinforcement layer section,
the first structural reinforcement layer section and the second structural reinforcement layer section are formed of a same material,
the first structural reinforcement layer section corresponds to the active area and the functional area,
the second structural reinforcement layer section corresponds to the bonding area,
ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section and the second structural reinforcement layer section extending toward the bending area are flush with each other, and
the ends of the first backplane main body section and the second backplane main body section extending toward the bending area are flush with the ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section and the second structural reinforcement layer section extending toward the bending area.
In an analogous art, Kwon teaches in Figs. 4 and 5 and paragraph [0061] a structural reinforcement layer (140) is divided into a first structural reinforcement layer section (left-side 140 in Fig. 4) and a second structural reinforcement layer section (right-side 140 in Fig. 4), the first structural reinforcement layer section (left-side 140 in Fig. 4) and the second structural reinforcement layer section (right-side 140 in Fig. 4) are formed of a same material (material of 140), the first structural reinforcement layer section (left-side 140 in Fig. 4) corresponds to an active area (area of DA) and a functional area (area to left of BA and within PA in Fig. 4), the second structural reinforcement layer section (right-side 140 in Fig. 4) corresponds to a bonding area (area of 200 in Fig. 5), and ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section (left-side 140 in Fig. 4) and the second structural reinforcement layer section (right-side 140 in Fig. 4) extending toward the bending area (BA) are flush with each other {Fig. 5}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang’s display panel based on the teachings of Kwon – such that Tang’s structural reinforcement layer is divided into a first structural reinforcement layer section and a second structural reinforcement layer section, the first structural reinforcement layer section and the second structural reinforcement layer section are formed of a same material, the first structural reinforcement layer section corresponds to the active area and the functional area, the second structural reinforcement layer section corresponds to the bonding area, and ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section and the second structural reinforcement layer section extending toward the bending area are flush with each other – for protecting and supporting the substrate. Kwon ¶0061. A consequence of this modification is that the ends of Tang’s first backplane main body section and second backplane main body section extending toward Tang’s bending area are flush with the ends of Kwon’s first structural reinforcement layer section and second structural reinforcement layer section extending toward Tang’s bending area because: (1) Tang discloses the ends of the first backplane main body section and second backplane main body section are flush with the perimeter of the bending area and (2) Kwon teaches the ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section and second structural reinforcement layer section are flush with the perimeter of the bending area.
Regarding claim 3, Tang as modified by Kwon teaches the display panel according to claim 1, and Tang further teaches wherein the structural reinforcement layer (32) is arranged on a surface of the backplane main body (21, 22) away from the display substrate (10) {Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 9, Tang as modified by Kwon teaches the display panel according to claim 1, and Tang further teaches wherein the display panel further comprises an anti-reflection layer (50) disposed on a side of the display substrate (10) away from the backplane (21, 22, 32), and an end of the first backplane main body section (21) close to the bending area (PB) is flush with or beyond an end of the anti-reflection layer (50) {Figs. 1, 2; ¶0054, polarizer (50) reduces reflected light (i.e., polarizer 50 is an anti-reflection layer)}.
Tang does not necessarily teach an end of the first structural reinforcement layer section close to the bending area is flush with or beyond an end of the anti-reflection layer.
Kwon teaches in Figs. 4 and 5 and paragraph [0075] an end of a first structural reinforcement layer section (left-side 140 in Fig. 4) close to the bending area (BA) is flush with or beyond an end of an anti-reflection layer (170) polarizer (170) reduces reflected light (i.e., polarizer 50 is an anti-reflection layer)}. The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Tang as modified by Kwon teaches the display panel according to claim 1, and Tang further teaches wherein the display panel further comprises a composite functional layer (34) disposed on a side of the backplane (21, 22, 32) away from the display substrate (10), and the composite functional layer (34) is provided with an opening (opening within BB in which 34 is absent) at a position (rightmost portion of BB) corresponding to the functional area (BB) {Figs. 1, 2; ¶0046, second adhesive layer 34 includes … a composite tape; and see Examiner’s Note below regarding the recited “opening”}.
