DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is a non-final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 05/20/2026. Claims 1 and 15 are currently amended. Claims 16-22 are new. Claims 1-4 and 7-22 are pending review in this action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited art does not teach or suggest the claimed “plurality of carbon nanotube structures, wherein each carbon nanotube structure includes 2 to 5,000 single-walled carbon nanotube units bonded side by side” and that “the plurality of carbon nanotube structures are directly interconnected to form a conductive network structure in the electrode active material layer.” Yachi does not teach the claimed carbon nanotube structure as acknowledged in the previous Office Action. Kobashi does not teach the claimed carbon nanotube structure because Kobashi is directed toward raw bundled carbon nanotubes rather than an electrode. The ropelike carbon nanotube structure of the invention is not damaged by volume changes during battery cycling and is prepared by a dispersion method that preserves the length of the nanotube structures. It is known in the art that scaling up manufacture of carbon nanotubes for use in battery applications is a significant challenge, and the dispersion processes used to prepare commercially available nanotubes for battery applications yield varying results depending on equipment and conditions. Kobashi does not address the problem in the art that single-walled carbon nanotubes are susceptible to breakage and length reduction during dispersion processes and does not teach or suggest maintaining a conductive network structure capable of preserving conductivity during battery cycling. Regarding claim 18, Kobashi does not teach or suggest the claimed electrode including the claimed carbon nanotube structure having the claimed “average length of 1 µm to 500 µm.” Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have reasonably expected that incorporating Kobashi’s commercially available bundled nanotube materials into Yachi’s electrode would result in the claimed directly interconnected conductive network structure having the claimed morphology, preserved length characteristics, and conductivity retention during cycling.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection relies on Yachi to teach an electrode comprising a conductive network formed from carbon structures having a long rope form (fibrous carbon) with an average length of 1 µm to 500 µm and relies on Kobashi to teach carbon nanotube structures including single-walled carbon nanotube units bonded side by side. As laid out in the rejection of claims 1 and 18 below, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to try using the carbon nanotube structures of Kobashi in the electrode of Yachi because Yachi teaches the fibrous carbon may comprise a single-walled carbon nanotube ([0066]) and Kobashi teaches the carbon nanotube structures are suitable for use as carbon fibers or reinforcing conductive additives because they have high conductivity and mechanical strength (p. 4046, c. 1, ll. 5-6 and 10-13; Figure 3).
In response to Applicant's argument that the prior art does not address that the conductive network maintains its structure during repeated battery cycling, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a dispersion process and dispersant) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues (pp. 10-12) one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to arrive at the claimed electrode based on the cited art. Yachi only generally discloses that fibrous carbon materials may include carbon nanotubes ([0066]) and specifically teaches carbon fibers produced using bulk carbon materials such as resin or pitch ([002], [0171]-[0176]). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand [0066] of Yachi merely as a broad listing of potential carbon source materials that may subsequently undergo processing to produce the disclosed fibrous carbons. In contrast, Kobashi merely characterizes commercially available raw material and aggregation behavior, not engineered conductive network structures or claimed electrode morphology. Therefore, the Action improperly relies on hindsight reconstruction by selectively extracting Kobashi’s disclosure of raw bundled nanotube materials and attempting to substitute such materials into Yachi’s fundamentally different fibrous carbon system. However, neither Yachi nor Kobashi teaches or suggests that merely replacing Yachi’s heat-treated fibrous carbons with Kobashi’s raw nanotube aggregates would result in the claimed electrode structure having directly interconnected carbon nanotube structures throughout the electrode active material layer.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Though Yachi describes a process for forming carbon nanofibers at [0085] and uses carbon nanofibers in the example embodiments at [0171]-[0176], Yachi further states the fibrous carbon is not particularly limited ([0085]) and lists single-walled carbon nanotubes as suitable fibrous carbon materials in place of or in addition to carbon nanofibers ([0066]). One of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize the example fibrous carbon materials of [0066], which include single-walled carbon nanotubes and carbon nanofibers, as precursors like pitch or resin used to synthesize carbon nanofibers.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Yachi teaches the claimed electrode structure having directly interconnected carbon structures (fibrous carbon) throughout the electrode active material layer and Kobashi teaches single-walled carbon nanotube structures having high conductivity and mechanical strength (p. 4046, c. 1, ll. 5-6 and 10-13; Figure 3). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to try using the single-walled carbon nanotube structures of Kobashi to form the fibrous carbon in the electrode of Yachi because Yachi teaches the fibrous carbon may comprise a single-walled carbon nanotube ([0066]) and Kobashi teaches the single-walled carbon nanotube structures are suitable for use as carbon fibers or reinforcing conductive additives.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7-8, 15, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (line 7) and claim 15 (line 12) recite “wherein the plurality of carbon nanotube structures are directly interconnected” but should recite “wherein the plurality of carbon nanotube structures is directly interconnected” or “the carbon nanotube structures are directly interconnected.”
