DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-20 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended, claim 4 has been canceled, claim 8 was previously canceled, and claims 19 and 20 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuyama (JP2018058959) in view of Nagoshi et al. (U.S. 2014/0154628). Translation attached.
Okuyama teaches a resin composition comprising (A) a resin having one or more structures selected from a polybutadiene structure, a polysiloxane structure, a polyisoprene structure, a polyisobutylene structure, and a polycarbonate structure in a molecule, (B) an epoxy resin having an aromatic structure, and (C) a thermally conductive filler [0012] wherein a specific example of a polybutadiene structure includes Ricon 130MA8 [0025] which is equivalent to (E) an elastomer comprising a polybutadiene-based elastomer that has an acid anhydride group derived from maleic anhydride of instant claims 1, 17, and 18; and examples of the thermally conductive filler include alumina, aluminum nitride, boron nitride, and silicon carbide [0045] which are equivalent to (G) an inorganic filler of instant claim 10. Okuyama also teaches the content of the component (C) is preferably 87% by mass or more, more preferably 88% by mass or more, still more preferably 89% by mass or more, or 90% by mass or more, based on 100% by mass of the nonvolatile component in the resin composition from the viewpoint of obtaining the insulating layer excellent in both of the thermal conductivity and the peel strength. The upper limit is preferably 95% by mass or less, more preferably 93% by mass or less, and still more preferably 92% by mass or less [0049] (claim 10). Okuyama further teaches an epoxy resin having two or more epoxy groups in one molecule and a liquid aromatic structure at a temperature of 20°C (hereinafter referred to as a "liquid epoxy resin"). An epoxy resin having three or more epoxy groups in one molecule and a solid aromatic structure at a temperature of 20°C (hereinafter referred to as a "solid epoxy resin"). It is preferable to include a liquid crystal display device and a method of manufacturing the same. By using a liquid epoxy resin and a solid epoxy resin in combination as the epoxy resin having an aromatic structure, a resin composition having excellent flexibility can be obtained. In addition, the breaking strength of the cured product of the resin composition is also improved [0036] wherein the liquid epoxy resin is preferably a bisphenol A type epoxy resin [0037] and the solid epoxy resin is preferably a biphenyl (aralkyl) type epoxy resin [0038] and when the liquid epoxy resin and the solid epoxy resin are used in combination as the component (B), the amount ratio (solid epoxy resin: liquid epoxy resin) is preferably in the range of 1:0.1 to 1:15 by mass ratio [0039] (claim 1). Okuyama also teaches the resin composition of the present invention may comprise (D) a curing agent. The curing agent is not particularly limited as long as it has a function of curing a resin such as a component (B), and examples thereof preferably include an active ester-based curing agent [0050] and commercially available products of the active ester-based curing agent includes HPC-8000-65 T [0055] and when the resin composition contains the component (D), the content of the curing agent in the resin composition is not particularly limited, but when the non-volatile component in the resin composition is 100 mass %, the content is preferably 5 mass % or less, more preferably 3 mass % or less, and even more preferably 2 mass % or less. The lower limit is not particularly limited, but is preferably 0.1% by mass or more, and more preferably 0.5% by mass or more [0059] (claims 1 and 19) which is equivalent to (C) an active ester compound having two or more active ester groups in one molecule which are produced from a polycarboxylic acid compound and a phenol hydroxy group-having compound of instant claims 1 and 5. Okuyama further teaches the resin composition of the present invention may include (E) a curing accelerator [0060] (claim 11). Okuyama also teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor chip package includes: (A) a step of laminating a temporary fixing film on a base material; (B) temporarily fixing the semiconductor chip onto the temporary fixing film; (B) temporarily fixing the semiconductor chip onto the temporary fixing film; (C) a step of laminating a resin composition layer of the resin sheet of the present invention on a semiconductor chip, or applying the resin composition of the present invention on a semiconductor chip, and thermally curing the resin composition to form a sealing layer; (D) peeling the base material and the temporary fixing film from the semiconductor chip; (D) peeling the base material and the temporary fixing film from the semiconductor chip; (E) a step of forming a rewiring forming layer (insulating layer) on a surface of the semiconductor chip on which the base material and the temporary fixing film are peeled; (F) forming a conductor layer (rewiring layer) on the rewiring forming layer (insulating layer); and (G) forming a solder resist layer on the conductor layer [0134] and after forming the rewiring forming layer (insulating layer), a via hole may be formed in the rewiring forming layer (insulating layer) for interlayer connection between the semiconductor chip and a conductor layer to be described later. When forming the via hole, when the material forming the rewiring forming layer (insulating layer) is a photosensitive resin, first, the surface of the rewiring forming layer (insulating layer) is irradiated with an active energy ray through a mask pattern, and the outermost wiring layer of the irradiation unit is photo-cured. Next, a via hole is formed by developing the rewiring forming layer (insulating layer) and removing the unexposed portion [0148-0151] (claims 12-16). Okuyama further teaches the resin composition may further contain other additives as necessary, and examples of such other additives include organometallic compounds such as an organic copper compound, an organic zinc compound, and an organic cobalt compound, and resin additives such as a binder, a thickener, a defoaming agent, a leveling agent, an adhesion-imparting agent, and a colorant [0075].
