Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-12, 15-24, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Kim (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0252823), herein referred to as “Kim”, in view of Cheng and Liu (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0248349), herein referred to as “Cheng”. The Kim reference was provided in the information disclosure statement dated February 28, 2022.
Regarding Claim 1,
Kim discloses: A method performed by a wireless device for idle mode measurements while the wireless device is in an idle or inactive state, the method comprising:
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
obtaining, on a first cell, first measurement configurations for a first set of carriers comprising
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
one or more overlapping carriers, wherein an overlapping carrier is a carrier that is configured for both idle mode measurements and inter-frequency mobility measurements
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0174] In the above, if the UE performs frequency measurement (“early measurement) in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, the frequency measurement may start if one of the following conditions is satisfied (indicated by reference numeral 1f-30).
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
one or more non-overlapping carriers, wherein a non-overlapping carrier is a carrier that is configured for idle mode measurements but not for inter-frequency mobility measurements, or both one or more overlapping carriers and one or more non-overlapping carriers
[0132] In the LTE system, a UE performs frequency measurement while performing a cell reselection procedure in the RRC idle mode. The frequency measured while performing the cell reselection procedure may denote intra-frequency measurement or serving cell (or Pcell, primary cell) measurement for frequencies broadcasted by a cell configured or camped on by a base station. However, inter-frequency measurement is not performed except for intra-frequency measurement or serving cell measurement, and a result of frequency measurement is not separately reported to a network.
transitioning to a dormant state
[0153] If the base station has configured the carrier aggregation technology for the UE, the base station may switch the S cells configured above to an active, inactive or dormant state using a MAC control element (MAC CE) (indicated by reference number 1e-75).
and while in the dormant state: performing a cell re-selection from the first cell to a second cell while an idle mode measurement duration timer is running
[0135] In more detail, in a case of switching a UE in the RRC connected mode, which has established a connection with a network, to an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode, the base station may: configure, through an RRC message, frequency information or frequencies to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, time (or period) information to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, or area information (or a cell list) to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode; and then instruct the UE, through the RRC message, to perform frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode. In addition, the disclosure proposes an efficient operation of the UE such that the UE performs a procedure of, for example, reading system information of the newly camped-on cell while performing a cell reselection operation every time the UE moves, and determining whether to continue or end frequency measurement, whether to extend a measurement period (for example, restart a timer), whether to report a result of frequency measurement, or whether to discard the result of frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode according to the system information.
obtaining, from the second cell, second measurement configurations for a second set of carriers comprising one or more overlapping carriers, one or more non-overlapping carriers, or both one or more overlapping carriers and one or more non-overlapping carriers
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
Kim does not disclose the final limitation of this claim: performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations, wherein the one or more actions comprise keeping a measurement configuration from among the first measurement configurations and ignoring the mismatching measurement configuration from among the second measurement configurations.
However, Cheng discloses: performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations, wherein the one or more actions comprise keeping a measurement configuration from among the first measurement configurations and ignoring the mismatching measurement configuration from among the second measurement configurations.
[0073] During operation of system 300, one or more base stations 105 may generate and transmit first message 361 (e.g., a first SIB message), second message 362 (e.g., a second SIB message), third message 363 (e.g., the RRC message), or a combination thereof. UE 115 may receive, from the one or more base stations 105, first message 361, second message 362, and/or third message 363. In some implementations, UE 115 receives second message 362 and third message 363. It is noted that the second measurement configurations of second message 362 and the third measurement configurations of third message 363 may have the same early measurement configuration or may have different early measurement configurations. If UE 115 receives third message 363 having the third measurement configurations, the third measurement configurations override (e.g., take priority over) the second measurement configurations included in second message 362 (if the second measurement configurations were included in second message 362).
[0075] In a first illustrative example of operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 may determine whether UE 115 received third message 363. If UE 115 received third message 363, UE 115 determines whether third message 363 includes the second list of SSB frequencies. Based on a determination that third message 363 included the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the second list of SSB frequencies as a selected frequency list. Alternatively, based on a determination that third message 363 did not include the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list. Additionally, if UE 115 did not receive third message 363, UE 115 may select the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list.
Note: The different measurement configurations (paragraph [0073]) is the mismatch, which parallels Applicant’s specification paragraph [0251]). However, the third message (where the messages include measurement configurations of SSB frequencies) can “keep” the first list of frequencies and “ignore” the second list of frequencies since they were not included.
Kim and Cheng are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of keeping a measurement configuration and ignoring another measurement configuration due to a mismatch as taught by Cheng so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 10,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 1 wherein: a particular carrier is an overlapping carrier in both the first set of carriers and the second set of carriers
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
the first measurement configuration for the particular carrier on the first cell is different than the second measurement configuration for the particular carrier on the second cell
[0151] According to the frequency measurement configuration information, the UE performs frequency measurement and if a predetermined condition is satisfied or event occurs (for example, if a signal strength of a specific frequency is better than a predetermined reference (for example, a threshold value) or a signal strength of a current serving cell (frequency) is smaller than a predetermined reference (for example, a threshold value)) (indicated by reference numeral 1e-55), the UE may report a result of frequency measurement to the base station (indicated by reference numeral 1e-60).
[0152] If the base station receives the result of frequency measurement, the base station includes secondary cell (Scell) configuration information in the RRCReconfiguration message based on the result of frequency measurement (indicated by reference numeral 1e-65) and transmits the RRCReconfiguration message to the UE to configure a secondary Scell, and may configure the carrier aggregation technology for the UE. The base station may include secondary cell group configuration information in the RRCReconfiguration message, transmit the RRCReconfiguration message to the UE, and configure the dual connectivity technology for the UE (indicated by reference numeral 1e-65). The UE applies information included in the RRCReconfiguration message and transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the base station (indicated by reference numeral 1e-70).
and
[0017] In addition, if a terminal in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode is mobile and performs a cell reselection procedure, the disclosure proposes a procedure for, based on the system information, stopping or restarting frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode or discarding a result of the frequency measurement. Therefore, the disclosure can solve a problem in which a terminal unnecessarily performs frequency measurement and a problem in which the terminal reports a result of the frequency measurement, measured in another cell, to a current cell.
Kim does not disclose performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
However, Cheng discloses performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
[0073] During operation of system 300, one or more base stations 105 may generate and transmit first message 361 (e.g., a first SIB message), second message 362 (e.g., a second SIB message), third message 363 (e.g., the RRC message), or a combination thereof. UE 115 may receive, from the one or more base stations 105, first message 361, second message 362, and/or third message 363. In some implementations, UE 115 receives second message 362 and third message 363. It is noted that the second measurement configurations of second message 362 and the third measurement configurations of third message 363 may have the same early measurement configuration or may have different early measurement configurations. If UE 115 receives third message 363 having the third measurement configurations, the third measurement configurations override (e.g., take priority over) the second measurement configurations included in second message 362 (if the second measurement configurations were included in second message 362).
