DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 11/10/2025 claims 1-20 are pending. Independent claims 1, 4, and 11 have been amended to add new limitations not presented before. Claims 4-10, 12-17, and 19-20 have been amended to correct claim objections.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on pages 11-15 of the Remarks dated 11/10/2025 that Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach the newly added limitations, however, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to applicant’s arguments in pages 11-13 of the Remarks that Hilligoss fails to teach “that a power terminal of one of the charging circuit switches is connected to one to-be-charged battery, and the power terminal of another of the charging circuit switches is connected to another to-be-charged battery”, the examiner cites Hilligoss ¶[25].
In ¶[25], Hilligoss teaches that higher-voltage battery packs are connected to the input of a DC-DC converter and lower-voltage packs to its output so the converter can transfer energy from the higher-voltage packs to the lower-voltage packs in a controlled manner until their voltages are sufficiently balanced. In this case, a higher-voltage battery pack corresponds to a “power source” and a lower-voltage pack corresponds to a “to-be-charged battery”.
Considering MPEP 2144.04 VI. B. Duplication of Parts, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have duplicated the switches and DC-DC converter circuitry to create additional power flow paths, thereby avoiding overexertion of a single converter’s power limit and allowing a power source to charge multiple batteries simultaneously through different switches.
With respect to applicant’s arguments in the top-half of page 14 of the Remarks that Hilligoss fails to teach that “the to-be-charged batteries are separate elements from the power modules”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. In ¶[25] of Hilligoss, the higher-voltage battery packs along with the corresponding switches would correspond to a “power module” while the lower-voltage battery pack corresponds to a “to-be-charged battery”.
With respect to applicant’s arguments in the lower-half of page 14 of the Remarks that Hilligoss fails to teach that “the processor 52 communicating with any to-be-charged batteries that are separate elements from the power modules” and “the processor 52 determining whether to charge any to-be-charged batteries that are separate elements from the power modules”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Considering, the distinction between a higher-voltage battery pack and a lower-voltage battery pack then the processor 52 does communicate with either in order to determine to charge from a higher-voltage battery pack to a lower-voltage battery pack.
With respect to applicant’s arguments in page 15 of the Remarks for independent claims 4 and 11 that Hilligoss fails to teach “to-be-charged batteries are separate elements from the power modules”, the examiner respectfully disagrees as stated above with respect to the citation of ¶[25] of Hilligoss.
The remaining arguments are moot as the applicant’s arguments for the remaining claims were based on dependency of the independent claims.
The claim objections are partially withdrawn. The claim objections to claims 4-10, 12-17, and 19-20 have been withdrawn due to the amendments made, however, claim 11 remains objected to (see below). Additionally, a new claim objection is made to claim 1 necessitated by the amendments (see below).
This Office Action is Final due to the amendments made.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 25 add --switch-- after “first charging circuit” in order to avoid a lack of antecedent basis.. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 24 add --charging management-- in front of “device” in order to avoid a lack of antecedent basis.. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilligoss et al. (USPGPN 20210028503) and further in view of Lim et al. (USPGPN 20080048608).
With respect to claim 1, Hilligoss teaches a charging management system (Figs. 1 & 4; energy storage system 10).
Hilligoss teaches comprising a processor (Fig. 1; controller 52, see ¶ [31]).
Hilligoss teaches a first power module communicatively connected to the processor and a second power module communicatively connected to the processor (Fig. 1; battery packs 12A-12D with respective OUT-side switches 24A-24D and IN-side switches 22A-22D are each equivalent to a power module respectively and these are communicatively coupled to the controller 52).
Hilligoss teaches a first to-be-charged battery connected to at least the first power module and communicatively connected to the microprocessor and a second to-be-charged battery connected to at least the second power module and communicatively connected to the microprocessor (Fig. 1; battery packs 12A-12D in a charging mode are communicatively coupled to the controller 52. In ¶ [25, 34] Hilligoss teaches that, depending on the voltage difference between the battery packs 12A-12D, the higher voltage packs may serve as sources by charging the lower voltage packs. Thereby, two battery packs 12A-12D may be power modules and two battery packs 12A-12D may be charged, especially if, after the first run of balancing for the highest and lowest voltage batteries, a voltage difference is still above a threshold for the other batteries).
