Claims 1-7, 9, 10, 12-14, 16, and 18-26 are pending.
Claims 4-7, 14, 16 and 18-24 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 9 are amended
Claims 8, 11, 15 and 17 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26, recites the phrase “the ratio of the one or more anti-nucleolin agents to the one or more PEG molecules is from 1:3 to less than 12:0”. This is indefinite because the ratio of “12:0” implies that there are no PEG molecules present which contradicts the “one or more PEG molecules” that is stated in both claim 26 and independent claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 9, 10, 12, and 13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 9452219 B2 in view of HWANG (A Nucleolin-Targeted Multimodal Nanoparticle Imaging Probe for Tracking Cancer Cells Using an Aptamer. The Journal of Nuclear Medicine. 2010.).
The patent teaches a composition, comprising an anti-nucleolin agent conjugated to nanoparticles, wherein the nanoparticles comprise gold and wherein the anti-nucleolin agent is AS1411 (SEQ ID NO: 10) (claim 1), further comprising a cyanine dye (claim 2) and wherein the nanoparticles have an average diameter of 1 to 20 nm (claim 4).
The patent does not teach conjugating polyethylene glycol (PEG) to the nanoparticles.
HWANG teaches a nanoparticle that is conjugated to PEG and an anti-nucleolin agent, such as AS1411 that is also conjugated to the nanoparticle independently (figure 1). The PEG is used to reduce nonspecific uptake of nanoparticles by the mononuclear phagocytic system (page 104, paragraph 3), which improves biodistribution of the nanoparticles (page 104, paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate conjugating PEG to the nanoparticles with AS1411. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because PEG reduce nonspecific uptake within the body which improves biodistribution and reasonably would have expected success because both references are in the same field of endeavor, such as pharmaceutical compositions comprising nanoparticles and AS1411.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LI (Gadolinium Oxide Nanoparticles and Aptamer-Functionalized Silver Nanoclusters-Based Multimodal Molecular Imaging Nanoprobe for Optical/Magnetic Resonance Cancer Cell Imaging. Analytical Chemistry. 2014.).
Regarding claim 1, LI teaches a composition comprising an anti-nucleolin agent, such as AS1411 (abstract) and PEG conjugated to nanoparticles (abstract). The nanoparticles have a diameter of 20 nm (Page 11308, paragraph 8 and figure 1b).
Note: Instant claim 1 only states that the anti-nucleolin agent and PEG must be conjugated to the nanoparticle. It does not state the particular way the two components must be conjugated, such as “directly” or “independently”. Therefore LI teaching a nanoparticle conjugated to PEG and the anti-nucleolin agent conjugated to the nanoparticle via the PEG (abstract) reads on the one or more anti-nucleolin agents are conjugated to the nanoparticle.
Regarding claim 2, LI teaches the nanoparticles comprise Gadolinium(III) oxide, which reads on an inorganic material selected from the group consisting of metals, elements and oxides.
Regarding claim 9, LI teaches using AS1411.
Regarding claim 12, LI teaches a diameter of 20 nm.
Claims 1, 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HWANG (A Nucleolin-Targeted Multimodal Nanoparticle Imaging Probe for Tracking Cancer Cells Using an Aptamer. The Journal of Nuclear Medicine. 2010.).
Regarding claim 1, HWANG teaches a nanoparticle that is conjugated to PEG and an anti-nucleolin agent, such as AS1411 that is also conjugated to the nanoparticle independently (figure 1) with a size/diameter of 50 nm (page 99, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 2, HWANG teaches the nanoparticle comprises cobalt–ferrite, which reads on a metal.
Regarding 9, HWANG teaches using AS1411 (figure 1).
Additional disclosures: HWANG teaches further adding a dye, such as rhodamine B isothiocyanate fluorescence dye (page 100, paragraph 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 9, 10, 12, 13 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALIK (WO 2016/179394) in view of HWANG (A Nucleolin-Targeted Multimodal Nanoparticle Imaging Probe for Tracking Cancer Cells Using an Aptamer. The Journal of Nuclear Medicine. 2010.).
Regarding claim 1, MALIK teaches a composition, comprising gold nanoparticles (page 22, paragraph 4) that are conjugated to AS1411 (page 22, paragraph 4), which is an anti-nucleolin agent. The nanoparticles are 5-15 nm (page 22, paragraph 4). Polyethylene glycols can be added to the composition (page 19, paragraph 2). The AS1411 is used for anticancer activity (page 22, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 2, 3 and 13, MALIK teaches using gold (page 22, paragraph 4), which reads on a metal.
Regarding claim 9, MALIK teaches using AS1411 (page 22, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 10, MALIK teaches the nanoparticles further comprise a cyanine dye (page 24, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 12, MALIK teaches the nanoparticles are 5-15 nm (page 22, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 25, MALIK teaches the AS1411 is conjugated to the nanoparticle through a thiol (page 23, paragraph 6).
MALIK does not teach conjugating polyethylene glycol (PEG) to the nanoparticles or the ratio of anti-nucleolin agent to PEG.
