DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendments stands as follows:
Pending claims:
1-13, 15
Withdrawn claims:
12
Previously canceled claims:
14
Newly canceled claims:
None
Amended claims:
1, 2, 6, 15
New claims:
None
Claims currently under consideration:
1-11, 13, 15
Currently rejected claims:
1-11, 13, 15
Allowed claims:
None
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5 – 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murase (US 4,461,777) (IDS Reference filed 8/30/2022).
Regarding claim 1, Murase teaches an oil-in-water emulsion (Abstract) comprising edible oils such as vegetable oils (col. 2, lines 64 – 66). Although Murase does not explicitly disclose non-hydrogenated vegetable oil, Murase discloses that hydrogenation is an optional process for vegetable oil, and that the only requirement for the vegetable oil of the present invention is to have a good flavor and be suitable for use in foodstuff (col. 3, lines 4-9). Thus, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the invention of Murase can use a vegetable oil that has not been subjected to hydrogenation. Murase also teaches an aqueous phase comprising water (col. 3, lines 55 – 57) and a vegetable protein (col. 3, lines 34 – 36, where vegetables are a type of plant). Murase also teaches the edible fats and oils being used in an amount of 10 to 50% (col. 3, lines 21 – 23; because fat is present at an amount between 10 and 50%, it logically follows that the aqueous phase is 50 to 90% by weight) and vegetable proteins being used in an amount of 0.5 to 10% by weight (col. 3, lines 43 – 45).
Although Murase does not explicitly teach the sum of H3, H2M, and H2U triglycerides, Murase discloses that illustrative vegetable fats for the invention include coconut oil and palm kernel oil, that the oil can be subjected to hydrogenation, and that any type of edible fat or oil produce by any method can be used in the present invention (col. 3, l. 1-11). Murase also discloses that the oils can be used alone or in admixture (col. 2, l. 67). Thus Murase implicitly discloses an embodiment in which the fat phase of the composition comprises both coconut oil and hydrogenated palm kernel oil, which inherently has a sum of H3, H2M, and H2U triglycerides that lies within the claimed range when used in an amount of 40% coconut oil and 60% hydrogenated palm kernel oil. Evidence to support that 40% coconut oil and 60% hydrogenated palm kernel oil has a sum of H3, H2M, and H2U triglycerides that lie within the claimed range is provided by the instant specification. The instant specification discloses that fats obtained from suppliers included a blend of 60% hydrogenated palm kernel oil and 40% coconut oil that had an H3+H2M+H2U of 10.3 (p. 22, l. 10-12, Table, row 4).
Regarding claim 3, Murase teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Murase also teaches that the vegetable protein may be made from oilseeds, peanuts, wheat, or corn (wheat and corn are both known cereal grains) (col. 3, lines 34 – 37).
Regarding claim 5, Murase teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above.
Claim 5 is a product-by-process claim. MPEP §2113 states “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). “The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product.”
Claim 5 recites that the intermediate ingredient of plant-based protein is a plant-based protein isolate or concentrate. Although claim 5 requires the process of concentration or isolation of the plant-based protein, the determination of patentability will be based on the final product.
Although Murase does not explicitly teach that the plant-based protein is in the form of a plant-based protein isolate or concentrate, the plant-based protein isolate or concentrate is an intermediate product that is added into the final product. Any initial distinction between a crude plant-based protein and a plant-based protein isolate no longer exists in the final product material that can additionally comprise the separated impurity material. Because claim 5 does not require the exclusion of materials that would be removed during the isolation or concentration process, the inclusion of the plant-based protein taught by Murase would necessarily constitute the inclusion of a protein isolate or concentrate in the final product.
Regarding claim 6, Murase teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Murase also teaches the edible fats and oils being used in an amount of 10 to 50% (col. 3, lines 21 – 23), which overlaps with the claimed range of “25-45 wt.%”.
With respect to the overlapping ranges, MPEP §2114.05 teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 7, Murase teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Murase also teaches an oily phase comprising a total of 401.8 kg of fat and 1.6 kg of soybean lecithin (col. 5, lines 1 – 14), which equates to 99.6% of fat in the fat phase, which falls within the claimed range of “30 to 100 wt.% of a fat fraction”.
