This action is responsive to Applicant's amendments/remarks filed 09/03/2025.
Claims 1-9 and 12-22 are currently pending and under examination.
The rejection of claims 1-8, 10 and 12-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomi (JP H1180723 A, hereinafter Gomi) in view of Iwasaki (JP 2019006864 A, published on Jan. 17, 2019, hereinafter Iwasaki) is withdrawn in view of the above amendments.
The rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomi (JP H1180723 A, hereinafter Gomi) in view of Iwasaki (JP 2019006864 A, published on Jan. 17, 2019, hereinafter Iwasaki), and further in view of Takano (JP 2007031610 A, hereinafter Takano) is withdrawn in view of the above amendments.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-8 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2017/0043553 A1, hereinafter Tanaka) in view of Gomi (JP H1180723 A, hereinafter Gomi).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 8, and 15-21, Tanaka teaches a heat storage composition comprising a matrix resin and heat storage inorganic particles ([0024]; claim 1), wherein the matrix resin can be methacrylate resin ([0028]), the heat storage inorganic particles are preferably vanadium dioxide ([0025]; Table 1, Ex. 1-2).
Tanaka also teaches that the amount of the heat storage inorganic particles is 10 to 2000 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the matrix resin ([0024]). Thus, the heat storage inorganic particles of Tanaka has an amount of from 9% to 95% by mass in the heat storage composition, which overlaps with the claimed ranges of “50% by mass or more”, “80% by mass or more”, and “from 63% to 81.8% by mass”.
Tanaka teaches that the heat storage composition can comprise 0% by mass of a heat storage organic material (Table 1, Ex. 1-2; Table 2, Ex. 3-5; [0024]; claim 1), which falls within the claimed ranges of “from 0% to 10% by mass” and “10% by mass or less”, and reads on the claimed heat storage organic material being 0% by mass based on the total amount of the resin composition.
Tanaka does not teach that the matrix resin is an acrylic resin polymerized from a monomer component comprising a monomer represented by the claimed formula (1), nor an acrylic resin comprising a structural unit represented by the claimed formula (2).
However, Gomi teaches a heat storage agent comprising a heat storage substance (I) and a polymer (III), wherein the polymer (III) is polymerized from a monomer component (II) comprising a monomer (A) represented by general formula (2):
when R4 is CH3, R5 is H or an alkyl group, R6 is H, CH3 or C2H5, n is 1 to 50 (para [0005], [0009]-[0014]; claims 1-5), which reads on the claimed acrylic resin polymerized from a monomer component comprising a monomer represented by the claimed formula (1) when R1 represents a methyl group, and R2 represents a monovalent group having a polyoxyalkylene chain; and also reads on the claimed acrylic resin comprising a structural unit represented by the claimed formula (2) when R3 represents a methyl group, and R4 represents a monovalent group having a polyoxyalkylene chain.
The polymer (III) as taught by Gomi is a methacrylate resin, which reads on the methacrylate resin as a matrix resin in Tanaka.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the methacrylate polymer which is polymerized from a monomer component comprising a monomer (A) represented by general formula (2) as taught by Gomi as the matrix resin which is a methacrylate resin as taught by Tanaka, in order to make a heat storage composition with a reasonable expectation of success, because the methacrylate polymer as taught by Gomi and the methacrylate resin as taught by Tanaka both work as a resin to form a heat storage composition as art recognized. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 3-5, Gomi teaches that the polymer (III) is polymerized from a monomer component (II), wherein the monomer component (II) comprises a monomer (A) ([0009]-[0014]; claims 1-5), the monomer component (II) also comprises a reactive monomer (C) having a condensable functional group (X), wherein the condensable functional group (X) includes a carboxyl group, a hydroxyl group, an isocyanate group, an amino group, and/or an epoxy group (para [0025], [0026]).
The reactive monomer (C) having a condensable functional group (X) of Gomi reads on the claimed additional monomer having a reactive group.
The condensable functional group (X) in the reactive monomer (C) of Gomi reads on the claimed reactive group.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Gomi teaches that a crosslinkable condensation agent (D) having a condensable functional group (Y) is added into the composition, wherein the condensable functional group (Y) of the crosslinkable condensation agent (D) condenses with the condensable functional group (X) of the reactive monomer (C) (para [0026]).
Gomi also teaches that the crosslinkable condensation agent (D) can be a phenol based crosslinking agent, an amine based crosslinking agent, and/or an acid anhydride based crosslinking agent (para [0028]), which reads on the claimed curing agent.
Regarding claim 12, Tanaka teaches that the heat storage sheet is made from a heat storage composition, wherein the heat storage composition comprises a matrix resin and heat storage inorganic particles ([0024]; claim 1). The heat storage sheet in Tanaka reads on the claimed heat storage material.
