DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in regard to the application filed on January 25, 2022 and in response to a Request for Continued Examination filed on June 20, 2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application
The amendment filed June 20, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, and 5-11 are currently pending in the application. Claims 1, 7, and 8 have been amended; claims 3 and 4 have been canceled. Claims 1, 2, and 5-11 are hereby examined on the merits.
The previous 112(b) rejection of claim 7 and the previous claim objections of claims 3, 7, and 8 have all been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s claim amendments. Claim 1 is newly objected.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality: Line 14 recites “grinding said product is until,” should read “grinding said product until,” since this is the first mention of the grinding step.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites that the food product comprises beer flour containing barley malt flour and hop flour, which renders the claim indefinite as there is no indication in claim 1, upon which claim 7 depends, that two separate flours (barley malt flour and hop flour) are being produced. While claim 1 recites a “wet mass of waste materials,” barley malt or hops are never mentioned. Therefore, claim 7 is unclear as to where and how these two flours are obtained, and whether or not the food product obtained in claim 1 is one of these flours, thereby rendering the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the “barley malt flour” as recited in claim 7 will be interpreted as the flour produced in claim 1. However, a perhaps clearer interpretation of the claim would be that the “food product” as recited in the preamble is a “beer flour,” and that the beer flour is a mixture comprising: 90-99% of the flour obtained with the method of claim 1 and 1-10% hop flour.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackay et al. (US PG Pub. 2018/0199593) as evidenced by Kõiv et al. (“Gluten-degrading bacteria: availability and applications,” Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology, 2021, vol. 105, pp. 3045-3059) and in view of Jiao et al. (“Radio-Frequency Applications for Food Processing and Safety,” Annual Reviews of Food Science and Technology, 2018, vol. 9, pp. 105-127), herein after referred to as Mackay, Kõiv, and Jiao, respectively.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Mackay teaches a process for producing a protein product (i.e., a food product) from a mixture of brewers spent grains and water (i.e., a wet mass of waste materials arising from the production process for producing beer), the process includes the steps of:
adding glucoamylase and an alkaline protease enzyme to the mixture (claim 1);
raising the temperature of the mixture to 75-100 °C (i.e., boiling temperature) and holding at that temperature for 2.5-30 minutes [0027];
separating the mixture via a liquid/solid separator to obtain a liquid stream and a solids-containing stream [0027], wherein the separator can be a centrifuge [0034] (i.e., centrifuging the waste materials to eliminate most of the water present therein);
drying the solids-containing stream until substantially all remaining water is driven off;
milling the dried solids to obtain a fiber flour product [0031].
The proteases (a.k.a. peptidases) used by Mackay are enzymes that degrade gluten, as evidenced by Kõiv (Kõiv p. 3048). Thus, the protease added to the mixture of Mackay is an enzyme that breaks down gluten residues.
Mackay teaches that the product is milled (i.e., grinded) to a particle size of 0.05-0.5 mm [0034], which overlaps with the claimed range of 1-0.2 mm. Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Mackay teaches one milling (i.e., grinding and micronizing) step, wherein the mixture is milled until the average grain particle size is any size less than about 500 microns [0024], which overlaps with the claimed range of 100-400 microns. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
The instant claim requires that the micronizing step occurs after the grinding step, while Mackay teaches only one step to reduce the particle size, specifically that micronizing occurs as a part of the milling (i.e., grinding) step. Mackay teaches that all of the grinding occurs in a continuous cycle in the particle reduction zone as a part of the particle size reduction stage [0024]. However, the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). See MPEP 2144.04.IV.C. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mill in one step rather than two to obtain the same particle size as claimed, between 100-400 microns, absent any evidence of criticality for reducing the particle size in two steps.
Mackay does not explicitly teach that the enzyme is activated for 15-30 minutes. However, Mackay does teach that an effective amount of the protease is added to the mixture and kept until a desired degree of protein hydrolysis is achieved (i.e., the enzyme is active for a length of time) [0026]. One of ordinary skill would have recognized that the degree of hydrolysis depends on not only the temperature, but the duration of the enzymatic treatment as well. One of ordinary skill, through no more than routine experimentation, would have been able to have arrived at the claimed time for treating, depending on the extent of hydrolysis desired. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Mackay does not explicitly teach that the mixture is cooled after the boiling step. However, Mackay teaches that the mixture is raised to a boiling temperature and held there for a finite amount of time [0027]. The mixture is not expected to stay at the boiling temperature when it is no longer being heated – the temperature of the mixture after boiling is cooler than the boiling temperature. Thus, since the temperature of the mixture peaks at the boiling temperature, Mackay is considered to teach cooling the mixture after the boiling step.