[0075] In a first illustrative example of operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 may determine whether UE 115 received third message 363. If UE 115 received third message 363, UE 115 determines whether third message 363 includes the second list of SSB frequencies. Based on a determination that third message 363 included the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the second list of SSB frequencies as a selected frequency list. Alternatively, based on a determination that third message 363 did not include the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list. Additionally, if UE 115 did not receive third message 363, UE 115 may select the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list.
Kim and Cheng are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of keeping a measurement configuration and ignoring another measurement configuration due to a mismatch as taught by Cheng so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
[0031] In one example, the UE in the RRC_Connected receives a first measurement configuration for a first carrier and a second measurement configuration for a second carrier, from the first BS on the first carrier. When the UE receives the RRC message configuring the RRC_Light_Connected, from the first BS on the first carrier, the UE keeps the first measurement configuration and the second measurement configuration. When the UE transfers back to the RRC_Connected, the UE starts a measurement reporting configured by the first measurement configuration and the second measurement configuration. When the UE in the RRC_Light_Connected determines by itself to reselect to a cell on the second carrier according to a cell reselection criteria, the UE replaces a second measurement object in the second measurement configuration with a first measurement object in the first measurement configuration. Further, the UE replaces a first measurement object in the first measurement configuration with a second measurement object in the second measurement configuration. The UE may perform the replacement, when the UE enters the RRC_Connected on the second carrier.
Kim and Cheng are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of a mismatch between the first measurement configuration and the second measurement configuration as taught by Cheng so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 11,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 10 wherein
[0517] As another method, by identifying the system information of a cell camped-on by the UE, if the system information does not indicate to report the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode frequency measurement configuration result or the system information does not broadcast the RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode frequency measurement configuration information (for example, a frequency list to be measured), the UE may discard the frequency measurement result or the frequency configuration information, which are stored in the UE.
Kim does not disclose performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
However, Cheng discloses performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
[0073] During operation of system 300, one or more base stations 105 may generate and transmit first message 361 (e.g., a first SIB message), second message 362 (e.g., a second SIB message), third message 363 (e.g., the RRC message), or a combination thereof. UE 115 may receive, from the one or more base stations 105, first message 361, second message 362, and/or third message 363. In some implementations, UE 115 receives second message 362 and third message 363. It is noted that the second measurement configurations of second message 362 and the third measurement configurations of third message 363 may have the same early measurement configuration or may have different early measurement configurations. If UE 115 receives third message 363 having the third measurement configurations, the third measurement configurations override (e.g., take priority over) the second measurement configurations included in second message 362 (if the second measurement configurations were included in second message 362).
[0075] In a first illustrative example of operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 may determine whether UE 115 received third message 363. If UE 115 received third message 363, UE 115 determines whether third message 363 includes the second list of SSB frequencies. Based on a determination that third message 363 included the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the second list of SSB frequencies as a selected frequency list. Alternatively, based on a determination that third message 363 did not include the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list. Additionally, if UE 115 did not receive third message 363, UE 115 may select the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list.
Kim and Cheng are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of keeping a measurement configuration and ignoring another measurement configuration due to a mismatch as taught by Cheng so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 12,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 1 wherein: a particular carrier is an overlapping carrier in both the first set of carriers and the second set of carriers
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
the first measurement configuration for the particular carrier on the first cell is different than the second measurement configuration for the particular carrier on the second cell
[0151] According to the frequency measurement configuration information, the UE performs frequency measurement and if a predetermined condition is satisfied or event occurs (for example, if a signal strength of a specific frequency is better than a predetermined reference (for example, a threshold value) or a signal strength of a current serving cell (frequency) is smaller than a predetermined reference (for example, a threshold value)) (indicated by reference numeral 1e-55), the UE may report a result of frequency measurement to the base station (indicated by reference numeral 1e-60).
[0152] If the base station receives the result of frequency measurement, the base station includes secondary cell (Scell) configuration information in the RRCReconfiguration message based on the result of frequency measurement (indicated by reference numeral 1e-65) and transmits the RRCReconfiguration message to the UE to configure a secondary Scell, and may configure the carrier aggregation technology for the UE. The base station may include secondary cell group configuration information in the RRCReconfiguration message, transmit the RRCReconfiguration message to the UE, and configure the dual connectivity technology for the UE (indicated by reference numeral 1e-65). The UE applies information included in the RRCReconfiguration message and transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the base station (indicated by reference numeral 1e-70).
and
[0017] In addition, if a terminal in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode is mobile and performs a cell reselection procedure, the disclosure proposes a procedure for, based on the system information, stopping or restarting frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode or discarding a result of the frequency measurement. Therefore, the disclosure can solve a problem in which a terminal unnecessarily performs frequency measurement and a problem in which the terminal reports a result of the frequency measurement, measured in another cell, to a current cell.
Kim does not disclose performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
However, Cheng discloses performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
[0073] During operation of system 300, one or more base stations 105 may generate and transmit first message 361 (e.g., a first SIB message), second message 362 (e.g., a second SIB message), third message 363 (e.g., the RRC message), or a combination thereof. UE 115 may receive, from the one or more base stations 105, first message 361, second message 362, and/or third message 363. In some implementations, UE 115 receives second message 362 and third message 363. It is noted that the second measurement configurations of second message 362 and the third measurement configurations of third message 363 may have the same early measurement configuration or may have different early measurement configurations. If UE 115 receives third message 363 having the third measurement configurations, the third measurement configurations override (e.g., take priority over) the second measurement configurations included in second message 362 (if the second measurement configurations were included in second message 362).
[0075] In a first illustrative example of operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 may determine whether UE 115 received third message 363. If UE 115 received third message 363, UE 115 determines whether third message 363 includes the second list of SSB frequencies. Based on a determination that third message 363 included the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the second list of SSB frequencies as a selected frequency list. Alternatively, based on a determination that third message 363 did not include the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list. Additionally, if UE 115 did not receive third message 363, UE 115 may select the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list.
Kim and Cheng are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of keeping a measurement configuration and ignoring another measurement configuration due to a mismatch as taught by Cheng so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 15,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 1 wherein: a particular carrier is in the first set of carriers as an overlapping carrier but is not in the second set of carriers as an overlapping carrier
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0132] In the LTE system, a UE performs frequency measurement while performing a cell reselection procedure in the RRC idle mode. The frequency measured while performing the cell reselection procedure may denote intra-frequency measurement or serving cell (or Pcell, primary cell) measurement for frequencies broadcasted by a cell configured or camped on by a base station. However, inter-frequency measurement is not performed except for intra-frequency measurement or serving cell measurement, and a result of frequency measurement is not separately reported to a network.
[0174] In the above, if the UE performs frequency measurement (“early measurement) in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, the frequency measurement may start if one of the following conditions is satisfied (indicated by reference numeral 1f-30).
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
[0017] In addition, if a terminal in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode is mobile and performs a cell reselection procedure, the disclosure proposes a procedure for, based on the system information, stopping or restarting frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode or discarding a result of the frequency measurement. Therefore, the disclosure can solve a problem in which a terminal unnecessarily performs frequency measurement and a problem in which the terminal reports a result of the frequency measurement, measured in another cell, to a current cell.
