Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-8, 12-21, and 23-24 are currently pending and under examination.
The rejection of claims 9 and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2017/0043553 A1) in view of Gomi (JP H1180723 A) and Takano (JP 2007031610 A) is withdrawn in view of the cancellation of claims 9 and 22.
The rejection of claims 1-8 and 12-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2017/0043553 A1) in view of Gomi (JP H1180723 A) is maintained in view of the above amendments.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 recites “from 63% to 81.8% by, based on the total amount of the resin composition”. Applicant is suggested to revise it as “from 63% to 81.8% by mass, based on the total amount of the resin composition” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-8, 12-16, 18-19, 21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2017/0043553 A1, hereinafter Tanaka) in view of Takano (JP 2007031610 A, hereinafter Takano), and Gomi (JP H1180723 A, hereinafter Gomi).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Tanaka teaches a heat storage composition comprising a matrix resin and heat storage inorganic particles ([0024]; claim 1), wherein the matrix resin can be methacrylate resin ([0028]), the heat storage inorganic particles are preferably vanadium dioxide ([0025]; Table 1, Ex. 1-2).
Tanaka also teaches that an amount of the heat storage inorganic particles is 10 to 2000 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the matrix resin ([0024], claim 1). Thus, the heat storage inorganic particles of Tanaka can have an amount of about 9-95% by mass in the heat storage composition, which overlaps with the claimed ranges of “50% by mass or more”.
Tanaka also teaches that the heat storage composition is formed into a heat storage sheet ([0024]; claim 1), and the heat storage sheet is physically stable and has high heat storage property ([0008]).
Tanaka does not teach that the heat storage composition comprises a heat storage organic material, wherein the heat storage organic material is encapsulated in a capsule.
However, Takano teaches that a heat storage resin composition comprises an acrylic copolymer, and capsules encapsulating a heat storage material ([0013], claim 1), wherein the heat storage material can be paraffin ([0035]), which reads on the claimed heat storage organic material, and reads on the claimed heat storage organic material being encapsulated in a capsule.
Takano also teaches that the capsules encapsulating a heat storage material have an amount of 1-180 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of the acrylic copolymer ([0013], claim 1). Thus, the capsules encapsulating a heat storage material of Takano can have an amount of about 1-64% by mass in the heat storage resin composition, which overlaps with the claimed range of “from 0% to 10% by mass”.
Takano also teaches that the heat storage resin composition exhibits high heat storage property, and also exhibits sufficiently stable heat storage property in repeated use ([0005]-[0006]); and the heat storage resin composition is molded into a heat storage sheet-like molded body ([0006], claim 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a heat storage composition comprising a matrix resin such as methacrylate resin and heat storage inorganic particles as taught by Tanaka, further comprising capsules encapsulating a heat storage material such as paraffin as taught by Takano, wherein the capsules encapsulating a heat storage material have an amount of about 1-64% by mass in the heat storage composition. For doing so, a person of ordinary skill in the art would make a heat storage composition having high heat storage property and sufficiently stable heat storage property in repeated use with a reasonable expectation of success, because the heat storage composition of Tanaka comprising heat storage inorganic particles, has high heat storage property and is physically stable as recognized by Tanaka, and the heat storage composition of Takano comprising capsules encapsulating a heat storage material, has high heat storage property and sufficiently stable heat storage property in repeated use as recognized by Takano.
Tanaka also teaches that the heat storage composition comprises a matrix resin ([0024]; claim 1), wherein the matrix resin can be methacrylate resin ([0028]).
Tanaka does not teach that the matrix resin is an acrylic resin polymerized from a monomer component comprising a monomer represented by the claimed formula (1), nor the matrix resin is an acrylic resin comprising a structural unit represented by the claimed formula (2).
However, Gomi teaches a heat storage agent comprising a heat storage substance (I) and a polymer (III), wherein the polymer (III) is polymerized from a monomer component (II) comprising a monomer (A) represented by general formula (2):
when R4 is CH3, R5 is H or an alkyl group, R6 is H, CH3 or C2H5, n is 1 to 50 ([0005], [0009]-[0014]; claims 1-5), which reads on the claimed acrylic resin polymerized from a monomer component comprising a monomer represented by the claimed formula (1) when R1 represents a methyl group, and R2 represents a monovalent group having a polyoxyalkylene chain; and also reads on the claimed acrylic resin comprising a structural unit represented by the claimed formula (2) when R3 represents a methyl group, and R4 represents a monovalent group having a polyoxyalkylene chain.