Regarding claim 8, Murase teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above. Although Murase does not explicitly teach wherein the ratio of H3+ H2M+ H2U triglycerides to HM2 + M3 triglycerides is in the range of 0.1-4.7 in the total fat phase, Murase states that the only requirement for the fats and oils to be useful in the present invention is that they have good flavor suitable for incorporation in foodstuffs and any type produced by any method may be used (col. 3, lines 7 – 11). Blend 10 of the instant application comprises palm kernel stearin and multifractionated palm oil solid fraction obtained from multiple suppliers (p. 22, lines 10 – 11, table). Such an oil would fall within the scope of the broad disclosure of suitable oils of Murase. Murase also states that the oil can be obtained by fractional distillation (col. 3, lines 4 – 6), which further suggests the use of palm stearin fraction in the invention of Murase. Therefore, Murase reasonably teaches a blend of oils with a value that falls within the claimed range of H3+ H2M+ H2U triglycerides to HM2 + M3 triglycerides.
Regarding claim 9, Murase teaches all elements of claim 6 as described above. Murase also teaches using a mixture of palm kernel oil and palm oil (col. 6, lines 1 – 5).
Regarding claim 13, Murase teaches the edible oil-in-water emulsion of claim 1 as described above. Murase also teaches that the oil-in-water emulsion is suitable for use as a whipping cream or cooking cream (col. 4, lines 46 – 49).
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murase (US 4,461,777) (IDS Reference filed 8/30/2022) as evidenced by Dunford (Dunford, Nurhan Turgut. “Properties of Palm Oil”, OSU Extension, published February 2023 [accessed online January 16, 2025]) and Bolick (Bolick, Julie, et al. “Lipid Luminations: Coconut Oil Supplementation and Lipids”, National Lipid Associations, available on July 4, 2016 [accessed online January 17, 2025]) above, and further in view of He (He, Zhongqi. “Protein profiling of water and alkali soluble cottonseed protein isolates”, Scientific Reports, Vol. 8, Article 9306, published June 18, 2018. [accessed online December 31, 2024]).
Regarding claim 2, Murase teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above.
Murase does not teach wherein the plant-based protein has an average molecular weight in the range of 50-500.
However, in the same field of endeavor, He teaches the protein structure of cotton seeds falling between 10 and 381 kDa (Abstract), which overlaps with the claimed range of “50-500”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vegetable protein (which can be cottonseed protein, col. 3, lines 33 – 36) of Murase with the use of cottonseed protein as taught by He. The claim would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to make this simple substitution of one known element for another and yield predictable results, see MPEP §2143(B).
With respect to the overlapping ranges, MPEP §2114.05 teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the cottonseed proteins from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 15, Murase teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above.
Murase does not teach wherein the plant-based protein has an average molecular weight in the range of 50-500.
However, in the same field of endeavor, He teaches the protein structure of cotton seeds falling between 10 and 381 kDa (Abstract), which overlaps with the claimed range of “125-300”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vegetable protein (which can be cottonseed protein, col. 3, lines 33 – 36) of Murase with the use of cottonseed protein as taught by He. The claim would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to make this simple substitution of one known element for another and yield predictable results, see MPEP §2143(B).
With respect to the overlapping ranges, MPEP §2114.05 teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the cottonseed proteins from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murase (US 4,461,777) (IDS Reference filed 8/30/2022) as evidenced by Dunford (Dunford, Nurhan Turgut. “Properties of Palm Oil”, OSU Extension, published February 2023 [accessed online January 16, 2025]) and Bolick (Bolick, Julie, et al. “Lipid Luminations: Coconut Oil Supplementation and Lipids”, National Lipid Associations, available on July 4, 2016 [accessed online January 17, 2025]) above, and further in view of Gumus (Gumus, Cansu Ekin et al. “Formation and Stability of [Symbol font/0x77]-3 Oil Emulsion-Based Delivery Systems Using Plant Proteins as Emulsifiers: Lentil, Pea, and Faba Bean Proteins”, Food Biophysics, Vol. 12, p. 186-197, published March 21, 2017. [accessed online December 31, 2024]).
Regarding claim 4, Murase teaches all elements of claim 1 as described above.
Murase does not teach wherein the plant-based protein is from Broad bean (Vicia faba), Chickpea (Cicer arietinum), Lentil (Lens culinaris), Canola (B. napus subsp. napus) and/or almond (Prunus dulcis, syn. Prunus amygdalus).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gumus teaches an oil-in-water emulsion using lentil and faba bean (also known as broad bean) proteins as emulsifiers (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the oil-in-water emulsion with vegetable protein of Murase with the use of lentil or faba bean protein taught by Gumus. One would be motivated to make this modification because Gumus teaches that lentil protein and faba bean protein provided more stability with pH changes (p. 192, right-hand column, ¶ 2).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murase (US 4,461,777) (IDS Reference filed 8/30/2022) as evidenced by Dunford (Dunford, Nurhan Turgut. “Properties of Palm Oil”, OSU Extension, published February 2023 [accessed online January 16, 2025]) and Bolick (Bolick, Julie, et al. “Lipid Luminations: Coconut Oil Supplementation and Lipids”, National Lipid Associations, available on July 4, 2016 [accessed online January 17, 2025]) above, and further in view of Li ‘586 (CN 101591586 B, English translation).
