DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is amended. Claims 5, 9-11, 13-25 are withdrawn. Claims 26-27 are cancelled. Claims 29-30 are added. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 12 and 28-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (US 20200258969) in view of Kim (US 20190294281) in view of Sato (US 20150324056) in view of Bok (US 20160147375).
As per claim 1, Yi discloses a display device (Fig. 2, #1; [0043]), comprising:
a substrate comprising a main area (#10), a first auxiliary area (#11) extending from a first side (i.e., left side) of the main area (#10) primarily in a first direction (i.e., X direction), a second auxiliary area (#12) extending from a second side (i.e., right side) of the main area (#10) primarily in the first direction (i.e., X direction) with the main area (#10) being located completely between the first auxiliary area (#11) and the second auxiliary area (#12) in the first direction (i.e., X direction), and a sub-area (#30) extending from a third side (i.e., lower side) of the main area (#10) primarily in a second direction (i.e., Y direction) perpendicular to the first direction (i.e., X direction), the third side (i.e., lower side) being perpendicular to both the first side (i.e., left side) and the second side (i.e., right side);
scan lines located in the main area (#10) and the first auxiliary area (#11; [0067]-[0068]),
data lines (Fig. 6, #136) located in the main area (#10) and the first auxiliary area (#11), each of the data lines (#136) extending in the second direction (i.e., W1 direction; [0096]-[0097]);
a plurality of sensor electrodes (#TE, RE) located in the main area (#10) and the first auxiliary area (#11; [0052]-[0053]; [0082]-[0084]),
a circuit board electrically connected to the plurality of sensor lines (#BE) and attached to the sub-area ([0076]-[0082]; [0089]),
wherein the plurality of sensor electrodes (#TE, RE) are not located in the sub-area (#30; [0062]; [0082]).
However, Yi does not explicitly teach a plurality of sensor lines located in the main area and the first auxiliary area, each of a first group of sensor lines of the plurality of sensor lines extending from the first auxiliary area into the main area primarily in the first direction within both the main area and the first auxiliary area, and each of a second group of sensor lines of the plurality of sensor lines extending from the second auxiliary area that is on an opposite side of the main area from the first auxiliary area, into the main area primarily in the first direction within both the main area and the first auxiliary area.
Kim teaches a plurality of sensor lines (Figs. 6-8, #241b) located in the main area (Fig. 4, #111a) and the first auxiliary area (#111b), each of a first group of sensor lines of the plurality of sensor lines (#241b) extending from the first auxiliary area (#111b) into the main area (#111a) primarily in the first direction (i.e., X direction) within both the main area (#111a ) and the first auxiliary area (#111b), and each of a second group of sensor lines of the plurality of sensor lines (#241b) extending from the second auxiliary area (#111c) that is on an opposite side of the main area (#111a) from the first auxiliary area (#111b), into the main area (#111a) primarily in the first direction (i.e., X direction) within both the main area (#111a) and the first auxiliary area (#111b; [0050]; [0091]-[0093]; [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the sensor lines disclosed by Kim to the main area and the first auxiliary area of Yi so as to provide a first connection portion connecting the adjacent first extension portions (Kim: [0093]).
However, the prior art of Yi and Kim do not explicitly teach each of the scan lines extending in the first direction.
Sato teaches each of the scan lines (Fig. 1, #20) extending in the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction; [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the scan lines of Yi in view of Kim arranged according to Sato so as to provide scan lines extending in the horizontal direction.
However, the prior art of Yi, Kim and Sato do not explicitly teach each of the plurality of sensor electrodes are connected to each of the plurality of sensor lines with a one-to-one correspondence.
Bok teaches each of the plurality of sensor electrodes (Fig. 14, #430) are connected to each of the plurality of sensor lines (#431) with a one-to-one correspondence ([0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sensor electrodes of Yi in view of Kim and Sato connected according to Bok so that the plurality of sensor electrodes are connected to each of the plurality of sensor lines with a one-to-one correspondence.
