Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, a method of treating pancreatic cancer, Species A-C, Enlimomab with a valine-citrulline linker and monomethyl auristatin E (MMAE), in the reply filed on 22 August 2025 is acknowledged (see Response to Restriction received 08/22/2025 pg. 1 last para-pg. 2, 4th para). Upon further consideration the species election set forth in the Restriction mailed 24 April 2025 of Species A (i.e., a single and specific ICAM1 antigen binding domain) and B (i.e., a single and specific drug conjugated to ICAM1) are hereby withdrawn.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-34 were originally filed 22 February 2022. The preliminary amendment filed 1 August 2022 has been entered. Claims 9, 17, 18, 20-22, 24-26, 29, 31, and 33 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species (see claims 9 and 17, i.e., non-elected linker) or group (see claims 18, 20-22, 24-26, 29, 31, and 33), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 August 2025.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 13, and 15 are currently under consideration.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections
In view of Applicant amending claim 1 to clarify the subject has cancer the 35 USC 112(a) rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 contains the trademark/trade name “affibody” (line 3; see Affibody™ Resource).
Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe an antibody structure and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Applicant's arguments filed 13 February 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended the claim to recite, “®” in reference to Affibody. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). Therefore, for the reasons made of record the 35 USC 112(b) rejection is hereby maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marsha (see US Patent Publication 2020/0085972 A1).
The applied reference has a common Applicant and common inventors (i.e., Marsha Moses, Peng Guo) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference (i.e., 16 March 2018), it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Applicant's arguments filed 13 February 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued an ICAM-1 antibody or antigen binding domain conjugated to a liposome is outside the scope of an antibody drug conjugate (ADC). Applicant specifically points to the specification’s definition of an ADC and para [0050] and [0081] (see Remarks pg. 7, middle para; see specification pg. 16, 2nd para). Applicant’s arguments are an incomplete characterization of the specification. First, the specification discloses,
“In some embodiments, the ICAM1 antibody and the drug is conjugated via a linker” (see specification pg. 2 line 6, emphasis added), and
“An ICAM1 antibody may be conjugated to a second entity either directly or via a linker. As used herein, "conjugated" or "attached" means two entities are associated, preferably with sufficient affinity that the therapeutic or diagnostic benefit of the association between the two entities is realized” (see specification pg. 16, 2nd para, emphasis added).
Thus, the specification discloses the antibody can be conjugated directly or via a linker to a second entity, not that the antibody has to be conjugated in such a manner. Furthermore, the specification specifies “conjugated” or “attached” means two entities are “associated” wherein associated is broader than requiring a physical connection (i.e., directly or indirectly linked). It is noted the specification as submitted does not have numbered paragraphs and therefore it is unclear if Applicant is pointing to alternative support.
Therefore, for the reasons made of record the 35 USC 102 rejection is hereby maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication 2016/0207949 (referred to herein as Zhao as cited on the IDS received 08/01/2025, US Patent Documents 1st reference) and Caliera (as cited on the PTO-892 mailed 11/14/2025) as evidenced by Creative Biolabs (as cited on the PTO-892 mailed 11/14/2025).
Applicant's arguments filed 13 February 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant argues Zhao does not provide a reason to conjugate the Enlimomab specifically to the disclosed PBD derivatives (see Remarks pg. 8, 2nd para). Pursuant to MPEP § 2123(I), 2nd para, A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005). The reference discloses conjugating the improved PBD derivatives to Enlimomab. In addition the reference discloses using the ADCs to target cancers where the target antigen is over expressed and specifically names pancreatic cancer a type of cancer to be treated.
