DETAILED ACTION
This Action is non-final and is in response to the claims filed 03/01/2022. Claims 1-14 are currently pending, of which claims 1-14 are currently rejected.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 8 recite the limitation "the other of the results" in page 21 line 10 and page 23 line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 and 8 also recite the limitation "the data stored in the external memory" in page 21 line 5 and page 22 line 23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-7 and 9-14 inherit the same deficiency as claim 1 by reason of dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kfir et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: US 20190095776 A1), hereinafter “Kfir”, in view of Chen Zhang in NPL: Optimizing FPGA-based Accelerator Design for Deep Convolutional Neural Networks (https://dl.acm.org/doi/pdf/10.1145/2684746.2689060), hereinafter “Zhang”.
Regarding Claim 1, Kfir teaches:
A data processing apparatus comprising:
…
an input buffer unit (Fig. 1, e.g., Input buffer 22 and Fetch and shift 1 and 2 (input buffer unit)) … ;
an M x M data processing unit that performs M x M convolution processing using the data stored in the input buffer unit (Fig. 1, e.g., Conv 0 28 at stage 26 (M x M data processing unit) receive data from Shift register 24 (input buffer unit); ¶0025, e.g., Processing elements perform convolution using input data with a respective kernel);
an N x N data processing unit that performs N x N convolution processing using the data stored in the input buffer unit (Fig. 1, e.g., Elements 28-37 on stages 34, 36, 38 (N x N data processing unit) receive data from Fetch and Shift (input buffer unit); ¶0025, e.g., Processing elements perform convolution using input data with a respective kernel);
a first output buffer unit that stores one of results of processing by the M x M data processing unit and the N x N data processing unit (Fig. 1, e.g., Int Buff1 0 in stage 30 (first output buffer unit) stores result from Conv0 in Stage 26 (M x M data processing unit)); and
a second output buffer unit that stores the other of the results of processing by the M x M data processing unit and the N x N data processing unit (Fig. 1, e.g., Out Buff0 in stage 40 (second output buffer unit) stores result from Conv0 in Stage 34, Int Buff2 0 in stage 36, and Pool0 38 (N x N data processing unit)), wherein
the result of processing stored in the first output buffer unit is stored in the input buffer unit (Fig. 1, e.g., Fetch and Shift 2 (input buffer unit) in stage 32 receives data from int buff1 0 in stage 30 (first output buffer unit)), and …
Kfir does not teach:
an external memory that stores processing target data;
an input buffer unit that stores at least part of the data stored in the external memory;
the result of processing stored in the second output buffer unit is transferred to the external memory.
However, Zhang teaches:
an external memory that stores processing target data (Fig. 4, e.g., External memory is shown; Page 163 Section 3.1 Design Overview, e.g., Data for processing (processing target data) is stored in external memory);
an input buffer unit that stores at least part of the data stored in the external memory (Page 163 Section 3.1 Design Overview, e.g., Data from external memory is stored in on-chip buffers);
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine the DRAM external memory to provide input data to input buffers as taught by Zhang with the Convolutional Neural Network as taught by Kfir. Additionally, Kfir suggests the input buffer receiving input data such as pixels of a color image (See Kfir ¶0024). One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose convolution operations for image processing using convolutional neural networks, and Zhang enhances the model of Kfir by using a DRAM to provide data to be processed to input buffers.
Zhang also teaches:
the result of processing stored in the second output buffer unit is transferred to the external memory (Page 168 Section 4.3 Memory Sub-System Last paragraph, e.g., Resulting output feature maps are written down to DRAM (external memory). Results are stored in output buffer 1; Page 167 Section 4.1 System Overview, e.g., DRAM is used for external storage (external memory)).
Therefore, it would have also been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine the ping-pong operation using double buffers to store results in DRAM as taught by Zhang with the Int Buff1 0 in stage 30 and Out Buff 0 in stage 40 (first and second output buffer units) as taught by Kfir. Additionally, Kfir suggests the output data is sent to the next processing stage by an output sender unit (See Kfir ¶0027). One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose convolution operations for image processing using convolutional neural networks, and Zhang enhances the model of Kfir by using a DRAM to provide data to be processed to input buffers.