Kim does not disclose performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
However, Cheng discloses performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
[0073] During operation of system 300, one or more base stations 105 may generate and transmit first message 361 (e.g., a first SIB message), second message 362 (e.g., a second SIB message), third message 363 (e.g., the RRC message), or a combination thereof. UE 115 may receive, from the one or more base stations 105, first message 361, second message 362, and/or third message 363. In some implementations, UE 115 receives second message 362 and third message 363. It is noted that the second measurement configurations of second message 362 and the third measurement configurations of third message 363 may have the same early measurement configuration or may have different early measurement configurations. If UE 115 receives third message 363 having the third measurement configurations, the third measurement configurations override (e.g., take priority over) the second measurement configurations included in second message 362 (if the second measurement configurations were included in second message 362).
[0075] In a first illustrative example of operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 may determine whether UE 115 received third message 363. If UE 115 received third message 363, UE 115 determines whether third message 363 includes the second list of SSB frequencies. Based on a determination that third message 363 included the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the second list of SSB frequencies as a selected frequency list. Alternatively, based on a determination that third message 363 did not include the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list. Additionally, if UE 115 did not receive third message 363, UE 115 may select the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list.
Kim and Cheng are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of keeping a measurement configuration and ignoring another measurement configuration due to a mismatch as taught by Cheng so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 16,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 1 wherein: a particular carrier is in the first set of carriers as an overlapping carrier but is not in the second set of carriers as an overlapping carrier
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0132] In the LTE system, a UE performs frequency measurement while performing a cell reselection procedure in the RRC idle mode. The frequency measured while performing the cell reselection procedure may denote intra-frequency measurement or serving cell (or Pcell, primary cell) measurement for frequencies broadcasted by a cell configured or camped on by a base station. However, inter-frequency measurement is not performed except for intra-frequency measurement or serving cell measurement, and a result of frequency measurement is not separately reported to a network.
[0174] In the above, if the UE performs frequency measurement (“early measurement) in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, the frequency measurement may start if one of the following conditions is satisfied (indicated by reference numeral 1f-30).
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
and
[0017] In addition, if a terminal in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode is mobile and performs a cell reselection procedure, the disclosure proposes a procedure for, based on the system information, stopping or restarting frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode or discarding a result of the frequency measurement. Therefore, the disclosure can solve a problem in which a terminal unnecessarily performs frequency measurement and a problem in which the terminal reports a result of the frequency measurement, measured in another cell, to a current cell.
Kim does not disclose performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
However, Cheng discloses performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
[0073] During operation of system 300, one or more base stations 105 may generate and transmit first message 361 (e.g., a first SIB message), second message 362 (e.g., a second SIB message), third message 363 (e.g., the RRC message), or a combination thereof. UE 115 may receive, from the one or more base stations 105, first message 361, second message 362, and/or third message 363. In some implementations, UE 115 receives second message 362 and third message 363. It is noted that the second measurement configurations of second message 362 and the third measurement configurations of third message 363 may have the same early measurement configuration or may have different early measurement configurations. If UE 115 receives third message 363 having the third measurement configurations, the third measurement configurations override (e.g., take priority over) the second measurement configurations included in second message 362 (if the second measurement configurations were included in second message 362).
[0075] In a first illustrative example of operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 may determine whether UE 115 received third message 363. If UE 115 received third message 363, UE 115 determines whether third message 363 includes the second list of SSB frequencies. Based on a determination that third message 363 included the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the second list of SSB frequencies as a selected frequency list. Alternatively, based on a determination that third message 363 did not include the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list. Additionally, if UE 115 did not receive third message 363, UE 115 may select the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list.
Kim and Cheng are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of keeping a measurement configuration and ignoring another measurement configuration due to a mismatch as taught by Cheng so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 17,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 1 wherein: a particular carrier is in the first set of carriers as a non-overlapping carrier
[0132] In the LTE system, a UE performs frequency measurement while performing a cell reselection procedure in the RRC idle mode. The frequency measured while performing the cell reselection procedure may denote intra-frequency measurement or serving cell (or Pcell, primary cell) measurement for frequencies broadcasted by a cell configured or camped on by a base station. However, inter-frequency measurement is not performed except for intra-frequency measurement or serving cell measurement, and a result of frequency measurement is not separately reported to a network.
the particular carrier is in the second set of carriers as an overlapping carrier
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0174] In the above, if the UE performs frequency measurement (“early measurement) in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, the frequency measurement may start if one of the following conditions is satisfied (indicated by reference numeral 1f-30).
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
and
[0135] In more detail, in a case of switching a UE in the RRC connected mode, which has established a connection with a network, to an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode, the base station may: configure, through an RRC message, frequency information or frequencies to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, time (or period) information to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, or area information (or a cell list) to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode; and then instruct the UE, through the RRC message, to perform frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode. In addition, the disclosure proposes an efficient operation of the UE such that the UE performs a procedure of, for example, reading system information of the newly camped-on cell while performing a cell reselection operation every time the UE moves, and determining whether to continue or end frequency measurement, whether to extend a measurement period (for example, restart a timer), whether to report a result of frequency measurement, or whether to discard the result of frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode according to the system information.
Kim does not disclose performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
However, Cheng discloses performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
[0073] During operation of system 300, one or more base stations 105 may generate and transmit first message 361 (e.g., a first SIB message), second message 362 (e.g., a second SIB message), third message 363 (e.g., the RRC message), or a combination thereof. UE 115 may receive, from the one or more base stations 105, first message 361, second message 362, and/or third message 363. In some implementations, UE 115 receives second message 362 and third message 363. It is noted that the second measurement configurations of second message 362 and the third measurement configurations of third message 363 may have the same early measurement configuration or may have different early measurement configurations. If UE 115 receives third message 363 having the third measurement configurations, the third measurement configurations override (e.g., take priority over) the second measurement configurations included in second message 362 (if the second measurement configurations were included in second message 362).
[0075] In a first illustrative example of operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 may determine whether UE 115 received third message 363. If UE 115 received third message 363, UE 115 determines whether third message 363 includes the second list of SSB frequencies. Based on a determination that third message 363 included the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the second list of SSB frequencies as a selected frequency list. Alternatively, based on a determination that third message 363 did not include the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list. Additionally, if UE 115 did not receive third message 363, UE 115 may select the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list.
Kim and Cheng are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of keeping a measurement configuration and ignoring another measurement configuration due to a mismatch as taught by Cheng so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 18,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 17 wherein the first measurement configurations comprise dedicated measurement configurations for the particular carrier received from the first cell
[0176] 2. In a case where the UE has received the RRCRelease message, if the RRCRelease message includes an indicator indicating the UE to perform frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode and a period of time (e.g., a timer value) for measuring the frequency is configured but frequency information to be measured is not included, the UE may start the timer and if the frequency information, which is to be measured in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, is broadcasted in the system information, the UE may perform frequency measurement according to the frequency information. If the UE moves to another cell, and if frequency information to be measured in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode is broadcasted in the system information of a newly camped-on cell, the UE may perform frequency measurement according to the new frequency information.
and performing measurements on the particular carrier in accordance with the first measurement configuration for the particular carrier comprises performing measurements on the particular carrier in accordance with the dedicated measurement configurations for the particular carrier received from the first cell
[0135] In more detail, in a case of switching a UE in the RRC connected mode, which has established a connection with a network, to an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode, the base station may: configure, through an RRC message, frequency information or frequencies to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, time (or period) information to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, or area information (or a cell list) to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode; and then instruct the UE, through the RRC message, to perform frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode. In addition, the disclosure proposes an efficient operation of the UE such that the UE performs a procedure of, for example, reading system information of the newly camped-on cell while performing a cell reselection operation every time the UE moves, and determining whether to continue or end frequency measurement, whether to extend a measurement period (for example, restart a timer), whether to report a result of frequency measurement, or whether to discard the result of frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode according to the system information.
