DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-20, & 22 of U.S. Application No. 17/655689 filed on 11/26/2025 have been examined.
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed11/26/2025. Claims 1, 7, 11-12, 17-18, & 20 are presently amended. Claim 22 is newly added and Claims 4, 9-10, & 21 are cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-20, & 22 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the previous claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f): Applicant amendments overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation. Accordingly, the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation is withdrawn.
In regards to the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101: Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered in regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101, but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pages. 9 of the Remarks, “outputting a signal to a display on the flight deck during flight indicating the occurrence of the damage to the propulsor when the damage is determined to have to occurred at step (viii), and controlling the display to showing information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions.” For at least these reasons, the pending independent claims are patent eligible. The dependent claims are patent eligible for at least the same reasons. Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejections.”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is reminded claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. Per the MPEP 2106.05(f) Mere Instructions to Apply An Exception, the courts have also identified limitations that did not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application: Merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Examiner interprets that the processors, and the sensors, are applying instructions in order to reach the end result of outputting a signal indicating damage to an aircraft. Applicant is reminded claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. The claims recite “enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions.”, the claim only requires that they are able to and not necessarily perform the action. Further per the Specification, para. [0115] recites the operator performing an action of receiving a greater quantity of information about the damage. This merely suggests that the claim can be interpreted as receiving further information about the damage that is already displayed. Using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other task (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) after the abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more (see at least MPEP 2106.05(f)). The Examiner recommends that the Applicant recites the step that includes the user implementing an appropriate mitigating action, that includes shutting down the propulsor that has sustained most damage, this recites a practical step that is positively recited in order to overcome the 101 rejection [Examiner Note: Please see para. 0113 of Applicant Specification]. In conclusion, the 101 rejection is maintained provided the arguments above.
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new grounds of rejection is made in view of US 2017/0363514A1 (“Pilon”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
A claim that recites an abstract idea, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon is directed to a judicial exception. Abstract ideas include the following groupings of subject matter, when recited as such in a claim limitation: (a) Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations; (b) Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and (c) Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Even when a judicial element is recited in the claim, an additional claim element(s) that integrates the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception renders the claim eligible under §101. A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The following examples are indicative that an additional element or combination of elements may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application:
the additional element(s) reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
the additional element(s) that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
the additional element(s) implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
the additional element(s) effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
the additional element(s) applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Examples in which the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application include:
the additional element(s) merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
the additional element(s) adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
the additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Claims 1, 18-20, & 22 recite wherein the first sensor is a microphone associated with a propulsor of the aircraft; the first parameter represents an amplitude of a measured acoustic wave or a frequency spectrum of the measure acoustic wave from the microphone; the determining whether the damage has occurred to the aircraft using the values of the first data comprises: in a case that the first data represents the amplitude of the measured acoustic wave, accessing a memory containing an acoustic threshold value, and comparing the received first data to the accessed acoustic threshold value; and in a case that the first data represents the frequency spectrum of the measured acoustic wave, accessing the memory containing a predetermined frequency component, and determining whether the frequency spectrum contains the accessed predetermined frequency component; the second sensor is a phonic wheel associated with a shaft of the propulsor; the second parameter represents a speed value of the shaft of the propulsor from the phonic wheel; the determining whether the damage has occurred to the aircraft using the values of the second data comprises: accessing the memory containing a threshold amount and a predetermined period of time; and determining whether the speed value in the received second data has decreased compared to an earlier speed value by the accessed threshold amount within the accessed predetermined period of time; the third sensor is a vibration sensor associated with the propulsor; the third parameter represents an amplitude of measured vibrations from the vibration sensor; and the determining whether the damage has occurred to the aircraft using the values of the third data comprises: accessing the memory containing a vibration threshold value; and comparing the received third data to the accessed vibration threshold value, as drafted, is a device & process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer elements. The claim is practically able to be performed in the mind. For example, but for the “A computer-implemented method, first sensor, second sensor, output of a signal, one or more further sensors, third sensor, wherein the signal is output to an output device, the output device being configured to provide, the signal output at step (v) is transmitted only to a memory for storage, An apparatus, A non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer readable instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause performance of the method, each of the first sensor and the second sensor are selected from a group including a microphone, a phonic wheel, and a vibration sensor, the third sensor is one of a phonic wheel, and a vibration sensor, controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions,” language, “wherein the first sensor is a microphone associated with a propulsor of the aircraft; the first parameter represents an amplitude of a measured acoustic wave or a frequency spectrum of the measure acoustic wave from the microphone; the determining whether the damage has occurred to the aircraft using the values of the first data comprises: in a case that the first data represents the amplitude of the measured acoustic wave, accessing a memory containing an acoustic threshold value, and comparing the received first data to the accessed acoustic threshold value; and in a case that the first data represents the frequency spectrum of the measured acoustic wave, accessing the memory containing a predetermined frequency component, and determining whether the frequency spectrum contains the accessed predetermined frequency component; the second sensor is a phonic wheel associated with a shaft of the propulsor; the second parameter represents a speed value of the shaft of the propulsor from the phonic wheel; the determining whether the damage has occurred to the aircraft using the values of the second data comprises: accessing the memory containing a threshold amount and a predetermined period of time; and determining whether the speed value in the received second data has decreased compared to an earlier speed value by the accessed threshold amount within the accessed predetermined period of time; the third sensor is a vibration sensor associated with the propulsor; the third parameter represents an amplitude of measured vibrations from the vibration sensor; and the determining whether the damage has occurred to the aircraft using the values of the third data comprises: accessing the memory containing a vibration threshold value; and comparing the received third data to the accessed vibration threshold value, ” in the context of this claim encompasses the user receiving data and checking if damage has occurred based on certain parameters being out of range.
Likewise, controlling output comprising data indicating the occurrence of damage to the aircraft using an occurrence of damage determined at step (ii) and/or an occurrence of damage determined at step (iv), is a device & process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “A computer-implemented method, first sensor, second sensor, output of a signal, one or more further sensors, third sensor, wherein the signal is output to an output device, the output device being configured to provide, the signal output at step (v) is transmitted only to a memory for storage, , An apparatus, A non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer readable instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause performance of the method, each of the first sensor and the second sensor are selected from a group including a microphone, a phonic wheel, and a vibration sensor, the third sensor is one of a phonic wheel, and a vibration sensor, controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions,” language, “controlling output comprising data indicating the occurrence of damage to the aircraft using an occurrence of damage determined at step (ii) and/or an occurrence of damage determined at step (iv)” in the context of this claim encompasses the user outputting the results of the data indicating there is damage to the aircraft. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements – using “A computer-implemented method, first sensor, second sensor, output of a signal, one or more further sensors, third sensor, wherein the signal is output to an output device, the output device being configured to provide, the signal output at step (v) is transmitted only to a memory for storage, , An apparatus, A non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer readable instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause performance of the method, each of the first sensor and the second sensor are selected from a group including a microphone, a phonic wheel, and a vibration sensor, the third sensor is one of a phonic wheel, and a vibration sensor, controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions,”. The devices are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., device configured to detect damage to an aircraft) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using “A computer-implemented method, first sensor, second sensor, output of a signal, one or more further sensors, third sensor, wherein the signal is output to an output device, the output device being configured to provide, the signal output at step (v) is transmitted only to a memory for storage, An apparatus, A non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer readable instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause performance of the method, each of the first sensor and the second sensor are selected from a group including a microphone, a phonic wheel, and a vibration sensor, the third sensor is one of a phonic wheel, and a vibration sensor, controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions,”, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Similarly for claims 2-3, 5-8, & 11-17, wherein steps (ii) and (iv) are performed sequentially, and step (iv) is performed subsequent to a determination of damage occurrence at step (ii), wherein step (v) is performed subsequent to a determination of damage occurrence at step (iv), determining whether damage has occurred to the aircraft using the determinations of whether damage has occurred at steps (ii) and (iv), steps (ii) and (iv) are performed concurrently, steps (ii) and (iv) are performed sequentially, wherein step (v) is performed subsequent to a determination of damage occurrence at step (vi), the further data comprising values for one or more further parameters of the aircraft, and wherein in step (ii) and/or in step (iv) the determination uses the values of the further data, determining whether damage has occurred to the aircraft using the determination of whether damage has occurred at steps (vi) and (viii), wherein step (v) is performed subsequent to a determination of damage occurrence at step (ix), wherein step (i) and/or step (iii) and/or step (vii) comprise receiving further data, the further data comprising values for one or more further parameters of the aircraft, and wherein in step (ii) and/or in step (iv) and/or in step (viii) the determination uses the values of the further data, wherein the signal comprises data indicating severity of the damage, wherein the signal comprises data indicating a location of the damage on the aircraft, wherein the signal comprises data indicating the effect of damage on performance of the aircraft, provide information indicating the occurrence of damage to the aircraft, is a device that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, “wherein steps (ii) and (iv) are performed sequentially, and step (iv) is performed subsequent to a determination of damage occurrence at step (ii), wherein step (v) is performed subsequent to a determination of damage occurrence at step (iv), determining whether damage has occurred to the aircraft using the determinations of whether damage has occurred at steps (ii) and (iv), steps (ii) and (iv) are performed concurrently, steps (ii) and (iv) are performed sequentially, wherein step (v) is performed subsequent to a determination of damage occurrence at step (vi), the further data comprising values for one or more further parameters of the aircraft, and wherein in step (ii) and/or in step (iv) the determination uses the values of the further data, receiving third data, the third data comprising values for a third parameter of the aircraft; and (viii) determining whether damage has occurred to the aircraft using the values of the third data, determining whether damage has occurred to the aircraft using the determination of whether damage has occurred at steps (vi) and (viii), wherein step (v) is performed subsequent to a determination of damage occurrence at step (ix), wherein step (i) and/or step (iii) and/or step (vii) comprise receiving further data, the further data comprising values for one or more further parameters of the aircraft, and wherein in step (ii) and/or in step (iv) and/or in step (viii) the determination uses the values of the further data, wherein the signal comprises data indicating severity of the damage, wherein the signal comprises data indicating a location of the damage on the aircraft, wherein the signal comprises data indicating the effect of damage on performance of the aircraft, provide information indicating the occurrence of damage to the aircraft,” in the context of this claim encompasses the user receiving data in order or all at once and determining different parameters of damage to the aircraft and outputting that information. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The devices are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., device configured to detect damage of an aircraft) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, & 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9776731B1 (“Lieberman”), in view of US 2003/0007861A1 (“Brooks”), in view of US 2019/0291883A1 (“Atamanov”), in view of US 2017/0363514A1 (“Pilon”).