Regarding Claim 4, Kfir in view of Zhang teach:
The data processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing target data is data defined by three or more orthogonal axes (Kfir: Fig. 3, e.g., inputs from Stage 22 (input buffer) consist of X and Y axis (first and second axis); ¶0034, e.g., A1, B1, and C1 represent the channel (third axis)), and
the M x M convolution processing or the N x N convolution processing is performed on a first axis and a second axis in the processing target data (Kfir: ¶0032, e.g., Processing unit 28 (M x M convolution processing) performs convolution using 3x3x3 kernel, hence it has to use at least the first and second axis of input data (processing target data)).
Regarding Claim 7, Kfir in view of Zhang teach:
The data processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the N x N convolution processing and the M x M convolution processing are performed as part of image processing using a neural network (Kfir: ¶0010; ¶0013).
With regards to Claims 8, 11, and 14, they are media versions of the claimed data processing apparatus above (claims 1, 4, and 7 respectively), wherein all claim limitations also have been addressed and/or covered in cited areas. Thus, accordingly, these claims are rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
Claims 2, 3, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kfir in view of Zhang, further in view of Jason Brownlee in NPL: A Gentle Introduction to 1×1 Convolutions to Manage Model Complexity (https://machinelearningmastery.com/introduction-to-1x1-convolutions-to-reduce-the-complexity-of-convolutional-neural-networks/), hereinafter “Brownlee”.
With regards to Claim 2, Kfir in view of Zhang teach:
The data processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein M and N are integers greater than or equal to 1 (¶0006, e.g., Each PE performs convolutions using respective kernels; ¶0032, e.g., 3x3 (integers greater than 1) Kernels are used, but other Kernel sizes may be used), …
Kfir in view of Zhang do not explicitly teach:
… and M > N (Downsample Feature Maps with 1x1 filters, e.g., 1x1 filters can be used at any point in a CNN to control the number of feature maps; Example code on section "Example of Decreasing Feature Maps" decreases the feature maps of the output of the 3x3 filter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine the 1x1 filter in one of the PEs as taught by Brownlee with the Conv1 28 (included in N x N data processing unit) as taught by Kfir. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose convolution operations for image processing using convolutional neural networks, and Brownlee enhances the model of Kfir in view of Zhang by making it possible to "control the number of feature maps." (Brownlee: Downsample Feature Maps with 1x1 filters)
With regards to Claim 3, Kfir in view of Zhang in view of Brownlee teach:
The data processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein N = 1 (Kfir: ¶0006, e.g., Each PE performs convolutions using respective kernels; ¶0032, e.g., 3x3 (integers greater than 1) Kernels are used, but other Kernel sizes may be used; Brownlee: Downsample Feature Maps with 1x1 filters, e.g., 1x1 filters can be used at any point in a CNN to control the number of feature maps).
With regards to Claims 9 and 10, they are media versions of the claimed data processing apparatus above (claims 2 and 3 respectively), wherein all claim limitations also have been addressed and/or covered in cited areas. Thus, accordingly, these claims are rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
Claims 5, 6, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kfir in view of Zhang, further in view of Arthur Stoutchinin in NPL: Optimally Scheduling CNN Convolutions for Efficient Memory Access (https://arxiv.org/pdf/1902.01492), hereinafter “Stoutchinin”.
With regards to Claim 5, Kfir in view of Zhang teach:
… the result of processing by the M x M data processing unit is stored in the [first] output buffer unit, and the result of processing by the N x N data processing unit is stored in the [second] output buffer unit (Fig. 1, e.g., Out Buff 31 in stage 40 (second output buffer unit) stores result from Conv 0, Int Buff2 0 and Pool 0 from stages 34, 36, 38 (N x N data processing unit), and Int Buff1 0 in stage 30 (first output buffer unit) stores result from Conv0 in stage 26 (M x M data processing unit)).