Regarding Claim 21,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 1 wherein: a particular carrier is in the first set of carriers as a non-overlapping carrier
[0132] In the LTE system, a UE performs frequency measurement while performing a cell reselection procedure in the RRC idle mode. The frequency measured while performing the cell reselection procedure may denote intra-frequency measurement or serving cell (or Pcell, primary cell) measurement for frequencies broadcasted by a cell configured or camped on by a base station. However, inter-frequency measurement is not performed except for intra-frequency measurement or serving cell measurement, and a result of frequency measurement is not separately reported to a network.
the particular carrier is in the second set of carriers as an overlapping carrier
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0174] In the above, if the UE performs frequency measurement (“early measurement) in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, the frequency measurement may start if one of the following conditions is satisfied (indicated by reference numeral 1f-30).
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
and
[0017] In addition, if a terminal in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode is mobile and performs a cell reselection procedure, the disclosure proposes a procedure for, based on the system information, stopping or restarting frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode or discarding a result of the frequency measurement. Therefore, the disclosure can solve a problem in which a terminal unnecessarily performs frequency measurement and a problem in which the terminal reports a result of the frequency measurement, measured in another cell, to a current cell.
[0205] If a timer (the T331 timer) that permits frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode is running, the UE operates as follows. [0206] If the UE-internal variables storing the RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode frequency measurement configuration information includes the LTE frequency measurement list or group information (measIdleCarrierListEUTRA), the UE performs frequency measurements as follows, with respect to each pieces of frequency information or each entry of the LTE frequency measurement list or group. [0207] If the UE supports a carrier aggregation technology or a dual connectivity technology with a current serving frequency (a serving carrier) and the frequency, and supports a bandwidth indicated by the frequency information, [0208] The UE performs frequency measurement at the frequency and bandwidth indicated by the frequency information.
Kim does not disclose performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
However, Cheng discloses performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
[0073] During operation of system 300, one or more base stations 105 may generate and transmit first message 361 (e.g., a first SIB message), second message 362 (e.g., a second SIB message), third message 363 (e.g., the RRC message), or a combination thereof. UE 115 may receive, from the one or more base stations 105, first message 361, second message 362, and/or third message 363. In some implementations, UE 115 receives second message 362 and third message 363. It is noted that the second measurement configurations of second message 362 and the third measurement configurations of third message 363 may have the same early measurement configuration or may have different early measurement configurations. If UE 115 receives third message 363 having the third measurement configurations, the third measurement configurations override (e.g., take priority over) the second measurement configurations included in second message 362 (if the second measurement configurations were included in second message 362).
[0075] In a first illustrative example of operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 may determine whether UE 115 received third message 363. If UE 115 received third message 363, UE 115 determines whether third message 363 includes the second list of SSB frequencies. Based on a determination that third message 363 included the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the second list of SSB frequencies as a selected frequency list. Alternatively, based on a determination that third message 363 did not include the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list. Additionally, if UE 115 did not receive third message 363, UE 115 may select the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list.
Kim and Cheng are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of keeping a measurement configuration and ignoring another measurement configuration due to a mismatch as taught by Cheng so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 22,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 21 wherein: the first measurement configurations comprise dedicated measurement configurations for the particular carrier received from the first cell
[0176] 2. In a case where the UE has received the RRCRelease message, if the RRCRelease message includes an indicator indicating the UE to perform frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode and a period of time (e.g., a timer value) for measuring the frequency is configured but frequency information to be measured is not included, the UE may start the timer and if the frequency information, which is to be measured in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, is broadcasted in the system information, the UE may perform frequency measurement according to the frequency information. If the UE moves to another cell, and if frequency information to be measured in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode is broadcasted in the system information of a newly camped-on cell, the UE may perform frequency measurement according to the new frequency information.
the second measurement configurations comprise broadcasted measurement configurations for the particular carrier received from the second cell
[0176] 2. In a case where the UE has received the RRCRelease message, if the RRCRelease message includes an indicator indicating the UE to perform frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode and a period of time (e.g., a timer value) for measuring the frequency is configured but frequency information to be measured is not included, the UE may start the timer and if the frequency information, which is to be measured in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, is broadcasted in the system information, the UE may perform frequency measurement according to the frequency information. If the UE moves to another cell, and if frequency information to be measured in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode is broadcasted in the system information of a newly camped-on cell, the UE may perform frequency measurement according to the new frequency information.
performing idle mode measurements on the particular carrier in accordance with the first measurement configuration for the particular carrier comprises performing idle mode measurements on the particular carrier in accordance with the dedicated measurement configurations for the particular carrier received from the first cell
[0017] In addition, if a terminal in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode is mobile and performs a cell reselection procedure, the disclosure proposes a procedure for, based on the system information, stopping or restarting frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode or discarding a result of the frequency measurement. Therefore, the disclosure can solve a problem in which a terminal unnecessarily performs frequency measurement and a problem in which the terminal reports a result of the frequency measurement, measured in another cell, to a current cell.
[0176] 2. In a case where the UE has received the RRCRelease message, if the RRCRelease message includes an indicator indicating the UE to perform frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode and a period of time (e.g., a timer value) for measuring the frequency is configured but frequency information to be measured is not included, the UE may start the timer and if the frequency information, which is to be measured in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, is broadcasted in the system information, the UE may perform frequency measurement according to the frequency information. If the UE moves to another cell, and if frequency information to be measured in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode is broadcasted in the system information of a newly camped-on cell, the UE may perform frequency measurement according to the new frequency information.
[0205] If a timer (the T331 timer) that permits frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode is running, the UE operates as follows. [0206] If the UE-internal variables storing the RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode frequency measurement configuration information includes the LTE frequency measurement list or group information (measIdleCarrierListEUTRA), the UE performs frequency measurements as follows, with respect to each pieces of frequency information or each entry of the LTE frequency measurement list or group. [0207] If the UE supports a carrier aggregation technology or a dual connectivity technology with a current serving frequency (a serving carrier) and the frequency, and supports a bandwidth indicated by the frequency information, [0208] The UE performs frequency measurement at the frequency and bandwidth indicated by the frequency information.
