DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed March 27, 2026.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being clearly anticipated by PARK et al. (2020/0040255) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 1 more specifically defining the copolymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al (2020/0040255) in view of ARIDOMI et al (2019/0137874) and/or LEE et al (2019/0137874).
The claimed invention now recites the following:
PARK et al report a composition comprising a quantum dot a polymerizable monomer, an initiator, a hollow metal oxide particle, as reported in the previous paragraph and is included by reference.
With respect to claim 4 the cyclic ether groups claimed are not reported in a working example, however para. [0121] disclose the glycidyl acrylate monomers which are suitable as a repeating unit in the copolymer, see below:
ARIDOMI et al and LEE et al disclose composition for touch panels comprising a binder, photoinitiator, an unsaturated monomer and particles. Applicants are directed to Table 1 on page 22 wherein the polymer binders P2, P3, and P5 -P12 report the content of styrene at 45 mol% which meets the claimed range of formula (1) as well as the content of methacrylic acid (MAA)at 20 mol% at , and glycidyl methacrylate (MAA-GMA) at 15 mol%, see below:
LEE et al report composition for organic insulating film wherein the copolymer binders include styrene in an amount of 43 mol% with GMA and MAA see Table 1 below:
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive quantum dot composites to select glycidyl acrylate and maleimide units as a monomeric unit in the copolymer of the Examples in PARK et al and formulate the copolymer binder resin with a mol% of styrene at 43-56 mol% as taught by ARIDOMI et al and LEE et al with the reasonable expectation of same or similar results for improved light scattering, high luminance, high efficiency and high color reproducibility as reported in para. [0038].
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ONO et al (2020/0115269) in view of ARIDOMI et al (2019/0137874) and/or LEE et al (2019/0137874).
The claimed invention has been recited above and is included by reference.
ONO et al ‘269 report a photosensitive composition comprising an alkali-soluble resin, a photopolymerizable monomer, a photopolymerization initiator, a hollow silica and an epoxy compound.
In the composition, the alkali-soluble resin is reported in Synthesis Example 1 on page 18, wherein the resin has a Styrene/GMA (glycidyl methacrylate/DCPMA (dicyclopentanyl methacrylate/BPDA (biphenyltetracarboxylic dianhydride), the photopolymerizable monomer is dipentaerythritol Penta acrylate formulated with an epoxy compound, and (I-4) a hollow silica particles, see Table on page 22 wherein Example 28 report the use of hollow silica ((I)-4).
ARIDOMI et al and LEE et al disclose composition for touch panels and display devices wherein the copolymer binder in an insulating layer includes monomeric units synthesized in an amount within the claimed range of mol% as disclosed above. The binders are used in the same field of endeavor such that the skilled artisan could select ranges of the monomeric repeating units as taught above and expect same or similar results.
The reference fails to report the specifics with respect to the touch panel incorporated into an organic light emitting display device, however the structures claimed in claims 19 and 20 are generic structures to touch panels and OLED, wherein ONO et al teach that the photosensitive composition can be used as an insulating layer in touch panels as seen on page 32, para. [0265].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive compositions employ known binder as reported in ARIDOMI et al and LEE et al in Example 28 in an insulating composition for touch panels and place the touch panel in an OLED with the reasonable expectation having an insulating layer which is excellent in development adhesion and good solvent resistance.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SAIE et al (2012/0003436) is cited of interest as reporting compositions comprising unsaturated compounds, photoinitiators, binders and hollow particles for low refractive index comprising binders having styrene, MAA and a third comonomer. The mol% of the styrene fail to meet the ratios in the claimed copolymer binder of claim 1, however do disclose equivalent monomers with aromatic rings, such as benzyl methacrylate in the claimed range for styrene derived monomers, see (C-4) on page 18.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
June 2, 2026