Mackay is silent as to that the moisture content of the product, at the end of the drying step, is 2-14% by weight.
However, where Mackay teaches that “substantially all remaining water is driven off,” that is considered to be close to the claimed range. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The difference between the claimed range and that taught by Mackay is virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the final composition to have the same properties as a composition with the claimed amounts. Therefore, Mackay renders obvious the instant claims.
Mackay teaches that any suitable drying technology will work in the invention [0030], as well as that the grains are subjected to ultrasonic energy to improve the efficiency of the protein extraction [0035]. Mackay does not teach that a radio frequency dryer is used to dry the mixture at a temperature between 70-100 °C for a time between 60-120 minutes.
Jiao, in the same field of invention, teaches drying a food product by a radio frequency dryer at a temperature of 50-80 °C for a time of 20-120 minutes at a frequency of 27.12 MHz (Table 3 p. 113). The temperature taught by Jiao overlaps with the claimed range of 70-100 °C and the time and frequency taught by Jiao encompasses the respective claimed ranges of 60-120 minutes and 15-100 MHz. Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Jiao offers the motivation that drying by a radio frequency dryer is a suitable drying means for food applications because it protects the food from being overheated, reduces the variation in moisture content, controls mold growth, and prevents loss of volatile components due to high drying temperature (p. 109). Jiao also provides suitable temperatures, times, and frequency for drying a food product (Table 3 p. 113) where Mackay is silent. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated the radio frequency dryer and temperatures/times of Jiao into the process of Mackay as the drying step, thereby arriving at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of using a dryer that improves the properties of the final food product.
Modified Mackay is silent as to that the fiber content of the product after drying is 20-50% by weight.
However, where the claimed and prior art products are substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Since the method and composition of modified Mackay is substantially identical to that of the claimed method and composition, the prior art product must necessarily possess the same properties and characteristics as the composition claimed. Therefore, the composition taught by modified Mackay is considered to possess the fiber content as claimed because the method of making the composition is substantially the same and thus the product made therefrom must necessarily exhibit the same properties.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackay et al. (US PG Pub. 2018/0199593) as evidenced by Kõiv et al. (“Gluten-degrading bacteria: availability and applications,” Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology, 2021, vol. 105, pp. 3045-3059) and in view of Jiao et al. (“Radio-Frequency Applications for Food Processing and Safety,” Annual Reviews of Food Science and Technology, 2018, vol. 9, pp. 105-127), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stojceska et al. (“The recycling of brewer’s processing by-product into ready-to-eat snacks using extrusion technology,” Journal of Cereal Science, 2008, vol. 47, pp. 469-479; listed on IDS dated Jan. 25, 2022), herein after referred to as Stojceska.
Modified Mackay teaches the method for obtaining a food product as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Mackay teaches that the brewers spent grains are placed in an enclosed stainless steel tank after collection and prior to further processing [0022].
Modified Mackay does not teach that before adding the enzyme, the waste materials are stored in a container at a temperature below room temperature of 20-25°C for a period not exceeding 48 hours.
Stojceska, in the same field of invention, teaches refrigerating brewers spent grain (i.e., storing waste materials in a container at a temperature below room temperature of 20-25°C) immediately after collection and prior to any further processing (e.g., prior to adding an enzyme). The brewers spent grain is processed the following day (2.1. Preparation of dry BSG) and is therefore considered to be stored for a period less than 48 hours.
Therefore, as it was known in the art to produce a food product from waste materials of beer production, it would have been obvious to have produced a food product with the method as claimed, by modifying the method of modified Mackay, as Stojceska teaches that waste materials are known to be stored in thermally insulated/cooled containers for a period of less than 48 hours prior to further processing.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackay et al. (US PG Pub. 2018/0199593) as evidenced by Kõiv et al. (“Gluten-degrading bacteria: availability and applications,” Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology, 2021, vol. 105, pp. 3045-3059) and in view of Jiao et al. (“Radio-Frequency Applications for Food Processing and Safety,” Annual Reviews of Food Science and Technology, 2018, vol. 9, pp. 105-127) and Sureties (GB Application 1909 16651).
As set forth above in the rejection with regard to claim 1, modified Mackay teaches that a flour (Mackay: claim 16) made from brewers spent grain is obtained by the method according to claim 1.
Modified Mackay also teaches that the flour is made from spent barley grains (Mackay: claim 3), thus this flour is considered to be barley malt flour.
Modified Mackay is silent as to that the flour also contains hop flour.
