DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to amendment filed on 05/20/2025. Status of claims are:
** Claims 1-6, 8-17, and 19-20 are pending
** Claims 1, 10, 11, and 12, are amended
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 09/29/2025, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Prior Art
3. U. S. Patent Pub No. US 20190029055 A1 issued to Hor-Lao et al., (hereinafter Hor-Lao).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-6, 8, 10-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210345401 A1, to Lopez Perez et al., (hereinafter Lopez) and in view of US 20180302832 A1, to Huang et al., (hereinafter Huang), and in further view of US 20190029055 A1 to Hor-Lao et al., (hereinafter Hor-Lao)
Claim 1. A method of assigning a beam pattern with null-steering beamforming from a first radio network node, the method comprising:
determining a direction (i.e., “null steering information” contains device’s direction) to a neighboring second radio network node;
(Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034] for AP 20 (i.e., a first wireless network node) sends null radiations in the direction of AP 22 (i.e., a neighboring second wireless radio network node) on the basis of “null steering information” signaling that it has received from AP22, wherein in para [0044], it indicates that the received “null steering information”, determines and identifies a device identifier, area and/or device direction, so that the null transmissions are to be made accordingly by the receiving wireless device (e.g., a first wireless network node))
determining an indication on traffic load for the second radio network node;
(Lopez: See para[0037]-[0038] the “null steering information” may include a “number of beams” that are being transmitted by AP 22 (i.e., “number of beams being transmitted” as being “an indication” of traffic load of the second radio node))
and determining, from the direction and traffic load, a direction for a null of the null-steering beamforming.
(Lopez: See para [0044], the received “null steering information”, determines and identifies a device identifier, area or direction of the device, so that the null transmissions are to be made accordingly by the receiving wireless device (e.g., a first wireless network node)
the null of the null-steering beamforming reducing a transmission power in the direction of the null (Lopez: See para[0041] null steering information may indicate target of null radiations (i.e., direction of the null) by indicating identifiers of those wireless devices that are being nulled (i.e., null is a point of near-zero energy hence it is understood that the power is reduced in the direction of the null transmissions))
Although Lopez teaches a number of beams that are being transmitted, wherein such number of beams can be understood as an indication of traffic load of the device, however, Lopez does not explicitly disclose that one AP can exchange its traffic load information with another AP, wherein traffic load information is understood as being a number of stations associated with AP, as well as AP’s channel utilization, as understood by:
the traffic load being indicated by a number of stations associated to the second radio network node and by channel utilization;
However, in a similar field, Huang in para[0089]-[0091] and Fig. 8, teaches an AP can send to another AP, messaging that contains information element, wherein such information element includes various BSS information, such as AP’s channel utilization, a number of wireless clients of the AP, a number of child AP(s), client capacity information, child AP capacity information, path topology.
Lopez teaches null steering transmission techniques among AP(s) of a BSS network by exchanging null steering information that includes a variety of information such as a number of beam transmissions as well as other information used for null steering towards a specific device. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034]
Huang teaches techniques related to steering devices in a network consisting of multiple AP(s) based on exchanged channel utilization metrics among such AP(s), wherein a number of stations, and channel utilization of various AP(s) is shared via messaging conducted between various BSS devices including AP(s). (Huang: See para[0089]-[0091])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective time of filing, to have combined and included “channel utilization” information exchanged among different AP(s), as taught by Huang, with the teachings of Lopez, in order to benefit from enhancements of having AP(s) that can exchange AP metrics such as their “channel utilization”, with one another, as to allows one AP to steer a device. (Huang: See para[0089]-[0091])
Lopez in view of Huang does not explicitly disclose that null steering direction can be prioritized based on distance, such as making smaller distance, for instance, being prioritized over larger distance, as understood by:
the determining of the direction of a null comprising prioritizing a direction among directions towards a plurality of neighboring network nodes, the prioritizing comprising prioritizing the direction based on estimated distance from a neighbor radio network node based on the reception of the beacon from the neighboring radio network, and an estimated smaller distance being prioritized over an estimated larger distance.
However, in a similar field, Hor-Lao teaches that beam forming signals in a specific direction, can be prioritized based upon various metrics such as range, distance, QoS, RSSI, and so forth. It is understood that beam-forming and/or null-steering, can be prioritized based on shorter distance, vs longer distance, and/or prioritized based on received signa strength indicator (RSSI), etc.)
