DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the November 13th, 2025 arguments and remarks (“Remarks”).
Response to Amendments
In response to the amendments received in the Remarks on November 13th, 2025:
Claims 1-10 are pending in the current application. Claims 1 and 3-8 have been amended.
The previous objection to the claims has been overcome in light of the amendment.
The previous rejection under 35 USC 112 is overcome in light of the amendment.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been overcome in light of the amendment. All changes made to the rejection are as necessitated by the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the Remarks on November 13th, 2025 with respect to Claims 1-10 are based on the claims as amended. While Applicant’s arguments are acknowledged, they are found to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, presented below, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the Claims.
Prior Art
Previously cited Hermann US PG Publication 2010/0135355 (“Hermann”)
Previously cited Yamakaji US PG Publication 2016/0156071 (“Yamakaji”)
Kim US PG Publication 2015/0229007 (“Kim”)
Previously cited Beuning US PG Publication 2019/0115632 (“Beuning”)
Mukaitani WO2014076839 (“Mukaitani”)
Previously cited Nieva US PG Publication 2017/0131357 (“Nieva”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann US PG Publication 2010/0135355 in view of Yamakaji US PG Publication 2016/0156071 and Kim US PG Publication 2015/0229007.
Regarding Claim 1, Hermann discloses a lithium ion battery module ([0019], entire disclosure dependent upon) having an assembled battery formed by connecting a plurality of single batteries 101 (unit cells) ([0008], [0021]), the lithium ion battery module comprising:
a system controller 109 (control unit) that is configured to receive a characteristic signal representing a characteristic (such as cell or system temperature) of a corresponding unit cell 101 and to output aa control signal obtained by encoding an identifier of the unit cell 101 and the characteristic signal (such as comparing the output of detector 107 with a preset value), and a light source 165 (light emitting unit) that outputs an optical signal (by transmitting light or not transmitting light) responding to the control signal (and, thereby, displaying if the corresponding cell is in good health or experiencing a thermal event) ([0009], [0021]-[0022]); and
a fiber 103 (optical waveguide) that provides a common optical path for optical signals that are output from a plurality of unit cells 101 (Fig. 7, [0008]).
Hermann fails to disclose wherein each of the unit cells 101 includes a laminated unit and an electrolyte.
However, Yamakaji discloses a lithium-ion storage battery ([0022], entire disclosure dependent upon). Yamakaji teaches laminating a positive electrode current collector 501, a positive electrode active material layer 502, a separator 507, a negative electrode active material layer 505, and a negative electrode current collector 504 in order (Fig. 6A, [0169]) and using an electrolytic solution ([0169]) within an exterior body that comprises the battery and its components ([0006]) such that the positive and negative electrode current collectors can serve as an electrical contact for the battery ([0170]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium ion battery module of Hermann such that each of the plurality of unit cells includes a laminated unit and an electrolyte (i.e. electrolytic solution) wherein the laminated unit consists of one set of a positive electrode current collector, a positive electrode active material layer, a separator, a negative electrode active material layer, and a negative electrode current collector, which are laminated in order and contained within an exterior body comprising the battery and its components, such that the positive and negative electrode current collectors can serve as an electrical contact for the unit cell, as taught by Yamakaji.
While Hermann in view of Yamakaji does not explicitly disclose that the control unit and the light emitting unit are provided in each of the unit cells, Hermann does teach that the control unit and the light emitting unit are able to monitor the health of a single unit cell 101 ([0020]) and that it is imperative to know the health of a single unit cell 101 to prevent any spread of a thermal runaway event ([0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium ion battery module of Hermann in view of Yamakaji such that the control unit and the light emitting unit are provided in each of the unit cells in order to monitor the health of a single unit cell and thereby prevent any spread of a thermal runaway event, as taught by Hermann.
While Hermann discloses that the optical waveguide 103 and the light emitting units 165 are coupled ([0021]), Hermann in view of Yamakaji fails to explicitly disclose wherein the optical waveguide is disposed to cover light emitting surfaces of the respective light emitting units provided in each of the unit cells 101.
However, Kim discloses a sensing unit that measures the temperature of a battery unit ([0037], entire disclosure dependent upon).
