DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-30 are pending in the instant application. Claim 1 is amended and claims 17-30 are new via the amendment filed October 10th, 2025.
Priority
This is a 35 U.S.C. 371 National Stage filing of International Application No. PCT/EP2020/071044 filed July 24th, 2020, which claims priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a-d) to, BE2019/5501 filed August 1st, 2019 .
Withdrawn Objections
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed October 10th, 2025, with respect to objection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant has overcome the objection by way of amending claim 1 to recite “R6 is selected from the group consisting of..” in line 8 of the claim.
Withdrawn Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed October 10th, 2025, with respect to the 112(b) rejection of claims 1-15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection of claims 1-15 has been withdrawn.
Applicant has overcome the 112(b) rejection by way of amending claim 1 to recite “when the substituents of said positions 20, 22, 24, 25, 26 or 27 are four different substituents”. The addition of this phrase clarifies that the limitation of R or S configuration only applies when there are four different substituents present.
Maintained Rejections - Response to Remarks
Non-Compliant Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed, October 10th, 2025, with respect to the non-compliant amendment have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On p. 11-13 of the remarks, Applicant argues that the method of treatment of a neuronal pathology recited in new claims 16-30 should be considered along with the composition as recited in instant claims 1-15. Applicant argues that the Examiner has not provided any evidence that there would be a serious burden to search both the composition and the method of the instant disclosure.
In response, had the method claims been provided earlier, unity would have been broken with the cited prior art, as under PCT Rule 13.1, the technical feature shared between the product and the method is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art.
Additionally, the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See the prior art below. For instance, Medina teaches that compounds of instant formula (I) can be used in a method of treating hearing loss (paragraph [0009]).
As such, newly submitted claims 16-30 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
The product as instantly claimed can be used in a materially different process of using the product.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 16-30 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claims 16-30 are therefore withdrawn in view of the response above.
Response to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments, filed October 10th, 2025, with respect to the 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) rejection of claims 1-3 and 6-14 under Poirot have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On p. 14-15 of the remarks, Applicant argues that claim 1, as amended, is not anticipated by Poirot because Poirot does not teach a composition for the treatment of neuronal pathology in a subject. Applicant argues that anticipation requires a single prior art reference that discloses each element of the claim. Applicant further argues that as Poirot does not teach that the compounds of formula (I) have a neuroprotective effect against a neuronal pathology upon administration to a subject, Poirot does not anticipate instant claim 1.
In response, the amendment to claim 1 does not overcome the rejection and still includes a phrase of intended use. The addition of the phrase “for treatment of a neuronal pathology in a subject…” is merely intended use and presumed met by a compound of formula (I). See MPEP 2111.02.
Further, the addition of the phrase “wherein the at least one compound of formula (I) has a neuroprotective effect against the neuronal pathology of the subject…” also fails to overcome the rejection under Poirot. This is a wherein clause, see MPEP 2111.04: Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. However, examples of claim language, although not exhaustive, that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim are:
(A) "adapted to" or "adapted for" clauses;
(B) "wherein" clauses; and
(C) "whereby" clauses.
The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. See, e.g., Griffin v. Bertina, 285 F.3d 1029, 1034, 62 USPQ2d 1431 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (finding that a "wherein" clause limited a process claim where the clause gave "meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps"). In In re Giannelli, 739 F.3d 1375, 1378, 109 USPQ2d 1333, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court found that an "adapted to" clause limited a machine claim where "the written description makes clear that 'adapted to,' as used in the [patent] application, has a narrower meaning, viz., that the claimed machine is designed or constructed to be used as a rowing machine whereby a pulling force is exerted on the handles." In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a "‘whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability, it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention." Id. However, the court noted that a "‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’" Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)).
Such clause does not overcome the rejection as the neuroprotective effect against the neuronal pathology is an inherent property of the compounds of instant formula (I). The prior art is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect”. However: “neuroprotective effect” will inevitably flow from the teachings of the prior art (see 102 rejection under Poirot), since the same compound (a compound of formula (I)) is taught by Poirot. In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties.
In other words, even though the prior art is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect", by having a compound of instant formula (I) taught by the prior art, one will also have a compound that has a "neuroprotective effect,” even though the prior art was not aware of it.
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new property or advantage ("a neuroprotective effect") of the compound taught by the prior art ("a compound of instant formula (I)").
MPEP 2112 I states: “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
Applicant's arguments, filed October 10th, 2025, with respect to the 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) rejection of claims 1-3, 5 and 10-15 under Medina have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On p. 15-16 of the remarks, Applicant argues that claim 1, as amended, is not anticipated by Medina because Medina does not teach a composition for the treatment of neuronal pathology in a subject. Applicant further argues that as Medina does not teach that the compounds of formula (I) have a neuroprotective effect against a neuronal pathology upon administration to a subject, Medina does not anticipate instant claim 1.