As per claim 1 Lieberman discloses
A computer-implemented method for determining whether damage has occurred to an aircraft propulsor (see at least Lieberman, col. 2 lines 25-26: Example methods and apparatus disclosed herein sense or detect aircraft surface deformations. & col. 3 lines 1-3: a surface inside an engine (e.g., a surface of a second compressor of an engine), a fan or rotor blade, and/or any other surface of the aircraft 100.), the method comprising:
(i) receiving first data of the propulsor (see at least Lieberman, col. 3 lines 1-3: a surface inside an engine (e.g., a surface of a second compressor of an engine), a fan or rotor blade, and/or any other surface of the aircraft 100. & col. 9 lines 20-65: The first sensor data register 402 receives signals from the first sensor 116 of a respective one of the sensors 114. In some examples, when multiple sensors 114 are monitoring multiple aircraft surfaces 104, the first sensor data register 402 may include a signal identifier to determine a first sensor from which a signal is received by the first sensor data register 402 … More specifically, the first sensor data register 402 converts or conditions the backscattered laser energy signals ( e.g., raw data, data representative of a wavelength, changes in wavelength, etc.) to generate computer processable electronic signals that may be analyzed to detect or determine surface deformation, identify particulate information ( e.g., 60 determine density), determine obscurant measurements, and/or determine other environmental conditions or flight parameters…);
(ii) determining whether the damage has occurred to the aircraft by the first data (see at least Lieberman, col. 10 lines 5-41: the first sensor data evaluator 408 of the illustrated example detects surface deformation, environmental characteristic(s) and/or operating parameters and communicates the information to the alert detector 414… In some examples, the first sensor data evaluator 408 may analyze an intensity of the backscattered energy and/or polarization to determine a change ( e.g., an accretion 40 of material) to the aircraft surface 104 and/or detect environmental condition(s).);
(iii) receiving second data of the aircraft (see at least Lieberman, col. 10 lines 53-58: The second sensor data register 404 receives signals from the second sensor 118 of a respective one of the sensors 114. In some examples, the second sensor data register 404 may include a signal identifier to determine a second sensor from which a signal is received by the second sensor data register 404. & col. 11 lines 15-25: For example, the infrared energy is reflected and received by 15 the receiver 314 of the second sensor 118, which transmits a corresponding signal to the second sensor data register 404. For example, the infrared energy may be reflected from the respective aircraft surface 104 (e.g., the engine inlet 106). In some examples the first sensor data register 402 may include a clock or timer to determine a time differential between two or more signals (e.g., a time differential between two or more signals generated from the backscattered laser energy received by the second sensor data register 404).);
(iv) determining whether damage has occurred to the propulsor by the second data (see at least Lieberman, col. 8 lines 25-36: In the illustrated example, the sensors 114 include a first sensor 114a to monitor a first point cloud 302a defining a first engine inlet 220a, a second sensor 114b to monitor a 30 second point cloud 302b defining a second engine inlet 220b, and a third sensor 114c to monitor a third point cloud 302c defining a third engine inlet 220c. However, in some examples, the sensors (e.g., the sensors 114 of FIG. 1) may be positioned or directed to analyze the rotor blades 216 of 35 the rotor 214, the wings 204, 206, the fuselage 202 and/or any other aircraft surface( s). & col. 11 lines 50-67: To detect deformation, the second sensor data evaluator 410 compares the current data points of the point cloud during a mission with the initial or reference data points of the point cloud obtained prior to the mission flight. In some examples, the second sensor data evaluator 410 detects a change in a detected surface deformation by comparing the data points of the point cloud obtained during a flight over a period of time. Thus, the second sensor data evaluator 410 of the illustrated example can detect accretion of material over a period of time.); and
(v) determining whether damage is determined to have occurred to the propulsor using the determinations of whether damage has occurred at steps (ii) and (iv) (see at least Lieberman, col. 13 lines 1-20: In tum, the change detector 506 processes the information from the model generator 502 to determine deformation of the aircraft surface 104 and communicates the information to the alert detector 414. For example, the change detector 506 retrieves the current reference model from the current reference model database 504 and the base reference model 15 from the reference model database 406. In particular, the change detector 506 compares, via a comparator, the current reference model and the base reference model to detect surface deformation in the aircraft surface 104 monitored by the first sensor 116.);
(vi) receiving third data (see at least Lieberman, Fig. 4 “120” & col. 12 lines 6-13: The alert detector 414 of the illustrated example receives the surface deformation information, aircraft operating parameter(s) and/or environmental condition(s) information from the first sensor data evaluator 408 and the second sensor data evaluator 410, the obscurant measurement information from the obscurant determiner 412, and/or aircraft operating parameter(s) and air data characteristic(s) from the aircraft sensors 120.);
(vii) determining whether damage has occurred to the propulsor by the third data (see at least Lieberman, col. 8 lines 25-36: In the illustrated example, the sensors 114 include a first sensor 114a to monitor a first point cloud 302a defining a first engine inlet 220a, a second sensor 114b to monitor a 30 second point cloud 302b defining a second engine inlet 220b, and a third sensor 114c to monitor a third point cloud 302c defining a third engine inlet 220c. However, in some examples, the sensors (e.g., the sensors 114 of FIG. 1) may be positioned or directed to analyze the rotor blades 216 of 35 the rotor 214, the wings 204, 206, the fuselage 202 and/or any other aircraft surface( s). col. 15 lines 44-55: The data aggregator 606 receives the aircraft surface deformation information, the operating parameters, the environmental conditions, and the obscurant measurement information from the signal filter 604. The alert classifier analyzes ( e.g., via algorithms) the surface deformation information, the operating parameter information, the environmental condition information, and/or the obscurant measurement analyzer to determine a severity of a hazard presented by the detected surface deformation and the likelihood of the operating parameters and/or the environmental conditions impacting aircraft performance or safety.);
(viii) only in response to a determination that damage has occurred to the propulsor in step (v), determining whether damage has occurred to the propulsor using the determination of whether damage has occurred at steps (v) and (vii) (see at least Lieberman, col. 15 lines 44-55: The data aggregator 606 receives the aircraft surface deformation information, the operating parameters, the environmental conditions, and the obscurant measurement information from the signal filter 604. The alert classifier analyzes ( e.g., via algorithms) the surface deformation information, the operating parameter information, the environmental condition information, and/or the obscurant measurement analyzer to determine a severity of a hazard presented by the detected surface deformation and the likelihood of the operating parameters and/or the environmental conditions impacting aircraft performance or safety.);
(ix) outputting a signal to a display on a flight deck of the aircraft during flight indicating the occurrence of the damage to the aircraft when the damage is determined to have to occurred at step (viii) (see at least Lieberman, col. 6 lines 59-66: The surface monitoring system 102 of the illustrated example may provide a warning to the pilot or crew via a user interface or an output device 122. The output device 122 can be located in a cockpit of the aircraft 100. In some examples, the output device 122 may be implemented, for example, by one or more display devices including a crew indicator 124 (e.g., a light emitting diode (LED)), a display 65 126 (e.g., a liquid crystal display), & col. 12 lines 5-35: The alert detector 414 of the illustrated example receives the surface deformation information, aircraft operating parameter(s) and/or environmental condition(s) information from the first sensor data evaluator 408 and the second sensor data evaluator 410, the obscurant measurement information from the obscurant determiner 412, and/or aircraft operating parameter(s) and air data characteristic(s) from the aircraft sensors 120… The alert detector 414 communicates an alert or alarm to the output device 122 of the aircraft 100, the maintainer 130 and/or an electronic engine controller of the engine(s) 132 and/or flight control computer 133. In some examples, the surface monitoring system 102 of the illustrated example may include an alert locator 416 to detect a location of a detected surface deformation. For example, the alert locator 416 may determine or identify the aircraft surfaces 104 with a detected surface deformation and communicates the identified aircraft surfaces 104 to the maintainer 130.).
However Lieberman does not explicitly disclose
receiving first data representing an amplitude of a measured acoustic wave or a frequency spectrum of the measure acoustic wave from a microphone associated with the propulsor;
determining whether the damage has occurred to the aircraft by:
in a case that the first data represents the amplitude of the measured acoustic wave, accessing a memory containing an acoustic threshold value, and comparing the received first data to the accessed acoustic threshold value; and
in a case that the first data represents the frequency spectrum of the measured acoustic wave, accessing the memory containing a predetermined frequency component, and determining whether the frequency spectrum contains the accessed predetermined frequency component;
receiving second data representing a speed value of a shaft of the propulsor from a phonic wheel associated with the shaft of the propulsor;
determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by:
accessing the memory containing a threshold amount and a predetermined period of time; and
determining whether the speed value in the received second data has decreased compared to an earlier speed value by the accessed threshold amount within the accessed predetermined period of time;
receiving third data representing an amplitude of measured vibrations from a vibration sensor associated with the propulsor;
determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by:
accessing the memory containing a vibration threshold value; and
comparing the received third data to the accessed vibration threshold value;
controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions.
