DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Reconsideration-After Non-Final Rejection filed on 09/11/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 09/11/2026 has been entered.
Claims 31-32, 34-35, 37-39, 41-42, 44-45, 47-48 and 50-52 are pending
Claims 31, 35, 37, 42, 44, 48 and 51 are amended
Claims 1-30, 33, 36, 40, 43, 46 and 49 are canceled
Claims 31-32, 34-35, 37-39, 41-42, 44-45, 47-48 and 50-52 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31-32, 34-35, 37-39, 41-42, 44-45, 47-48 and 50-52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 31 (and similarly claims 37, 44 and 51) recites the limitation, “…a second indication indicating a maximum number of cells in a list of served cells of the second network node that the first network node is capable of receiving as part of served cell information comprised in a message related to a second connection establishment message”. However, the limitation has no support in the specification. Therefore, the limitation is new matter.
Dependent claims (32, 34-35, 38-39, 41-42, 45, 47-48, 50 and 52) not addressed above are rejected under the same rational as the parent claim due to a failure to resolve the deficiencies of the parent claim discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-32, 34-35, 37-39, 41-42, 44-45, 47-48 and 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ETSI (3GPP TS 36.423 version 15.5.0 Release 15), hereinafter referenced as ETSI, in view of Peisa et al. (US 20200245293 A1), hereinafter referenced as Peisa.
Regarding claims 31 and 44 ETSI teaches a method, performed by a first network node, for handling communication in a wireless communication network (Page 13, Section [1]-ETSI discloses radio network layer signalling procedures of the control plane between eNBs in EUTRAN. X2AP supports the functions of X2 interface by signalling procedures. Page 15, Section [3.1]-ETSI discloses X2AP protocol consists of Elementary Procedures (EPs). An X2AP Elementary Procedure is a unit of interaction between two eNBs. An EP consists of an initiating message and possibly a response message), the method comprising the first network node:
transmitting, to a second network node, a first connection establishment message related to a connection establishment between the first network node and the second network node (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST ... This message is sent by an initiating node to a neighbouring node, both nodes able to interact for EN-DC, to transfer the initialization information for a TNL association. Figs. 8.7.1.2-1 and 8.2.3.2-1, Page 30, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC ... UE-associated signalling connection between the MeNB and the SeNB); wherein
a second indication indicating a maximum number of cells in a list of served cells of the second network node that the first network node is capable of receiving as part of served cell information comprised in a message related to a second connection establishment message (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to a connection establishment message} ... eNB → en-gNB, en-gNB → eNB ... List of Served EUTRA Cells {Information Element} ... <maxCellineNB> {Range; Maximum no. cells that can be served by an eNB} ... Complete list of cells served by the eNB ... List of Served NR Cells ... <maxCellinengNB> {Range; Maximum no. cells that can be served by an en-gNB} ... Complete list of cells served by the engNB. Page 35, Section [8.3.3.2]-ETSI discloses for each CSG cell or hybrid cell served by the candidate eNB2 the X2 SETUP RESPONSE message shall contain the CSG ID IE. The eNB receiving the IE shall take this information into account when further deciding whether X2 handover between the source cell and the target cell may be performed. Figure 8.3.8.3-1, Page 44, Section [8.3.9.1]-ETSI discloses to transfer information regarding RRC re-establishment attempts, or received RLF Reports, between eNBs); and
a third indication indicating a reason for a failure of the connection establishment (Fig. 8.3.1.2-1, Page 32, Section [8.3.1.2]-ETSI discloses An eNB1 initiates the procedure by sending LOAD INFORMATION message to a peer eNB2. If the UL Interference Overload Indication IE is received in the LOAD INFORMATION message, it indicates the interference level experienced by the indicated cell on all resource blocks, per PRB ... The receiving eNB may take such information into account when setting its scheduling policy {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to using the load information for establishing connection and hence a connection establishment message} and shall consider the received UL Interference Overload Indication IE value valid until reception of a new LOAD INFORMATION message carrying an update of the same IE. Page 18, Section [7]-ETSI discloses the X2AP protocol provides the following functions: ... Load Management. This function is used by eNBs to indicate resource status, overload and traffic load to each other. (See Para. [0045] of the incumbent's pub. US 20220287134 A1 - the instant application). Fig. 8.7.17.2-1, Page 92, Section [8.7.17.1]-ETSI discloses the purpose of the gNB Status Indication procedure is to inform the eNB that the en-gNB is overloaded ... the gNB Overload Information IE in the GNB STATUS INDICATION message is set to "overloaded").
