DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application, filed 27 December, 2021, is a national stage application of PCT/US2020/040075, filed 29 June, 2020, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application 62/867,991, filed 28 June, 2019.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant's claimed invention, filed 14 October, 2025, in the matter of Application No. 17/623,060. Said documents have been entered on the record.
Although a claim set was submitted with the request for continued examination filed on 11 May, 2026, that claim set merely constitutes a clean copy of the previously presented claims filed on 14 October, 2025, and does not include any substantive amendments.
Thus, Claims 10, 12-16, and 18-20 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Response to Arguments & Amendments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive with respect to the rejections maintained herein.
Upon further consideration of Applicant’s arguments concerning Jin et al., and in the interest of compact prosecution, the rejection of Claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. §103 based solely on Jin has been withdrawn. Applicant has raised questions regarding the characterization of the QGY-7703 cell line and the conclusions drawn therefrom. Accordingly, the Examiner no longer relies upon Jin alone as rendering the claimed subject matter obvious.
However, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive with respect to the rejections based upon the combination of Rong in view of Jin, and Rong in view of Jin and Jones.
Applicant’s arguments principally attack the references individually. However, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant further argues that Rong’s disclosure is undermined because the Hep-2 cell line has subsequently been reported to be contaminated (Remarks, Pg 8, Para 2). This argument is likewise unpersuasive. Although Rong reports activity against the Hep-2 cells, the reference does not rely exclusively upon that cell line. Rather, Rong evaluates its aminated homoharringtonine derivatives, together with homoharringtonine (HHT) as a comparative compound, against numerous human solid tumor cell lines, including Huh7 (human liver cancer cells), in addition to Hep-2, A549, CaES-17, PC-3, CNE, SK-OV-3, RKO, MGC803, U87MG, PANC-1, Bcap37, and HeLa cells. (Rong, Example 4). Thus, even accepting Applicant’s criticism of the Hep-2 cell line, Rong independently demonstrates antitumor activity in recognized human liver cancer cells and does not rely solely upon the Hep-2 model.
Moreover, Rong independently teaches methods of treating tumors, including liver cancer, using aminated homoharringtonine derivatives. Rong therefore provides the primary therapeutic teaching relied upon in the present rejection.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the subsequent characterization of the QGY-7703 cell line likewise do not undermine the combined rejection because the Examiner does not rely upon Jin as establishing the therapeutic utility of HHT for liver cancer. Rather Jin is relied upon as additional evidence that HHT was known to induce apoptosis and activate recognized apoptotic signaling pathways, including TGF-β, TNF, FAS, p38 MAPK, and p53. These mechanistic teachings are independent of Applicant’s arguments concerning the characterization of the experimental cell line and further support the known biological activity of homoharringtonine.
Accordingly, when the teachings of Rong and Jin are considered together, Rong provides the teaching of treating liver cancer with aminated homoharringtonine derivatives, while Jin further evidences the known apoptotic activity and biological mechanism of HHT itself. In view of these combined teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to employ omacetaxine mepesuccinate (homoharringtonine) as an HHT-based therapeutic agent with a reasonable expectation of success. Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence sufficient to outweigh the combined teachings of the prior art.
With respect to the rejections further including Jones, Applicant’s arguments likewise are not persuasive. Jones is relied upon solely for the additional limitations directed to combination therapy, methods of administration, and pharmaceutical compositions recited in the dependent claims. Applicant has not specifically identified error in the Examiner’s findings regarding the teachings of Jones. Accordingly, the rejection of Claims 10 and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Rong in view of Jin, and further in view of Jones, is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (MAINTAINED)
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong et al. (US 2014/0206669 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Rong, and further in view of Jin (Acta Pharmacol Sin, 2007 Jun; 28 (6): 859–868, previously cited).
Regarding Claims 10 and 18, Rong teaches a method for treating a subject suffering from tumor, such as from liver cancer or cholangiocellular carcinoma, comprising administering to the subject in need thereof an effective amount of an aminated or amidated homoharringtonine. (‘669, Pg. 3, Para 0013.) Rong teaches that aminated or amidated small molecules have been widely applied in pharmaceutical research (‘669, Pg. 2, Para 0007.) Rong discloses that the aminated homoharringtonine derivatives can induce the cell death of human solid tumor cells, to include Hep-2 (human hepatocellular carcinoma), and inhibit the growth of these tumor cells (‘669, Pg. 17, Example 4, Para 0175, 0181, and Table 2). Rong teaches both homoharringtonine (HTT) and aminated homoharringtonine derivatives inhibit the tumor cells (‘669, Pg. 17, Example 4, Para 0175 and Table 2.)