Brooks teaches
receiving first data representing an amplitude of a measured acoustic wave or a frequency spectrum of the measure acoustic wave from a microphone associated with the propulsor (see at least Brooks, para. [0068]: A microphone was placed in the fan duct of the gas turbine engine upstream of the fan rotor…The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 0.07pounds per square inch (482 Pa) for a fan rotor with undamaged fan blades, as shown in FIG. 4. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was about 0.1 pounds per square inch (689 Pa).);
determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by (see at least Brooks, para. [0068]: The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 0.07pounds per square inch (482 Pa) for a fan rotor with undamaged fan blades, as shown in FIG. 4. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was about 0.1 pounds per square inch (689 Pa). In a bird ingestion test a number of birds were directed into the inlet of the gas turbine engine and produced damage to one or more fan blades on the fan rotor. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 1.4 pounds per square inch (9653 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was 2.5 pounds per square inch (17236 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6.):
in a case that the first data represents the amplitude of the measured acoustic wave, accessing a memory containing an acoustic threshold value, and comparing the received first data to the accessed acoustic threshold value (see at least Brooks, para. [0068]: The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 0.07pounds per square inch (482 Pa) for a fan rotor with undamaged fan blades, as shown in FIG. 4. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was about 0.1 pounds per square inch (689 Pa). In a bird ingestion test a number of birds were directed into the inlet of the gas turbine engine and produced damage to one or more fan blades on the fan rotor. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 1.4 pounds per square inch (9653 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was 2.5 pounds per square inch (17236 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6.); and
in a case that the first data represents the frequency spectrum of the measured acoustic wave, accessing the memory containing a predetermined frequency component, and determining whether the frequency spectrum contains the accessed predetermined frequency component (see at least Brooks, para. [0068]: The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 0.07pounds per square inch (482 Pa) for a fan rotor with undamaged fan blades, as shown in FIG. 4. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was about 0.1 pounds per square inch (689 Pa). In a bird ingestion test a number of birds were directed into the inlet of the gas turbine engine and produced damage to one or more fan blades on the fan rotor. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 1.4 pounds per square inch (9653 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was 2.5 pounds per square inch (17236 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6.);
receiving second data representing a speed value of a shaft of the propulsor from a phonic wheel associated with the shaft of the propulsor (see at least Brooks, para. [0073]: Each speed sensor 48 comprises for example a phonic wheel 52 on the fan rotor 26 and a variable reluctance speed probe 54 on static structure 56 connected to the fan outlet guide vanes 32….Each speed sensor 48 comprises for example a phonic wheel 52 on the fan rotor 26 and a variable reluctance speed probe 54 on static structure 56 connected to the fan outlet guide vanes 32.);
determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by (see at least Brooks, para. [0074-0075]: The processor unit 40 is arranged to produce a signal indicative of widespread damage to at least one of the fan blades 24 if the difference in pressure is above the predetermined level. The processor unit 40 sends the signal to the indicator device 44 or the indicator device 46 via electrical leads 42. The indicator device 44 is an audible alarm and the indicator device 46 is a visual alarm. The indicator devices 44 and 46 are placed in the aircraft cockpit to warn the pilot that widespread damage has occurred to one or more of the fan blades 24 and that the fan blades 24 require checking, replacing or repairing.):
accessing the memory containing a threshold amount and a predetermined period of time (see at least Brooks, para. [0063]: The processor unit 40 is arranged to differentiate between increases in amplitude of the pressure due to damage to the fan blade 24 and other causes, for example changes in pressure due to altitude. The processor unit 40 is also arranged to differentiate between increases in amplitude of the pressure due to damage to the fan blade 24 and transient events. Transient events comprise for example intake distortion due to crosswind, lightning strike near the aircraft, fan stall, engine surge, bird impact or ice impact which causes no damage to the fan blades 24. In the transient events the amplitude of the pressure returns to normal after a short period of time, thus the processor unit 40 is arranged to indicate damage to the fan blade 24 if the predetermined pressure difference is maintained for a predetermined period of time. Rain or hail may produce an increase in the amplitude of the pressure for longer periods of time. para. [0074-0075]: The processor unit 40 is arranged to produce a signal indicative of widespread damage to at least one of the fan blades 24 if the difference in pressure is above the predetermined level. The processor unit 40 sends the signal to the indicator device 44 or the indicator device 46 via electrical leads 42. The indicator device 44 is an audible alarm and the indicator device 46 is a visual alarm. The indicator devices 44 and 46 are placed in the aircraft cockpit to warn the pilot that widespread damage has occurred to one or more of the fan blades 24 and that the fan blades 24 require checking, replacing or repairing.); and
determining whether the speed value in the received second data has decreased compared to an earlier speed value by the accessed threshold amount within the accessed predetermined period of time (see at least Brooks, para. [0074]: The processor unit 40 is arranged to analyse the signal indicative of the speed of rotation of the fan rotor 26 and fan blade set to determine the rotational frequency of the fan rotor 26. The processor unit 40 is arranged to analyse the pressure signal to determine if the difference in the pressure between the gas flow around at least one of the fan blades 24 and the gas flow around the remainder of the fan blades 24 in the fan blade 24 set is above a predetermined level.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lieberman to incorporate the teaching of receiving first data representing an amplitude of a measured acoustic wave or a frequency spectrum of the measure acoustic wave from a microphone associated with the propulsor; determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by: in a case that the first data represents the amplitude of the measured acoustic wave, accessing a memory containing an acoustic threshold value, and comparing the received first data to the accessed acoustic threshold value; and in a case that the first data represents the frequency spectrum of the measured acoustic wave, accessing the memory containing a predetermined frequency component, and determining whether the frequency spectrum contains the accessed predetermined frequency component; receiving second data representing a speed value of a shaft of the propulsor from a phonic wheel associated with the shaft of the propulsor; determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by: accessing the memory containing a threshold amount and a predetermined period of time; and determining whether the speed value in the received second data has decreased compared to an earlier speed value by the accessed threshold amount within the accessed predetermined period of time; of Brooks, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect widespread damage to a gas turbine engine blade or a gas turbine engine vane before it causes failures (see at least Brooks, para. [0004]).
Atamanov teaches
receiving third data representing an amplitude of measured vibrations from a vibration sensor associated with the propulsor (see at least Atamanov, para. [0031]: Vibration sensors for detecting motor vibration. & para. [0045]: For example, it may only send a signal when the setpoint is reached. Other sensors may provide continual readings of condition, say vibration frequency. In those cases, a setpoint may be stored in memory for access by program control software.); and
determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by (see at least Atamanov, para. [0049]: At the step 212 threshold parameters are set for the sensors. These threshold parameters include values which are forerunners of any emergency or abnormal situations that may arise in flight. For example, and without limitation, a vibration sensor's setpoint may be set for a specific frequency, displacement, or velocity. Exceeding these setpoints may be indicative of a failure in one of the systems. The setpoint may be set on the sensors itself, or programmed into memory for access by the on-board flight processor. Setting threshold parameters may occur before or during flight if dynamic parameters setting is used.):
accessing the memory containing a vibration threshold value; and comparing the received third data to the accessed vibration threshold value (see at least Atamanov, para. [0040]: For example, and without limitation, since vibration is to be expected during flight, the sensor may be pre-adjusted to only indicate when the vibration exceeds a certain setpoint.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lieberman to incorporate the teaching of receiving third data representing an amplitude of measured vibrations from a vibration sensor associated with the propulsor; determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by, accessing the memory containing a vibration threshold value; and comparing the received third data to the accessed vibration threshold value of Atamanov,with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect widespread damage to a gas turbine engine blade or a gas turbine engine vane before it causes failures (see at least Brooks, para. [0004]).
Pilon teaches
outputting a signal to a display on a flight deck of the aircraft during flight indicating the occurrence of the damage to the propulsor when the damage is determined to have to occurred, and controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions (see at least Pilon, para. [0041-0044]: The output signal of the logic implemented by the monitoring device 50 for the engine 1 is a state signal S_Sev damage(1) of the engine 1 which is indicative, when set to 1, of a situation of severe damage of the engine 1. The signal S_Sev Damage(1) is the output of a logic AND gate 230receiving at its inputs the signal S_Fail (1) and a signal S_Pb (1), the signal S_Pb (1) being the output of a logic OR gate 220 receiving as its inputs the signal S_Aircraft (1) and the signal S_Eng (1)….The signal S_Sev damage(1) is thus set to 1 when the central processing unit 10 detects a loss of power of the engine 1 and when the central processing unit 10 or the diagnostic unit 40 transmits an alarm on one of the monitored parameters. When the signal S_Sev damage(1) is set to 1, the monitoring device 50 sends a command signal (instructions) to the display screen 80 so that the latter indicates, via a message, that the engine 1 has suffered severe damage….It will be noted that the same logic, with modification of the indicative of the engine, is implemented for the engine 2, even though this has not been shown. Thanks to the invention, the pilots can, by reading a single message, and no longer a plurality of successive messages, rapidly appreciate the situation of an engine 1, 2 when a loss of power occurs and quickly make a decision with regard to shutting down the engine or not.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lieberman to incorporate the teaching of outputting a signal to a display on a flight deck of the aircraft during flight indicating the occurrence of the damage to the propulsor when the damage is determined to have to occurred, and controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions of Pilon,with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide improved assistance in the process of deciding whether or not to shut down an engine (see at least Pilon, para. [0004]).
As per claim 2 Lieberman discloses
wherein steps (ii) and (iv) are performed sequentially, and step (iv) is performed subsequent to a determination of damage occurrence at step (ii) (see at least Lieberman, Fig. 4 & col. 10 lines 5-41: In some examples, the first sensor data evaluator 408 may analyze an intensity of the backscattered energy and/or polarization to determine a change ( e.g., an accretion 40 of material) to the aircraft surface 104 and/or detect environmental condition(s) col. 11 lines 50-67: To detect deformation, the second sensor data evaluator 410 compares the current data points of the point cloud during a mission with the initial or reference data points of the point cloud obtained prior to the mission flight. In some examples, the second sensor data evaluator 410 detects a change in a detected surface deformation by comparing the data points of the point cloud obtained during a flight over a period of time. Thus, the second sensor data evaluator 410 of the illustrated example can detect accretion of material over a period of time. [Examiner Note: It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that that step (ii) occurs first and then step (iv) occurs after.]).
As per claim 3 Lieberman discloses
wherein step (v) is performed subsequent to a determination of damage occurrence at step (iv) (see at least Lieberman, col. 12 lines 5-35: The alert detector 414 of the illustrated example receives the surface deformation information, aircraft operating parameter(s) and/or environmental condition(s) information from the first sensor data evaluator 408 and the second sensor data evaluator 410, the obscurant measurement information from the obscurant determiner 412, and/or aircraft operating parameter(s) and air data characteristic(s) from the aircraft sensors 120… [Examiner Note: It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that that step (v) occurs after the sensor reading of steps (ii) and (iv).]).
As per claim 5 Lieberman discloses
wherein steps (ii) and (iv) are performed concurrently (see at least Lieberman, col. 12 lines 6-15: The alert detector 414 of the illustrated example receives the surface deformation information, aircraft operating parameter(s) and/or environmental condition(s) information from the first sensor data evaluator 408 and the second sensor data evaluator 410, the obscurant measurement information from the obscurant determiner 412, and/or aircraft operating parameter(s) and air data characteristic(s) from the aircraft sensors 120.).
As per claim 6 Lieberman discloses
wherein steps (ii) and (iv) are performed sequentially (see at least Lieberman, Fig. 4 & col. 10 lines 5-41: In some examples, the first sensor data evaluator 408 may analyze an intensity of the backscattered energy and/or polarization to determine a change ( e.g., an accretion 40 of material) to the aircraft surface 104 and/or detect environmental condition(s) col. 11 lines 50-67: To detect deformation, the second sensor data evaluator 410 compares the current data points of the point cloud during a mission with the initial or reference data points of the point cloud obtained prior to the mission flight. In some examples, the second sensor data evaluator 410 detects a change in a detected surface deformation by comparing the data points of the point cloud obtained during a flight over a period of time. Thus, the second sensor data evaluator 410 of the illustrated example can detect accretion of material over a period of time. [Examiner Note: It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that that step (ii) occurs first and then step (iv) occurs after.]).
