Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed on December 18, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-12 under §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zeng et al. (CN 112863390 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 11367849 B2) in view of Zeng et al. (CN 112863390 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu discloses splicing screen (200) comprising:
a plurality of display modules (210) spliced (D1) in a first direction (y or x) [Fig. 12, annotated below],
wherein each of the display modules (210) has a display area (210) and splicing area (D1) located on a side of the display area (210) [Fig. 12, annotated below], comprises:
a plurality of packaged light-emitting diode units (10) disposed in the display area (210) of the display module (210), wherein each packaged LED unit (10) comprises a package frame (140) and at least three first LED chips (122,124,126) packaged together in the package frame (140) [Figs. 1B and 13]; and
[AltContent: textbox (R1)][AltContent: textbox (R2)][AltContent: textbox (C1)][AltContent: textbox (C2)][AltContent: textbox (Y2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Y1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (X2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (X1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (y)][AltContent: textbox (x)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (/ Fig. 13.)]
wherein:
splicing area (D1) is adjacent to and has a first distance (Y1 or X1) from one of the first LED chips (e.g. 122) of one of the packaged LED units (10) in the first direction (y or x, respectively) [Figs. 12 and 13, annotated above. Also, see Fig. 1B],
one of the first LED chips (122) in one of the packaged LED units (10) is adjacent to and has a second distance (Y2 or X2) from one of the first LED chips (122) in another one of the packaged LED units (10) in the first direction (y or x, respectively) [Figs. 12-13, annotated above. Also, see Fig. 1B], and the second distance (Y2 or X2) is greater than the first distance (Y1 or X1, respectively) [Figs. 12-13, annotated above].
However, Wu does not disclose a plurality of second LED chips individually disposed in the splicing area of the display module.
Zeng teaches:
a plurality of second LED chips (2) individually disposed in the splicing area (SA) of the display module, wherein each of the second LED chips (2) is not packaged together with any other LED chip [Figure 1];
wherein:
each of the second LED chips (2) is adjacent to and has a first distance (Ya or Xa) from one of the first LED chips of one of the packaged LED units (1) in the first direction [Fig. 1, annotated below],
one of the first LED chips in one of the packaged LED units (1) is adjacent to and has a second distance (Yb or Xb) from one of the first LED chips in another one of the packaged LED units (1) in the first direction [Fig. 1, annotated below], and
the second distance (Yb or Xb) is greater than the first distance (Ya or Xa, respectively) [Fig. 1, annotated below].
[AltContent: textbox (XX)][AltContent: textbox (YY)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Ra)][AltContent: textbox (Yb)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Ya)][AltContent: textbox (Xb)][AltContent: textbox (Xa)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Wu by including a plurality of second LED chips individually disposed in the splicing area of the display module, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance as taught by Zeng because it helps to improve the light emitting quality of the light emitting module [Abstract].
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses wherein three of the first LED chips (122, 124, 126) are arranged in one row, in a second direction (x or y) perpendicular to the first direction (y or x, respectively), in the package frame (140) [Fig. 1B and Figs. 12-13, annotated above].
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses packaged LED units arranged in an array of plurality of rows (x or y) and plurality of columns (y or x, respectively) [Figs. 12-13, annotated above], a row direction (x or y) perpendicular to the first direction (y or x, respectively) and the three of the first LED chips (120) in one of the packaged LED units (10) in one of two adjacent rows are disposed in parallel to the three of the first LED chips (120) in one of the packaged LED units (10) in another one of the adjacent rows [Fig. 1B and Figs. 12-13, annotated above].
Regarding claim 4, Zeng teaches wherein the second LED chips (2) in the splicing area (SA) are arranged in one row in a row direction (x or y) perpendicular to the first direction (y or x, respectively) [Fig. 1, annotated above].
Regarding claim 5, Zeng further teaches two splicing areas (SA), and the two splicing areas (SA) located on opposite sides of the display area (10) [Fig. 4].
Regarding claim 6, Zeng teaches wherein one of the second LED chips (2) of one of the display modules is adjacent to and has a third distance (YY or XX) from one of the second LED chips (2) of another one of the display modules in the first direction (y or x, respectively), and the third distance (YY or XX) is equal to the second distance (Yb or Xb, respectively) [See Fig. 1, annotated above].