Examiner’s Note: The American Heritage Dictionary, 4th edition, defines “opening” as “[an] open space.”
Regarding claim 21, Tang as modified by Kwon teaches the display panel according to claim 1, and Tang further teaches wherein when the bonding area (NB) is bent to the back of the display substrate (10), all of ends (rightmost ends) of the first backplane main body section (21) and the second backplane main body section (22) that are close to the bending area (PB) extend beyond an end (rightmost end) of the active area (AA & leftmost half of BB) close to the bending area (PB) {Fig. 2}.
Tang does not necessarily teach that when the bonding area is bent to the back of the display substrate, all of ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section and the second structural reinforcement layer section that are close to the bending area extend beyond an end of the active area close to the bending area.
Kwon teaches in Figs. 4 and 5 that when the bonding area (area of 200 in Fig. 5) is bent to the back of the display substrate (110) {Fig. 5}, all of ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section (left-side 140 in Fig. 4) and the second structural reinforcement layer section (right-side 140 in Fig. 4) that are close to the bending area (BA) extend beyond an end of the active area (DA) close to the bending area (BA) {Fig. 5}. The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 1.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Kwon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US20220310971A1), Sakai et al. (US20180231844A1), and Zhu et al. (US20230163135A1).
Regarding claim 5, Tang as modified by Kwon teaches the display panel according to claim 1, but Tang does not teach wherein phase differences of the structural reinforcement layer and the backplane main body both are less than or equal to 10.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches in Fig. 6A and paragraph [0111] a structural reinforcement layer (BS) has a phase difference of less than 10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang’s display panel as modified by Kwon based on the teachings of Lee – such that Tang’s structural reinforcement layer has a phase difference less than or equal to 10 – for the purpose of achieving a small phase difference (e.g., less optical aberration caused by path difference between real and paraxial rays) occurring as light passes through the optical medium of the structural reinforcement layer. Lee ¶[0111].
In an analogous art, Sakai teaches in paragraph [0258] an in-plane retardation [phase difference] of the support layer … is less than or equal to approximately 3 nm, and the … absolute value of the thickness direction retardation of a support layer … in which the absolute value of the phase difference has been actively reduced … is less than or equal to approximately 10 nm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang’s display panel as modified by Kwon and Lee based on the teachings of Sakai – such that the phase difference of Zhu’s backplane main body has a phase difference less than or equal to 10 – so the in-plane retardations and thickness direction retardations of … the zero-phase difference support layer (protection layer) can be substantially ignored. Sakai ¶[0258].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang’s display panel as modified by Kwon, Lee, and Sakai as discussed above because such modifications would: (1) be desirable for camera-under-screen technology [that] may greatly increase the screen-to-body ratio of a display without affecting an overall appearance of the display {Zhu ¶0003} and (2) contribute to ensur[ing] a light transmittance … at a position corresponding to an imaging module in a display substrate {Zhu ¶0003}.
Regarding claim 6, Tang as modified by Kwon, Lee, Sakai, and Zhu teaches the display panel according to claim 5, but Tang does not teach wherein a thickness of the structural reinforcement layer is greater than 0 micrometers and less than 20 micrometers.
Lee teaches in paragraph [0113] a thickness of the structural reinforcement layer (BS) may be in a range from 10 μm to 60 μm. This feature is a consequence of the modification and motivation identified with respect to intermediate claim 5. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 7, Tang as modified by Kwon, Lee, Sakai, and Zhu teaches the display panel according to claim 5, but Tang does not teach wherein a material of the backplane main body comprises at least one of transparent polyimide, ultra-thin glass, cycloolefin polymer and cellulose triacetate.
Sakai teaches in paragraph [0258] a material of the backplane main body (protection layer) comprises cellulose triacetate. This feature is a consequence of the modification and motivation identified with respect to intermediate claim 5.
Claim(s) 11, 13, 19, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Zhu and Kwon.
