DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11, 13, 17-19, and 21 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-4, and 13 are amended.
Claims 5, 6, 10, 12, 14-16, and 20 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) Neither of the cited references discloses “transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information” as now recited in amended Claims 1-4 and 13, [Remarks, pages 13-15].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Marinier discloses transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information [fig. 3, claims 25, 26, paragraphs 0006, 0094, 0095, 0111, 0127, 0130, 0134, transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information (transmitting the first UCI or the second UCI comprises one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI) (wherein control data/information may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements); a UCI (first control information and second control information) may be determined based on an attribute (e.g., a QoS metric); a WTRU may have a priority ranking associated with the UCIs and may use PUCCH resources for the highest priority UCI and may use another set of PUCCH resources for another UCI transmission (different priority/quality parameters))].
Regarding transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, Marinier discloses in Figure 3, claims 25, 26, and paragraphs 0006, 0094, 0095, 0111, 0127, 0130, 0134.
[0094] UCI diversity may be provided. Transmission reliability of UCI may be increased, for example, by transmission of multiple instances over resources that may be separated in one or more of the following: time, frequency, or space domains. Multiple UCI instances may, for example, provide a diversity gain against short-term fading, long-term fading, and/or interference. A UCI instance (e.g., each UCI instance) may be transmitted over a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUCCH). In an example, UCI diversity may be applicable to certain types of UCI (e.g., HARQ-ACK).
[0095] In an example, UCI instances may be transmitted over multiple carriers and/or bandwidth parts, a WTRU may be configured to operate on. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the same HARQ-ACK information that may pertain to a downlink assignment (e.g., received in a previous slot 302) may be transmitted over multiple PUCCH instances (e.g., two PUCCH instances 306 and 308). The two PUCCH instances may be include a first UCI instance 306 that may be transmitted on an UL component carrier one (CC1) 310 and a second UCI instance 308 that may be transmitted on UL component carrier two (CC2) 312. The UCI may be transmitted in slot 2 304. Each of the first UCI instance 306 and the second UCI instance 308 may include similar information (e.g., same HARQ ACK-NACK information).
[0111] Power control with power control modes, for example, for carrier aggregation (CA) and/or dual connectivity (DC) may be provided. In an example, a WTRU may apply a priority level to a transmission that may include UCI, for example, when UCI diversity is activated. The WTRU may apply the priority level, for example, if configured with a power control mode (PCM). The WTRU may be configured to group one or more type(s) of transmission(s). The WTRU may be configured to allocate at least an amount (e.g., a fraction) of the total WTRU available power to a group of transmissions e.g., with a minimum guaranteed power. The WTRU may determine that transmissions that include UCI are part of a same group of transmissions. The WTRU may perform such grouping, for example, if the UCI is associated with a transmission profile. For example, such transmission profile may correspond to an ultra-reliable low latency communications (URLLC) type of transmission. The WTRU may assign a higher priority to such group of transmissions than other data transmissions (e.g., data transmissions associated with a transmission profile that corresponds to non-URLLC type of transmission). In a WTRU configured with CA, for example, a transmission that includes at least some UCI generated when applying UCI diversity may have highest priority over other transmissions for a given MAC instance. For a WTRU configured with DC and/or with multiple groups of transmissions, for example, a group of transmissions (or a cell group) with at least one transmission including at least some UCI (generated, e.g., when applying UCI diversity) may have highest priority than other group(s).
[0127] …. In an example of a UL/DL configuration of a slot, a WTRU may determine a PUCCH type (e.g., short or long) or a long PUCCH duration, for example, based on the number of symbols assigned for UL transmissions. In an example of a service type, URLLC may involve a PUCCH format for HARQ that may enable higher reliability. In an example, URLLC transmissions may require PUCCH diversity. In an example of UCI multiplexing, transmission of HARQ tied to multiple TBs (e.g., due to multiple carriers or slot aggregation) may have a higher payload PUCCH format. In an example of feedback timing, a feedback timing using an offset less than a threshold may use a first PUCCH table while feedback timing using an offset greater than the threshold may use a second PUCCH table. ….