Okuyama does not teach (A) a photopolymerizable compound having an ethylenically unsaturated group and an acidic substituent, (D) a crosslinking agent, or (F) a photopolymerization initiator.
However, Nagoshi et al. teaches a photosensitive resin composition comprises an (a) component: an acid-modified epoxy resin, a (b) component: a photopolymerizable monomer having an ethylenically unsaturated group ((D) crosslinking agent), a (c) component: a photopolymerization initiator, a (d) component: an epoxy resin, and an (e) component: an inorganic filler, wherein the (a) component comprises an acid-modified bisphenol novolak type epoxy resin and further the photosensitive resin composition satisfies at least one of the conditions shown in the following (I) and (II). (I) The (b) component comprises a photopolymerizable monomer having a tricyclodecane structure and a urethane bond. (II) The (e) component comprises a silica filler having a maximum particle size of 1µm or less in an amount of more than 60 parts by mass based on a total of 100 parts by mass of the (a) component and the (b) component [0028] in which the acid-modified epoxy resin can be obtained, for example, by adding a polybasic acid anhydride (a3) to a product obtained by esterifying an epoxy resin (a1) with an ethylenically unsaturated group-containing monocarboxylic acid (a2) [0030] and the epoxy resin (a1) is not particularly limited as long as the epoxy resin is a compound having one or two or more epoxy groups, and examples of the epoxy resin include novolak type epoxy resins, trisphenolmethane type epoxy resins, bisphenol A type epoxy resins, bisphenol F type epoxy resins, bisphenol S type epoxy resins, biphenyl type epoxy resins, and bisphenol novolak type epoxy resins [0032] (claim 1). Nagoshi et al. also teaches it is preferable that the acid value of the (a) component is 20 to 180 mg KOH/g [0040] (claim 3). Nagoshi et al. further teaches examples of the photopolymerizable monomer having two ethylenically unsaturated groups include a compound obtained by reacting a bisphenol A based (meth)acrylate compound, dimethylol tricyclodecane di(meth)acrylate, tricyclodecanediol di(meth)acrylate, or a glycidyl group-containing compound with an α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid; and a urethane di(meth)acrylate compound. These compounds can be used alone or in combination of two or more kinds. Among the above compounds, it is preferable that the photosensitive resin composition comprises dimethylol tricyclodecane di(meth)acrylate or tricyclodecanediol di(meth)acrylate from the standpoint of improving heat resistance of a cured film [0065-0066] wherein tricyclodecanediol di(meth)acrylate is equivalent to (D) a crosslinking agent including an alicyclic skeleton-having di(meth)acrylate of instant claims 7 and 20. Nagoshi et al. also teaches the photosensitive resin composition of the present invention comprises a photopolymerization initiator [0069] (claim 9). Nagoshi et al. further teaches the photosensitive resin composition of the present invention comprises an epoxy resin (except the above-described acid-modified epoxy resin). Examples of the (d) component include bisphenol A type epoxy resins such as bisphenol A diglycidyl ethers, bisphenol F type epoxy resins such as bisphenol F diglycidyl ethers, bisphenol S type epoxy resins such as bisphenol S diglycidyl ethers, bisphenol type epoxy resins such as bisphenol diglycidyl ethers, bixylenol type epoxy resins such as bixylenol diglycidyl ethers, hydrogenated bisphenol A type epoxy resins such as hydrogenated bisphenol A glycidyl ethers, phenolbiphenylaralkyl type epoxy resins, and bisphenol novolak type epoxy resins. These compounds are used alone or in combination of two or more kinds [0082] ((B) epoxy resins claim 1). Nagoshi et al. also teaches the photosensitive resin composition of the present invention comprises an inorganic filler. As the (e) component, barium sulfate, barium titanate, a powdered silicon oxide, amorphous silica, talc, clay, fired kaolin, magnesium carbonate, calcium carbonate, aluminum oxide, aluminum hydroxide, and mica powder for example can be used [0088] ((G) inorganic filler claim 10). Nagoshi et al. further teaches it is preferable that the photosensitive resin composition further comprises a compound having an amino group in the molecule as a curing accelerator in addition to the above-described (a) to (e) components from the standpoint of achieving chemical resistance and plating resistance at a higher level [0100] ((H) curing accelerator claim 11). Nagoshi et al. also teaches the present invention intends to provide an alkaline developable photosensitive resin composition that has a low CTE and a high Tg and is excellent in crack resistance in a highly multi-layered substrate and HAST resistance of an ultrafine pitch [0011]. Furthermore, it should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, both Okuyama and Nagoshi are directed to photosensitive compositions for multilayer resists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Okuyama to include additional components known in the art as taught by Nagoshi et al. and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention in order to achieve optimum CTE, TG, and crack resistance. The composition of Okuyama modified by Nagoshi et al. is the same as instantly claimed, therefore it is expected to have the equivalent ratio of the epoxy group of the epoxy resin to the acidic substituent of the photopolymerizable compound having an ethylenically unsaturated group and an acid substituent of 0.5 to 6.0, and the equivalent ratio of the active ester compound to the epoxy group of the epoxy resin is 0.01 to 0.4, absent any evidence to the contrary (claim 6).
