DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments regarding the deficiencies of InterDigital and Alfarhan with respect to determining/selecting available HARQ processes based on timer status have been fully considered but are not persuasive in view of the newly applied reference Lee et al. (US 2015/0016318).
Lee expressly discloses that:
‘the operation for selecting the HARQ process of the MAC layer is performed based on a predefined timer value’ (para. [0077]).
Lee further discloses that:
‘some of the HARQ processes available when the timer expires are selected’ (para. [0077]).
Accordingly, Lee expressly teaches selecting available HARQ processes based on timer status, including timer expiration status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 16, 20-23, 25-28 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over InterDigital (3GPP RAN WG2 Meeting #106, R2-1906404, 13th -17th May, 2019) in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0016318).
Regarding claim 1, InterDigital discloses a method comprising: receiving, at a terminal device, information indicating a plurality of configured grant resources and a plurality of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes, the plurality of HARQ processes forming a common pool of HARQ processes which is shared by the plurality of configured grant resources, wherein the plurality of configured grant resources are configured in one bandwidth part (page 2, lines 3-9, within a single active wideband BWP (bandwidth part), multiple active CGs (configured grant) may be configured on different subbands within the BWP, and independent LBTs for different subbands may therefore have different outcomes, which may impact the selection between multiple configured grants; page 2, Proposal 1, from a RAN2 perspective, multiple active configured grant configurations for a given BWP of a serving cell is also supported in NR-U).
InterDigital further discloses selecting, by the terminal device, a HARQ process from the available HARQ processes (page 1, lines 6-7, “HARQ process ID can be selected by the UE from an RRC configured set of HARQ IDs and conveyed in the UCI”; page 2, Proposal 3, “selecting a HARQ PID for an initial transmission on a CG from the HARQ PID pool configured for configured grant transmissions”).
InterDigital additionally discloses transmitting, by the terminal device, data on one of the plurality of configured grant resources using the selected HARQ process (page 1, lines 6-7, “HARQ process ID can be selected by the UE from an RRC configured set of HARQ IDs and conveyed in the UCI”; page 2, Proposal 3, “selecting a HARQ PID for an initial transmission on a CG from the HARQ PID pool configured for configured grant transmissions”).
However, InterDigital does not expressly disclose selecting, by the terminal device, available HARQ processes for transmission and/or retransmission from the plurality of HARQ processes based at least on a timer status of one or more of the plurality of HARQ processes.
Lee discloses:
“the RLC layer, which has received the predetermined information, may operate in a state of excluding the HARQ processes which are no longer continuously used, when selecting the HARQ process of the MAC layer used for transmission or retransmission of a specific SDU” (para. [0077]).
Lee further discloses:
“a rule may be defined such that the operation for selecting the HARQ process of the MAC layer is performed based on a predefined timer value” (para. [0077]).
Lee additionally discloses:
“the operation for selecting the HARQ process of the MAC layer may be defined such that some of the HARQ processes available when the timer expires are selected” (para. [0077]).
Thus, Lee discloses selecting available HARQ processes for transmission and/or retransmission based on a timer status, including timer expiration status of one or more HARQ processes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the HARQ process selection mechanism of InterDigital with the timer-based HARQ process availability determination taught by Lee in order to improve HARQ process management and avoid selecting HARQ processes associated with outdated, unavailable, or no-longer-continuously-used radio resources, thereby improving retransmission reliability and resource utilization.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 7, InterDigital further discloses:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the selecting the HARQ process from the plurality of HARQ processes comprises:
extracting from the information criteria for selection of the HARQ processes (id, HARQ process ID can be selected … and conveyed in the UCI); and
selecting the HARQ process from the plurality of HARQ processes based on the criteria (id).
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the selecting the HARQ process from the plurality of HARQ processes comprises:
determining, from the plurality of HARQ processes, a set of available HARQ processes (id);
determining a priority of the data (sec. 3, the UE fills the grant with all high priority data before filling the TB with data of lower priority ); and
selecting the HARQ process from the set of available HARQ processes based on the priority of the data (sec. 3).
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the selecting the HARQ process from the plurality of HARQ processes comprises:
determining a first set of HARQ processes from the plurality of HARQ processes based on the information, the first set of HARQ processes is used for data with priorities higher than a threshold priority (sec. 3, higher priority data, lower priority data);
determining a priority of the data; and in response to the priority exceeding the threshold priority, selecting the HARQ process from the first set of HARQ processes (sec. 3).
7. The method of claim 1, wherein a priority of the data is determined based on at least one of:
a priority of a logical channel/logical channel group to which the data belongs,
a buffered time of the data, or
a priority of a traffic to which medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) contained in the data relates (sec. 3, priority for transmission to ensure fairness to other systems contending for channel acquisition).
Regarding claim 16, InterDigital discloses a first device comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory comprising instructions stored therein that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform at least essentially the method of claim 1, and is thus similarly rejected.
Claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, corresponding to the method of claim 1, and is thus similarly rejected.
Claims 21-23 and 25 recite substantially identical subject matter as recited in claims 2-4 and 7, and are thus similarly rejected.
Claims 26-28 and 30 recite substantially identical subject matter as recited in claims 2-4 and 7, and are thus similarly rejected.
Regarding claims 31 and 32, InterDigital further discloses:
wherein the data is a retransmitted data (InterDigital; sec. 1, retransmission of a TB),
wherein the one of the plurality of configured grant resources is different from a configured grant resource of an initial data transmission (InterDigital, sec. 6, both retransmission via same configured grant resource and retransmission via resource scheduled by UL grant are supported; Alfarhan, para. 120, 190), and
wherein the configured grant resource and the one of the plurality of configured grant resources have the same transmission block size (InterDigital, sec. 1, auto retransmission on configured grant for the case of the TB previous being transmitted).
Claims 5, 24, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over InterDigital in view of Lee et al, and further in view of Balachandran et al (US Pub. 2010/0218065).
Regarding claim 5, InterDigital further discloses wherein the selecting the HARQ process from the plurality of HARQ processes comprises:
determining a second set of HARQ processes from the plurality of HARQ processes based on the information (sec. 3) …;
determining a priority of the data (sec. 3) ….
InterDigital-Lee does not specifically disclose:
data with priorities lower than a threshold priority being only allowed to use the second set of HARQ processes;
… in response to the priority being below the threshold priority, selecting the HARQ process from the second set of HARQ processes.
However, Balachandran from an analogous art discloses selecting a high priority HARQ process among the set of HARQ processes among criteria such as bandwidth utilization, delay, etc. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Balachandran in the system of InterDigital-Lee in order to achieve more efficient resource utilization (Balachandra, para. 5).
Claims 24 and 29 recite substantially identical subject matter as recited in claims 5, and are thus similarly rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Luat Phung/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468