[0130] A WTRU may be assigned with resources for multiple PUCCH transmissions. The resources, for example, may be colliding resources. In an example, a WTRU may multiplex multiple UCIs on the same PUCCH resources. In an example, a WTRU may have a priority ranking associated with UCIs. The WTRU may drop UCI or feedback with lower priority. In an example, a WTRU may have a priority ranking associated with the UCIs and may use PUCCH resources for the highest priority UCI and may use another set of PUCCH resources (e.g., a fallback set of PUCCH resources) for another UCI transmission. In an example, a WTRU may use fallback PUCCH resources for multiple UCI transmissions. In an example, each of the multiple UCIs may be assigned a different fallback resource. ….
[0134] A transmission profile associated with UCI or uplink data may be determined, for example, based on one or more of the following: …; (iii) a value of a field in DCI that may be associated with a transmission of UCI or uplink data (e.g., an explicit indication of transmission profile, or implicitly from an existing field (e.g., a HARQ process index) or a field that may be used for logical channel prioritization (e.g., for an uplink grant), … ; (vii) a property of, or associated with, the PUCCH resource configured for the transmission of the SR (such as a sub-carrier spacing, a duration of PUCCH resource, a logical channel associated to the SR configuration, or a property thereof, such as a priority, and/or a transmission profile explicitly configured as part of the SR configuration); (viii) a property of, or associated to, the grant or the PUSCH transmission (e.g., for uplink data), for example, a property used for determining a logical channel restriction for logical channel prioritization (such as a duration of the PUSCH transmission, a property of the numerology (e.g., sub-carrier spacing, symbol duration), or a property of the carrier); or (ix) a bandwidth part on which an associated PDSCH transmission or PUSCH transmission is transmitted. With respect to (iv), a transmission profile may have precedence based on a priority order that may be configured. For example, a transmission profile may have a precedence based on a configured priority order, if a PDCCH candidate is part of search spaces that are associated with more than one transmission profiles. With respect to (i), a transmission profile associated with a UCI may be determined based on an attribute (e.g., a QoS metric) associated with the logical channel or the logical channel group from which data may be transmitted. With respect to (v), a BLER target value may be configured for a CSI report setting. ….
25. The WTRU of claim 24, wherein the first UCI or the second UCI comprises one or more of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ), a scheduling request (SR), or a channel quality indicator (CQI).
26. The WTRU of claim 17, wherein the attribute of data is at least one of: an identity of a logical channel or an identity of a logical channel group of the data associated with the UCI, wherein the attribute is a quality of service (QoS) metric.
In other words, Marinier discloses transmitting the first UCI or the second UCI comprises one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI) (wherein control data/information may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements).
Therefore, given that Marinier discloses transmission of different UCI instances (first control information and second control information) may be determined based on an attribute (e.g., a QoS metric), then Marinier clearly discloses transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information.
Regarding the rejection of claims 2, 3, 4, and 13, claims 2, 3, 4, and 13 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 2, 3, 4, and 13, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 7-11, 17-19, and 21, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11, 13, 17-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novlan et al., (hereinafter Novlan), U.S. Publication No. 2016/0295624, in view of Marinier et al., (hereinafter Marinier), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0196343.
As per claim 1, Novlan discloses a method of operating a wireless device in a wireless communication network [Abstract, paragraphs 0002, 0006, a method of operating a wireless device in a wireless communication network (a method of a first user equipment (UE) in a wireless vehicular communication network)], the method comprising:
receiving control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of first control information on a first transmission resource from a first set of transmission resources associated with a first priority [fig. 11, 21, paragraphs 0005, 0006, 0068, 0089, 0100, 0106, 0121, 0123, 0125, 0130, 0162, 0180, receiving control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of first control information on a first transmission resource from a first set of transmission resources associated with a first priority (available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations; wherein multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools; different time/frequency resource pools allocated for control information; uplink request message in order to indicate to the eNB allocating resources; support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; resource list is prioritized, for example, the mode 1 allocation 2115 may use the resource #1 2116a before using the resource #2 2116b)];
receiving control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of second control information on a second transmission resource from a second set of transmission resources associated with a second priority [fig. 11, 21, paragraphs 0005, 0006, 0068, 0089, 0106, 0123, 0125, 0180, receiving control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of second control information on a second transmission resource from a second set of transmission resources associated with a second priority (available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations; wherein multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools; different time/frequency resource pools allocated for control information; uplink request message in order to indicate to the eNB allocating resources; support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; resource list is prioritized, for example, the mode 1 allocation 2115 may use the resource #1 2116a before using the resource #2 2116b)]; and
transmitting the first control information and the second control information being multiplexed on a common transmission resource [fig. 12, 13, paragraphs 0005, 0047, 0102, 0121, 0128, 0132, 0180, 0199, transmitting the first control information and the second control information being multiplexed on a common transmission resource (resource pool partitioning or configuration of multiple pools can be applied to support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple dedicated or shared resource pools; available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations (such as resource list))], the common transmission resource being one transmission resource from one of the first set of transmission resources and the second set of transmission resources associated with a highest priority out of the first priority and the second priority [fig. 11, paragraphs 0005, 0101, 0089, 0123, the common transmission resource being one transmission resource from one of the first set of transmission resources and the second set of transmission resources associated with a highest priority out of the first priority and the second priority (multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple dedicated or shared resource pools (common resources; common or shared pool could be utilized by multiple traffic types); set of predefined resources may be selected inside the common pool; prioritizing based on traffic type (such as event or periodic))].