Sureties, in the same field of invention, teaches flour made from spent hops (p. 1 lines 7-10) that is mixed with other flour to produce a food product mixture (p. 1 lines 16-17); Sureties teaches that this mixture contains about 25 wt.% hop flour and about 75 wt.% other material (p. 1 lines 20-21). Sureties offers the motivation that hop flour is useful as a digestive, a poultice, a worm cure, and an appetite stimulant (p. 1 lines 11-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated the hop flour of Sureties into the flour of modified Mackay. One would have been motivated to make this modification for the dietic and medicinal benefits that hop flour possesses.
While Sureties disclose a mixture comprising about 25 wt.% hop flour, the reference is silent with respect to the claimed range of between 1% and 10%. However, where Sureties teaches combining hop flour with other flours and hop flour is known to be used for medicinal purposes, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found in obvious to adjust by no more than routine optimization the amount of added to hops flour used in the flour of modified Mackay to obtain desired medicinal effects while maintaining the sensory properties of the food product Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
As a note, although Sureties does teach mixing the flours, the claim itself if directed to a product, and the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, rather the determination of patentability is based on the product itself. See MPEP 2113.I.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awolu et al. (“Antioxidant, function and rheological properties of optimized composite flour, consisting wheat and amaranth seed, brewers’ spent grain and apple pomace,” Journal of Food Science and Technology, 27 Nov. 2015, vol. 53, pp. 1151-1163; listed in IDS dated Jan. 25, 2022), herein after referred to as Awolu, in view of Mackay et al. (US PG Pub. 2018/0199593) as evidenced by Kõiv et al. (“Gluten-degrading bacteria: availability and applications,” Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology, 2021, vol. 105, pp. 3045-3059) and in view of Jiao et al. (“Radio-Frequency Applications for Food Processing and Safety,” Annual Reviews of Food Science and Technology, 2018, vol. 9, pp. 105-127).
Regarding claim 8, Awolu teaches a composite flour (i.e., food product) made from wheat flour, amaranth flour (i.e., cereal flours), and brewers spent grain flour (i.e., flour made from waste materials arising from the production process for producing beer) (p. 1152, left column, last paragraph). Awolu teaches that the composite flour is composed of 65% wheat flour, 30% amaranth flour (total 95% cereal flours), and 2% brewers spent grain flour (Table 2, run 11). The taught amount of cereal flour and brewers spent grain flour lies within the respective claimed ranges of 40-99% by weight and 1-60% by weight.
Awolu does not teach that brewers spent grain flour is obtained with the method according to claim 1.
As set forth above in the rejection with regard to claim 1, modified Mackay teaches that a flour (claim 16) made from brewers spent grain is obtained by the method according to claim 1. Both Awolu and modified Mackay teach a product made from brewers spent grain for use as a flour. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the brewers spent grain flour of modified Mackay in place of the brewers spent grain flour of Awolu, as the two flours are equivalents known for the same purpose.
Regarding claim 9, Awolu teaches that the cereal flour is a combination of wheat flour and amaranth flour (Tables 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the claims are met through the rejection of claim 8 as set forth above with regard to cereal flour. Claim 8 requires the selection of cereal flour, vegetable flour, or animal flour; by selecting cereal flour to meet claims 8 and 9, claims 10 and 11 are also considered to be met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 20, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The prior art rejection has been amended in light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, however, the essential prior art rejection has been maintained by the examiner for the following reasons.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not look to Jiao for the drying step, as Jiao does not explicitly deal with drying a mass of food waste material. Applicant also argues that Jiao does not address the same features or reasons for the specific type of drying as the instant invention (remarks, p. 2-3).
This argument is not persuasive. Although Jiao does not explicitly deal with a food waste mass, Jiao does deal with the drying of food products, and thus all the prior art are in the same field of invention, and thus it is completely reasonable that one of ordinary skill in the art would look to Jiao for the drying step. Regarding the reasoning for using the specific drying methods, the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006). See MPEP 2144.IV.
Applicant argues that Mackay’s process will not result in the same flour product as claimed since Mackay only teaches one milling and reducing step as opposed to the two steps as claimed (remarks, p. 3).
This argument is not persuasive. For one, Mackay teaches milling after drying in order to obtain a flour product [0031]. For two, as set forth above in the rejection, the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). See MPEP 2144.04.IV.C. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mill in one step rather than two to obtain the same particle size as claimed, between 100-400 microns, absent any evidence of criticality for reducing the particle size in two steps.
In the absence of any further arguments with regard to the rejections of the additional dependent claims, the rejections of these dependent claims are maintained.
Conclusion
/M.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791