DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 01/22/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/22/2026 has been entered.
Claims 31-52 are pending
Claims 31-49 and 51-52 are amended
Claims 1-30 are canceled
Claims 31-52 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ETSI (3GPP TS 36.423 version 15.5.0 Release 15), hereinafter referenced as ETSI, in view of Peisa et al. (US 20200245293 A1), hereinafter referenced as Peisa.
Regarding claims 31 and 44 ETSI teaches a method, performed by a first network node, for handling communication in a wireless communication network (Page 13, Section [1]-ETSI discloses radio network layer signalling procedures of the control plane between eNBs in EUTRAN. X2AP supports the functions of X2 interface by signalling procedures. Page 15, Section [3.1]-ETSI discloses X2AP protocol consists of Elementary Procedures (EPs). An X2AP Elementary Procedure is a unit of interaction between two eNBs. An EP consists of an initiating message and possibly a response message), the method comprising the first network node:
transmitting, to a second network node, a first connection establishment message related to a connection establishment between the first network node and the second network node (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST ... This message is sent by an initiating node to a neighbouring node, both nodes able to interact for EN-DC, to transfer the initialization information for a TNL association. Figs. 8.7.1.2-1 and 8.2.3.2-1, Page 30, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC ... UE-associated signalling connection between the MeNB and the SeNB); wherein
a maximum size of a list of served cells of the second network node that the first network node is capable of receiving in a second connection establishment message (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST ... eNB → en-gNB, en-gNB → eNB ... List of Served EUTRA Cells {Information Element} ... <maxCellineNB> {Range; Maximum no. cells that can be served by an eNB} ... Complete list of cells served by the eNB ... List of Served NR Cells ... <maxCellinengNB> {Range; Maximum no. cells that can be served by an en-gNB} ... Complete list of cells served by the engNB. Page 35, Section [8.3.3.2]-ETSI discloses for each CSG cell or hybrid cell served by the candidate eNB2 the X2 SETUP RESPONSE message shall contain the CSG ID IE. The eNB receiving the IE shall take this information into account when further deciding whether X2 handover between the source cell and the target cell may be performed).
ETSI fails to teach the first connection establishment message indicates: that a list of served cells of the first network node comprised in the first connection establishment message is a partial list of served cells.
However, Peisa teaches the first connection establishment message indicates: that a list of served cells of the first network node comprised in the first connection establishment message is a partial list of served cells (Para. [0032]-Peisa discloses method in a network node for establishing connectivity and receiving data to and from a wireless device. Fig. 2, Para. [0062]-Peisa discloses a network node, such as a gNB, broadcasts, in the minimum system information associated with a cell, a partial list of PLMN IDs and an indication that there are additional PLMN IDs supported by the communication network available using on-demand system information. The partial list may comprise (e.g. contain) the most common PLMN IDs used in the network, so that most of the UEs can access the system only by receiving the minimum system information).
ETSI and Peisa are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with RRC connection method, device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ETSI to incorporate the teachings of Peisa on connection establishment, with a motivation to transmit a partial list of served cells, and support the functions of X2 interface by signalling procedures, (ETSI, Page 13, Section [1]).
Regarding claims 37 and 51 ETSI teaches a method, performed by a second network node, for handling communication in a wireless communication network (Page 13, Section [1]-ETSI discloses radio network layer signalling procedures of the control plane between eNBs in EUTRAN. X2AP supports the functions of X2 interface by signalling procedures. Page 15, Section [3.1]-ETSI discloses X2AP protocol consists of Elementary Procedures (EPs). An X2AP Elementary Procedure is a unit of interaction between two eNBs. An EP consists of an initiating message and possibly a response message), the method comprises the second network node:
receiving, from a first network node, a first connection establishment message related to a connection establishment between the first network node and the second network node (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST ... This message is sent by an initiating node to a neighbouring node, both nodes able to interact for EN-DC, to transfer the initialization information for a TNL association. Figs. 8.7.1.2-1 and 8.2.3.2-1, Page 30, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC ... UE-associated signalling connection between the MeNB and the SeNB); wherein
a maximum size of a list of served cells of the second network node that the first network node is capable of receiving in a second connection establishment message (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST ... eNB → en-gNB, en-gNB → eNB ... List of Served EUTRA Cells {Information Element} ... <maxCellineNB> {Range; Maximum no. cells that can be served by an eNB} ... Complete list of cells served by the eNB ... List of Served NR Cells ... <maxCellinengNB> {Range; Maximum no. cells that can be served by an en-gNB} ... Complete list of cells served by the engNB. Page 35, Section [8.3.3.2]-ETSI discloses for each CSG cell or hybrid cell served by the candidate eNB2 the X2 SETUP RESPONSE message shall contain the CSG ID IE. The eNB receiving the IE shall take this information into account when further deciding whether X2 handover between the source cell and the target cell may be performed).
ETSI fails to teach the first connection establishment message indicates: that a list of served cells of the first network node comprised in the first connection establishment message is a partial list of served cells.
