DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 05/21/2026. Claims 1, 3-10, 15, 25, 27-28, 31-33, and 35-36 remain pending for consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “wherein the first heater is disposed closer to a plane passing through respective centers of the plurality of ice chambers than the second heater is, the plane being perpendicular to the first direction” in claim 25 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-10, 15, 25, 27-28, 31-33, and 35-36 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1, 15, and 31, the phrase “wherein the plurality of chamber accommodating portions comprise” is grammatically incorrect and for examination purposes will be interpreted as -- wherein the plurality of chamber accommodating portions comprises --
Claims 3-10, 25, 27-28, 32-33, and 35-36 are also objected to.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 25, the claim recites “wherein the first heater is disposed closer to a plane passing through respective centers of the plurality of ice chambers than the second heater is, the plane being perpendicular to the first direction” which renders the claim indefinite. Referring to Fig. 18 of the drawings, the disclosed “plurality of ice chambers” is understood to be first lower chamber 252a, second lower chamber 252b, and third lower chamber 252c since Applicant previously disclosed in independent claim 15 that “a plurality of chamber walls configured to define a plurality of ice chambers …, and a supporter … includes a plurality of chamber accommodating portions arranged in a row and configured to accommodate the plurality of chamber walls”. Therefore, it is unclear how a plane passing through the respective centers of the plurality of ice chambers (centers of first lower chamber 252a, second lower chamber 252b, and third lower chamber 252c) would be closer to first heater 148 than second heater 296 when first heater 148 is located on the upper tray (see Fig. 24). More clarity is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15, 25, 28, 31-33, and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakimoto et al. (JPH0674624A, herein after referred to as Kakimoto), in view of Boarman et al. (US 20140165598 A1, herein after referred to as Boarman), in view of Je et al. (US 20170122644 A1, herein after referred to as Je), and in further view of Yang (KR100690680B1).
Regarding claim 1, Kakimoto teaches a method (the method illustrated in Figs. 6-8) for controlling a refrigerator (corresponds to the refrigerator that would house the disclosed “refrigerator compartment” in paragraph [0015]), the refrigerator including an ice maker (the ice maker illustrated in Fig. 4) and a controller (microcomputer 51 Fig. 5) configured to control the ice maker (paragraph [0016]), the ice maker including a tray (ice tray 8 Fig. 4) that is provided in a storage space of the refrigerator (ice making chamber 1 Fig. 1) and includes a plurality of chamber walls (bottoms 8A Fig. 14) configured to define a plurality of ice chambers (blocks 9 Fig. 14), a first heater (heater 20 Fig. 3), a second heater (dish heater 33 Fig. 4) that is disposed closer to a circumferential surface of each of the plurality of ice chambers (corresponds to the outer surface of bottoms 8A Figs. 3-4) than the first heater is (Figs. 3-4), and a supporter (cover 32 Fig. 4) that is configured to support the tray and includes a plurality of chamber accommodating portions (corresponds to the recesses formed on cover 32 to accommodate bottoms 8A Fig. 3) arranged in a row (Fig. 4) and configured to accommodate the plurality of chamber walls (Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of chamber accommodating portions comprises a first chamber accommodating portion (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Kakimoto) and a second chamber accommodating portion (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Kakimoto) that are disposed at opposite ends of the row (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Kakimoto).
Kakimoto teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the method comprising, turning on the second heater for ice making; turning off the second heater; turning on the first heater for ice separation”.
However, Kakimoto teaches the method comprising, turning on the first heater (step S6 Fig. 6 and paragraph [0018]) for ice making (disclosed “ice making process” in paragraph [0018]); turning off the first heater (step S9 Fig. 6 and paragraph [0019]); turning on the second heater (step S12 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0020]) for ice separation (disclosed “ice removing process” in paragraph [0021]).
Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the method comprising, turning on the second heater for ice making; turning off the second heater; turning on the first heater for ice separation” does anything more than produce the predictable result of generating transparent ice with one heater and harvesting the transparent ice with the help of another heater. Since it has been held that reversal of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. A, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the method of Kakimoto and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of generating transparent ice with one heater and harvesting the transparent ice with the help of another heater.
Kakimoto teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the supporter defines a guide groove that extends from the first chamber accommodating portion and is configured to guide a power input terminal and a power output terminal of the second heater”.