Kim teaches the use of a light guide plate to cover the LED element of the light display unit to avoid unwanted optical loss ([0038]) and enhance user experience ([0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of Hermann in view of Yamakaji such that the optical waveguide includes a light guide plate disposed to cover light emitting surfaces of the respective light emitting units provided in each of the unit cells in order to avoid unwanted optical loss and enhance user experience, as taught by Kim.
Regarding Claim 2, Hermann in view of Yamakaji teaches the instantly claimed lithium ion battery module according to Claim 1, and Hermann discloses wherein the control unit 109 includes a measuring circuit (i.e. detector 107) that outputs the characteristic signal representing the characteristic of the corresponding unit cell 101 ([0021]).
Regarding Claim 6, Hermann in view of Yamakaji teaches the instantly claimed lithium ion battery module according to Claim 2, and Hermann discloses wherein the measuring circuit 107 is connected to a temperature measuring terminal for measuring a temperature of the corresponding unit cell 101 ([0020]), and
the control unit 109 outputs a control signal such that the optical signal is emitted from the light emitting unit when the measured temperature reaches a predetermined value (i.e. indicative of a thermal event) ([0020]-[0022]).
Claims 3, 5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann US PG Publication 2010/0135355 in view of Yamakaji US PG Publication 2016/0156071 and Kim US PG Publication 2015/0229007, as applied to Claim 2, further in view of Beuning US PG Publication 2019/0115632.
Regarding Claim 3, Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim teaches the instantly claimed lithium ion battery module according to Claim 2.
While Hermann discloses that it is important to measure the voltage of the battery ([0019]), Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim fails to disclose wherein the measuring circuit is connected to voltage measuring terminals.
However, Beuning discloses a core battery including a controller and a plurality of sub-cells ([0007]). Beuning teaches the use of a voltage sensor to provide a voltage measurement of the battery to the controller that can also monitor the temperature of the battery ([0023]) and compares at least the voltage to a predetermined level, such as an over-voltage limit ([0027]), and a timer that is electrically coupled with the controller to activate the system for a duration based on information received from the voltage sensor based on a predetermined amount of time ([0026]) and an indicator light that provides indication by turning on when the battery is experiencing abnormal conditions ([0026]) such that the controller can switch the role of the battery to serve as a load receiving electrical current and prevent a thermal event ([0027]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium ion battery module of Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim such that the measuring circuit is connected to voltage measuring terminals for measuring a voltage of the battery between a positive electrode current collector and a negative electrode current collector by using a voltage sensor on the corresponding unit cell, and the control unit outputs a control signal such that a predetermined pattern of optical signal is emitted from the light emitting unit in response to the voltage measured by the voltage measuring terminals, such as by turning an indicator light on to indicate abnormal conditions in order to prevent a thermal event, as taught by Beuning.
Regarding Claim 5, Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim teaches the instantly claimed lithium ion battery module according to Claim 2.
While Hermann discloses that it is important to measure the voltage of the battery ([0019]), Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim fails to disclose wherein the measuring circuit is connected to voltage measuring terminals.
However, Beuning discloses a core battery including a controller and a plurality of sub-cells ([0007]). Beuning teaches the use of a voltage sensor to provide a voltage measurement of the battery to the controller that can also monitor the temperature of the battery ([0023]) and compares at least the voltage to a predetermined level, such as an over-voltage limit ([0027]), and a timer that is electrically coupled with the controller to activate the system for a duration based on information received from the voltage sensor based on a predetermined amount of time ([0026]) and an indicator light that provides indication by turning on when the battery is experiencing abnormal conditions ([0026]) such that the controller can switch the role of the battery to serve as a load receiving electrical current and prevent a thermal event ([0027]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium ion battery module of Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim such that the measuring circuit is connected to voltage measuring terminals for measuring a voltage of the battery between a positive electrode current collector and a negative electrode current collector by using a voltage sensor on the corresponding unit cell, and the control unit outputs a control signal such that the optical signal is emitted from the light emitting unit after reaching a predetermined voltage limit threshold to indicate abnormal conditions in order to prevent a thermal event, as taught by Beuning.
Regarding Claim 7, Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim teaches the instantly claimed lithium ion battery module according to Claim 2, and Hermann discloses wherein the measuring circuit 107 is connected to a temperature measuring terminal for measuring a temperature of a same unit cell ([0020]), and the control unit 109 outputs a control signal such that the optical signal is emitted from the light emitting unit when the measured temperature reaches a predetermined value (i.e. indicative of a thermal event/abnormal state) ([0020]-[0022]).