Regarding Claim 23,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 1 wherein: a particular carrier is in the first set of carriers as a non-overlapping carrier
[0132] In the LTE system, a UE performs frequency measurement while performing a cell reselection procedure in the RRC idle mode. The frequency measured while performing the cell reselection procedure may denote intra-frequency measurement or serving cell (or Pcell, primary cell) measurement for frequencies broadcasted by a cell configured or camped on by a base station. However, inter-frequency measurement is not performed except for intra-frequency measurement or serving cell measurement, and a result of frequency measurement is not separately reported to a network.
the particular carrier is in the second set of carriers as an overlapping carrier
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0174] In the above, if the UE performs frequency measurement (“early measurement) in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, the frequency measurement may start if one of the following conditions is satisfied (indicated by reference numeral 1f-30).
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
and
[0017] In addition, if a terminal in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode is mobile and performs a cell reselection procedure, the disclosure proposes a procedure for, based on the system information, stopping or restarting frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode or discarding a result of the frequency measurement. Therefore, the disclosure can solve a problem in which a terminal unnecessarily performs frequency measurement and a problem in which the terminal reports a result of the frequency measurement, measured in another cell, to a current cell.
Kim does not disclose performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
However, Cheng discloses performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
[0073] During operation of system 300, one or more base stations 105 may generate and transmit first message 361 (e.g., a first SIB message), second message 362 (e.g., a second SIB message), third message 363 (e.g., the RRC message), or a combination thereof. UE 115 may receive, from the one or more base stations 105, first message 361, second message 362, and/or third message 363. In some implementations, UE 115 receives second message 362 and third message 363. It is noted that the second measurement configurations of second message 362 and the third measurement configurations of third message 363 may have the same early measurement configuration or may have different early measurement configurations. If UE 115 receives third message 363 having the third measurement configurations, the third measurement configurations override (e.g., take priority over) the second measurement configurations included in second message 362 (if the second measurement configurations were included in second message 362).
[0075] In a first illustrative example of operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 may determine whether UE 115 received third message 363. If UE 115 received third message 363, UE 115 determines whether third message 363 includes the second list of SSB frequencies. Based on a determination that third message 363 included the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the second list of SSB frequencies as a selected frequency list. Alternatively, based on a determination that third message 363 did not include the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list. Additionally, if UE 115 did not receive third message 363, UE 115 may select the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list.
Kim and Cheng are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of keeping a measurement configuration and ignoring another measurement configuration due to a mismatch as taught by Cheng so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 24,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 1 wherein: a particular carrier is in the first set of carriers as a non-overlapping carrier
[0132] In the LTE system, a UE performs frequency measurement while performing a cell reselection procedure in the RRC idle mode. The frequency measured while performing the cell reselection procedure may denote intra-frequency measurement or serving cell (or Pcell, primary cell) measurement for frequencies broadcasted by a cell configured or camped on by a base station. However, inter-frequency measurement is not performed except for intra-frequency measurement or serving cell measurement, and a result of frequency measurement is not separately reported to a network.
the particular carrier is in the second set of carriers as an overlapping carrier
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0174] In the above, if the UE performs frequency measurement (“early measurement) in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, the frequency measurement may start if one of the following conditions is satisfied (indicated by reference numeral 1f-30).
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
and
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0174] In the above, if the UE performs frequency measurement (“early measurement) in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, the frequency measurement may start if one of the following conditions is satisfied (indicated by reference numeral 1f-30).
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
Kim does not disclose performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
However, Cheng discloses performing one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations.
[0073] During operation of system 300, one or more base stations 105 may generate and transmit first message 361 (e.g., a first SIB message), second message 362 (e.g., a second SIB message), third message 363 (e.g., the RRC message), or a combination thereof. UE 115 may receive, from the one or more base stations 105, first message 361, second message 362, and/or third message 363. In some implementations, UE 115 receives second message 362 and third message 363. It is noted that the second measurement configurations of second message 362 and the third measurement configurations of third message 363 may have the same early measurement configuration or may have different early measurement configurations. If UE 115 receives third message 363 having the third measurement configurations, the third measurement configurations override (e.g., take priority over) the second measurement configurations included in second message 362 (if the second measurement configurations were included in second message 362).
[0075] In a first illustrative example of operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 may determine whether UE 115 received third message 363. If UE 115 received third message 363, UE 115 determines whether third message 363 includes the second list of SSB frequencies. Based on a determination that third message 363 included the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the second list of SSB frequencies as a selected frequency list. Alternatively, based on a determination that third message 363 did not include the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list. Additionally, if UE 115 did not receive third message 363, UE 115 may select the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list.
Kim and Cheng are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of keeping a measurement configuration and ignoring another measurement configuration due to a mismatch as taught by Cheng so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 27,
Claim 27 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Kim further discloses: A wireless device for idle mode measurements while the wireless device is in an idle or inactive state, the wireless device comprising: one or more transmitters; one or more receivers; and processing circuitry associated with the one or more transmitters and the one or more receivers.
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0252] The baseband processor 1h-20 and the RF processor 1h-10 transmit and receive signals as described above. Accordingly, the baseband processor 1h-20 and the RF processor 1h-10 may be referred to as a transmitter, a receiver, a transceiver, or a communication unit.
obtain, on a first cell, first measurement configurations for a first set of carriers comprising
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
one or more overlapping carriers, wherein an overlapping carrier is a carrier that is configured for both idle mode measurements and inter-frequency mobility measurements
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0174] In the above, if the UE performs frequency measurement (“early measurement) in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, the frequency measurement may start if one of the following conditions is satisfied (indicated by reference numeral 1f-30).
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
one or more non-overlapping carriers, wherein a non-overlapping carrier is a carrier that is configured for idle mode measurements but not for inter-frequency mobility measurements, or both one or more overlapping carriers and one or more non-overlapping carriers
[0132] In the LTE system, a UE performs frequency measurement while performing a cell reselection procedure in the RRC idle mode. The frequency measured while performing the cell reselection procedure may denote intra-frequency measurement or serving cell (or Pcell, primary cell) measurement for frequencies broadcasted by a cell configured or camped on by a base station. However, inter-frequency measurement is not performed except for intra-frequency measurement or serving cell measurement, and a result of frequency measurement is not separately reported to a network.
transition to a dormant state
[0153] If the base station has configured the carrier aggregation technology for the UE, the base station may switch the S cells configured above to an active, inactive or dormant state using a MAC control element (MAC CE) (indicated by reference number 1e-75).
and while in the dormant state: perform a cell re-selection from the first cell to a second cell while an idle mode measurement duration timer is running
[0135] In more detail, in a case of switching a UE in the RRC connected mode, which has established a connection with a network, to an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode, the base station may: configure, through an RRC message, frequency information or frequencies to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, time (or period) information to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, or area information (or a cell list) to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode; and then instruct the UE, through the RRC message, to perform frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode. In addition, the disclosure proposes an efficient operation of the UE such that the UE performs a procedure of, for example, reading system information of the newly camped-on cell while performing a cell reselection operation every time the UE moves, and determining whether to continue or end frequency measurement, whether to extend a measurement period (for example, restart a timer), whether to report a result of frequency measurement, or whether to discard the result of frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode according to the system information.
obtain, from the second cell, second measurement configurations for a second set of carriers comprising one or more overlapping carriers, one or more non-overlapping carriers, or both one or more overlapping carriers and one or more non-overlapping carriers
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
Kim does not disclose the final limitation of this claim: perform one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations, wherein the one or more actions comprise keeping a measurement configuration from among the first measurement configurations and ignoring the mismatching measurement configuration from among the second measurement configurations.
