Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 21, 31, 34-35, and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0145167), herein referred to as “Jung”, in view of Wong et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0279559), herein referred to as “Wong”. The Jung reference has support and claims priority to provisional application 62/755407.
Regarding Claim 1,
Jung discloses: A method implemented in a wireless device, WD, the method comprising: removing a candidate physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource from a subslot of a slot in response to an overlap of PUCCH resources in a subslot of the slot, the slot divided into multiple subslots different from one another
[0029] FIG. 2 is an example illustration 200 of PUCCH and PUSCH resources in a slot according to a possible embodiment. In the illustration 200, a UE can perform periodic Channel State Information (CSI), Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH), Aperiodic CSI (A-CSI), and 4 HARQ-ACK transmissions within a slot. Each HARQ-ACK transmission can have an associated forced ending indication. That is, a first, second, third, and fourth HARQ-ACK transmissions can end no later than the end of first, second, third, and fourth time intervals within the slot, respectively. The first, second, third, and fourth time intervals can be considered subslots. In the first timing test, the UE can exclude PUCCH resource 1 for periodic CSI from a group of PUCCH resources, such as PUCCH resources 1-5, to satisfy the forced ending condition for the first HARQ-ACK transmission in PUCCH resource 1. Although PUCCH resources 2 and 3 overlap with PUSCH resource 1, the UE may not multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 1, but can drop transmission on PUSCH resource 1 to satisfy forced ending condition of the first HARQ-ACK transmission. For the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission associated with PUCCH resource 5, the UE can multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 2, as PUSCH resource 2 satisfies the forced ending condition for the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission. For example, the UE may not transmit in PUCCH resource 5, but can instead transmit in PUSCH resource 2.
the candidate PUCCH resource starting at a first subslot of the multiple subslots of the slot and extending to a next subslot of the multiple subslots of the slot to thereby causing the overlap of PUCCH resources
[0029] FIG. 2 is an example illustration 200 of PUCCH and PUSCH resources in a slot according to a possible embodiment. In the illustration 200, a UE can perform periodic Channel State Information (CSI), Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH), Aperiodic CSI (A-CSI), and 4 HARQ-ACK transmissions within a slot. Each HARQ-ACK transmission can have an associated forced ending indication. That is, a first, second, third, and fourth HARQ-ACK transmissions can end no later than the end of first, second, third, and fourth time intervals within the slot, respectively. The first, second, third, and fourth time intervals can be considered subslots. In the first timing test, the UE can exclude PUCCH resource 1 for periodic CSI from a group of PUCCH resources, such as PUCCH resources 1-5, to satisfy the forced ending condition for the first HARQ-ACK transmission in PUCCH resource 1. Although PUCCH resources 2 and 3 overlap with PUSCH resource 1, the UE may not multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 1, but can drop transmission on PUSCH resource 1 to satisfy forced ending condition of the first HARQ-ACK transmission. For the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission associated with PUCCH resource 5, the UE can multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 2, as PUSCH resource 2 satisfies the forced ending condition for the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission. For example, the UE may not transmit in PUCCH resource 5, but can instead transmit in PUSCH resource 2.
Note: According to Figure 2, PUCCH Resource 1 overlaps with PUCCH Resources 2 and 3, but starts at the first interval (the first subslot), and extends across to the second subslot.
Jung does not explicitly disclose the remaining limitations of this claim.
However, Wong discloses transmitting a first uplink control information (UCI) message selected for transmission from within the overlapping PUCCH resources in the first subslot of the slot, the first UCI message assigned with a first priority, and discarding to resolve the overlap, second UCI message for transmission within the overlapping PUCCH resources, the second UCI message assigned with a second priority lower than the first priority.
[0125] FIG. 13 schematically shows a portion of an uplink radio resource grid representing radio resources in time (horizontal axis) and frequency (vertical axis) for one example implementation of an approach according to an example of the disclosure. FIG. 13 schematically shows radio resources scheduled for use by a terminal device for UCI in an example scenario during a period spanning two slots (identified in FIG. 13 as slots n and n+1)/four sub-slots (identified in FIG. 13 as sub-slots m to m+3). In this example it is assumed a first PUCCH (which in this example is assumed to be for an SR UCI) is scheduled between times t2 and t5 (i.e. it spans the boundary between sub-slots m and m+1 in slot n), a second PUCCH (which in this example is assumed to be for a HARQ-ACK UCI, labelled HARQ-ACK UCI1) is scheduled between times t4 and t6 (which is in sub-slot m+1 in slot n), and a third PUCCH (which in this example is assumed to be for another HARQ-ACK UCI, labelled HARQ-ACK UCI2) is scheduled between times t1 and t3 (which is in sub-slot m in slot n). Because the radio resources defined by the first PUCCH for the SR UCI overlaps with both of the radio resources defined by the second PUCCH for HARQ-ACK UCI1 and the third PUCCH for HARQ-ACK UCI2, the terminal device determines whether and how to multiplex the SR UCI with a selected one of HARQ-ACK UCI1 and HARQ-ACK UCI2 in accordance with the principles disclosed herein and transmits the resulting multiplexed UCI using radio resources for the corresponding PUCCH of the selected one of HARQ-ACK UCI1 and HARQ-ACK UCI2, which in this example is assumed to be the second PUCCH (for HARQ-ACK UCI1), as schematically indicated by the surrounding dotted-line. Thus for some implementations, when there is an overlap between a first set of radio resources for a first UCI and both a second set of radio resources for a second UCI and a third set of radio resources for a third UCI, the selected set of radio resources for transmitting the multiplexed UCI may be the later in time of the second set of radio resources and the third set of radio resources. This allows for the multiplexed UCI to be transmitted later than if the selected set of radio resources for transmitting the multiplexed UCI were the earlier in time of the second set of radio resources and the third set of radio resources. One application of this approach would be to select the third PUCCH, as opposed to the second PUCCH, to implicitly indicate the SR priority. For example, if the SR priority is low, the later third PUCCH may be used, but if the SR priority is high, the earlier second PUCCH may be used instead. The network may then blind decode for the presence of the SR in the second and third PUCCH.
[0132] In one example, the decision on whether or not to multiplex the SR UCI and the HARQ-ACK UCI onto one or other of the first PUCCH and second PUCCH may take account of the resulting code rate for the multiplexed UCI on the selected PUCCH (which may be referred to herein as the multiplexed PUCCH). For example, if the code rate of the multiplexed PUCCH would be lower or equal to a predetermined threshold code rate (i.e. the code rate that would be applied to the 3rd PUCCH after the multiplexing operation is lower or equal to a predetermined value), the UCIs may be multiplexed and transmitted on the multiplexed PUCCH. In one example the predetermined threshold code rate is the lower of a code rate associated with the SR UCI (if transmitted on the first PUCCH) and a code rate associated with the HARQ-ACK UCI (if it were transmitted on the first PUCCH). In a case where none of the PUCCH can meet the code rate threshold, then the terminal device may select the lower priority UCI to drop/compress.