Hor-Lao teaches beam formed signal in a specific direction can be prioritized based on a variety of metrics such as range or distance or QoS, and/or RSSI, and so forth. (Hor-Lao: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective time of filing, to have combined and included ‘beam forming techniques” as taught by Hor-Lao, with the teachings of Lopez and Huang, in order to benefit from enhanced ability of prioritizing beam forming in a direction based on a variety of metrics such as, but not limited to, distance, QoS, RSSI, and so forth. (Hor-Lao: See para[0054])
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the direction is made from reception of beacons from the second radio network node. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034] for AP 20 (i.e., a first network node) sends null radiations in the direction of AP 22 (i.e., a neighboring second radio network node) on the basis of null steering and beamforming information that it has received from AP 20.)
Claim 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the direction is made from a signaling interface between the first radio network node and the second radio network node. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034] for AP 20 (i.e., a first network node) sends null radiations in the direction of AP 22 (i.e., a neighboring second radio network node) on the basis of null steering and beamforming information signaling that it has received from AP 20)
Claim 4. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the indication on traffic load is made from information in a beacon from the second radio network node. (Lopez: See para[0055]-[0057] the “null steering information” is included in the “EHT preamble” (i.e., a beacon) that is omni-directionally transmitted, from one device to another device, which allow EHT devices that receive it to perform beamforming and null steering accordingly. )
Claim 5. Lopez teaches the method of claim 4, however, Lopez does not explicitly disclose that one AP’s can exchange its operational channel utilization metrics and/or information with another AP, or its number of stations, as understood by:
wherein the information in the beacon comprises any one of:
the number of stations associated to the second radio network node; and the channel utilization.
However, in a similar field, Huang in para[0089]-[0091] and Fig. 8, teaches an AP can send to another AP, messaging that contains information element, wherein such information element includes various BSS information, such as AP’s channel utilization, a number of wireless clients of the AP, a number of child AP(s), client capacity information, child AP capacity information, path topology.
Lopez teaches null steering transmission techniques among AP(s) of a BSS network by exchanging null steering information that includes a variety of information such as a number of beam transmissions as well as other information used for null steering towards a specific device. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034]
Huang teaches techniques related to steering devices in a network consisting of multiple AP(s) based on exchanged channel utilization metrics among such AP(s), wherein a number of stations, and channel utilization of various AP(s) is shared via messaging conducted between various BSS devices including AP(s). (Huang: See para[0089]-[0091])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective time of filing, to have combined and included “channel utilization” information exchanged among different AP(s), as taught by Huang, with the teachings of Lopez, in order to benefit from enhancements of having AP(s) that can exchange AP metrics such as their “channel utilization”, with one another, as to allows one AP to steer a device. (Huang: See para[0089]-[0091])
Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the indication on traffic load is made from a signaling interface between the first radio network node and the second radio network node. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034] for AP 20 (i.e., a first network node) sends null radiations in the direction of AP 22 (i.e., a neighboring second radio network node) on the basis of null steering and beamforming information that it has received from AP 20.)
Claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein each of the first radio network node and the second neighboring radio network node forms a basic service set, BSS, and the first network node and the second network node form an overlapping BSS, OBSS, in a communication system for wireless local area network service. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034] for overlapping BSS network)
Claim 10. A method of signal transmission from a radio network node, the method comprising:
composing a frame to be sent; assigning a beam pattern with null-steering beamforming, the assigning of the beam pattern with null-steering beamforming (Lopez: see para[0055]-[0057] the “null steering information” is included in the “EHT preamble” (i.e., a frame) that is omni-directionally transmitted, which allow EHT devices that receive it to perform beamforming and null steering accordingly), comprising:
determining a direction to a neighboring second radio network node;
(Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034] for AP 20 (i.e., a first wireless network node) sends null radiations in the direction of AP 22 (i.e., a neighboring second wireless radio network node) on the basis of “null steering information” signaling that it has received from AP22. See para [0044], the received “null steering information”, determines a device identifier, area and/or device direction, so that the null transmissions are to be made accordingly by the receiving wireless device (e.g., a first wireless network node))
determining an indication on traffic load for the second radio network node; and
(Lopez: See para[0037]-[0038] for “null steering information” may include a “number of beams” that are transmitted by AP 22 (i.e., an indication on traffic “load” of the second radio node))
determining, from the direction and traffic load, a direction for a null of the null-steering beamforming; and transmitting the frame with the assigned beam pattern.