Novlan does not explicitly discloses control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information; the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel; transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel.
However, Marinier teaches control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information [paragraphs 0006, 0083, 0095, 0102, 0105, 0126, 0130, control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information (first UCI or the second UCI may include one or more of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ); a combination of PUCCH configurations)]; the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel [paragraphs 0006, 0083, 0095, 0102, 0105, 0126, 0130, 0160, the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel (transmission of HARQ-ACK over PUCCH in a first resource; transmission of HARQ-ACK over PUCCH in a second resource)]; transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information [fig. 3, claims 25, 26, paragraphs 0006, 0094, 0095, 0111, 0127, 0130, 0134, transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information (transmitting the first UCI or the second UCI comprises one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI) (wherein control data/information may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements); a UCI (first control information and second control information) may be determined based on an attribute (e.g., a QoS metric); a WTRU may have a priority ranking associated with the UCIs and may use PUCCH resources for the highest priority UCI and may use another set of PUCCH resources for another UCI transmission (different priority/quality parameters))], the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel [paragraphs 0127, 0129, 0130, 0153, 0162, 0178, the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel (UCI multiplexing, transmission of HARQ tied to multiple TBs; a WTRU may be configured to multiplex multiple PUCCH transmissions)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Novlan by including control information comprising first/second Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information as taught by Marinier because it would provide the Novlan’s method with the enhanced capability of allowing efficient utilization of resources [Marinier, paragraph 0131].
As per claim 2, Novlan discloses a wireless device for a wireless communication network [fig. 1, paragraphs 0003, 0041, 0048, a wireless device for a wireless communication network (wireless network 100 could include any number of BSs (such as managing entities) and any number of UEs (such as vehicle terminals))], the wireless device configured for:
receiving control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of first control information on a first transmission resource from a first set of transmission resources associated with a first priority [fig. 11, 21, paragraphs 0005, 0006, 0068, 0089, 0100, 0106, 0121, 0123, 0125, 0130, 0162, 0180, receiving control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of first control information on a first transmission resource from a first set of transmission resources associated with a first priority (available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations; wherein multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools; different time/frequency resource pools allocated for control information; uplink request message in order to indicate to the eNB allocating resources; support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; resource list is prioritized, for example, the mode 1 allocation 2115 may use the resource #1 2116a before using the resource #2 2116b)];
receiving control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of second control information on a second transmission resource from a second set of transmission resources associated with a second priority [fig. 11, 21, paragraphs 0005, 0006, 0068, 0089, 0106, 0123, 0125, 0180, receiving control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of second control information on a second transmission resource from a second set of transmission resources associated with a second priority (available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations; wherein multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools; different time/frequency resource pools allocated for control information; uplink request message in order to indicate to the eNB allocating resources; support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; resource list is prioritized, for example, the mode 1 allocation 2115 may use the resource #1 2116a before using the resource #2 2116b)]; and
transmitting the first control information and the second control information multiplexed on a common transmission resource [fig. 12, 13, paragraphs 0005, 0047, 0102, 0121, 0128, 0132, 0180, 0199, transmitting the first control information and the second control information multiplexed on a common transmission resource (resource pool partitioning or configuration of multiple pools can be applied to support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple dedicated or shared resource pools; available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations (such as resource list))], the common transmission resource being one transmission resource from one of the first set of transmission resources and the second set of transmission resources associated with a highest priority out of the first priority and the second priority [fig. 11, paragraphs 0005, 0101, 0089, 0123, the common transmission resource being one transmission resource from one of the first set of transmission resources and the second set of transmission resources associated with a highest priority out of the first priority and the second priority (multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple dedicated or shared resource pools (common resources; common or shared pool could be utilized by multiple traffic types); set of predefined resources may be selected inside the common pool; prioritizing based on traffic type (such as event or periodic))].