Note: Referring to Figure 13 of this reference, the first UCI is the SR UCI/1st PUCCH, the second UCI is the HARQ-ACK UCI1/2nd PUCCH, and the third UCI is the 3rd PUCCH/HARQ-ACK UCI2. There is overlapping/interference/conflict in the slot between these three entities. The comparison is in terms of SR priority, where the 2nd or 3rd UCI may be selected, but the higher priority is transmitted. Paragraph [0132] shows the condition of how the UCI can be dropped based on the PUCCH.
Jung and Wong are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jun to include the concept of transmitting UCI from an overlapping PUCCH resource in a subslot based on priority levels as taught by Wong so as to resolve potential communication conflicts within the network.
Regarding Claim 11,
Jung discloses: A method implemented in a network node, the method comprising: receiving a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, a PUCCH resource used for the PUCCH transmission being based at least in part on a removal of a candidate PUCCH resource from a subslot of a slot, the slot divided into multiple subslots different from each other
[0029] FIG. 2 is an example illustration 200 of PUCCH and PUSCH resources in a slot according to a possible embodiment. In the illustration 200, a UE can perform periodic Channel State Information (CSI), Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH), Aperiodic CSI (A-CSI), and 4 HARQ-ACK transmissions within a slot. Each HARQ-ACK transmission can have an associated forced ending indication. That is, a first, second, third, and fourth HARQ-ACK transmissions can end no later than the end of first, second, third, and fourth time intervals within the slot, respectively. The first, second, third, and fourth time intervals can be considered subslots. In the first timing test, the UE can exclude PUCCH resource 1 for periodic CSI from a group of PUCCH resources, such as PUCCH resources 1-5, to satisfy the forced ending condition for the first HARQ-ACK transmission in PUCCH resource 1. Although PUCCH resources 2 and 3 overlap with PUSCH resource 1, the UE may not multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 1, but can drop transmission on PUSCH resource 1 to satisfy forced ending condition of the first HARQ-ACK transmission. For the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission associated with PUCCH resource 5, the UE can multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 2, as PUSCH resource 2 satisfies the forced ending condition for the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission. For example, the UE may not transmit in PUCCH resource 5, but can instead transmit in PUSCH resource 2.
the PUCCH resource used for the PUCCH transmission being based at least in part on the removal of the candidate PUCCH resource, the candidate PUCCH resource starting at a first subslot of the multiple subslots of the slot and extending to a next subslot of the slot thereby causing the overlap
[0029] FIG. 2 is an example illustration 200 of PUCCH and PUSCH resources in a slot according to a possible embodiment. In the illustration 200, a UE can perform periodic Channel State Information (CSI), Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH), Aperiodic CSI (A-CSI), and 4 HARQ-ACK transmissions within a slot. Each HARQ-ACK transmission can have an associated forced ending indication. That is, a first, second, third, and fourth HARQ-ACK transmissions can end no later than the end of first, second, third, and fourth time intervals within the slot, respectively. The first, second, third, and fourth time intervals can be considered subslots. In the first timing test, the UE can exclude PUCCH resource 1 for periodic CSI from a group of PUCCH resources, such as PUCCH resources 1-5, to satisfy the forced ending condition for the first HARQ-ACK transmission in PUCCH resource 1. Although PUCCH resources 2 and 3 overlap with PUSCH resource 1, the UE may not multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 1, but can drop transmission on PUSCH resource 1 to satisfy forced ending condition of the first HARQ-ACK transmission. For the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission associated with PUCCH resource 5, the UE can multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 2, as PUSCH resource 2 satisfies the forced ending condition for the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission. For example, the UE may not transmit in PUCCH resource 5, but can instead transmit in PUSCH resource 2.
Note: According to Figure 2, PUCCH Resource 1 overlaps with PUCCH Resources 2 and 3, but starts at the first interval (the first subslot), and extends across to the second subslot.
Jung does not explicitly disclose the remaining limitations of this claim.
However, Wong discloses receiving a first uplink control information (UCI) message for transmission from within the overlapping PUCCH resources, the first UCI message assigned with a first priority, and discarding to resolve the overlap, second UCI message for transmission within the overlapping PUCCH resources, the second UCI message assigned with a second priority lower than the first priority.
[0125] FIG. 13 schematically shows a portion of an uplink radio resource grid representing radio resources in time (horizontal axis) and frequency (vertical axis) for one example implementation of an approach according to an example of the disclosure. FIG. 13 schematically shows radio resources scheduled for use by a terminal device for UCI in an example scenario during a period spanning two slots (identified in FIG. 13 as slots n and n+1)/four sub-slots (identified in FIG. 13 as sub-slots m to m+3). In this example it is assumed a first PUCCH (which in this example is assumed to be for an SR UCI) is scheduled between times t2 and t5 (i.e. it spans the boundary between sub-slots m and m+1 in slot n), a second PUCCH (which in this example is assumed to be for a HARQ-ACK UCI, labelled HARQ-ACK UCI1) is scheduled between times t4 and t6 (which is in sub-slot m+1 in slot n), and a third PUCCH (which in this example is assumed to be for another HARQ-ACK UCI, labelled HARQ-ACK UCI2) is scheduled between times t1 and t3 (which is in sub-slot m in slot n). Because the radio resources defined by the first PUCCH for the SR UCI overlaps with both of the radio resources defined by the second PUCCH for HARQ-ACK UCI1 and the third PUCCH for HARQ-ACK UCI2, the terminal device determines whether and how to multiplex the SR UCI with a selected one of HARQ-ACK UCI1 and HARQ-ACK UCI2 in accordance with the principles disclosed herein and transmits the resulting multiplexed UCI using radio resources for the corresponding PUCCH of the selected one of HARQ-ACK UCI1 and HARQ-ACK UCI2, which in this example is assumed to be the second PUCCH (for HARQ-ACK UCI1), as schematically indicated by the surrounding dotted-line. Thus for some implementations, when there is an overlap between a first set of radio resources for a first UCI and both a second set of radio resources for a second UCI and a third set of radio resources for a third UCI, the selected set of radio resources for transmitting the multiplexed UCI may be the later in time of the second set of radio resources and the third set of radio resources. This allows for the multiplexed UCI to be transmitted later than if the selected set of radio resources for transmitting the multiplexed UCI were the earlier in time of the second set of radio resources and the third set of radio resources. One application of this approach would be to select the third PUCCH, as opposed to the second PUCCH, to implicitly indicate the SR priority. For example, if the SR priority is low, the later third PUCCH may be used, but if the SR priority is high, the earlier second PUCCH may be used instead. The network may then blind decode for the presence of the SR in the second and third PUCCH.
