DETAILED ACTION
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on January 15, 2026 has been entered, wherein claims 2-16, 18, 22, 27, and 30 are cancelled, claims 1 ,17,19-26,28-29 and 31-32 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 17, 24-26 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai et al. (Chai hereafter) (US 20220166584 A1) in view of Yamada et al. (Yamada937 hereafter) (US 20210175937 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Chai teaches, A wireless device configured to communicate with a network node, the wireless device configured to:
receive an indication (terminal device receives configuration information) indicating at least one Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) (indication information of a DMRS port set) parameter for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (parameters such as the random access preamble, an uplink data timing advance) in a 2-step random access procedure (FIG. 4, the 2-step random access procedure), the at least one DMRS parameter indicating a plurality of DMRS ports (uplink data on a PUSCH DMRS port specified in a protocol) (Chai; [0053] FIG. 4, the 2-step random access procedure includes… parameters such as the random access preamble, an uplink data timing advance, configuration information of an uplink resource used to send uplink data, … the terminal device sends the uplink data to the network device based on an indication of the random access response, for example, sends the uplink data on a PUSCH DMRS port specified in a protocol. [0059] S601: A terminal device receives configuration information sent by a network device, where the configuration information includes DMRS configuration information and indication information of a DMRS port set.); and
determine a subset out of the plurality of DMRS ports (The indication information of the DMRS port set is used to determine one or more available DMRS ports) indicated by the at least one DMRS parameter ( DMRS configuration information sent by the network device), for the PUSCH in the 2-step random access procedure (Chai; [0007], [0060] the DMRS configuration information sent by the network device is used to determine (a plurality of) DMRS ports that are configured by the network device for the terminal device and that may be selected into the DMRS port set, and a resource of each DMRS port that may be selected into the DMRS port set. For ease of description, “DMRS ports that may be selected into the DMRS port set” are referred to as “candidate DMRS ports” below. The candidate DMRS ports configured in the DMRS configuration information are all DMRS ports that are predefined in a protocol and that are configured by using the DMRS configuration information. The indication information of the DMRS port set is used to determine one or more available DMRS ports (which are DMRS ports that can be used to be associated with a random access preamble) in the candidate DMRS ports configured by the network device for the terminal device, to constitute the DMRS port set);
Chai fails to explicitly teach, wherein the at least one DMRS parameter indicates a plurality of DMRS sequence initializations;
selecting a DMRS sequence initialization from the plurality of DMRS sequence initialization for use with the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports;
wherein the determination of the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports is based on selecting a plurality of antenna ports from a plurality of code-division multiplexing (CDM) groups
wherein the determination of the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports includes determining a first antenna port index of a first CDM group of the plurality of CDM groups that has a smallest index value among the first CDM group
However, in the same field of endeavor Yamada937 teaches, wherein the at least one DMRS parameter (a parameter value) indicates a plurality of DMRS sequence initializations (for generation of a DMRS sequence) (Yamada937; [0138] The uplink reference signal generation unit 2033 generates a sequence determined according to a prescribed rule (formula), based on a physical cell identity…a bandwidth in which the uplink reference signal is allocated, a cyclic shift notified with the uplink grant, a parameter value for generation of a DMRS sequence, [0180] The initial value of the DMRS sequence is calculated based on at least an NID and the SCID. At most two SCIDs are configured and indicated as 0 or 1.); and
selecting (initial value of the DMRS sequence is calculated based on at least an NID and the SCID) a DMRS sequence initialization (demodulates (decodes) the PDSCH in consideration of the power ratio between the DMRS and the PDSCH according to the DMRS CDM group number with no data, and for SCID=1) from the plurality of DMRS sequence initialization for use with the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports (DMRS port group 1 is generated in a sequence at SCID=0) (Yamada937; [0180] The initial value of the DMRS sequence is calculated based on at least an NID and the SCID. At most two SCIDs are configured and indicated as 0 or 1.… SCID=0, the terminal apparatus demodulates (decodes) the PDSCH in consideration of the power ratio between the DMRS and the PDSCH according to the DMRS CDM group number with no data, and for SCID=1, the terminal apparatus demodulates (decodes) the PDSCH without considering the power ratio between the DMRS and the PDSCH. The SCID may be associated with the DMRS port group. For example, the DMRS associated with the DMRS port group 1 is generated in a sequence at SCID=0, and the DMRS associated with the DMRS port group 2 generates a sequence with SCID=1.),
wherein the determination of the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports is based on selecting a plurality of antenna ports (The OCC is used to CDM up to four DMRS antenna ports) from a plurality of code-division multiplexing (CDM) groups (DMRS configuration type 1 includes two CDM groups) (Yamada937; [0173] The OCC is used to CDM up to four DMRS antenna ports. Note that the four DMRS antenna ports CDMed are also referred to as a CDM group (DMRS CDM group). In this case, a DMRS configuration type 1 includes two CDM groups, and a DMRS configuration type 2 includes three CDM groups.),
wherein the determination of the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports includes determining a first antenna port index (1000, 1001, 1004, and 1005) of a first CDM group (CDM group 0 includes DMRS
antenna ports 1000, 1001, 1004, and 1005) of the plurality of CDM groups that has a smallest
index value among the first CDM group (Yamada937;[0173]the DMRS configuration type 1, the CDM group 0 includes DMRS antenna ports 1000, 1001, 1004, and 1005 and the CDM group 1 includes DMRS antenna ports 1002, 1003, 1006, and 1007. For the DMRS configuration type 2, the CDM group 0 includes DMRS antenna ports 1000, 1001, 1006, and 1007 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chai to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yamada937 in order to determine the power ratio between the DMRS and the PDSCH (Yamada937;[0178]).