Regarding claim 11, Tang teaches in Figs. 1 and 2 a display device, comprising a display panel (100), wherein the display panel (100) comprises an active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}), a functional area (BB/{leftmost half of BB}) located in the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}), a bonding area (NB) located on a side of the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}), and a bending area (PB) located between the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) and the bonding area (NB) {¶0034, 0041}, wherein the display panel (100) further comprises:
a display substrate (10) {¶0034}; and
a backplane (21, 22, 32) attached to a back of the display substrate (10), comprising a backplane main body (21, 22) and a structural reinforcement layer (32) provided on a surface of the backplane main body (21, 22) {¶0039, 0043};
wherein an orthographic projection of the backplane main body (21, 22) on the display substrate (10) covers the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) and the functional area (BB/{leftmost half of BB}), and an orthographic projection of the structural reinforcement layer (32) on the display substrate (10) covers the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) and the functional area (BB/{leftmost half of BB}), the backplane main body (21, 22) has a same thickness in the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) and the functional area (BB/{leftmost half of BB}), and the structural reinforcement layer (32) has a same thickness in the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) and the functional area (BB/{leftmost half of BB}) {¶0049, an end of the second sub-functional layer 32 close to the bending area PB is flush with the first partial back plate 21; Figs. 1, 2}, and
the display substrate (10) and the backplane (21, 22, 32) in the bonding area (NB) are bendable to the back of the display substrate (10) and the backplane (21, 22, 32) in the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) through the bending area (PB) {Figs. 1, 2; ¶0037, 0039; portions of substrate (10) and backplane (21, 22, 32) disposed in bonding area (NB) are bendable to the back of the portions of the substrate (10) and backplane (21, 22, 32) disposed in the active area – similar to Applicants’ disclosure of such}, and
at a position corresponding to the bending area (PB), the backplane main body (21, 22) is divided into a first backplane main body section (21) and a second backplane main body section (22) {¶0037},
so that the first backplane main body section (21) and the second backplane main body section (22) are formed of a same material {¶0038}, wherein
the first backplane main body section (21) corresponds to (e.g., in the bent configuration, overlap/{are in harmony or conformity with}) the active area (AA & BB/{leftmost half of BB}) and the functional area (BB/{leftmost half of BB}), and
the second backplane main body section (22) corresponds to (e.g., in the bent configuration, overlap/{are in harmony or conformity with}) the bonding area (NB) , and
ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section (21) and the second structural reinforcement layer section (22) that are close to the bending area (PB) are flush with each other {Fig. 2}.
Tang does not teach:
the display device comprising a functional element; and
the functional element is arranged on a side of the backplane away from the display substrate and arranged corresponding to the functional area.
In an analogous art, Zhu teaches in Figs. 14 and 15 and paragraph [0108] the display device comprising a functional element (2) and the functional element (2) is arranged on a side of a backplane (15) away from a display substrate (16) and arranged corresponding to a functional area (B1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang’s display panel based on the teachings of Zhu – such that the display device comprises a functional element arranged on a side of the backplane away from the display substrate and arranged corresponding to the functional area – to achieve a display device having an image sensor for capturing imagery. Zhu ¶0111.
Tang as modified by Zhu does not teach:
the structural reinforcement layer is divided into a first structural reinforcement layer section and a second structural reinforcement layer section,
the first structural reinforcement layer section and the second structural reinforcement layer section are formed of a same material,
the first structural reinforcement layer section corresponds to the active area and the functional area,
the second structural reinforcement layer section corresponds to the bonding area,
ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section and the second structural reinforcement layer section that are close to the bending area are flush with each other, and
the ends of the first backplane main body section and the second backplane main body section that are close to the bending area are flush with the ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section and the second structural reinforcement layer section that are close to the bending area.