[0132] In one example, the decision on whether or not to multiplex the SR UCI and the HARQ-ACK UCI onto one or other of the first PUCCH and second PUCCH may take account of the resulting code rate for the multiplexed UCI on the selected PUCCH (which may be referred to herein as the multiplexed PUCCH). For example, if the code rate of the multiplexed PUCCH would be lower or equal to a predetermined threshold code rate (i.e. the code rate that would be applied to the 3rd PUCCH after the multiplexing operation is lower or equal to a predetermined value), the UCIs may be multiplexed and transmitted on the multiplexed PUCCH. In one example the predetermined threshold code rate is the lower of a code rate associated with the SR UCI (if transmitted on the first PUCCH) and a code rate associated with the HARQ-ACK UCI (if it were transmitted on the first PUCCH). In a case where none of the PUCCH can meet the code rate threshold, then the terminal device may select the lower priority UCI to drop/compress.
Note: Referring to Figure 13 of this reference, the first UCI is the SR UCI/1st PUCCH, the second UCI is the HARQ-ACK UCI1/2nd PUCCH, and the third UCI is the 3rd PUCCH/HARQ-ACK UCI2. There is overlapping/interference/conflict in the slot between these three entities. The comparison is in terms of SR priority, where the 2nd or 3rd UCI may be selected, but the higher priority is transmitted. Paragraph [0132] shows the condition of how the UCI can be dropped based on the PUCCH.
Jung and Wong are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jun to include the concept of receiving UCI from an overlapping PUCCH resource in a subslot based on priority levels as taught by Wong so as to resolve potential communication conflicts within the network.
Regarding Claim 21,
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Jung discloses: A wireless device (WD) configured to communicate with a network node, the wireless device comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry being configured to cause the wireless device to: remove a candidate physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource from a subslot of a slot in response to an overlap of PUCCH resources in a subslot of the slot, the slot divided into multiple subslots different from one another
[0029] FIG. 2 is an example illustration 200 of PUCCH and PUSCH resources in a slot according to a possible embodiment. In the illustration 200, a UE can perform periodic Channel State Information (CSI), Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH), Aperiodic CSI (A-CSI), and 4 HARQ-ACK transmissions within a slot. Each HARQ-ACK transmission can have an associated forced ending indication. That is, a first, second, third, and fourth HARQ-ACK transmissions can end no later than the end of first, second, third, and fourth time intervals within the slot, respectively. The first, second, third, and fourth time intervals can be considered subslots. In the first timing test, the UE can exclude PUCCH resource 1 for periodic CSI from a group of PUCCH resources, such as PUCCH resources 1-5, to satisfy the forced ending condition for the first HARQ-ACK transmission in PUCCH resource 1. Although PUCCH resources 2 and 3 overlap with PUSCH resource 1, the UE may not multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 1, but can drop transmission on PUSCH resource 1 to satisfy forced ending condition of the first HARQ-ACK transmission. For the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission associated with PUCCH resource 5, the UE can multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 2, as PUSCH resource 2 satisfies the forced ending condition for the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission. For example, the UE may not transmit in PUCCH resource 5, but can instead transmit in PUSCH resource 2.
the candidate PUCCH resource starting at a first subslot of the multiple subslots of the slot and extending to a next subslot of the multiple subslots of the slot to thereby causing the overlap of PUCCH resources
[0029] FIG. 2 is an example illustration 200 of PUCCH and PUSCH resources in a slot according to a possible embodiment. In the illustration 200, a UE can perform periodic Channel State Information (CSI), Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH), Aperiodic CSI (A-CSI), and 4 HARQ-ACK transmissions within a slot. Each HARQ-ACK transmission can have an associated forced ending indication. That is, a first, second, third, and fourth HARQ-ACK transmissions can end no later than the end of first, second, third, and fourth time intervals within the slot, respectively. The first, second, third, and fourth time intervals can be considered subslots. In the first timing test, the UE can exclude PUCCH resource 1 for periodic CSI from a group of PUCCH resources, such as PUCCH resources 1-5, to satisfy the forced ending condition for the first HARQ-ACK transmission in PUCCH resource 1. Although PUCCH resources 2 and 3 overlap with PUSCH resource 1, the UE may not multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 1, but can drop transmission on PUSCH resource 1 to satisfy forced ending condition of the first HARQ-ACK transmission. For the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission associated with PUCCH resource 5, the UE can multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 2, as PUSCH resource 2 satisfies the forced ending condition for the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission. For example, the UE may not transmit in PUCCH resource 5, but can instead transmit in PUSCH resource 2.
Note: According to Figure 2, PUCCH Resource 1 overlaps with PUCCH Resources 2 and 3, but starts at the first interval (the first subslot), and extends across to the second subslot.
Jung does not explicitly disclose the remaining limitations of this claim.
However, Wong discloses transmit a first uplink control information (UCI) message selected for transmission from within the overlapping PUCCH resources in the first subslot of the slot, the first UCI message assigned with a first priority, and discarding to resolve the overlap, second UCI message for transmission within the overlapping PUCCH resources, the second UCI message assigned with a second priority lower than the first priority.
[0125] FIG. 13 schematically shows a portion of an uplink radio resource grid representing radio resources in time (horizontal axis) and frequency (vertical axis) for one example implementation of an approach according to an example of the disclosure. FIG. 13 schematically shows radio resources scheduled for use by a terminal device for UCI in an example scenario during a period spanning two slots (identified in FIG. 13 as slots n and n+1)/four sub-slots (identified in FIG. 13 as sub-slots m to m+3). In this example it is assumed a first PUCCH (which in this example is assumed to be for an SR UCI) is scheduled between times t2 and t5 (i.e. it spans the boundary between sub-slots m and m+1 in slot n), a second PUCCH (which in this example is assumed to be for a HARQ-ACK UCI, labelled HARQ-ACK UCI1) is scheduled between times t4 and t6 (which is in sub-slot m+1 in slot n), and a third PUCCH (which in this example is assumed to be for another HARQ-ACK UCI, labelled HARQ-ACK UCI2) is scheduled between times t1 and t3 (which is in sub-slot m in slot n). Because the radio resources defined by the first PUCCH for the SR UCI overlaps with both of the radio resources defined by the second PUCCH for HARQ-ACK UCI1 and the third PUCCH for HARQ-ACK UCI2, the terminal device determines whether and how to multiplex the SR UCI with a selected one of HARQ-ACK UCI1 and HARQ-ACK UCI2 in accordance with the principles disclosed herein and transmits the resulting multiplexed UCI using radio resources for the corresponding PUCCH of the selected one of HARQ-ACK UCI1 and HARQ-ACK UCI2, which in this example is assumed to be the second PUCCH (for HARQ-ACK UCI1), as schematically indicated by the surrounding dotted-line. Thus for some implementations, when there is an overlap between a first set of radio resources for a first UCI and both a second set of radio resources for a second UCI and a third set of radio resources for a third UCI, the selected set of radio resources for transmitting the multiplexed UCI may be the later in time of the second set of radio resources and the third set of radio resources. This allows for the multiplexed UCI to be transmitted later than if the selected set of radio resources for transmitting the multiplexed UCI were the earlier in time of the second set of radio resources and the third set of radio resources. One application of this approach would be to select the third PUCCH, as opposed to the second PUCCH, to implicitly indicate the SR priority. For example, if the SR priority is low, the later third PUCCH may be used, but if the SR priority is high, the earlier second PUCCH may be used instead. The network may then blind decode for the presence of the SR in the second and third PUCCH.