(Lopez: See para [0044], the received “null steering information”, determines a device identifier, area or direction, for the null transmissions to be made accordingly by the receiving wireless device (e.g., a first wireless network node)
the null of the null-steering beamforming reducing a transmission power in the direction of the null (Lopez: See para[0041] null steering information may indicate target of null radiations (i.e., direction of the null) by indicating identifiers of those wireless devices that are being nulled (i.e., null is a point of near-zero energy hence it is understood that the power is reduced in the direction of the null transmissions))
Although Lopez teaches a number of beams that are being transmitted, wherein such number of beams can be understood as an indication of traffic load of the device, however, Lopez does not explicitly disclose that one AP can exchange its traffic load information with another AP, wherein traffic load information is understood as being a number of stations associated with AP, as well as AP’s channel utilization, as understood by:
the traffic load being indicated by a number of stations associated to the second radio network node and by channel utilization;
However, in a similar field, Huang in para[0089]-[0091] and Fig. 8, teaches an AP can send to another AP, messaging that contains information element, wherein such information element includes various BSS information, such as AP’s channel utilization, a number of wireless clients of the AP, a number of child AP(s), client capacity information, child AP capacity information, path topology.
Lopez teaches null steering transmission techniques among AP(s) of a BSS network by exchanging null steering information that includes a variety of information such as a number of beam transmissions as well as other information used for null steering towards a specific device. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034]
Huang teaches techniques related to steering devices in a network consisting of multiple AP(s) based on exchanged channel utilization metrics among such AP(s), wherein a number of stations, and channel utilization of various AP(s) is shared via messaging conducted between various BSS devices including AP(s). (Huang: See para[0089]-[0091])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective time of filing, to have combined and included “channel utilization” information exchanged among different AP(s), as taught by Huang, with the teachings of Lopez, in order to benefit from enhancements of having AP(s) that can exchange AP metrics such as their “channel utilization”, with one another, as to allows one AP to steer a device. (Huang: See para[0089]-[0091])
Lopez in view of Huang does not explicitly disclose that null steering direction can be prioritized based on distance, such as making smaller distance, for instance, being prioritized over larger distance, as understood by:
the determining of the direction of a null comprising prioritizing a direction among directions towards a plurality of neighboring network nodes, the prioritizing comprising prioritizing the direction based on estimated distance from a neighbor radio network node based on the reception of the beacon from the neighboring radio network, and an estimated smaller distance being prioritized over an estimated larger distance.
However, in a similar field, Hor-Lao teaches that beam forming signals in a specific direction, can be prioritized based upon various metrics such as range, distance, QoS, RSSI, and so forth. It is understood that beam-forming and/or null-steering, can be prioritized based on shorter distance, vs longer distance, and/or prioritized based on received signa strength indicator (RSSI), etc.)
Hor-Lao teaches beam formed signal in a specific direction can be prioritized based on a variety of metrics such as range or distance or QoS, and/or RSSI, and so forth. (Hor-Lao: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective time of filing, to have combined and included ‘beam forming techniques” as taught by Hor-Lao, with the teachings of Lopez, Huang and Chatterjee, in order to benefit from enhanced ability of prioritizing beam forming in a direction based on a variety of metrics such as, but not limited to, distance, QoS, RSSI, and so forth. (Hor-Lao: See para[0054])
Claim 11. A computer storage media storing a computer program comprising instructions which, when executed on a processor of a radio network node, causes the radio network node to perform a method of assigning a beam pattern with null-steering beamforming from a first radio network node, the method comprising:
determining a direction to a neighboring second radio network node;
(Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034] for AP 20 (i.e., a first wireless network node) sends null radiations in the direction of AP 22 (i.e., a neighboring second wireless radio network node) on the basis of “null steering information” signaling that it has received from AP22. See para [0044], the received “null steering information”, determines a device identifier, area and/or device direction, so that the null transmissions are to be made accordingly by the receiving wireless device (e.g., a first wireless network node))
determining an indication on traffic load for the second radio network node;
(Lopez: See para[0037]-[0038] for “null steering information” may include a “number of beams” that are transmitted by AP 22 (i.e., an indication on traffic “load” of the second radio node))
and determining, from the direction and traffic load, a direction for a null of the null-steering beamforming.