Regarding claim 17 Chai teaches, A method implemented by a wireless device configured to communicate with a network node, the method comprising:
receiving an indication (terminal device receives configuration information) indicating at least one Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) (indication information of a DMRS port set) parameter for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (parameters such as the random access preamble, an uplink data timing advance) in a 2-step random access procedure (FIG. 4, the 2-step random access procedure), the at least one DMRS parameter indicating a plurality of DMRS ports (uplink data on a PUSCH DMRS port specified in a protocol) (Chai; [0053] FIG. 4, the 2-step random access procedure includes… parameters such as the random access preamble, an uplink data timing advance, configuration information of an uplink resource used to send uplink data, … the terminal device sends the uplink data to the network device based on an indication of the random access response, for example, sends the uplink data on a PUSCH DMRS port specified in a protocol. [0059] S601: A terminal device receives configuration information sent by a network device, where the configuration information includes DMRS configuration information and indication information of a DMRS port set.); and
determining a subset out of the plurality of DMRS ports (The indication information of the DMRS port set is used to determine one or more available DMRS ports) indicated by the at least one DMRS parameter ( DMRS configuration information sent by the network device), for the PUSCH in the 2-step random access procedure (Chai; [0007], [0060] the DMRS configuration information sent by the network device is used to determine (a plurality of) DMRS ports that are configured by the network device for the terminal device and that may be selected into the DMRS port set, and a resource of each DMRS port that may be selected into the DMRS port set. For ease of description, “DMRS ports that may be selected into the DMRS port set” are referred to as “candidate DMRS ports” below. The candidate DMRS ports configured in the DMRS configuration information are all DMRS ports that are predefined in a protocol and that are configured by using the DMRS configuration information. The indication information of the DMRS port set is used to determine one or more available DMRS ports (which are DMRS ports that can be used to be associated with a random access preamble) in the candidate DMRS ports configured by the network device for the terminal device, to constitute the DMRS port set);
Chai fails to explicitly teach, wherein the at least one DMRS parameter indicates a plurality of DMRS sequence initializations;
selecting a DMRS sequence initialization from the plurality of DMRS sequence initialization for use with the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports;
wherein the determination of the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports is based on selecting a plurality of antenna ports from a plurality of code-division multiplexing (CDM) groups
wherein the determination of the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports includes determining a first antenna port index of a first CDM group of the plurality of CDM groups that has a smallest index value among the first CDM group
However, in the same field of endeavor Yamada937 teaches, wherein the at least one DMRS parameter (a parameter value) indicates a plurality of DMRS sequence initializations (for generation of a DMRS sequence) (Yamada937; [0138] The uplink reference signal generation unit 2033 generates a sequence determined according to a prescribed rule (formula), based on a physical cell identity…a bandwidth in which the uplink reference signal is allocated, a cyclic shift notified with the uplink grant, a parameter value for generation of a DMRS sequence, [0180] The initial value of the DMRS sequence is calculated based on at least an NID and the SCID. At most two SCIDs are configured and indicated as 0 or 1.); and
selecting (initial value of the DMRS sequence is calculated based on at least an NID and the SCID) a DMRS sequence initialization (demodulates (decodes) the PDSCH in consideration of the power ratio between the DMRS and the PDSCH according to the DMRS CDM group number with no data, and for SCID=1) from the plurality of DMRS sequence initialization for use with the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports (DMRS port group 1 is generated in a sequence at SCID=0) (Yamada937; [0180] The initial value of the DMRS sequence is calculated based on at least an NID and the SCID. At most two SCIDs are configured and indicated as 0 or 1.… SCID=0, the terminal apparatus demodulates (decodes) the PDSCH in consideration of the power ratio between the DMRS and the PDSCH according to the DMRS CDM group number with no data, and for SCID=1, the terminal apparatus demodulates (decodes) the PDSCH without considering the power ratio between the DMRS and the PDSCH. The SCID may be associated with the DMRS port group. For example, the DMRS associated with the DMRS port group 1 is generated in a sequence at SCID=0, and the DMRS associated with the DMRS port group 2 generates a sequence with SCID=1.),