[0132] In one example, the decision on whether or not to multiplex the SR UCI and the HARQ-ACK UCI onto one or other of the first PUCCH and second PUCCH may take account of the resulting code rate for the multiplexed UCI on the selected PUCCH (which may be referred to herein as the multiplexed PUCCH). For example, if the code rate of the multiplexed PUCCH would be lower or equal to a predetermined threshold code rate (i.e. the code rate that would be applied to the 3rd PUCCH after the multiplexing operation is lower or equal to a predetermined value), the UCIs may be multiplexed and transmitted on the multiplexed PUCCH. In one example the predetermined threshold code rate is the lower of a code rate associated with the SR UCI (if transmitted on the first PUCCH) and a code rate associated with the HARQ-ACK UCI (if it were transmitted on the first PUCCH). In a case where none of the PUCCH can meet the code rate threshold, then the terminal device may select the lower priority UCI to drop/compress.
Note: Referring to Figure 13 of this reference, the first UCI is the SR UCI/1st PUCCH, the second UCI is the HARQ-ACK UCI1/2nd PUCCH, and the third UCI is the 3rd PUCCH/HARQ-ACK UCI2. There is overlapping/interference/conflict in the slot between these three entities. The comparison is in terms of SR priority, where the 2nd or 3rd UCI may be selected, but the higher priority is transmitted. Paragraph [0132] shows the condition of how the UCI can be dropped based on the PUCCH.
Jung and Wong are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jun to include the concept of transmitting UCI from an overlapping PUCCH resource in a subslot based on priority levels as taught by Wong so as to resolve potential communication conflicts within the network.
Regarding Claim 31,
Claim 31 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 11.
Jung discloses: A network node configured to communicate with a wireless device (WD) the network node comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry configures to cause the network node to: receive a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission, a PUCCH resource used for the PUCCH transmission being based at least in part on a removal of a candidate PUCCH resource from a subslot of a slot, the slot divided into multiple subslots different from one another
[0029] FIG. 2 is an example illustration 200 of PUCCH and PUSCH resources in a slot according to a possible embodiment. In the illustration 200, a UE can perform periodic Channel State Information (CSI), Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH), Aperiodic CSI (A-CSI), and 4 HARQ-ACK transmissions within a slot. Each HARQ-ACK transmission can have an associated forced ending indication. That is, a first, second, third, and fourth HARQ-ACK transmissions can end no later than the end of first, second, third, and fourth time intervals within the slot, respectively. The first, second, third, and fourth time intervals can be considered subslots. In the first timing test, the UE can exclude PUCCH resource 1 for periodic CSI from a group of PUCCH resources, such as PUCCH resources 1-5, to satisfy the forced ending condition for the first HARQ-ACK transmission in PUCCH resource 1. Although PUCCH resources 2 and 3 overlap with PUSCH resource 1, the UE may not multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 1, but can drop transmission on PUSCH resource 1 to satisfy forced ending condition of the first HARQ-ACK transmission. For the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission associated with PUCCH resource 5, the UE can multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 2, as PUSCH resource 2 satisfies the forced ending condition for the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission. For example, the UE may not transmit in PUCCH resource 5, but can instead transmit in PUSCH resource 2.
the PUCCH resource used for the PUCCH transmission being based at least in part on the removal of the candidate PUCCH resource, the candidate PUCCH resource starting at a first subslot of the multiple subslots of the slot and extending to a next subslot of the slot thereby causing the overlap
[0029] FIG. 2 is an example illustration 200 of PUCCH and PUSCH resources in a slot according to a possible embodiment. In the illustration 200, a UE can perform periodic Channel State Information (CSI), Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH), Aperiodic CSI (A-CSI), and 4 HARQ-ACK transmissions within a slot. Each HARQ-ACK transmission can have an associated forced ending indication. That is, a first, second, third, and fourth HARQ-ACK transmissions can end no later than the end of first, second, third, and fourth time intervals within the slot, respectively. The first, second, third, and fourth time intervals can be considered subslots. In the first timing test, the UE can exclude PUCCH resource 1 for periodic CSI from a group of PUCCH resources, such as PUCCH resources 1-5, to satisfy the forced ending condition for the first HARQ-ACK transmission in PUCCH resource 1. Although PUCCH resources 2 and 3 overlap with PUSCH resource 1, the UE may not multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 1, but can drop transmission on PUSCH resource 1 to satisfy forced ending condition of the first HARQ-ACK transmission. For the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission associated with PUCCH resource 5, the UE can multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 2, as PUSCH resource 2 satisfies the forced ending condition for the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission. For example, the UE may not transmit in PUCCH resource 5, but can instead transmit in PUSCH resource 2.
Note: According to Figure 2, PUCCH Resource 1 overlaps with PUCCH Resources 2 and 3, but starts at the first interval (the first subslot), and extends across to the second subslot.
Jung does not explicitly disclose the remaining limitations of this claim.
However, Wong discloses receive a first uplink control information (UCI) message for transmission from within the overlapping PUCCH resources, the first UCI message assigned with a first priority, and discarding to resolve the overlap, second UCI message for transmission within the overlapping PUCCH resources, the second UCI message assigned with a second priority lower than the first priority.
