864124.pn.DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. The amendment filed by Applicant on February 12, 2026 has been fully considered. The amendment to instant claim 1 and addition of new claim 66 are acknowledged. Specifically, claim 1 has been amended to include limitations of
providing an expandable polymeric material in the form of granules in a closed reactor, raising the pressure of said one or more foaming agents into said closed reactor up to a maximum of 300 bar, ……wherein said time-varying pressure profile generates a non-uniform profile of the concentration of said one or more blowing agents in said granules, which, at the time of expansion, generates a correspondingly non-uniform density and/or morphology in said expanded beads, and which, at the time of sintering, generates foamed sintered artifacts with improved structural and functional properties with respect to the same foamed and sintered artifacts obtained from expanded beads with uniform cell density and morphology and equivalent average density”.
These limitations in their combination were not previously presented and were taken from instant specification. In light of the amendment filed by Applicant, all previous rejections are withdrawn. The new grounds of rejections necessitated by said amendment are set forth below. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 36-47, 62-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As currently amended, instant claim 36 recites a limitation of “…generates foamed sintered artifacts with improved structural and functional properties with respect to the same foamed and sintered artifacts obtained from expanded beads with uniform cell density and morphology and equivalent average density”.
However, it is not clear what are the “structural and functional properties” that are assumed to be improved here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 36-38, 40-47, 62-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watkins et al (US 2014/0275306).
4. Watkins et al discloses a process for providing foamed polymeric material, the process comprising:
1) providing beads or particles of a thermoplastic elastomer;
2) placing said pellets/beads into a closed pressurized container/vessel that can withstand high pressure (Abstract, [0021], [0051]) and the pressure in the vessel is maintained above the critical pressure of the foaming agent ([0051]);
3) providing blowing agents, specifically supercritical fluids including carbon dioxide (critical pressure 7.38 MPa, i.e. 73.8 bar) and/or nitrogen (critical pressure 3.39 MPa, i.e. 33.9 bar) ([0048]) into said pressurized container;
3) infusing and soaking said pellets/beads with said supercritical fluid under different pressures, for different lengths of time ([0013], [0052]);
4) rapidly depressurizing said container and further heating to foam the pellets/beads (Abstract, [0011], [0021]);
5) annealing the foamed pellets at an elevated temperature after the foaming process, followed by molding ([0063]), wherein the mold is filled with said foamed pellets of different densities, pellets are segregated into a plurality of different areas in the mold, and the pellets are molded at a temperature of 100-180⁰C into a shaped article ([0062]-[0067]),
wherein in the step 3) said pellets are soaked for different lengths of time, under different pressures (i.e. corresponding to “time-varying pressure profile” of claim 36) to affect the amount of supercritical fluid infused into said pellets, which results in foaming to different extents and producing foamed pellets with different densities (i.e. corresponding to “non-uniform density” of claim 36) ([0013], [0052], as to instant claim 36).
5. Since the pressure in the vessel is cited as been maintained above the critical pressure of the foaming agents, i.e. either above 73.8 bar in case of supercritical carbon dioxide as the foaming agent or above 33.9 bar in case of supercritical nitrogen as the foaming agent, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art that the pressure in the vessel was initially raised to above 73.8 bar, or above 33.9 bar (as to instant claim 1) and further varied, but to be consistently at least to a minor extent above 73.8 bar, or above 33.9 bar as well (as to instant claims 1, 42, 64-65, 45).
Further, in view of the teachings of Watkins et al that the pellets are soaked under different pressures, for different lengths of time ([0052]), it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the applied pressures at different values of above 33.9 bar and/or above 73.8 bar for a various lengths of time, including either periodically or in no-periodic manner and without changing of temperature (as to instant claims 41, 66), so to prepare the specific different sets of pellets having different desired/pre-set amounts of supercritical carbon dioxide and/or supercritical nitrogen infused into them, thus to prepare said specific sets of foamed pellets having different desired/pre-set densities, thereby arriving at the present invention. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
6. Since in the step 5) the foamed pellets are annealed, placed in the mold, segregated together and further molded at a temperature of 100-180⁰C to formed shaped articles, therefore, said foamed pellets/beads will intrinsically and necessarily at least partially sinter together at said temperature (as to instant claims 36, 62). Further, since the process of Watkins et al is essentially or substantially the same as that claimed in instant invention, therefore, the foamed molded/shaped article of Watkins et al will intrinsically and necessarily have improved at least some of the structural and functional properties, at least to a minor extent, as claimed in instant invention, as well. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112.01(I). Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01.
8. As to instant claims 37-38, the thermoplastic elastomer comprises polyurethane, polyester, polyamides ([0027]).
9. As to instant claim 40, 63, the pellets have size of 3-10 mm ([0026]).
10. As to instant claims 43-47, the foaming agents include supercritical carbon dioxide, supercritical nitrogen, which may be used in combination ([0047]-[0049])
11. Claims 36-47, 62-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watkins et al (US 2014/0275306) in view of Harada et al (US 2012/0141794).
12. The discussion with respect to Watkins et al (US 2014/0275306), set forth in paragraphs 3-10 above, is incorporated here by reference.
13. Watkins et al does not recite the use of thermosetting polymers in said process.
14. However, Harada et al discloses a process for producing expandable beads comprising the steps of:
a) preparing a base material in the form of beads or pellets having size of 0.2-5 mm ([0060]);
b) impregnating the base material with carbon dioxide, nitrogen under a high pressure greater than critical pressure, specifically 0.5-6 MPa ([0064]-[0067]);
c) expanding the impregnated beads by introducing those into a low- pressure atmosphere ([0070];
d) fusing the beads under heat media such as water vapor ([0075], [0079]), followed by molding to form molded articles ([0074]-[0075]),
wherein Harada et al explicitly teaches that the base resin in the form of beads or pellets includes both thermoplastic resins and thermosetting resins ([0026]), specifically thermosetting urea resin, epoxy or melamine resins, which may be used in combination ([0026]-[0027], as to instant claim 39).
15. Since both Watkins et al and Harada et al are related to processes for making expandable beads by impregnating base resin pellets with at least one blowing agent, followed by releasing said impregnated pellets into a low pressure atmosphere to expand, and further fusing said expanded beads and molding those to form molded articles, and thereby belong to the same field of endeavor, wherein Harada et al teaches that not only thermoplastic resins, but further thermosetting resins including urea, melamine and epoxy resins, can be used for making said expandable beads, therefore, it would have been obvious to a one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Harada et al and Watkins et al, and to either use, or obvious to try to use, at least in minor amount, thermosetting polyimide, epoxy or melamine resins in addition to thermoplastic resins to form the expandable beads and molded articles by said process of Watkins et al, especially since Watkins et al teaches that shoe soles are known in the art as being formed from thermosetting resins ([0004]), or use, or obvious to try to use the process of Watkins et al to form expandable beads having different densities from polyimide, melamine or epoxy resin and further foamed molded articles as well, since it would have been obvious to choose material based on its suitability. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045). Case law holds that the mere substitution of an equivalent (something equal in value or meaning, as taught by analogous prior art) is not an act of invention; where equivalency is known to the prior art, the substitution of one equivalent for another is not patentable. See In re Ruff 118 USPQ 343 (CCPA 1958). The key to supporting any rejection under 35 USC 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 USC 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "‘[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141
Response to Arguments
16. Applicant's arguments filed on February 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in light of new grounds of rejections and discussion set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IRINA KRYLOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764