17637DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-15 and 17-19 are pending. Claims 3-4, 6, 16 and 20-44 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
2. Regarding claim 11, on pages 7-8, the applicant argues that Wang does not disclose “receiving an indication of a number of IP addresses needed by the wireless node.” The Applicant states “Wang therefore teaches at most a single address.” In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's response.
Wang explicitly discloses receiving an indication of a number of IP addresses needed by the wireless node. (Wang, FIG. 11, 6b-0, [0530], The DU receives the address update request message 6b-0 which includes the indication information of the number of the requested new address information). Wang [0530] is not limited to a single address, but instead expressly refers to “the number” of requested new address information, which encompasses one or more addresses.
Wang [0530] recites “the address update request message 6b-0 may include at least one of the following information: 1) the identification information of the relay node or the DU of the relay node, 2) the indication information of the number of the requested new address information, 3) the address information that needs to be deleted or released or removed at the relay node or the DU of the relay node, 4) the address information requested to be deleted, released or removed.”
In addition, Wang [0010] discloses “the information related to data profile may include at least one of address information of destination which is an IP address.” This explicitly teaches that address information includes one or more address information (IP addresses).
Therefore, Wang’s disclosure of the number of requested new address information, for example, the IP number refers to the quantity/number/amount of IP addresses (e.g. 1, 2, 3,…n, wherein n is an integer) being requested.
Although Wang clearly teaches one or more address, the scope of the argued claim limitation is broad enough that the number is a single (one) address. Remarks page 8, the Applicant’s states the indication/quantity/number/amount can be one or more IP addresses. Remarks page 8 states “The as-filed specification explains that "the wireless node may need more than one IP address. This allows the wireless node to split their signaling and data over multiple IP addresses and network interface cards." As-Filed Specification, paragraph [0180]. The IAB node can "send a message to the Donor CU requesting the allocation of 1 or more IP addresses. The message can include an integer indicating how many IP addresses should be allocated." As-Filed Specification, paragraph [0156].”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a number specifies a quantity greater than one) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The claim recites “receiving an indication of a number of IP addresses needed by the wireless node”. The claim language does limit the “indication” to being a number greater than 1. The scope of the argued claim limitation is broad enough that the indication could be an integer number (e.g. 1, 2, 3,…n) or could be another type of indicator such as 1-bit flag (e.g. 0 means one address or a 1 means a plurality of address).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., an indication specifies a number/quantity greater than one) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
For these reasons, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al, US 2022/0166703 hereafter Xu in view of Wang et al, US 2020/0351854 hereafter Wang (priority document attached CN 201910365426X, 04/30/2019) is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 11-13 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al, US 2022/0166703 hereafter Xu in view of Wang et al, US 2020/0351854 hereafter Wang (priority document attached CN 201910365426X, 04/30/2019).
As for claim 11, Xu discloses:
A method performed by a donor distributed unit, DU, node for allocating internet protocol, IP, addresses, the method comprising:
receiving a request to allocate an IP address for a wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, 1400, [0390], Receiving a request to allocation an IP address to a migrating/wireless node);
allocating the IP address for the wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, 1402, [0391], Allocating the IP address to the migrating node); and
transmitting the IP address towards the wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, 1404, [0392], Sending the allocated IP address to the CU which requested the IP addresses for allocating to the migrating node) wherein receiving the request comprises receiving an F1-Application Protocol, F 1-AP, message from a donor central unit, CU, node that implicitly or explicitly requests allocation of the IP address for the wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, [0331], [0390], Receiving the request comprises receiving an F1AP message from the CU-CP that requests allocation/creation/setup of IP addresses for a node. The F1AP comprises UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message indicating to allocate new IP addresses to the UE/IAB/child node);
allocating the number of IP addresses for the wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, 1402, [0391], Allocating the IP address to the migrating node); and
transmitting the IP address comprises: transmitting the number of IP addresses towards the wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, 1404, [0392], Sending the allocated IP address to the CU which requested the IP addresses for allocating to the migrating node).
Xu discloses wherein allocating the IP address (Xu, Fig. 14, 1402, [0391], Allocating the IP address to the migrating node).
Xu does not explicitly disclose comprises: receiving an indication of a number of IP addresses needed by the wireless node.
However, Wang discloses wherein allocating the IP address comprises: receiving an indication of a number of IP addresses needed by the wireless node (Wang, FIG. 11, 6b-0, [0530], The DU receives the address update request message 6b-0 which includes the indication information of the number of the requested new address information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu with Wang to provide more reliable address management.