However, Boarman teaches wherein a supporter (chill ring 508 Fig. 35 corresponds to the supporter of Kakimoto) defines a guide groove (channel 516 Fig. 35) that extends from a first chamber accommodating portion (Figs. 35-36 where far right dome-shaped form 512 corresponds to the first chamber accommodating portion of Kakimoto) and is configured to guide a power input terminal (leads 522 Figs. 35-36) and a power output terminal (leads 522 Figs. 35-36) of a second heater (heating coil 520 Fig. 35 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) to accommodate the second heater (paragraph [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of Kakimoto to include “wherein the supporter defines a guide groove that extends from the first chamber accommodating portion and is configured to guide a power input terminal and a power output terminal of the second heater” in view of the teachings of Boarman to accommodate the second heater.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a bypass accommodating groove provided in the second chamber accommodating portion and configured to increase a contact area between the second heater and a chamber wall accommodated in the second chamber accommodating portion among the plurality of chamber walls”.
However, Je teaches a bypass accommodating groove (seating groove 132 Fig. 10) provided in a second chamber accommodating portion (Fig. 7 where the recess of ice removal heater seat 130 which accommodates bottom part 121 corresponds to the second chamber accommodating portion of Kakimoto) and configured to increase a contact area (paragraphs [0120] and [0150]) between a second heater (ice removal heater 200 Fig. 8 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) and a chamber wall (bottom part 121 Fig. 7) accommodated in the second chamber accommodating portion among a plurality of chamber walls (Figs. 7-8) to increase the heat transfer rate (paragraph [0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “a bypass accommodating groove provided in the second chamber accommodating portion and configured to increase a contact area between the second heater and a chamber wall accommodated in the second chamber accommodating portion among the plurality of chamber walls” in view of the teachings of Je to increase the heat transfer rate.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the method comprising turning on the second heater for the ice separation while the first heater is turned on”.
However, Yang teaches a method (the method described in paragraph [6] corresponds to the method of Kakimoto) comprising turning on a second heater (paragraph [6] where second heater 117 Fig. 7 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) for an ice separation (the ice separation process described in paragraph [6] corresponds to the ice separation of Kakimoto) while a first heater is turned on (paragraph [6] where first heater 137 Fig. 7 corresponds to the first heater of Kakimoto) to increase the surface temperature of different areas of the ice maker during the ice separation process (paragraph [6]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “the method comprising turning on the second heater for the ice separation while the first heater is turned on” in view of the teachings of Yang to increase the surface temperature of different areas of the ice maker during the ice separation process.
Regarding claim 28, the combined teachings teach wherein the second heater is in contact with a lower portion of the tray (Fig. 4 of Kakimoto).
Regarding claim 32, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising turning on the second heater during at least a part of an ice making operation”.
However, Kakimoto teaches further comprising turning on the first heater during at least a part of an ice making operation (disclosed “ice making process” in paragraph [0018]).
Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed that having “further comprising turning on the second heater during at least a part of an ice making operation” does anything more than produce the predictable result of generating transparent ice with directional freezing due to the use of a transparent ice heater. Since it has been held that reversal of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. A, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the method of Kakimoto and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of generating transparent ice with directional freezing due to the use of a transparent ice heater.
Regarding claim 33, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising turning off the second heater before starting the ice separation”.
However, Kakimoto teaches further comprising turning off the second heater before starting the ice separation (paragraph [0019]).
Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed that having “further comprising turning off the second heater before starting the ice separation” does anything more than produce the predictable result of switching off a transparent ice heater after completion of the transparent ice forming process. Since it has been held that reversal of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. A, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the method of Kakimoto and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of switching off a transparent ice heater after completion of the transparent ice forming process.
