DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8 are pending and under examination.
Claims 2 and 7 have been canceled.
Response to Amendment
The 101 rejection(s) have been modified to address the amended claims.
Based on the amended claims and remarks received on 08/06/2026, the previous prior art rejection over Ren has been withdrawn and a new prior art rejection set forth (see below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 is directed toward a system.
Step 2A, Prong One: Identify the law of nature/natural phenomenon/abstract idea.
Claim 1 recites the abstract ideas, “detect a situation of various positions in each of the transport units”, “calculates which positions are to be used for a route for each of the carriers”, and “corrects the route definition information” which are mental processes and/or mathematical concepts that could be performed by a human person by pen and paper or by a black box computer. The control driver to detect the situation in each transport unit, control sections that calculates positions to be used, and management section that corrects route definition information are simply general-purpose computer(s) for which to apply the abstract ideas, but does not preclude the steps from being considered an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsections (I) and (III).
Step 2A, Prong Two: Has the abstract idea been integrated into a particular practical application?
No. These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements recited in the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas. After the correction of the route, at least one row from a first direction is increased and a least one row from a second direction is decreased. However, these actions are interpreted as mere instructions to implement the abstract idea or other exception on a computer, and insignificant extra-solution activity as data gathering and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use in which to apply the judicial exception. Accordingly, these elements do not integrate a judicial exception or provide significantly more and cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The claim recites the additional elements of a plurality of transport units, control sections managing actions of the transport units, a control driver to drive the transport units, a management section managing the transport system, a preprocessing module, a post processing module, and an analysis module, (a) the control sections are connected between the management sections and the control drivers, (b) moving the carriers on the transport units with the control driver based on a command signal generated by the control sections, (c) notifying the management unit of the situation detected by the control driving using the control sections, (d) generating route information for each transport unit using the management section to define a purpose of each position on the transport units and outputting the route information to the control sections based on the situation detected by the control drivers, (e) generate a transport route and control signal by the control sections in consideration of the situation and based on the route information, and adding and decreasing a number of rows towards or from the processing module, preprocessing module, or post processing module by the management section based on the situation.
The control sections managing actions of the transport units, control driver to drive the transport units, and management section managing the transport system to manage the transport system are just general-purpose computer(s). However, use of conventional computer functions to apply the judicial exception(s) does not qualify as a particular machine (MPEP § 2106.05(b)(I), MPEP § 2106.05(b)(II) and MPEP § 2106.05(b)(III)). The control section being connected between the management sections and the control drivers in step (a) is not considered a meaningful limitation that limits the judicial exception beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(e)).
The transport units, carriers, preprocessing module, post processing module, and analysis module amount to generally link the judicial exception to a field of use in which the abstract idea is performed (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Claim element (b) moving the carriers on the transport units with the control driver based on a command signal generated by the control sections provides nothing more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea to the field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Elements (c) notifying the management unit of the situation detected by the control driving using the control sections, (d) generating route information for each transport unit using the management section to define a purpose of each position on the transport units and outputting the route information to the control sections based on the situation detected by the control drivers, and (e) generate a transport route and control signal by the control sections in consideration of the situation and based on the route information, and adding and decreasing a number of rows towards or from the processing module, preprocessing module, or post processing module by the management section based on the situation are interpreted as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea, and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use in which to apply the judicial exception, but does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Further, generating information based on the abstract idea provides nothing more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea to the field of use (see MPEP § 2106.05(f), MPEP § 2106.05(g), and MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite any elements which are significantly more than the abstract idea?