Hilligoss wherein each of the first and second power modules includes a power source, a first charging circuit switch configured for the power source and a second charging circuit switch configured for the power source (Fig. 1; each power module comprises the battery packs 12A-12D (i.e., power sources) and each battery pack 12A-12D has an out-side switch 24A-24D and an IN-side switch 22A-22D respectively (i.e., at least two charging circuit switches configured for the power source).
Hilligoss teaches each of the first and second charging circuit switches of each of the first and second power modules includes a controlled terminal, a first power terminal, and a second power terminal (Fig 1; each OUT-side switch 24A-24D and each IN-side switch 22A-22D comprises a controlled terminal coupled to controller 52, a first power terminal, and a second power terminal).
Hilligoss teaches the processor is configured to acquire current electric quantity parameters of the at least two to-be-charged batteries (In ¶ [34] the controller 52 is configured to acquire current electric quantity parameters of the battery packs 12A-12D).
Hilligoss teaches a control terminal of the processor is connected to the controlled terminal of the at least two charging circuit switches to determine whether to charge the at least two to-be-charged batteries according to the current electric quantity parameters and control an on-or-off state of any of the at least two charging circuit switches according to a working state of the power source (Fig.1; the controller 52 is connected to the control terminals of the charging circuit switches (i.e., OUT-side switches 24A-24D and IN-side switches 22A-22D) to determine whether to charge at least two of the battery packs 12A-12D (i.e., using the other two battery packs 12A-12D) based on current electric quantity parameters and control an on-or-off state of any of the at least two charging circuit switches according to a working state of the battery packs 12A-12D, see ¶ [25, 34]).
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach a microprocessor; and wherein, in each of the first and second power modules an output terminal of the power source is connected to the first power terminal of the first charging circuit switch and the first power terminal of the second charging circuit switch; and the second power terminal of the first charging circuit is connected to the first to-be-charged batteries; the second power terminal of the second charging circuit switch is connected to the second to-be-charged battery.
Considering MPEP 2144.04 VI. B. Duplication of Parts, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have duplicated the switches and DC-DC converter circuitry to create additional power flow paths, thereby avoiding overexertion of a single converter’s power limit and allowing a power source to charge multiple batteries simultaneously through different switches, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach a microprocessor.
Lim teaches a microprocessor (Fig. 1; controller 1400 is a microcomputer see ¶ [58]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hilligoss’s energy storage system by adding Lim’s microprocessor. The advantage of this modification being a microprocessor contains the core components of a CPU thereby improving the designs space and weight limitations.
With respect to claim 2, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Hilligoss teaches wherein the power module further comprises a peripheral charging interface, a first terminal of the peripheral charging interface is connected to the second power terminal of the charging circuit switch, and a second terminal of the peripheral charging interface is connected to the to-be-charged battery (Fig. 1; DC-DC converter 30 has a first terminal which may be connected to the second power terminal of switch 24A-24D and a second terminal which may be connected to the battery pack 12A-12D through switch 22A-22D).
Hilligoss teaches the second power terminal of the charging circuit switch charges the to-be-charged battery through a corresponding peripheral charging interface (Fig. 1; in this configuration power flow from the power source battery pack 12A-12D flows through the second power terminal of switch 24A-24D to charge the battery pack 12A-12D in need of power through DC-DC converter 30).
With respect to claim 3, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Hilligoss teaches wherein a number of power sources is less than or equal to a number of the to-be-charged batteries (Fig. 1; two battery packs 12A-12D may be sources and two battery packs 12A-12D may be charged, especially if, after the first run of balancing for the highest and lowest voltage batteries, a voltage difference is still above a threshold for the other batteries, see ¶ [25, 34]).