As for claim 12, Xu discloses:
A donor distributed unit, DU node, comprising:
processing circuitry; and memory coupled with the processing circuitry (Xu, [0006], The device including a processor and memory), wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the donor DU node to perform operations comprising:
receiving a request to allocate an IP address for a wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, 1400, [0390], Receiving a request to allocation an IP address to a migrating/wireless node);
allocating the IP address for the wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, 1402, [0391], Allocating the IP address to the migrating node); and
transmitting the IP address towards the wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, 1404, [0392], Sending the allocated IP address to the migrating node/IAB/child node/UE)
wherein in receiving the request to allocate the IP address, the memory includes further instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the donor DU node to perform further operations comprising receiving an F1-Application Protocol, F1-AP, message from a donor central unit, CU, node (Xu, [0331], The DU receives the F1AP request message from the CU-CP) that implicitly or explicitly requests allocation of the IP address for the wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, [0331], [0390], The F1AP message comprises a UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message indicating to allocate new IP addresses to the IAB/child node/UE).
wherein in allocating the IP address and transmitting the IP address (Xu, Fig. 14, 1402, [0391], Allocating the IP address to the migrating node), the memory includes further instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the donor DU node to perform further operations comprising: allocating the number of IP addresses to the wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, 1402, [0391], Allocating the IP address to the migrating node); and transmitting the number of IP addressed towards the wireless device (Xu, Fig. 14, 1404, [0392], Sending the allocated IP address to the migrating node/IAB/child node/UE).
Xu does not explicitly disclose receiving an indication of a number of IP addresses needed by the wireless node.
However, Wang discloses receiving an indication of a number of IP addresses needed by the wireless node (Wang, FIG. 11, 6b-0, [0530], Receiving, at the DU, the address update request message 6b-0 which includes the indication information of the number of the requested new address information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu with Wang to provide more reliable address management.
As for claim 13, Xu discloses:
Allocating the IP address comprises transmitting a message to the donor CU node requesting allocation of one or more IP addresses for allocating to wireless nodes (Xu, Fig. 14, 1404, [0392], Sending the allocated IP address to the CU which requested the IP addresses for allocating to the migrating node).
As for claim 17, Xu discloses:
Responsive to receiving the F1-AP message, configuring at least one of backhaul radio link control, BH RLC, channels or backhaul adaptation protocol, BAP, addresses for the wireless node (Xu, [0331], Receiving the F1AP message for configuring the BAP ID).
As for claim 18, Xu discloses the IP address is associated with one or more BAP addresses of the wireless node in the Donor DU node (Xu, [0288], [0294], [0316], Associating the IP address with the BAP ID of the node), wherein the memory includes further instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the donor DU node to perform further operations comprising: associating the IP address with one or more BAP addresses of the wireless node in the Donor DU node mapping the IP address associated with the one or more BAP addresses of the wireless node to map downlink, DL, IP packets addressed to the IP address allocated to a correct BAP address within an integrated access and backhaul, IAB, network (‘6703, [0394], Configuring a routing/mapping table for associating the IP address(es) and BAP ID(s) allocated to the migrating node in the IAB network).
As for claim 19, Xu discloses:
Transmitting the IP address towards the wireless node comprises: transmitting the IP address for the wireless node to the donor CU node to forward the IP address to the wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, 1404, [0392], Sending the allocated IP address to the CU which requested the IP addresses for allocating to the migrating node).
4. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al, US 2022/0166703 in view of Wang et al, US 2020/0351854 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Mildh, US 2020/0120725 hereafter Mildh.
As for claim 15, the combination of Xu and Wang does not explicitly disclose allocating the IP address comprises allocating the IP address by the Donor DU node performing one of: allocating the IP address by using a pre-configured IP address from a group of IP addresses the Donor DU node can allocate; sending a dynamic host control protocol, DHCP, request to a local DHCP server; and/or requesting an operations, administration, and maintenance, OAM, system for one or more IP addresses.