(Lopez: See para [0044], the received “null steering information”, determines a device identifier, area or direction, for the null transmissions to be made accordingly by the receiving wireless device (e.g., a first wireless network node)
the null of the null-steering beamforming reducing a transmission power in the direction of the null (Lopez: See para[0041] null steering information may indicate target of null radiations (i.e., direction of the null) by indicating identifiers of those wireless devices that are being nulled (i.e., null is a point of near-zero energy hence it is understood that the power is reduced in the direction of the null transmissions))
Although Lopez teaches a number of beams that are being transmitted, wherein such number of beams can be understood as an indication of traffic load of the device, however, Lopez does not explicitly disclose that one AP can exchange its traffic load information with another AP, wherein traffic load information is understood as being a number of stations associated with AP, as well as AP’s channel utilization, as understood by:
the traffic load being indicated by a number of user equipment associated to the second radio network node and by channel utilization;
However, in a similar field, Huang in para[0089]-[0091] and Fig. 8, teaches an AP can send to another AP, messaging that contains information element, wherein such information element includes various BSS information, such as AP’s channel utilization, a number of wireless clients of the AP, a number of child AP(s), client capacity information, child AP capacity information, path topology.
Lopez teaches null steering transmission techniques among AP(s) of a BSS network by exchanging null steering information that includes a variety of information such as a number of beam transmissions as well as other information used for null steering towards a specific device. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034]
Huang teaches techniques related to steering devices in a network consisting of multiple AP(s) based on exchanged channel utilization metrics among such AP(s), wherein a number of stations, and channel utilization of various AP(s) is shared via messaging conducted between various BSS devices including AP(s). (Huang: See para[0089]-[0091])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective time of filing, to have combined and included “channel utilization” information exchanged among different AP(s), as taught by Huang, with the teachings of Lopez, in order to benefit from enhancements of having AP(s) that can exchange AP metrics such as their “channel utilization”, with one another, as to allows one AP to steer a device. (Huang: See para[0089]-[0091])
Lopez in view of Huang does not explicitly disclose that null steering direction can be prioritized based on distance, such as making smaller distance , for instance, being prioritized over larger distance, as understood by:
the determining of the direction of a null comprising prioritizing a direction among directions towards a plurality of neighboring network nodes, the prioritizing comprising prioritizing the direction based on estimated distance from a neighbor radio network node based on the reception of the beacon from the neighboring radio network, and an estimated smaller distance being prioritized over an estimated larger distance.
However, in a similar field, Hor-Lao teaches that beam forming signals in a specific direction, can be prioritized based upon various metrics such as range, distance, QoS, RSSI, and so forth. It is understood that beam-forming and/or null-steering, can be prioritized based on shorter distance, vs longer distance, and/or prioritized based on received signa strength indicator (RSSI), etc.)
Hor-Lao teaches beam formed signal in a specific direction can be prioritized based on a variety of metrics such as range or distance or QoS, and/or RSSI, and so forth. (Hor-Lao: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective time of filing, to have combined and included ‘beam forming techniques” as taught by Hor-Lao, with the teachings of Lopez, Huang and Chatterjee, in order to benefit from enhanced ability of prioritizing beam forming in a direction based on a variety of metrics such as, but not limited to, distance, QoS, RSSI, and so forth. (Hor-Lao: See para[0054])
Claim 12. A first radio network node arranged configured to assign a beam pattern with null-steering beamforming towards a neighboring second radio network node, the first radio network node comprising:
the controller being configured to: compose a frame to be sent;
(Lopez: see para[0055]-[0057] the “null steering information” is included in the “EHT preamble” (i.e., a frame) that is omni-directionally transmitted, which allow EHT devices that receive it to perform beamforming and null steering accordingly)
determine a direction to the second radio network node; (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034] for AP 20 (i.e., a first wireless network node) sends null radiations in the direction of AP 22 (i.e., a neighboring second wireless radio network node) on the basis of “null steering information” signaling that it has received from AP22. See para [0044], the received “null steering information”, determines a device identifier, area and/or device direction, so that the null transmissions are to be made accordingly by the receiving wireless device (e.g., a first wireless network node))
determine an indication on traffic load for the second radio network node; and (Lopez: See para[0037]-[0038] for “null steering information” may include a “number of beams” that are transmitted by AP 22 (i.e., an indication on traffic “load” of the second radio node))
determine, from the direction and traffic load, a direction for a null of the null-steering beamforming; and a transceiver in communication with the controller, the transceiver being configured to transmit the frame through a signal where the signal has null-steering beamforming in the direction. (Lopez: See para [0044], the received “null steering information”, determines a device identifier, area or direction, for the null transmissions to be made accordingly by the receiving wireless device (e.g., a first wireless network node). See Fig. 10, #1010, for a transceiver that can transmit/receive such wireless signals.)