Tanaka also teaches that the matrix resin comprises a base polymer component, and a crosslinking component ([0029]-[0032]), wherein the base polymer component reacts with the crosslinking component to form a cured product ([0045]).
Tanaka further teaches that the compounds including the base polymer component, the crosslinking component, and the heat storage inorganic particles are poured into a metal frame and are cured to form a heat storage sheet ([0088]), which reads on the claimed heat storage material comprising a cured product of the resin composition.
Furthermore, Gomi teaches that when manufacturing the heat storage material, the heat storage agent raw material including a heat storage substance, a monomer component (II) comprising a monomer (A) and a reactive monomer (C), and crosslinkable condensation agent (D) is filled in the container, and cured (polymerization and crosslinking of the polymer) in the container (para [0016], [0037]), which reads on the claimed heat storage material comprising a cured product of the resin composition.
Regarding claim 13, Tanaka teaches that the heat storage sheet is made from a heat storage composition, wherein the heat storage composition comprises a matrix resin and heat storage inorganic particles ([0024]; claim 1).
Tanaka also teaches that the matrix resin comprises a base polymer component, and a crosslinking component ([0029]-[0032]), wherein the base polymer component reacts with the crosslinking component to form a cured product ([0045]).
Tanaka further teaches that the compounds including the base polymer component, the crosslinking component, and the heat storage inorganic particles are poured into a metal frame and are cured to form a heat storage sheet ([0088]). Thus, the heat storage sheet of Tanaka comprises a cured product of the heat storage composition.
Tanaka further teaches that a heat diffusion measuring apparatus comprising a ceramic heater and a heat storage sheet, wherein the heat storage sheet is placed on the ceramic heater ([0066], Fig. 2A), which reads on the claimed cured product of the resin composition being in thermal contact with the heat source.
The ceramic heater in Tanaka reads on the claimed heat source. The heat diffusion measuring apparatus in Tanaka reads on the claimed article.
Regarding claim 14, Gomi teaches that the polymer (III) is polymerized from a monomer component (II), wherein the monomer component (II) comprises a monomer (A) ([0009]-[0014]; claims 1-5), the monomer component (II) also comprises a crosslinkable monomer (B) (para [0023]), and the crosslinkable monomer (B) can be polyethylene glycol di (meth) acrylate (para [0024]), which reads on the claimed additional monomer represented by the formula (5) when R11 and R12 are a methyl group, R13 is polyethylene glycol.
2. Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2017/0043553 A1, hereinafter Tanaka) in view of Gomi (JP H1180723 A, hereinafter Gomi) as applied to claim 1-8 and 12-21 above, and further in view of Takano (JP 2007031610 A, hereinafter Takano).
The disclosure of Tanaka in view of Gomi is relied upon as set forth above.
Regarding claims 9 and 22, Tanaka teaches a heat storage composition comprising a matrix resin and heat storage inorganic particles ([0024]; claim 1), wherein the matrix resin can be methacrylate resin ([0028]), the heat storage inorganic particles are preferably vanadium dioxide ([0025]; Table 1, Ex. 1-2).
Tanaka does not teach that the heat storage composition comprises a heat storage organic material, wherein the heat storage organic material is encapsulated in a capsule.
However, Takano teaches that a heat storage resin composition comprises an acrylic copolymer, and capsules encapsulating a heat storage material (para [0013], claim 1), and the heat storage material can be paraffin (para [0035]), which reads on the claimed heat storage organic material, and reads on the claimed heat storage organic material being encapsulated in a capsule.
Takano also teaches that the capsules encapsulating a heat storage material have an amount of 1-180 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of the acrylic copolymer ([0013]). Thus, the capsules encapsulating a heat storage material of Takano can have an amount of from 1% to 64% by mass in the heat storage resin composition, which overlaps with the claimed range of “from 0% to 10% by mass”.
Takano also teaches that the heat storage resin composition exhibits high heat storage properties (para [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a heat storage composition comprising a matrix resin such as methacrylate resin and heat storage inorganic particles as taught by Tanaka, further comprising capsules encapsulating a heat storage material such as paraffin which have an amount of from 1% to 64% by mass in the heat storage composition as taught by Takano, in order to make the heat storage composition having good heat storage property with a reasonable expectation of success, because the heat storage resin composition comprising capsules encapsulating a heat storage material such as paraffin exhibits good heat storage property as recognized by Takano. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior rejections have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to all of the references being used in the current rejection. The current rejection utilizes a new reference, Tanaka (US 2017/0043553 A1), in addition to the previous references Gomi (JP H1180723 A) and Takano (JP 2007031610 A) under a new ground(s) of rejection which renders obvious the instant claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIAJIA JANIE CAI/Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761