DETAILED ACTION
This is an Office action based on application number 17/624,708 filed 23 March 2022, which is a national stage entry of PCT/JP2020/027120 filed 10 July 2020, which claims priority to JP2019-184084 filed 4 October 2019 and JP2019-128632 filed 10 July 2019. Claims 1-6, 9, 12-13, and 16-19 are pending. Claims 7-8, 10-11, and 14-15 are canceled.
Amendments to the claims, filed 8 December 2025, have been entered into the above-identified application.
Withdrawn Rejections
The prior art rejections, made of record in the previous Office action, are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1-6, 9, 12, 13 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraki et al. (WIPO International Publication No. WO 2018/110702 A1 with citations taken from the provided machine translation) (Hiraki) in view of Nishijima (JP2012022821A with citations taken from the provided machine translation) and Takada (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2015/0311483 A1) (Takada).
Regarding instant claims 1-6 and 12-13:
Hiraki discloses an adhesive film for a metal, wherein the adhesive film is interposed between a metal terminal electrically connected to an electrode of a battery and a packaging element that seals the battery. Hiraki further discloses that the adhesive film comprises at least one polypropylene layer and at least one acid-modified polypropylene layer forming a surface layer on at least one side of said adhesive film (Claim 1).
FIG. 5, reproduced below, illustrates adhesive film <1> having at least one polypropylene layer <11> and two layers of acid-modified polypropylene <12> on opposing surfaces of the polypropylene layer <11> (paragraph [0017]).
Said polypropylene layer <11> meets the claimed polypropylene base material.
Said acid-modified polypropylene layers <12> meet the claimed first and second polyolefin layer containing an acid-modified polypropylene.
Said “packaging element that seals the battery” meets the claimed exterior material for power storage device that seals the power storage device element.
Hiraki further discloses that the acid-modified polypropylene is graft modified with an unsaturated carboxylic acid or an anhydride thereof (paragraph [0050]), preferably a maleic anhydride-modified polypropylene (paragraph [0053]).
Hiraki discloses that the thickness of polypropylene layer <11> is 15 to 80 μm (paragraph [0046]); however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
Hiraki further discloses that the thickness of the acid-modified polypropylene layers <12> is 10 μm to 40 μm (paragraph [0054]).
Given the thickness ranges and an adhesive film structure comprising a polypropylene layer <11> and 2 acid-modified polypropylene layers <12>, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the range of the total thickness of the adhesive film disclosed by Hiraki overlaps the range recited by the instant claim; however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
Hiraki does not explicitly disclose the melt flow rates of the acid-modified polypropylene layer and the polypropylene layer.
However, Nishijima discloses a resin film for covering metal terminals of secondary batteries that exhibits excellent shape stability and adhesion when heated (paragraph [0001]).
Nishijima teaches that a laminated resin for covering metal terminals comprises a layer composed of at least one resin layer has a melt flow rate of 7 g/10 min or less to reduce the deformation of the sealant during heating (paragraph [0007]). Said range is inclusive of the ranges recited by claims 1 and 13; however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
Nishijima teaches that these layers are inclusive of polyolefins (paragraph [0015]) such as polypropylene (paragraph [0020]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the prior art before him or her, to use a polypropylene resin having the melt flow rate described by Nishijima. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the deformation of the sealant during heating
Further, Takada discloses a secondary battery metal terminal coating resin having improved shape retention properties and adhesive properties when it is heated and being capable of securing insulation properties (paragraph [0002]).
Reference is made to FIG. 3B of Takarada, reproduced below:
Takada discloses tab <20> that is configured such that sealant <24> which has a three-layer configuration and a lead <27> are bonded, wherein said three-layer sealant <24> comprises sealant skin layers <21> and <23> and a sealant core layer <22> (paragraph [0037]).
Takada further discloses that the sealant skin layers <21, 23> are formed from acid modified polyolefin resins in which polyolefin resin is graft modified with maleic anhydride or the like (paragraph [0039]).
The three-layer structure of Takada is analogous to that of Hiraki in that they are each composed of similar compositions and have a similar intended use.
Takada further discloses that the MFR of the skin layers <21, 23> is from 5.1 g/10 min to 32.5 g/10 min to sufficiently fill the lead end during welding and to optimize viscosity to prevent pin hole formation (paragraph [0041]). It is noted that the melt flow range disclosed by Takada is inclusive of the range recited by claim 12; however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the prior art before him or her, to ensure that the acid-modified polypropylene layers of Hikari have the melt flow rates prescribed by Takada. The motivation for doing so would have been to achieve sufficient welding properties, and prevent pin hole formation.
