DETAILED ACTION
This is an Office action based on application number 17/641,980 filed 10 March 2022, which is a national stage entry of PCT/JP2020/033925 filed 8 September 2020, which claims priority to JP219-165714 filed 11 September 2019. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Amendments to the claims, filed 3 December 2025, have been entered into the above-identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2016-207900A with citations taken from the provided machine translation (JP900), which incorporates, by reference, JP2014-101457A with citations taken from the provided machine translation (JP457).
Regarding instant claims 1-2 and 4:
JP900 discloses an adhesive composition comprising an acrylic resin having a mass average molecular weight of 200,000 to 1,000,000 and containing an acrylic acid ester as a main component and obtained by copolymerizing a hydroxyl group-containing monomer and a carboxyl-group containing monomer (paragraph [0012]).
JP900 discloses the acrylic resin includes a polymerized (meth)acrylic acid ester inclusive of a linear or branched alkyl ester having 1 to 30 carbon atoms; furthermore JP900 teaches that specific examples of the (meth)acrylic acid alkyl ester includes those disclosed by JP457. Further, JP 900 teaches that the term “main component” means that the (meth)acrylic acid ester content is greater than 51% by mass (paragraph [0037]).
JP457 discloses that examples of the (meth)acrylic acid ester includes methyl (meth)acrylate, propyl (meth)acrylate, t-butyl (meth)acrylate, pentyl acrylate, ethyl methacrylate, isopropyl methacrylate, butyl methacrylate, and isobutyl methacrylate (paragraph [0051]).
In their original disclosure at paragraph [0024], Applicant illustrates that the above monomers disclosed by JP900 and JP457 are monomers that do not have a crosslinkable functional group and whose homopolymers have a glass transition temperature of 0°C or higher.
Therefore, the (meth)acrylic acid esters of JP900 and JP457 meet the claimed monomer (a1).
At paragraphs [0036-0037] of their original disclosure, Applicant characterizes those monomers (a3) having a crosslinkable functional group are inclusive of hydroxyl group-containing monomers and carboxyl-group containing monomers.
Therefore, the hydroxyl group-containing monomer and a carboxyl-group containing monomer copolymerized with the (meth)acrylic acid ester of JP900 meet the claimed monomers (a3). Furthermore, since JP900 discloses the amount of (meth)acrylic acid ester is greater than 51% by mass, those hydroxyl group-containing monomers and a carboxyl-group containing monomers must make up the balance, i.e., less than 49% by mass, which includes the claimed range of 0-30 mass%. However, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
JP900 further discloses that the acrylic resin has a glass transition temperature of -20°C to 30°C measured by a method based on the peak top value of loss tangent (tan δ) (DMA method) (paragraph [0036]), which overlaps the claimed range. However, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
JP900 does not disclose a requisite amount of a (meth)acrylic polymer (Ah) having a glass transition temperature of 50°C or higher; however, since the scope of the claim (i.e., an amount of (Ah) of less than 25 mass%) is inclusive of 0 mass% (Ah), JP900 meets the claimed amount.
The limitation of an “adhesive composition for a decorative film” is an intended use limitation. However, “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention' s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to the claim construction”. See MPEP § 2111.02.
JP900 further discloses the preparation of an adhesive substrate wherein an adhesive composition is applied to the entire surface of an easily peelable treated surface of a 38 μm thick polyester film; said adhesive composition is dried; and a film substrate is applied onto the surface of the formed adhesive layer (paragraph [0128]).
Said “easily peelable treated surface of a 38 μm thick polyester film” meets the claimed “releasing film”
The limitations “an adhesive layer-attached decorative film” “a decorative film” is an intended use limitation. However, “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention' s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to the claim construction”. See MPEP § 2111.02.
Regarding instant claim 3:
JP900 further discloses that the adhesive composition includes a crosslinking agent (paragraph [0011]).
Regarding instant claim 5:
The limitation “wherein the decorative film is used for vehicles” is an intended use limitation. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Therefore, the adhesive substrate of JP900 is construed to meet the limitations of the claim.
Regarding instant claim 6:
JP900 discloses a method comprising the peeling of the polyester film from the adhesive substrate; applying a circuit board on the adhesive layer of the adhesive substrate; clamping the adhesive-mounted circuit board; and performing transfer molding to obtain a resin-encapsulated article (paragraphs [0128-0131]).
Said resin-encapsulated article formed by transfer molding meets the claimed “molded body”.
The limitation of an “decorative molded body” is an intended use limitation. However, “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention' s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to the claim construction”. See MPEP § 2111.02.
Regarding instant claim 7:
The limitation “wherein the molded body is a vehicle” is an intended use limitation of the molded body. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Answers to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection over the prior art of record are fully considered, but are unpersuasive.
Applicant broadly argues that the structure and method of using the prior art is different than that of the claimed invention. Specifically, Applicant contends that the claimed invention is drawn to a decorative molded body formed by the attachment of an adhesive layer-attached decorative film to a molded body. Applicant contends that the prior art of record, JP900, is drawn to a different product and intended use, i.e., the formation of a resin-sealed component wherein the substrate layer is eventually removed.
Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive. The use and production of a decorative sheet and decorative molded body are intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, Applicant has not persuasively argued how the substate of JP900 is differs from decorative film of the claims. Further, as to the removal of the substrate of JP900, Applicant has not persuasively argued that the intermediate product of JP900, i.e., after attachment of the adhesive substrate to a circuit board but prior to the removal of the substrate, is patentably different from the decorative molded body of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788
/TAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1788 12/23/2025