As per claim 7 Lieberman discloses
wherein step (v) is performed subsequent to the determination of the damage occurrence at step (vii) (see at least Lieberman, col. 12 lines 5-35: The alert detector 414 of the illustrated example receives the surface deformation information, aircraft operating parameter(s) and/or environmental condition(s) information from the first sensor data evaluator 408 and the second sensor data evaluator 410, the obscurant measurement information from the obscurant determiner 412, and/or aircraft operating parameter(s) and air data characteristic(s) from the aircraft sensors 120… col. 13 lines 1-20: In tum, the change detector 506 processes the information from the model generator 502 to determine deformation of the aircraft surface 104 and communicates the information to the alert detector 414. For example, the change detector 506 retrieves the current reference model from the current reference model database 504 and the base reference model 15 from the reference model database 406. In particular, the change detector 506 compares, via a comparator, the current reference model and the base reference model to detect surface deformation in the aircraft surface 104 monitored by the first sensor 116.).
As per claim 8 Lieberman discloses
wherein step (i) or step (iii) comprises receiving further data from one or more further sensors, the further data comprising values for one or more further parameters of the aircraft, and wherein in step (ii) and/or in step (iv) the determination uses the values of the further data (see at least Lieberman, Fig. 4 “120” & col. 12 lines 6-13: The alert detector 414 of the illustrated example receives the surface deformation information, aircraft operating parameter(s) and/or environmental condition(s) information from the first sensor data evaluator 408 and the second sensor data evaluator 410, the obscurant measurement information from the obscurant determiner 412, and/or aircraft operating parameter(s) and air data characteristic(s) from the aircraft sensors 120.).
As per claim 11 Lieberman discloses
wherein step (vii) is performed subsequent to a determination of damage occurrence at step (v) (see at least Lieberman, col. 15 lines 44-55: The data aggregator 606 receives the aircraft surface deformation information, the operating parameters, the environmental conditions, and the obscurant measurement information from the signal filter 604. The alert classifier analyzes ( e.g., via algorithms) the surface deformation information, the operating parameter information, the environmental condition information, and/or the obscurant measurement analyzer to determine a severity of a hazard presented by the detected surface deformation and the likelihood of the operating parameters and/or the environmental conditions impacting aircraft performance or safety.).
As per claim 12 Lieberman discloses
wherein at least one of step (i), step (iii) and step (vi) comprises receiving further data from one or more further sensors, the further data comprising values for one or more further parameters of the aircraft (see at least Lieberman, Fig. 4 “120” & col. 12 lines 6-13: The alert detector 414 of the illustrated example receives the surface deformation information, aircraft operating parameter(s) and/or environmental condition(s) information from the first sensor data evaluator 408 and the second sensor data evaluator 410, the obscurant measurement information from the obscurant determiner 412, and/or aircraft operating parameter(s) and air data characteristic(s) from the aircraft sensors 120.), and
wherein in at least one of step (ii), step (iv) and step (viii) the determination of the damage uses the values of the further data (see at least Lieberman, col. 15 lines 44-55: The data aggregator 606 receives the aircraft surface deformation information, the operating parameters, the environmental conditions, and the obscurant measurement information from the signal filter 604. The alert classifier analyzes ( e.g., via algorithms) the surface deformation information, the operating parameter information, the environmental condition information, and/or the obscurant measurement analyzer to determine a severity of a hazard presented by the detected surface deformation and the likelihood of the operating parameters and/or the environmental conditions impacting aircraft performance or safety.).
As per claim 13 Lieberman discloses
wherein the signal comprises data indicating severity of the damage (see at least Lieberman, col. 12 lines 19-26: In some examples, the example alert detector 414 disclosed herein may determine or classify a severity of a detected surface deformation in view of one or more parameters (e.g., surface deformation characteristic(s), environmental data, aircraft state or operating parameters, etc.) to determine the likelihood of the detected surface deformation impacting aircraft performance and/or safety.).
As per claim 14 Lieberman discloses
wherein the signal comprises data indicating a location of the damage on the aircraft (see at least Lieberman, col. 12 lines 27-32: The alert detector 414 communicates an alert or alarm to the output device 122 of the aircraft 100, the maintainer 130 and/or an electronic engine controller of the engine(s) 132 and/or flight control computer 133. In some examples, the surface monitoring system 102 of the illustrated example may include an alert locator 416 to detect a location of a detected surface deformation.).
As per claim 15 Lieberman discloses
wherein the signal comprises data indicating an effect of the damage on performance of the aircraft (see at least Lieberman, col. 5 lines 23-30: Thus, in some instances, the example surface monitoring system 102 verifies if a detected deformation (e.g., particulate buildup or surface damage) of the aircraft surfaces 104 requires a notification to the pilot based on detected or predicted hazardous environmental flight conditions. Such validation of the aircraft surface condition(s) and/or the environmental conditions reduces false or improper notifications.).
As per claim 16 Lieberman discloses
wherein the signal is output to an output device, the output device being configured to provide information indicating the occurrence of the damage to the aircraft (see at least Lieberman, col. 12 lines 27-35: The alert detector 414 communicates an alert or alarm to the output device 122 of the aircraft 100, the maintainer 130 and/or an electronic engine controller of the engine(s) 132 and/or flight control computer 133. In some examples, the surface monitoring system 102 of the illustrated example may include an alert locator 416 to detect a location of a detected surface deformation.).
As per claim 17 Lieberman discloses
wherein if the occurrence of the damage is determined only at step (ii) or only at step (iv), the damage determination at step (v) is transmitted only to a memory for storage, or to a remote health monitoring facility, and is not transmitted to an output device of the aircraft (see at least Lieberman, col. 6 lines 16-20: Additionally or alternatively, the surface monitoring system 102 provides surface deformation information to a flight data recorder 128 and/or to a maintainer 130 via a dedicated display, or display page on an MFD, or memory storage device.).
As per claim 18 Lieberman discloses
An apparatus for determining whether damage has occurred to a propulsor of an aircraft, the apparatus comprising (see at least Lieberman, col. 3 lines 1-3: a surface inside an engine (e.g., a surface of a second compressor of an engine), a fan or rotor blade, and/or any other surface of the aircraft 100. col. 3 lines 47-50: In some examples, the sensors 114 of the illustrated example may provide air data or flight condition information to the surface monitoring system 102 and/or an engine control system (e.g., a Full Authority Digital Engine Controller (FADEC)) of the aircraft 100.):
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing one or more computer programs including computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to (see at least Lieberman, col. 19 lines 20-35: As used herein, the term 20 tangible computer readable storage medium is expressly defined to include any type of computer readable storage device and/or storage disk and to exclude propagating signals and to exclude transmission media.):
(i) receive first data of the propulsor (see at least Lieberman, col. 3 lines 1-3: a surface inside an engine (e.g., a surface of a second compressor of an engine), a fan or rotor blade, and/or any other surface of the aircraft 100. col. 9 lines 20-65: The first sensor data register 402 receives signals from the first sensor 116 of a respective one of the sensors 114. In some examples, when multiple sensors 114 are monitoring multiple aircraft surfaces 104, the first sensor data register 402 may include a signal identifier to determine a first sensor from which a signal is received by the first sensor data register 402 … More specifically, the first sensor data register 402 converts or conditions the backscattered laser energy signals ( e.g., raw data, data representative of a wavelength, changes in wavelength, etc.) to generate computer processable electronic signals that may be analyzed to detect or determine surface deformation, identify particulate information ( e.g., 60 determine density), determine obscurant measurements, and/or determine other environmental conditions or flight parameters…);
(ii) determine whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by the first data (see at least Lieberman, col. 10 lines 5-41: the first sensor data evaluator 408 of the illustrated example detects surface deformation, environmental characteristic(s) and/or operating parameters and communicates the information to the alert detector 414… In some examples, the first sensor data evaluator 408 may analyze an intensity of the backscattered energy and/or polarization to determine a change ( e.g., an accretion 40 of material) to the aircraft surface 104 and/or detect environmental condition(s).);
(iii) receive second data of the propulsor (see at least Lieberman, col. 10 lines 53-58: The second sensor data register 404 receives signals from the second sensor 118 of a respective one of the sensors 114. In some examples, the second sensor data register 404 may include a signal identifier to determine a second sensor from which a signal is received by the second sensor data register 404. & col. 11 lines 15-25: For example, the infrared energy is reflected and received by 15 the receiver 314 of the second sensor 118, which transmits a corresponding signal to the second sensor data register 404. For example, the infrared energy may be reflected from the respective aircraft surface 104 (e.g., the engine inlet 106). In some examples the first sensor data register 402 may include a clock or timer to determine a time differential between two or more signals (e.g., a time differential between two or more signals generated from the backscattered laser energy received by the second sensor data register 404).);
(iv) determine whether damage has occurred to the propulsor by the second data (see at least Lieberman, col. 11 lines 50-67: To detect deformation, the second sensor data evaluator 410 compares the current data points of the point cloud during a mission with the initial or reference data points of the point cloud obtained prior to the mission flight. In some examples, the second sensor data evaluator 410 detects a change in a detected surface deformation by comparing the data points of the point cloud obtained during a flight over a period of time. Thus, the second sensor data evaluator 410 of the illustrated example can detect accretion of material over a period of time.); and
(v) determine whether damage is determined to have occurred to the propulsor using the determinations of whether damage has occurred at steps (ii) and (iv) (see at least Lieberman, col. 13 lines 1-20: In tum, the change detector 506 processes the information from the model generator 502 to determine deformation of the aircraft surface 104 and communicates the information to the alert detector 414. For example, the change detector 506 retrieves the current reference model from the current reference model database 504 and the base reference model 15 from the reference model database 406. In particular, the change detector 506 compares, via a comparator, the current reference model and the base reference model to detect surface deformation in the aircraft surface 104 monitored by the first sensor 116.);
(vi) receive third data (see at least Lieberman, Fig. 4 “120” & col. 12 lines 6-13: The alert detector 414 of the illustrated example receives the surface deformation information, aircraft operating parameter(s) and/or environmental condition(s) information from the first sensor data evaluator 408 and the second sensor data evaluator 410, the obscurant measurement information from the obscurant determiner 412, and/or aircraft operating parameter(s) and air data characteristic(s) from the aircraft sensors 120.);
(vii) determine whether damage has occurred to the propulsor by the third data (see at least Lieberman, col. 8 lines 25-36: In the illustrated example, the sensors 114 include a first sensor 114a to monitor a first point cloud 302a defining a first engine inlet 220a, a second sensor 114b to monitor a 30 second point cloud 302b defining a second engine inlet 220b, and a third sensor 114c to monitor a third point cloud 302c defining a third engine inlet 220c. However, in some examples, the sensors (e.g., the sensors 114 of FIG. 1) may be positioned or directed to analyze the rotor blades 216 of 35 the rotor 214, the wings 204, 206, the fuselage 202 and/or any other aircraft surface( s). & col. 15 lines 44-55: The data aggregator 606 receives the aircraft surface deformation information, the operating parameters, the environmental conditions, and the obscurant measurement information from the signal filter 604. The alert classifier analyzes ( e.g., via algorithms) the surface deformation information, the operating parameter information, the environmental condition information, and/or the obscurant measurement analyzer to determine a severity of a hazard presented by the detected surface deformation and the likelihood of the operating parameters and/or the environmental conditions impacting aircraft performance or safety.);
(viii) only in response to a determination that damage has occurred to the propulsor in step (v), determine whether damage has occurred to the propulsor using the determination of whether damage has occurred at steps (v) and (vii) (see at least Lieberman, col. 15 lines 44-55: The data aggregator 606 receives the aircraft surface deformation information, the operating parameters, the environmental conditions, and the obscurant measurement information from the signal filter 604. The alert classifier analyzes ( e.g., via algorithms) the surface deformation information, the operating parameter information, the environmental condition information, and/or the obscurant measurement analyzer to determine a severity of a hazard presented by the detected surface deformation and the likelihood of the operating parameters and/or the environmental conditions impacting aircraft performance or safety.);
(ix) output a signal to a display on a flight deck of the aircraft during flight indicating the occurrence of the damage to the aircraft when the damage is determined to have to occurred at step (viii) (see at least Lieberman, col. 6 lines 59-66: The surface monitoring system 102 of the illustrated example may provide a warning to the pilot or crew via a user interface or an output device 122. The output device 122 can be located in a cockpit of the aircraft 100. In some examples, the output device 122 may be implemented, for example, by one or more display devices including a crew indicator 124 (e.g., a light emitting diode (LED)), a display 65 126 (e.g., a liquid crystal display), col. 12 lines 5-35: The alert detector 414 of the illustrated example receives the surface deformation information, aircraft operating parameter(s) and/or environmental condition(s) information from the first sensor data evaluator 408 and the second sensor data evaluator 410, the obscurant measurement information from the obscurant determiner 412, and/or aircraft operating parameter(s) and air data characteristic(s) from the aircraft sensors 120… The alert detector 414 communicates an alert or alarm to the output device 122 of the aircraft 100, the maintainer 130 and/or an electronic engine controller of the engine(s) 132 and/or flight control computer 133. In some examples, the surface monitoring system 102 of the illustrated example may include an alert locator 416 to detect a location of a detected surface deformation. For example, the alert locator 416 may determine or identify the aircraft surfaces 104 with a detected surface deformation and communicates the identified aircraft surfaces 104 to the maintainer 130.).
