DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the amendments to the claim overcome the prior art rejection of record; however, upon further search and consideration, claim 1 has been rejected under new grounds below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiura (U.S. Publication No. 20150211352) in view of Chemali et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20120169841) and in further view of Gan et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20160362938).
Regarding claim 1, Sugiura teaches a sensor arrangement (housing 330; Fig. 1) comprising a sensor housing (328; Fig.1), a first sensor (201/upper “S”; Fig. 1) sensitive to a downhole parameter (pp[0016],[0030], claim 29) and carried by the housing (328), a second sensor (202/lower “S”) sensitive to the same downhole parameter as the first sensor and carried by the housing (the first sensor (201) and the second sensor (202) are of a similar type and further similar type or similar kind refers to at least one borehole parameter that can be measured by both the first sensor (201) and the second sensor (202); pp[0022]), the second sensor being spaced apart from the first sensor by a fixed distance (203; Fig. 1, pp[0033]) in the axial direction of the housing (328; Fig.1), and a control unit (221 (pp[0032]) and a computer processor (not shown) on the BHA; pp[0033]) operable to monitor the outputs of the first and second sensors to monitor at least one of a position and a passage of a feature through the area images by the first and second sensors (Downhole sensors or gauges (S) are disposed about the drilling tool and/or wellbore to provide information about downhole conditions, such as direction (i.e. “a passage”) among others. Multiple downhole sensors (S) (i.e. sensor array) may be located at different positions on BHA (330), such as sensor (201) and sensor (202). The information collected by the sensors and cameras is conveyed to the various parts of the drilling system and/or the surface unit (334); pp[0016]).
Sugiura discloses that the first and second sensors (201, 202) including imaging sensors but is silent regarding the first and second sensors each comprising a sensor array and the sensor array to provide a panoramic image of an area imaged by the sensor array.
Chemali, drawn to a downhole optical imaging tool, discloses the sensor array (optical image sensor(s) 80; pp[0038, Fig. 6) to provide a panoramic image of an area imaged by the sensor array (The processor combines images captured at different tool orientations and positions to form a panoramic borehole wall image; pp[0032], [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor arrangement of Sugiura such that the first and second sensors of Sugiura includes the image sensors of Chemali used to create a panoramic borehole wall image, with a reasonable expectation of success, as such images often reveals bedding structures and fractures (pp[0040]).
Sugiura teaches that the first and second sensors can include a temperature sensor (pp[0030]); however, the combination is silent regarding using the first and second sensor to detect a temperature of the housing adjacent to each respective first and second sensor which forces the reader to look elsewhere for such teachings.
Gan, drawn to a wellbore drilling assembly, the assembly comprising one or more sensors in one or more components of the percussion drilling assembly to measure various properties such as temperature of the component (sensor on housing 130 to monitor temperature of housing 13;pp[0030],[0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sugiura and Chemali such that the sensors also detect the temperature of the housing as well, as taught by Gan, as this will provide more information regarding the conditions experienced by the housing within the wellbore (pp[0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Sugiura further teaches wherein the housing (328) is incorporated into or attached to a bottom hole assembly (328 is attached to a bottom hole assembly comprising 328 and 310 as shown; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Sugiura further teaches wherein the downhole parameter comprises temperature information (temperature; pp[0016], [0029], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Sugiura further teaches wherein position and/or related information derived by the control unit is supplied to at least one of (a) an operator at the surface (the drilling parameter calculator (222) is further configured to determine, during the drilling operation, how often to store output of a downhole imaging tool in the repository (210) and/or how often to send output of a downhole imaging tool to the surface unit (334) via mud pulse telemetry; pp[0038]) and (b) a downhole located drilling control unit to allow directional drilling to lie undertaken autonomously.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Sugiura, Chemali and Gan teaches a sensing method comprising locating within a borehole a sensor arrangement as claimed in claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above).
Sugiura further teaches monitoring the outputs of the first and second sensors to identify when a feature previously detected by the first sensor is subsequently detected by the second sensor to determine that the sensor housing has moved by a distance equal to the spacing of the first and second sensors (the first sensor (201) is configured to generate, during a drilling operation, a first time based data log (211) representing a borehole parameter along a drilling trajectory that forms the borehole (313) of FIG. 1 above. Further, the second sensor (202) is configured to generate, during the drilling operation, a second time based data log (212) representing the borehole parameter along the drilling trajectory; pp[0022], Sugiura uses the output of the sensors to measure drilling speed, which is a measure of movement – see pp[0030]); pp[0033]).
Regarding claim 9, Sugiura further teaches wherein the distance information is used to determine an axial velocity of the sensor housing (the distance 203 in Fig. 1 is divided by the time it takes to achieve that distance which will give an axial velocity; pp[0033]).
Regarding claim 10, Sugiura teaches further comprising using the output of the first and second sensors, when undertaking a measurement whilst drilling survey, to confirm that at least one procedural step of the survey has been completed ( the drilling operation is adjusted based on the downhole drilling speed and/or other computed drilling parameters. For example, a toolface and/or a steering ratio can be adjusted, in real-time, based on at least one of these drilling parameters; pp[0047], The adjustment is an indication/confirmation that at least one step of the survey has been completed).