However, Peisa teaches the first connection establishment message indicates: that a list of served cells of the first network node comprised in the first connection establishment message is a partial list of served cells (Para. [0032]-Peisa discloses method in a network node for establishing connectivity and receiving data to and from a wireless device. Fig. 2, Para. [0062]-Peisa discloses a network node, such as a gNB, broadcasts, in the minimum system information associated with a cell, a partial list of PLMN IDs and an indication that there are additional PLMN IDs supported by the communication network available using on-demand system information. The partial list may comprise (e.g. contain) the most common PLMN IDs used in the network, so that most of the UEs can access the system only by receiving the minimum system information).
ETSI and Peisa are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with RRC connection method, device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ETSI to incorporate the teachings of Peisa on connection establishment, with a motivation to transmit a partial list of served cells, and support the functions of X2 interface by signalling procedures, (ETSI, Page 13, Section [1]).
Regarding claims 32, 39 and 45, ETSI in view of Peisa teaches the method of claim 31, the method of claim 37, and the first network node of claim 44 respectively.
ETSI further teaches the transmitted first connection establishment message is an Evolved-Universal Terrestrial Radio Access New Radio Dual Connectivity (EN-DC) X2 Setup Request message, an EN-DC X2 Setup Response message, an Xn Setup Request message, and/or an Xn Setup Response message (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST ... This message is sent by an initiating node to a neighbouring node, both nodes able to interact for EN-DC, to transfer the initialization information for a TNL association. Figs. 8.7.1.2-1 and 8.2.3.2-1, Page 30, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC ... UE-associated signalling connection between the MeNB and the SeNB. Page 127, Section [9.1.2.35]-ETSI discloses EN-DC CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE ... This message is sent by a neighbouring node to a peer node, both nodes able to interact for EN-DC, to acknowledge update of information for a TNL association ... en-gNB → eNB, eNB → en-gNB ... List of Served NR Cells {Information Element - Message Type} ... limited {partial} list of cells served by the engNB, if requested by the eNB. Page 233, Section [9.2.115]-ETSI discloses Cell Assistance Information IE is used by the eNB to request information about NR cells ... List of Requested NR Cells {Information Element - IE} ... Included when the eNB requests a limited {partial} list of served NR cells).
Regarding claims 33, 40 and 46, ETSI in view of Peisa teaches the method of claim 32, the method of claim 39, the first network node of claim 45 respectively.
ETSI fails to teach the transmitted first connection establishment message comprises a Partial List Indicator Information Element (IE) that indicates that the list of served cells of the first network node is the partial list of served cells.
However, Peisa teaches the transmitted first connection establishment message comprises a Partial List Indicator Information Element (IE) that indicates that the list of served cells of the first network node is the partial list of served cells (Para. [0032]-Peisa discloses method in a network node for establishing connectivity and receiving data to and from a wireless device. Fig. 2, Para. [0062]-Peisa discloses a network node, such as a gNB, broadcasts, in the minimum system information associated with a cell, a partial list of PLMN IDs and an indication that there are additional PLMN IDs supported by the communication network available using on-demand system information. The partial list may comprise (e.g. contain) the most common PLMN IDs used in the network, so that most of the UEs can access the system only by receiving the minimum system information).
ETSI and Peisa are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with RRC connection method, device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ETSI to incorporate the teachings of Peisa on connection establishment, with a motivation to transmit a partial list of served cells, and support the functions of X2 interface by signalling procedures, (ETSI, Page 13, Section [1]).
Regarding claims 34, 41 and 47, ETSI in view of Peisa teaches the method of claim 31, the method of claim 37, the first network node of claim 44 respectively.
ETSI further teaches the transmitted first connection establishment message is an EN-DC X2 Setup Failure message and/or an Xn Setup Failure message (Fig. 8.7.1.3-2, Page 67, Section [8.7.1.4]-ETSI discloses the initiating node answers with an EN-DC X2 SETUP FAILURE message).
Regarding claims 35, 42 and 48 ETSI in view of Peisa teaches the method of claim 34, the method of claim 41, the first network node of claim 47 respectively.
ETSI further teaches the transmitted first connection establishment message further comprises a Message Oversize Notification Information Element (IE) indicating a reason for a failure of the connection establishment (Pages 181-186, Section [9.2.6]-ETSI discloses {Causes} The purpose of the cause information element is to indicate the reason for a particular event for the whole protocol … Load Balancing ... Control Processing Overload ... {Radio Network Layer cause ---- Meaning} Reduce Load in Serving Cell ---- Load in serving cell needs to be reduced. When applied to handover preparation, it indicates the handover is triggered due to load balancing .... Reduce Load ---- Load in the cell(group) served by the requesting node needs to be reduced. In the current version of this specification applicable for Dual Connectivity and EN-DC only. Page 92, Section [8.7.17.1]-ETSI discloses the purpose of the gNB Status Indication procedure is to inform the eNB that the en-gNB is overloaded ... the gNB Overload Information IE in the GNB STATUS INDICATION message is set to "overloaded". Fig. 8.3.1.2-1, Page 32, Section [8.3.1.2]-ETSI discloses An eNB1 initiates the procedure by sending LOAD INFORMATION message to a peer eNB2. If the UL Interference Overload Indication IE is received in the LOAD INFORMATION message, it indicates the interference level experienced by the indicated cell on all resource blocks, per PRB).