However Lieberman does not explicitly disclose
receive first data representing an amplitude of a measured acoustic wave or a frequency spectrum of the measure acoustic wave from a microphone associated with the propulsor;
determine whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by:
in a case that the first data represents the amplitude of the measured acoustic wave, accessing a memory containing an acoustic threshold value, and comparing the received first data to the accessed acoustic threshold value; and
in a case that the first data represents the frequency spectrum of the measured acoustic wave, accessing the memory containing a predetermined frequency component, and determining whether the frequency spectrum contains the accessed predetermined frequency component;
receive second data representing a speed value of a shaft of the propulsor from a phonic wheel associated with the shaft of the propulsor;
determine whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by:
accessing the memory containing a threshold amount and a predetermined period of time; and
determining whether the speed value in the received second data has decreased compared to an earlier speed value by the accessed threshold amount within the accessed predetermined period of time;
receive third data representing an amplitude of measured vibrations from a vibration sensor associated with the propulsor;
determine whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by:
accessing the memory containing a vibration threshold value; and
comparing the received third data to the accessed vibration threshold value;
controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions
Brooks teaches
receive first data representing an amplitude of a measured acoustic wave or a frequency spectrum of the measure acoustic wave from a microphone associated with a propulsor (see at least Brooks, para. [0068]: A microphone was placed in the fan duct of the gas turbine engine upstream of the fan rotor…The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 0.07pounds per square inch (482 Pa) for a fan rotor with undamaged fan blades, as shown in FIG. 4. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was about 0.1 pounds per square inch (689 Pa).);
determine whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by (see at least Brooks, para. [0068]: The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 0.07pounds per square inch (482 Pa) for a fan rotor with undamaged fan blades, as shown in FIG. 4. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was about 0.1 pounds per square inch (689 Pa). In a bird ingestion test a number of birds were directed into the inlet of the gas turbine engine and produced damage to one or more fan blades on the fan rotor. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 1.4 pounds per square inch (9653 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was 2.5 pounds per square inch (17236 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6.):
in a case that the first data represents the amplitude of the measured acoustic wave, accessing a memory containing an acoustic threshold value, and comparing the received first data to the accessed acoustic threshold value (see at least Brooks, para. [0068]: The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 0.07pounds per square inch (482 Pa) for a fan rotor with undamaged fan blades, as shown in FIG. 4. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was about 0.1 pounds per square inch (689 Pa). In a bird ingestion test a number of birds were directed into the inlet of the gas turbine engine and produced damage to one or more fan blades on the fan rotor. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 1.4 pounds per square inch (9653 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was 2.5 pounds per square inch (17236 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6.); and
in a case that the first data represents the frequency spectrum of the measured acoustic wave, accessing the memory containing a predetermined frequency component, and determining whether the frequency spectrum contains the accessed predetermined frequency component (see at least Brooks, para. [0068]: The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 0.07pounds per square inch (482 Pa) for a fan rotor with undamaged fan blades, as shown in FIG. 4. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was about 0.1 pounds per square inch (689 Pa). In a bird ingestion test a number of birds were directed into the inlet of the gas turbine engine and produced damage to one or more fan blades on the fan rotor. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 1.4 pounds per square inch (9653 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was 2.5 pounds per square inch (17236 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6.);
receive second data representing a speed value of a shaft of the propulsor from a phonic wheel associated with the shaft of the propulsor (see at least Brooks, para. [0073]: Each speed sensor 48 comprises for example a phonic wheel 52 on the fan rotor 26 and a variable reluctance speed probe 54 on static structure 56 connected to the fan outlet guide vanes 32….Each speed sensor 48 comprises for example a phonic wheel 52 on the fan rotor 26 and a variable reluctance speed probe 54 on static structure 56 connected to the fan outlet guide vanes 32.);
determine whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by (see at least Brooks, para. [0074-0075]: The processor unit 40 is arranged to produce a signal indicative of widespread damage to at least one of the fan blades 24 if the difference in pressure is above the predetermined level. The processor unit 40 sends the signal to the indicator device 44 or the indicator device 46 via electrical leads 42. The indicator device 44 is an audible alarm and the indicator device 46 is a visual alarm. The indicator devices 44 and 46 are placed in the aircraft cockpit to warn the pilot that widespread damage has occurred to one or more of the fan blades 24 and that the fan blades 24 require checking, replacing or repairing.):
accessing the memory containing a threshold amount and a predetermined period of time (see at least Brooks, para. [0063]: The processor unit 40 is arranged to differentiate between increases in amplitude of the pressure due to damage to the fan blade 24 and other causes, for example changes in pressure due to altitude. The processor unit 40 is also arranged to differentiate between increases in amplitude of the pressure due to damage to the fan blade 24 and transient events. Transient events comprise for example intake distortion due to crosswind, lightning strike near the aircraft, fan stall, engine surge, bird impact or ice impact which causes no damage to the fan blades 24. In the transient events the amplitude of the pressure returns to normal after a short period of time, thus the processor unit 40 is arranged to indicate damage to the fan blade 24 if the predetermined pressure difference is maintained for a predetermined period of time. Rain or hail may produce an increase in the amplitude of the pressure for longer periods of time. para. [0074-0075]: The processor unit 40 is arranged to produce a signal indicative of widespread damage to at least one of the fan blades 24 if the difference in pressure is above the predetermined level. The processor unit 40 sends the signal to the indicator device 44 or the indicator device 46 via electrical leads 42. The indicator device 44 is an audible alarm and the indicator device 46 is a visual alarm. The indicator devices 44 and 46 are placed in the aircraft cockpit to warn the pilot that widespread damage has occurred to one or more of the fan blades 24 and that the fan blades 24 require checking, replacing or repairing.); and
determining whether the speed value in the received second data has decreased compared to an earlier speed value by the accessed threshold amount within the accessed predetermined period of time (see at least Brooks, para. [0074]: The processor unit 40 is arranged to analyse the signal indicative of the speed of rotation of the fan rotor 26 and fan blade set to determine the rotational frequency of the fan rotor 26. The processor unit 40 is arranged to analyse the pressure signal to determine if the difference in the pressure between the gas flow around at least one of the fan blades 24 and the gas flow around the remainder of the fan blades 24 in the fan blade 24 set is above a predetermined level.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lieberman to incorporate the teaching of receive first data representing an amplitude of a measured acoustic wave or a frequency spectrum of the measure acoustic wave from a microphone associated with a propulsor of the propulsor; determine whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by: in a case that the first data represents the amplitude of the measured acoustic wave, accessing a memory containing an acoustic threshold value, and comparing the received first data to the accessed acoustic threshold value; and in a case that the first data represents the frequency spectrum of the measured acoustic wave, accessing the memory containing a predetermined frequency component, and determining whether the frequency spectrum contains the accessed predetermined frequency component; receive second data representing a speed value of a shaft of the propulsor from a phonic wheel associated with the shaft of the propulsor; determine whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by: accessing the memory containing a threshold amount and a predetermined period of time; and determining whether the speed value in the received second data has decreased compared to an earlier speed value by the accessed threshold amount within the accessed predetermined period of time; Brooks, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect widespread damage to a gas turbine engine blade or a gas turbine engine vane before it causes failures (see at least Brooks, para. [0004]).