Claim 1 (line 6), claim 7, claim 8, and claim 17 recite “wherein the plurality of carbon nanotube structures have” but should recite “wherein the plurality of carbon nanotube structures has.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yachi (US 2017/0098822 A1; previously cited) in view of Kobashi (Classification of commercialized carbon nanotubes into three general categories as a guide for applications, 2019; cited 09/17/2025), as evidenced by Predtechenskiy (US 2022/0325080 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Yachi discloses an electrode ([0001]) comprising an electrode active material layer (electrode mixture layer, [0010]), the electrode active material layer comprising an electrode active material and a conductive agent (carbon based conductive agent, [0010]); the conductive agent comprising a point-type conductive agent (carbon black or acetylene black, [0099]),and a plurality of carbon structures (fibrous carbon, [0010]),
wherein the plurality of carbon structures (fibrous carbon) has an average length of 1 µm to 500 µm (overlapping range of “10 µm or more” [0087] establishes a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP § 2144.05(I)]),
wherein the plurality of carbon structures (fibrous carbon) are directly interconnected (fibers of the fibrous carbon are in contact with each other, [0133]) to form a conductive network structure (conductive path, [0128]) throughout the electrode active material (mixture) layer (three-dimensional dispersion of fibrous carbon forms a conductive path to reduce a resistance of the electrode mixture layer, [0077]), and
the conductive network structure (conductive path) comprises the plurality of carbon structures (fibrous carbon) directly connecting between electrode active material particles ([0106]) of the electrode active material (FIGS. 4 and 28, [220]).
Yachi teaches that the carbon structures (fibrous carbon) may be formed of single-walled (monolayer) carbon nanotubes ([0066]) and are preferably linear ([0090]), but does not disclose wherein each carbon structure is a carbon nanotube structure including 2 to 5,000 single-walled carbon nanotube units bonded in parallel with each other.
Kobashi teaches carbon nanotube structures including single-walled carbon nanotube units arranged in parallel with each other (small-diameter nanotubes have aligned fibrous structure, p. 4044 c. 1 ll. 2-5; small-diameter nanotubes are straight and form closely packed bundles, p. 4045 c. 1 ll. 5-7; see right side of Figure 1 on p. 4044 and left side of Figure 2 on p. 4045). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have used a carbon nanotube structure including single-walled carbon nanotube units arranged in parallel with each other to form the carbon structures in the electrode of Yachi because Kobashi teaches that such carbon nanotube structures are suitable for use as carbon fibers or reinforcing conductive additives because their high crystallinity and specific surface area gives high conductivity and mechanical strength (p. 4046, c. 1, ll. 5-6 and 10-13; Figure 3).
Predtechenskiy evidences single-walled carbon units in bundles are bonded with one another due to Van der Waals forces and that the diameter and length of the bundles corresponds to the number of nanotube units forming the bundle ([0048]). Yachi in view of Kobashi is considered to meet the limitation “wherein the carbon nanotube structures include 2 to 5,000 single-walled nanotubes units bonded in parallel with each other” since Yachi teaches carbon structures having similar lengths and diameters to those of the instant application (diameter range of “less than 1000 nm” [0093] overlaps claimed range of “2 nm to 200 nm” in claim 7 of the instant application, see citations above for overlapping lengths) and Kobashi teaches bundled single-walled carbon nanotubes (p. 4045 c. 1 ll. 5-7).
Regarding claim 2, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein a weight ratio of the point-type conductive agent (carbon black or acetylene black) to the plurality of carbon nanotube structures (fibrous carbon) is 9:1 to 1:9 (Yachi: fibrous carbon constitutes 10% to 100% by mass of the conductive agent, corresponding to an overlapping range of 10:1 to 0:1 [0099]).
Regarding claim 3, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein a weight ratio of the point-type conductive agent (carbon black or acetylene black) to the plurality of carbon nanotube structures (fibrous carbon) is 8:2 to 2:8 (Yachi: carbon structures constitute 10% to 100% by mass of the conductive agent, corresponding to an overlapping range of 10:1 to 0:1 [0099]).
Regarding claim 4, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein the point-type conductive agent (carbon black or acetylene black) is contained in the electrode active material layer in an amount of 0.01 wt% to 5 wt% (Yachi: 1% by mass in Example 7, [0192]).
Regarding claim 7, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein the plurality of carbon nanotube structures have an average diameter of 2 nm to 200 nm (Yachi: overlapping ranges of less than 1000 nm, preferably 50 to 900 nm, more preferably 100 to 600 nm, still more preferably 150 to 500 nm, and particularly preferably 200 to 400 nm, [0093], establish a prima facie case of obviousness).