Claim 12 recites “which is used for formation of…” which is refers to the use of the composition. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed composition is intended to be used does not differentiate the claimed composition from a prior art composition satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2, USPQ2d 1647 (1987). This recitation of the composition is drawn to intended use; therefore, this limitation does not add any patentable weight to the claim (MPEP 2106).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuyama (JP2018058959) in view of Nagoshi et al. (U.S. 2014/0154628) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (JP2018021978). Translation of ‘978 provided by Applicant.
With regard to claim 2, Okuyama modified by Nagoshi teach a photosensitive composition comprising an acid-modified epoxy resin (photopolymerizable compound having an ethylenically unsaturated group and an acidic substituent) in which the epoxy resin (a1) is not particularly limited as long as the epoxy resin is a compound having one or two or more epoxy groups, and examples of the epoxy resin include novolak type epoxy resins, trisphenolmethane type epoxy resins, bisphenol A type epoxy resins, bisphenol F type epoxy resins, bisphenol S type epoxy resins, biphenyl type epoxy resins, and bisphenol novolak type epoxy resins (Nagoshi [0032]).
Okuyama and Nagoshi do not teach the epoxy resin comprises an alicyclic structure represented by general formula (A-1).
However, Huang et al. teaches a composition suitable for protecting the circuit of a printed circuit board comprising a photopolymerizable prepolymer (oligomer) (represented by chemical formula 1). This is prepared by reacting (a1) dicyclopentadiene phenol novolac polyfunctional epoxy, (a2) a phenol benzaldehyde novolac polyfunctional epoxy or a combination of these two (a1) and (a2) with (b) a monocarboxylic acid containing a vinyl group and then reacting (c) a saturated or unsaturated polyacid anhydride [0007] in which a specific example is seen in Synthesis Example 1-A1 in which 390g Solvent-KA was added to 1000g Dicyclopentadiene phenol novolac multifunctional epoxy (Southern ** glue industrial co., Ltd., trade mark NPPN - 272H, equivalent to epoxy EEW of 272g / eq). After heating the mixture to 100°C, 4.5g of triphenylphosphine and 1.0g of hydroquinone HQ were added, the mixture was stirred to dissolve, and 265g of acrylic acid AA was added dropwise to the above solutions to react. The reaction time during the dropwise addition was 90 minutes, and the reaction temperature during the dropwise addition was 95°C. After the dropwise addition, the mixture was heated to 120°C to perform a ripening reaction for 12 hours. When the analytical acid number was less than 1mgKOH/g, 380g tetrahydrophthalic anhydride THPA and 390g i-150 were added and reacted at a temperature of 110°C for 5 hours. Then, solvents KA of 55g and i-150 of 55g were added for dilution until the solid content was 65% to obtain a photopolymerizable prepolymer (oligomer) 60mgKOH having an analyzed acid number of Mw 1839/g and a weight-average molecular weight of A1 [0032] which is equivalent to the photopolymerizable compound having an ethylenically unsaturated group and an acidic substituent comprising an alicyclic structure represented by general Formula (A-1) of instant claims 1 and 2 when m1 is 0. Huang et al. also teaches the present invention provides a new low Dk/Df (relative permittivity/dielectric loss tangent) composition having excellent developing performance and photo-curing force is provided. The manufactured printed board has excellent adhesion, chemical resistance, electrical characteristics, plating resistance, solder heat resistance, electric corrosion resistance, and the like, and has a dielectric loss tangent Df that is smaller than 3.20(1 GHz) and is smaller than the relative permittivity Dk and 0.015(1 GHz). Then, low Dk/Df composition can be applied to a high-performance and high-frequency printed circuit board [0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Okuyama and Nagoshi to include other known acid-modified vinyl group epoxy resins such as that taught by Huang et al. and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation in order to achieve low Dk/Df as well as excellent adhesion, chemical resistance, electrical characteristics, plating resistance, solder heat resistance, electric corrosion resistance, and the like.
Response to Arguments
Due to the amendment filed March 2, 2026 of instant claim 1, the 103 rejections over Ejiri in view of Kasahara ‘534 and Kasahara ‘964, and further in view of Huang have been withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with regard to these rejections have been considered but are moot due to the amendment of instant claim 1. However, Huang is still being used as prior art because it continues to teach (A) having an alicyclic structure represented by general formula (A-1).
Due to the cancelation of claim 4, the 112(d) rejection has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. 2013/0085208.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Anna Malloy/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737