the null of the null-steering beamforming reducing a transmission power in the direction of the null (Lopez: See para[0041] null steering information may indicate target of null radiations (i.e., direction of the null) by indicating identifiers of those wireless devices that are being nulled (i.e., null is a point of near-zero energy hence it is understood that the power is reduced in the direction of the null transmissions))
Although Lopez teaches a number of beams that are being transmitted, wherein such number of beams can be understood as an indication of traffic load of the device, however, Lopez does not explicitly disclose that one AP can exchange its traffic load information with another AP, wherein traffic load information is understood as being a number of stations associated with AP, as well as AP’s channel utilization, as understood by:
the traffic load being indicated by a number of user equipment associated to the second radio network node and by channel utilization;
However, in a similar field, Huang in para[0089]-[0091] and Fig. 8, teaches an AP can send to another AP, messaging that contains information element, wherein such information element includes various BSS information, such as AP’s channel utilization, a number of wireless clients of the AP, a number of child AP(s), client capacity information, child AP capacity information, path topology.
Lopez teaches null steering transmission techniques among AP(s) of a BSS network by exchanging null steering information that includes a variety of information such as a number of beam transmissions as well as other information used for null steering towards a specific device. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034]
Huang teaches techniques related to steering devices in a network consisting of multiple AP(s) based on exchanged channel utilization metrics among such AP(s), wherein a number of stations, and channel utilization of various AP(s) is shared via messaging conducted between various BSS devices including AP(s). (Huang: See para[0089]-[0091])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective time of filing, to have combined and included “channel utilization” information exchanged among different AP(s), as taught by Huang, with the teachings of Lopez, in order to benefit from enhancements of having AP(s) that can exchange AP metrics such as their “channel utilization”, with one another, as to allows one AP to steer a device. (Huang: See para[0089]-[0091])
Lopez in view of Huang does not explicitly disclose that null steering direction can be prioritized based on distance, such as making smaller distance, for instance, being prioritized over larger distance, as understood by:
the determining of the direction of a null comprising prioritizing a direction among directions towards a plurality of neighboring network nodes, the prioritizing comprising prioritizing the direction based on estimated distance from a neighbor radio network node based on the reception of the beacon from the neighboring radio network, and an estimated smaller distance being prioritized over an estimated larger distance.
However, in a similar field, Hor-Lao teaches that beam forming signals in a specific direction, can be prioritized based upon various metrics such as range, distance, QoS, RSSI, and so forth. It is understood that beam-forming and/or null-steering, can be prioritized based on shorter distance, vs longer distance, and/or prioritized based on received signa strength indicator (RSSI), etc.)
Hor-Lao teaches beam formed signal in a specific direction can be prioritized based on a variety of metrics such as range or distance or QoS, and/or RSSI, and so forth. (Hor-Lao: See para[0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective time of filing, to have combined and included ‘beam forming techniques” as taught by Hor-Lao, with the teachings of Lopez, Huang and Chatterjee, in order to benefit from enhanced ability of prioritizing beam forming in a direction based on a variety of metrics such as, but not limited to, distance, QoS, RSSI, and so forth. (Hor-Lao: See para[0054])
Claim 13. The first radio network node of claim 12, configured to determine the direction from reception of beacons, by the transceiver, from the second radio network node. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034] for AP 20 (i.e., a first network node) sends null radiations in the direction of AP 22 (i.e., a neighboring second radio network node) on the basis of null steering and beamforming information that it has received from AP 20.)
Claim 14. The first radio network node of claim 12, configured to determine the direction from a signaling interface between the first radio network node and the second radio network node. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034] for AP 20 (i.e., a first network node) sends null radiations in the direction of AP 22 (i.e., a neighboring second radio network node) on the basis of null steering and beamforming information that it has received from AP 20.)
Claim 15. The first radio network node of claim 12, configured to determine the indication on traffic load from information in a beacon, received by the transceiver, from the second radio network node. (Lopez: See para[0055]-[0057] the “null steering information” is included in the “EHT preamble” (i.e., a beacon) that is omni-directionally transmitted, from one device to another device, which allow EHT devices that receive it to perform beamforming and null steering accordingly. )
Claim 16. Lopez teaches the first radio network node of claim 15, however, Lopez does not specifically indicate that one AP’s can exchange its operational channel utilization metrics and/or information with another AP, or its number of stations, as understood by:
wherein the information in the beacon comprises any one of: the number of stations associated to the second radio network node; and the channel utilization.
However, in a similar field, Huang in para[0089]-[0091] and Fig. 8, teaches an AP can send to another AP, messaging that contains information element, wherein such information element includes various BSS information, such as AP’s channel utilization, a number of wireless clients of the AP, a number of child AP(s), client capacity information, child AP capacity information, path topology.