As per claim 2, Yi in view of Kim in view of Sato in view of Bok discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a first scan driver (Sato: #8) located at a first edge (Sato: i.e., left edge) of the first auxiliary area (Sato: #30), the first scan driver (Sato: #8) connected to the scan lines (Sato: #20; [0028]; [0032]);
a first sensor distribution circuit (Bok: #450c) located at the first edge (Bok: i.e., left edge) of the first auxiliary area (Bok: #EG2), the first sensor distribution circuit (Bok: #450c) connected to the plurality of sensor lines (Bok: #431; [0120]-[0123]); and
a data distribution circuit (Sato: #10) located at a second edge (Sato: i.e., upper edge) of the main area (Sato: #32) and a second edge (Sato: i.e., upper edge) of the first auxiliary area (Sato: #30), the data distribution circuit (Sato: #10) connected to the data lines (Sato: #22; [0029]; [0032]).
However, the prior art of Yi, Kim, Sato and Bok do not teach the first auxiliary area, the first scan driver and the first sensor distribution circuit are sequentially arranged in the first direction, and wherein the first auxiliary area and the data distribution circuit is arranged in the second direction. Official Notice is taken that it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill to have the first auxiliary area, the first scan driver and the first sensor distribution circuit are sequentially arranged in the first direction, and wherein the first auxiliary area and the data distribution circuit is arranged in the second direction since it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts of an invention in a way that does not modify the operation of the device is not a patentable improvement. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
As per claim 12, Yi in view of Kim in view of Sato in view of Bok discloses the display device of claim 2, further comprising a dam (Sato: Figs. 1 and 4, #68b) located between the first scan driver (Sato: #8) and the first sensor distribution circuit (Sato: #12), wherein one or more of the plurality of sensor lines (Sato: #66) at least partially overlap the dam (Sato: #68b) and are connected to a sensor distribution transistor (Sato: [0052]-[0053]; [0060]; where the sensor distribution transistor is inherently present).
As per claim 28, Yi in view of Kim in view of Sato in view of Bok discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein (Yi: Fig. 2 discloses) the main area (Yi: #10) is in contact with the sub-area (Yi: #30 via the fourth sub-display surface #14).
As per claim 29, Yi in view of Kim in view of Sato in view of Bok discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a first sensor distribution circuit (Bok: Fig. 4, #450a) located at a non-display area adjacent to the first auxiliary area (Bok: #EG1) and the plurality of sensor lines are located in the non-display area and are connected to the first sensor distribution circuit (#450a; [0081]).
However, the prior art of Yi in view of Kim, Sato and Bok do not teach the first auxiliary area is between the first sensor distribution circuit and the main area. Official Notice is taken that it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill to have the first auxiliary area is between the first sensor distribution circuit and the main area since it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts of an invention in a way that does not modify the operation of the device is not a patentable improvement. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Claims 3-4, 6-7 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Kim in view of Sato in view of Bok in view of Hong (US 20150370380).
As per claim 3, Yi in view of Kim in view of Sato in view of Bok discloses the display device of claim 2, further comprising sensor fan-out lines connected to the first sensor distribution circuit (Sato: #12; [0036]; where sensor fan-out lines are inherently present).
However, the prior art of Yi, Kim, Sato and Bok do not explicitly teach sensor fan-out lines located on the second edge of the main area, the second edge of the first auxiliary area, and the sub-area.
Hong teaches sensor fan-out lines (Fig. 10A, i.e., lines connected to sensing signal collecting part #1300 functionally equivalent to sensor fan-out lines) located on the second edge (i.e., upper edge) of the main area (i.e., central area of touch screen panel #1100), the second edge (i.e., upper edge) of the first auxiliary area (i.e., left side area of touch screen panel #1100), and the sub-area (i.e., right side area of touch screen panel #1100; [0247]-[0249]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sensor fan-out lines of Yi in view of Kim, Sato and Bok arranged accord to Hong so as that the sensor fan-out lines are located on the second edge of the main area and the second edge of the first auxiliary area and the second edge of the sub-area.