ETSI fails to explicitly teach the first connection establishment message comprises at least one of: a first indication indicating that a list of served cells of the first network node comprised in the first connection establishment message is not a complete list of served cells.
However, Peisa teaches the first connection establishment message comprises at least one of: a first indication indicating that a list of served cells of the first network node comprised in the first connection establishment message is not a complete list of served cells (Para. [0032]-Peisa discloses method in a network node for establishing connectivity and receiving data to and from a wireless device. Fig. 2, Para. [0062]-Peisa discloses a network node, such as a gNB, broadcasts, in the minimum system information associated with a cell, a partial list of PLMN IDs and an indication that there are additional PLMN IDs supported by the communication network available using on-demand system information. The partial list may comprise (e.g. contain) the most common PLMN IDs used in the network, so that most of the UEs can access {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to referenced connection establishment message} the system only by receiving the minimum system information).
ETSI and Peisa are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with RRC connection method, device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ETSI to incorporate the teachings of Peisa on connection establishment, with a motivation to transmit a partial list of served cells, and guarantee minimizing the amount of system information, (Peisa, Para. [0004]; See also Para. [0069] of the incumbent’s pub. US 20220287134 A1).
Regarding claims 37 and 51 ETSI teaches a method, performed by a second network node, for handling communication in a wireless communication network (Page 13, Section [1]-ETSI discloses radio network layer signalling procedures of the control plane between eNBs in EUTRAN. X2AP supports the functions of X2 interface by signalling procedures. Page 15, Section [3.1]-ETSI discloses X2AP protocol consists of Elementary Procedures (EPs). An X2AP Elementary Procedure is a unit of interaction between two eNBs. An EP consists of an initiating message and possibly a response message), the method comprises the second network node:
receiving, from a first network node, a first connection establishment message related to a connection establishment between the first network node and the second network node (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST ... This message is sent by an initiating node to a neighbouring node, both nodes able to interact for EN-DC, to transfer the initialization information for a TNL association. Figs. 8.7.1.2-1 and 8.2.3.2-1, Page 30, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC ... UE-associated signalling connection between the MeNB and the SeNB); wherein
a second indication indicating a maximum number of cells in a list of served cells of the second network node that the first network node is capable of receiving as part of served cell information comprised in a message related to a second connection establishment message (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to a connection establishment message} ... eNB → en-gNB, en-gNB → eNB ... List of Served EUTRA Cells {Information Element} ... <maxCellineNB> {Range; Maximum no. cells that can be served by an eNB} ... Complete list of cells served by the eNB ... List of Served NR Cells ... <maxCellinengNB> {Range; Maximum no. cells that can be served by an en-gNB} ... Complete list of cells served by the engNB. Page 35, Section [8.3.3.2]-ETSI discloses for each CSG cell or hybrid cell served by the candidate eNB2 the X2 SETUP RESPONSE message shall contain the CSG ID IE. The eNB receiving the IE shall take this information into account when further deciding whether X2 handover between the source cell and the target cell may be performed. Figure 8.3.8.3-1, Page 44, Section [8.3.9.1]-ETSI discloses to transfer information regarding RRC re-establishment attempts, or received RLF Reports, between eNBs); and
a third indication indicating a reason for a failure of the connection establishment (Fig. 8.3.1.2-1, Page 32, Section [8.3.1.2]-ETSI discloses An eNB1 initiates the procedure by sending LOAD INFORMATION message to a peer eNB2. If the UL Interference Overload Indication IE is received in the LOAD INFORMATION message, it indicates the interference level experienced by the indicated cell on all resource blocks, per PRB ... The receiving eNB may take such information into account when setting its scheduling policy {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to using the load information for establishing connection and hence a connection establishment message} and shall consider the received UL Interference Overload Indication IE value valid until reception of a new LOAD INFORMATION message carrying an update of the same IE. Page 18, Section [7]-ETSI discloses the X2AP protocol provides the following functions: ... Load Management. This function is used by eNBs to indicate resource status, overload and traffic load to each other. (See Para. [0045] of the incumbent's pub. US 20220287134 A1 - the instant application). Fig. 8.7.17.2-1, Page 92, Section [8.7.17.1]-ETSI discloses the purpose of the gNB Status Indication procedure is to inform the eNB that the en-gNB is overloaded ... the gNB Overload Information IE in the GNB STATUS INDICATION message is set to "overloaded").
ETSI fails to teach the first connection establishment message comprises at least one of: a first indication indicating that a list of served cells of the first network node comprised in the first connection establishment message is not a complete list of served cells.