In an analogous art, Kwon teaches in Figs. 4 and 5 a structural reinforcement layer (140) is divided into a first structural reinforcement layer section (left-side 140 in Fig. 4) and a second structural reinforcement layer section (right-side 140 in Fig. 4), the first structural reinforcement layer section (left-side 140 in Fig. 4) and the second structural reinforcement layer section (right-side 140 in Fig. 4) are formed of a same material (material of 140), the first structural reinforcement layer section (left-side 140 in Fig. 4) corresponds to an active area (area of DA) and a functional area (area to left of BA and within PA in Fig. 4), the second structural reinforcement layer section (right-side 140 in Fig. 4) corresponds to a bonding area (area of 200 in Fig. 5), and ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section (left-side 140 in Fig. 4) and the second structural reinforcement layer section (right-side 140 in Fig. 4) that are close to the bending area (BA) are flush with each other {Fig. 5}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang’s display device as modified by Zhu based on the teachings of Kwon – such that Tang’s structural reinforcement layer is divided into a first structural reinforcement layer section and a second structural reinforcement layer section, the first structural reinforcement layer section and the second structural reinforcement layer section are formed of a same material, the first structural reinforcement layer section corresponds to the active area and the functional area, the second structural reinforcement layer section corresponds to the bonding area, and ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section and the second structural reinforcement layer section that are close to the bending area are flush with each other – for protecting and supporting the substrate. Kwon ¶0061. A consequence of this modification is that the ends of Tang’s first backplane main body section and second backplane main body section that are close to Tang’s bending area are flush with the ends of Kwon’s first structural reinforcement layer section and second structural reinforcement layer section that are close to Tang’s bending area because: (1) Tang discloses the ends of the first backplane main body section and second backplane main body section are flush with the perimeter of the bending area and (2) Kwon teaches the ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section and second structural reinforcement layer section are flush with the perimeter of the bending area.
Regarding claim 13, Tang as modified by Zhu and Kwon teaches the display device according to claim 11, and Tang further teaches wherein the structural reinforcement layer (32) is arranged on a surface of the backplane main body (21, 22) away from the display substrate (10) {Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 19, Tang as modified by Zhu and Kwon teaches the display device according to claim 11, and Tang further teaches wherein the display panel (100) further comprises an anti-reflection layer (50) disposed on a side of the display substrate (10) away from the backplane (21, 22, 32), and an end of the first backplane main body section (21) close to the bending area (PB) is flush with or beyond an end of the anti-reflection layer (50) {Figs. 1, 2; ¶0054, polarizer (50) reduces reflected light (i.e., polarizer 50 is an anti-reflection layer)}.
Tang does not necessarily teach an end of the first structural reinforcement layer section close to the bending area is flush with or beyond an end of the anti-reflection layer.
Kwon teaches in Figs. 4 and 5 and paragraph [0075] an end of a first structural reinforcement layer section (left-side 140 in Fig. 4) close to the bending area (BA) is flush with or beyond an end of an anti-reflection layer (170) polarizer (170) reduces reflected light (i.e., polarizer 50 is an anti-reflection layer)}. The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 11.
Regarding claim 20, Tang as modified by Zhu and Kwon teaches the display device according to claim 11, and Tang further teaches wherein the display panel (100) further comprises a composite functional layer (34) disposed on a side of the backplane (21, 22, 32) away from the display substrate (10), and the composite functional layer (34) is provided with an opening (opening within BB in which 34 is absent) at a position (rightmost portion of BB) corresponding to the functional area (BB) {Figs. 1, 2; ¶0046, second adhesive layer 34 includes … a composite tape; and see Examiner’s Note below regarding the recited “opening”}.
Examiner’s Note: The American Heritage Dictionary, 4th edition, defines “opening” as “[an] open space.”
Regarding claim 22, Tang as modified by Zhu and Kwon teaches the display panel according to claim 11, and Tang further teaches wherein when the bonding area (NB) is bent to the back of the display substrate (10), all of ends (rightmost ends) of the first backplane main body section (21) and the second backplane main body section (22) that are close to the bending area (PB) extend beyond an end (rightmost end) of the active area (AA & leftmost half of BB) close to the bending area (PB) {Fig. 2}.