With respect to claim 18, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Hilligoss teaches wherein the power source is a battery (Fig. 1; battery packs 12A-12D are batteries).
Claims 4-9, 11-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilligoss et al. (USPGPN 20210028503), in view of Lim et al. (USPGPN 20080048608), and further in view of Kim (USPGPN 20040051498).
With respect to claim 4, Hilligoss teaches a charging management method for a charging management system (Figs. 1 and 3; a method for the energy management system 10).
Hilligoss teaches the charging management system comprising a processor (Fig. 1; controller 52, see ¶ [31]).
Hilligoss teaches at least two power modules communicatively connected to the processor (Fig. 1; battery packs 12A-12B with respective OUT-side switches 24A-24D and IN-side switches 22A-22D are each equivalent to a power module respectively and these are communicatively coupled to the controller 52).
Hilligoss teaches at least two to-be-charged batteries connected to the at least one of the at least two power modules and communicatively connected to the processor (Fig. 1; battery packs 12A-12D in a charging mode are communicatively coupled to the controller 52. In ¶ [25, 34] Hilligoss teaches that, depending on the voltage difference between the battery packs 12A-12D, the higher voltage packs may serve as sources by charging the lower voltage packs. Thereby, two battery packs 12A-12D may be sources and two battery packs 12A-12D may be charged, especially if, after the first run of balancing for the highest and lowest voltage batteries, a voltage difference is still above a threshold for the other batteries).
Hilligoss teaches wherein each of the at least two power modules comprises includes a power source, wherein the electromotive force for charging the at least two to-be-charged batteries originates at the power source, and at least two charging circuit switches configured for the power source (Fig. 1; each power module comprises the battery packs 12A-12D (i.e., power sources) and each battery pack 12A-12D has an out-side switch 24A-24D and an IN-side switch 22A-22D respectively (i.e., at least two charging circuit switches configured for the power source). See annotated Fig. 1 below, where in order to charge another battery, charging current flows from one battery for the charging of the other battery across the out switches, ¶’s [25, 34]).
Hilligoss teaches each of the at least two charging circuit switches comprises a controlled terminal, a first power terminal, and a second power terminal (Fig 1; each OUT-side switch 24A-24D and each IN-side switch 22A-22D comprises a controlled terminal coupled to controller 52, a first power terminal, and a second power terminal).
Hilligoss teaches an output terminal of the power source is connected to the first power terminal of each of the charging circuit switches, and the second power terminals of the at least two charging circuit switches are connected to the at least two to-be-charged batteries, respectively (Fig. 1; an output of each battery pack 12A-12D is connected to the first terminal of each of the charging circuit switches (i.e, OUT-side switches 24A-24D and IN-side switches 22A-22D), and the second power terminals of the charging circuit switches are connected to the battery packs 12A-12D that are to be charged, respectively).
Hilligoss teaches the processor is configured to acquire current electrical quantity parameters of the load (In ¶ [34] the controller 52 is configured to acquire current electric quantity parameters of the battery packs 12A-12D).
Hilligoss teaches a control terminal of the processor is connected to the controlled terminal of the at least two charging circuit switches to determine whether to charge the at least two to-be-charged batteries according to the current electric quantity parameters and control an on-or-off state of any of the at least two charging circuit switches according to a working state of the power source (Fig.1; the controller 52 is connected to the control terminals of the charging circuit switches (i.e., OUT-side switches 24A-24D and IN-side switches 22A-22D) to determine whether to charge at least two of the battery packs 12A-12D (i.e., using the other two battery packs 12A-12D) based on current electric quantity parameters and control an on-or-off state of any of the at least two charging circuit switches according to a working state of the battery packs 12A-12D, see ¶ [25, 34]).
Hilligoss teaches determining that the to-be-charged battery has been connected to the charging management system and needs to be charged (In ¶ [25, 34] determination is made that the battery that has a low voltage needs to be connected to the energy storage system 10 to be charged).
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach the microprocessor; and judging whether there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules, and if yes, controlling the idle power module to charge the to-be-charged battery.