While Hermann discloses that it is important to measure the voltage of the battery ([0019]), Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim fails to disclose wherein the measuring circuit is connected to voltage measuring terminals.
However, Beuning discloses a core battery including a controller and a plurality of sub-cells ([0007]). Beuning teaches the use of a voltage sensor to provide a voltage measurement of the battery to the controller that can also monitor the temperature of the battery ([0023]) and compares at least the voltage to a predetermined level, such as an over-voltage limit ([0027]), and a timer that is electrically coupled with the controller to activate the system for a duration based on information received from the voltage sensor based on a predetermined amount of time ([0026]) and an indicator light that provides indication by turning on when the battery is experiencing abnormal conditions ([0026]) such that the controller can switch the role of the battery to serve as a load receiving electrical current and prevent a thermal event ([0027]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium ion battery module of Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim such that the measuring circuit is connected to voltage measuring terminals for measuring a voltage of the battery between a positive electrode current collector and a negative electrode current collector by using a voltage sensor on the corresponding unit cell, and the control unit outputs a control signal such that the optical signal having a predetermined period as set by the timer is emitted from the light emitting unit and outputs a control signal such than the optical signal corresponding to abnormal conditions is emitted regardless of the predetermined period when a measured value of the voltage exceeds the predetermined voltage level such that the controller can switch the role of the battery to serve as a load receiving electrical current and prevent a thermal event, as taught by Beuning.
Regarding Claim 8, Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim teaches the instantly claimed lithium ion battery module according to Claim 2.
While Hermann discloses that it is important to measure the voltage of the battery ([0019]), Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim fails to disclose wherein the measuring circuit is connected to voltage measuring terminals.
However, Beuning discloses a core battery including a controller and a plurality of sub-cells ([0007]). Beuning teaches the use of a voltage sensor to provide a voltage measurement of the battery to the controller that can also monitor the temperature of the battery ([0023]) and compares at least the voltage to a predetermined level, such as an over-voltage limit ([0027]), and a timer that is electrically coupled with the controller to activate the system for a duration based on information received from the voltage sensor based on a predetermined amount of time ([0026]) and an indicator light that provides indication by turning on when the battery is experiencing abnormal conditions ([0026]) such that the controller can switch the role of the battery to serve as a load receiving electrical current and prevent a thermal event ([0027]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium ion battery module of Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim such that the measuring circuit is connected to voltage measuring terminals for measuring a voltage of the battery between a positive electrode current collector and a negative electrode current collector by using a voltage sensor of the corresponding unit cell, and the control unit outputs a control signal such that the optical signal is emitted from the light emitting unit after reaching a predetermined voltage limit to indicate abnormal conditions such that the battery can be switched to a load receiving electrical current role, thereby changing the power consumption amount in response to the voltage of the unit cell, in order to prevent a thermal event, as taught by Beuning.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann US PG Publication 2010/0135355 in view of Yamakaji US PG Publication 2016/0156071 and Kim US PG Publication 2015/0229007, as applied to Claim 2, further in view of Beuning US PG Publication 2019/0115632 and Mukaitani WO2014076839 (machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 4, Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim teaches the instantly claimed lithium ion battery module according to Claim 2.
While Hermann discloses that it is important to measure the voltage of the battery ([0019]), Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim fails to disclose wherein the measuring circuit is connected to voltage measuring terminals.
However, Beuning discloses a core battery including a controller and a plurality of sub-cells ([0007]). Beuning teaches the use of a voltage sensor to provide a voltage measurement of the battery to the controller that can also monitor the temperature of the battery ([0023]) and compares at least the voltage to a predetermined level, such as an over-voltage limit ([0027]), and a timer that is electrically coupled with the controller to activate the system for a duration based on information received from the voltage sensor based on a predetermined amount of time ([0026]) and an indicator light that provides indication by turning on when the battery is experiencing abnormal conditions ([0026]) such that the controller can switch the role of the battery to serve as a load receiving electrical current and prevent a thermal event ([0027]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium ion battery module of Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim such that the measuring circuit is connected to voltage measuring terminals for measuring a voltage of the battery between a positive electrode current collector and a negative electrode current collector by using a voltage sensor, and the control unit outputs a control signal such that the optical signal is emitted from the light emitting unit after reaching a predetermined voltage within the predetermined time period as set by a timer for measuring the voltage to indicate abnormal conditions in order to prevent a thermal event, as taught by Beuning.