However, Peisa teaches the first connection establishment message comprises at least one of: a first indication indicating that a list of served cells of the first network node comprised in the first connection establishment message is not a complete list of served cells (Para. [0032]-Peisa discloses method in a network node for establishing connectivity and receiving data to and from a wireless device. Fig. 2, Para. [0062]-Peisa discloses a network node, such as a gNB, broadcasts, in the minimum system information associated with a cell, a partial list of PLMN IDs and an indication that there are additional PLMN IDs supported by the communication network available using on-demand system information. The partial list may comprise (e.g. contain) the most common PLMN IDs used in the network, so that most of the UEs can access {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to referenced connection establishment message} the system only by receiving the minimum system information).
ETSI and Peisa are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with RRC connection method, device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ETSI to incorporate the teachings of Peisa on connection establishment, with a motivation to transmit a partial list of served cells, and guarantee minimizing the amount of system information, (Peisa, Para. [0004]; See also Para. [0069] of the incumbent’s pub. US 20220287134 A1).
Regarding claims 32, 39 and 45, ETSI in view of Peisa teaches the method of claim 31, the method of claim 37, and the first network node of claim 44 respectively.
ETSI further teaches the transmitted first connection establishment message is an Evolved-Universal Terrestrial Radio Access New Radio Dual Connectivity (EN-DC) X2 Setup Request message, an EN-DC X2 Setup Response message, an Xn Setup Request message, and/or an Xn Setup Response message (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST ... This message is sent by an initiating node to a neighbouring node, both nodes able to interact for EN-DC, to transfer the initialization information for a TNL association. Figs. 8.7.1.2-1 and 8.2.3.2-1, Page 30, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC ... UE-associated signalling connection between the MeNB and the SeNB. Page 127, Section [9.1.2.35]-ETSI discloses EN-DC CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE ... This message is sent by a neighbouring node to a peer node, both nodes able to interact for EN-DC, to acknowledge update of information for a TNL association ... en-gNB → eNB, eNB → en-gNB ... List of Served NR Cells {Information Element - Message Type} ... limited {partial} list of cells served by the engNB, if requested by the eNB. Page 233, Section [9.2.115]-ETSI discloses Cell Assistance Information IE is used by the eNB to request information about NR cells ... List of Requested NR Cells {Information Element - IE} ... Included when the eNB requests a limited {partial} list of served NR cells).
Regarding claims 34, 41 and 47, ETSI in view of Peisa teaches the method of claim 31, the method of claim 37, the first network node of claim 44 respectively.
ETSI further teaches the transmitted first connection establishment message is an EN-DC X2 Setup Failure message and/or an Xn Setup Failure message (Fig. 8.7.1.3-2, Page 67, Section [8.7.1.4]-ETSI discloses the initiating node answers with an EN-DC X2 SETUP FAILURE message).
Regarding claims 35, 42 and 48 ETSI in view of Peisa teaches the method of claim 34, the method of claim 41, the first network node of claim 47 respectively.
ETSI further teaches the third indication comprises a Message Oversize Notification Information Element (IE) indicating the reason for the failure of the connection establishment (Pages 181-186, Section [9.2.6]-ETSI discloses {Causes} The purpose of the cause information element is to indicate the reason for a particular event for the whole protocol … Load Balancing ... Control Processing Overload ... {Radio Network Layer cause ---- Meaning} Reduce Load in Serving Cell ---- Load in serving cell needs to be reduced. When applied to handover preparation, it indicates the handover is triggered due to load balancing .... Reduce Load ---- Load in the cell(group) served by the requesting node needs to be reduced. In the current version of this specification applicable for Dual Connectivity and EN-DC only. Page 92, Section [8.7.17.1]-ETSI discloses the purpose of the gNB Status Indication procedure is to inform the eNB that the en-gNB is overloaded ... the gNB Overload Information IE in the GNB STATUS INDICATION message is set to "overloaded". Fig. 8.3.1.2-1, Page 32, Section [8.3.1.2]-ETSI discloses An eNB1 initiates the procedure by sending LOAD INFORMATION message to a peer eNB2. If the UL Interference Overload Indication IE is received in the LOAD INFORMATION message, it indicates the interference level experienced by the indicated cell on all resource blocks, per PRB).
Regarding claims 38, ETSI in view of Peisa teaches the method of claim 37.
ETSI further teaches handling the connection establishment based on the first connection establishment message (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST ... This message is sent by an initiating node to a neighbouring node, both nodes able to interact for EN-DC, to transfer the initialization information for a TNL association. Figs. 8.7.1.2-1 and 8.2.3.2-1, Page 30, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC ... UE-associated signalling connection between the MeNB and the SeNB).