Second, Applicant argues elevated ICAM-1 mRNA does not correlate with increased cell surface expression of ICAM-1 and therefore does not provide motivation to target ICAM using an ADC (see Remarks pg. 8, last 2 para). However, Caliera discloses ICAM-1 is a cell surface glycoprotein important for cell-to-cell and cell-to extracellular matrix interactions (see Caliera Abstract, Background and Objectives). Caliera in addition to mRNA levels used immunohistochemistry to identify changes in ICAM-1 expression in normal versus pancreatic cancer (see Caliera pg. 95 para spanning cols 1-2). In normal pancreas, acinar cells, ductal cells, and Langerhans islet exhibited no immunoreactivity for ICAM-1 (see Caliera pg. 96, 1st col. last para, pg. 97 Fig. 2A). While most pancreatic cancer cells exhibited intense immunoreactivity for ICAM-1 (see Caliera pg. 96, 2nd col, 1st full para, pg. 97 Figure 2B). Caliera specifically discloses,
“Our present data demonstrate that many pancreatic adenocarcinomas show enhanced expression of ICAM-1 and VCAM-1 mRNA but not of ELAM-1 mRNA. Enhanced expression at the protein level was confirmed by increased ICAM-1 and VCAM-1 immunoreactivity in the cancer samples compared with the normal controls” (see Caliera pg. 98, 1st col. 4th para).
The ordinary artisan would know ICAM-1 could be sufficiently targeted in pancreatic cancer given Caliera discloses ICAM-1 is a known cell surface molecule an exhibits an increase in both mRNA and protein expression in pancreatic cancer versus normal tissue.
Therefore, the 35 USC 103 rejection set forth above is hereby maintained.
Claims 1, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (see PTO-892 mailed 11/14/2025) and Brooks (see Brooks et al. as cited on the IDS received 22 January 2024) as evidenced by Abcam (see PTO-892 mailed 11/14/2025) and Coleman (see PTO-892 mailed 11/14/2025).
Applicant's arguments filed 13 February 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant is arguing PMO nanoparticle conjugated to an ICAM1 antibody is not within the scope of claim one because the PMA nanoparticles are not attached directly or indirectly via a linker to the ICAM1 antibody. However, Wang teaches the ICAM-1 antibody is “attached” to the PMO nanoparticles; therefore, is within the scope of two entities that are associated preferably with sufficient affinity that the therapeutic benefit of the association between the two entities is realized (see specification pg. 16, 2nd para). Wang does disclose an ICAM-1 antibody “conjugated” to a therapeutic drug.
Therefore, for the reasons set forth above the 35 USC 103 rejection above is hereby maintained.
Claims 2, 4-6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Brooks in further view of Newman and Cragg (see PTO-892 mailed 11/14/2025) as evidenced by Abcam and Coleman.
Applicant's arguments filed 13 February 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant refers to argument made regarding the independent claims (see Remarks pg. 11, 1st full para).
Thus, for the reasons set forth above the 35 USC 103 rejection is hereby maintained.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 11 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11260132 B2 (referred to herein as ‘132 patent) in view of Brooks as evidenced by Cohenuram and Saif (see Cohenuram and Saif (2007) Epidermal growth factor receptor inhibition strategies in pancreatic cancer: past, present and the future. JOP. J Pancreas; 8(1): 4-15).
Applicant's arguments filed 13 February 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant argues the ‘132 patent is drawn to a structure not within the scope of the instant claims (i.e., a liposome conjugated to an ICAM-1 antibody) (see Remarks pg. 10, 2nd para). Second, Applicant argues the remaining references (i.e., Brooks, Cohenuram, and Saif) do not overcome this deficiency (see Remarks pg. 10, 3rd para). However, for the reasons stated above a liposome conjugated to an ICAM-1 antibody is within the scope of the instant claims (see above (i.e., 35 USC 102 rejection)).
The ‘132 patent claims an EGFR and ICAM1 antibody conjugated to a liposome comprising a therapeutic agent (see ‘132 claim 1) and a method of treating TNBC by administering said product (see ‘132 claim 15).
Therefore, the above non-statutory double patenting rejection above is hereby maintained.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 13, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 10, 12, 14, and 25 of copending Application No. 18/278394 (referred to herein as ‘394 application) in view of Brooks.
Applicant's arguments filed 13 February 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued this is the only remaining rejection and therefore should be withdrawn pursuant to MPEP § 804(I)(B)(1)(b)(i) (see Remarks pg. 10, last para). However, this is not the only outstanding rejection and therefore is hereby maintained.
Conclusion
No claim allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1644
/AMY E JUEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644