DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, and 10-17 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended and claims 2, 3, 5, 6, and 9 were previously canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata et al. (WO2018043467) in view of Akitoshi et al. (JP2015129791) and Minegishi et al. (U.S. 2014/0120462). Translation ‘791 attached and translation of ‘467 previously provided.
Kawabata et al. teaches a resin composition containing a heterocycle-containing polymer precursor selected from a polyimide precursor and a polybenzoxazole precursor (hereinafter, simply referred to as "heterocycle-containing polymer precursor") and an acidic compound having a pKa of 4.0 or less [0011] (claim 10) and an example of the polybenzoxazole precursors include a polybenzoxazole precursor obtained from 4,4'-oxydibenzoyl chloride, 2,2'-bis(3-amino-4-hydroxyphenyl)hexafluoropropane, and methacrylic acid chloride [0054] which is equivalent to component (A) polybenzoxazole precursor represented by formula (I) of instant claim 1 when U is a divalent organic group and V is a divalent organic group. Kawabata et al. also teaches the photosensitive resin composition of the present invention may contain components other than the heterocycle-containing polymer precursor, the acidic compound having a pKa of 4.0 or less, and the photopolymerization initiator. Specific examples include solvents and polymerization inhibitors [0082] where the combined use of dimethyl sulfoxide and γ-butyrolactone is particularly preferable [0102] in which dimethyl sulfoxide is equivalent to formula (11) of instant claims 1 and 4 when R31 and R32 are alkyl groups including 1 carbon atom. Kawabata et al. further teaches the photosensitive resin composition preferably further contains a migration inhibitor. By containing a migration inhibitor, it is possible to effectively suppress the migration of metal ions derived from the metal layer (metal wiring) into the photosensitive resin composition layer [0137] and specific examples of the migration inhibitor include 1H-1,2,3-triazole and 1H-tetrazole [0140] which are equivalent to (C) a triazole derivative and tetrazole derivative respectively of instant claim 1. Kawabata et al. also teaches the photosensitive resin composition of the present invention preferably contains a metal adhesion improver for improving adhesion to metal materials used in electrodes, wiring, etc. Examples of the metal adhesion improver include a silane coupling agent. Examples of the silane coupling agent include the compounds described in paragraphs [0062]-[0073] of Japanese Patent Application No 2014-191002, the compounds described in paragraphs [0063]-[0071] of the International Disclosure WO 2011/080992 A1, the compounds described in paragraphs [0060]-[0061] of Japanese Patent Application No 2014-191252 (Takahashi), the compound described in paragraphs [0045]-[0052] of Japanese Patent Application No 2014-41264, and the compound described in paragraph [0055] of the International Publication WO 2014/097594. In addition, two or more different silane coupling agents may be used as described in paragraphs [0050]-[0058] of Japanese Patent Application No 2011-128358. In addition, the silane coupling agent preferably uses the following compound. In the following formula, Et represents an ethyl group:
[0143-0144] wherein the middle compound on the left column is equivalent to (D1) bis(2-hydroxyethyl)-3-aminopropyltriethoxysilane of instant claim 1 and the bottom compound on the left column is equivalent to (D2) 3-ureidopropyltriethoxysilane of instant claim 1. Kawabata et al. further teaches the metal adhesiveness improver may be only one or two or more. In the case of using two or more types, it is preferable that the sum thereof is the above-described range [0146].
Kawabata et al. does not teach a combination of silanes (D1), (D2), and (D3) as claimed.
However, Akitoshi et al. teaches a positive photosensitive resin composition in Examples 1-9 comprising 100 parts of a polybenzoxazole precursor A1 together with, among other components, 3 parts E1, 6 parts E2, and 0.5 parts E3 [0099] which are the following adhesion aids:
[0096] which are equivalent to (D2) 3-ureidopropyltriethoxysilane, (D1) bis(2-hydroxyethyl)-3-aminopropyltriethoxysilane, and (D3) 3-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane respectively of instant claim 1.
Akitoshi et al. fails to provide a reason for using all three adhesion aids together.
