DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 2021/0202804).
With regard to claim 13, Sun teaches, in Fig 5, a light-emitting substrate, comprising: a substrate (110); a plurality of light emitting diode (LED) chips (130), wherein a spacer region is defined between adjacent LED chips (regions filled by 140, 150); and a black photoresist layer (140, 150, 160’) disposed on the substrate.
With regard to claim 14, Sun teaches, in Fig 5, that the black photoresist layer comprises a first light-shielding portion (140, 150) and a second light-shielding portion (160’), the first light-shielding portion is filled in the spacer regions, and the second light-shielding portion is formed at a position over the LED chips (see figure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0202804) in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0074761).
With regard to claim 15, Sun teaches most of the limitations of this claim, as set forth above with regard to claim 13.
Sun does not explicitly teach that at least some of the plurality of LED chips have different heights.
Li teaches, in Fig 3, that at least some of the plurality of LED chips (01, 02, 03) have different heights ([0033]), “so as to expose the different types of light emitting layers on the top of different types of LEDs, thus ensuring the light emitting area and improving emission efficiency of every LED, and improving the integration of various LEDs,” ([0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective time of filing to combine the device of Sun with the LED chip heights of Li to ensure light emitting area and improve emission efficiency of each LED.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2021/0202804) in view of JP 4843858 (hereinafter this reference will be referred to as ‘858 and all citations are made to the attached machine translation).
With regard to claim 16, Sun teaches most of the limitations of this claim, as set forth above with regard to claim 13.
Sun does not explicitly teach that a material of the black photoresist layer comprises at least carbon black, a photoinitiator, and a reactive monomer.
‘858 teaches that a material of the black photoresist layer comprises at least carbon black ([0014]), a photoinitiator ([0019]), and a reactive monomer ([0020]), “so that the black resin composition has excellent stability over time,” ([0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective time of filing to combine the device of Sun with the black photoresist of ‘858 so that the photoresist has excellent stability over time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to anticipate or render obvious claimed limitations of performing first exposure on the black photoresist layer under the mask, to cause inorganics in the black photoresist layer in the exposure regions to diffuse into the black photoresist layer in the light-shielding regions; and performing second exposure on the black photoresist layer to cure the black photoresist layer, as set forth in independent claim 1, or of performing first exposure on the black photoresist layer to reduce inorganics in the black photoresist layer over the plurality of LED chips; and performing second exposure on the black photoresist layer to cure the black photoresist layer, as set forth in independent claim 6, each when taken in concert with all the other limitations of the respective claims. All other allowed claims depend from these independent claims.
The closest prior art of record is Lin et al. (US 2019/0196322) and Lu et al. (US 8785084), each of which discuss mask and shielding layer formation methods involving chemical alteration of the deposited photoresist, but fail to teach the limitations set forth above.
Conclusion
/RAJ R GUPTA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893