[0125] FIG. 13 schematically shows a portion of an uplink radio resource grid representing radio resources in time (horizontal axis) and frequency (vertical axis) for one example implementation of an approach according to an example of the disclosure. FIG. 13 schematically shows radio resources scheduled for use by a terminal device for UCI in an example scenario during a period spanning two slots (identified in FIG. 13 as slots n and n+1)/four sub-slots (identified in FIG. 13 as sub-slots m to m+3). In this example it is assumed a first PUCCH (which in this example is assumed to be for an SR UCI) is scheduled between times t2 and t5 (i.e. it spans the boundary between sub-slots m and m+1 in slot n), a second PUCCH (which in this example is assumed to be for a HARQ-ACK UCI, labelled HARQ-ACK UCI1) is scheduled between times t4 and t6 (which is in sub-slot m+1 in slot n), and a third PUCCH (which in this example is assumed to be for another HARQ-ACK UCI, labelled HARQ-ACK UCI2) is scheduled between times t1 and t3 (which is in sub-slot m in slot n). Because the radio resources defined by the first PUCCH for the SR UCI overlaps with both of the radio resources defined by the second PUCCH for HARQ-ACK UCI1 and the third PUCCH for HARQ-ACK UCI2, the terminal device determines whether and how to multiplex the SR UCI with a selected one of HARQ-ACK UCI1 and HARQ-ACK UCI2 in accordance with the principles disclosed herein and transmits the resulting multiplexed UCI using radio resources for the corresponding PUCCH of the selected one of HARQ-ACK UCI1 and HARQ-ACK UCI2, which in this example is assumed to be the second PUCCH (for HARQ-ACK UCI1), as schematically indicated by the surrounding dotted-line. Thus for some implementations, when there is an overlap between a first set of radio resources for a first UCI and both a second set of radio resources for a second UCI and a third set of radio resources for a third UCI, the selected set of radio resources for transmitting the multiplexed UCI may be the later in time of the second set of radio resources and the third set of radio resources. This allows for the multiplexed UCI to be transmitted later than if the selected set of radio resources for transmitting the multiplexed UCI were the earlier in time of the second set of radio resources and the third set of radio resources. One application of this approach would be to select the third PUCCH, as opposed to the second PUCCH, to implicitly indicate the SR priority. For example, if the SR priority is low, the later third PUCCH may be used, but if the SR priority is high, the earlier second PUCCH may be used instead. The network may then blind decode for the presence of the SR in the second and third PUCCH.
[0132] In one example, the decision on whether or not to multiplex the SR UCI and the HARQ-ACK UCI onto one or other of the first PUCCH and second PUCCH may take account of the resulting code rate for the multiplexed UCI on the selected PUCCH (which may be referred to herein as the multiplexed PUCCH). For example, if the code rate of the multiplexed PUCCH would be lower or equal to a predetermined threshold code rate (i.e. the code rate that would be applied to the 3rd PUCCH after the multiplexing operation is lower or equal to a predetermined value), the UCIs may be multiplexed and transmitted on the multiplexed PUCCH. In one example the predetermined threshold code rate is the lower of a code rate associated with the SR UCI (if transmitted on the first PUCCH) and a code rate associated with the HARQ-ACK UCI (if it were transmitted on the first PUCCH). In a case where none of the PUCCH can meet the code rate threshold, then the terminal device may select the lower priority UCI to drop/compress.
Note: Referring to Figure 13 of this reference, the first UCI is the SR UCI/1st PUCCH, the second UCI is the HARQ-ACK UCI1/2nd PUCCH, and the third UCI is the 3rd PUCCH/HARQ-ACK UCI2. There is overlapping/interference/conflict in the slot between these three entities. The comparison is in terms of SR priority, where the 2nd or 3rd UCI may be selected, but the higher priority is transmitted. Paragraph [0132] shows the condition of how the UCI can be dropped based on the PUCCH.
Jung and Wong are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jun to include the concept of receiving UCI from an overlapping PUCCH resource in a subslot based on priority levels as taught by Wong so as to resolve potential communication conflicts within the network.
Regarding Claim 34,
Jung discloses: The network of Claim 31, wherein the PUCCH resource used for the PUCCH transmission is based at least in part on the removal of the candidate PUCCH resource extending from the next subslot based at least in part on a PUCCH resource selection in a first subslot.
[0029] FIG. 2 is an example illustration 200 of PUCCH and PUSCH resources in a slot according to a possible embodiment. In the illustration 200, a UE can perform periodic Channel State Information (CSI), Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH), Aperiodic CSI (A-CSI), and 4 HARQ-ACK transmissions within a slot. Each HARQ-ACK transmission can have an associated forced ending indication. That is, a first, second, third, and fourth HARQ-ACK transmissions can end no later than the end of first, second, third, and fourth time intervals within the slot, respectively. The first, second, third, and fourth time intervals can be considered subslots. In the first timing test, the UE can exclude PUCCH resource 1 for periodic CSI from a group of PUCCH resources, such as PUCCH resources 1-5, to satisfy the forced ending condition for the first HARQ-ACK transmission in PUCCH resource 1. Although PUCCH resources 2 and 3 overlap with PUSCH resource 1, the UE may not multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 1, but can drop transmission on PUSCH resource 1 to satisfy forced ending condition of the first HARQ-ACK transmission. For the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission associated with PUCCH resource 5, the UE can multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 2, as PUSCH resource 2 satisfies the forced ending condition for the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission. For example, the UE may not transmit in PUCCH resource 5, but can instead transmit in PUSCH resource 2.
Regarding Claim 35,
Jung discloses: The network of Claim 31, wherein the PUCCH resource used for the PUCCH transmission is based at least in part on the removal of the candidate PUCCH resource extending from a next subslot that overlaps with a selected PUCCH resource in a first subslot.
[0029] FIG. 2 is an example illustration 200 of PUCCH and PUSCH resources in a slot according to a possible embodiment. In the illustration 200, a UE can perform periodic Channel State Information (CSI), Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH), Aperiodic CSI (A-CSI), and 4 HARQ-ACK transmissions within a slot. Each HARQ-ACK transmission can have an associated forced ending indication. That is, a first, second, third, and fourth HARQ-ACK transmissions can end no later than the end of first, second, third, and fourth time intervals within the slot, respectively. The first, second, third, and fourth time intervals can be considered subslots. In the first timing test, the UE can exclude PUCCH resource 1 for periodic CSI from a group of PUCCH resources, such as PUCCH resources 1-5, to satisfy the forced ending condition for the first HARQ-ACK transmission in PUCCH resource 1. Although PUCCH resources 2 and 3 overlap with PUSCH resource 1, the UE may not multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 1, but can drop transmission on PUSCH resource 1 to satisfy forced ending condition of the first HARQ-ACK transmission. For the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission associated with PUCCH resource 5, the UE can multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 2, as PUSCH resource 2 satisfies the forced ending condition for the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission. For example, the UE may not transmit in PUCCH resource 5, but can instead transmit in PUSCH resource 2.