Regarding claim 15, Kakimoto teaches a refrigerator (corresponds to the refrigerator that would house the disclosed “refrigerator compartment” in paragraph [0015]) comprising: a cabinet (corresponds to the cabinet that would define the disclosed “refrigerator compartment” in paragraph [0015]) that defines a storage space (ice making chamber 1 Fig. 1); and an ice maker (the ice maker illustrated in Fig. 4) provided inside the storage space (Fig. 1) and configured to make ice (paragraph [0018]), wherein the ice maker includes: a tray (ice tray 8 Fig. 4) provided in the storage space (Fig. 1), the tray comprising a plurality of chamber walls (bottoms 8A Fig. 14) configured to define a plurality of ice chambers (blocks 9 Fig. 14) in which the ice is produced (paragraph [0018]), a first heater (heater 20 Fig. 3), a second heater (dish heater 33 Fig. 4) that is disposed closer to a circumferential surface of each of the plurality of ice chambers (corresponds to the outer surface of bottoms 8A Figs. 3-4) than the first heater is (Figs. 3-4), and a supporter (cover 32 Fig. 4) that is configured to support the tray and includes a plurality of chamber accommodating portions (corresponds to the recesses formed on cover 32 to accommodate bottoms 8A Fig. 3) arranged in a row (Fig. 4) and configured to accommodate the plurality of chamber walls (Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of chamber accommodating portions comprises a first chamber accommodating portion (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Kakimoto) and a second chamber accommodating portion (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Kakimoto) that are disposed at opposite ends of the row (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Kakimoto).
Kakimoto teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the first heater is configured to: turn on based on satisfaction of a first ON condition for ice separation, and turn off based on satisfaction of a first OFF condition, wherein the second heater is configured to: turn on based on satisfaction of a third ON condition for ice making, and turn off based on satisfaction of a third OFF condition”.
However, Kakimoto teaches wherein the second heater is configured to: turn on (step S12 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0020]) based on satisfaction of a first ON condition (corresponds to the completion of step S11 Fig. 7) for ice separation (disclosed “ice removing process” in paragraph [0021]), and turn off (step S14 Fig. 7) based on satisfaction of a first OFF condition (corresponds to the completion of Step S13 Fig. 7), wherein the first heater is configured to: turn on (step S6 Fig. 6) based on satisfaction of a third ON condition (corresponds to the completion of Step S5 Fig. 6) for ice making (disclosed “ice making process” in paragraph [0018]), and turn off (step S9 Fig. 6) based on satisfaction of a third OFF condition (corresponds to the completion of step S8 Fig. 6).
Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed that having “wherein the first heater is configured to: turn on based on satisfaction of a first ON condition for ice separation, and turn off based on satisfaction of a first OFF condition, wherein the second heater is configured to: turn on based on satisfaction of a third ON condition for ice making, and turn off based on satisfaction of a third OFF condition” does anything more than produce the predictable result of generating transparent ice with one heater and harvesting the transparent ice with the help of another heater. Since it has been held that reversal of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. A, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of Kakimoto and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of generating transparent ice with one heater and harvesting the transparent ice with the help of another heater.
Kakimoto teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the second heater is configured to: turn on based on satisfaction of a second ON condition for the ice separation, turn off based on satisfaction of a second OFF condition, and wherein, during the ice separation, the first heater is configured to be turned on first, and the second heater is configured to be turned on while the first heater is turned on”.
However, Yang teaches wherein a second heater (second heater 117 Fig. 7 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) is configured to: turn on based on satisfaction of a second ON condition (corresponds to when “the detected temperature is lower than the set value” as described in paragraph [6]) for an ice separation (the ice separation process described in paragraph [6] corresponds to the ice separation of Kakimoto), turn off based on satisfaction of a second OFF condition (corresponds to when “a predetermined time has elapsed” as described in paragraph [6]), and wherein, during the ice separation, a first heater (first heater 137 Fig. 7 corresponds to the first heater of Kakimoto) is configured to be turned on first (paragraph [6] where Yang teaches that first heater 137 could be turned on before second heater 117 by adjusting the timing of the power supply to the heaters so that the separation of blocking plate 131 and the ice occurs earlier than the separation of ice mold 111 and the ice), and the second heater is configured to be turned on while the first heater is turned on (paragraph [6]) to increase the surface temperature of different areas of the ice maker during the ice separation process (paragraph [6]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Kakimoto to include “wherein the second heater is configured to: turn on based on satisfaction of a second ON condition for the ice separation, turn off based on satisfaction of a second OFF condition, and wherein, during the ice separation, the first heater is configured to be turned on first, and the second heater is configured to be turned on while the first heater is turned on” in view of the teachings of Yang to increase the surface temperature of different areas of the ice maker during the ice separation process.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the supporter defines: a guide groove that extends from the first chamber accommodating portion and is configured to guide a power input terminal and a power output terminal of the second heater”.