wherein the determination of the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports is based on selecting a plurality of antenna ports (The OCC is used to CDM up to four DMRS antenna ports) from a plurality of code-division multiplexing (CDM) groups (DMRS configuration type 1 includes two CDM groups) (Yamada937; [0173] The OCC is used to CDM up to four DMRS antenna ports. Note that the four DMRS antenna ports CDMed are also referred to as a CDM group (DMRS CDM group). In this case, a DMRS configuration type 1 includes two CDM groups, and a DMRS configuration type 2 includes three CDM groups.),
wherein the determination of the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports includes determining a first antenna port index (1000, 1001, 1004, and 1005) of a first CDM group (CDM group 0 includes DMRS
antenna ports 1000, 1001, 1004, and 1005) of the plurality of CDM groups that has a smallest
index value among the first CDM group (Yamada937;[0173]the DMRS configuration type 1, the CDM group 0 includes DMRS antenna ports 1000, 1001, 1004, and 1005 and the CDM group 1 includes DMRS antenna ports 1002, 1003, 1006, and 1007. For the DMRS configuration type 2, the CDM group 0 includes DMRS antenna ports 1000, 1001, 1006, and 1007 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chai to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yamada937 in order to determine the power ratio between the DMRS and the PDSCH (Yamada937;[0178]).
Regarding claim 26 Chai teaches, A method implemented by a wireless device configured to communicate with a network node, the method comprising:
signaling an indication (terminal device receives configuration information) indicating at least one Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) (indication information of a DMRS port set) parameter for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (parameters such as the random access preamble, an uplink data timing advance) in a 2-step random access procedure (FIG. 4, the 2-step random access procedure), the at least one DMRS parameter indicating a plurality of DMRS ports (uplink data on a PUSCH DMRS port specified in a protocol) (Chai; [0053] FIG. 4, the 2-step random access procedure includes… parameters such as the random access preamble, an uplink data timing advance, configuration information of an uplink resource used to send uplink data, … the terminal device sends the uplink data to the network device based on an indication of the random access response, for example, sends the uplink data on a PUSCH DMRS port specified in a protocol. [0059] S601: A terminal device receives configuration information sent by a network device, where the configuration information includes DMRS configuration information and indication information of a DMRS port set.); and
receiving a physical channel in the 2-step random access procedure according to a subset of the plurality of DMRS ports indicated (The indication information of the DMRS port set is used to determine one or more available DMRS ports) by the at least one DMRS parameter (( DMRS configuration information sent by the network device),) for the PUSCH in the 2-step random access procedure (DMRS ports that can be used to be associated with a random access preamble) (Chai; [0007], [0060] the DMRS configuration information sent by the network device is used to determine (a plurality of) DMRS ports that are configured by the network device for the terminal device and that may be selected into the DMRS port set, and a resource of each DMRS port that may be selected into the DMRS port set. For ease of description, “DMRS ports that may be selected into the DMRS port set” are referred to as “candidate DMRS ports” below. The candidate DMRS ports configured in the DMRS configuration information are all DMRS ports that are predefined in a protocol and that are configured by using the DMRS configuration information. The indication information of the DMRS port set is used to determine one or more available DMRS ports (which are DMRS ports that can be used to be associated with a random access preamble) in the candidate DMRS ports configured by the network device for the terminal device, to constitute the DMRS port set);
Chai fails to explicitly teach, wherein the at least one DMRS parameter indicates a plurality of DMRS sequence initializations;