Lim teaches a microprocessor (In Fig. 1, controller 1400 is a microcomputer see ¶ [58]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hilligoss’s energy storage system by adding Lim’s microprocessor. The advantage of this modification being a microprocessor contains the core components of a CPU thereby improving the designs space and weight limitations.
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach judging whether there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules, and if yes, controlling the idle power module to charge the to-be-charged battery.
Kim teaches judging whether there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules (¶’s [15-17] teach the charging control 20 determines if a there is an idle power supply from the two available power supplies 12 and 16 from Fig. 1) and if yes, controlling the idle power module to charge the to-be-charged battery (¶’s [17] teaches the charging control 20 controls the idle power supply to charge a battery 5 or 7 from Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus disclosed by Hilligoss by adding the features disclosed by Kim to show the microprocessor uses a charging management method that comprises judging if there is an idle power module and controlling the idle power module to charge a battery. The benefit being that the charging time of a plurality of batteries is reduced while efficiently using a power source when two or more batteries are charged (in ¶ [12] of Kim).
With respect to claim 5, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. Further, Hilligoss teaches wherein acquiring current electric quantity parameters of the to-be-charged battery, wherein the current electric quantity parameters comprise an electric quantity and a voltage of the to-be-charged battery (In ¶ [35] the current electric quantity parameters of the battery packs 12A-12D is acquired wherein these comprise a voltage and the electric quantity amount of the battery packs 12A-12D).
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach judging whether the to-be-charged battery is fully charged according to the current electric quantity parameters, and if not, determining that the to-be-charged battery needs to be charged.
Kim teaches judging whether the to-be-charged battery is fully charged according to the current electric quantity parameters (Fig. 4 and ¶’s[08-09] teach the charging controller judges if a battery is fully charged based on electrical quantity parameters) and if not, determining that the to-be-charged battery needs to be charged (Fig. 4 and ¶’s[08-09] in Step P14 if the battery is not fully charged it continues charging until reaching a full charge).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus disclosed by Hilligoss by adding the features disclosed by Kim to show a charging management method that comprises judging if there is an idle power module and controlling the idle power module to charge a battery. The benefit being that the charging time of a plurality of batteries is reduced while efficiently using a power source when two or more batteries are charged (in ¶ [12] of Kim).
With respect to claim 6, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach detecting whether a charging current exists in each of the at least two power modules; and if not, judging that there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules.
Kim teaches detecting whether a charging current exists in each of the at least two power modules (Fig. 1, charging power sensing part 14 and ¶[16] teach sensing part 14 detects if a charging current exists) and if not, judging that there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules (¶[16] teaches idle power exists in one of the power supplies when charging current tends to zero).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus disclosed by Hilligoss by adding the features disclosed by Kim to show a charging management method that detects a charging current exists in a power module and if not then there exists an idle power module. The benefit being that the charging time of a plurality of batteries is reduced while efficiently using a power source when two or more batteries are charged (in ¶ [12] of Kim).
With respect to claim 7, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. Further, Hilligoss teaches detecting whether the at least two charging circuit switches in each of the at least two power modules are both in an "off" state (Fig. 1; controller 52 detects the operational state of the switches communicatively connected to it).
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach and if yes, judging that there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules.
Kim teaches and if yes, judging that there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules (¶’s [15-17] teach control 20 determines if there is an idle power supply. One of ordinary skill understands that a switching element changing states to off within the charging power supply circuit would lower the amperage leading to an idle state determination by control 20 based on the “off” state of the switches as taught in Hilligoss).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus disclosed by Hilligoss by adding the features disclosed by Kim to show a charging management method that detects a charging current exists in a power module and if not then there exists an idle power module. The benefit being that the charging time of a plurality of batteries is reduced while efficiently using a power source when two or more batteries are charged (in ¶ [12] of Kim).