Regarding claim 8, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein the plurality of carbon nanotube structures have an average diameter of 125 nm to 170 nm (Yachi: overlapping ranges of less than 1000 nm, preferably 50 to 900 nm, more preferably 100 to 600 nm, and still more preferably 150 to 500 nm, [0093], establish a prima facie case of obviousness).
Regarding claim 9, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein, in each carbon nanotube structure, the single-walled carbon nanotube units have an average diameter of 0.5 nm to 5 nm (Kobashi: 2.1 ± 0.3 nm or 2.2 ± 0.4 nm, p. 4045 c. 1 ll. 5-7).
Regarding claim 11, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein the point-type conductive agent is carbon black (Yachi: carbon black or acetylene black [0099]).
Regarding claim 12, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein each carbon nanotube structure includes 50 to 4,000 single-walled carbon nanotube units bonded to each other (Kobashi teaches single-walled carbon nanotube bundles, p. 4045 c. 1 ll. 5-7; Predtechenskiy evidences the diameter and length of the bundles corresponds to the number of nanotube units forming the bundle [0048]; Yachi teaches lengths [0087] and diameters [0093] overlapping those of the instant claims).
Regarding claim 13, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein the plurality of carbon nanotubes structures cover an area of 50% or less of a surface of the electrode active material (Yachi: effective amount of active material in contact with the carbon structure is less than 24%, [0221] and Table 5).
Regarding claim 14, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches a secondary battery comprising the electrode of claim 1 (Yachi: [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, Yachi discloses an electrode ([0001]) comprising an electrode active material layer (electrode mixture layer, [0010]), the electrode active material layer comprising an electrode active material and a conductive agent (carbon based conductive agent, [0010]); the conductive agent comprising a point-type conductive agent (carbon black or acetylene black, [0099]), and a plurality of carbon structures (fibrous carbon, [0010]),
wherein the plurality of carbon structures (fibrous carbon) has an average length of 1 µm to 500 µm (overlapping range of “10 µm or more” [0087] establishes a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP § 2144.05(I)]), the plurality of carbon structures is contained in the electrode active material layer in an amount of 0.01 wt% to 5.0 wt% (overlapping range of 0.5 to 3.0% by mass, [0127], establishes a prima facie case of obviousness),
wherein the plurality of carbon structures (fibrous carbon) are directly interconnected (fibers of the fibrous carbon are in contact with each other, [0133]) to form a conductive network structure (conductive path, [0128]) in the electrode active material (mixture) layer (three-dimensional dispersion of fibrous carbon forms a conductive path to reduce a resistance of the electrode mixture layer, [0077]),
the conductive network structure (conductive path) comprises the plurality of carbon structures (fibrous carbon) directly connecting between electrode active material particles ([0106]) of the electrode active material (FIGS. 4 and 28, [220]).
Yachi teaches that the carbon structures (fibrous carbon) may be formed of single-walled (monolayer) carbon nanotubes ([0066]) and are preferably linear ([0090]), but does not disclose wherein each carbon structure is a carbon nanotube structure including 2 to 5,000 single-walled carbon nanotube units bonded in parallel with each other.
Kobashi teaches carbon nanotube structures including single-walled carbon nanotube units arranged in parallel with each other (small-diameter nanotubes have aligned fibrous structure, p. 4044 c. 1 ll. 2-5; small-diameter nanotubes are straight and form closely packed bundles, p. 4045 c. 1 ll. 5-7; see right side of Figure 1 on p. 4044 and left side of Figure 2 on p. 4045). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have used a carbon nanotube structure including single-walled carbon nanotube units arranged in parallel with each other in the electrode of Yachi because Kobashi teaches that such carbon nanotube structures are suitable for use as carbon fibers or reinforcing conductive additives because their high crystallinity and specific surface area gives high conductivity and mechanical strength (p. 4046, c. 1, ll. 5-6 and 10-13; Figure 3).
Predtechenskiy evidences single-walled carbon units in bundles are bonded with one another due to Van der Waals forces and that the diameter and length of the bundles corresponds to the number of nanotube units forming the bundle ([0048]). Yachi in view of Kobashi is considered to meet the limitation “wherein the carbon nanotube structures include 2 to 5,000 single-walled nanotubes units bonded in parallel with each other” since Yachi teaches carbon structures having similar lengths and diameters to those of the instant application (diameter range of “less than 1000 nm” [0093] overlaps claimed range of “2 nm to 200 nm” in claim 7 of the instant application, see citations above for overlapping lengths) and Kobashi teaches bundled single-walled carbon nanotubes (p. 4045 c. 1 ll. 5-7).