In response, the amendment to claim 1 does not overcome the rejection for the same reasons as stated above.
Double Patenting
Applicant's arguments, filed October 10th, 2025, with respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1-8 and 10-15 over Application No. 18/875,115; claims 1 and 10-14 over Application No. 18/034,317; and claims 1 and 10-14 over Application No. 18/265,186 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On p. 16-19 of the remarks, Applicant argues that claim 1, as amended, is not obvious over the copending applications because the copending applications do not teach a composition for the treatment of neuronal pathology in a subject.
In response, the amendment to claim 1 does not overcome the rejections for the same reasons as stated above.
Claim Interpretation
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-14 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Poirot et al (US 2014/0309417 A1).
Poirot teaches compounds of the following formula (claim 1):
.
Poirot teaches the following compound (page 1, paragraph [0003]):
This compound is embraced by formula (I) as R1 is OH, R2 is OH, R3 is NR5R6, wherein R5 is H and R6 is (CH2)3NH(CH2)4NHR7, R7 is H, R4 is H, Z1 is 1 and Z2 is 0, and T1-T4 are H. Note that “for treatment of a neuronal pathology” of instant claim 1 and other claims constitutes intended use limitation(s). The claims are interpreted as product claims, as statements of intended use are not accorded patentable weight.
The prior art is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect”. However: “neuroprotective effect” will inevitably flow from the teachings of the prior art (see 102 rejection under Poirot), since the same compound (a compound of formula (I)) is taught by Poirot. In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties.
In other words, even though the prior art is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect", by having a compound of instant formula (I) taught by the prior art, one will also have a compound that has a "neuroprotective effect,” even though the prior art was not aware of it.
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new property or advantage ("a neuroprotective effect") of the compound taught by the prior art ("a compound of instant formula (I)").
MPEP 2112 I states: “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
Regarding claim 2, as seen above, Z2 is 0, R1 and R2 are OH, R4 is H, R5 is H, and T1-T4 are H.
Regarding claim 7, as seen above, Z1 is 1 and R5 is H.
Regarding claim 8, as seen above, R6 is (CH2)3NH(CH2)4NHR7 and R7 is H.
Poirot also teaches the following compound, 5α-hydroxy-6β[3-(4-aminobutylamino)propylamino]campestan-3β-ol (claim 9):
This compound is embraced by formula (I) as R1 is OH, R2 is OH, R3 is NR5R6, wherein R5 is H and R6 is (CH2)3NH(CH2)4NHR7, R7 is H, R4 is H, Z1 and Z2 are 0, and T1-T4 are H. Note that “for treatment of a neuronal pathology” of instant claim 1 and other claims constitutes intended use limitation(s). The claims are interpreted as product claims, as statements of intended use are not accorded patentable weight.
The prior art is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect”. However: “neuroprotective effect” will inevitably flow from the teachings of the prior art (see 102 rejection under Poirot), since the same compound (a compound of formula (I)) is taught by Poirot. In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties.
In other words, even though the prior art is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect", by having a compound of instant formula (I) taught by the prior art, one will also have a compound that has a "neuroprotective effect,” even though the prior art was not aware of it.
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new property or advantage ("a neuroprotective effect") of the compound taught by the prior art ("a compound of instant formula (I)").
MPEP 2112 I states: “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
Regarding claim 2, as seen above, Z2 is 0, R1 and R2 are OH, R4 is H, R5 is H, and T1-T4 are H.
Regarding claim 3, as seen above, Z1 is 0 and R5 is H.
Regarding claim 6, R6 is (CH2)3NH(CH2)4NHR7 and R7 is H.
Poirot also teaches the following compound, 3β-acetoxy-5α -hydroxy-6β-[3-(4-aminobutylamino)propylamino]cholest-7-ene (claim 9):
This compound is embraced by formula (I) as R1 is R-COO, R is CH3, R2 is OH, R3 is NR5R6, wherein R5 is H and R6 is (CH2)3NH(CH2)4NHR7, R7 is H, R4 is H, Z1 is 1 and Z2 is 0, and T1-T4 are H. Note that “for treatment of a neuronal pathology” of instant claim 1 and other claims constitutes intended use limitation(s). The claims are interpreted as product claims, as statements of intended use are not accorded patentable weight.
The prior art is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect”. However: “neuroprotective effect” will inevitably flow from the teachings of the prior art (see 102 rejection under Poirot), since the same compound (a compound of formula (I)) is taught by Poirot. In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties.
In other words, even though the prior art is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect", by having a compound of instant formula (I) taught by the prior art, one will also have a compound that has a "neuroprotective effect,” even though the prior art was not aware of it.