Regarding claims 36, 43 and 49, ETSI in view of Peisa teaches the method of claim 31, the method of claim 37, the first network node of claim 44 respectively.
ETSI further teaches the transmitted first connection establishment message comprises a Maximum Cell List Size Information Element (IE) that indicates the maximum number of cells of the second network node that are receivable by the first network node in the list of served cells of the second network node (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST ... eNB → en-gNB, en-gNB → eNB ... List of Served EUTRA Cells ... <maxCellineNB> {Range; Maximum no. cells that can be served by an eNB} ... Complete list of cells served by the eNB ... List of Served NR Cells ... <maxCellinengNB> {Range; Maximum no. cells that can be served by an en-gNB} ... Complete list of cells served by the engNB).
Regarding claims 38, ETSI in view of Peisa teaches the method of claim 37.
ETSI further teaches handling the connection establishment based on the first connection establishment message (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST ... This message is sent by an initiating node to a neighbouring node, both nodes able to interact for EN-DC, to transfer the initialization information for a TNL association. Figs. 8.7.1.2-1 and 8.2.3.2-1, Page 30, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC ... UE-associated signalling connection between the MeNB and the SeNB).
Regarding claims 50, ETSI in view of Peisa teaches first network node of claim 44.
ETSI further teaches the first network node is an eNodeB (eNB) or a gNodeB (gNB) (Page 13, Section [1]-ETSI discloses radio network layer signalling procedures of the control plane between eNBs in EUTRAN. X2AP supports the functions of X2 interface by signalling procedures. Page 15, Section [3.1]-ETSI discloses X2AP protocol consists of Elementary Procedures (EPs). An X2AP Elementary Procedure is a unit of interaction between two eNBs. An EP consists of an initiating message and possibly a response message).
Regarding claims 52, ETSI in view of Peisa teaches the second network node of claim 51 respectively.
ETSI further teaches the second network node is operative to handle the connection establishment based on the first connection establishment message (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST ... This message is sent by an initiating node to a neighbouring node, both nodes able to interact for EN-DC, to transfer the initialization information for a TNL association. Figs. 8.7.1.2-1 and 8.2.3.2-1, Page 30, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC ... UE-associated signalling connection between the MeNB and the SeNB).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new references (Peisa et al. (US 20200245293 A1)) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
SHAN et al. (US 20190174449 A1)-discloses Systems, apparatuses, methods, and computer-readable media are provided for indicating local area data network (LADN) data network names (DNNs). In embodiments, a user equipment (UE) provides a list of configured LADN DNNs in a registration request message during a registration procedure. An Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) determines LADN information for the UE by looking into configured LADN DNNs in the AMF and/or retrieved LADN authorization/subscription information. The LADN information includes a list of LADN DNNs and corresponding LADN service area(s) that the UE can use, including LADN DNNs that the UE can use in a current registration area. The AMF sends the LADN information to the UE in a registration accept message…. …Fig. 1-5
Zhang et al. (US 20190281587 A1)-discloses Systems, apparatuses, methods, and computer-readable media are provided for selecting a TCI-State for receiving downlink transmissions. In one example a processor/UE is configured to determine one or more candidate TCIs for a downlink slot; determine a scheduling offset between a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); prioritize the candidate TCIs based on the scheduling offset; identify a highest priority candidate TCI; and select the highest priority candidate TCI for receiving the PDSCH…. …Fig. 1-5
Vaidya et al. (US 20200100210 A1)-discloses A base station generates, e.g., based on current UE and current system information, a UE specific paging priority list for an idle or inactive mode UE identifying a set of (small cell base) stations which are to be used to subsequently page the UE. The base station communicates the paging priority list to the UE in a radio resource control release message. In some embodiments, the release message further conveys information indicating a maximum paging monitoring duration and/or a maximum number of paging cells to be monitored. The UE receives the release message and transitions into idle or inactive mode. The UE uses the communicated information to perform efficient paging, identifying which small cells are potential sources of a paging signal, and determine how long to monitor for a paging signal.… …Fig. 1-5
Zhang et al. (US 20190273637 A1)-discloses Systems, apparatuses, methods, and computer-readable media are provided for joint CSI-RS and SRS triggering. Embodiments may include DCI format(s) to support joint CSI-RS and SRS triggering, and UE QCL assumption when CSI-RS and SRS are jointly triggered…. …Fig. 1-5
Vaidya et al. (US 20200100208 A1)-discloses Efficient paging in a communications system including macro and small cell base stations is described. A macro cell base station receives, from a network node, a request to page a UE and determines a set of base stations including one or more small cell base stations, which are to attempt to page the UE. The macro cell base station communicates the paging request to the selected one or more small cell base stations. A small cell base station, using unlicensed spectrum, may fail in its paging attempt due to current unavailibity of the unlicensed spectrum (LBT fails to clear) resulting in no paging signal transmitted; the reason for failure is communicated from the small cell base station to the macro cell base station via a paging response message. The macro cell base station in turn communicates a paging response message to the network node communicating the reason for failure…. …Fig. 1-5
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472