However, Boarman teaches wherein a supporter (chill ring 508 Fig. 35 corresponds to the supporter of Kakimoto) defines a guide groove (channel 516 Fig. 35) that extends from a first chamber accommodating portion (Figs. 35-36 where far right dome-shaped form 512 corresponds to the first chamber accommodating portion of Kakimoto) and is configured to guide a power input terminal (leads 522 Figs. 35-36) and a power output terminal (leads 522 Figs. 35-36) of a second heater (heating coil 520 Fig. 35 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) to accommodate the second heater (paragraph [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the supporter defines: a guide groove that extends from the first chamber accommodating portion and is configured to guide a power input terminal and a power output terminal of the second heater” in view of the teachings of Boarman to accommodate the second heater.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a bypass accommodating groove provided in the second chamber accommodating portion and configured to increase a contact area between the second heater and a chamber wall accommodated in the second chamber accommodating portion among the plurality of chamber walls”.
However, Je teaches a bypass accommodating groove (seating groove 132 Fig. 10) provided in a second chamber accommodating portion (Fig. 7 where the recess of ice removal heater seat 130 which accommodates bottom part 121 corresponds to the second chamber accommodating portion of Kakimoto) and configured to increase a contact area (paragraphs [0120] and [0150]) between a second heater (ice removal heater 200 Fig. 8 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) and a chamber wall (bottom part 121 Fig. 7) accommodated in the second chamber accommodating portion among a plurality of chamber walls (Figs. 7-8) to increase the heat transfer rate (paragraph [0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “a bypass accommodating groove provided in the second chamber accommodating portion and configured to increase a contact area between the second heater and a chamber wall accommodated in the second chamber accommodating portion among the plurality of chamber walls” in view of the teachings of Je to increase the heat transfer rate.
Regarding claim 25, and due to indefiniteness, the combined teachings teach wherein the first heater is spaced apart from the second heater in a first direction (Fig. 4 of Kakimoto where the vertical direction corresponds to the first direction), and wherein the first heater is disposed closer to a plane (corresponds to a horizontal plane in Fig. 4 of Kakimoto) passing through respective centers of the plurality of ice chambers (corresponds to the centers of blocks 9 Fig. 4 of Kakimoto) than the second heater is, the plane being perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 4 of Kakimoto).
Regarding claim 35, the combined teachings teach wherein the first ON condition comprises a predetermined time (corresponds to the time that it takes to go from step 8 to step 11 Figs. 6-7 of Kakimoto) elapsing after the third OFF condition has been satisfied (Figs. 6-7 of Kakimoto).
Regarding claim 31, Kakimoto teaches a refrigerator (corresponds to the refrigerator that would house the disclosed “refrigerator compartment” in paragraph [0015]) comprising an ice maker (the ice maker illustrated in Fig. 4) configured to make ice (paragraph [0018]), wherein the ice maker comprises: a tray (ice tray 8 Fig. 4) comprising a plurality of chamber walls (bottoms 8A Fig. 14) configured to define a plurality of ice chambers (blocks 9 Fig. 14) in which the ice is produced (paragraph [0018]), a first heater (heater 20 Fig. 3) configured to provide heat to the plurality of ice chambers (paragraph [0018]), a second heater (dish heater 33 Fig. 4) spaced apart from the first heater (Fig. 4) and configured to provide heat to the plurality of ice chambers (paragraph [0020]), and a supporter (cover 32 Fig. 4) that is configured to support the tray and includes a plurality of chamber accommodating portions (corresponds to the recesses formed on cover 32 to accommodate bottoms 8A Fig. 3) arranged in a row (Fig. 4) and configured to accommodate the plurality of chamber walls (Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of chamber accommodating portions comprises a first chamber accommodating portion (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Kakimoto) and a second chamber accommodating portion (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Kakimoto) that are disposed at opposite ends of the row (see below annotated Fig. 4 of Kakimoto), wherein the second heater is located closer to a circumferential surface of each of the plurality of ice chambers (corresponds to the outer surface of bottoms 8A Figs. 3-4) than the first heater is (Figs. 3-4).
Kakimoto teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the second heater is configured to be turned on during at least a portion of an ice making operation and to be turned off before initiation of an ice separation operation, and wherein, during the ice separation operation, the first heater is configured to be turned on first”.