Regarding Claim 41,
Jung discloses: The method of Claim 1, wherein each PUCCH resource is configured to be within a single subslot.
[0029] FIG. 2 is an example illustration 200 of PUCCH and PUSCH resources in a slot according to a possible embodiment. In the illustration 200, a UE can perform periodic Channel State Information (CSI), Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH), Aperiodic CSI (A-CSI), and 4 HARQ-ACK transmissions within a slot. Each HARQ-ACK transmission can have an associated forced ending indication. That is, a first, second, third, and fourth HARQ-ACK transmissions can end no later than the end of first, second, third, and fourth time intervals within the slot, respectively. The first, second, third, and fourth time intervals can be considered subslots. In the first timing test, the UE can exclude PUCCH resource 1 for periodic CSI from a group of PUCCH resources, such as PUCCH resources 1-5, to satisfy the forced ending condition for the first HARQ-ACK transmission in PUCCH resource 1. Although PUCCH resources 2 and 3 overlap with PUSCH resource 1, the UE may not multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 1, but can drop transmission on PUSCH resource 1 to satisfy forced ending condition of the first HARQ-ACK transmission. For the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission associated with PUCCH resource 5, the UE can multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 2, as PUSCH resource 2 satisfies the forced ending condition for the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission. For example, the UE may not transmit in PUCCH resource 5, but can instead transmit in PUSCH resource 2.
Regarding Claim 42,
Claim 42 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 41.
Claims 7-8, 17-18, 27-28, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung and Wong, held further in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #97, “UCI enhancements for URLLC”, R1-1906058, Reno, Nevada, USA, May 13-17, 2019, herein referred to as “R1-1906058”. The R1-1906058 reference was also provided in the Information Disclosure Statement dated May 9, 2022.
Regarding Claim 7,
Jung and Wong does not explicitly disclose all of the limitations of claim 7.
However, R1-1906058 discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining whether a WD processing timeline for multiplexing UCI messages with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) is satisfied, a resolution of the overlap being based at least in part on the determination.
(Section 3.1.2 - pages 5-6)
3.1.2 URLLC UCI overlaps with eMBB UCI
During the offline discussion in RAN1 #93 meeting, the following two options are proposed to solve the collision of URLLC UCI and eMBB UCI.
Opt.1: Prioritize URLLC UCI transmission and drop eMBB UCI;
Opt.2: If timeline is satisfied, MUX; else, prioritize URLLC UCI transmission and drop eMBB UCI.
Although eMBB UCI is with lower priority than URLLC UCI, it does not mean eMBB UCI, especially eMBB HARQ-ACK, is not critical. Always dropping eMBB UCI will lead to lots of retransmissions and thereby causing critical impact to the eMBB performance when the URLLC traffic frequently arrives. On the other hand, always adopting Opt.2 may potentially cause negative impact to URLLC UCI in the perspective of latency and reliability.
As a trade-off, a new rule in addition to the existing timeline can be specified to enable limited MUX between URLLC UCI and eMBB UCI. The key principle is to guarantee the latency and reliability of URLLC UCI transmission, and hence the rule can be based on location of PUCCH resources.
Proposal 9: For PUCCH 1 carrying eMBB UCI colliding with PUCCH 2 carrying URLLC UCI, these two UCIs could be multiplexed on PUCCH resource, e.g., PUCCH 3, only if the timeline is satisfied and PUCCH 3 ends no later than PUCCH 2.
(Section 4.1.1 – page 7)
4.1.1 URLLC PUCCH overlaps with eMBB PUSCH
If the timeline for both are satisfied, whether to perform MUX and how to guarantee the low-latency and high reliability for URLLC UCI should be considered. Generally Speaking, it is preferable to allow URLLC UCI MUX on eMBB PUSCH with the following enhancements.
Firstly, it is reasonable to map URLLC UCI only on the first hop for latency reduction. Secondly, it is better to drop eMBB PUSCH when the symbol for UCI mapping is later than the ending symbol of the original PUCCH resource. Finally, it should be supported to configure different beta-offset values for URLLC UCI and eMBB UCI, and also enable one beta-offset bit-field to indicate two values if DCI format 0_1 is used.
Proposal 11: Enhanced UCI mapping methods for URLLC PUCCH colliding with eMBB PUSCH should be supported, e.g., only mapping URLLC UCI on the first hop and configuring different beta-offsets for eMBB UCI and URLLC UCI.
(Section 4.1.2 – page 7)
4.1.2 eMBB PUCCH overlaps with URLLC PUSCH
If the timeline is not satisfied, URLLC PUSCH should be prioritized. Moreover, since the eMBB UCI may have a large payload size and the existing beta-offset value is no smaller than one, piggybacking eMBB UCI on URLLC PUSCH may consume too much resources. Hence even when the timeline is satisfied, piggyback eMBB UCI on URLLC PUSCH would reduce the transmission reliability of URLLC data.
The simple solution is always to drop UCI and to only transmit the high priority URLLC PUSCH. However, the eMBB UCI may have a small payload, e.g., ACK/NACK, and piggybacking this UCI would not consume much resources. As a trade-off, it is expected to design a new MUX rule. One option is to enable smaller beta-offset, e.g., beta-offset < 1, to enable a small number of resources allocated for UCI. Furthermore, beta-offset = 0 could be enabled to thoroughly disable UCI piggyback. Alternatively, some extra conditions for eMBB UCI piggybacked on URLLC PUSCH could be specified. For example, only eMBB HARQ-ACK could be piggybacked, or only eMBB UCI with payload size smaller than a threshold could be piggybacked.
Proposal 12: Enhanced UCI piggyback method to prioritize URLLC PUSCH transmission should be supported, e.g., enabling beta-offset < 1 to reduce the resources allocated for eMBB UCI and even beta-offset = 0 to implicitly disable UCI piggyback.
(Section 4.1.3 – page 7)
4.1.3 URLLC PUCCH overlaps with URLLC PUSCH
For the case when URLLC PUCCH overlaps with URLLC PUSCH, if the timeline is satisfied, UCI piggyback should be performed. Otherwise, if the timeline is not satisfied, the UE should prioritize one uplink transmission and drop the other. Simply, the UE can prioritize the dynamically scheduled uplink channel over configured ones and/or the later scheduled channels over the early scheduled ones.
Jung in view of Wong and R1-1906058 are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung in view of Wong to include the concept of a timeline for UCI being multiplexed with PUSCH as taught by R1-1906058 so as to resolve potential communication conflicts within the network.
Regarding Claim 8,
Jung and Wong does not explicitly disclose all of the limitations of claim 8.
However, R1-1906058 discloses: The method of claim 7, further comprising one of:
based at least in part on the determination, multiplexing one of the UCI messages on the PUSCH; and based at least in part on the determination, retaining a latter one of the PUSCH and the UCI message for transmission and discarding an earlier one of the PUSCH and the UCI message.