Novlan does not explicitly discloses control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information; the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel; transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel.
However, Marinier teaches control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information [paragraphs 0006, 0083, 0095, 0102, 0105, 0126, 0130, control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information (first UCI or the second UCI may include one or more of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ); a combination of PUCCH configurations)]; the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel [paragraphs 0006, 0083, 0095, 0102, 0105, 0126, 0130, 0160, the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel (transmission of HARQ-ACK over PUCCH in a first resource; transmission of HARQ-ACK over PUCCH in a second resource)]; transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information [fig. 3, claims 25, 26, paragraphs 0006, 0094, 0095, 0111, 0127, 0130, 0134, transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information (transmitting the first UCI or the second UCI comprises one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI) (wherein control data/information may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements); a UCI (first control information and second control information) may be determined based on an attribute (e.g., a QoS metric); a WTRU may have a priority ranking associated with the UCIs and may use PUCCH resources for the highest priority UCI and may use another set of PUCCH resources for another UCI transmission (different priority/quality parameters))], the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel [paragraphs 0127, 0129, 0130, 0153, 0162, 0178, the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel (UCI multiplexing, transmission of HARQ tied to multiple TBs; a WTRU may be configured to multiplex multiple PUCCH transmissions)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the device described in Novlan by including control information comprising first/second Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information as taught by Marinier because it would provide the Novlan’s device with the enhanced capability of allowing efficient utilization of resources [Marinier, paragraph 0131].
As per claim 3, Novlan discloses a method of operating a network node in a wireless communication network [Abstract, paragraphs 0002, 0006, 0043, a method of operating a network node in a wireless communication network (a method of a first user equipment (UE) in a wireless vehicular communication network; the network 130 for a first plurality of UEs within a coverage area 120 of the BS 102)], the method comprising
transmitting control signaling triggering a wireless device for transmission of first control information on a first transmission resource from a first set of transmission resources associated with a first priority [fig. 11, 21, paragraphs 0005, 0006, 0068, 0089, 0100, 0106, 0121, 0123, 0125, 0130, 0162, 0180, transmitting control signaling triggering a wireless device for transmission of first control information on a first transmission resource from a first set of transmission resources associated with a first priority (available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations; wherein multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools; different time/frequency resource pools allocated for control information; uplink request message in order to indicate to the eNB allocating resources; support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; resource list is prioritized, for example, the mode 1 allocation 2115 may use the resource #1 2116a before using the resource #2 2116b)];
transmitting control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of second control information on a second transmission resource from a second set of transmission resources associated with a second priority [fig. 11, 21, paragraphs 0005, 0006, 0068, 0089, 0106, 0123, 0125, 0180, transmitting control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of second control information on a second transmission resource from a second set of transmission resources associated with a second priority (available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations; wherein multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools; different time/frequency resource pools allocated for control information; uplink request message in order to indicate to the eNB allocating resources; support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; resource list is prioritized, for example, the mode 1 allocation 2115 may use the resource #1 2116a before using the resource #2 2116b)]; and
receiving control information from the wireless device, comprising receiving the first control information and the second control information multiplexed on a common transmission resource [fig. 12, 13, paragraphs 0005, 0047, 0102, 0121, 0128, 0132, 0180, 0199, receiving control information from the wireless device, comprising receiving the first control information and the second control information multiplexed on a common transmission resource (resource pool partitioning or configuration of multiple pools can be applied to support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple dedicated or shared resource pools; available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations (such as resource list))], the common transmission resource being one transmission resource from one of the first set of transmission resources and the second set of transmission resources associated with a highest priority out of the first priority and the second priority [fig. 11, paragraphs 0005, 0101, 0089, 0123, the common transmission resource being one transmission resource from one of the first set of transmission resources and the second set of transmission resources associated with a highest priority out of the first priority and the second priority (multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple dedicated or shared resource pools (common resources; common or shared pool could be utilized by multiple traffic types); set of predefined resources may be selected inside the common pool; prioritizing based on traffic type (such as event or periodic))].
Novlan does not explicitly discloses control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information; the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel; receiving the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel.