However, Kakimoto teaches wherein the first heater is configured to be turned on (step S6 Fig. 6 and paragraph [0018]) during at least a portion of an ice making operation (disclosed “ice making process” in paragraph [0018]) and to be turned off heater (step S9 Fig. 6 and paragraph [0019]) before initiation of an ice separation operation (disclosed “ice removing process” in paragraph [0021]), and wherein, during the ice separation operation, the second heater is configured to be turned on first (step S12 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0020]).
Furthermore, Applicant has not disclosed that having “wherein the second heater is configured to be turned on during at least a portion of an ice making operation and to be turned off before initiation of an ice separation operation, and wherein, during the ice separation operation, the first heater is configured to be turned on first” does anything more than produce the predictable result of generating transparent ice with one heater and harvesting the transparent ice with the help of another heater. Since it has been held that reversal of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. A, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of Kakimoto and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of generating transparent ice with one heater and harvesting the transparent ice with the help of another heater.
Kakimoto teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the second heater is configured to be turned on while the first heater is turned on”.
However, Yang teaches a second heater (second heater 117 Fig. 7 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) is configured to be turned on (paragraph [6]) while a first heater is turned on (paragraph [6] where first heater 137 Fig. 7 corresponds to the first heater of Kakimoto) to increase the surface temperature of different areas of the ice maker during the ice separation process (paragraph [6]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Kakimoto to include “the second heater is configured to be turned on while the first heater is turned on” in view of the teachings of Yang to increase the surface temperature of different areas of the ice maker during the ice separation process.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the supporter defines: a guide groove that extends from the first chamber accommodating portion and is configured to guide a power input terminal and a power output terminal of the second heater”.
However, Boarman teaches wherein a supporter (chill ring 508 Fig. 35 corresponds to the supporter of Kakimoto) defines a guide groove (channel 516 Fig. 35) that extends from a first chamber accommodating portion (Figs. 35-36 where far right dome-shaped form 512 corresponds to the first chamber accommodating portion of Kakimoto) and is configured to guide a power input terminal (leads 522 Figs. 35-36) and a power output terminal (leads 522 Figs. 35-36) of a second heater (heating coil 520 Fig. 35 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) to accommodate the second heater (paragraph [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the supporter defines: a guide groove that extends from the first chamber accommodating portion and is configured to guide a power input terminal and a power output terminal of the second heater” in view of the teachings of Boarman to accommodate the second heater.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a bypass accommodating groove provided in the second chamber accommodating portion and configured to increase a contact area between the second heater and a chamber wall accommodated in the second chamber accommodating portion among the plurality of chamber walls”.
However, Je teaches a bypass accommodating groove (seating groove 132 Fig. 10) provided in a second chamber accommodating portion (Fig. 7 where the recess of ice removal heater seat 130 which accommodates bottom part 121 corresponds to the second chamber accommodating portion of Kakimoto) and configured to increase a contact area (paragraphs [0120] and [0150]) between a second heater (ice removal heater 200 Fig. 8 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) and a chamber wall (bottom part 121 Fig. 7) accommodated in the second chamber accommodating portion among a plurality of chamber walls (Figs. 7-8) to increase the heat transfer rate (paragraph [0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “a bypass accommodating groove provided in the second chamber accommodating portion and configured to increase a contact area between the second heater and a chamber wall accommodated in the second chamber accommodating portion among the plurality of chamber walls” in view of the teachings of Je to increase the heat transfer rate.
Regarding claim 36, the combined teachings teach wherein the supporter further comprises a protrusion (heater supporter 181 Fig. 11 of Je) provided in the second chamber accommodating portion (Fig. 11 of Je) and configured to fix a position of the second heater (paragraph [0160] and Fig. 11 of Je) accommodated in the bypass accommodating groove (Fig. 11 of Je).
Claims 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakimoto, Boarman, Je, and Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ji et al. (US20170089629A1, herein after referred to as Ji’629).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein turning on the second heater for the ice separation comprises turning on the second heater based on a temperature sensor detecting that a temperature of the tray has reached a first reference temperature within a first reference period of time after the first heater is turned on for the ice separation”.