With respect to claim 8, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. Further, Hilligoss teaches configuring a power supply voltage and a power supply current of each power source in the at least two power modules (Fig. 1-2; the controller 52 ranks the voltages of the battery packs 12A-12D to determine which will be a power supply during a balancing operation and thereby it is understood by one of ordinary skill the power supply voltage and the power supply current are configured for charging the battery packs 12A-12D in need of charging).
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach according to a maximum charging voltage and a maximum charging current of the to-be-charged battery.
Lim teaches according to a maximum charging voltage and a maximum charging current of the to-be-charged battery (¶ [82 and 87] teach the power supply voltages and currents for the power sources are calculated based on stored information on capacity, charging voltage, and charging currents. One of ordinary skill understands the values stored accounts for maximum limits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hilligoss’s energy storage system by adding Lim’s maximum charging voltage and maximum charging current parameters of the batteries. The advantage of this modification being for safe and optimal charging of the batteries thereby avoiding exceeding these limits which can lead to irreversible damage and reduced battery lifespan.
With respect to claim 9, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. Further, Hilligoss teaches determining an interface number of the peripheral charging interface to which the to-be-charged battery is connected (One of ordinary skill understands that controller 52 would represent numerically the interface to which the to be charged battery pack 12A-12D is connected to).
Hilligoss teaches determining a switch flag value of each charging circuit switch to which the peripheral charging interface with the corresponding interface number is connected (Further, one of ordinary skill understands the interface with an assigned numerical value would also have a switch flag value assigned to it so that controller 52 may determine the on and off operation of the switch).
Hilligoss teaches searching for a target switch flag value corresponding to the power module from all the switch flag values (Furthermore, one of ordinary skill understands controller 52 is configured to search for a target switch flag value corresponding to a power module from all the switch flag values).
Hilligoss teaches controlling a charging circuit switch corresponding to the target switch flag value to turn on so that the power module charges the to-be-charged battery (The controller 52 is configured to control the switches communicatively coupled to it to turn on the power module to charge the battery pack 12A-12D in need of balancing. One of ordinary skill understands the computing done within controller 52 includes a database for numerically assigning values to the interfaces, switching flags for determining the operational state of the switches, and querying target switching flags for executing operational control of the switches to perform a balancing operation of battery packs 12A-12D).
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach the method wherein said controlling the idle power module to charge the to-be-charged battery.
Kim teaches wherein said controlling the idle power module to charge the to-be-charged battery (¶ [17] teaches the charging control 20 controls the idle power supply to charge a battery 5 or 7 from Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus disclosed by Hilligoss by adding the features disclosed by Kim to show a charging management method that controls an idle power module based on switch flag values and peripheral charging interface numbers. The benefit being that the charging time of a plurality of batteries is reduced while efficiently using a power source when two or more batteries are charged (in ¶ [12] of Kim).
With respect to claim 11, Hilligoss teaches a charging management device for a charging management system (Fig. 1; a device for the energy management system 10).
Hilligoss teaches the charging management system comprising a processor (Fig. 1; controller 52, see ¶ [31]).
Hilligoss teaches at least two power modules communicatively connected to the processor (Fig. 1; battery packs 12A-12B with respective OUT-side switches 24A-24D and IN-side switches 22A-22D are each equivalent to a power module respectively and these are communicatively coupled to the controller 52).
Hilligoss teaches at least two to-be-charged batteries connected to the at least one of the at least two power modules and communicatively connected to the processor (Fig. 1; battery packs 12A-12D in a charging mode are communicatively coupled to the controller 52. In ¶ [25, 34] Hilligoss teaches that, depending on the voltage difference between the battery packs 12A-12D, the higher voltage packs may serve as sources by charging the lower voltage packs. Thereby, two battery packs 12A-12D may be sources and two battery packs 12A-12D may be charged, especially if, after the first run of balancing for the highest and lowest voltage batteries, a voltage difference is still above a threshold for the other batteries).