However, Cheng discloses: perform one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations, wherein the one or more actions comprise keeping a measurement configuration from among the first measurement configurations and ignoring the mismatching measurement configuration from among the second measurement configurations.
[0073] During operation of system 300, one or more base stations 105 may generate and transmit first message 361 (e.g., a first SIB message), second message 362 (e.g., a second SIB message), third message 363 (e.g., the RRC message), or a combination thereof. UE 115 may receive, from the one or more base stations 105, first message 361, second message 362, and/or third message 363. In some implementations, UE 115 receives second message 362 and third message 363. It is noted that the second measurement configurations of second message 362 and the third measurement configurations of third message 363 may have the same early measurement configuration or may have different early measurement configurations. If UE 115 receives third message 363 having the third measurement configurations, the third measurement configurations override (e.g., take priority over) the second measurement configurations included in second message 362 (if the second measurement configurations were included in second message 362).
[0075] In a first illustrative example of operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 may determine whether UE 115 received third message 363. If UE 115 received third message 363, UE 115 determines whether third message 363 includes the second list of SSB frequencies. Based on a determination that third message 363 included the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the second list of SSB frequencies as a selected frequency list. Alternatively, based on a determination that third message 363 did not include the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list. Additionally, if UE 115 did not receive third message 363, UE 115 may select the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list.
Note: The different measurement configurations (paragraph [0073]) is the mismatch, which parallels Applicant’s specification paragraph [0251]). However, the third message (where the messages include measurement configurations of SSB frequencies) can “keep” the first list of frequencies and “ignore” the second list of frequencies since they were not included.
Kim and Cheng are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of keeping a measurement configuration and ignoring another measurement configuration due to a mismatch as taught by Cheng so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 30,
Claim 30 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Kim further discloses: A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions executable by processing circuitry of a wireless device
[0256] Referring to FIG. 1I, the base station includes an RF processor 1i-10, a baseband processor 1i-20, a communication unit (or backhaul communication unit) 1i-30, a storage unit (memory) 1i-40, and a controller 1i-50.
obtain, on a first cell, first measurement configurations for a first set of carriers comprising
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
one or more overlapping carriers, wherein an overlapping carrier is a carrier that is configured for both idle mode measurements and inter-frequency mobility measurements
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0174] In the above, if the UE performs frequency measurement (“early measurement) in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, the frequency measurement may start if one of the following conditions is satisfied (indicated by reference numeral 1f-30).
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
one or more non-overlapping carriers, wherein a non-overlapping carrier is a carrier that is configured for idle mode measurements but not for inter-frequency mobility measurements, or both one or more overlapping carriers and one or more non-overlapping carriers
[0132] In the LTE system, a UE performs frequency measurement while performing a cell reselection procedure in the RRC idle mode. The frequency measured while performing the cell reselection procedure may denote intra-frequency measurement or serving cell (or Pcell, primary cell) measurement for frequencies broadcasted by a cell configured or camped on by a base station. However, inter-frequency measurement is not performed except for intra-frequency measurement or serving cell measurement, and a result of frequency measurement is not separately reported to a network.
transition to a dormant state
[0153] If the base station has configured the carrier aggregation technology for the UE, the base station may switch the S cells configured above to an active, inactive or dormant state using a MAC control element (MAC CE) (indicated by reference number 1e-75).
and while in the dormant state: perform a cell re-selection from the first cell to a second cell while an idle mode measurement duration timer is running
[0135] In more detail, in a case of switching a UE in the RRC connected mode, which has established a connection with a network, to an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode, the base station may: configure, through an RRC message, frequency information or frequencies to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, time (or period) information to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, or area information (or a cell list) to be measured by the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode; and then instruct the UE, through the RRC message, to perform frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode. In addition, the disclosure proposes an efficient operation of the UE such that the UE performs a procedure of, for example, reading system information of the newly camped-on cell while performing a cell reselection operation every time the UE moves, and determining whether to continue or end frequency measurement, whether to extend a measurement period (for example, restart a timer), whether to report a result of frequency measurement, or whether to discard the result of frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode according to the system information.
obtain, from the second cell, second measurement configurations for a second set of carriers comprising one or more overlapping carriers, one or more non-overlapping carriers, or both one or more overlapping carriers and one or more non-overlapping carriers
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
Kim does not disclose the final limitation of this claim: perform one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations, wherein the one or more actions comprise keeping a measurement configuration from among the first measurement configurations and ignoring the mismatching measurement configuration from among the second measurement configurations.
However, Cheng discloses: perform one or more actions in response to one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations, wherein the one or more actions comprise keeping a measurement configuration from among the first measurement configurations and ignoring the mismatching measurement configuration from among the second measurement configurations.
[0073] During operation of system 300, one or more base stations 105 may generate and transmit first message 361 (e.g., a first SIB message), second message 362 (e.g., a second SIB message), third message 363 (e.g., the RRC message), or a combination thereof. UE 115 may receive, from the one or more base stations 105, first message 361, second message 362, and/or third message 363. In some implementations, UE 115 receives second message 362 and third message 363. It is noted that the second measurement configurations of second message 362 and the third measurement configurations of third message 363 may have the same early measurement configuration or may have different early measurement configurations. If UE 115 receives third message 363 having the third measurement configurations, the third measurement configurations override (e.g., take priority over) the second measurement configurations included in second message 362 (if the second measurement configurations were included in second message 362).
[0075] In a first illustrative example of operation of wireless communications system 300, UE 115 may determine whether UE 115 received third message 363. If UE 115 received third message 363, UE 115 determines whether third message 363 includes the second list of SSB frequencies. Based on a determination that third message 363 included the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the second list of SSB frequencies as a selected frequency list. Alternatively, based on a determination that third message 363 did not include the second list of SSB frequencies, UE 115 selects the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list. Additionally, if UE 115 did not receive third message 363, UE 115 may select the first list of SSB frequencies (of second message 362) as the selected frequency list.
Note: The different measurement configurations (paragraph [0073]) is the mismatch, which parallels Applicant’s specification paragraph [0251]). However, the third message (where the messages include measurement configurations of SSB frequencies) can “keep” the first list of frequencies and “ignore” the second list of frequencies since they were not included.
Kim and Cheng are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of keeping a measurement configuration and ignoring another measurement configuration due to a mismatch as taught by Cheng so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Claims 2-3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Cheng, held further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #107, “Early measurements in RRC_IDLE and inter-RAT cell reselection,” R2-1910955, Prague, Czech Republic, August 26th-30th, 2019, herein referred to as “R2-1910955.” The R2-1910955 reference was provided in the information disclosure statement dated February 28, 2022.
Regarding Claim 2,
Kim in view of Cheng does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 2.
However, R2-1910955 discloses: The method of claim 1 wherein the one or more mismatches comprise a mismatch between a dedicated measurement configuration in the first cell and a broadcasted measurement configuration in the second cell.