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new property or advantage ("a neuroprotective effect") of the compound taught by the prior art ("a compound of instant formula (I)").
MPEP 2112 I states: “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
Regarding claim 9, R1 is R-COO, R is CH3, R2 is OH, R5 is H, R6 is (CH2)3NH(CH2)4NHR7, Z1 is 1 and Z2 is 0.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 10-15 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Medina et al (US 2017/0209465).
Medina teaches a solution of 6β-[2-(1H-imidazol-4-yl)-ethylamino]-cholestane-3β,5α-diol (I μM) (page 3, paragraph [0056]). 6β -[2-(1H-imidazol-4-yl)-ethylamino]-cholestane-3 β,5α-diol is the following compound
This compound is embraced by formula (I) as R1 is OH, R2 is OH, R3 is NR5R6, wherein R5 is H and R6 is –(CH2)2-imidazol-4-yl, R4 is H, Z1 and Z2 are 0, and T1-T4 are H. Note that “for treatment of a neuronal pathology” of instant claim 1 and other claims constitutes intended use limitation(s). The claims are interpreted as product claims, as statements of intended use are not accorded patentable weight.
The prior art is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect”. However: “neuroprotective effect” will inevitably flow from the teachings of the prior art (see 102 rejection under Medina), since the same compound (a compound of formula (I)) is taught by Medina. In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties.
In other words, even though the prior art is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect", by having a compound of instant formula (I) taught by the prior art, one will also have a compound that has a "neuroprotective effect,” even though the prior art was not aware of it.
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new property or advantage ("a neuroprotective effect") of the compound taught by the prior art ("a compound of instant formula (I)").
MPEP 2112 I states: “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
Regarding claim 2, as seen above, Z2 is 0, R1 and R2 are OH, R4 is H, R5 is H, and T1-T4 are H.
Regarding claim 3, as seen above, Z1 is 0 and R5 is H.
Regarding claim 5, as seen above, R6 is –(CH2)2-imidazol-4-yl.
Regarding claim 15, as seen above, the compound of formula (I) is in a solution in a concentration of between 1 pmol/L and 1 mmol/L. As this range is 1x10-12 M to 0.001 M and Medina teaches that the above compound is in a solution in a concentration of 1x10-6 M, the teachings anticipate the claim.
Maintained Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 stand provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/875,115 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The copending application teaches a compound of formula (I):
The copending application also teaches that R1-R7, Z1-Z2 and T1-T4 are embraced by formula (I) of the instant application. The copending application also teaches, regarding instant claim 15, wherein the composition is in the form of an aqueous solution and has a concentration of a compound of formula (I) of between 10 pmol/L and 1 mmol/L.
The copending application also teaches the following compound (claim 4):
This compound is embraced by formula (I) and claim 4 as R1 is OH, R2 is OH, R3 is NR5R6, wherein R5 is H and R6 is (CH2)3NH(CH)4NHR7, R7 is C(O)CH3, R4 is H, Z1 and Z2 are 0, and T1-T4 are H. Note that “for treatment of a neuronal pathology” of instant claim 1 and other claims constitutes intended use limitation(s). The claims are interpreted as product claims, as statements of intended use are not accorded patentable weight.
The copending application is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect”. However: “neuroprotective effect” will inevitably flow from the claims of the copending application, since the same compound (a compound of formula (I)) is claimed. In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties.
In other words, even though the copending application is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect", by having a compound of instant formula (I) claimed by the copending application, one will also have a compound that has a "neuroprotective effect,” even though copending applications was not aware of it.
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new property or advantage ("a neuroprotective effect") of the compound claimed in the copending application ("a compound of instant formula (I)").
MPEP 2112 I states: “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
Regarding claim 2, as seen above, Z2 is 0, R1 and R2 are OH, R4 is H, R5 is H, and T1-T4 are H.
Regarding claim 3, as seen above, Z1 is 0 and R5 is H.
Regarding claim 4, R6 is (CH2)3NH(CH)4NHR7 and R7 is C(O)CH3.
The copending application also teaches the following compound (claim 6):
This compound is embraced by formula (I) as R1 is OH, R2 is OH, R3 is NR5R6, wherein R5 is H and R6 is (CH2)3NH(CH2)4NHR7, R7 is H, R4 is H, Z1 and Z2 are 0, and T1-T4 are H.
Regarding claim 2, as seen above, Z2 is 0, R1 and R2 are OH, R4 is H, R5 is H, and T1-T4 are H.
Regarding claim 3, as seen above, Z1 is 0 and R5 is H.
Regarding claim 6, R6 is (CH2)3NH(CH2)4NHR7 and R7 is H.