However, Minegishi et al. teaches a photosensitive resin composition comprising (a) a polybenzoxazole precursor, (b) a sensitizer, (c) a solvent, (d) a cross-linking agent, and (e) a heterocyclic compound which has a hydroxyl group, an alkoxy group or a carboxyl group within the molecule [0029] and in addition to the above-mentioned components (a) to (e), (1) a silane coupling agent, (2) a dissolution accelerator, (3) a dissolution inhibitor, (4) a surfactant or a leveling agent or the like may be compounded [0100] wherein by using a silane coupling agent having a urea bonding within the molecule in the composition of the invention, it is possible to further enhance the adhesiveness with the substrate when curing is conducted at low temperatures of 250°C or less [0101] and specific examples of the compound represented by the formula (XVII) include ureidomethyltrimethoxysilane, ureidomethyltriethoxysilane, 2-ureidoethyltrimethoxysilane, 2-ureidoethyltriethoxysilane, 3-ureidopropyltrimethoxysilane, 3-ureidopropyltriethoxysilane, 4-ureidobutyltriethoxysilane and 4-ureidobutyltriethoxysilane [0103] which are equivalent to (D2) of instant claim 1. Minegishi et al. also teaches if a silane coupling agent having a hydroxy group or a glycidyl group is used in combination with the above-mentioned silane coupling agent having a urea bonding within the molecule, adhesiveness of a cured film to a substrate at the time of curing at low temperatures is further improved [0104] and as such a silane coupling agent, glycidoxymethyltrimethoxysilane, glycidoxymethyltriethoxysilane, 2-glycidoxyethyltrimethoxysilane, 2-glycidoxyethyltriethoxysilane, 3-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane, 3-glycidoxypropyltriethoxysilane, 4-glycidoxybutyltrimethoxysilane, 4-glycidoxybutyltriethoxysiane or the like can be given [0107] which are equivalent to (D3) of instant claim 1; and the silane coupling agent containing a hydroxy group or a glycidyl group is preferably one which contains, together with a hydroxy group or a glycidyl group, a group containing a nitrogen atom, i.e. an amino group or an amide bond. As the silane coupling agent that contains an amino group, bis(2-hydroxymethyl)-3-aminopropyltriethoxysilane, bis(2-hydroxymethyl)-3-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane, bis(2-glycidoxymethyl)-3-aminopropyltriethoxysilane, bis(2-hydroxymethyl)-3-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane or the like can be mentioned [0108] which are equivalent to (D1) and (D3) of instant claim 1. Minegishi et al. also teaches when a silane coupling agent is used, the content thereof is preferably 0.1 to 20 parts by mass, more preferably 1 to 10 parts by mass, and further preferably 0.3 to 10 parts by mass, relative to 100 parts by mass of the component (a) [0109]. Kawabata et al. further teaches the content of the metal adhesiveness improver (silane coupling agent) is preferably 0.1-30 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of the heterocycle-containing polymer precursor, and more preferably in the range of 0.5-15 parts by mass. By setting to 0.1 parts by mass or more, the adhesion between the cured film and the metal layer after the curing step becomes good, and the heat resistance and mechanical characteristics of the cured film after the curing step are improved by setting the cured film to 30 parts by mass or less. The metal adhesiveness improver may be only one or two or more. In the case of using two or more types, it is preferable that the sum thereof is the above-described range [0146] which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 0.1 to 20 parts by mass, specifically 2.0 to 6.5 parts by mass of component (D1) per 100 parts by mass of component (A) (claims 7 and 8). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the specific teachings of Kawabata et al. to include three silane coupling agents as taught by Akitoshi and Minegishi in the specified amount and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention in order to achieve optimum adhesiveness to a given substrate.
With regard to claims 11-17, Kawabata et al. teaches the photosensitive resin composition can be cured and used as a cured film. Fields to which the method for producing a cured film can be applied include insulating films of semiconductor devices, particularly interlayer insulating films for rewiring layers. The photosensitive resin composition is suitable for negative development. It is also suitable for use in development using a developer containing an organic solvent. Examples of organic solvents used in the developer include organic solvents that may be added to the photosensitive resin composition, and cyclopentanone is preferred. That is a cured film obtained by curing the photosensitive resin composition, and a semiconductor device having the cured film. In addition, the present invention discloses a method for producing a cured film comprising a step of applying the photosensitive resin composition to a substrate and a step of curing the photosensitive resin composition applied to the substrate. Furthermore, the method for producing the cured film preferably includes a step of exposing the cured film and performing negative development, and it is more preferred that the development is performed using a developer containing an organic solvent. The cured film of the present invention can also be used as a photoresist for electronics (galvanic resist, etching resist, solder top resist), etc. The cured film can also be used in the manufacture of printing plates such as offset printing plates or screen printing plates, for use in etching molded parts, and in the manufacture of protective lacquers and dielectric layers in electronics, especially microelectronics, etc. Next, an embodiment of a semiconductor device using the photosensitive resin composition as an interlayer insulating film for a rewiring layer will be described. The semiconductor device 100 shown in FIG. 1 is a so-called three-dimensional mounting device, and a laminate 101 in which a plurality of semiconductor elements (semiconductor chips) 101a to 101d are laminated is disposed on a wiring board 120. In this embodiment, the number of layers of the semiconductor elements (semiconductor chips) is mainly described as four layers, but the number of layers of the semiconductor elements (semiconductor chips) is not particularly limited, and may be, for example, two layers, eight layers, sixteen layers, thirty-two layers, etc. Also, it may be one layer [0161-0162].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed March 9, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 8, and 10-17 under 103 over Kawabata have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art Akitoshi and previously cited prior art Minegishi together with Kawabata.
Conclusion
/Anna Malloy/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737