The claims recite the additional elements of a plurality of transport units, control sections managing actions of the transport units, a control driver to drive the transport units, a management section managing the transport system, a preprocessing module, a post processing module, and an analysis module, (a) the control sections are connected between the management sections and the control drivers, (b) moving the carriers on the transport units with the control driver based on a command signal generated by the control sections, (c) notifying the management unit of the situation detected by the control driving using the control sections, (d) generating route information for each transport unit using the management section to define a purpose of each position on the transport units and outputting the route information to the control sections based on the situation detected by the control drivers, (e) generate a transport route and control signal by the control sections in consideration of the situation and based on the route information, and adding and decreasing a number of rows towards or from the processing module, preprocessing module, or post processing module by the management section based on the situation. These additional elements do not effectively transform or reduce the system to a different state or thing beyond such that the claims recite significantly more than well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (See MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation and MPEP § 2106.05(d), Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity) as evidenced by Ren (US 2018/0348244; already of record – hereinafter “Ren”), Mellars et al. (US 2015/0010437; already of record – hereinafter “Mellars”), Heise et al. (US 2013/0034410; already of record – hereinafter “Heise”), and Sinz et al. (US 2016/0341750; already of record – hereinafter “Sinz”), and Devlin, SR. et al. (US 2003/0202905 – hereinafter “Devlin”). Ren, Mellars, Heise, Sinz, and Devlin disclose a plurality of transport units (Ren; figs. 1 & 3-15, #130a, 130b, 130c, “transport plane module”, [0032, 0056-0057], Heise; fig. 1, #51, [0027] and Devlin; fig. 1 & 5-7, #10, #11, #12, [0038-0039, 0045-0047]), control sections managing actions of the transport units (Ren; “logical fields”, [0057, 0066-0067], Heise; “regions”, [0025-0026, 0032], and Devlin; figs. 1, 3A, 5-7, [0030, 0033, 0038]), a control driver to drive the transport units (Ren; fig. 1, #140, [0057], Heise; fig. 3, #60-64, [0028], and Devlin; fig. 3A, #88, #94, [0030]), a management section managing the transport system Ren; fig. 1, #170, [0058], Heise; fig. 3, #40, [0027], Mellars; fig. 6, #440, [0037, 0067, 0112], and Devlin; figs. 5-7, #17, [0037, 0041-0042, 0045]), a preprocessing module, a post processing module, and an analysis module (Ren; figs. 1 & 15, #20, [0029, 0032, 0051-0054, 0118, 0123-0125] and Heise; fig. 1, #20, #21, #22, #23, [0024-0025, 0032]), (a) the control sections are connected between the management sections and the control drivers (Ren; figs. 13a-b, & 15, [0046, 0062-0064, 0115, 0117-0126], Heise; fig. 1, [0025, 0027], and Devlin; figs. 5-7, [0042, 0045]), (b) moving the carriers on the transport units with the control driver based on a command signal generated by the control sections (Ren; [0057, 0066-0067, 0074, 0094, 0099, 0113] and Heise; [0027-0028]), (c) notifying the management unit of the situation detected by the control driving using the control sections (Ren; figs. 13a-b, & 15, [0046, 0062-0064, 0115, 0117-0126] and Mellars; [0073]), (d) generating route information for each transport unit using the management section to define a purpose of each position on the transport units and outputting the route information to the control sections based on the situation detected by the control drivers (Ren; figs. 13a-b, & 15, [0046, 0062-0064, 0115, 0117-0126], Heise; [0027], and Mellars; [0037, 0112, 0114-0115]), (e) generate a transport route and control signal by the control sections in consideration of the situation and based on the route information (Ren; figs. 12-14, [0046, 0062-0064, 0115, 0117-0126], Mellars; [0073], and Sinz; [0045-0049]), and adding and decreasing a number of rows towards or from the processing module, preprocessing module, or post processing module by the management section based on the situation (Heise; [0025, 0027], Mellars; [0073], Sinz; figs. 1-4, [0045-0049], and Devlin; figs. 1 & 5-7, [0038-0039, 0045-0047]).