HWANG teaches a nanoparticle that is conjugated to PEG and an anti-nucleolin agent, such as AS1411 that is also conjugated to the nanoparticle independently (figure 1). The PEG is used to reduce nonspecific uptake of nanoparticles by the mononuclear phagocytic system (page 104, paragraph 3), which improves biodistribution of the nanoparticles (page 104, paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate conjugating PEG to the nanoparticles with AS1411. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because PEG reduce nonspecific uptake within the body which improves biodistribution and reasonably would have expected success because both references are in the same field of endeavor, such as pharmaceutical compositions comprising nanoparticles and AS1411.
Regarding claim 26, the reference does not specifically teach the ratio of the anti-nucleolin agent to PEG molecule as claimed by the Applicant. The ratio of the anti-nucleolin agent to PEG molecule is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of the ordinary skill to determine the optimal ratio of the anti-nucleolin agent to PEG molecule in order to best achieve desired results, such as having the appropriate amount of AS1411 to achieve the therapeutic anticancer effect desired and having the appropriate amount of PEG to reduce nonspecific update to improve biodistribution. Thus, absent of some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of the ratio of the anti-nucleolin agent to PEG molecule would have been obvious at the time of Applicant’s invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, Applicant respectfully submits that a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established for at least the reason that the rejection has not provided a clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. For example, the rejection includes only four sentences in the rejection of seven claims, and the rejection does not address all of the limitations of the seven claims.
Examiner does not find this argument persuasive because claims 1-3, 9, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected as being obvious under the double patenting rejection, wherein if one claim is rejected under ODP, then a terminal disclaimer is required for the whole application.
Applicant argues, the rejection asserts that Li discloses Applicant's claimed nanoparticle composition, where Applicant's nanoparticle is conjugated with an anti-nucleolin agent and a PEG. However, Li's conjugated particle is not the same as Applicant's conjugated nanoparticle. Specifically, the anti-nucleolin agent in Li is attached to the PEG and the PEG is then attached to the nanoparticle (See, e.g., the Abstract, the figure in the Abstract, and the paragraph bridging pp. 11307-11308). In contrast, Applicant's claims require that each of the PEG and the anti-nucleolin agent are separately conjugated to the nanoparticle (See, e.g., Figure 1 and [0043]); this aspect is further clarified by Applicant's claim amendments. As such, Li does not disclose Applicant's claimed conjugated nanoparticle.
Examiner does not find this argument persuasive because as discussed above, LI teaches a composition comprising an anti-nucleolin agent, such as AS1411 (abstract) and PEG conjugated to nanoparticles (abstract). The nanoparticles have a diameter of 20 nm (Page 11308, paragraph 8 and figure 1b). Note: Instant claim 1 only states that the anti-nucleolin agent and PEG must be conjugated to the nanoparticle. It does not state the particular way the two components must be conjugated, such as “directly” or “independently”. Therefore LI teaching a nanoparticle conjugated to PEG and the anti-nucleolin agent conjugated to the nanoparticle via the PEG (abstract) reads on the one or more anti-nucleolin agents are conjugated to the nanoparticle.
Applicant argues, Applicant's show that using PEG increases effectiveness in vitro (see, paras [83][90]). Suk only discusses influences of PEG on in vivo efficacy by decreasing opsonization and phagocytosis, and by prolonging systemic circulation time; these are not relevant to in vitro effectiveness. Thus, having an increased effectiveness by using PEG, as claimed, provides an unexpected property and result in vitro, and the rejection does not have a showing of reasonable expectation of success for this property. Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection provides insufficient rationale as to why one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the teachings of the cited art to result in Applicant's claims, especially when Applicant has shown unexpected results and the cited art does not provide any indication of a reasonable expectation of success of such unexpected results.
Examiner does not find this argument persuasive because unexpected results must be supported by factual evidence, and attorney argument is not evidence. See In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399,1405 (CCPA 1974). The cited paragraphs of the Specification detail benefits of the claimed method but do not state that unexpected results were obtained. Thus, Applicant has not provided evidence that unexpectedly superior results were obtained with the claimed method. "Mere improvement in properties does not always suffice to show unexpected results." In re Soni, 54 F.3d 746,751 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
In the instant case, HWANG teaches a nanoparticle that is conjugated to PEG and an anti-nucleolin agent, such as AS1411 that is also conjugated to the nanoparticle independently (figure 1). The PEG is used to reduce nonspecific uptake of nanoparticles by the mononuclear phagocytic system (page 104, paragraph 3), which improves biodistribution of the nanoparticles (page 104, paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate conjugating PEG to the nanoparticles with AS1411. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because PEG reduce nonspecific uptake within the body which improves biodistribution and reasonably would have expected success because both references are in the same field of endeavor, such as pharmaceutical compositions comprising nanoparticles and AS1411.
Furthermore, applicant’s claims are not directly pointed to either in vitro or in vivo, but rather to the composition by itself.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1618 /JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618