However, Ji’629 teaches wherein turning on a second heater (second heater 122 Fig. 5 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) for an ice separation (the disclosed “ice separating operation” in paragraphs [0061] and [0070] corresponds to the ice separation of Kakimoto) comprises turning on the second heater based on a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 130 Fig. 5) detecting that a temperature of a tray (corresponds to the temperature of ice making tray 11 Fig. 5 where ice making tray 11 corresponds to the tray of Kakimoto) has reached a first reference temperature (corresponds to the detected temperature when using temperature sensor 130 to estimate the position of fins 13-2 Fig. 5 as described in paragraph [0070]) within a first reference period of time (corresponds to the elapsed time when using timer 132 Fig. 6 to estimate the position of fins 13-2 as described in paragraph [0070]) after a first heater (first heater 121 Fig. 5 corresponds to the first heater of Kakimoto) is turned on for the ice separation (as described in paragraph [0061], after first heater 121 has been previously turned on, second heater 122 is turned on based on the position of fins 13-2, and the position of fins 13-2 can be determined by using temperature sensor 130 and timer 132 as described in paragraph [0070]) to manage power consumption (paragraph [064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “wherein turning on the second heater for the ice separation comprises turning on the second heater based on a temperature sensor detecting that a temperature of the tray has reached a first reference temperature within a first reference period of time after the first heater is turned on for the ice separation” in view of the teachings of Ji’629 to manage power consumption.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein turning on the second heater for the ice separation comprises turning on the second heater based on a temperature sensor detecting that a temperature of the tray has reached a first reference temperature after the first heater is turned on for the ice separation”.
However, Ji’629 teaches wherein turning on a second heater (second heater 122 Fig. 5 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) for an ice separation (the disclosed “ice separating operation” in paragraphs [0061] and [0070] corresponds to the ice separation of Kakimoto) comprises turning on the second heater based on a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 130 Fig. 5) detecting that a temperature of a tray (corresponds to the temperature of ice making tray 11 Fig. 5 where ice making tray 11 corresponds to the tray of Kakimoto) has reached a first reference temperature (corresponds to the detected temperature when using temperature sensor 130 to estimate the position of fins 13-2 Fig. 5 as described in paragraph [0070]) after a first heater (first heater 121 Fig. 5 corresponds to the first heater of Kakimoto) is turned on for the ice separation (as described in paragraph [0061], after first heater 121 has been previously turned on, second heater 122 is turned on based on the position of fins 13-2, and the position of fins 13-2 can be determined by using temperature sensor 130 as described in paragraph [0070]) to manage power consumption (paragraph [064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “wherein turning on the second heater for the ice separation comprises turning on the second heater based on a temperature sensor detecting that a temperature of the tray has reached a first reference temperature after the first heater is turned on for the ice separation” in view of the teachings of Ji’629 to manage power consumption.
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein turning on the second heater for the ice separation comprises turning on the second heater based on a first reference time having elapsed after the first heater is turned on for the ice separation”.
However, Ji’629 teaches wherein turning on a second heater (second heater 122 Fig. 5 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) for an ice separation (the disclosed “ice separating operation” in paragraphs [0061] and [0070] corresponds to the ice separation of Kakimoto) comprises turning on the second heater based on a first reference time (corresponds to the elapsed time when using timer 132 Fig. 6 to estimate the position of fins 13-2 as described in paragraph [0070]) having elapsed after a first heater (first heater 121 Fig. 5 corresponds to the first heater of Kakimoto) is turned on for the ice separation (as described in paragraph [0061], after first heater 121 has been previously turned on, second heater 122 is turned on based on the position of fins 13-2, and the position of fins 13-2 can be determined by using timer 132 as described in paragraph [0070]) to manage power consumption (paragraph [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “wherein turning on the second heater for the ice separation comprises turning on the second heater based on a first reference time having elapsed after the first heater is turned on for the ice separation” in view of the teachings of Ji’629 to manage power consumption.
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising: simultaneously or sequentially turning off the first heater and the second heater”.
However, Ji’629 teaches further comprising: simultaneously turning off (in one of the scenarios described in paragraph [0061], heaters 121-122 are turned on/off simultaneously based on the position of ejector fins 13-2) a first heater (first heater 121 Fig. 5 corresponds to the first heater of Kakimoto) and a second heater (second heater 122 Fig. 5 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) to manage power consumption (paragraph [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “further comprising: simultaneously or sequentially turning off the first heater and the second heater” in view of the teachings of Ji’629 to manage power consumption.