Claim 3 recites “the management section treats a destination of the route definition information as a module group into which modules of identical specification are made, and not as individual modules” in a case where any of the modules are identical in specification-configuration. These additional elements are interpreted as generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use in which to apply the judicial exception and provide nothing more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer (see MPEP § 2106.05(f) and MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Claim 4 recites “the control sections maintains the transport route before correction in a case where the carriers are present on the route before being corrected and corrects the transport route after transport of all the carriers is finished” when the route information is corrected by the management section. However, these additional elements are interpreted as generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use in which to apply the judicial exception and provide nothing more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer (see MPEP § 2106.05(f) and MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Claim 5 recites the abstract idea “an update cycle of a situation of the carriers which is managed by the management section is determined depending upon a transporting capability of the sample transport system”, but does not integrate the judicial exception under step 2A prong 2 because determining an update cycle of a situation is interpreted as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea, and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use in which to apply the judicial exception, but does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g) and MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Claim 6 recites the route information that is exchanged between the management section and each control section to a low speed or stop for performing process, carrying in, and carry out sample tubes of the modules. These additional elements are interpreted as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea, and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use in which to apply the judicial exception, but does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g) and MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Claim 8 recites the situation in each transport unit detected by the control drivers indicates at least one of whether or not one of the carriers is present, whether or not processing by the modules is in progress, or whether or not there is an error. However, these additional elements are interpreted as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea, and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use in which to apply the judicial exception, but does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g) and MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren (US 2018/0348244; already of record – hereinafter “Ren”), in view of Mellars et al. (US 2015/0010437; already of record – hereinafter “Mellars”), and Devlin, SR. et al (US 2003/0202905 – hereinafter “Devlin”).
Regarding claim 1, Ren disclose a sample transport system (Ren; fig. 1, #10, [0053-0054]) for transporting carriers (Ren; figs. 1-2, #110, [0054]) equipped with sample tubes in which specimens are contained (Ren; figs. 1-2, #120, [0031, 0054]), the sample transport system comprising:
a plurality of transport units capable of moving the carriers in a two-dimensional direction in a plane (Ren; figs. 1 & 3-15, #130a, 130b, 130c, “transport plane module”, [0032, 0056-0057]), each of the transport units having a plurality of rows of carriers (Ren disclose the sample transport system 10 can comprise a number (e.g., 2 to 2000) of transporting carriers and can comprise a number (e.g., 2 to 2000) of transport units; [0029]. Each transport unit 130 comprise at least two traffic lanes 200, 201 of rows configured for transporting carriers in a defined direction; figs. 3, 5, 7, 9-10 and 12-14, [0063]. Accordingly, Ren teach a system capable of performing the intended use of each of the transport units having a plurality of rows of carriers);
a plurality of control sections managing action of the transport units (Ren disclose each transport unit 130 comprises a plurality of control drivers 140 configured with routing information arranged in rows 150 and columns 160; fig. 1, [0057]. Each control driver 140 can form a logical field on the transport unit 130 to define routing information including a traffic lane 200/201, buffer lane 230, change area 210, disabled area (black/filled in), or enter area 220, and detect a situation of various positions in each transport unit, such as erroneous fields “E”, to reform routes and logic fields of the transport units 130 in the sample transport system 10; figs. 1 & 3-15, #200, #201, #210, #220, #230, “E”, [0057, 0063, 0066-0067, 0074, 0094, 0099, 0113]. See the example configurations of 130a and 130b in figures 3-15 and corresponding paragraphs [0066-0126]. The plurality of logic fields corresponding to each control driver 140 on each transport unit 130 can be configured to manage actions of the transport unit 130 to transport the sample carriers 110 based on a layout or situation of the sample transport system 10; fig. 15, [0122-0126]. In particular, one or more transport units may have an erroneous control driver denoted “E” which creates a congestion situation of various positions in each of the transport units, and requires reforming or rearranging of the logic fields assigned to each control driver 140 in each of the transport units 130; figs. 12-14, [0045-0046, 0112-0116]. Accordingly, each transport module comprises a programmable control section that reprograms route definition information to manage action of the transport unit, and a control driver to drive the carriers and detect a situation of various positions in each of the transport units);