However, Marinier teaches control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information [paragraphs 0006, 0083, 0095, 0102, 0105, 0126, 0130, control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information (first UCI or the second UCI may include one or more of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ); a combination of PUCCH configurations)]; the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel [paragraphs 0006, 0083, 0095, 0102, 0105, 0126, 0130, 0160, the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel (transmission of HARQ-ACK over PUCCH in a first resource; transmission of HARQ-ACK over PUCCH in a second resource)]; receiving the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information [fig. 3, claims 25, 26, paragraphs 0006, 0094, 0095, 0111, 0127, 0130, 0134, receiving the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information (transmitting the first UCI or the second UCI comprises one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI) (wherein control data/information may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements); a UCI (first control information and second control information) may be determined based on an attribute (e.g., a QoS metric); a WTRU may have a priority ranking associated with the UCIs and may use PUCCH resources for the highest priority UCI and may use another set of PUCCH resources for another UCI transmission (different priority/quality parameters))], the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel [paragraphs 0127, 0129, 0130, 0153, 0162, 0178, the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel (UCI multiplexing, transmission of HARQ tied to multiple TBs; a WTRU may be configured to multiplex multiple PUCCH transmissions)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Novlan by including control information comprising first/second Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information as taught by Marinier because it would provide the Novlan’s method with the enhanced capability of allowing efficient utilization of resources [Marinier, paragraph 0131].
As per claim 4, Novlan discloses a network node for a wireless communication network [Abstract, paragraphs 0002, 0006, 0043, a network node for a wireless communication network (network 130 for a first plurality of UEs within a coverage area 120 of the BS 102)], the network node configured for:
transmitting control signaling triggering a wireless device for transmission of first control information on a first transmission resource from a first set of transmission resources associated with a first priority [fig. 11, 21, paragraphs 0005, 0006, 0068, 0089, 0100, 0106, 0121, 0123, 0125, 0130, 0162, 0180, transmitting control signaling triggering a wireless device for transmission of first control information on a first transmission resource from a first set of transmission resources associated with a first priority (available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations; wherein multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools; different time/frequency resource pools allocated for control information; uplink request message in order to indicate to the eNB allocating resources; support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; resource list is prioritized, for example, the mode 1 allocation 2115 may use the resource #1 2116a before using the resource #2 2116b)];
transmitting control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of second control information on a second transmission resource from a second set of transmission resources associated with a second priority [fig. 11, 21, paragraphs 0005, 0006, 0068, 0089, 0106, 0123, 0125, 0180, transmitting control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of second control information on a second transmission resource from a second set of transmission resources associated with a second priority (available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations; wherein multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools; different time/frequency resource pools allocated for control information; uplink request message in order to indicate to the eNB allocating resources; support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; resource list is prioritized, for example, the mode 1 allocation 2115 may use the resource #1 2116a before using the resource #2 2116b)]; and
receiving control information from the wireless device, comprising receiving the first control information and the second control information multiplexed on a common transmission resource [fig. 12, 13, paragraphs 0005, 0047, 0102, 0121, 0128, 0132, 0180, 0199, receiving control information from the wireless device, comprising receiving the first control information and the second control information multiplexed on a common transmission resource (resource pool partitioning or configuration of multiple pools can be applied to support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple dedicated or shared resource pools; available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations (such as resource list))], the common transmission resource being one transmission resource from one of the first set of transmission resources and the second set of transmission resources associated with a highest priority out of the first priority and the second priority [fig. 11, paragraphs 0005, 0101, 0089, 0123, the common transmission resource being one transmission resource from one of the first set of transmission resources and the second set of transmission resources associated with a highest priority out of the first priority and the second priority (multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple dedicated or shared resource pools (common resources; common or shared pool could be utilized by multiple traffic types); set of predefined resources may be selected inside the common pool; prioritizing based on traffic type (such as event or periodic))].
Novlan does not explicitly discloses control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information; the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel; receiving the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel.