Kfir in view of Zhang do not teach:
The data processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein if the number of data items belonging to a third axis in the data of result of the M x M convolution processing is smaller than the number of data items belonging to the third axis in the data of result of the N x N convolution processing, the result of processing by the M x M data processing unit is stored in the second output buffer unit, and the result of processing by the N x N data processing unit is stored in the first output buffer unit.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Stoutchinin teaches having local buffering requirements for buffers implemented in a convolutional neural network. These local buffering requirements are dependent on tile sizes, which include channel size (third axis). Stoutchinin explains: “In the first step, we compute local buffering requirements for each array reference at different loop levels across an enumeration of different loop orders and loop tile sizes. This step is independent of a particular CNN layer shape because the local buffering requirements at any loopnest level depend only on loop order and tile sizes of different loops. In the second step, using these pre-enumerated buffer requirements, we analyze a particular CNN layer, exhaustively searching for a best combination of buffering levels for the three CNN arrays under different local buffer capacities.” (Stoutchinin: Page 6 section C. Dataflow schedule selection procedure)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to the dataflow schedule selection procedure as taught by Stoutchinin with the convolutional neural network 20 as taught by Kfir. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose convolution operations for image processing using convolutional neural networks, and Stoutchinin enhances the model of Kfir in view of Zhang by allowing for better buffer allocation for tiles. Combination of the local buffering requirements depending on the tile size with the Int Buff1 0 in stage 30 (first output buffer unit) and the Out Buff 31 in stage 40 (second output buffer unit) would cause for the buffers to be switched depending on the tile size (result of convolution). Hence, Kfir in view of Zhang in view of Stoutchinin teach Claim 5 in its entirety.
With regards to Claim 6, Kfir in view of Zhang teach:
… the result of processing by the N x N data processing unit is stored in the second output buffer unit (Fig. 1, e.g., Out Buff 31 in stage 40 (second output buffer unit) stores result from Conv 0, Int Buff2 0 and Pool 0 from stages 34, 36, 38 (N x N data processing unit); ), and the result of processing by the M x M data processing unit is stored in the first output buffer unit (Fig. 1, e.g., Int Buff1 0 in stage 30 (first output buffer unit) stores result from Conv0 in stage 26 (M x M data processing unit)).
Kfir in view of Zhang do not teach:
The data processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein if the number of data items belonging to a third axis in the data of result of the N x N convolution processing is smaller than the number of data items belonging to the third axis in the data of result of the M x M convolution processing, …
However, in the same field of endeavor, Stoutchinin teaches having local buffering requirements for buffers implemented in a convolutional neural network. These local buffering requirements are dependent on tile sizes, which include channel size (third axis). Stoutchinin explains: “In the first step, we compute local buffering requirements for each array reference at different loop levels across an enumeration of different loop orders and loop tile sizes. This step is independent of a particular CNN layer shape because the local buffering requirements at any loopnest level depend only on loop order and tile sizes of different loops. In the second step, using these pre-enumerated buffer requirements, we analyze a particular CNN layer, exhaustively searching for a best combination of buffering levels for the three CNN arrays under different local buffer capacities.” (Stoutchinin: Page 6 section C. Dataflow schedule selection procedure)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to the dataflow schedule selection procedure as taught by Stoutchinin with the convolutional neural network 20 as taught by Kfir. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose convolution operations for image processing using convolutional neural networks, and Stoutchinin enhances the model of Kfir in view of Zhang by allowing for better buffer allocation for tiles. Hence, Kfir in view of Zhang in view of Stoutchinin teach Claim 6 in its entirety.
With regards to Claims 12 and 13, they are media versions of the claimed data processing apparatus above (claims 5 and 6 respectively), wherein all claim limitations also have been addressed and/or covered in cited areas. Thus, accordingly, these claims are rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
Prior art made of Record
NPL: Accelerating Deep Convolutional Neural Networks Using Specialized Hardware (Kalin Ovtcharov) – teaches a Top-Level architecture of a convolutional neural network accelerator, where each layer is computed using the same Processing units. This is achieved by inputting the output layer back into the Multi-Banked Input Buffer for processing of next layer. See Section “Accelerating Deep Convolutional Neural Networks in the Datacenter” and Figure 3.
U.S. Patent No.: US 10346093 B1 (Wu et al.) – teaches a convolutional neural network architecture, where it includes N modules coupled in a pipeline. Layers in the neural network include Inception layers, which contain several filters including 3x3 and 1x1. See Fig. 4, Column 2 Lines 21-25 and Column 7 Lines 1-35.
Conclusion
/C.H.D./
Carlos H. De La GarzaExaminer, Art Unit 2182 (571)272-0474
/ANDREW CALDWELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2182