However, Mildh discloses allocating the IP address comprises allocating the IP address by the Donor DU node performing one of: allocating the IP address by using a pre-configured IP address from a group of IP addresses the Donor DU node can allocate (Mildh, [0098], Allocating a pre-configured IP address(es)); sending a dynamic host control protocol, DHCP, request to a local DHCP server (Mildh, [0098], Sending a DHCP request); and/or requesting an operations, administration, and maintenance, OAM, system for one or more IP addresses (Mildh, [0093], Requesting using an OAM message multiple IP address from an external entity/node. The Examiner interprets the external entity/node to correspond to the OAM system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Xu and Wang with allocating the IP address comprises allocating the IP address by the Donor DU node performing one of: allocating the IP address by using a pre-configured IP address from a group of IP addresses the Donor DU node can allocate; sending a dynamic host control protocol, DHCP, request to a local DHCP server; and/or requesting an operations, administration, and maintenance, OAM, system for one or more IP addresses as taught by Mildh to provide improved performance (Mildh, [0184]-[0185]).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-10 and 14 are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
6. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Amended claims 1-2, 5, 7-10 and 14 are allowable over prior art since the prior art taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose, fairly suggests, or render obvious the following italic limitations:
In claim 1,… wherein allocating the IP address comprises transmitting a message to the donor CU node requesting allocation of one or more IP addresses for allocating to wireless nodes; wherein transmitting the message comprises transmitting a message that includes an integer indicating a number of IP addresses to be allocated to the wireless node, wherein the number of IP addresses is based on knowledge of on how many IP addresses the wireless node is currently allocated or knowledge of how many IP addresses the donor DU node previously allocated for the wireless node…in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 1.
In claim 14,…transmitting a message that includes an integer indicating a number of IP addresses to be allocated to the wireless node, wherein the number of IP addresses is based on knowledge of on how many IP addresses the wireless node is currently allocated or knowledge of how many IP addresses the donor DU node previously allocated for the wireless node…in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 14.
The first closest prior art of record is Xu et al, US 2022/0166703 discloses receiving a request to allocate an IP address for a wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, 1400, [0390], Receiving a request to allocation an IP address to a migrating/wireless node);
allocating the IP address for the wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, 1402, [0391], Allocating the IP address to the migrating node); and
transmitting the IP address towards the wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, 1404, [0392], Sending the allocated IP address to the migrating node/IAB/child node/UE).
wherein in receiving the request to allocate the IP address, the memory includes further instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the donor DU node to perform further operations comprising receiving an F1-Application Protocol, F1-AP, message from a donor central unit, CU, node (Xu, [0331], The DU receives the F1AP request message from the CU-CP) that implicitly or explicitly requests allocation of the IP address for the wireless node (Xu, Fig. 14, [0331], [0390], The F1AP message comprises a UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message indicating to allocate new IP addresses to the IAB/child node/UE).
Xu does not explicitly disclose transmitting a message that includes an integer indicating a number of IP addresses to be allocated to the wireless node, wherein the number of IP addresses is based on knowledge of on how many IP addresses the wireless node is currently allocated or knowledge of how many IP addresses the donor DU node previously allocated for the wireless node (as disclosed in claims 1 and 14).
The second closest prior art of record is Wang et al, US 2020/0351854 discloses allocating the IP address comprises: receiving an indication of a number of IP addresses needed by the wireless node (Wang, FIG. 11, 6b-0, [0530], The DU receives the address update request message 6b-0 which includes the indication information of the number of the requested new address information).
Wang does not explicitly disclose transmitting a message that includes an integer indicating a number of IP addresses to be allocated to the wireless node, wherein the number of IP addresses is based on knowledge of on how many IP addresses the wireless node is currently allocated or knowledge of how many IP addresses the donor DU node previously allocated for the wireless node (as disclosed in claims 1 and 14).
The third closest prior art of record is Mildh, US 2020/0120725 discloses allocating the IP address comprises allocating the IP address by the Donor DU node performing one of: allocating the IP address by using a pre-configured IP address from a group of IP addresses the Donor DU node can allocate (Mildh, [0098], Allocating a pre-configured IP address(es)); sending a dynamic host control protocol, DHCP, request to a local DHCP server (Mildh, [0098], Sending a DHCP request); and/or requesting an operations, administration, and maintenance, OAM, system for one or more IP addresses (Mildh, [0093], Requesting using an OAM message multiple IP address from an external entity/node.)
Mildh does not explicitly disclose transmitting a message that includes an integer indicating a number of IP addresses to be allocated to the wireless node, wherein the number of IP addresses is based on knowledge of on how many IP addresses the wireless node is currently allocated or knowledge of how many IP addresses the donor DU node previously allocated for the wireless node (as disclosed in claims 1 and 14).
For these reasons, in conjunction with the other limitations of the independent claims, puts this case in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2005/0282575 The target CU is provisioned or programmed with an enterprise network address (IP address or URI)
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469