However, Marinier teaches control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information [paragraphs 0006, 0083, 0095, 0102, 0105, 0126, 0130, control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information (first UCI or the second UCI may include one or more of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ); a combination of PUCCH configurations)]; the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel [paragraphs 0006, 0083, 0095, 0102, 0105, 0126, 0130, 0160, the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel (transmission of HARQ-ACK over PUCCH in a first resource; transmission of HARQ-ACK over PUCCH in a second resource)]; receiving the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information [fig. 3, claims 25, 26, paragraphs 0006, 0094, 0095, 0111, 0127, 0130, 0134, receiving the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information (transmitting the first UCI or the second UCI comprises one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI) (wherein control data/information may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements); a UCI (first control information and second control information) may be determined based on an attribute (e.g., a QoS metric); a WTRU may have a priority ranking associated with the UCIs and may use PUCCH resources for the highest priority UCI and may use another set of PUCCH resources for another UCI transmission (different priority/quality parameters))], the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel [paragraphs 0127, 0129, 0130, 0153, 0162, 0178, the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel (UCI multiplexing, transmission of HARQ tied to multiple TBs; a WTRU may be configured to multiplex multiple PUCCH transmissions)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the node described in Novlan by including control information comprising first/second Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information as taught by Marinier because it would provide the Novlan’s node with the enhanced capability of allowing efficient utilization of resources [Marinier, paragraph 0131].
As per claim 7, Novlan discloses the method according claim 1, wherein at least one of: at least one of the first control information, the first transmission resource, and the first set of transmission resources is associated to a first transmission priority, and at least one of the second control information second transmission resource, and the second set of transmission resources is associated to a second transmission priority [paragraphs 0006, 0047, 0100, 0102, 0162, 0180, at least one of the first control information, the first transmission resource, and the first set of transmission resources is associated to a first transmission priority, and at least one of the second control information second transmission resource, and the second set of transmission resources is associated to a second transmission priority (multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools)].
Novlan does not explicitly disclose at least one of the first control information, the first transmission resource, and the first set of transmission resources is associated to a first transmission quality, and at least one of the second control information second transmission resource, and the second set of transmission resources is associated to a second transmission quality.
However, Marinier teaches at least one of the first control information, the first transmission resource, and the first set of transmission resources is associated to a first transmission quality, and at least one of the second control information second transmission resource, and the second set of transmission resources is associated to a second transmission quality [paragraphs 0031, 0111, 0129, 0130, 0134, 0149, 0150, 0157, 0166, at least one of the first control information, the first transmission resource, and the first set of transmission resources is associated to a first transmission quality, and at least one of the second control information second transmission resource, and the second set of transmission resources is associated to a second transmission quality (data may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements; a WTRU may have a priority ranking associated with the UCIs and may use different PUCCH resources; a transmission profile (e.g., a first transmission profile) that may be suitable for ultra-reliable traffic and another transmission profile (e.g., a second transmission profile) that may be suitable for other non-ultra-reliable mobile broadband traffic)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Novlan by including wherein transmission resources is associated to a first transmission quality as taught by Marinier because it would provide the Novlan’s method with the enhanced capability of allowing efficient utilization of resources [Marinier, paragraph 0131].
As per claim 8, Novlan discloses the method according to claim 1,
wherein the common transmission resource is determined from the pool of resources based on payload size of the multiplexed first control information and the second control information [paragraphs 0047, 0100, 0123, 0127, 0132, wherein the common transmission resource is determined from the pool of resources based on payload size of the multiplexed first control information and the second control information (size of resource pool for event-triggered service can be a smaller than the resource pool for periodic service)].
As per claim 9, Novlan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the common transmission resource is selected according to an prioritised order of criteria, the criteria comprising one or more of:
payload size, size of the transmission resource, transmission quality associated to the transmission resource and the set transmission resources the transmission resource is selected from [paragraphs 0047, 0100, wherein the common transmission resource is selected according to an prioritised order of criteria, the criteria comprising payload size (priority for one type of traffic (such as different allocations depending on message size)].
As per claim 11, Novlan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first control information and the second control information are transmitted based on common transmission priority parameters [paragraphs 0006, 0047, 0100, 0102, 0162, 0180, wherein the first control information and the second control information are transmitted based on common transmission priority parameters (multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools)].
Novlan does not explicitly disclose wherein the first control information and the second control information are transmitted based on common transmission quality parameters.
However, Marinier teaches wherein the first control information and the second control information are transmitted based on common transmission quality parameters [paragraphs 0031, 0111, 0129, 0130, 0134, 0149, 0150, 0157, 0166, wherein the first control information and the second control information are transmitted based on common transmission quality parameters (data may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements; a WTRU may have a priority ranking associated with the UCIs and may use different PUCCH resources; a transmission profile (e.g., a first transmission profile) that may be suitable for ultra-reliable traffic and another transmission profile (e.g., a second transmission profile) that may be suitable for other non-ultra-reliable mobile broadband traffic)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Novlan by including common transmission quality parameters as taught by Marinier because it would provide the Novlan’s method with the enhanced capability of allowing efficient utilization of resources [Marinier, paragraph 0131].