Tang does not necessarily teach that when the bonding area is bent to the back of the display substrate, all of ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section and the second structural reinforcement layer section that are close to the bending area extend beyond an end of the active area close to the bending area.
Kwon teaches in Figs. 4 and 5 that when the bonding area (area of 200 in Fig. 5) is bent to the back of the display substrate (110) {Fig. 5}, all of ends of the first structural reinforcement layer section (left-side 140 in Fig. 4) and the second structural reinforcement layer section (right-side 140 in Fig. 4) that are close to the bending area (BA) extend beyond an end of the active area (DA) close to the bending area (BA) {Fig. 5}. The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 11.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Zhu and Kwon as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lee and Sakai.
Regarding claim 15, Tang as modified by Zhu and Kwon teaches the display device according to claim 11, but Tang does not teach wherein phase differences of the structural reinforcement layer and the backplane main body both are less than or equal to 10.
Lee teaches in Fig. 6A and paragraph [0111] a structural reinforcement layer (BS) has a phase difference of less than 10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang’s display device as modified by Zhu and Kwon based on the teachings of Lee – such that Tang’s structural reinforcement layer has a phase difference less than or equal to 10 – for the purpose of achieving a small phase difference (e.g., less optical aberration caused by path difference between real and paraxial rays) occurring as light passes through the optical medium of the structural reinforcement layer. Lee ¶[0111].
Sakai teaches in paragraph [0258] an in-plane retardation [phase difference] of the support layer … is less than or equal to approximately 3 nm, and the … absolute value of the thickness direction retardation of a support layer … in which the absolute value of the phase difference has been actively reduced … is less than or equal to approximately 10 nm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang’s display device as modified by Zhu, Kwon, and Lee based on the teachings of Sakai – such that the phase difference of Tang’s modified backplane main body has a phase difference less than or equal to 10 – so the in-plane retardations and thickness direction retardations of … the zero-phase difference support layer (protection layer) can be substantially ignored. Sakai ¶[0258].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang’s display device as modified by Zhu, Kwon, Lee, and Sakai as discussed above because such modifications would: (1) be desirable for camera-under-screen technology [that] may greatly increase the screen-to-body ratio of a display without affecting an overall appearance of the display {Zhu ¶0003} and (2) contribute to ensur[ing] a light transmittance … at a position corresponding to an imaging module in a display substrate {Zhu ¶0003}.
Regarding claim 16, Tang as modified by Zhu, Kwon, Lee, and Sakai teaches the display device according to claim 15, but Tang does not teach wherein a thickness of the structural reinforcement layer is greater than 0 micrometers and less than 20 micrometers.
Lee teaches in paragraph [0113] a thickness of the structural reinforcement layer (BS) may be in a range from 10 μm to 60 μm. This feature is a consequence of the modification and motivation identified with respect to intermediate claim 15. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 17, Tang as modified by Zhu, Kwon, Lee, and Sakai teaches the display device according to claim 15, but Tang does not teach wherein a material of the backplane main body comprises at least one of transparent polyimide, ultra-thin glass, cycloolefin polymer and cellulose triacetate.
Sakai teaches in paragraph [0258] a material of the backplane main body (protection layer) comprises cellulose triacetate. This feature is a consequence of the modification and motivation identified with respect to intermediate claim 15.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Son et al. (US20190341443A1) teaches an organic light emitting display device includes a display panel including a display region where a plurality of pixels are disposed, a pad region including a bending region and a pad electrode region where pad electrodes are disposed, a polarizing layer disposed in the display region, and a lower protection film disposed on a lower surface of the display panel. The lower protection film includes a first and a second lower protection film pattern. The first lower protection film pattern is disposed in the display region, and the second lower protection film pattern in the pad electrode region such that a lower surface of the display panel in the bending region is exposed. The bending protection layer has an upper surface with a height that is less than a height of the polarizing layer, and is disposed in the bending region on the display panel.
Conclusion
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891