Regarding Claim 7, Wu discloses a display device comprising:
a body (110) [Figs. 1B-1D];
a splicing screen (200) connected to the body [Figs. 1B-1D and 12-13, wherein the splicing screen comprises a plurality of display modules (210) spliced (D1) in a first direction (y or x) [Figs. 12-13, annotated above],
wherein each of the display modules (210) has a display area (210) and splicing area (D1) located on a side of the display area (210) [Fig. 12], and comprises:
a plurality of packaged light-emitting diode units (10) disposed in the display area (210) of the display module (210), wherein each packaged LED unit (10) comprises a package frame (140) and at least three first LED chips (122,124,126) packaged together in the package frame (140) [Figs. 1B and 13]; and
wherein:
splicing area (D1) is adjacent to and has a first distance (Y1 or X1) from one of the first LED chips (e.g. 122) of one of the packaged LED units (10) in the first direction (y or x, respectively) [Figs. 12 and 13, annotated above. Also, see Fig. 1B],
one of the first LED chips (122) in one of the packaged LED units (10) is adjacent to and has a second distance (Y2 or X2) from one of the first LED chips (122) in another one of the packaged LED units (10) in the first direction (y or x, respectively) [Figs. 12-13, annotated above. Also, see Fig. 1B], and the second distance (Y2 or X2) is greater than the first distance (Y1 or X1, respectively) [Figs. 12-13, annotated above].
However, Wu does not disclose a plurality of second LED chips individually disposed in the splicing area of the display module.
Zeng teaches:
a plurality of second LED chips (2) individually disposed in the splicing area (SA) of the display module, wherein each of the second LED chips (2) is not packaged together with any other LED chip [Figure 1];
wherein:
each of the second LED chips (2) is adjacent to and has a first distance (Ya or Xa) from one of the first LED chips of one of the packaged LED units (1) in the first direction [Fig. 1, annotated below],
one of the first LED chips in one of the packaged LED units (1) is adjacent to and has a second distance (Yb or Xb) from one of the first LED chips in another one of the packaged LED units (1) in the first direction [Fig. 1, annotated above], and
the second distance (Yb or Xb) is greater than the first distance (Ya or Xa, respectively) [Fig. 1, annotated above].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Wu by including a plurality of second LED chips individually disposed in the splicing area of the display module, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance as taught by Zeng because it helps to improve the light emitting quality of the light emitting module [Abstract].
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses wherein three of the first LED chips (122, 124, 126) are arranged in one row, in a second direction (x or y) perpendicular to the first direction (y or x, respectively), in the package frame (140) [Fig. 1B and Figs. 12-13, annotated above].
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses packaged LED units arranged in an array of plurality of rows (x or y) and plurality of columns (y or x, respectively) [Figs. 12-13, annotated above], a row direction (x or y) perpendicular to the first direction (y or x, respectively) and the three of the first LED chips (120) in one of the packaged LED units (10) in one of two adjacent rows are disposed in parallel to the three of the first LED chips (120) in one of the packaged LED units (10) in another one of the adjacent rows [Fig. 1B and Figs. 12-13, annotated above].
Regarding claim 10, Zeng teaches wherein the second LED chips (2) in the splicing area (SA) are arranged in one row in a row direction (x or y) perpendicular to the first direction (y or x, respectively) [Fig. 1, annotated above].
Regarding claim 11, Zeng further teaches two splicing areas (SA), and the two splicing areas (SA) located on opposite sides of the display area (10) [Fig. 4].
Regarding claim 12, Zeng teaches wherein one of the second LED chips (2) of one of the display modules is adjacent to and has a third distance (YY or XX) from one of the second LED chips (2) of another one of the display modules in the first direction (y or x, respectively), and the third distance (YY or XX) is equal to the second distance (Yb or Xb, respectively) [See Fig. 1, annotated above].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu (CN 105044964 A) teaches a plurality of second LED chips (5) disposed in the splicing area of the display module [Fig. 12].
Correspondence
/Jose R Diaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815