As per claim 13, Novlan discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions configured to cause processing circuitry to at least one of control and perform a method of operating a wireless device in a wireless communication network [Abstract, fig. 2, 3, paragraphs 0002, 0005, 0006, a non-transitory computer storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions configured to cause processing circuitry to at least one of control and perform a method of operating a wireless device in a wireless communication network (a method of a first user equipment (UE) in a wireless vehicular communication network)], the wireless device receiving control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of first control information on a first transmission resource from a first set of transmission resources associated with a first priority [fig. 11, 21, paragraphs 0005, 0006, 0068, 0089, 0100, 0106, 0121, 0123, 0125, 0130, 0162, 0180, receiving control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of first control information on a first transmission resource from a first set of transmission resources associated with a first priority (available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations; wherein multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools; different time/frequency resource pools allocated for control information; uplink request message in order to indicate to the eNB allocating resources; support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; resource list is prioritized, for example, the mode 1 allocation 2115 may use the resource #1 2116a before using the resource #2 2116b)], the wireless device further receiving control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of second control information on a second transmission resource from a second set of transmission resources associated with a second priority [fig. 11, 21, paragraphs 0005, 0006, 0068, 0089, 0106, 0123, 0125, 0180, receiving control signaling triggering the wireless device for transmission of second control information on a second transmission resource from a second set of transmission resources associated with a second priority (available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations; wherein multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools; different time/frequency resource pools allocated for control information; uplink request message in order to indicate to the eNB allocating resources; support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; resource list is prioritized, for example, the mode 1 allocation 2115 may use the resource #1 2116a before using the resource #2 2116b)], the method comprising:
transmitting the first control information and the second control information multiplexed on a common transmission resource [fig. 12, 13, paragraphs 0005, 0047, 0102, 0121, 0128, 0132, 0180, 0199, transmitting the first control information and the second control information multiplexed on a common transmission resource (resource pool partitioning or configuration of multiple pools can be applied to support multiple priorities for event-triggered and periodic traffic; multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple dedicated or shared resource pools; available resources (such as 2105a, 2105b, 2111a, 2111b, 2116a, 2116b, 2121a, 2121b) for UEs are defined as a list of time/frequency locations (such as resource list))], the common transmission resource being one transmission resource from one of the first set of transmission resources and the second set of transmission resources associated with a highest priority out of the first priority and the second priority [fig. 11, paragraphs 0005, 0101, 0089, 0123, the common transmission resource being one transmission resource from one of the first set of transmission resources and the second set of transmission resources associated with a highest priority out of the first priority and the second priority (multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple dedicated or shared resource pools (common resources; common or shared pool could be utilized by multiple traffic types); set of predefined resources may be selected inside the common pool; prioritizing based on traffic type (such as event or periodic))].
Novlan does not explicitly discloses control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information; the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel; transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel.
However, Marinier teaches control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information [paragraphs 0006, 0083, 0095, 0102, 0105, 0126, 0130, control information comprising first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information; second control information comprising second HARQ information (first UCI or the second UCI may include one or more of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ); a combination of PUCCH configurations)]; the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel [paragraphs 0006, 0083, 0095, 0102, 0105, 0126, 0130, 0160, the first transmission resource being associated with a first physical uplink control channel; the second transmission resource being associated with a second physical uplink control channel (transmission of HARQ-ACK over PUCCH in a first resource; transmission of HARQ-ACK over PUCCH in a second resource)]; transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information [fig. 3, claims 25, 26, paragraphs 0006, 0094, 0095, 0111, 0127, 0130, 0134, transmitting the first control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information and the second control information based on transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information, the transmission quality parameters associated to the first control information being different from the transmission quality parameters associated to the second control information (transmitting the first UCI or the second UCI comprises one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI) (wherein control data/information may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements); a UCI (first control information and second control information) may be determined based on an attribute (e.g., a QoS metric); a WTRU may have a priority ranking associated with the UCIs and may use PUCCH resources for the highest priority UCI and may use another set of PUCCH resources for another UCI transmission (different priority/quality parameters))], the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel [paragraphs 0127, 0129, 0130, 0153, 0162, 0178, the common transmission resource being associated with a physical uplink control channel (UCI multiplexing, transmission of HARQ tied to multiple TBs; a WTRU may be configured to multiplex multiple PUCCH transmissions)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the medium described in Novlan by including control information comprising first/second Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, information as taught by Marinier because it would provide the Novlan’s medium with the enhanced capability of allowing efficient utilization of resources [Marinier, paragraph 0131].