Regarding claim 12, Sugiura further teaches wherein the distance information is used to determine the occurrence of at least one of buckling, stretching and squat pipe conditions (pp[0051]).
Regarding claim 13, Sugiura teaches comprising deriving the feature from a temperature variation indicative of frictional heating of parts of the housing (This is implicit as the sensor of Sugiura can measure tool temperature; pp[0016]. Furthermore, as discussed in the specification of the instant application “Where the borehole12 includes a curve that results in the outer wall of the housing28 bearing against the borehole wall, then frictional heating of parts of the housing28 can be expected” (page 8 of the specification as filed). As such, the housing 330 will also experience some heating due to friction along angles in the borehole; pp[0061]).
Regarding to claim 14, Sugiura further teaches wherein the housing is incorporated along a drill string of a bottom hole assembly (330 is incorporated along the BHA which is everything below 315 as shown; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Sugiura further teaches wherein at least one further sensor arrangement is deployed along a drill string of the bottom hole assembly (201 and 202 are deployed along the BHA (everything below 315); Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Sugiura further teaches configured to monitor at least one of axial progression of the housing and angular movement of the housing (28) (a drilling speed can be determined based on the time shift and a pre-determined distance between the first sensor (201) and the second sensor (202). The drilling speed calculator (221) is further configured to determine, within the pre-determined time period, a drilling depth (i.e. axial progression) by at least mathematically integrating the drilling speed over time; pp[0033]).
Regarding claim 17, Sugiura further teaches configured to detect at least one of a stop in rotation and axial reciprocating motion (The depth tracking is stopped when the bit is off bottom (WOB is very low or zero) and/or when the bit is not rotating. Said in other words, if the determination in either Block 304 or Block 309 is no, the method proceeds to Block 308 where the drilling speed is reset to zero; pp[0044]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Sugiura, Chemali and Gan teaches an arrangement according to claim 1.
Chemali further teaches configured to provide an output corresponding to a 360 panoramic image (3D rendering of the borehole accounting for the actual shape and texture of the borehole wall. FIG. 10 is an example of such a view obtained from actual video data (i.e. 360 degree panoramic image.).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Sugiura, Chemali and Gan teaches an arrangement according to claim 16.
Chemali further discloses regarding teaches wherein the sensor array comprises a plurality of individual sensor units (cameras; Fig. 5) encircling the inner tubular member (camera array encircles tubing; Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiura (U.S. Publication No. 20150211352) in view of Chemali et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20120169841), Gan et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20160362938) and in further view of Downton et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20110031015).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sugiura, Chemali and Gan teaches an arrangement according to claim 1.
The combination is silent regarding wherein the first and second sensors comprise one of thermoelectric generators and thermal cameras operable to produce an output indicative of a temperature difference between parts of the housing and an inner tubular member adjacent the respective sensors.
Sugiura does disclose that the first and second sensors can further include a formation pressure senor, a downhole camera, and a temperature sensor (pp[0030]) but fails to disclose the type of camera or temperature sensor which forces the reader to look elsewhere for such details.
Downton, drawn to a downhole drilling assembly comprising a monitoring system, discloses that the drill string comprises one or more cameras (10) which takes thermal images of the drill string (12; pp[0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor arrangement of the combination of Sugiura, Chemali and Gan to include the thermal imaging cameras of Downton which will further aid in monitoring temperature differences in the wellbore and may indicate radiation in the infrared range of the electromagnetic spectrum (pp[0032], Downton).
Regarding claim 5, in light of the above modification, the combination of Sugiura, Chemali, Gan and Downton teaches an arrangement according to claim 4, wherein the first and second sensors together form a panoramic thermal camera (sensors 201 and 202 of Sugiura are modified to include thermal imaging cameras, as taught by Downton, which will form a panoramic thermal camera).
Regarding claim 6, in light of the above modification, the combination of Sugiura, Chemali, Gan and Downton teaches an arrangement according to claim 5, wherein the control unit undertakes an image processing technique to track the passage of a thermal feature through an image captured using the panoramic thermal camera (the drilling speed calculator (221) Sugiura will use the image logs produced by the sensors 201 and 202 to track a drilling speed and which in turn will track the passage of the thermal feature; pp[0022], [0033]).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiura (U.S. Publication No. 20150211352) in view of Chemali et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20120169841), Gan et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20160362938) and in further view of Estes et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20080105423).
Regarding claim 11, Sugiura teaches a method according to claim 10.
The combination of Sugiura, Chemali and Gan fails to teach further comprising using the output of the first and second sensors to detect the occurrence of a drill pipe connection procedure.
Estes, drawn to a downhole depth computation system for a drilling system, discloses using the output of the first and second sensors to detect the occurrence of a drill pipe connection procedure (using the output of the first and second sensors to detect the occurrence of a drill pipe connection procedure… the start and stop events are generally indicative of when a joint of a tubular 14 has been added to the drill string 20; pp[0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the combination of Sugiura, Chemali and Gan with the sensor package of Este to determine depth of the BHA by identifying start and stop events for the drill string in order to accurately measure the distance traveled by the drill string (pp[0033]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAMIA QUAIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3676