While Rong (2014) teaches the effects of both HHT and aminated derivates thereof, the reference focuses on their derivatives. However, the teachings of Jin (2007) are set forth in the above 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections and are incorporated herein, which suggests the treatment of liver cancer with HHT/omacetaxine mepesuccinate.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute the amidated HHT of Rong, with the omacetaxine mepesuccinate (HHT) of Jin. One would have been motivated to do, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Rong demonstrates that both HHT and aminated HHT are effective at inhibiting human liver cells, and both Jin and Rong teach treatments for tumors related to liver cancer.
Claims 10, 12-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong and Jin (cited above), and further in view of Jones et al. (WO 2014/031936 A2, cited in the IDS), hereinafter Jones.
The teachings of Rong and Jin are set forth in the above 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections and
are incorporated herein. Rong and Jin teach a method for treating a subject suffering from tumor, such as from liver cancer, hepatocellular carcinoma, or cholangiocellular carcinoma, comprising administering to the subject in need thereof an effective amount of homoharringtonine (also known as HHT or omacetaxine mepesuccinate.)
Rong and Jin fail to teach a combination therapy which comprise omacetaxine mepesuccinate, a biologically active agent, and a chemotherapeutic (anti-cancer) agent. However, Jones teaches just such combination therapies.
Regarding Claims 10 and 18, Jones teaches methods for treating a HIF pathway-mediated disorder in a patient in need of such treatment, comprising administering to said patient a therapeutically effective amount of a compound or composition according to the present invention (‘936, Pg. 8, Para 014.) Inhibitors of protein translation may also be useful in combination with the present invention. Examples of inhibitors of protein translation include but are not limited to omacetaxine mepesuccinate (‘936, Pg. 68, Para 0208, 32.) The compounds, compositions, and methods disclosed herein are useful for the treatment of disease…including cancer…the cancer is a solid tumor (‘936, Pg. 71, Para 0215.) Cancers to be treated by the methods disclosed include…liver, hepatocellular carcinoma (‘936, Pg. 71-72, Para 0216.)
Regarding Claim 12-13 and 15-16, Jones teaches the compounds of formula I can be administered in combination with one or more agent selected from aromatase inhibitors… anti-cancer agent, inhibitors of angiogenesis, topoisomerase l and 2 inhibitors, alkylating agents… and a protein kinase inhibitor, e.g., a tyrosine kinase or serine/threonine kinase inhibitor (‘936, Pg. 59, Para 0205.)
Regarding Claim 14, Jones teaches anticancer agents suitable for use in the combination therapy with compounds as disclosed herein include, but are not limited to: …cabozantinib, sorafenib (‘936, Pg. 60 and 65, Para 0208, 26-a.)
Regarding Claims 19-20, Jones teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising one or
more compounds disclosed herein together with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (‘936, Pg. 8, Para 014.)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to treat solid liver cancer – including drug-resistant or advanced forms – by administering omacetaxine mepesuccinate in combination with a biologically active agent, and a chemotherapeutic (anti-cancer) agent.
Jin teaches that homoharringtonine (HHT, omacetaxine mepesuccinate), known for its use with acute myeloid leukemia, exhibits therapeutic relevance in treating liver cancer based on gene expression studies. Rong further teaches methods of treating liver cancer – to include aggressive and hard-to-treat forms such as hepatocellular carcinoma and cholangiocellular carcinoma – by administering HHT and its derivatives, thereby reinforcing its suitability as a treatment option.
Jones, while primarily focused on novel compounds found to inhibit the HIF pathway, expressly discloses combination therapies for treating a range of HIF pathway-mediated diseases, which include liver cancers such as hepatocellular carcinoma, and includes omacetaxine mepesuccinate, a biologically active agent, and a chemotherapeutic (anti-cancer) agent, among the potential therapeutic agents. Jones also highlights the rationale for combination therapy in managing complex or treatment-resistant diseases by targeting multiple biological pathways.
In view of the known challenges associated with treating liver cancer – to include aggressive and hard-to-treat forms such as hepatocellular carcinoma and cholangiocellular carcinoma – a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to explore combination therapies in order to enhance therapeutic efficacy, reduce resistance, or achieve synergistic effects with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627