a control driver provided for each of the transport units to drive the transport units and detect a situation of various positions in each of the transport units (Ren disclose each transport unit 130 comprises a plurality of control drivers 140 configured with routing information arranged in rows 150 and columns 160; fig. 1, [0057]. Each control driver 140 can form a logical field on the transport unit 130 to define routing information including a traffic lane 200/201, buffer lane 230, change area 210, disabled area (black/filled in), or enter area 220, and detect a situation of various positions in each transport unit, such as erroneous fields “E”, to reform routes and logic fields of the transport units 130 in the sample transport system 10; figs. 1 & 3-15, #200, #201, #210, #220, #230, “E”, [0057, 0063, 0066-0067, 0074, 0094, 0099, 0113]. See the example configurations of 130a and 130b in figures 3-15 and corresponding paragraphs [0066-0126]. The plurality of logic fields corresponding to each control driver 140 on each transport unit 130 can be configured to manage actions of the transport unit 130 to transport the sample carriers 110 based on a layout or situation of the sample transport system 10; fig. 15, [0122-0126]. In particular, one or more transport units may have an erroneous control driver denoted “E” which creates a congestion situation of various positions in each of the transport units, and requires reforming or rearranging of the logic fields assigned to each control driver 140 in each of the transport units 130; figs. 12-14, [0045-0046, 0112-0116]. Accordingly, each transport module comprises a programmable control section that reprograms route definition information to manage action of the transport unit, and a control driver to drive the carriers and detect a situation of various positions in each of the transport units); and
a management section integrally managing the sample transport system (Ren; fig. 1, #170, [0058]), wherein
the sample transport system is configured to plurally combine the transport units and to be connectable to a preprocessing module performing preprocessing before analysis for the specimens, a postprocessing module performing postprocessing for the specimens, or an analysis module performing analysis of the specimens (Ren disclose the transport unit are interconnected and can be arranged according to various layout configurations to add/remove/rearrange modules as needed; figs. 1 & 15, #20, [0029, 0032, 0051-0054, 0118, 0123-0125]),
(a) each of the control sections is connected between the management section and a plurality of the control drivers (Ren disclose each transport module 130 as a programmable unit configured with route definition information for each position detected by the control driver 140, and a management section 170 for controlling routing and rerouting by assigning transport modules. See figs. 13a-b and corresponding disclosure in [0115] which describe two transport modules having an erroneous control driver “E” and reprogramming the logical fields of each control driver in all three transport modules to update the transport route information. Further, fig. 15 and corresponding paragraphs disclose assigning routing information by the management section 170 specifying which transport modules are used to transport a carrier to a target destination; figs. 13a-b, & 15, [0046, 0062-0064, 0115, 0117-0126]),
(b) each of the transport units is a tile, and the control driver is capable of moving the carriers in two-dimensional directions between a plurality of positions in a plan on the tile (Ren; figs. 1 & 3-15, [0057, 0061]), based on a command signal generated by each of the control sections (Ren disclose logical fields programmed to control the route information associated with each control driver, or detect an erroneous situation of various positions in each of the transport units; [0057, 0066-0067, 0074, 0094, 0099, 0113]),
(c) each of the control sections notifies the management section of the situation at each position detected by the control driver using each of the transport units as a unit (Ren disclose each transport module 130 as a programmable unit configured with route definition information for each position detected by the control driver 140, and a management section 170 for controlling routing and rerouting by assigning transport modules. See figs. 13a-b and corresponding disclosure in [0115] which describe two transport modules having an erroneous control driver “E” and reprogramming the logical fields of each control driver in all three transport modules to update the transport route information. Further, fig. 15 and corresponding paragraphs disclose assigning routing information by the management section 170 specifying which transport modules are used to transport a carrier to a target destination; figs. 13a-b, & 15, [0046, 0062-0064, 0115, 0117-0126]),