Atamanov teaches
receive third data representing an amplitude of measured vibrations from a vibration sensor associated with the propulsor (see at least Atamanov, para. [0031]: Vibration sensors for detecting motor vibration. & para. [0045]: For example, it may only send a signal when the setpoint is reached. Other sensors may provide continual readings of condition, say vibration frequency. In those cases, a setpoint may be stored in memory for access by program control software.); and
determine whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by (see at least Atamanov, para. [0049]: At the step 212 threshold parameters are set for the sensors. These threshold parameters include values which are forerunners of any emergency or abnormal situations that may arise in flight. For example, and without limitation, a vibration sensor's setpoint may be set for a specific frequency, displacement, or velocity. Exceeding these setpoints may be indicative of a failure in one of the systems. The setpoint may be set on the sensors itself, or programmed into memory for access by the on-board flight processor. Setting threshold parameters may occur before or during flight if dynamic parameters setting is used.):
accessing the memory containing a vibration threshold value; and comparing the received third data to the accessed vibration threshold value (see at least Atamanov, para. [0040]: For example, and without limitation, since vibration is to be expected during flight, the sensor may be pre-adjusted to only indicate when the vibration exceeds a certain setpoint.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lieberman to incorporate the teaching of receive third data representing an amplitude of measured vibrations from a vibration sensor associated with the propulsor; determine whether the damage has occurred to the aircraft by, accessing the memory containing a vibration threshold value; and comparing the received third data to the accessed vibration threshold value of Atamanov,with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect widespread damage to a gas turbine engine blade or a gas turbine engine vane before it causes failures (see at least Brooks, para. [0004]).
Pilon teaches
output a signal to a display on a flight deck of the aircraft during flight indicating the occurrence of the damage to the propulsor when the damage is determined to have to occurred, and controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions (see at least Pilon, para. [0041-0044]: The output signal of the logic implemented by the monitoring device 50 for the engine 1 is a state signal S_Sev damage(1) of the engine 1 which is indicative, when set to 1, of a situation of severe damage of the engine 1. The signal S_Sev Damage(1) is the output of a logic AND gate 230receiving at its inputs the signal S_Fail (1) and a signal S_Pb (1), the signal S_Pb (1) being the output of a logic OR gate 220 receiving as its inputs the signal S_Aircraft (1) and the signal S_Eng (1)….The signal S_Sev damage(1) is thus set to 1 when the central processing unit 10 detects a loss of power of the engine 1 and when the central processing unit 10 or the diagnostic unit 40 transmits an alarm on one of the monitored parameters. When the signal S_Sev damage(1) is set to 1, the monitoring device 50 sends a command signal (instructions) to the display screen 80 so that the latter indicates, via a message, that the engine 1 has suffered severe damage….It will be noted that the same logic, with modification of the indicative of the engine, is implemented for the engine 2, even though this has not been shown. Thanks to the invention, the pilots can, by reading a single message, and no longer a plurality of successive messages, rapidly appreciate the situation of an engine 1, 2 when a loss of power occurs and quickly make a decision with regard to shutting down the engine or not.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lieberman to incorporate the teaching of outputting a signal to a display on a flight deck of the aircraft during flight indicating the occurrence of the damage to the propulsor when the damage is determined to have to occurred, and controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions of Pilon,with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide improved assistance in the process of deciding whether or not to shut down an engine (see at least Pilon, para. [0004]).
As per claim 19 Lieberman discloses
An aircraft comprising the apparatus as claimed in claim 18 (see at least Lieberman, col. 2 lines 45-48: FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example aircraft 100 implemented with an example surface monitoring system 102 constructed in accordance with the teachings of this disclosure.).
As per claim 20 Lieberman discloses
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer readable instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause performance of a method for determining whether damage has occurred to a propulsor of an aircraft (see at least Lieberman, col. 3 lines 1-3: a surface inside an engine (e.g., a surface of a second compressor of an engine), a fan or rotor blade, and/or any other surface of the aircraft 100. & col. 19 lines 20-35: As used herein, the term 20 tangible computer readable storage medium is expressly defined to include any type of computer readable storage device and/or storage disk and to exclude propagating signals and to exclude transmission media.), the method comprising:
(i) receiving first data of the propulsor (see at least Lieberman, col. 3 lines 1-3: a surface inside an engine (e.g., a surface of a second compressor of an engine), a fan or rotor blade, and/or any other surface of the aircraft 100. & col. 9 lines 20-65: The first sensor data register 402 receives signals from the first sensor 116 of a respective one of the sensors 114. In some examples, when multiple sensors 114 are monitoring multiple aircraft surfaces 104, the first sensor data register 402 may include a signal identifier to determine a first sensor from which a signal is received by the first sensor data register 402 … More specifically, the first sensor data register 402 converts or conditions the backscattered laser energy signals ( e.g., raw data, data representative of a wavelength, changes in wavelength, etc.) to generate computer processable electronic signals that may be analyzed to detect or determine surface deformation, identify particulate information ( e.g., 60 determine density), determine obscurant measurements, and/or determine other environmental conditions or flight parameters…);
(ii) determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by the first data (see at least Lieberman, col. 10 lines 5-41: the first sensor data evaluator 408 of the illustrated example detects surface deformation, environmental characteristic(s) and/or operating parameters and communicates the information to the alert detector 414… In some examples, the first sensor data evaluator 408 may analyze an intensity of the backscattered energy and/or polarization to determine a change ( e.g., an accretion 40 of material) to the aircraft surface 104 and/or detect environmental condition(s).);
(iii) receiving second data of the propulsor (see at least Lieberman, col. 10 lines 53-58: The second sensor data register 404 receives signals from the second sensor 118 of a respective one of the sensors 114. In some examples, the second sensor data register 404 may include a signal identifier to determine a second sensor from which a signal is received by the second sensor data register 404. & col. 11 lines 15-25: For example, the infrared energy is reflected and received by 15 the receiver 314 of the second sensor 118, which transmits a corresponding signal to the second sensor data register 404. For example, the infrared energy may be reflected from the respective aircraft surface 104 (e.g., the engine inlet 106). In some examples the first sensor data register 402 may include a clock or timer to determine a time differential between two or more signals (e.g., a time differential between two or more signals generated from the backscattered laser energy received by the second sensor data register 404).);
(iv) determining whether damage has occurred to the propulsor by the second data (see at least Lieberman, col. 11 lines 50-67: To detect deformation, the second sensor data evaluator 410 compares the current data points of the point cloud during a mission with the initial or reference data points of the point cloud obtained prior to the mission flight. In some examples, the second sensor data evaluator 410 detects a change in a detected surface deformation by comparing the data points of the point cloud obtained during a flight over a period of time. Thus, the second sensor data evaluator 410 of the illustrated example can detect accretion of material over a period of time.); and
(v) determining whether damage has occurred to the aircraft using the determinations of whether damage has occurred at steps (ii) and (iv) (see at least Lieberman, col. 8 lines 25-36: In the illustrated example, the sensors 114 include a first sensor 114a to monitor a first point cloud 302a defining a first engine inlet 220a, a second sensor 114b to monitor a 30 second point cloud 302b defining a second engine inlet 220b, and a third sensor 114c to monitor a third point cloud 302c defining a third engine inlet 220c. However, in some examples, the sensors (e.g., the sensors 114 of FIG. 1) may be positioned or directed to analyze the rotor blades 216 of 35 the rotor 214, the wings 204, 206, the fuselage 202 and/or any other aircraft surface( s). & col. 13 lines 1-20: In tum, the change detector 506 processes the information from the model generator 502 to determine deformation of the aircraft surface 104 and communicates the information to the alert detector 414. For example, the change detector 506 retrieves the current reference model from the current reference model database 504 and the base reference model 15 from the reference model database 406. In particular, the change detector 506 compares, via a comparator, the current reference model and the base reference model to detect surface deformation in the aircraft surface 104 monitored by the first sensor 116.);
(vi) receiving third data (see at least Lieberman, Fig. 4 “120” & col. 12 lines 6-13: The alert detector 414 of the illustrated example receives the surface deformation information, aircraft operating parameter(s) and/or environmental condition(s) information from the first sensor data evaluator 408 and the second sensor data evaluator 410, the obscurant measurement information from the obscurant determiner 412, and/or aircraft operating parameter(s) and air data characteristic(s) from the aircraft sensors 120.);
(vii) determining whether damage has occurred to the propulsor by the third data (see at least Lieberman, col. 15 lines 44-55: The data aggregator 606 receives the aircraft surface deformation information, the operating parameters, the environmental conditions, and the obscurant measurement information from the signal filter 604. The alert classifier analyzes ( e.g., via algorithms) the surface deformation information, the operating parameter information, the environmental condition information, and/or the obscurant measurement analyzer to determine a severity of a hazard presented by the detected surface deformation and the likelihood of the operating parameters and/or the environmental conditions impacting aircraft performance or safety.);
(viii) only in response to a determination that damage has occurred to the propulsor in step (v), determining whether damage has occurred to the propulsor using the determination of whether damage has occurred at steps (v) and (vii) (see at least Lieberman, col. 15 lines 44-55: The data aggregator 606 receives the aircraft surface deformation information, the operating parameters, the environmental conditions, and the obscurant measurement information from the signal filter 604. The alert classifier analyzes ( e.g., via algorithms) the surface deformation information, the operating parameter information, the environmental condition information, and/or the obscurant measurement analyzer to determine a severity of a hazard presented by the detected surface deformation and the likelihood of the operating parameters and/or the environmental conditions impacting aircraft performance or safety.);
(ix) outputting a signal to a display on a flight deck of the aircraft during flight indicating the occurrence of the damage to the aircraft when the damage is determined to have to occurred at step (viii) (see at least Lieberman, col. 6 lines 59-66: The surface monitoring system 102 of the illustrated example may provide a warning to the pilot or crew via a user interface or an output device 122. The output device 122 can be located in a cockpit of the aircraft 100. In some examples, the output device 122 may be implemented, for example, by one or more display devices including a crew indicator 124 (e.g., a light emitting diode (LED)), a display 65 126 (e.g., a liquid crystal display), & col. 12 lines 5-35: The alert detector 414 of the illustrated example receives the surface deformation information, aircraft operating parameter(s) and/or environmental condition(s) information from the first sensor data evaluator 408 and the second sensor data evaluator 410, the obscurant measurement information from the obscurant determiner 412, and/or aircraft operating parameter(s) and air data characteristic(s) from the aircraft sensors 120… The alert detector 414 communicates an alert or alarm to the output device 122 of the aircraft 100, the maintainer 130 and/or an electronic engine controller of the engine(s) 132 and/or flight control computer 133. In some examples, the surface monitoring system 102 of the illustrated example may include an alert locator 416 to detect a location of a detected surface deformation. For example, the alert locator 416 may determine or identify the aircraft surfaces 104 with a detected surface deformation and communicates the identified aircraft surfaces 104 to the maintainer 130.).