Hilligoss teaches wherein each of the at least two power modules includes comprises a power source, wherein the electromotive force for charging the at least two to-be-charged batteries originates at the power source, and at least two charging circuit switches configured for the power source (Fig. 1; each power module comprises the battery packs 12A-12D (i.e., power sources) and each battery pack 12A-12D has an out-side switch 24A-24D and an IN-side switch 22A-22D respectively (i.e., at least two charging circuit switches configured for the power source). See annotated Fig. 1 below, where in order to charge another battery, charging current flows from one battery for the charging of the other battery across the out switches, ¶’s [25, 34]).
Hilligoss teaches each of the at least two charging circuit switches comprises a controlled terminal, first power terminal, and a second power terminal (Fig 1; each OUT-side switch 24A-24D and each IN-side switch 22A-22D comprises a controlled terminal coupled to controller 52, a first power terminal, and a second power terminal).
Hilligoss teaches an output terminal of the power source is connected to the first power terminal of each of the charging circuit switches, and the second power terminals of the at least two charging circuit switches are connected to the at least two to-be-charged batteries, respectively (Fig. 1; an output of each battery pack 12A-12D is connected to the first terminal of each of the charging circuit switches (i.e, OUT-side switches 24A-24D and IN-side switches 22A-22D), and the second power terminals of the charging circuit switches are connected to the battery packs 12A-12D that are to be charged, respectively).
Hilligoss teaches the processor is configured to acquire current electric quantity parameters of the at least two to-be-charged batteries (In ¶ [34] the controller 52 is configured to acquire current electric quantity parameters of the battery packs 12A-12D).
Hilligoss teaches a control terminal of the processor is connected to the controlled terminal of the at least two charging circuit switches to determine whether to charge the at least two to-be-charged batteries according to the current electric quantity parameters and control an on-or-off state of any of the at least two charging circuit switches according to a working state of the power source (Fig.1; the controller 52 is connected to the control terminals of the charging circuit switches (i.e., OUT-side switches 24A-24D and IN-side switches 22A-22D) to determine whether to charge at least two of the battery packs 12A-12D (i.e., using the other two battery packs 12A-12D) based on current electric quantity parameters and control an on-or-off state of any of the at least two charging circuit switches according to a working state of the battery packs 12A-12D, see ¶ [25, 34]).
Hilligoss teaches wherein the device includes the processor (Fig. 1; controller 52).
Hilligoss teaches and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (Fig. 1; non-transitory memory 54 is communicatively coupled to the controller 52).
Hilligoss teaches wherein, the memory stores instructions executable by the processor (¶ [30] teaches instructions stored in memory executable by controller 52).
Hilligoss teaches determine that the to-be-charged battery has been connected to the charging management system and needs to be charged (In ¶ [25, 34] determination is made that the battery that has a low voltage needs to be connected to the energy storage system 10 to be charged).
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach the microprocessor; and judge whether there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules, and if yes, controlling the idle power module to charge the to-be-charged battery.
Lim teaches a microprocessor (In Fig. 1, controller 1400 is a microcomputer see ¶ [58]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hilligoss’s energy storage system by adding Lim’s microprocessor. The advantage of this modification being a microprocessor contains the core components of a CPU thereby improving the designs space and weight limitations.
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach judge whether there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules, and if yes, controlling the idle power module to charge the to-be-charged battery.
Kim teaches judge whether there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules (¶’s [15-17] teach the charging control 20 determines if a there is an idle power supply from the two available power supplies 12 and 16 from Fig. 1) and if yes, controlling the idle power module to charge the to-be-charged battery (¶’s [17] teaches the charging control 20 controls the idle power supply to charge a battery 5 or 7 from Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus disclosed by Hilligoss by adding the features disclosed by Kim to show the microprocessor uses a charging management method that comprises judging if there is an idle power module and controlling the idle power module to charge a battery. The benefit being that the charging time of a plurality of batteries is reduced while efficiently using a power source when two or more batteries are charged (in ¶ [12] of Kim).
With respect to claim 12, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 11.