(Section 4.1.1 – page 7)
4.1.1 URLLC PUCCH overlaps with eMBB PUSCH
If the timeline for both are satisfied, whether to perform MUX and how to guarantee the low-latency and high reliability for URLLC UCI should be considered. Generally Speaking, it is preferable to allow URLLC UCI MUX on eMBB PUSCH with the following enhancements.
Firstly, it is reasonable to map URLLC UCI only on the first hop for latency reduction. Secondly, it is better to drop eMBB PUSCH when the symbol for UCI mapping is later than the ending symbol of the original PUCCH resource. Finally, it should be supported to configure different beta-offset values for URLLC UCI and eMBB UCI, and also enable one beta-offset bit-field to indicate two values if DCI format 0_1 is used.
Proposal 11: Enhanced UCI mapping methods for URLLC PUCCH colliding with eMBB PUSCH should be supported, e.g., only mapping URLLC UCI on the first hop and configuring different beta-offsets for eMBB UCI and URLLC UCI.
Jung in view of Wong and R1-1906058 are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung in view of Wong to include the concept of discarding an earlier PUSCH and UCI message PUSCH and UCI message as taught by R1-1906058 so as to resolve potential communication conflicts within the network.
Regarding Claim 17,
Jung in view of Wong does not explicitly disclose all of the limitations of claim 17.
However, R1-1906058 discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein the PUCCH resource used for the PUCCH transmission is based at least in part on whether a wireless device, WD, processing timeline for multiplexing UCI messages with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) is satisfied.
(Section 3.1.2 – pages 5-6)
3.1.2 URLLC UCI overlaps with eMBB UCI
During the offline discussion in RAN1 #93 meeting, the following two options are proposed to solve the collision of URLLC UCI and eMBB UCI.
Opt.1: Prioritize URLLC UCI transmission and drop eMBB UCI;
Opt.2: If timeline is satisfied, MUX; else, prioritize URLLC UCI transmission and drop eMBB UCI.
Although eMBB UCI is with lower priority than URLLC UCI, it does not mean eMBB UCI, especially eMBB HARQ-ACK, is not critical. Always dropping eMBB UCI will lead to lots of retransmissions and thereby causing critical impact to the eMBB performance when the URLLC traffic frequently arrives. On the other hand, always adopting Opt.2 may potentially cause negative impact to URLLC UCI in the perspective of latency and reliability.
As a trade-off, a new rule in addition to the existing timeline can be specified to enable limited MUX between URLLC UCI and eMBB UCI. The key principle is to guarantee the latency and reliability of URLLC UCI transmission, and hence the rule can be based on location of PUCCH resources.
Proposal 9: For PUCCH 1 carrying eMBB UCI colliding with PUCCH 2 carrying URLLC UCI, these two UCIs could be multiplexed on PUCCH resource, e.g., PUCCH 3, only if the timeline is satisfied and PUCCH 3 ends no later than PUCCH 2.
(Section 4.1.1 – page 7)
4.1.1 URLLC PUCCH overlaps with eMBB PUSCH
If the timeline for both are satisfied, whether to perform MUX and how to guarantee the low-latency and high reliability for URLLC UCI should be considered. Generally Speaking, it is preferable to allow URLLC UCI MUX on eMBB PUSCH with the following enhancements.
Firstly, it is reasonable to map URLLC UCI only on the first hop for latency reduction. Secondly, it is better to drop eMBB PUSCH when the symbol for UCI mapping is later than the ending symbol of the original PUCCH resource. Finally, it should be supported to configure different beta-offset values for URLLC UCI and eMBB UCI, and also enable one beta-offset bit-field to indicate two values if DCI format 0_1 is used.
Proposal 11: Enhanced UCI mapping methods for URLLC PUCCH colliding with eMBB PUSCH should be supported, e.g., only mapping URLLC UCI on the first hop and configuring different beta-offsets for eMBB UCI and URLLC UCI.
(Section 4.1.2 – page 7)
4.1.2 eMBB PUCCH overlaps with URLLC PUSCH
If the timeline is not satisfied, URLLC PUSCH should be prioritized. Moreover, since the eMBB UCI may have a large payload size and the existing beta-offset value is no smaller than one, piggybacking eMBB UCI on URLLC PUSCH may consume too much resources. Hence even when the timeline is satisfied, piggyback eMBB UCI on URLLC PUSCH would reduce the transmission reliability of URLLC data.
The simple solution is always to drop UCI and to only transmit the high priority URLLC PUSCH. However, the eMBB UCI may have a small payload, e.g., ACK/NACK, and piggybacking this UCI would not consume much resources. As a trade-off, it is expected to design a new MUX rule. One option is to enable smaller beta-offset, e.g., beta-offset < 1, to enable a small number of resources allocated for UCI. Furthermore, beta-offset = 0 could be enabled to thoroughly disable UCI piggyback. Alternatively, some extra conditions for eMBB UCI piggybacked on URLLC PUSCH could be specified. For example, only eMBB HARQ-ACK could be piggybacked, or only eMBB UCI with payload size smaller than a threshold could be piggybacked.
Proposal 12: Enhanced UCI piggyback method to prioritize URLLC PUSCH transmission should be supported, e.g., enabling beta-offset < 1 to reduce the resources allocated for eMBB UCI and even beta-offset = 0 to implicitly disable UCI piggyback.
(Section 4.1.3 – page 7)
4.1.3 URLLC PUCCH overlaps with URLLC PUSCH
For the case when URLLC PUCCH overlaps with URLLC PUSCH, if the timeline is satisfied, UCI piggyback should be performed. Otherwise, if the timeline is not satisfied, the UE should prioritize one uplink transmission and drop the other. Simply, the UE can prioritize the dynamically scheduled uplink channel over configured ones and/or the later scheduled channels over the early scheduled ones.
Jung in view of Wong and R1-1906058 are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung in view of Wong to include the concept of a timeline for UCI being multiplexed with PUSCH as taught by R1-1906058 so as to resolve potential communication conflicts within the network.
Regarding Claim 18,
Jung in view of Wong does not explicitly disclose all of the limitations of claim 18.
However, R1-1906058 discloses: The method of claim 17, wherein receiving the PUCCH transmission further includes one of: based at least in part on whether the WD processing timeline for multiplexing a UCI message multiplexing with the PUSCH is satisfied, receiving the PUCCH transmission as the UCI message being multiplexed on a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH; and based at least in part on whether the WD processing timeline for the UCI message multiplexing with the PUSCH is satisfied, receiving the PUCCH transmission as a latter one of the PUSCH and the UCI message being retained for the transmission and an earlier one of the PUSCH and the UCI message being discarded.