However Lieberman does not explicitly disclose
receiving first data representing an amplitude of a measured acoustic wave or a frequency spectrum of the measure acoustic wave from a microphone associated with the propulsor;
determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by:
in a case that the first data represents the amplitude of the measured acoustic wave, accessing a memory containing an acoustic threshold value, and comparing the received first data to the accessed acoustic threshold value; and
in a case that the first data represents the frequency spectrum of the measured acoustic wave, accessing the memory containing a predetermined frequency component, and determining whether the frequency spectrum contains the accessed predetermined frequency component;
receiving second data representing a speed value of a shaft of the propulsor from a phonic wheel associated with the shaft of the propulsor;
determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by:
accessing the memory containing a threshold amount and a predetermined period of time; and
determining whether the speed value in the received second data has decreased compared to an earlier speed value by the accessed threshold amount within the accessed predetermined period of time;
receiving third data representing an amplitude of measured vibrations from a vibration sensor associated with the propulsor;
determining whether the damage has occurred to the aircraft by:
accessing the memory containing a vibration threshold value; and
comparing the received third data to the accessed vibration threshold value;
controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions.
Brooks teaches
receiving first data representing an amplitude of a measured acoustic wave or a frequency spectrum of the measure acoustic wave from a microphone associated with the propulsor (see at least Brooks, para. [0068]: A microphone was placed in the fan duct of the gas turbine engine upstream of the fan rotor…The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 0.07pounds per square inch (482 Pa) for a fan rotor with undamaged fan blades, as shown in FIG. 4. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was about 0.1 pounds per square inch (689 Pa).);
determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by (see at least Brooks, para. [0068]: The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 0.07pounds per square inch (482 Pa) for a fan rotor with undamaged fan blades, as shown in FIG. 4. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was about 0.1 pounds per square inch (689 Pa). In a bird ingestion test a number of birds were directed into the inlet of the gas turbine engine and produced damage to one or more fan blades on the fan rotor. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 1.4 pounds per square inch (9653 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was 2.5 pounds per square inch (17236 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6.):
in a case that the first data represents the amplitude of the measured acoustic wave, accessing a memory containing an acoustic threshold value, and comparing the received first data to the accessed acoustic threshold value (see at least Brooks, para. [0068]: The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 0.07pounds per square inch (482 Pa) for a fan rotor with undamaged fan blades, as shown in FIG. 4. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was about 0.1 pounds per square inch (689 Pa). In a bird ingestion test a number of birds were directed into the inlet of the gas turbine engine and produced damage to one or more fan blades on the fan rotor. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 1.4 pounds per square inch (9653 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was 2.5 pounds per square inch (17236 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6.); and
in a case that the first data represents the frequency spectrum of the measured acoustic wave, accessing the memory containing a predetermined frequency component, and determining whether the frequency spectrum contains the accessed predetermined frequency component (see at least Brooks, para. [0068]: The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 0.07pounds per square inch (482 Pa) for a fan rotor with undamaged fan blades, as shown in FIG. 4. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was about 0.1 pounds per square inch (689 Pa). In a bird ingestion test a number of birds were directed into the inlet of the gas turbine engine and produced damage to one or more fan blades on the fan rotor. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 50 Hz was 1.4 pounds per square inch (9653 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6. The measured amplitude of the pressure signal at a frequency of 100 Hz was 2.5 pounds per square inch (17236 Pa) for a fan rotor with one or more damaged fan blades, as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6.);
receiving second data representing a speed value of a shaft of the propulsor from a phonic wheel associated with the shaft of the propulsor (see at least Brooks, para. [0073]: Each speed sensor 48 comprises for example a phonic wheel 52 on the fan rotor 26 and a variable reluctance speed probe 54 on static structure 56 connected to the fan outlet guide vanes 32….Each speed sensor 48 comprises for example a phonic wheel 52 on the fan rotor 26 and a variable reluctance speed probe 54 on static structure 56 connected to the fan outlet guide vanes 32.);
determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by (see at least Brooks, para. [0074-0075]: The processor unit 40 is arranged to produce a signal indicative of widespread damage to at least one of the fan blades 24 if the difference in pressure is above the predetermined level. The processor unit 40 sends the signal to the indicator device 44 or the indicator device 46 via electrical leads 42. The indicator device 44 is an audible alarm and the indicator device 46 is a visual alarm. The indicator devices 44 and 46 are placed in the aircraft cockpit to warn the pilot that widespread damage has occurred to one or more of the fan blades 24 and that the fan blades 24 require checking, replacing or repairing.):
accessing the memory containing a threshold amount and a predetermined period of time (see at least Brooks, para. [0063]: The processor unit 40 is arranged to differentiate between increases in amplitude of the pressure due to damage to the fan blade 24 and other causes, for example changes in pressure due to altitude. The processor unit 40 is also arranged to differentiate between increases in amplitude of the pressure due to damage to the fan blade 24 and transient events. Transient events comprise for example intake distortion due to crosswind, lightning strike near the aircraft, fan stall, engine surge, bird impact or ice impact which causes no damage to the fan blades 24. In the transient events the amplitude of the pressure returns to normal after a short period of time, thus the processor unit 40 is arranged to indicate damage to the fan blade 24 if the predetermined pressure difference is maintained for a predetermined period of time. Rain or hail may produce an increase in the amplitude of the pressure for longer periods of time. para. [0074-0075]: The processor unit 40 is arranged to produce a signal indicative of widespread damage to at least one of the fan blades 24 if the difference in pressure is above the predetermined level. The processor unit 40 sends the signal to the indicator device 44 or the indicator device 46 via electrical leads 42. The indicator device 44 is an audible alarm and the indicator device 46 is a visual alarm. The indicator devices 44 and 46 are placed in the aircraft cockpit to warn the pilot that widespread damage has occurred to one or more of the fan blades 24 and that the fan blades 24 require checking, replacing or repairing.); and
determining whether the speed value in the received second data has decreased compared to an earlier speed value by the accessed threshold amount within the accessed predetermined period of time (see at least Brooks, para. [0074]: The processor unit 40 is arranged to analyse the signal indicative of the speed of rotation of the fan rotor 26 and fan blade set to determine the rotational frequency of the fan rotor 26. The processor unit 40 is arranged to analyse the pressure signal to determine if the difference in the pressure between the gas flow around at least one of the fan blades 24 and the gas flow around the remainder of the fan blades 24 in the fan blade 24 set is above a predetermined level.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lieberman to incorporate the teaching of receiving first data representing an amplitude of a measured acoustic wave or a frequency spectrum of the measure acoustic wave from a microphone associated with the propulsor; determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by: in a case that the first data represents the amplitude of the measured acoustic wave, accessing a memory containing an acoustic threshold value, and comparing the received first data to the accessed acoustic threshold value; and in a case that the first data represents the frequency spectrum of the measured acoustic wave, accessing the memory containing a predetermined frequency component, and determining whether the frequency spectrum contains the accessed predetermined frequency component; receiving second data representing a speed value of a shaft of the propulsor from a phonic wheel associated with the shaft of the propulsor; determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by: accessing the memory containing a threshold amount and a predetermined period of time; and determining whether the speed value in the received second data has decreased compared to an earlier speed value by the accessed threshold amount within the accessed predetermined period of time; of Brooks, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect widespread damage to a gas turbine engine blade or a gas turbine engine vane before it causes failures (see at least Brooks, para. [0004]).
Atamanov teaches
receiving third data representing an amplitude of measured vibrations from a vibration sensor associated with the propulsor (see at least Atamanov, para. [0031]: Vibration sensors for detecting motor vibration. & para. [0045]: For example, it may only send a signal when the setpoint is reached. Other sensors may provide continual readings of condition, say vibration frequency. In those cases, a setpoint may be stored in memory for access by program control software.); and
determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by (see at least Atamanov, para. [0049]: At the step 212 threshold parameters are set for the sensors. These threshold parameters include values which are forerunners of any emergency or abnormal situations that may arise in flight. For example, and without limitation, a vibration sensor's setpoint may be set for a specific frequency, displacement, or velocity. Exceeding these setpoints may be indicative of a failure in one of the systems. The setpoint may be set on the sensors itself, or programmed into memory for access by the on-board flight processor. Setting threshold parameters may occur before or during flight if dynamic parameters setting is used.):
accessing the memory containing a vibration threshold value; and comparing the received third data to the accessed vibration threshold value (see at least Atamanov, para. [0040]: For example, and without limitation, since vibration is to be expected during flight, the sensor may be pre-adjusted to only indicate when the vibration exceeds a certain setpoint.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lieberman to incorporate the teaching of receiving third data representing an amplitude of measured vibrations from a vibration sensor associated with the propulsor; determining whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by, accessing the memory containing a vibration threshold value; and comparing the received third data to the accessed vibration threshold value of Atamanov,with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect widespread damage to a gas turbine engine blade or a gas turbine engine vane before it causes failures (see at least Brooks, para. [0004]).
Pilon teaches
outputting a signal to a display on a flight deck of the aircraft during flight indicating the occurrence of the damage to the propulsor when the damage is determined to have to occurred, and controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions (see at least Pilon, para. [0041-0044]: The output signal of the logic implemented by the monitoring device 50 for the engine 1 is a state signal S_Sev damage(1) of the engine 1 which is indicative, when set to 1, of a situation of severe damage of the engine 1. The signal S_Sev Damage(1) is the output of a logic AND gate 230receiving at its inputs the signal S_Fail (1) and a signal S_Pb (1), the signal S_Pb (1) being the output of a logic OR gate 220 receiving as its inputs the signal S_Aircraft (1) and the signal S_Eng (1)….The signal S_Sev damage(1) is thus set to 1 when the central processing unit 10 detects a loss of power of the engine 1 and when the central processing unit 10 or the diagnostic unit 40 transmits an alarm on one of the monitored parameters. When the signal S_Sev damage(1) is set to 1, the monitoring device 50 sends a command signal (instructions) to the display screen 80 so that the latter indicates, via a message, that the engine 1 has suffered severe damage….It will be noted that the same logic, with modification of the indicative of the engine, is implemented for the engine 2, even though this has not been shown. Thanks to the invention, the pilots can, by reading a single message, and no longer a plurality of successive messages, rapidly appreciate the situation of an engine 1, 2 when a loss of power occurs and quickly make a decision with regard to shutting down the engine or not.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lieberman to incorporate the teaching of outputting a signal to a display on a flight deck of the aircraft during flight indicating the occurrence of the damage to the propulsor when the damage is determined to have to occurred, and controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions of Pilon,with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide improved assistance in the process of deciding whether or not to shut down an engine (see at least Pilon, para. [0004]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lieberman, in view of Pilon.