(d) the management section generates route definition information defining for each position on each of the transport units the purpose of use of the position (Ren disclose each transport module 130 as a programmable unit configured with route definition information for each position detected by the control driver 140, and a management section 170 for controlling routing and rerouting by assigning transport modules. See figs. 13a-b and corresponding disclosure in [0115] which describe two transport modules having an erroneous control driver “E” and reprogramming the logical fields of each control driver in all three transport modules to update the transport route information. Further, fig. 15 and corresponding paragraphs disclose assigning routing information by the management section 170 specifying which transport modules are used to transport a carrier to a target destination; figs. 13a-b, & 15, [0046, 0062-0064, 0115, 0117-0126]) for a buffer (Ren; figs. 3-14, #230, [0067]), processing sections (Ren; fig. 15, #130c, [0118]) or a transport path defined by direction of carrier movement (Ren; figs. 3-14, #200, #201, [0063]), using each of the transport units as a unit (Ren; figs. 3-15; [0066-0126]), based on a congestion situation of various positions in each of the transport units that has been detected by the control drivers, and outputs the generated route definition information to each of the control sections (Ren disclose each transport module 130 as a programmable unit configured with route definition information for each position detected by the control driver 140, and a management section 170 for controlling routing and rerouting by assigning transport modules. See figs. 13a-b and corresponding disclosure in [0115] which describe two transport modules having an erroneous control driver “E”, resulting in a congestion situations with traffic lanes 200/201 having a disabled control driver, and reprogramming the logical fields of each control driver in all three transport modules to update the transport route information. Further, fig. 15 and corresponding paragraphs disclose assigning routing information by the management section 170 specifying which transport modules are used to transport a carrier to a target destination; figs. 13a-b, & 15, [0046, 0062-0064, 0115, 0117-0126]), and
(e) each of the control sections calculates which positions are to be used for a route for each of the carriers (Ren disclose each transport modules uses logical fields corresponding to the control driver to calculate a position to be used for a route by each of the carriers; [0057, 0066-0067, 0074, 0094, 0099, 0113]) and generates a transport route of the carriers in consideration of the situation in the transport units managed by the control driver connected, based on the route definition information and generates the command signal for the control driver connected to output the command signal to the control driver connected (Ren disclose each transport module 130 as a programmable unit configured with route definition information for each position detected by the control driver 140, and a management section 170 for controlling routing and rerouting by assigning transport modules. See figs. 13a-b and corresponding disclosure in [0115] which describe two transport modules having an erroneous control driver “E”, resulting in a congestion situations with traffic lanes 200/201 having a disabled control driver, and reprogramming the logical fields of each control driver in all three transport modules to update the transport route information. Further, fig. 15 and corresponding paragraphs disclose assigning routing information by the management section 170 specifying which transport modules are used to transport a carrier to a target destination. For example, if a target station 20 is offline then the management section specifies another laboratory station 20 and which transport modules a carrier should take; figs. 13a-b, & 15, [0046, 0062-0064, 0115, 0117-0126]),
wherein the transport path defined in a particular one of the transport units includes one or more rows assigned to transport the carriers in a first direction toward at least one of the preprocessing module, the postprocessing module, and the analysis module and one or more other rows assigned to transport the carriers in a second direction opposite to the first direction and away from the at least one of the preprocessing module, the postprocessing module, and the analysis module (Ren disclose traffic lanes 200, 201 formed on the route categorized transport plane module 130. The transport direction of the at least two traffic lanes 200, 201 can be opposite to each other; figs. 3-14; [0063]),
wherein the management section corrects the route definition information based on the congestion situation of the transport units (Ren; figs. 12-14, [0046, 0117-0126]).
Ren does not disclose the transport path defined by speed.
However, Mellars discloses the analogous art of a sample transport system transporting carriers equipped with sample tubes in which specimens are contained (Mellars; fig. 1, #100, [0055]), wherein the sample transport system comprises a transport path defined by speed (Mellar; fig. 11A, [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the transport path Ren to additionally be defined by speed and direction of the transport path, as taught by Mellars, because Mellars teaches the management section configured to control the transport path speed and direction of a carrier allows the carrier to traverse the entire length of the track in one operation cycle while preventing acceleration and jerk experienced by the sample in the sample container from surpassing a threshold value that could result in the sample spilling and contaminating the track (Mellars; [0086]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Ren and Mellars both teach transport systems for transporting specimen containers to a plurality of analysis modules.