Regarding claims 50, ETSI in view of Peisa teaches first network node of claim 44.
ETSI further teaches the first network node is an eNodeB (eNB) or a gNodeB (gNB) (Page 13, Section [1]-ETSI discloses radio network layer signalling procedures of the control plane between eNBs in EUTRAN. X2AP supports the functions of X2 interface by signalling procedures. Page 15, Section [3.1]-ETSI discloses X2AP protocol consists of Elementary Procedures (EPs). An X2AP Elementary Procedure is a unit of interaction between two eNBs. An EP consists of an initiating message and possibly a response message).
Regarding claims 52, ETSI in view of Peisa teaches the second network node of claim 51 respectively.
ETSI further teaches the second network node is operative to handle the connection establishment based on the first connection establishment message (Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST ... This message is sent by an initiating node to a neighbouring node, both nodes able to interact for EN-DC, to transfer the initialization information for a TNL association. Figs. 8.7.1.2-1 and 8.2.3.2-1, Page 30, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC ... UE-associated signalling connection between the MeNB and the SeNB).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 09/11/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 31-32, 34-35, 37-39, 41-42, 44-45, 47-48 and 50-52 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [12-15], Applicant argues that, “…As acknowledged in the Office Action, ETSI fails to teach or suggest a first connection establishment message comprising "a first indication indicating that a list of served cells of the first network node comprised in the first connection establishment message is not a complete list of served cells."” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
The above referenced limitation, “…a first indication indicating that a list of served cells of the first network node comprised in the first connection establishment message is not a complete list of served cells,” is a newly amended limitation and no office action has acknowledged that ETSI fails to teach or suggest a first connection establishment message comprising the limitation.
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [20-22], Applicant argues that, “…Peisa does not teach or suggest the network node transmitting an indication of the partial list of PLMNs "in a connection establishment message" as recited in amended claim 31.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…the first connection establishment message comprises at least one of: a first indication indicating that a list of served cells of the first network node comprised in the first connection establishment message is not a complete list of served cells,” as recited in the amended incumbent claim 31, Para. [0032]-Peisa discloses method in a network node for establishing connectivity and receiving data to and from a wireless device. Fig. 2, Para. [0062]-Peisa discloses a network node, such as a gNB, broadcasts, in the minimum system information associated with a cell, a partial list of PLMN IDs and an indication that there are additional PLMN IDs supported by the communication network available using on-demand system information. The partial list may comprise (e.g. contain) the most common PLMN IDs used in the network, so that most of the UEs can access {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to referenced connection establishment message} the system only by receiving the minimum system information.
In the remarks, on page 10, Lines [8-13], Applicant argues that, “…In addition to (or in lieu of) the first indication, the first connection establishment message may also comprise "a second indication indicating a maximum number of cells in a list of served cells of the second network node that the first network node is capable of receiving as part of served cell information comprised in a message related to a second connection establishment message." Applicant submits that neither ETSI nor Peisa, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests this limitation of amended claim 31.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…a second indication indicating a maximum number of cells in a list of served cells of the second network node that the first network node is capable of receiving as part of served cell information comprised in a message related to a second connection establishment message,” as recited in the incumbent claim 31, in Page 123, Section [9.1.2.31]-ETSI discloses EN-DC X2 SETUP REQUEST {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to a connection establishment message} ... eNB → en-gNB, en-gNB → eNB ... List of Served EUTRA Cells {Information Element} ... <maxCellineNB> {Range; Maximum no. cells that can be served by an eNB} ... Complete list of cells served by the eNB ... List of Served NR Cells ... <maxCellinengNB> {Range; Maximum no. cells that can be served by an en-gNB} ... Complete list of cells served by the engNB. Page 35, Section [8.3.3.2]-ETSI discloses for each CSG cell or hybrid cell served by the candidate eNB2 the X2 SETUP RESPONSE message shall contain the CSG ID IE. The eNB receiving the IE shall take this information into account when further deciding whether X2 handover between the source cell and the target cell may be performed. Figure 8.3.8.3-1, Page 44, Section [8.3.9.1]-ETSI discloses to transfer information regarding RRC re-establishment attempts, or received RLF Reports, between eNBs.