As per claim 17, Novlan discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein at least one of: at least one of the first control information, the first transmission resource, and the first set of transmission resources is associated to a first transmission priority, and at least one of the second control information second transmission resource, and the second set of transmission resources is associated to a second transmission priority [paragraphs 0006, 0047, 0100, 0102, 0162, 0180, at least one of the first control information, the first transmission resource, and the first set of transmission resources is associated to a first transmission priority, and at least one of the second control information second transmission resource, and the second set of transmission resources is associated to a second transmission priority (multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools)].
Novlan does not explicitly disclose at least one of the first control information, the first transmission resource, and the first set of transmission resources is associated to a first transmission quality, and at least one of the second control information second transmission resource, and the second set of transmission resources is associated to a second transmission quality.
However, Marinier teaches at least one of the first control information, the first transmission resource, and the first set of transmission resources is associated to a first transmission quality, and at least one of the second control information second transmission resource, and the second set of transmission resources is associated to a second transmission quality [paragraphs 0031, 0111, 0129, 0130, 0134, 0149, 0150, 0157, 0166, at least one of the first control information, the first transmission resource, and the first set of transmission resources is associated to a first transmission quality, and at least one of the second control information second transmission resource, and the second set of transmission resources is associated to a second transmission quality (data may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements; a WTRU may have a priority ranking associated with the UCIs and may use different PUCCH resources; a transmission profile (e.g., a first transmission profile) that may be suitable for ultra-reliable traffic and another transmission profile (e.g., a second transmission profile) that may be suitable for other non-ultra-reliable mobile broadband traffic)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Novlan by including wherein transmission resources is associated to a first transmission quality as taught by Marinier because it would provide the Novlan’s method with the enhanced capability of allowing efficient utilization of resources [Marinier, paragraph 0131].
As per claim 18, Novlan discloses the method according to claim 3,
wherein the common transmission resource is determined from the pool of resources based on payload size of the multiplexed first control information and the second control information [paragraphs 0047, 0100, 0123, 0127, 0132, wherein the common transmission resource is determined from the pool of resources based on payload size of the multiplexed first control information and the second control information (size of resource pool for event-triggered service can be a smaller than the resource pool for periodic service)].
As per claim 19, Novlan discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the common transmission resource is selected according to an prioritised order of criteria, the criteria comprising one or more of:
payload size, size of the transmission resource, transmission quality associated to the transmission resource and the set transmission resources the transmission resource is selected from [paragraphs 0047, 0100, wherein the common transmission resource is selected according to an prioritised order of criteria, the criteria comprising payload size (priority for one type of traffic (such as different allocations depending on message size)].
As per claim 21, Novlan discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the first control information and the second control information are transmitted based on common transmission priority parameters [paragraphs 0006, 0047, 0100, 0102, 0162, 0180, wherein the first control information and the second control information are transmitted based on common transmission priority parameters (multiple traffic types or priorities are multiplexed in the at least one of the multiple resource pools)].
Novlan does not explicitly disclose wherein the first control information and the second control information are transmitted based on common transmission quality parameters.
However, Marinier teaches wherein the first control information and the second control information are transmitted based on common transmission quality parameters [paragraphs 0031, 0111, 0129, 0130, 0134, 0149, 0150, 0157, 0166, wherein the first control information and the second control information are transmitted based on common transmission quality parameters (data may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements; a WTRU may have a priority ranking associated with the UCIs and may use different PUCCH resources; a transmission profile (e.g., a first transmission profile) that may be suitable for ultra-reliable traffic and another transmission profile (e.g., a second transmission profile) that may be suitable for other non-ultra-reliable mobile broadband traffic)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Novlan by including common transmission quality parameters as taught by Marinier because it would provide the Novlan’s method with the enhanced capability of allowing efficient utilization of resources [Marinier, paragraph 0131].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al., U.S. Publication No. 2016/0262182 discloses perform a PUCCH resource allocation process for repetitive transmission.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469