(Section 2, page 1)
The first thing to clarify is that whether the configuration of cell reselection priority will have any impact on UE early measurement or vice versa. The purpose of cell reselection is to find a best cell to camp on for UEs. When the network configures cell reselection priority broadcasted in SIB, it may consider network implementation, cell load, or other operator specific preference. While for dedicated priority included in RRC release message, the network may further
consider the UE capability, the PLMN to which the UE belongs, and so on. Then the purpose of early measurement in this WI is to assist the network to configure MR-DC and NR CA. In this case, the network may configure the measurement to be measured based on MR-DC deployment and UE capability. Considering the purposes for cell reselection and early measurement are different, and the frequency considerations are different in some level too, it is more reasonable that the configuration and UE behaviours for these two procedures are not coupled.
Proposal 1: Cell reselection and early measurement are independent of each other.
Kim in view of Cheng and R2-1910955 are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Cheng to include the concept of a mismatch between cells as taught by R2-1910955 so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 3,
Kim in view of Cheng does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 3.
However, R2-1910955 discloses: The method of claim 1 wherein the one or more mismatches comprise a mismatch between a broadcasted measurement configuration in the first cell and a broadcasted measurement configuration in the second cell.
(Section 2, page 1)
The first thing to clarify is that whether the configuration of cell reselection priority will have any impact on UE early measurement or vice versa. The purpose of cell reselection is to find a best cell to camp on for UEs. When the network configures cell reselection priority broadcasted in SIB, it may consider network implementation, cell load, or other operator specific preference. While for dedicated priority included in RRC release message, the network may further
consider the UE capability, the PLMN to which the UE belongs, and so on. Then the purpose of early measurement in this WI is to assist the network to configure MR-DC and NR CA. In this case, the network may configure the measurement to be measured based on MR-DC deployment and UE capability. Considering the purposes for cell reselection and early measurement are different, and the frequency considerations are different in some level too, it is more reasonable that the configuration and UE behaviours for these two procedures are not coupled.
Proposal 1: Cell reselection and early measurement are independent of each other.
Kim in view of Cheng and R2-1910955 are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Cheng to include the concept of a mismatch between cells as taught by R2-1910955 so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 13,
Kim in view of Cheng does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 13.
However, R2-1910955 discloses: The method of claim 8 wherein, for the particular carrier, the mismatch between the first measurement configuration for the particular carrier and the second measurement configuration for the particular carrier comprises a mismatch between a broadcasted measurement configuration for the particular carrier in the first cell and a broadcasted measurements configuration for the particular carrier in the second cell.
(Section 1, page 1)
At RAN2#105b meeting, the general framework of early measurement were set, i.e. NR early measurements can be configured in both NR RRCRelease message and NR system information, and the early measurements at least includes the validity timer and NR frequency specific configurations. It was also agreed that the early measurement configuration parameters provided per SSB frequency follow the same principles as those provided in SIB2/4 for the
purposes of Idle/Inactive mobility. In addition, there are four email discussion on-going to report to next RAN2 #107 meeting, e.g. on measurement configuration and reporting, validity area, as well as UE behaviours regarding idle measurement configurations and measurement results.
(Section 2, page 1)
The first thing to clarify is that whether the configuration of cell reselection priority will have any impact on UE early measurement or vice versa. The purpose of cell reselection is to find a best cell to camp on for UEs. When the network configures cell reselection priority broadcasted in SIB, it may consider network implementation, cell load, or other operator specific preference. While for dedicated priority included in RRC release message, the network may further
consider the UE capability, the PLMN to which the UE belongs, and so on. Then the purpose of early measurement in this WI is to assist the network to configure MR-DC and NR CA. In this case, the network may configure the measurement to be measured based on MR-DC deployment and UE capability. Considering the purposes for cell reselection and early measurement are different, and the frequency considerations are different in some level too, it is more reasonable that the configuration and UE behaviours for these two procedures are not coupled.
Proposal 1: Cell reselection and early measurement are independent of each other.
Kim in view of Cheng and R2-1910955 are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Cheng to include the concept of a mismatch between cells as taught by R2-1910955 so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Cheng, held further in view of Tsuda et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2018/0359805), herein referred to as Tsuda.
Regarding Claim 6,
Kim in view of Cheng does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 6.
However, Tsuda discloses: The method of claim 1 further comprising, while in the dormant state and prior to performing the cell re-selection: starting the idle mode measurement duration timer.
[0094] FIG. 7 shows a flow chart of steps in an example method for implementing this transition for a UE within a virtual cell. After termination of the initial VC_RRC_CONNECTED state, a UE enters the VC_RRC_IDLE state (S101). Also, a timer is reset and started counting (S102). This is a timer for VC_RRC_IDLE operation, and may be maintained by the UE or by the VC-UE. Next, the UE judges whether it needs to perform a transition from VC_RRC_IDLE to VC_RRC_CONNECTED, for example if data transfer is required (S103). If yes (a full connection is required), the UE makes the transition to the VC_RRC_CONNECTED state (S104) and stops the VC_RRC_IDLE state. Also, the timer is stopped and the method ends. If desired, the UE may perform a cell reselection procedure prior to executing S107, in which it decides which eNB (or possibly a VC-UE if there is an alternative virtual cell nearby) to connect with.
Kim in view of Cheng and Tsuda are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Cheng to include the concept of starting the idle mode measurement duration timer prior to cell re-selection as taught by Tsuda so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Kim further discloses: performing idle mode measurements in accordance with the first measurement configurations while the idle mode measurement duration timer is running
[0205] If a timer (the T331 timer) that permits frequency measurement in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode is running, the UE operates as follows. [0206] If the UE-internal variables storing the RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode frequency measurement configuration information includes the LTE frequency measurement list or group information (measIdleCarrierListEUTRA), the UE performs frequency measurements as follows, with respect to each pieces of frequency information or each entry of the LTE frequency measurement list or group. [0207] If the UE supports a carrier aggregation technology or a dual connectivity technology with a current serving frequency (a serving carrier) and the frequency, and supports a bandwidth indicated by the frequency information, [0208] The UE performs frequency measurement at the frequency and bandwidth indicated by the frequency information.
Regarding Claim 7,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 1 further comprising, while in the dormant state and prior to performing the cell re-selection, performing cell re-selection measurements on the one or more overlapping carriers in the first set of carriers in accordance with the first measurement configurations.
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0153] If the base station has configured the carrier aggregation technology for the UE, the base station may switch the S cells configured above to an active, inactive or dormant state using a MAC control element (MAC CE) (indicated by reference number 1e-75).
Kim in view of Cheng does not disclose prior to performing cell re-selection.
However, Tsuda discloses prior to performing cell re-selection.