Regarding claim 10, Murase teaches all elements of claim 9 as described above.
Murase does not teach wherein the palm oil is multiple fractionated palm oil stearin.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li ‘586 teaches a palm oil that has been through secondary fractionation to obtain super palm oil stearin ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the super palm oil stearin taught by Li ‘586 as the palm oil in the oil-in-water emulsion taught by Murase. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make this modification because Li ‘586 teaches that super palm oil stearin can be further fractionated to produce products which have no trans-acid and are more nutritious and healthier ([0038]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murase (US 4,461,777) (IDS Reference filed 8/30/2022) as evidenced by Dunford (Dunford, Nurhan Turgut. “Properties of Palm Oil”, OSU Extension, published February 2023 [accessed online January 16, 2025]) and Bolick (Bolick, Julie, et al. “Lipid Luminations: Coconut Oil Supplementation and Lipids”, National Lipid Associations, available on July 4, 2016 [accessed online January 17, 2025]) above, and further in view of Li ‘263 (CN 108244263 A, English Translation).
Regarding claim 11, Murase teaches all elements of claim 9 as described above.
Murase does not teach wherein the palm kernel oil is palm kernel oil stearin.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li ‘263 teaches an emulsion composition ([0002]) comprising stearin extracted from palm kernel oil ([0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the palm kernel oil stearin of Li ‘263 as the palm kernel oil in the oil-in-water emulsion taught by Murase. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make this modification because the object of the invention in Murase is to provide an oil-in-water emulsion with a natural texture (col. 2, lines 15 – 16) and Li ‘263 teaches that the use of palm kernel oil fractionated stearin with medium chain fatty acid triglycerides from palm kernel oil improves the poor foaming quality of the emulsion and other problems ([0015]). An improvement of foam quality would likely lead to an improvement in the texture of the invention taught by Murase.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103 of claims 1, 3, 5-9, and 13 over Murase; claims 2 and 15 over Murase and He; claim 4 over Murase and Gumus; Claim 10 over Murase and Li ‘586; and claim 11 over Murase and Li ‘263: Applicant’s arguments in the After Final filed on July 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued Murase does not disclose the triglyceride species information and does not disclose any triglyceride profile for their examples. Applicant further alleges that the disclosure is merely a laundry list of edible fats and provides no rationale to arrive at the claimed oil-in-water emulsion with the claimed range of H3+H2M+H2U species. Applicant further states that Murase does not disclose the hypothetical end points that are relied upon in the rejection (Remarks, p. 6, ¶ 4- p. 9, ¶ 3).
This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. Following the amendment to claim 1 requiring the H3+H2M+H2U to apply only to the fat phase, the rejection of claim 1 has been amended. The Examiner maintains that Murase’s broad disclose of fats and oils that can be used in the invention would implicitly result in a composition that has the claimed sum of H3+H2M+H2U as described in the 35 USC §103 rejection above.
Applicant further argued that neither Dunford nor Bolick remedies the deficiencies of Murase (Remarks, p. 9, ¶ 4- p. 10, ¶ 2).
The rejection of claim 1 has been amended such that Dunford nor Bolick are relied upon in the currently presented rejection. As such, this argument is considered moot.
Applicant also argues that the rejection relies on presumption rather than evidence (Remarks, p. 10, ¶ 3).
This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. Following amendment to claim 1, the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 1 has been amended. Presently, no assumptions are made in the rejection. The Examiner maintains that Murase implicitly discloses an embodiment in which the fat phase would comprise the claimed triglyceride profile.
Applicant further asserts that the broad disclosure of Murase does not provide a motivation to select the claimed triglyceride range because there is no reason one of ordinary skill would have selected the fats in a specific composition to obtain the claimed triglyceride profile (p. 10, ¶ 4- p. 11, ¶ 2).
This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. MPEP §2123(I) states “A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments.” Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). Murase is sufficient to teach the claimed invention because there exists an embodiment within the disclosure of Murase that would result in a composition have the claimed H3+H2M+H2U profile as described in the claim.
Applicant further states that the dependent claims are patentable for the same reason as claim 1 (Remarks, p. 11, ¶ 3).
Applicant's arguments as related to claim 1 were determined to be unpersuasive as detailed previously herein. Examiner further maintains that the dependent claims are properly rejected in light of the cited combinations of prior art as described in the claim rejections.
The rejections of claims 1-11, 13, 15 have been maintained herein.
Conclusion
/A.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793