DETAILED ACTION
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 6 August 2025 fails to place the application in condition for allowance.
Claims 16-34 are currently pending.
Claims 16-28 and 31-34 are currently under examination.
Claims 29 and 30 are currently withdrawn.
Status of Rejections
All previous rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment filed 6 August 2025. New rejections are provided herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 19-23, 26, 27, 31, and 32, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ji et al (Ji, Ya, et al. "Spatially decoupled hydrogen evolution in alkaline conditions with a redox targeting-based flow battery." International Journal of Hydrogen Energy 45.38 (2020): 18888-18894).
As to claim 16, 22, 23, 31, and 32, Ji discloses a system to generate hydrogen gas, comprising:
an electrochemical cell (Fig. 1 See annotation below) comprising;
an anode (Fig. 1 anode below) and
an anode electrolyte having a pH of 9 or more wherein the anode electrolyte comprises a metal oxyanion with a metal ion in a lower oxidation state (pg. 18889 “RFB Single cell test” “The positive electrolyte was 0.2 M K2MnO4 in 3 M NaOH” which equates to a pH of about 14 of 3M NaOH, further reading on instant claims 31 and 32 where the ion [MnO4]2- is in a lower oxidation state as required by instant claim 22 and [MnO4]- is in a higher oxidation state as required by instant claim 23) wherein the anode is configured to oxidize the metal oxyanion with the metal ion in the lower oxidation state to a metal oxyanion with metal ion in a higher oxidation state (See Fig. 1); and
a cathode and a cathode electrolyte comprising water wherein the cathode is configured to reduce water to form hydroxide ions and hydrogen gas( Fig. 1 See annotation below pg. 18889 “RFB Single cell test” the negative electrolyte was 0.2 M Fe(III)TEA (by mixing 0.2 M FeCl3, 1 M TEA) in 1.5 M NaOH and reaction2 in Scheme 1 pg. 18890 thus inherently having water).
As to claim 19, the recitation “wherein the electrochemical cell is configured to maintain a steady-state pH differential of between about 1-6 between the anode electrolyte and the cathode electrolyte” is drawn towards how the cell is being used. Since hydrogen is formed in only once cell, the hydrogen concentration necessarily rises thus altering the pH. Since a differential exists, the recitation does not imply any particular structural modification to be deemed capable of said function of operating at a pH differential absent the contrary. See MPEP 2114.
As to claim 20, Ji discloses anode materials (Pt/C in Fig.) which overlap those materials disclosed at [0199]-[0201] of the as filed specification thus deemed to be “configured to oxidize the hydroxide ions to form oxygen gas” absent further recitation or structure to explicitly enable the configuration of the electrode materials.
As to claim 21, Ji discloses the metal ion is manganese (See Fig. 1).
As to claim 26, since the device as claimed is substantially the same as the device in the prior art, such “configured” language is necessarily met absent evidence the language imparts further structural limitation to the device.
As to claim 27, the recitation “the anode is configured to form no oxygen gas or so that less than 25% of a Faradaic efficiency is for the oxygen evolution reaction” is a recitation of a property of the anode not tied to any particular structure or material in the instant specification. Since the material of the anode of Cable is the same as that claimed, the prior art is presumed to be configured as such absent evidence the instant claim limitation imparts particular structural limitation to the anode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji.
As to claim 18, Ji discloses a membrane between the anode and cathode electrolyte (Fig. 1 “membrane”) but fails to explicitly disclose the use of an anion exchange membrane disposed configured for the migration of hydroxide ions from the cathode electrolyte to the anode electrolyte.
However, Ji discloses using an anion exchange membrane modification in place of the Nafion membrane (pg. 18893 Conclusions). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used an anion exchange membrane as suggest by Ji because OH- is the charge balancing species for overall water splitting.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 25, 28, 33, and 34, 3 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to Wang see pgs. 14-15, filed 6 August 2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections over Wang has been withdrawn.
No further arguments presented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795