The polymer (III) as taught by Gomi is a methacrylate resin, which reads on the methacrylate resin as a matrix resin in Tanaka.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the methacrylate polymer which is polymerized from a monomer component comprising a monomer (A) represented by general formula (2) as taught by Gomi as the matrix resin which is a methacrylate resin as taught by Tanaka, in order to make a heat storage composition with a reasonable expectation of success, because the methacrylate polymer as taught by Gomi and the methacrylate resin as taught by Tanaka both work as a resin to form a heat storage composition as art recognized. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 3-5, Gomi teaches that the polymer (III) is polymerized from a monomer component (II), wherein the monomer component (II) comprises a monomer (A) ([0009]-[0014]; claims 1-5), the monomer component (II) also comprises a reactive monomer (C) having a condensable functional group (X), wherein the condensable functional group (X) includes a carboxyl group, a hydroxyl group, an isocyanate group, an amino group, and/or an epoxy group ([0025], [0026]).
The reactive monomer (C) having a condensable functional group (X) of Gomi reads on the claimed additional monomer having a reactive group.
The condensable functional group (X) in the reactive monomer (C) of Gomi reads on the claimed reactive group.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the limitation “capable of reacting with the reactive group” is an intended use/result and does not add structural difference, thus the intended use/result is extended little patentable weight. See MPEP § 2112.02.
Gomi teaches that a crosslinkable condensation agent (D) having a condensable functional group (Y) is added into the composition, wherein the condensable functional group (Y) of the crosslinkable condensation agent (D) condenses with the condensable functional group (X) of the reactive monomer (C) ([0026]).
Gomi also teaches that the crosslinkable condensation agent (D) can be a phenol based crosslinking agent, an amine based crosslinking agent, and/or an acid anhydride based crosslinking agent ([0028]), which reads on the claimed curing agent.
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka teaches that the heat storage inorganic particles are preferably vanadium dioxide ([0025]; Table 1, Ex. 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Tanaka teaches that the heat storage sheet is made from a heat storage composition, wherein the heat storage composition comprises a matrix resin and heat storage inorganic particles ([0024]; claim 1). The heat storage sheet in Tanaka reads on the claimed heat storage material.
Tanaka also teaches that the matrix resin comprises a base polymer component, and a crosslinking component ([0029]-[0032]), wherein the base polymer component reacts with the crosslinking component to form a cured product ([0045]).
Tanaka further teaches that the compounds including the base polymer component, the crosslinking component, and the heat storage inorganic particles are poured into a metal frame and are cured to form a heat storage sheet ([0088]), which reads on the claimed heat storage material comprising a cured product of the resin composition.
Furthermore, Gomi teaches that when manufacturing the heat storage material, the heat storage agent raw material including a heat storage substance, a monomer component (II) comprising a monomer (A) and a reactive monomer (C), and crosslinkable condensation agent (D) is filled in the container, and cured (polymerization and crosslinking of the polymer) in the container ([0016], [0037]), which reads on the claimed heat storage material comprising a cured product of the resin composition.
Regarding claim 13, Tanaka teaches that the heat storage sheet is made from a heat storage composition, wherein the heat storage composition comprises a matrix resin and heat storage inorganic particles ([0024]; claim 1).
Tanaka also teaches that the matrix resin comprises a base polymer component, and a crosslinking component ([0029]-[0032]), wherein the base polymer component reacts with the crosslinking component to form a cured product ([0045]).
Tanaka further teaches that the compounds including the base polymer component, the crosslinking component, and the heat storage inorganic particles are poured into a metal frame and are cured to form a heat storage sheet ([0088]). Thus, the heat storage sheet of Tanaka comprises a cured product of the heat storage composition.
Tanaka further teaches that a heat diffusion measuring apparatus comprising a ceramic heater and a heat storage sheet, wherein the heat storage sheet is placed on the ceramic heater ([0066], Fig. 2A), which reads on the claimed cured product of the resin composition being in thermal contact with the heat source.
The ceramic heater in Tanaka reads on the claimed heat source. The heat diffusion measuring apparatus in Tanaka reads on the claimed article.
Regarding claim 14, Gomi teaches that the polymer (III) is polymerized from a monomer component (II), wherein the monomer component (II) comprises a monomer (A) ([0009]-[0014]; claims 1-5), the monomer component (II) also comprises a crosslinkable monomer (B) ([0023]), and the crosslinkable monomer (B) can be polyethylene glycol di (meth) acrylate ([0024]), which reads on the claimed additional monomer represented by the formula (5) when R11 and R12 are a methyl group, R13 is polyethylene glycol.