As per claim 4, Yi in view of Kim in view of Sato in view of Bok in view of Hong discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein a number of the sensor fan-out lines (Hong: Fig. 10A, i.e., a number of 4 of the sensor fan-out lines connected to sensing signal collecting part #1300) is smaller than a number of the plurality of sensor lines (Hong: i.e., sensor lines connected to #S1-S12).
As per claim 6, Yi in view of Kim in view of Sato in view of Bok in view of Hong discloses the display device of claim 3, further comprising data fan-out lines connected to the data distribution circuit (Sato: #12; [0036]; where data fan-out lines are inherently present) and located on the second edge (Hong: Fig. 10A, i.e., upper edge) of the main area (Hong: i.e., central area of touch screen panel #1100), the second edge (Hong: i.e., upper edge) of the first auxiliary area (Hong: i.e., left side area of touch screen panel #1100), and the sub-area (Hong: i.e., right side area of touch screen panel #1100).
As per claim 7, Yi in view of Kim in view of Sato in view of Bok in view of Hong discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein a number of the data fan-out lines (Hong: Fig. 10A, i.e., a number of 4 of the data fan-out lines connected to sensing signal collecting part #1300) is smaller than a number of the data lines (Hong: i.e., data lines connected to #S1-S12).
As per claim 30, Yi in view of Kim in view of Sato in view of Bok in view of Hong discloses the display device of claim 3 except for the first scan driver overlaps at least one of the plurality of sensor lines. Official Notice is taken that it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill to have the first scan driver overlaps at least one of the plurality of sensor lines since it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts of an invention in a way that does not modify the operation of the device is not a patentable improvement. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Kim in view of Sato in view of Bok in view of Hong in view of Kim (US 20160162110) (Kim’110).
As per claim 8, Yi in view of Kim in view of Sato in view of Bok in view of Hong discloses the display device of claim 6.
However, the prior art of Yi, Kim, Sato, Bok and Hong do not teach the data distribution circuit connects the data lines to the data fan-out lines in an M:1 ratio, where M is an integer of 2 or greater.
Kim’110 teaches the data distribution circuit (Fig. 11, #100) connects the data lines (#S1-Sn) to the data fan-out lines (#P1-P
n
3
) in an M:1 ratio, where M is an integer of 2 or greater ([0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the data distribution circuit of Yi in view of Kim, Sato, Bok and Hong connecting the data lines to the data fan-out lines according to Kim’110 so as to reduce the number of input/output pins of the data distribution circuit by 1/N using a multiplexer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the of new grounds of rejection as presented above.
Applicant states on page 14 in the Remarks, “As previously explained, independent claim 1 relates to a novel layout of sensor lines and sensor electrodes within, for example, a rollout-type display device that are precisely arranged in a fan-out architecture so as to reduce a number of external connection pads and simplify wiring so as to minimize cost and improve reliability”.
Applicant further states on page 15 in the Remarks, “In the recited arrangement, it is significant that the two auxiliary areas are on opposite sides of the main area because of the way in which the two auxiliary areas manage the connections between the particularly long combined display area that may be configured to roll out from opposite ends. Thus, it is significant that in the recited arrangement, you have sensor lines extending from the auxiliary areas at opposite sides of the main area, in a single direction, so that the total lengths of the sensor lines is not exceedingly large even as the display area is wide enough to be unrolled from opposite ends”.
However, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., A novel layout of sensor lines and sensor electrodes within, for example, a rollout-type display device that are precisely arranged in a fan-out architecture so as to reduce a number of external connection pads and simplify wiring so as to minimize cost and improve reliability. It is significant that the two auxiliary areas are on opposite sides of the main area because of the way in which the two auxiliary areas manage the connections between the particularly long combined display area that may be configured to roll out from opposite ends. The total lengths of the sensor lines is not exceedingly large even as the display area is wide enough to be unrolled from opposite ends) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nelson Lam/Examiner, Art Unit 2627
/KE XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2627