Modified Ren does not teach the management section corrects the route definition information by, within the particular one of the transport units, reassigning at least one of the rows from the second direction to the first direction, thereby increasing the number of rows assigned to transport the carriers in the first direction toward the at least one of the preprocessing module, the postprocessing module, and the analysis module, and decreasing the number of rows assigned to transport the carriers in the second direction away from the at least one of the preprocessing module, the postprocessing module, and the analysis module.
However, Devlin teach the analogous art of a sample transport system for transporting carriers equipped with sample tubes in which specimens are contained (Devlin; figs. 1 & 5-7, #36, [0029]), comprising a plurality of transport units capable of moving the carriers in a two-dimensional direction in a plane, each of the transport units having a plurality of rows of carriers (Devlin; figs. 7, #36, #70, #76, [0029, 0038, 0047]), and a management section integrally managing the sample transport system (Devlin; figs. 5-7, #17, [0037, 0041-0042, 0045]), wherein the management section corrects the route definition information by, within the particular one of the transport units, reassigning at least one of the rows from the second direction to the first direction, thereby increasing the number of rows assigned to transport the carriers in the first direction toward the at least one of the preprocessing module, the postprocessing module, and the analysis module, and decreasing the number of rows assigned to transport the carriers in the second direction away from the at least one of the preprocessing module, the postprocessing module, and the analysis module (Devlin teach management section 17 can automatically convert the plurality of bi-directional transport units 36 into a one-way incoming sample rack transport system 70 or one-way outgoing sample rack transport system 76 by reassigning at least one of the rows from the second direction to the first direction, thereby increasing the number of rows assigned to transport the carriers in the first direction towards the at least one of the preprocessing module, postprocessing module, and the analysis module, and decreasing the number of rows assigned to transport the carriers in the second direction away from the at least one of the preprocessing module, the postprocessing module, and the analysis module; figs. 5-7, #70, [0029, 0038-0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the plurality of transport units and management section of modified Ren to correct the route definition information by reassigning at least one of the rows from the second direction to the first direction, as taught by Devlin, because Devlin teach reassigning at least one of the rows from the second direction to the first direction allows the automatic analyzer system to automatically revert to a single analyzer system employing in the event that one of the two analyzers experiences an operating failure or in the event that the bi-directional shuttle experiences an operating failure [0016], and provides communication linking between two analysis systems to operate in conjunction with one another such that when one analyzer is taking samples in so that the other analyzer can send samples out; [0038]), . One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Ren and Devlin both teach controlling the transport of a sample container using updated routing information when the situation in a transport system is changed.
Regarding claim 3, modified Ren disclose the sample transport system according to claim 1 above, wherein in a case where at least any of the preprocessing module, the postprocessing module, and the analysis module is provided with a plurality of modules of identical specification-configuration, the management section treats a destination of the route definition information as a module group into which modules of identical specification are made, and not as individual modules (Ren; [0046, 0117-0126]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ren disclose the sample transport system according to claim 1 above, wherein when the route definition information from the management section is corrected, each of the control sections maintains the transport route before correction in a case where the carriers are present on the route before being corrected and corrects the transport route after transport of all the carriers is finished (Ren disclose a carrier will finish its route to a destination waypoint specified by the management section when a correction is made while the carrier is between destination waypoints [0124]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ren disclose the sample transport system according to claim 1 above, wherein an update cycle of a situation of the carriers which is managed by the management section is determined depending upon a transporting capability of the sample transport system (Ren; [0046, 0117-0126]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ren disclose the sample transport system according to claim 1 above, wherein the route definition information that is exchanged between the management section and each of the control sections comprises route information on low speed or stop for performing processing with respect to the sample tubes by at least any of the preprocessing module, the postprocessing module, and the analysis module, in addition to route information on carrying-into and carrying-out of at least any of the preprocessing module, the postprocessing module, and the analysis module (Ren disclose exchanging the transport route information between the management section 170 and transport modules 130 to perform analysis by the specified laboratory stations 20, where transport modules 130c allow handling of the sample containers; fig. 15, 0117-0126. Furthermore, the modification of the transport path of Ren to additionally be defined by speed, as taught by Mellars, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ren disclose the sample transport system according to claim 1 above, wherein
the situation of various positions in each of the transport units that has been detected by the control drivers indicates at least one of:
whether or not one of the carriers is present (Ren disclose the transport modules are configured with change areas 210 that receive a sample container carrier and allow another sample container carrier to pass; [0036-0038, 0042, 0074, 0075, 0078, 0083-0085, 0087, 0099]. Accordingly, the positions detect whether or not one of the carriers is present); and
whether or not there is an error (Ren disclose detecting an erroneous control driver; [0045-0046, 0113-0116]).