[0094] FIG. 7 shows a flow chart of steps in an example method for implementing this transition for a UE within a virtual cell. After termination of the initial VC_RRC_CONNECTED state, a UE enters the VC_RRC_IDLE state (S101). Also, a timer is reset and started counting (S102). This is a timer for VC_RRC_IDLE operation, and may be maintained by the UE or by the VC-UE. Next, the UE judges whether it needs to perform a transition from VC_RRC_IDLE to VC_RRC_CONNECTED, for example if data transfer is required (S103). If yes (a full connection is required), the UE makes the transition to the VC_RRC_CONNECTED state (S104) and stops the VC_RRC_IDLE state. Also, the timer is stopped and the method ends. If desired, the UE may perform a cell reselection procedure prior to executing S107, in which it decides which eNB (or possibly a VC-UE if there is an alternative virtual cell nearby) to connect with.
Kim in view of Cheng and Tsuda are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Cheng to include the concept of performing measurements prior to cell re-selection as taught by Tsuda so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Cheng, held further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #107, “Handling of idle/inactive measurements during inter-RAT cell reselection,” R2-1910251, Prague, Czech Republic, August 26th-30th, 2019, herein referred to as “R2-1910251.” The R2-1910251 reference was provided in the information disclosure statement dated February 28, 2022.
Regarding Claim 8,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 1 wherein: a particular carrier is an overlapping carrier in both the first set of carriers and the second set of carriers
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
the first measurement configuration for the particular carrier on the first cell is different than the second measurement configuration for the particular carrier on the second cell
[0151] According to the frequency measurement configuration information, the UE performs frequency measurement and if a predetermined condition is satisfied or event occurs (for example, if a signal strength of a specific frequency is better than a predetermined reference (for example, a threshold value) or a signal strength of a current serving cell (frequency) is smaller than a predetermined reference (for example, a threshold value)) (indicated by reference numeral 1e-55), the UE may report a result of frequency measurement to the base station (indicated by reference numeral 1e-60).
[0152] If the base station receives the result of frequency measurement, the base station includes secondary cell (Scell) configuration information in the RRCReconfiguration message based on the result of frequency measurement (indicated by reference numeral 1e-65) and transmits the RRCReconfiguration message to the UE to configure a secondary Scell, and may configure the carrier aggregation technology for the UE. The base station may include secondary cell group configuration information in the RRCReconfiguration message, transmit the RRCReconfiguration message to the UE, and configure the dual connectivity technology for the UE (indicated by reference numeral 1e-65). The UE applies information included in the RRCReconfiguration message and transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the base station (indicated by reference numeral 1e-70).
Kim in view of Cheng does not fully disclose the final limitation of this claim: performing the one or more actions in response to the one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations comprises: keeping the first measurement configuration for the particular carrier; and ignoring the second measurement configuration for the particular carrier.
However, R2-1910251 discloses: performing the one or more actions in response to the one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations comprises: keeping the first measurement configuration for the particular carrier; and ignoring the second measurement configuration for the particular carrier.
(Section 2.2, page 3)
When performing an inter-RAT cell reselection the UE will also need to perform a connection setup in the new RAT in order to perform a TAU. The UE would then receive a new idle/inactive measurement configuration and timer in the subsequent Release message and perform the actions upon entering RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE. There is then little benefit in keeping the old measurement configurations in the new RAT after an inter-RAT cell reselection.
Since the UE will anyway perform a TAU after the inter-RAT cell reselection it can be argued that the idle/inactive measurement configuration could be kept until the UE then enters RRC_CONNECTED. However, this would imply that the UE needs to maintain, and then later on release, a measurement configuration that has been received from a different RAT. This would just lead to an additional specification complexity for both RATs without any real benefit. To instead release the measurement configuration at the actual inter-RAT cell reselection would keep the solution cleaner and we thus consider this a preferred solution.
Kim in view of Cheng and R2-1910251 are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim view of Cheng to include the concept of a mismatch between the first measurement configuration and the second measurement configuration as well as keeping and ignoring measurement configurations as taught by R2-1910251 so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Regarding Claim 14,
Kim discloses: The method of claim 1 wherein: a particular carrier is in the first set of carriers as an overlapping carrier but is not in the second set of carriers as an overlapping carrier
[0013] In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a method performed by a base station is provided. The method includes generating a control message for a terminal, and transmitting, to the terminal, the control message including first information on a measurement to be performed while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, wherein whether the first information includes a first list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is identified, wherein a system information block 5 (SIB5) including second information on a measurement to be performed while in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state is transmitted to the terminal, in case that the information does not include the first list, wherein a second list of carriers to be measured during the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state which is included in the second information is stored in the terminal, and wherein an idle mode measurement is performed by the terminal based on the second list included in the second information.
[0132] In the LTE system, a UE performs frequency measurement while performing a cell reselection procedure in the RRC idle mode. The frequency measured while performing the cell reselection procedure may denote intra-frequency measurement or serving cell (or Pcell, primary cell) measurement for frequencies broadcasted by a cell configured or camped on by a base station. However, inter-frequency measurement is not performed except for intra-frequency measurement or serving cell measurement, and a result of frequency measurement is not separately reported to a network.
[0174] In the above, if the UE performs frequency measurement (“early measurement) in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, the frequency measurement may start if one of the following conditions is satisfied (indicated by reference numeral 1f-30).
[0237] In the disclosure, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be included in one configuration information and be broadcasted in the system information (SIB5). The LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may be broadcasted in different system information (for example, SIB3 or SIB5 or another SIB) so that the UE may distinguish the same. In addition, the LTE frequency list group or the NR frequency list group may include intra-frequency configuration information as well as inter-frequency configuration information.
Kim in view of Cheng does not explicitly disclose: performing the one or more actions in response to the one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations comprises: continuing to perform idle mode measurements on the particular carrier in accordance with the first measurement configuration for the particular carrier; and performing measurements for cell re-selection on the particular carrier in accordance with the second measurement configurations.
However, R2-1910251 discloses: performing the one or more actions in response to the one or more mismatches between the first measurement configurations and the second measurement configurations comprises: continuing to perform idle mode measurements on the particular carrier in accordance with the first measurement configuration for the particular carrier; and performing measurements for cell re-selection on the particular carrier in accordance with the second measurement configurations.
(Section 2.2, page 3)
When performing an inter-RAT cell reselection the UE will also need to perform a connection setup in the new RAT in order to perform a TAU. The UE would then receive a new idle/inactive measurement configuration and timer in the subsequent Release message and perform the actions upon entering RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE. There is then little benefit in keeping the old measurement configurations in the new RAT after an inter-RAT cell reselection.
Since the UE will anyway perform a TAU after the inter-RAT cell reselection it can be argued that the idle/inactive measurement configuration could be kept until the UE then enters RRC_CONNECTED. However, this would imply that the UE needs to maintain, and then later on release, a measurement configuration that has been received from a different RAT. This would just lead to an additional specification complexity for both RATs without any real benefit. To instead release the measurement configuration at the actual inter-RAT cell reselection would keep the solution cleaner and we thus consider this a preferred solution.
Kim and R2-1910251 are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the concept of a mismatch between the first measurement configuration and the second measurement configuration as taught by R2-1910251 so as to enhance overall communications among devices in the wireless communication network.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed on July 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
The following claims were amended as part of applicant’s response: 1, 27, and 30.
The following claims are canceled: 9, 19, and 20.
There are no new claims.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to independent claims 1, 27, and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411