Regarding claims 15, 16, and 19, Tanaka teaches that the heat storage composition comprises a matrix resin and heat storage inorganic particles ([0024]; claim 1), wherein an amount of the heat storage inorganic particles is 10 to 2000 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the matrix resin ([0024], claim 1). Thus, the heat storage inorganic particles of Tanaka can have an amount of about 9-95% by mass in the heat storage composition, which overlaps with the claimed ranges of “80% by mass or more” and “from 63% to 81.8% by mass”.
Regarding claims 18 and 21, Takano teaches that a heat storage resin composition comprises an acrylic copolymer, and capsules encapsulating a heat storage material, wherein the capsules encapsulating a heat storage material have an amount of 1-180 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of the acrylic copolymer ([0013], claim 1). Thus, the capsules encapsulating a heat storage material of Takano can have an amount of about 1-64% by mass in the heat storage resin composition, which overlaps with the claimed range of “10% by mass or less”.
Regarding claims 23 and 24, Takano teaches that the membrane material constituting the capsule membrane is not particularly limited, and can be polyurethane ([0036]), which reads on the claimed outer shell of the capsule being formed of a urethane resin.
2. Claims 1-8 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2017/0043553 A1, hereinafter Tanaka) in view of Gomi (JP H1180723 A, hereinafter Gomi).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 17, and 20, the limitation “a content of the heat storage organic material is 0% to 10% by mass or less” includes “0% by mass”.
Tanaka teaches a heat storage composition comprising a matrix resin and heat storage inorganic particles ([0024]; claim 1), wherein the matrix resin can be methacrylate resin ([0028]), the heat storage inorganic particles are preferably vanadium dioxide ([0025]; Table 1, Ex. 1-2).
Tanaka also teaches that an amount of the heat storage inorganic particles is 10 to 2000 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the matrix resin ([0024], claim 1). Thus, the heat storage inorganic particles of Tanaka can have an amount of about 9-95% by mass in the heat storage composition, which overlaps with the claimed ranges of “50% by mass or more”.
Tanaka also teaches that the heat storage composition can comprise 0% by mass of a heat storage organic material (Table 1, Ex. 1-2; Table 2, Ex. 3-5; [0024]; claim 1), which falls within the claimed ranges of “0% to 10% by mass”, and reads on the claimed content of the heat storage organic material being 0% by mass based on the total amount of the resin composition.
Tanaka does not teach that the matrix resin is an acrylic resin polymerized from a monomer component comprising a monomer represented by the claimed formula (1), nor the matrix resin is an acrylic resin comprising a structural unit represented by the claimed formula (2).
However, Gomi teaches a heat storage agent comprising a heat storage substance (I) and a polymer (III), wherein the polymer (III) is polymerized from a monomer component (II) comprising a monomer (A) represented by general formula (2):
when R4 is CH3, R5 is H or an alkyl group, R6 is H, CH3 or C2H5, n is 1 to 50 ([0005], [0009]-[0014]; claims 1-5), which reads on the claimed acrylic resin polymerized from a monomer component comprising a monomer represented by the claimed formula (1) when R1 represents a methyl group, and R2 represents a monovalent group having a polyoxyalkylene chain; and also reads on the claimed acrylic resin comprising a structural unit represented by the claimed formula (2) when R3 represents a methyl group, and R4 represents a monovalent group having a polyoxyalkylene chain.
The polymer (III) as taught by Gomi is a methacrylate resin, which reads on the methacrylate resin as a matrix resin in Tanaka.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the methacrylate polymer which is polymerized from a monomer component comprising a monomer (A) represented by general formula (2) as taught by Gomi as the matrix resin which is a methacrylate resin as taught by Tanaka, in order to make a heat storage composition with a reasonable expectation of success, because the methacrylate polymer as taught by Gomi and the methacrylate resin as taught by Tanaka both work as a resin to form a heat storage composition as art recognized. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 3-5, Gomi teaches that the polymer (III) is polymerized from a monomer component (II), wherein the monomer component (II) comprises a monomer (A) ([0009]-[0014]; claims 1-5), the monomer component (II) also comprises a reactive monomer (C) having a condensable functional group (X), wherein the condensable functional group (X) includes a carboxyl group, a hydroxyl group, an isocyanate group, an amino group, and/or an epoxy group ([0025], [0026]).