Hermann in view of Yamakaji, Kim, and Beuning fails to disclose wherein the optical signal is emitted from the light emitting unit every 10 to 500 seconds after the voltage reaches a predetermined voltage.
However, Mukaitani discloses a storage battery state monitoring system to level storage battery voltage and suppress voltage variations among multiple storage batteries used in a power supply system ([0001], entire disclosure dependent upon).
Mukaitani teaches measuring the voltage of the storage batteries from a measurement control unit at fixed intervals of 5 minutes and outputting this data ([0024]-[0025], [0045], [0077]), such that abnormal conditions can be noted until the next 5 minute interval ([0024]-[0025], [0045], [0077]) and the abnormal conditions can be noted and the appropriate steps can be taken to ensure the batteries are operating within a predetermined voltage range ([0024]-[0025], [0045], [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium ion battery module of Hermann in view of Yamakaji, Ki, and Beuning such that the predetermined time period as set by a timer is set to 5 minute intervals (equivalent to 300 seconds, which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of 10 to 500 seconds) to output the data representing the abnormal condition to the light emitting unit such that abnormal conditions can be noted and the appropriate steps can be taken to ensure the batteries are operating within a predetermined voltage range, as taught by Mukaitani.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann US PG Publication 2010/0135355 in view of Yamakaji US PG Publication 2016/0156071 and Kim US PG Publication 2015/0229007, as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Nieva US PG Publication 2016/0156071.
Regarding Claim 9, Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim teaches the instantly claimed lithium ion battery module according to Claim 1, and (as described in the rejection of Claim 1) Hermann in view of Yamakaji discloses an exterior body that accommodates the assembled battery and at least a part of the optical waveguide (wherein the optical waveguide is a component of the assembled battery) (Yamakaji [0006]); and Hermann discloses wherein the optical waveguide is electrically insulated and separated (i.e. on the surface) from the assembled battery ([0034]).
Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim fails to explicitly disclose a light receiving unit.
However, Nieva discloses an energy storage device such as a battery cell and a system, including an optical fiber, for monitoring the battery cell ([0045]). Nieva teaches the use of a light input end for receiving light within the optical fiber and wherein the light input end converts the received light (optical signal) into electrical signal in the electrical signal converter to be able to translate instruction from the signal and monitor the status of the battery ([0006], [0045]-[0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium ion battery module of Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim to further comprises a light receiving unit within the optical waveguide that receives the optical signal and converts the received optical signal into an electric signal and a signal processing unit that is configured to process the converted electric signal to determine a state of each of the plurality of unit cells such that instructions can be translated from the received optical signal to operate as needed, as taught by Nieva.
The skilled artisan would recognize that if the optical waveguide of Hermann in view of Yamakaji, Kim, and Nieva is disposed inside the exterior body (see Claim 1 Yamakaji [0006]) and spaced apart and electrically insulated from the assembled battery (Hermann [0021], [0034]) and the light receiving unit of Hermann in view of Yamakaji, Kim, and Nieva is within the optical waveguide, then Hermann in view of Yamakaji, Kim, and Nieva discloses wherein the light receiving unit is disposed within and spaced apart from the assembled battery and the light receiving unit and the assembled battery are electrically insulated from each other.
Regarding Claim 10, Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim teaches the instantly claimed lithium ion battery module according to Claim 1.
Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim fails to explicitly disclose a light receiving unit.
However, Nieva discloses an energy storage device such as a battery cell and a system, including an optical fiber, for monitoring the battery cell ([0045]). Nieva teaches the use of a light input end for receiving light within the optical fiber and wherein the light input end converts the received light (optical signal) into electrical signal in the electrical signal converter to be able to translate instruction from the signal and monitor the status of the battery ([0006], [0045]-[0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium ion battery module of Hermann in view of Yamakaji and Kim to further comprises a light receiving unit within the optical waveguide that receives the optical signal and converts the received optical signal into an electric signal and a signal processing unit that is configured to process the converted electric signal to determine a state of each of the plurality of unit cells such that instructions can be translated from the received optical signal to operate as needed, as taught by Nieva.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729