DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3-13-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument that the prior art doesn’t disclose time synchronization status between the UE and the network node, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim states the signal is either synchronized or not. This covers 100% of the possible synchronization statuses of the signal. Akkarakaran discusses timing and if a signal is sent, it must either be synchronized or unsynchronized and therefore meet the limitation of the claim. As best examiner understands, there is no third option.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 16-22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran, et. al,. U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0053703, filed August 8, 2019 in view of Mo, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2010/0238890, published September 23, 2010.
As per claims 1, 20, 21 and 25, Akkarakaran discloses a method implemented in a mobile radio network node of a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
performing, together with two or more additional nodes, at least one of which is another mobile radio network node, one or more procedures that: estimate a position of the mobile radio network node and positions of the two or more additional nodes (Akkarakaran, ¶63);
and synchronize timing of the mobile radio network node relative to the two or more additional nodes (Akkarakaran, ¶65);
performing a measurement on a signal from a transmitting node , the measurement being a Time of Arrival(TOA) of the signal at the mobile radio network node (Akkarakaran, ¶64);
and performing one or more actions that use the measurement (Akkarakaran, ¶69 where the measurement is sent to the server).
wherein the one or more procedures to estimate the position and synchronize the timing comprise using the PTP measurements to estimate a time offset between the mobile radio network node and the one of the two or more additional nodes, and determine a distance between the mobile radio network node and the one of the two or more additional nodes (Akkarakaran, ¶62 using RSTD);
wherein the signal from the transmitting node is time synchronized with the mobile radio network node, o or wherein the signal from the transmitting node is not time synchronized with the mobile radio network node (Akkarakaran, ¶62 where synchronized or not are the only two possible states of the signal).
Akkarakaran fails to explicitly disclose synchronizing time by detecting clock skew and fails to disclose that nodes are mobile.
Mo teaches mobile nodes (¶22) and using precision time to estimate clock skew (¶82).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have estimate clock skew and provide mobile base stations in order to gain the benefit of providing location data in remote locations and better providing for time synchronization to improve measurements.
As per claim 2, Akkarakaran as modified by Mo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the position of the mobile radio network node and the positions of the two or more additional nodes comprise relative positions, or wherein the position of the mobile radio network node and the positions of the two or more additional nodes comprise absolute positions (Akkarakaran, ¶66).
As per claim 4, Akkarakaran as modified by Mo further discloses the method of claim1, wherein performing the one or more actions comprises providing the measurement to at least one other node for the at least one other node to calculate a position of the transmitting node (Akkarakaran, ¶63 where the node assists another node in positioning).
As per claim 5, Akkarakaran as modified by Mo further discloses the method of claim1, wherein performing the one or more actions comprises providing the measurement to a location server for the location server to calculate a position of the transmitting node (Akkarakaran, ¶69).
As per claim 6, Akkarakaran as modified by Mo further discloses the method of claim1, wherein performing the one or more actions comprises: receiving additional measurements from the two or more additional nodes; calculating a Time Difference of Arrival (TDOA) measurement based on the measurement and the additional measurements; and calculating a position of the transmitting node (Akkarakaran, ¶62).
As per claims 16-19, Akkarakaran as modified by Mo further discloses the method of claim1, further comprising positioning the mobile radio network node relative to two of the two or more additional nodes such that an equilateral triangle is approximately formed and nodes move as well as supporting UWB (Akkarakaran, Fig. 6 and Fig. 1 where it is understood that phones and laptops move and Mo, ¶4)).
As per claim 22, Akkarakaran as modified by Mo further discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the responsive position signal includes a calculated position of the UE, or wherein the responsive position signal includes a measurement of the position signal, the method further comprising calculating, at the mobile radio network node, the position of the UE, or wherein the responsive position signal includes a measurement of the position signal, the method further comprising sending the responsive position signal to a location server to calculate the position of the UE (Akkarakaran, ¶63-66).
Claim(s) 11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran and Mo as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Feldman, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0195600, published July 7, 2016.
As per claims 11 and 13-15, Akkarakaran as modified by Mo discloses the method of claim 1 but fails to disclose some of the nodes being drones.
Feldman teaches drones as nodes (¶8-9).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use drones, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Akkarakaran in determining position.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646