As to the property limitations recited by claims 1-6:
Hiraki in view of Nishijima and Takada does not explicitly disclose the claimed properties recited by claims 1-6.
Reference is made to Applicant’s FIG. 6, reproduced below:
In FIG. 6, Applicant illustrates an adhesive film <1> comprising polyolefin layers <12a> and <12b> each containing an acid-modified polyolefin and base material <11> containing a polyolefin (see Specification at paragraph [0021]).
Applicant further discloses that the material for the base layer is preferably polypropylene (see Specification at paragraphs [0040-0041]).
Further, Applicant further discloses that the polyolefin in the acid-modified polyolefin is polypropylene (see Specification at paragraph [0054]), and the polyolefin is graft-modified with an unsaturated carboxylic acid or anhydride thereof inclusive of maleic acid and maleic anhydride (see Specification at paragraph [0053; 0057]).
While Hiraki does not explicitly disclose the claimed properties, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily conclude that the preferred composition of Applicant’s adhesive film falls within the scope of the disclosure of Hiraki in view of Takada (i.e., the same three-layer structure comprising a polypropylene core and acid-modified polypropylene skin layers having specified melt flow rates). As such, the prior art combination must encompass an embodiment that is substantially identical to that of Applicant’s invention, and that the substantially identical embodiment must have the same properties as Applicant’s adhesive film (i.e., those properties recited by claims 1-6). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP §2112.01(I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Takada with Hiraki to obtain the invention as specified by the instant claims.
Regarding instant claim 9:
Hiraki further discloses that the thickness of the polypropylene layer <11> is in the range of 0.7 to 3.5 when the total thickness of the acid-modified polypropylene layer <12> is 1.
Regarding instant claim 16:
Hiraki further discloses that the packaging material is compose of a laminate having at least a base material, a barrier layer, and a heat-sealing resin layer, laminated in this order; further, Hiraki discloses that the adhesive film is interposed between the heat-sealing resin and the metal terminal (Claim 8).
Regarding instant claim 17:
Reference is made to FIG. 2 of Hiraki, reproduced below:
Hiraki illustrates an adhesive film for a metal terminal <1> provided to enhance adhesion between the metal terminal <2> and packaging material <3> (paragraph [0016]).
Regarding instant claims 18-19:
Hiraki discloses a battery comprising:
at least a battery element having a positive electrode, a negative electrode and an electrolyte;
a packaging material for sealing the battery element;
metal terminals electrically connected to the positive electrode and the negative electrode, respectively, and protruding outside the packaging material;
and an adhesive film for metal terminals interposed between the metal terminals and the packaging material (Claim 9).
Such a battery is construed to be made by a method comprising a step of interposing the adhesive film between the metal terminals and the packaging material, and sealing the battery with the packaging material.
Answers to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art rejections of record are fully considered, but are unpersuasive.
Applicant maintains that the applied references do not expressly or inherently teach an adhesive having the claimed properties. Applicant argues that the Examples in the present application preclude a finding that the recited tensile elastic modulus would have been inherent to the prior art. Specifically, Applicant points out that each of Comparative Examples 1-4 in the present application had a multilayer structure made of substantially the same materials as the Examples and satisfied the structural properties of claims 7-15. Applicant points out that despite these similarities, Comparative Examples exhibited a tensile elastic modulus A of lower than 490 MPa.
Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive. Though Applicant alleges that there exist embodiments of similar structure and composition that do not exhibit the claimed properties (e.g., the comparative examples), Applicant has not persuasively shown that the scope of the prior art does not encompass an embodiment that is substantially identical to Applicant’s claimed invention and must have the same properties inclusive of those claimed. As mapped in the rejections of record, the prior art discloses the same three layer structure comprising the same polypropylene layer base and acid-modified polypropylene outer layers. The prior art rejection further discloses the same melt flow rates for each of the polypropylene and acid-modified polypropylene layers. Further, the prior art obviates the claimed overall thickness of the three layer structure, the thickness of the individual layers. Therefore, there is substantial reason to believe that the prior art combination would encompass and embodiment that is substantially identical to those embodiments of Applicant’s invention that do exhibit the claimed properties. Though Applicant points to comparative examples having a similar structure and composition as that of the claims, those comparative examples only provide evidence that those specific embodiments (e.g., the specific structure and composition) do not possess the claimed properties.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1788 05/20/2026
/HUMERA N. SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1784