selecting a DMRS sequence initialization from the plurality of DMRS sequence initialization for use with the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports;
wherein the determination of the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports is based on selecting a plurality of antenna ports from a plurality of code-division multiplexing (CDM) groups
wherein the determination of the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports includes determining a first antenna port index of a first CDM group of the plurality of CDM groups that has a smallest index value among the first CDM group
However, in the same field of endeavor Yamada937 teaches, wherein the at least one DMRS parameter (a parameter value) indicates a plurality of DMRS sequence initializations (for generation of a DMRS sequence) (Yamada937; [0138] The uplink reference signal generation unit 2033 generates a sequence determined according to a prescribed rule (formula), based on a physical cell identity…a bandwidth in which the uplink reference signal is allocated, a cyclic shift notified with the uplink grant, a parameter value for generation of a DMRS sequence, [0180] The initial value of the DMRS sequence is calculated based on at least an NID and the SCID. At most two SCIDs are configured and indicated as 0 or 1.); and
wherein the at least one DMRS parameter indicates a plurality of DMRS sequence initializations, wherein the physical channel in the 2-step random access procedure being received according to a subset of the plurality of DMRS sequence initializations, (Yamada937; [0180] The initial value of the DMRS sequence is calculated based on at least an NID and the SCID. At most two SCIDs are configured and indicated as 0 or 1.… SCID=0, the terminal apparatus demodulates (decodes) the PDSCH in consideration of the power ratio between the DMRS and the PDSCH according to the DMRS CDM group number with no data, and for SCID=1, the terminal apparatus demodulates (decodes) the PDSCH without considering the power ratio between the DMRS and the PDSCH. The SCID may be associated with the DMRS port group. For example, the DMRS associated with the DMRS port group 1 is generated in a sequence at SCID=0, and the DMRS associated with the DMRS port group 2 generates a sequence with SCID=1.),
wherein the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports is determined based on selecting a plurality of antenna ports (The OCC is used to CDM up to four DMRS antenna ports) from a plurality of code-division multiplexing (CDM) groups (DMRS configuration type 1 includes two CDM groups) (Yamada937; [0173] The OCC is used to CDM up to four DMRS antenna ports. Note that the four DMRS antenna ports CDMed are also referred to as a CDM group (DMRS CDM group). In this case, a DMRS configuration type 1 includes two CDM groups, and a DMRS configuration type 2 includes three CDM groups.),
wherein the determination of the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports includes determining a first antenna port index (1000, 1001, 1004, and 1005) of a first CDM group (CDM group 0 includes DMRS
antenna ports 1000, 1001, 1004, and 1005) of the plurality of CDM groups that has a smallest
index value among the first CDM group (Yamada937;[0173]the DMRS configuration type 1, the CDM group 0 includes DMRS antenna ports 1000, 1001, 1004, and 1005 and the CDM group 1 includes DMRS antenna ports 1002, 1003, 1006, and 1007. For the DMRS configuration type 2, the CDM group 0 includes DMRS antenna ports 1000, 1001, 1006, and 1007 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chai to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yamada937 in order to determine the power ratio between the DMRS and the PDSCH (Yamada937;[0178]).
Regarding claim 24 Chai-Yamada937 teaches the method of Claim 17,
Chai further teaches, further comprising causing transmission of a physical channel in the 2-step random access procedure according to the determined subset of the plurality of DMRS ports (Chai; [0094] the configuration information includes indication information of a plurality of DMRS port sets, after determining the random access preamble, the terminal device may randomly select a target DMRS port set from the plurality of DMRS port sets,).
Regarding claim 25 and 32 Chai-Yamada937 teaches the method of Claims 17 and 26,
Chai further teaches, wherein the transmission of the physical channel in the 2-step random access procedure corresponds to transmission of a message A, msgA, in the PUSCH during the 2-step random access procedure (Chai; [0054] Referring to FIG. 5, the 2-step random access procedure includes the following steps. Step 1: A terminal device sends a message A (MsgA) to a network device, where the MsgA includes a random access preamble and uplink data.)..