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach wherein the first heater and the second heater are configured to be: simultaneously turned off (in one of the scenarios described in paragraph [0061] of Ji’629, heaters 121-122 are turned on/off simultaneously based on the position of ejector fins 13-2) based on a time (corresponds to the time during which both heaters are on before rotating “ejector fins 13-2 again” as described in paragraph [0061] of Ji’629) that has elapsed after the second heater is turned on reaching a set time (corresponds to the time during which both heaters are on before rotating “ejector fins 13-2 again” as described in paragraph [0061] of Ji’629, furthermore in paragraph [0070] of Ji’629 it is disclosed that timer 132 could be used to determine the position of ejector fins 13-2).
Further, it is understood, claim 7 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configure to...”. The Applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach wherein the first heater and the second heater are configured to be: simultaneously turned off (in one of the scenarios described in paragraph [0061] of Ji’629, heaters 121-122 are turned on/off simultaneously based on the position of ejector fins 13-2) based on a temperature (corresponds to the temperature detected by temperature sensor 130 Fig. 5 of Ji’629) detected by a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 130 Fig. 5 of Ji’629) reaching an OFF reference temperature (corresponds to the detected temperature when using temperature sensor 130 to estimate the position of fins 13-2 Fig. 5 as described in paragraph [0070]) within a set time (corresponds to the time during which both heaters are on before rotating “ejector fins 13-2 again” as described in paragraph [0061] of Ji’629) after the second heater is turned on (paragraphs [0061] and [0070] of Ji’629 where it is understood that both heaters 121-122 are turned on/off simultaneously based on the position of ejector fins 13-2, and this position of fins 13-2 can be determined by using both temperature sensor 130 and timer 132).
Further, it is understood, claim 8 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configure to...”. The Applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach wherein the first heater and the second heater are configured to be simultaneously turned off (in one of the scenarios described in paragraph [0061] of Ji’629, heaters 121-122 are turned on/off simultaneously based on the position of ejector fins 13-2) based on a temperature (corresponds to the temperature detected by temperature sensor 130 Fig. 5 of Ji’629) detected by a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 130 Fig. 5 of Ji’629) reaching an OFF reference temperature (corresponds to the detected temperature when using temperature sensor 130 to estimate the position of fins 13-2 Fig. 5 as described in paragraph [0070]) after the second heater is turned on (paragraphs [0061] and [0070] of Ji’629 where it is understood that both heaters 121-122 are turned on/off simultaneously based on the position of ejector fins 13-2, and this position of fins 13-2 can be determined by using temperature sensor 130).
Further, it is understood, claim 9 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configure to...”. The Applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach further comprising: displacing the tray (step S17 in paragraph [0021] of Kakimoto) to an ice separation position (the position illustrated in Fig. 9C of Kakimoto) based on the first heater and the second heater being turned off (paragraphs [0020] to [0021] of Kakimoto).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakimoto, Boarman, Je, and Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kamimura et al. (JPH05203299A, herein after referred to as Kamimura).
Regarding claim 27, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the second heater is configured to operate for the ice making to thereby cause bubbles to move downward and be collected at a lower side of each of the plurality of ice chambers during the ice making”.
However, Kamimura teaches wherein a second heater (first heater 18a Fig. 1 corresponds to the second heater of Kakimoto) is configured to operate for an ice making (the ice making process described in paragraph [0009] corresponds to the ice making of Kakimoto) to thereby cause bubbles (disclosed “gaseous components” in paragraph [0009]) to move downward (paragraph [0009]) and be collected at a lower side of each of a plurality of ice chambers (corresponds to the lower side of the cavities formed in ice tray 9 Fig. 1, where those cavities correspond to the plurality of ice chambers of Kakimoto) during the ice making (paragraph [0009]) to provide an ice maker where the freezing surface progresses from top to bottom (paragraph [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “wherein the second heater is configured to operate for the ice making to thereby cause bubbles to move downward and be collected at a lower side of each of the plurality of ice chambers during the ice making” in view of the teachings of Kamimura to provide an ice maker where the freezing surface progresses from top to bottom.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763