In the remarks, on page 10, Lines [22-24], Applicant argues that, “…the cited sections of ETSI disclose various causes of failure, they do not teach, suggest, or even hint at their inclusion in a first connection establishment message, as recited in amended claim 31.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the referenced limitation, “…a third indication indicating a reason for a failure of the connection establishment,” as recited in the incumbent claim 31, in Fig. 8.3.1.2-1, Page 32, Section [8.3.1.2]-ETSI discloses An eNB1 initiates the procedure by sending LOAD INFORMATION message to a peer eNB2. If the UL Interference Overload Indication IE is received in the LOAD INFORMATION message, it indicates the interference level experienced by the indicated cell on all resource blocks, per PRB ... The receiving eNB may take such information into account when setting its scheduling policy {EXAMINER'S REMARKS: Corresponding to using the load information for establishing connection and hence a connection establishment message} and shall consider the received UL Interference Overload Indication IE value valid until reception of a new LOAD INFORMATION message carrying an update of the same IE. Page 18, Section [7]-ETSI discloses the X2AP protocol provides the following functions: ... Load Management. This function is used by eNBs to indicate resource status, overload and traffic load to each other. (See Para. [0045] of the incumbent's pub. US 20220287134 A1 - the instant application). Fig. 8.7.17.2-1, Page 92, Section [8.7.17.1]-ETSI discloses the purpose of the gNB Status Indication procedure is to inform the eNB that the en-gNB is overloaded ... the gNB Overload Information IE in the GNB STATUS INDICATION message is set to "overloaded".
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [22-24], Applicant argues that, “…No one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify the X2-based messaging mechanism in ETSI to include the RRC signaling of Peisa.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
ETSI (3GPP TS 36.423 version 15.5.0 Release 15) and Peisa et al. (US 20200245293 A1) are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with RRC connection method, device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ETSI to incorporate the teachings of Peisa on connection establishment, with a motivation to transmit a partial list of served cells, and guarantee minimizing the amount of system information, (Peisa, Para. [0004]; See also Para. [0069] of the incumbent’s pub. US 20220287134 A1).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
SHAN et al. (US 20190174449 A1)-discloses Systems, apparatuses, methods, and computer-readable media are provided for indicating local area data network (LADN) data network names (DNNs). In embodiments, a user equipment (UE) provides a list of configured LADN DNNs in a registration request message during a registration procedure. An Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) determines LADN information for the UE by looking into configured LADN DNNs in the AMF and/or retrieved LADN authorization/subscription information. The LADN information includes a list of LADN DNNs and corresponding LADN service area(s) that the UE can use, including LADN DNNs that the UE can use in a current registration area. The AMF sends the LADN information to the UE in a registration accept message…. …Fig. 1-5
Zhang et al. (US 20190281587 A1)-discloses Systems, apparatuses, methods, and computer-readable media are provided for selecting a TCI-State for receiving downlink transmissions. In one example a processor/UE is configured to determine one or more candidate TCIs for a downlink slot; determine a scheduling offset between a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); prioritize the candidate TCIs based on the scheduling offset; identify a highest priority candidate TCI; and select the highest priority candidate TCI for receiving the PDSCH…. …Fig. 1-5
Vaidya et al. (US 20200100210 A1)-discloses A base station generates, e.g., based on current UE and current system information, a UE specific paging priority list for an idle or inactive mode UE identifying a set of (small cell base) stations which are to be used to subsequently page the UE. The base station communicates the paging priority list to the UE in a radio resource control release message. In some embodiments, the release message further conveys information indicating a maximum paging monitoring duration and/or a maximum number of paging cells to be monitored. The UE receives the release message and transitions into idle or inactive mode. The UE uses the communicated information to perform efficient paging, identifying which small cells are potential sources of a paging signal, and determine how long to monitor for a paging signal.… …Fig. 1-5
Zhang et al. (US 20190273637 A1)-discloses Systems, apparatuses, methods, and computer-readable media are provided for joint CSI-RS and SRS triggering. Embodiments may include DCI format(s) to support joint CSI-RS and SRS triggering, and UE QCL assumption when CSI-RS and SRS are jointly triggered…. …Fig. 1-5
Vaidya et al. (US 20200100208 A1)-discloses Efficient paging in a communications system including macro and small cell base stations is described. A macro cell base station receives, from a network node, a request to page a UE and determines a set of base stations including one or more small cell base stations, which are to attempt to page the UE. The macro cell base station communicates the paging request to the selected one or more small cell base stations. A small cell base station, using unlicensed spectrum, may fail in its paging attempt due to current unavailibity of the unlicensed spectrum (LBT fails to clear) resulting in no paging signal transmitted; the reason for failure is communicated from the small cell base station to the macro cell base station via a paging response message. The macro cell base station in turn communicates a paging response message to the network node communicating the reason for failure…. …Fig. 1-5
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472