Further, Hilligoss teaches wherein acquire current electric quantity parameters of the to-be-charged battery, wherein the current electric quantity parameters comprise an electric quantity and a voltage of the to-be-charged battery (In ¶ [35] the current electric quantity parameters of the battery packs 12A-12D is acquired wherein these comprise a voltage and the electric quantity amount of the battery packs 12A-12D).
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach judge whether the to-be-charged battery is fully charged according to the current electric quantity parameters, and if not, determine that the to-be-charged battery needs to be charged.
Kim teaches judge whether the to-be-charged battery is fully charged according to the current electric quantity parameters (Fig. 4 and ¶’s[08-09] teach the charging controller judges if a battery is fully charged based on electrical quantity parameters) and if not, determine that the to-be-charged battery needs to be charged (Fig. 4 and ¶’s[08-09] in Step P14 if the battery is not fully charged it continues charging until reaching a full charge).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus disclosed by Hilligoss by adding the features disclosed by Kim to show a charging management method that comprises judging if there is an idle power module and controlling the idle power module to charge a battery. The benefit being that the charging time of a plurality of batteries is reduced while efficiently using a power source when two or more batteries are charged (in ¶ [12] of Kim).
With respect to claim 13, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 11.
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach detect whether a charging current exists in each of the at least two power modules; and if not, judge that there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules.
Kim teaches detect whether a charging current exists in each of the at least two power modules (Fig. 1, charging power sensing part 14 and ¶ [16] teach sensing part 14 detects if a charging current exists) and if not, judge that there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules (¶ [16] teaches idle power exists in one of the power supplies when charging current tends to zero).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus disclosed by Hilligoss by adding the features disclosed by Kim to show a charging management method that detects a charging current exists in a power module and if not then there exists an idle power module. The benefit being that the charging time of a plurality of batteries is reduced while efficiently using a power source when two or more batteries are charged (in ¶ [12] of Kim).
With respect to claim 14, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 11.
Further, Hilligoss teaches detect whether the at least two charging circuit switches in each of the at least two power modules are both in an "off" state (Fig. 1; controller 52 detects the operational state of the switches communicatively connected to it).
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach and if yes, judge that there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules.
Kim teaches and if yes, judge that there is an idle power module in the at least two power modules (¶’s [15-17] teach control 20 determines if there is an idle power supply. One of ordinary skill understands that a switching element changing states to off within the charging power supply circuit would lower the amperage leading to an idle state determination by control 20 based on the “off” state of the switches as taught in Hilligoss).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus disclosed by Hilligoss by adding the features disclosed by Kim to show a charging management method that detects a charging current exists in a power module and if not then there exists an idle power module. The benefit being that the charging time of a plurality of batteries is reduced while efficiently using a power source when two or more batteries are charged (in ¶ [12] of Kim).
With respect to claim 15, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 11.
Further, Hilligoss teaches configure a power supply voltage and a power supply current of each power source in the at least two power modules (Fig. 1-2; the controller 52 ranks the voltages of the battery packs 12A-12D to determine which will be a power supply during a balancing operation and thereby it is understood by one of ordinary skill the power supply voltage and the power supply current are configured for charging the battery packs 12A-12D in need of charging).
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach according to a maximum charging voltage and a maximum charging current of the to-be-charged battery before determining that the to-be-charged battery has been connected to the charging management system.
Lim teaches according to a maximum charging voltage and a maximum charging current of the to-be-charged battery before determining that the to-be-charged battery has been connected to the charging management system (¶ [82 and 87] teach the power supply voltages and currents for the power sources are calculated based on stored information on capacity, charging voltage, and charging currents. One of ordinary skill understands the values stored accounts for maximum limits. Further these values are obtained before connecting the batteries that are to be charged with the charging system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hilligoss’s energy storage system by adding Lim’s maximum charging voltage and maximum charging current parameters of the batteries. The advantage of this modification being for safe and optimal charging of the batteries thereby avoiding exceeding these limits which can lead to irreversible damage and reduced battery lifespan.