The reactive monomer (C) having a condensable functional group (X) of Gomi reads on the claimed additional monomer having a reactive group.
The condensable functional group (X) in the reactive monomer (C) of Gomi reads on the claimed reactive group.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the limitation “capable of reacting with the reactive group” is an intended use/result and does not add structural difference, thus the intended use/result is extended little patentable weight. See MPEP § 2112.02.
Gomi teaches that a crosslinkable condensation agent (D) having a condensable functional group (Y) is added into the composition, wherein the condensable functional group (Y) of the crosslinkable condensation agent (D) condenses with the condensable functional group (X) of the reactive monomer (C) ([0026]).
Gomi also teaches that the crosslinkable condensation agent (D) can be a phenol based crosslinking agent, an amine based crosslinking agent, and/or an acid anhydride based crosslinking agent ([0028]), which reads on the claimed curing agent.
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka teaches that the heat storage inorganic particles are preferably vanadium dioxide ([0025]; Table 1, Ex. 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Tanaka teaches that the heat storage sheet is made from a heat storage composition, wherein the heat storage composition comprises a matrix resin and heat storage inorganic particles ([0024]; claim 1). The heat storage sheet in Tanaka reads on the claimed heat storage material.
Tanaka also teaches that the matrix resin comprises a base polymer component, and a crosslinking component ([0029]-[0032]), wherein the base polymer component reacts with the crosslinking component to form a cured product ([0045]).
Tanaka further teaches that the compounds including the base polymer component, the crosslinking component, and the heat storage inorganic particles are poured into a metal frame and are cured to form a heat storage sheet ([0088]), which reads on the claimed heat storage material comprising a cured product of the resin composition.
Furthermore, Gomi teaches that when manufacturing the heat storage material, the heat storage agent raw material including a heat storage substance, a monomer component (II) comprising a monomer (A) and a reactive monomer (C), and crosslinkable condensation agent (D) is filled in the container, and cured (polymerization and crosslinking of the polymer) in the container ([0016], [0037]), which reads on the claimed heat storage material comprising a cured product of the resin composition.
Regarding claim 13, Tanaka teaches that the heat storage sheet is made from a heat storage composition, wherein the heat storage composition comprises a matrix resin and heat storage inorganic particles ([0024]; claim 1).
Tanaka also teaches that the matrix resin comprises a base polymer component, and a crosslinking component ([0029]-[0032]), wherein the base polymer component reacts with the crosslinking component to form a cured product ([0045]).
Tanaka further teaches that the compounds including the base polymer component, the crosslinking component, and the heat storage inorganic particles are poured into a metal frame and are cured to form a heat storage sheet ([0088]). Thus, the heat storage sheet of Tanaka comprises a cured product of the heat storage composition.
Tanaka further teaches that a heat diffusion measuring apparatus comprising a ceramic heater and a heat storage sheet, wherein the heat storage sheet is placed on the ceramic heater ([0066], Fig. 2A), which reads on the claimed cured product of the resin composition being in thermal contact with the heat source.
The ceramic heater in Tanaka reads on the claimed heat source. The heat diffusion measuring apparatus in Tanaka reads on the claimed article.
Regarding claim 14, Gomi teaches that the polymer (III) is polymerized from a monomer component (II), wherein the monomer component (II) comprises a monomer (A) ([0009]-[0014]; claims 1-5), the monomer component (II) also comprises a crosslinkable monomer (B) ([0023]), and the crosslinkable monomer (B) can be polyethylene glycol di (meth) acrylate ([0024]), which reads on the claimed additional monomer represented by the formula (5) when R11 and R12 are a methyl group, R13 is polyethylene glycol.
Regarding claims 15, 16, and 19, Tanaka teaches that the heat storage composition comprises a matrix resin and heat storage inorganic particles ([0024]; claim 1), wherein an amount of the heat storage inorganic particles is 10 to 2000 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the matrix resin ([0024], claim 1). Thus, the heat storage inorganic particles of Tanaka can have an amount of about 9-95% by mass in the heat storage composition, which overlaps with the claimed ranges of “80% by mass or more” and “from 63% to 81.8% by mass”.