(Section 4.1.1 – page 7)
4.1.1 URLLC PUCCH overlaps with eMBB PUSCH
If the timeline for both are satisfied, whether to perform MUX and how to guarantee the low-latency and high reliability for URLLC UCI should be considered. Generally Speaking, it is preferable to allow URLLC UCI MUX on eMBB PUSCH with the following enhancements.
Firstly, it is reasonable to map URLLC UCI only on the first hop for latency reduction. Secondly, it is better to drop eMBB PUSCH when the symbol for UCI mapping is later than the ending symbol of the original PUCCH resource. Finally, it should be supported to configure different beta-offset values for URLLC UCI and eMBB UCI, and also enable one beta-offset bit-field to indicate two values if DCI format 0_1 is used.
Proposal 11: Enhanced UCI mapping methods for URLLC PUCCH colliding with eMBB PUSCH should be supported, e.g., only mapping URLLC UCI on the first hop and configuring different beta-offsets for eMBB UCI and URLLC UCI.
Jung in view of Wong and R1-1906058 are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung in view of Wong include the concept of having the PUSCH and UCI message having different priority levels as taught by R1-1906058 so as to resolve potential communication conflicts within the network.
Regarding Claim 27,
Claim 27 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 28,
Claim 28 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Regarding Claim 37,
Claim 37 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 17.
Regarding Claim 38,
Claim 38 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 18.
Claims 10, 20, 30, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Wong, held further in view of Gaal et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2009/0181692), herein referred to as “Gaal”.
Regarding Claim 10,
Jung in view of Wong not explicitly disclose all of the limitations of claim 10.
However, Gaal discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein a resolution of the overlap is further based at least in part on a utility maximization function.
[0081] According to one embodiment, there can be PUCCH resource hopping. At a slot boundary (e.g., every slot boundary), cyclic shift allocation can be offset according to a deterministic pattern. Thus there can be a maximization of distance in a new slot between resources that were sharing the same cyclic shift resource in a previous slot [note: overlap]. Resource hopping can be achieved by adding a slot and resource dependent cyclic shift offset d.sub.i.sup.j for slot i and orthogonal cover index j.
Jung in view of Wong and Gaal are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung in view of Wong Gou to include the concepts of a maximization function as taught by Gaal so as to resolve potential communication conflicts within the network.
Regarding Claim 20,
Jung in view of Wong does not explicitly disclose all of the limitations of claim 20.
However, Gaal discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein receiving the PUCCH transmission is based at least in part on a utility maximization function.
[0081] According to one embodiment, there can be PUCCH resource hopping. At a slot boundary (e.g., every slot boundary), cyclic shift allocation can be offset according to a deterministic pattern. Thus there can be a maximization of distance in a new slot between resources that were sharing the same cyclic shift resource in a previous slot [note: overlap]. Resource hopping can be achieved by adding a slot and resource dependent cyclic shift offset d.sub.i.sup.j for slot i and orthogonal cover index j.
Jung in view of Wong and Gaal are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung in view of Wong to include the concepts of a maximization function as taught by Gaal so as to resolve potential communication conflicts within the network.
Regarding Claim 30,
Claim 30 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 10.
Regarding Claim 40,
Claim 40 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 20.
Claims 24-25 1, 11, 21, 31, 34-35, and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Wong, held further in view of Cheng et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0205150), herein referred to as “Cheng”. The Cheng reference has support and claims priority to provisional application 62/784548.
Regarding Claim 24,
Jung does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of claim 24.
However, Cheng discloses: The wireless device of Claim 21: the processing circuitry is further configured to select a PUCCH resource to transmit at least one UCI message in the first subslot; and the candidate PUCCH resource extends from the next subslot; and the processing circuitry is configured to cause the wireless device to remove the candidate PUCCH by being configured to cause the wireless device to remove the candidate PUCCH resource extending from the next subslot based at least in part on the PUCCH resource selected in the first subslot.
[0095] In some of the present implementations, the UE may perform PUCCH transmission through more than one UE antenna panels. As such, the definition of “overlapping resource” may need to take the UE antenna panel/spatial domain filter information into the consideration. In some of the present implementations, a collision rule to handle the PUCCH resource collision may be applied when the priority level of all the overlapped PUCCH resources are the same. That is, if the priority level of the overlapped PUCCH resources are different, the UE may drop a PUCCH resource based on its priority order (e.g., a UCI type priority of HARQ-ACK>SR>CSI with higher priority>CSI with lower priority). Different panels/TRPs may be applied with different priority level or a common priority level may be applied for all panels/TRPs. In one implementation, an intra-slot repetition PUCCH may have a higher priority than other physical channels such as another PUCCH with/without inter-slot repetition, dynamic grant PUSCH, or configured grant PUSCH.
Regarding Claim 25,
Jung discloses: The wireless device if Claim 24, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the wireless device to remove the candidate PUCCH resource extending from the next subslot that overlaps with the selected PUCCH resource in the first subslot.
[0029] FIG. 2 is an example illustration 200 of PUCCH and PUSCH resources in a slot according to a possible embodiment. In the illustration 200, a UE can perform periodic Channel State Information (CSI), Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH), Aperiodic CSI (A-CSI), and 4 HARQ-ACK transmissions within a slot. Each HARQ-ACK transmission can have an associated forced ending indication. That is, a first, second, third, and fourth HARQ-ACK transmissions can end no later than the end of first, second, third, and fourth time intervals within the slot, respectively. The first, second, third, and fourth time intervals can be considered subslots. In the first timing test, the UE can exclude PUCCH resource 1 for periodic CSI from a group of PUCCH resources, such as PUCCH resources 1-5, to satisfy the forced ending condition for the first HARQ-ACK transmission in PUCCH resource 1. Although PUCCH resources 2 and 3 overlap with PUSCH resource 1, the UE may not multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 1, but can drop transmission on PUSCH resource 1 to satisfy forced ending condition of the first HARQ-ACK transmission. For the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission associated with PUCCH resource 5, the UE can multiplex HARQ-ACK in PUSCH resource 2, as PUSCH resource 2 satisfies the forced ending condition for the fourth HARQ-ACK transmission. For example, the UE may not transmit in PUCCH resource 5, but can instead transmit in PUSCH resource 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed on February 17, 2026 is acknowledged.
The following claims were amended as part of applicant’s response: 1, 11, 21, 24, and 31.
There and no new claims and no canceled claims.
Claims 1, 7-8, 10-11, 17-18, 20-21, 24-25, 27-28, 30-31, 34-35 ,37-38 and 40-42 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to independent claims 1, 11, 21, and 31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411