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed on 08/06/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, see pages 8-11 of their remarks, towards the 101 rejection(s), that correcting route information in a transport system based on a detected operating condition is not merely post-solution activity or an instruction to apply an abstract idea, but rather defines how the sample transport apparatus itself is operated to change the allocation of its available transport capacity, and to move sample carriers accordingly. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims recite the abstract idea(s) “detect a situation of various positions in each of the transport units” and “calculates which positions are to be used for a route for each of the carriers”. The additional elements outside of the abstract idea(s) are generally a sample transport system having a plurality of transport units that operate under the control of a plurality of control sections and a management system. However, these additional elements amount to nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activity as data gathering and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, and mere instructions to implement the abstract idea or other exception on a computer. Furthermore, these additional elements do not effectively transform or reduce the system to a different state or thing beyond such that the claims recite significantly more than well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (See MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation and MPEP § 2106.05(d), Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity) as evidenced by Ren, Mellars, Heise, Sinz, and Devlin (see Step 2B of the 101 rejection above). Accordingly, the additional elements cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as set forth by the Alice/May analysis (see 101 rejection above).
Applicant further argues on pages 11-12 of their remarks the control provides a technological improvement in sample transport systems by alleviating congestion through dynamic reallocating transport capacity between mutually opposite directions within a transport unit and implement the resulting transport route through successive energization of the electromagnetic coils. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The technological improvement appears to be directed towards the abstract idea (detect a situation/calculate positions to be used). However, the abstract idea itself cannot be the alleged improvement in a particular technology. See MPEP 2106.05(a) paragraphs 4-7. Additionally, in step 2A Prong Two, as required in MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a)II, we evaluate any potential improvements in technology, and make sure that the claims reflect all of the elements that lead to the improvement. In this case, based on Figure 6, there are a plurality of transport units, with a plurality of transport units/rows in a first direction, and a plurality of rows in a second direction opposite the first direction, where these are these are then reassigned (claims only require one transport unit/row per direction). Also, based on figure 6, there appear to be a plurality of buffer units which can be reassigned to particular transport directions as needed.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-20 of their remarks, towards the 103 rejection over Ren have been fully considered and were found persuasive. However, the arguments are directed towards the amended limitations and do not apply to the current grounds of rejection. Therefore, the previous prior art rejection has been withdrawn and a new ground(s) of rejection is over Ren in view of Mellars, and Devlin has been set forth. Specifically, Devlin disclose the amended limitations of the route definition information wherein a management section reassigns at least one of the rows from the second direction to the first direction thereby increasing the number of rows in the first direction and decreasing the number of rows assigned to transport carriers in the second direction opposite the first direction. See figs. 5-7, #70, and paragraphs [0029, 0038-0047] of Devlin.
Citations to art
In the above citations to documents in the art, an effort has been made to specifically cite representative passages, however rejections are in reference to the entirety of each document relied upon. Other passages, not specifically cited, may apply as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/C.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/BENJAMIN R WHATLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798