Regarding claims 18 and 21, Tanaka teaches that the heat storage composition can comprise 0% by mass of a heat storage organic material (Table 1, Ex. 1-2; Table 2, Ex. 3-5; [0024]; claim 1), which falls within the claimed range of “10% by mass or less”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
1. Applicant argues that Tanaka clearly disfavors the inclusion of capsules (or microcapsules) in his heat storage composition; paragraph [0007] in Tanaka describes "To deal with this issue, it has been proposed that a material having the heat storage effect is microcapsulated. However, some of the microcapsules are likely to be broken when they are mixed with a matrix material, and thus the microencapsulation is not sufficient to suppress a reduction in the heat storage performance due to the repeated use."; upon reading the description of Tanaka, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be led away from attempting to include in Tanaka's heat storage composition, capsules encapsulating a heat storage organic material as may be suggested by Takano (p. 10, 2nd para).
In response, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Paragraph [0007] in Tanaka describes “some of the microcapsules are likely to be broken when they are mixed with a matrix material”. Tanaka does not teach all of the microcapsules are likely to be broken when they are mixed with a matrix material. Furthermore, Tanaka nevertheless invites the inclusion of additional components ([[0058]).
"The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2123.
Furthermore, Takano teaches that a heat storage resin composition comprises an acrylic copolymer, and capsules encapsulating a heat storage material ([0013], claim 1), wherein the heat storage material can be paraffin ([0035]), which reads on the claimed heat storage organic material, and reads on the claimed heat storage organic material being encapsulated in a capsule.
Takano also teaches that the heat storage resin composition exhibits high heat storage property, and also exhibits sufficiently stable heat storage property in repeated use ([0005]-[0006]); and the heat storage resin composition is molded into a heat storage sheet-like molded body ([0006], claim 2). Note that Takano’s disclosure that their capsule-containing heat storage resin is sufficiently used repeatedly rebuts the concern such capsules may be broken during repeated use.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a heat storage composition comprising a matrix resin such as methacrylate resin and heat storage inorganic particles as taught by Tanaka, further comprising capsules encapsulating a heat storage material such as paraffin as taught by Takano, in order to make a heat storage composition having high heat storage property and sufficiently stable heat storage property in repeated use with a reasonable expectation of success, because the heat storage composition of Tanaka comprising heat storage inorganic particles, has high heat storage property and is physically stable as recognized by Tanaka, and the heat storage composition of Takano comprising capsules encapsulating a heat storage material, has high heat storage property and sufficiently stable heat storage property in repeated use as recognized by Takano. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
2. Applicant argues that Takano's composition contains no heat storage inorganic material; by contrast, the heat storage composition of Tanaka requires heat storage inorganic particles such as VO2; it would not have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the capsules of Takano in the heat storage composition of Tanaka in order to impart the claimed stable heat storage properties to Tanaka's composition; in view of the results demonstrated in Takano (see, for example, Tables 5 and 6), he has not shown that his heat storage compositions can exhibit similar heat storage properties if any heat storage inorganic material is included or that his heat storage compositions are even compatible with the presence of any heat storage inorganic material therein; therefore, the asserted effect of the "stable heat storage properties after repeated use" is believed to be confined to those compositions evaluated by Takano, which contain no heat inorganic material (p. 11, 1st para).
In response, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Firstly, Applicant is reminded of In re Kerkhoven, which affirmed that "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose....[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art". In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205, USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2144.06.
The heat storage composition of Tanaka comprising a matrix resin such as methacrylate resin and heat storage inorganic particles, has high heat storage property and is physically stable (Tanaka’s [0008], [0024], [0028], claim 1).
The heat storage composition of Takano comprising an acrylic copolymer and capsules encapsulating a heat storage material such as paraffin, also has high heat storage property and has sufficiently stable heat storage property in repeated use (Takano’s [0005], [0006], [0013], [0035], claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make a heat storage composition comprising a matrix resin such as methacrylate resin and heat storage inorganic particles as taught by Tanaka, further comprising capsules encapsulating a heat storage material such as paraffin as taught by Takano, in order to make a heat storage composition having high heat storage property and sufficiently stable heat storage property in repeated use with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Secondly, Takano also teaches that the heat storage composition comprising an acrylic copolymer and capsules encapsulating a heat storage material such as paraffin ([0013], [0035], claim 1), can further comprise an inorganic filler ([0047]).
Thus, the capsules encapsulating a heat storage material as taught by Takano can be combined with inorganic materials in the heat storage composition.
Conclusion
/JIAJIA JANIE CAI/Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/MATTHEW R DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761