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai-Yamada937 as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Yamada et al.(Yamada hereafter) (US 20200336355 A1)
Regarding claim 19 Chai-Yamada937 teaches the method of Claim 17,
Chai-Yamada937 fails to explicitly teach, wherein the determination of the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports includes:
determining a first antenna port index of a first CDM group of the plurality of CDM groups that has a smallest index value among the first CDM group;
selecting a first antenna port corresponding to the first antenna port index for inclusion in the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports
determining a second antenna port index of a second CDM group of the plurality of CDM groups that has a smallest index value among the second CDM group;
selecting a second antenna port corresponding to the second antenna port index for inclusion in the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports
However, in the same field of endeavor Yamada teaches, determining a first antenna port index of a first CDM group of the plurality of CDM groups that has a smallest index value among the first CDM group (Yamada; [0014] ... configured to be configure with a DMRS port group 1 and a DMRS port group 2 by radio resource control (RRC), wherein the downlink control information includes a transmit configuration indicator (TCI) for indicating a relationship between a reference signal and a DMRS port group, and in a case that the TCI includes a configuration related to the DMRS port group 1...[0015] the downlink control information includes information for indicating a scrambling identity (SCID) of a sequence of the DMRS, and whether or not to consider the powers of the DMRS and the PDSCH, based on the number of the CDM groups, is determined depending on a value of the SCID);
selecting a first antenna port corresponding to the first antenna port index for inclusion in the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports (Yamada; [0016] ...information includes information for indicating an antenna port number and the number of code division multiplexing (CDM) groups without data for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), each of the CDM groups indicates a DMRS port to be multiplexed by CDM);
determining a second antenna port index of a second CDM group of the plurality of CDM groups that has a smallest index value among the second CDM group (Yamada; [0017] ... wherein the downlink control information includes information for indicating an antenna port number and the number of code division multiplexing (CDM) groups for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), each of the CDM groups indicates a DMRS port to be multiplexed by CDM, the PDSCH is demodulated in consideration of a power ratio of the DMRS and the PDSCH, and whether or not to consider powers of the DMRS and the PDSCH, based on the number of the CDM groups, is determined based on the downlink control information); and
selecting a second antenna port corresponding to the second antenna port index for inclusion in the subset of the plurality of DMRS ports (Yamada; [0018] ... downlink control information includes information for indicating an antenna port number and the number of code division multiplexing (CDM) groups without data for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), each of the CDM groups indicates a DMRS port to be multiplexed by CDM, and the downlink control information includes information for indicating whether or not to consider powers of the DMRS and a PDSCH, based on the number of the CDM groups).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chai-Yamada937 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yamada in order to achieve ultra-high capacity communications (Yamada; [0004]).
Claims 20, 21, 23, 28, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai-Yamada937 as applied to claims 17 and 26 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (Yang hereafter) (US 20200037347 A1).
Regarding claims 20 and 28 Chai-Yamada937 teaches, the claims 17 and 26,
Chai-Yamada937 fails to explicitly teach, wherein the selection of the plurality of antenna ports includes:
interleaving the selection of the plurality of antenna ports among the plurality of CDM groups based at least on an antenna port index in each CDM group
However, in the same field of endeavor Yang teaches, interleaving the selection of the plurality of antenna ports among the plurality of CDM groups based at least on an antenna port index in each CDM group (Yang; [0096] BS 110 may indicate a DMRS port index and may indicate that, for example, that UE 120 is to use a DMRS port in the first CDM group and may indicate one or more reserve frequencies and/or tones corresponding to a second CDM group is to be used by other UEs and not by UE 120 for a particular DMRS or PUSCH transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chai-Yamada937 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yang in order to determine a DMRS port to use (Yang; [0087]).
Regarding claims 21 and 29 Chai-Yamada937 teaches, the claims 20 and 28,
Chai-Yamada937 fails to explicitly teach, wherein the interleaving of the selection of the plurality of antenna ports begins at the smallest index value of an antenna port index in each CDM group.
However, in the same field of endeavor Yang teaches, wherein the interleaving of the selection of the plurality of antenna ports begins at the smallest index value of an antenna port index in each CDM group (Yang; [0096] BS 110 may indicate a DMRS port index and may indicate that, for example, that UE 120 is to use a DMRS port in the first CDM group and may indicate one or more reserve frequencies and/or tones corresponding to a second CDM group is to be used by other UEs and not by UE 120 for a particular DMRS or PUSCH transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chai-Yamada937 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yang in order to determine a DMRS port to use (Yang; [0087]).
Regarding claims 23 and 31 Chai-Yamada937 teaches the Claims 17 and 26,
Chai-Yamada937 fails to explicitly teach wherein the selection of the DMRS sequence initialization is based on at least one of:
an index of a PUSCH resource unit
However, in the same field of endeavor Yang teaches, an index of a PUSCH resource unit (Yang; [0087] UE 120 may determine a DMRS port to use for a transmission in a transmission occasion based at least in part on a user equipment identifier or a transmission occasion index (e.g., a grant-free PUSCH occasion index value) for the transmission occasion for which the DMRS port is to be used. For example, UE 120 may determine a set of DMRS ports to use for a sequence of PUSCH transmissions, and may determine the set of DMRS ports based at least in part on the user equipment identifier and a respective transmission occasion index for each transmission at each transmission occasion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Chai-Yamada937 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yang in order to determine a DMRS port to use (Yang; [0087]).
Conclusion
/W. T/ Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416