DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment of Papers Received: Remarks dated 7/9/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9-16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined disclosures Hernandez et al (US 2016/0199524 A1 hereafter Hernandez) in view of Williams et al (US 2016/0333114 A1 hereafter Williams) and Deri et al (p-SCN-Bn-HOP: A Superior Bifunctional Chelator for 89Zr ImmunoPET, Bioconjugate Chemistry, 2015, 26, 2579-2591 hereafter Deri).
Hernandez discloses a method for in vivo immunotherapy and imaging of bound IL-12 (claim 9). The method comprises administering a labeled antibody or antigen fragment conjugate which comprises an antibody or antigen fragment that specifically binds IL-12 and a detection label such as a radionuclide and detecting the conjugate (Figures, Examples). The radionuclide tracer is ¹⁸F (0007, 0011, 0017). The method is applied to a subject where the subject has cancer (claim 27). The subject used in the method include mice (Fig. 1, 0022). The radionuclide tracer is conjugated to the antibody via a difunctional chelator such as DOTA (0010, 0042-0044). The imaging aspects of the method include PET, MRI and PECT scans (0015). The imaging can be done in real time (Fig. 10).
The reference discloses a method for in vivo imaging, the reference does not disclose prior immunotherapy therapy. Immunotherapy can be applied with in vivo immunoimaging as seen in the Williams patent.
Williams discloses a method of treatment comprising a noninvasive means of diagnosing and imaging tissues in a patient [abstract, Examples]. The compound is an antibody that binds IL-12 [0200]. The antibody can further be labeled with a radiometal such as ¹⁸, ⁶⁹Ga and ⁶⁴Cu [Examples]. The compound is conjugated with DOTA [0238-0240]. The formulation can be applied after the administration of a prior immunotherapy in order to improve the treatment [0231]. It would have been obvious to apply the prior immunotherapy of Williams to the method of Hernandez to improve the overall treatment of cancers.
As discussed above, Hernandez discloses a method of immunoimaging of IL-12 as a marker in a subject. The marker composition comprises an antibody or fragment that binds IL-12 and conjugates with a detection label, where the label is a radionuclide. The conjugate is formed with the antibody with a bifunctional chelating agent. The reference does not disclose the specific chelator of claim 13, however the use of this specific compound is known in the art as seen in the Deri study.
Deri discloses a study of the use of p-SCN-Bn-HOPO and p-SCN-Bn-DFO as a bifunctional chelator for forming conjugates with 89Zr for immunoimaging using PET (abstract). In experiments the chelator forms conjugates with anticancer drugs and shows superior tumor: blood ratio for visualization (pg. 2583). It would have been obvious to include this specific bifunctional chelator in the method of Hernandez as they solve the same problem of visualizations tumors in the body.
With these aspects in mind, it would have been obvious to combine the chelator of Deri into the method of Hernandez as they solve the same problem. It would have been obvious to include the additional immunotherapy administration of Williams in order to enhance the overall effectiveness of the treatment, as they solve the same problem of treating cancers by in vivo visualizations. The chelator of Deri provides a superior imaging ability for the types of imaging methods, where the compounds comprise conjugated anticancer compounds. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the chelator of Deri into the method of Hernandez with an expected result of a stable method for in vivo immunoimaging using anticancer conjugates.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of the prior art does not render the claims obvious as the combination does not disclose a method of immunoimaging of IL-12 activated antigen presenting cells.
Regarding this argument, it remains the position of the Examiner that the combination of Hernandez, Wiliams and Deri continues to render the claims obvious. Hernandez discloses a method of immunoimaging cancer cells comprising administration of a labeled-antibody conjugate where the antibody can bind IL-12 (claim 9) and the label is a radionuclide tracer including (0011, 0017). The conjugate further comprises chelator such as DOTA, and the imaging is accomplished by PET, MRI and PECT scans. These limitations meet limitations of claims 1, 3, 12 and 14-16. Applicant argues that the selection of these components is merely picking a choosing as Hernandez lists at least 100 antigens in its claims. While many antigens are listed, IL-12 is preferred as its increased secretion is a sign of injury and inflammation. In a method for imaging injured tissue or inflamed tissues, interleukin binders would be an obvious inclusion into a method of imaging cancer patients. Wiliams is applied to address the previous immunotherapy limitation. With these aspects in mind, it would have been obvious to combine the chelator of Deri into the method of Hernandez as they solve the same problem. It would have been obvious to include the additional immunotherapy administration of Williams in order to enhance the overall effectiveness of the treatment, as they solve the same problem of treating cancers by in vivo visualizations. The chelator of Deri provides a superior imaging ability for the types of imaging methods, where the compounds comprise conjugated anticancer compounds. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the chelator of Deri into the method of Hernandez with an expected result of a stable method for in vivo immunoimaging using anticancer conjugates. For these reasons, the claims remain obviated.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICAH PAUL YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618