As per claim 22 Lieberman discloses
An apparatus for determining whether damage has occurred to a propulsor of an aircraft (see at least Lieberman, col. 2 lines 25-26: Example methods and apparatus disclosed herein sense or detect aircraft surface deformations. & col. 3 lines 1-3: a surface inside an engine (e.g., a surface of a second compressor of an engine), a fan or rotor blade, and/or any other surface of the aircraft 100.), the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing one or more computer programs including computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to (see at least Lieberman, col. 19 lines 20-35: As used herein, the term 20 tangible computer readable storage medium is expressly defined to include any type of computer readable storage device and/or storage disk and to exclude propagating signals and to exclude transmission media.):
(i) receive first data from a first sensor associated with the propulsor of the aircraft; (see at least Lieberman, col. 3 lines 1-3: a surface inside an engine (e.g., a surface of a second compressor of an engine), a fan or rotor blade, and/or any other surface of the aircraft 100. & col. 9 lines 20-65: The first sensor data register 402 receives signals from the first sensor 116 of a respective one of the sensors 114. In some examples, when multiple sensors 114 are monitoring multiple aircraft surfaces 104, the first sensor data register 402 may include a signal identifier to determine a first sensor from which a signal is received by the first sensor data register 402 … More specifically, the first sensor data register 402 converts or conditions the backscattered laser energy signals ( e.g., raw data, data representative of a wavelength, changes in wavelength, etc.) to generate computer processable electronic signals that may be analyzed to detect or determine surface deformation, identify particulate information ( e.g., 60 determine density), determine obscurant measurements, and/or determine other environmental conditions or flight parameters…);
(ii) determine whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by accessing a memory containing first threshold value and comparing the received first data to the accessed first threshold value (see at least Lieberman, col. 10 lines 5-41: the first sensor data evaluator 408 of the illustrated example detects surface deformation, environmental characteristic(s) and/or operating parameters and communicates the information to the alert detector 414… In some examples, the first sensor data evaluator 408 may analyze an intensity of the backscattered energy and/or polarization to determine a change ( e.g., an accretion 40 of material) to the aircraft surface 104 and/or detect environmental condition(s).);
(iii) receive second data representing a second value from a second sensor associated with the propulsor (see at least Lieberman, col. 10 lines 53-58: The second sensor data register 404 receives signals from the second sensor 118 of a respective one of the sensors 114. In some examples, the second sensor data register 404 may include a signal identifier to determine a second sensor from which a signal is received by the second sensor data register 404. & col. 11 lines 15-25: For example, the infrared energy is reflected and received by 15 the receiver 314 of the second sensor 118, which transmits a corresponding signal to the second sensor data register 404. For example, the infrared energy may be reflected from the respective aircraft surface 104 (e.g., the engine inlet 106). In some examples the first sensor data register 402 may include a clock or timer to determine a time differential between two or more signals (e.g., a time differential between two or more signals generated from the backscattered laser energy received by the second sensor data register 404).);
(iv) determine whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by accessing the memory containing a second threshold value and comparing the received second data to the accessed second threshold value (see at least Lieberman, col. 8 lines 25-36: In the illustrated example, the sensors 114 include a first sensor 114a to monitor a first point cloud 302a defining a first engine inlet 220a, a second sensor 114b to monitor a 30 second point cloud 302b defining a second engine inlet 220b, and a third sensor 114c to monitor a third point cloud 302c defining a third engine inlet 220c. However, in some examples, the sensors (e.g., the sensors 114 of FIG. 1) may be positioned or directed to analyze the rotor blades 216 of 35 the rotor 214, the wings 204, 206, the fuselage 202 and/or any other aircraft surface( s). & col. 11 lines 50-67: To detect deformation, the second sensor data evaluator 410 compares the current data points of the point cloud during a mission with the initial or reference data points of the point cloud obtained prior to the mission flight. In some examples, the second sensor data evaluator 410 detects a change in a detected surface deformation by comparing the data points of the point cloud obtained during a flight over a period of time. Thus, the second sensor data evaluator 410 of the illustrated example can detect accretion of material over a period of time.); and
(v) determine whether the damage is determined to have occurred to the propulsor using the determinations at both of steps (ii) and (iv) (see at least Lieberman, col. 13 lines 1-20: In tum, the change detector 506 processes the information from the model generator 502 to determine deformation of the aircraft surface 104 and communicates the information to the alert detector 414. For example, the change detector 506 retrieves the current reference model from the current reference model database 504 and the base reference model 15 from the reference model database 406. In particular, the change detector 506 compares, via a comparator, the current reference model and the base reference model to detect surface deformation in the aircraft surface 104 monitored by the first sensor 116.);
(vi) receive third data representing from a third sensor associated with the propulsor (see at least Lieberman, Fig. 4 “120” & col. 8 lines 25-36: In the illustrated example, the sensors 114 include a first sensor 114a to monitor a first point cloud 302a defining a first engine inlet 220a, a second sensor 114b to monitor a 30 second point cloud 302b defining a second engine inlet 220b, and a third sensor 114c to monitor a third point cloud 302c defining a third engine inlet 220c. col. 12 lines 6-13: The alert detector 414 of the illustrated example receives the surface deformation information, aircraft operating parameter(s) and/or environmental condition(s) information from the first sensor data evaluator 408 and the second sensor data evaluator 410, the obscurant measurement information from the obscurant determiner 412, and/or aircraft operating parameter(s) and air data characteristic(s) from the aircraft sensors 120.);
(vii) determine whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor by accessing the memory containing a third threshold value and comparing the received third data to the accessed third threshold value (see at least Lieberman, col. 8 lines 25-36: In the illustrated example, the sensors 114 include a first sensor 114a to monitor a first point cloud 302a defining a first engine inlet 220a, a second sensor 114b to monitor a 30 second point cloud 302b defining a second engine inlet 220b, and a third sensor 114c to monitor a third point cloud 302c defining a third engine inlet 220c. However, in some examples, the sensors (e.g., the sensors 114 of FIG. 1) may be positioned or directed to analyze the rotor blades 216 of 35 the rotor 214, the wings 204, 206, the fuselage 202 and/or any other aircraft surface( s). col. 15 lines 44-55: The data aggregator 606 receives the aircraft surface deformation information, the operating parameters, the environmental conditions, and the obscurant measurement information from the signal filter 604. The alert classifier analyzes ( e.g., via algorithms) the surface deformation information, the operating parameter information, the environmental condition information, and/or the obscurant measurement analyzer to determine a severity of a hazard presented by the detected surface deformation and the likelihood of the operating parameters and/or the environmental conditions impacting aircraft performance or safety.);
(viii) determine whether the damage has occurred to the propulsor using the determinations at both of steps (v) and (vii) (see at least Lieberman, col. 15 lines 44-55: The data aggregator 606 receives the aircraft surface deformation information, the operating parameters, the environmental conditions, and the obscurant measurement information from the signal filter 604. The alert classifier analyzes ( e.g., via algorithms) the surface deformation information, the operating parameter information, the environmental condition information, and/or the obscurant measurement analyzer to determine a severity of a hazard presented by the detected surface deformation and the likelihood of the operating parameters and/or the environmental conditions impacting aircraft performance or safety.);
(ix) output a signal to a display on a flight deck of the aircraft during flight indicating the occurrence of the damage to the aircraft when the damage is determined to have to occurred at step (viii) (see at least Lieberman, col. 6 lines 59-66: The surface monitoring system 102 of the illustrated example may provide a warning to the pilot or crew via a user interface or an output device 122. The output device 122 can be located in a cockpit of the aircraft 100. In some examples, the output device 122 may be implemented, for example, by one or more display devices including a crew indicator 124 (e.g., a light emitting diode (LED)), a display 65 126 (e.g., a liquid crystal display), & col. 12 lines 5-35: The alert detector 414 of the illustrated example receives the surface deformation information, aircraft operating parameter(s) and/or environmental condition(s) information from the first sensor data evaluator 408 and the second sensor data evaluator 410, the obscurant measurement information from the obscurant determiner 412, and/or aircraft operating parameter(s) and air data characteristic(s) from the aircraft sensors 120… The alert detector 414 communicates an alert or alarm to the output device 122 of the aircraft 100, the maintainer 130 and/or an electronic engine controller of the engine(s) 132 and/or flight control computer 133. In some examples, the surface monitoring system 102 of the illustrated example may include an alert locator 416 to detect a location of a detected surface deformation. For example, the alert locator 416 may determine or identify the aircraft surfaces 104 with a detected surface deformation and communicates the identified aircraft surfaces 104 to the maintainer 130.).
However Lieberman does not explicitly disclose
control the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions.
Pilon teaches
output a signal to a display on a flight deck of the aircraft during flight indicating the occurrence of the damage to the propulsor when the damage is determined to have to occurred, and controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions (see at least Pilon, para. [0041-0044]: The output signal of the logic implemented by the monitoring device 50 for the engine 1 is a state signal S_Sev damage(1) of the engine 1 which is indicative, when set to 1, of a situation of severe damage of the engine 1. The signal S_Sev Damage(1) is the output of a logic AND gate 230receiving at its inputs the signal S_Fail (1) and a signal S_Pb (1), the signal S_Pb (1) being the output of a logic OR gate 220 receiving as its inputs the signal S_Aircraft (1) and the signal S_Eng (1)….The signal S_Sev damage(1) is thus set to 1 when the central processing unit 10 detects a loss of power of the engine 1 and when the central processing unit 10 or the diagnostic unit 40 transmits an alarm on one of the monitored parameters. When the signal S_Sev damage(1) is set to 1, the monitoring device 50 sends a command signal (instructions) to the display screen 80 so that the latter indicates, via a message, that the engine 1 has suffered severe damage….It will be noted that the same logic, with modification of the indicative of the engine, is implemented for the engine 2, even though this has not been shown. Thanks to the invention, the pilots can, by reading a single message, and no longer a plurality of successive messages, rapidly appreciate the situation of an engine 1, 2 when a loss of power occurs and quickly make a decision with regard to shutting down the engine or not.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lieberman to incorporate the teaching of output a signal to a display on a flight deck of the aircraft during flight indicating the occurrence of the damage to the propulsor when the damage is determined to have to occurred, and controlling the display to show information for both the propulsor and another propulsor of the aircraft at the same time to enable a flight deck crew to determine which propulsor has sustained damage and enable the flight deck crew to take appropriate mitigating actions of Pilon,with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide improved assistance in the process of deciding whether or not to shut down an engine (see at least Pilon, para. [0004]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668