With respect to claim 16, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 11. Further, Hilligoss teaches determine an interface number of the peripheral charging interface to which the to-be-charged battery is connected (One of ordinary skill understands that controller 52 would represent numerically the interface to which the to be charged battery pack 12A-12D is connected to).
Hilligoss teaches determine a switch flag value of each charging circuit switch to which the peripheral charging interface with the corresponding interface number is connected (Further, one of ordinary skill understands the interface with an assigned numerical value would also have a switch flag value assigned to it so that controller 52 may determine the on and off operation of the switch).
Hilligoss teaches search for a target switch flag value corresponding to the power module from all the switch flag values (Furthermore, one of ordinary skill understands controller 52 is configured to search for a target switch flag value corresponding to a power module from all the switch flag values).
Hilligoss teaches control a charging circuit switch corresponding to the target switch flag value to turn on so that the power module charges the to-be-charged battery (The controller 52 is configured to control the switches communicatively coupled to it to turn on the power module to charge the battery pack 12A-12D in need of balancing. One of ordinary skill understands the computing done within controller 52 includes a database for numerically assigning values to the interfaces, switching flags for determining the operational state of the switches, and querying target switching flags for executing operational control of the switches to perform a balancing operation of battery packs 12A-12D).
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach the method wherein said control the idle power module to charge the to-be-charged battery.
Kim teaches wherein said control the idle power module to charge the to-be-charged battery (¶ [17] teaches the charging control 20 controls the idle power supply to charge a battery 5 or 7 from Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus disclosed by Hilligoss by adding the features disclosed by Kim to show a charging management method that controls an idle power module based on switch flag values and peripheral charging interface numbers. The benefit being that the charging time of a plurality of batteries is reduced while efficiently using a power source when two or more batteries are charged (in ¶ [12] of Kim).
With respect to claim 19, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. Further, Hilligoss teaches wherein the power source is a battery (Fig. 1; battery packs 12A-12D are batteries).
With respect to claim 20, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 11. Further, Hilligoss teaches wherein the power source outputs constant voltage and constant current (Fig. 1; battery packs 12A-12D are batteries which are known to one of ordinary skill to output constant voltage and constant current).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilligoss, Lim and Kim, further in view of Fan et al. (USPGPN 20120293135).
With regards to claim 10, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. However, Hilligoss fails to teach the method further comprises judging whether the at least two to-be-charged batteries in the charging management system are all fully charged and if yes, controlling the charging management system to enter a standby mode.
Fan teaches the method further comprises judging whether the at least two to-be-charged batteries in the charging management system are all fully charged (Fig. 1, step 101 judges if a terminal, which is disclosed to have a battery in ¶[02], is in a fully charged state) and if yes, controlling the charging management system to enter a standby mode (Fig. 1, step 103, the charging circuit of the terminal is controlled to enter the terminal into a standby state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus disclosed by Hilligoss by adding the features disclosed by Fan to show a method that judges if the batteries are fully charged and if so placing them in a standby state. The benefit being that the life of the battery would be prolonged, energy waste is prevented and the charging safety of the battery is ensured (in ¶ [05] of Fan).
With regards to claim 17, Hilligoss teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 11.
However, Hilligoss fails to explicitly teach judge whether the at least two to-be-charged batteries in the charging management system are all fully charged and if yes, control the charging management system to enter a standby mode.
Fan teaches judge whether the at least two to-be-charged batteries in the charging management system are all fully charged (Fig. 1, step 101 judges if a terminal, which is disclosed to have a battery in ¶[02], is in a fully charged state) and if yes, control the charging management system to enter a standby mode (Fig. 1, step 103, the charging circuit of the terminal is controlled to enter the terminal into a standby state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus disclosed by Hilligoss by adding the features disclosed by Fan to show a method that judges if the batteries are fully charged and if so placing them in a standby state. The benefit being that the life of the battery would be prolonged, energy waste is prevented and the charging safety of the battery is ensured (in ¶ [05] of Fan).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859