Lopez teaches null steering transmission techniques among AP(s) of a BSS network by exchanging null steering information that includes a variety of information such as a number of beam transmissions as well as other information used for null steering towards a specific device. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034]
Huang teaches techniques related to steering devices in a network consisting of multiple AP(s) based on exchanged channel utilization metrics among such AP(s), wherein a number of stations, and channel utilization of various AP(s) is shared via messaging conducted between various BSS devices including AP(s). (Huang: See para[0089]-[0091])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective time of filing, to have combined and included “channel utilization” information exchanged among different AP(s), as taught by Huang, with the teachings of Lopez, in order to benefit from enhancements of having AP(s) that can exchange AP metrics such as their “channel utilization”, with one another, as to allows one AP to steer a device. (Huang: See para[0089]-[0091])
Claim 17. The first radio network node of claim 12, configured to determine the indication on traffic load from a signaling interface between the first radio network node and the second radio network node. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034] for AP 20 (i.e., a first network node) sends null radiations in the direction of AP 22 (i.e., a neighboring second radio network node) on the basis of null steering and beamforming information that it has received from AP 20.)
Claim 19. The first radio network node of claim 12, wherein each of the first radio network node and the second neighboring radio network node forms a basic service set, BSS, and the first network node and the second network node form an overlapping BSS, OBSS, in a communication system for wireless local area network service. (Lopez: See Fig. 4, and para[0034] for overlapping BSS network)
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez in view of Huang, Hor-Lao and in further view of US 20210306189 A1, to Lopez, (hereinafter Lopez2).
Claim 9. Lopez in view of Huang, and Hor-Lao teaches he method of claim 1, wherein for omni-directional transmissions using cyclic delay diversity, the method comprises:
assigning a null in the determined direction for the null; and
(Lopez: See para [0044], the received “null steering information”, determines a device identifier, area or direction, for the null transmissions to be made accordingly by the receiving wireless device (e.g., a first wireless network node)
Although Lopez in view of Huang teaches null can be used in a specific direction, however, it does not explicitly disclose cyclic shift symbol randomization technique applied to signal subcarriers that are transmitted in other directions, as understood by:
randomizing subcarriers for other directions than the at least one direction for the null.
However, in a similar field, Lopez2 teaches, in para[0083] that cyclic shift randomization of subcarriers can be achieved by rotation of the frequency domain symbols of subcarriers, which then suppresses spectral lines and flattens the spectrum.
Lopez2 teaches cyclic shift randomization of subcarriers can be achieved by rotation of the frequency domain symbols of subcarriers, which then suppresses spectral lines and flattens the spectrum. (Lopez2: See para[0082]-[0083])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have combined and included cyclic shift subcarrier randomization technique, as taught by Lopez2, with the teachings of Lopez in view of Huang, and Hor-Lao, in order to benefit from subcarrier randomization techniques that suppresses spectral line and flattens the spectrum. (Lopez2: See para[0082]-[0083])
Claim 20. Lopez in view of Huang and Hor-Lao teaches the first radio network node of claim 12, wherein for omni-directional transmissions using cyclic delay diversity, the first radio network node is configured to:
assign a null in the determined direction for the null; and
(Lopez: See para [0044], the received “null steering information”, determines a device identifier, area or direction, for the null transmissions to be made accordingly by the receiving wireless device (e.g., a first wireless network node)
Although Lopez in view of Huang, and Hor-Lao teach null can be used in a specific direction, however, it does not seem to explicitly disclose cyclic shift symbol randomization technique applied to signal subcarriers that are transmitted in other directions, as understood by:
randomize subcarriers for other directions than the at least one direction for the null.
However, in a similar field, Lopez2 teaches, in para[0083] that cyclic shift randomization of subcarriers can be achieved by rotation of the frequency domain symbols of subcarriers, which then suppresses spectral lines and flattens the spectrum.
Lopez2 teaches cyclic shift randomization of subcarriers can be achieved by rotation of the frequency domain symbols of subcarriers, which then suppresses spectral lines and flattens the spectrum. (Lopez2: See para[0082]-[0083])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have combined and included cyclic shift subcarrier randomization technique, as taught by Lopez2, with the teachings of Lopez in view of Huang, and Hor-Lao, in order to benefit from subcarrier randomization techniques that suppresses spectral line and flattens the spectrum. (Lopez2: See para[0082]-[0083])
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477