The copending application also teaches the following compound (claim 5):
This compound is embraced by formula (I) as R1 is OH, R2 is OH, R3 is NR5R6, wherein R5 is H and R6 is –(CH2)2-imidazol-4-yl, R4 is H, Z1 and Z2 are 0, and T1-T4 are H. Note that “for treatment of a neuronal pathology” of instant claim 1 and other claims constitutes intended use limitation(s). The claims are interpreted as product claims, as statements of intended use are not accorded patentable weight.
The copending application is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect”. However: “neuroprotective effect” will inevitably flow from the claims of the copending application, since the same compound (a compound of formula (I)) is claimed. In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties.
In other words, even though the copending application is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect", by having a compound of instant formula (I) claimed by the copending application, one will also have a compound that has a "neuroprotective effect,” even though copending applications was not aware of it.
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new property or advantage ("a neuroprotective effect") of the compound claimed in the copending application ("a compound of instant formula (I)").
MPEP 2112 I states: “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
Regarding claim 2, as seen above, Z2 is 0, R1 and R2 are OH, R4 is H, R5 is H, and T1-T4 are H.
Regarding claim 3, as seen above, Z1 is 0 and R5 is H.
Regarding claim 5, as seen above, R6 is –(CH2)2-imidazol-4-yl.
The copending application also teaches the following compound (claim 9):
This compound is embraced by formula (I) as R1 is OH, R2 is OH, R3 is NR5R6, wherein R5 is H and R6 is (CH2)3NH(CH2)4NHR7, R7 is H, R4 is H, Z1 is 1 and Z2 is 0, and T1-T4 are H. Note that “for treatment of a neuronal pathology” of instant claim 1 and other claims constitutes intended use limitation(s). The claims are interpreted as product claims, as statements of intended use are not accorded patentable weight.
The copending application is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect”. However: “neuroprotective effect” will inevitably flow from the claims of the copending application, since the same compound (a compound of formula (I)) is claimed. In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties.
In other words, even though the copending application is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect", by having a compound of instant formula (I) claimed by the copending application, one will also have a compound that has a "neuroprotective effect,” even though copending applications was not aware of it.
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new property or advantage ("a neuroprotective effect") of the compound claimed in the copending application ("a compound of instant formula (I)").
MPEP 2112 I states: “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
Regarding claim 2, as seen above, Z2 is 0, R1 and R2 are OH, R4 is H, R5 is H, and T1-T4 are H.
Regarding claim 7, as seen above, Z1 is 1 and R5 is H.
Regarding claim 8, as seen above, R6 is (CH2)3NH(CH2)4NHR7 and R7 is H.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 10-14 stand provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4 and 7-23 of copending Application No. 18/034,317 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The copending application teaches a compound of formula (I):
The copending application further teaches the following compound (claim 7):
This compound is embraced by formula (I) R1 is OCnH2n+1, R2 is OH, R3 is NR5R6, wherein R5 is H and R6 is –(CH2)2-imidazol-4-yl, R4 is H, Z1 and Z2 are 0, and T1-T4 are H. Note that “for treatment of a neuronal pathology” of instant claim 1 and other claims constitutes intended use limitation(s). The claims are interpreted as product claims, as statements of intended use are not accorded patentable weight.
The copending application is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect”. However: “neuroprotective effect” will inevitably flow from the claims of the copending application, since the same compound (a compound of formula (I)) is claimed. In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties.
In other words, even though the copending application is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect", by having a compound of instant formula (I) claimed by the copending application, one will also have a compound that has a "neuroprotective effect,” even though copending applications was not aware of it.
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new property or advantage ("a neuroprotective effect") of the compound claimed in the copending application ("a compound of instant formula (I)").
MPEP 2112 I states: “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 10-14 stand provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/265,186 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The copending application teaches a compound of formula (I):
The copending application further teaches the following compound (claim 6):
This compound is embraced by formula (I) R1 is R-COO, R is C2H5, R2 is OH, R3 is NR5R6, wherein R5 is H and R6 is –(CH2)2-imidazol-4-yl, R4 is H, Z1 and Z2 are 0, and T1-T4 are H. Note that “for treatment of a neuronal pathology” of instant claim 1 and other claims constitutes intended use limitation(s). The claims are interpreted as product claims, as statements of intended use are not accorded patentable weight.
The copending application is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect”. However: “neuroprotective effect” will inevitably flow from the claims of the copending application, since the same compound (a compound of formula (I)) is claimed. In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties.
In other words, even though the copending application is silent regarding "neuroprotective effect", by having a compound of instant formula (I) claimed by the copending application, one will also have a compound that has a "neuroprotective effect,” even though copending applications was not aware of it.
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new property or advantage ("a neuroprotective effect") of the compound claimed in the copending application ("a compound of instant formula (I)").
MPEP 2112 I states: “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
Correspondence
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.G.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/FEREYDOUN G SAJJADI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1699