Regarding claim 16, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein a weight ratio of the point-type conductive agent (carbon black or acetylene black) to the plurality of carbon nanotube structures (fibrous carbon) is 9:1 to 1:9 (Yachi: fibrous carbon constitutes 10% to 100% by mass of the conductive agent, corresponding to an overlapping range of 10:1 to 0:1 [0099]).
Regarding claim 17, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein the plurality of carbon nanotube structures have an average diameter of 2 nm to 200 nm (Yachi: overlapping ranges of less than 1000 nm, preferably 50 to 900 nm, more preferably 100 to 600 nm, still more preferably 150 to 500 nm, and particularly preferably 200 to 400 nm, [0093], establish a prima facie case of obviousness).
Regarding claim 18, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein, in each carbon nanotube structure, the single-walled carbon nanotube units have an average diameter of 0.5 nm to 5 nm (Kobashi: 2.1 ± 0.3 nm or 2.2 ± 0.4 nm, p. 4045 c. 1 ll. 5-7).
Regarding claim 20, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein the point-type conductive agent is carbon black (Yachi: carbon black or acetylene black, [0099]).
Regarding claim 21, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein the plurality of carbon nanotubes structures cover an area of 50% or less of a surface of the electrode active material (Yachi: effective amount of active material in contact with the carbon structure is less than 24%, [0221] and Table 5).
Regarding claim 22, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches a secondary battery comprising the electrode of claim 15 (Yachi: [0002]).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yachi (US 2017/0098822 A1) in view of Kobashi (Classification of commercialized carbon nanotubes into three general categories as a guide for applications, 2019) as evidenced by Predtechenskiy (US 2022/0325080 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and as evidenced by Denka (Denka Black Product Information, 2019, cited 05/07/2024).
Regarding claim 10, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein the point-type conductive agent has an average particle diameter (D50) of 1 nm to 500 nm (Yachi: point-type conductive agent is Denka Black [0192]; Denka evidences that the average particle diameter of Denka black is 35 nm to 48 nm, List of Physical Properties, p. 7).
Regarding claim 19, Yachi in view of Kobashi teaches wherein the point-type conductive agent has an average particle diameter (D50) of 1 nm to 500 nm (Yachi: point-type conductive agent is Denka Black [0192]; Denka evidences that the average particle diameter of Denka black is 35 nm to 48 nm, List of Physical Properties, p. 7).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 14-20, and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 10, and 12-22 of copending Application No. 17,630,265.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, claims 1, 8, 17, 18, and 19 of the ‘265 application teach an electrode comprising an electrode active material layer, the electrode active material layer comprising an electrode active material and a conductive agent; the conductive agent comprising a point-type conductive agent (carbon black), and a plurality of carbon nanotube structures wherein each carbon nanotube structure includes 2 to 5,000 single-walled carbon nanotube units bonded in parallel (side by side) with each other, wherein each carbon nanotube structure has an average length of 1 µm to 500 µm, the plurality of carbon nanotube structures is contained in the electrode active material layer in an amount of 0.01 wt% to 5.0 wt%, wherein the plurality of carbon nanotube structures are directly interconnected to form a conductive network structure in the electrode active material layer, the conductive network structure comprises the plurality of carbon nanotube structures directly connecting between electrode active material particles of the electrode active material.
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 16, claims 14 and 21 of the ‘265 application teach wherein a weight ratio of the point-type conductive agent to the plurality of carbon nanotube structures is 9:1 to 1:9 or 8:2 to 2:8 (overlapping ranges of 0.1 to 5 : 1 to 100).
Regarding claim 4, claim 13 of the ‘265 application teaches wherein the point-type conductive agent is contained in the electrode active material layer in an amount of 0.01 wt% to 5 wt%.
Regarding claims 7, 8, and 17, claims 10 and 20 of the ‘265 application teaches wherein the plurality of carbon nanotube structures have an average diameter of 2 nm to 200 nm or 125 nm to 170 nm (overlapping range of 2 nm to 200 nm).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, claims 1 and 18 of the ‘265 application teach wherein, in the carbon nanotube structure, the single-walled carbon nanotube unit has an average diameter of 0.5 nm to 5 nm.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, claim 12 of the ‘265 application teaches wherein the point-type conductive agent (carbon black) has an average particle diameter (D50) of 1 nm to 500 nm.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, claims 1 and 18 of the ‘265 application teach wherein the point-type conductive agent is carbon black.
Regarding claim 12, claim 15 of the ‘265 application teaches wherein each carbon nanotube structure includes 50 to 4,000 single-walled carbon nanotube units bonded to each other.
Regarding claims 14 and 22, claims 16 and 22 of the ‘265 teach a secondary battery comprising the electrode of claims 1 and 15.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/C.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723